Author Topic: beware  (Read 6305 times)

Offline barneys

• vegetarian old indian word meaning bad hunter
beware
« on: February 22, 2011, 04:52:39 PM »
a Friend from work is staying on the central coast at the moment at Canton Beach Caravan Park  and over the last week they have had lovely people go though the park and steal all that was not nailed down fridges that had a safety  chain connected  to it , es keys . she believes it has happened all a round the area  over the last week

Variflex

Re: beware
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2011, 06:17:31 PM »
Unfortunatly this is happening at alot of caravan parks, we it it happen to us a few years back when staying down the south coast, when it was reported to the park owners the response was ÿeah that happens every weekend" would have been great if they had warned us when we checked in, we could have put things away or locked them up

« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2011, 06:34:02 PM »
If you mean the one directly opposite the Canton Beach, then yes, there are a few scummos residing around there....

Thats the advantage of forums like these, ask before you book and you may get info on the good or bad of any area ....

Offline shellharbourdove

« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2011, 07:34:58 PM »
Hi All

We have only ever had stuff stolen whist staying in a caravan park. When we stay bush, in free areas, forrests, NPs, etc, we have had no problems.... so far. Usually these places are out of town, and it's easier to visit the caravan park in town then drive 20 or more ks. Hope we stay as lucky.
Michael
2013 GXL Landruiser 79
2007 GXL Prado diesel
2015 Jayco Penguin Outback

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2011, 07:47:04 PM »
Hi All

We have only ever had stuff stolen whist staying in a caravan park. When we stay bush, in free areas, forrests, NPs, etc, we have had no problems.... so far. Usually these places are out of town, and it's easier to visit the caravan park in town then drive 20 or more ks. Hope we stay as lucky.
Michael
??? strange that, Shellharbourdove, i had my fridge and contents removed from my site at you local caravan prk. Thats the one Variflex was refering to, no way would i stay there again, The parks operater has a lot to answer for,they should post a notice or verbaly inform all guest of any problems that do, or may happen.

Steve BHG

« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2011, 08:27:20 PM »
Fair dinkum dont these Farkwits have anything better to do than go around and spoil peoples holidays and take their hard earned???
They are the scum of the earth. I pity anyone if i ever catch them, i will rip their fkn spine out and stick it up their asshole  >:( >:( >:(

Offline olddigger

« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2011, 10:05:58 PM »
Indeed, Black Diamond. Unless and until these scumbags are met with strong and effective force (i.e, a baseball bat around the cranium) they will continue on their merry little way. The park management don't seem to care and the bloody useless police are probably out trying to catch some poor bugger 2km over the speed limit. Arm yourselves, wait in the dark, and have the deep satisfaction of whacking them hard and fast. Much better entertainment than TV. It is well past the time that the law-abiding citizens of this nation stood up for themselves and took the action that gutless government will not provide.
Cheers, Tony

« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2011, 10:17:13 PM »
Just last weekend I went bush camping . I went with a quantity of coldies only to return with a huge number gone . I couldent have drunk them all   ,   could I ,,,,,, ???

« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2011, 10:22:12 PM »
hemmmmmm. Speewa.. yes you could have.. You know you can. just like the little engine that could  ;D

« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2011, 08:14:02 AM »
olddigger, will you put your hand up to be PM...got my vote  :)   :cheers:

« Reply #10 on: February 23, 2011, 08:30:25 AM »
Pretty normal things going missing in caravan parks, wouldn't surprise if it was the permanent residents or there friends doing the stealing either.

If your going to go to a van park, try and pick one that doesn't have permanent residents, it reduces the risk of things going missing, I'm not saying that all of the permanents are thievies just some, they even steal from one another, I know this because as a young person I used to live in a van park for a while.

Racer

« Reply #11 on: February 23, 2011, 08:38:12 AM »
If you mean the one directly opposite the Canton Beach, then yes, there are a few scummos residing around there....

Thats right, plenty of grubs around Canton Beach (Toukley) area....just like Gronk said, right near the park...

Budgewoi, Norah Head or Toowoon Bay are the pick, unfortunately they picked the bad one....

Offline Compass

« Reply #12 on: February 23, 2011, 08:50:08 AM »
Until everyone stand up to be counted nothing will be done. Our politicians have all been infected by the "bleeding heart bug", the cause of excessive  ;D political correctness and do nothing attitudes. The only cure is found at the ballot box.
Eric
2015 Toyota Prado
2012 Kimberley Kamper Platinum

Offline Alloy C/T

« Reply #13 on: February 23, 2011, 09:29:08 AM »
What the is the world comming to when you cant leave your campsite in a c/van park for crying outloud because of lowlife tealeafs , if it is a registered/licensed c/van park the owners/ management have a legal duty of care to protect /insure  your goods , same as hotels motels come under the innkeepers act ,,  seems lowlife oxygen thieves are more prevalent on the coast , you can still leave your house /car unlocked out here , leave your wallet on the bar at the pub ,it will still be there when you return ,,,,

« Reply #14 on: February 23, 2011, 04:52:31 PM »
Unfortunatly this is happening at alot of caravan parks, we it it happen to us a few years back when staying down the south coast, when it was reported to the park owners the response was ÿeah that happens every weekend" would have been great if they had warned us when we checked in, we could have put things away or locked them up

Was that the same time we were there with you ?  We've stayed there a few time since. had a chair ripped off last time, (yes should have know better) funny though as it was folded flat and stuck in under the van, never heard a thing  ???

Offline FZJ

« Reply #15 on: February 23, 2011, 06:52:44 PM »
Unfortunatly the world is full of buck toothed knobs that we support.Survival of the strongest isnt working ,cut off the dole and let em go. >:(
Ive been on both sides of this fence ( I grew up in a small coastal town then travelled in my 4x4 around oz for nearly a decade ,later managed caravan parks, one at the central coast... ) I dont mean im a theif!! :police:

They go in at night because they know stuff will be left out.I used to warn visitors about it but they still got stuff taken.I always said "do you leave stuff on your front veranda at home?? well why do it on hoildays? OUt of site out of mind.I agree managers should say if there has been  thefts but i reckon if your staying in a park just accept it could happen.I cant believe the gooses are taking stuff that is chained down now......9 times out of ten its kids looking for booze and surf gear.They grab and run.I get light chain or wire rope and run it through evey bloody thing I really have, If I have to stay in a park..

There is no doubt  there are 2nd and 3rd generation wasters around because they see their parents doing it and dont know any better.

Just for the record..... I managed parks for a few years but would rather stick my head up a dead bears a#$%  than stay in most of em..... ;D

I dont mind going to work, its the 8 hours  i have to wait to go home again that annoys me.

Camel bushman....

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #16 on: February 23, 2011, 07:07:59 PM »
Watch your gear in weipa at the van park it all gets stolen. I recomend the ash palms motel accomodates boats vans c/trailers , Ie park em up and live it up for a few nights We paid $165 per night for 3 blokes in a top unit. others paid $115 for 3 blokes in crap dongga and got to have thier gear stolen for free .

Guess were they wanna book next time.

Jetcrew :D

Maybe we should list all the parks that are really bad for theft.

Paxsheaven camp ground weipa
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Variflex

« Reply #17 on: February 23, 2011, 07:43:06 PM »
Was that the same time we were there with you ?  We've stayed there a few time since. had a chair ripped off last time, (yes should have know better) funny though as it was folded flat and stuck in under the van, never heard a thing  ???

Yeah Mate, that was the trip

Offline Signature035

• The older I get...... the better I was
« Reply #18 on: February 24, 2011, 06:01:23 AM »
A park at a very prominent surfing location on the mid north coast has had on-site security on Friday and Saturday nights for as long as I can remember, Surfboards, Eskys, bikes anything not chained down dissappears. (If it wasn't for the surf you wouldn't go there).....used to always have a chat with him in the evmings.   Last year when I was up there, a new guy was on patrol, turns out the last bloke and a few of his local mates had been responsible for years of theft..... talk about perpetuating  your own employment.
2012 Prado D4D Altitude &
04 Jayco Eagle Outback

Offline TheOtherLeft

« Reply #19 on: February 24, 2011, 12:07:09 PM »

I would hazard a guess that if the manager is so blase about it happening all of the time then he probably knows who's involved in the thefts.

« Reply #20 on: February 24, 2011, 06:25:20 PM »
I would hazard a guess that if the manager is so blase about it happening all of the time then he probably knows who's involved in the thefts.

Basicly after speaking to the "Manager" of the park in question on serveral ocassions he stopped giving a Sh!t because the Local Council (who own the park) and the Police dont give a sh!t either. His words not mine.

Offline linmac

• "Git-R-Done"
« Reply #21 on: February 24, 2011, 09:09:39 PM »
We went to Harrington for a week and while we where there some low life's were taking a blokes big eski early hrs in the morning but luckily he woke up they dropped it and ran
GU Patrol 3" lift. 33" BFG's and other odds and sods.  Complete Campsite Fraser Hard Floor

Offline jasonw

« Reply #22 on: February 25, 2011, 05:06:09 PM »
these toy locks look like the go to help
http://www.rola.com.au/toy-lok.aspx
jimboomba excalaber camper

Offline crispy

« Reply #23 on: February 25, 2011, 05:29:16 PM »
Hi all posting the bad parks seem to be a good idea inform the owners that there park has been listed as a theifs paradise when the bookins start to dry up i am sure the security will get better ,as for the response  oh that happens every weekend from park owners that is the most pathetic answer i can imagine from someone who has taken your hard earned and is responsible for your welbeing and property wilst you are staying at there establishment , admitedly it also falls upon the traveler as well valuables should always be secured under lock and key as for a fridge well they must be pretty brazen to carry that away perhaps even taking a mini safe for jewelery and money ect that can be secured in the trailer somehow ,i know this doesnt stop the bad taste when this happens but we must all look after each other if you see something question them if you havent seen them in the area before what are they going to do worst thing tell you to get f ...... and mind your own buisness then a qucik call to park managment or police may be in order ,phisical violence may be what you feel like but as many are older travelers this may well not be an option anyway just a few thoughts on this thread
crispy ;D