Author Topic: NISSAN 3LTR 2007 ONWARDS CRD OWNERS  (Read 13860 times)

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
NISSAN 3LTR 2007 ONWARDS CRD OWNERS
« on: February 16, 2011, 03:17:30 PM »
As the title suggests I am looking for honest comments from owners " STRITCTLY NO BRAND BASHING FROM NON OWNERS PLEASE"

I am thinking of this agian and need some advice to point me one way or another. They are doing ripper deals on 2010 plate models at present and I can walk away with one with towbar,bullbar,spotlights,snorkle for around 51K. can't get that at MR toyota.

I have owned both toyotas and nissans so am not a die hard of either make.

I am particulary interested in the towing with camper .I have a KK .

Jetcrew :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline Compass

Re: NISSAN 3LTR 2007 ONWARDS CRD OWNERS
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2011, 07:51:15 PM »
G'day Jetcrew.
I have a Patrol, ST model,  CRD, Auto transmission, build date Nov 2007.  I'm happy with it.  It tows an 1800kg caravan without trouble so most campers won't be a bother.  My model, because it is auto, is restricted to 2500kg max towing capacity and as far as I know it's the same for later models.  Like most oil burners, they suffer a bit from turbo lag but you get used to it. With towbar, alloy bullbar, driving lights, snorkel and a couple of other extras, I paid about $48k in Nov 2008 but it was heavily discounted because of the build date.  $51k seem like a good price to me. Like you, I have no special loyalty for Nissan or Toyota.  I chose Nissan because it was much cheaper.  Good luck.
Eric
2015 Toyota Prado
2012 Kimberley Kamper Platinum

Offline stevo

• I used to have a handle on life........but it broke
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2011, 07:57:02 PM »
Mine is an 06 model pre CRD auto. I find it has plenty of power for my needs although it does die a bit towing a camper up hills. A chip and exhaust would easily fix that though. If you are looking at an auto and do 4wding I would recommend the Marks adaptors transfer case reduction gears for downhill safety in low ratios.
Isuzu MU-X Coronet caravan
The hearse does not stop at the bank on the way to the cemetery.

Offline schmik

« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2011, 08:25:10 PM »
Sorry, i am not an owner but there is one at work (a GU and an owner that is). His 3L blew up on the way back to sydney from Fraser Island.  His does a LOT of trips and is usually very loaded due to being the father of many many kids... as far as i know he doesn't tow though. I think it is an early 2007. Blew up just outside of being 3 years old.

He must like it because he put another 3L in it after the first one blew up. I was convinced he would dump it as soon it was running again but he has kept it.

mike

Offline russ81

« Reply #4 on: February 16, 2011, 08:37:13 PM »
Hows it going,

I love my Nissan's so much that I have 2. The 2008 3L CRD is a great car even with all the dramas Ive had with it, so far I have had the exhaust manifold, turbo, idler pulley, dash and gearbox replaced under warranty, It is very under powered for what it is and doesn't like towing heavier loads uphill, all that aside it has never let me down while touring or 4wding and I still see it as a very reliable vehicle.

Russ

Offline mull dog

« Reply #5 on: February 16, 2011, 09:18:13 PM »
Hows it going,

I love my Nissan's so much that I have 2. The 2008 3L CRD is a great car even with all the dramas Ive had with it, so far I have had the exhaust manifold, turbo, idler pulley, dash and gearbox replaced under warranty, It is very under powered for what it is and doesn't like towing heavier loads uphill, all that aside it has never let me down while touring or 4wding and I still see it as a very reliable vehicle.

Russ
that just baffles me. you've had all that stuff go wrong and still call it a reliable vehicle?!

for work i am in and out of cruisers (70 series) and patrols all the time and they get worked hard both pulling loads and 4wding and i personally wouldn't buy either. the patrols dont like the tow and i wouldn't want to be paying the fuel bill on a 4.5l V8
Heading to the top baby, August 2014!

« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2011, 10:02:31 PM »
Mine is a Di Model but my old man has a CRD, he has done 148k in his which is an 07 model. It's a manual and has had no mods done as far as engine and exhaust. He has a rook rack fitted ect. He has towed his camper all over the place and now his Caravan. It's never had one issue and servicing is done to the KM if not before.
I think he is looking at an auto for his next one.

Offline Darcy7

• The plumage doesn't enter into it.....!
    • RVeeThereYet.com
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2011, 10:08:10 PM »
I've got an 07 Walkabout CRD Manual and I'm very happy with it.  I came from owning a Land Rover Discovery 97 Tdi which was a brilliant vehicle. I wanted a live axle 4WD and was wanting to get a Defender but the waiting list was out of the question.  A Cruiser would have been good but the $$s put out of the running also.  I wasn't keen on the Patrol given all the bad press about the 3 ltr, but we had been using them in the SES and they take the punishment we dish out so I thought I would have a look.

The Walkabout pack was just too good to pass up.  OK its the poverty pack DX model but it was fitted with all the accessories I would have had to fit after market and the 16" rims are ultimately the best for long outback touring.

It tows our Lifestyle camper with ease and I've towed a Coromal off road caravan with it too, again no issues. It's never going to win the traffic light drags but off road its almost unstoppable (within reason).  Fuel consumption is OK.  12l/100ks normally and 14.5 towing the camper.

I've heard the Auto can be a bit thirsty but I believe that was an issue with the early models and this has been sorted out now.  Worht checking on that point.

I would like a little more oomph and I may fit a chip one day but for the time being, I can live with it.

Like any vehicle, its a compromise. As a town car its not great but off road and as a touring and towing vehicle, its about as good as you can get for the price.

If off road ability is not high on your priority list but you still want a large 4wd, then perhaps consider a Pajero or Prado as alternatives.  The V8 Cruiser is a magic vehicle but the $$s and running costs are a large pill to swallow for my money.

Visit our blog at WWW.RVeeThereYet.com

Offline John N (sa)

« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2011, 10:31:03 AM »
Like Darcy7 above, we also have a 2007 CRD Walkabout which replaced a 2000 ZD30 (after 180,000 klm). Only 50,000 so far, but no troubles at all for our trips over the Great Victoria Desert and along the Hay River in NT. We tow a soft floor Cavalier, which it does with ease. Economy is OK - about 12/100 up to about 17 - 20 through sandy desert tracks. It seems that common rail engines of all makes have experienced problems with poor fuel quality. We haven't had any problems but there are quite simple precautions to prevent this. As Darcy say, its not a particularly good town car but for us, the Nissan was great value for money and is a very comfortable bush vehicle.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2011, 12:12:35 PM »
The dealer who has been great gave me the car overnight and this is my personal account of it.

I am taking into account that the motor will loosen up over time.

I found the CRD very jerky and it seemed to hunt for the right rev range quite a bit.(manual)

The turbo lag was very noticable especially when first going into 3rd gear . The engine feels clogged up.

The fit out and standard inclussions were great and the price is hard to beat.

I really wanted to like this car ,but for me the combination of the gearing and motor made it a real pig to drive I felt like shumacher up and down through the gears like a crack addict on speed .

Fuel econmy seems to be harsh for the lack of power. (will get better I know) but still thirsty for what you get power wise.

I think the Direct Injection patrols were a far smoother drive.

So after reporting my dislikes to the dealer he said why not a 4.8 petrol , now this is pretty much what I have in relation to a big straight six so my ears pricked up.

There are only very few left in Aust because the new model will hit our shores later this year so deals to be done.

I can get  the 4.8 5 speed AUTO for  the same dollars as the 3 ltr but with a better gearbox 5 vs 4 speed auto .

so I figure the extra running costs to be about $7 per 100 ks so over 1 year of driving 20,000ks it will cost $1400.00 in fuel for the year.

I can live with that for the awesome power and reliabilty of the big six so It may still be a patrol.

This is the last big six live axled car avalible in Australia and I am thinking it might add up except for only having a 95ltr tank?

Jetcrew :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2011, 12:22:08 PM »
The tank can be upgraded or an additional tank installed.
Only thing is I would like to have a diesel.
I am following this topic as I am lookinmg for something to upgrade the Surf in the future.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2011, 12:28:00 PM »
I too would like  adiesal but the diesals I want are 90K LOL.

so if comes to good power and reliabilty for $1400 a year in fuel than I am happy with that.

When I hopped back into my 98 model 4.5 petrol six it was like AHHHH thats better.

So then I knew the 3ltr was not for me.

I don't smoke or gamble so $30 per week in fuel to have a nice smooth powerfull car thats a joy to drive is nothing IMHO

Jetcrew :D :D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline Campa

« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2011, 12:29:50 PM »
4.8 Patrol now ya talk'n   ;D

« Reply #13 on: February 17, 2011, 12:31:36 PM »
They are doing ripper deals on 2010 plate models at present and I can walk away with one with towbar,bullbar,spotlights,snorkle for around 51K. can't get that at MR toyota.

New model around the corner so the ripper deal is to clear old stock that will depreciate heaps once the new arrives.  You would be effectively buying the last of the GQ's when the GU arrived.

Can you imagine the loss you will get hit with if the new model Patrol is successful.  If you seriously intend keeping it 15 or 20 years it would be a good buy, otherwise I think you will hurt BAD  at resale.

Good luck!

« Reply #14 on: February 17, 2011, 01:23:37 PM »
How is the fuel economy (if any) for the 4.8?

Offline Fivid

« Reply #15 on: February 17, 2011, 01:47:09 PM »
New model around the corner so the ripper deal is to clear old stock that will depreciate heaps once the new arrives.  You would be effectively buying the last of the GQ's when the GU arrived.

Can you imagine the loss you will get hit with if the new model Patrol is successful.  If you seriously intend keeping it 15 or 20 years it would be a good buy, otherwise I think you will hurt BAD  at resale.

Good luck!

From my perspective, although I sort of like the new Patrols, I reckon the current models will hold good value as what other full size 4wd is there for serious off road driving?  The new Patrol is all wheel independant suspension, the current model has live axles.  I am waiting until closer to the end of the year to see if we can get confirmed info from Nissan regarding the Patrol models for the next couple of years.  One rumour is that the current model will be available along side the new for the next three years.  If it comes out with a more powerful diesel I will probably upgrade, if not we will keep our current model for a long time yet
http://www.trailtrack4x4.com/

Offline sako

« Reply #16 on: February 17, 2011, 02:56:19 PM »
What are peoples thoughts of the new challenger?
All the reports I have read seem positive if you are after a reasonably priced Offroad tourer.

A bit smaller than the patrol but at around 40-45k they seem good value.

« Reply #17 on: February 17, 2011, 04:31:13 PM »
What are peoples thoughts of the new challenger?
All the reports I have read seem positive if you are after a reasonably priced Offroad tourer.

A bit smaller than the patrol but at around 40-45k they seem good value.

I almost bought one. Except the third row seats are an afterthought (dealers words) and cant be used if you fit child seats in the middle rows.  That ruled us out but if you only needed 5 seats I think they are great!

« Reply #18 on: February 17, 2011, 04:38:35 PM »
From my perspective, although I sort of like the new Patrols, I reckon the current models will hold good value as what other full size 4wd is there for serious off road driving?  The new Patrol is all wheel independant suspension, the current model has live axles. 

Maybe, for a very limited 'hard core market'.  A 200 series cruiser out articulates a patrol anyway (higher ramp travel index).  Add in traction control and I think the new patrol will outperform the old one.

« Reply #19 on: February 17, 2011, 04:45:10 PM »
One rumour is that the current model will be available along side the new for the next three years.  If it comes out with a more powerful diesel I will probably upgrade, if not we will keep our current model for a long time yet

X 2.

Hope your right. ;D

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #20 on: February 17, 2011, 04:48:33 PM »
x3  8)

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #21 on: February 17, 2011, 05:26:05 PM »
http://forums.overlander.com.au/viewtopic.php?t=68959&sid=5a40b35d182f53e11ef04fbd8ba48c0e
Maybe Toyota have something for the budget concious coming......well abit cheaper anyway.
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

Offline rockygu4.8

« Reply #22 on: February 17, 2011, 05:33:47 PM »
How is the fuel economy (if any) for the 4.8?
4.8 is not cheap to run mine is loaded with heaps of stuff and of course lots of weight. Driving on the highway the best i can get is 19 l/100 and towing about 22.5 l/100 . I'm pretty happy with that as most of that was cruise in 4 th gear when towing with a/c on.

4.8 litre Gu Patrol
2006 Goldstream Storm
2010 Armadilo Arma X

Offline maddo

« Reply #23 on: February 17, 2011, 06:07:17 PM »
For my 2 bobs worth, I drive a 9-2009 CRD manual ute for work. It rides great, handles well and is reasonably comfortable on a trip but man I hate the motor gearing combination.
To me CRDs in general seem to have little torque down low. If I was looking to buy a Nissan I would very seriously consider the auto because I think they compensate for the lack of bottom end.

Offline schmik

« Reply #24 on: February 17, 2011, 08:30:46 PM »
What's the reason for the upgrade?

If you have a 105 cruiser it's very similar to what you are considering?

How about other options?
add a sprintex supercharger
a couple of new seats
new carpet
new stereo

or just drop a honking huge holden v8 into? Go the 6 litre!  >:D

mike