General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Pete79 on January 29, 2018, 02:47:08 PM

Title: Some people share a bit too much information...
Post by: Pete79 on January 29, 2018, 02:47:08 PM
As a conscious non-subscriber to most the modern technological wonders (Facebook, Twitter, instagram, fitbits and all of the other apps that want to track you and use your data) I often think to myself if all of these people that freely give away all of their privacy ever think about the long term consequences.

One gets there feeling there is going to be a fairly large group of people that are about to realize they’ve shared a bit too much of their own private habits lately.....

http://www.abc.net.au/news/science/2018-01-29/strava-heat-map-shows-military-bases-and-supply-routes/9369490 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/science/2018-01-29/strava-heat-map-shows-military-bases-and-supply-routes/9369490)

Strava collects data from phones and fitness trackers such as Fitbit, and allows users to share their routine with friends and followers. Its aggregated heatmap shows information collected between 2015 and September 2017.

While security analysts often use satellite imagery to study military installations, Mr Ruser said the Strava data added an additional, possibly dangerous layer of information.

Using satellite imagery, you can see base buildings, for example. But on the heatmap, you can see which buildings are most used, or the jogging routes of soldiers.

"You can establish a pattern of life for a base," he said.

It also shows the turns patrols take when moving through towns in Syria: "You can see the main supply highway for US forces in Syria, and I just remember thinking 'f***, that's not good'," Mr Ruser said.

Title: Re: Some people share a bit too much information...
Post by: krisandkev on January 29, 2018, 03:12:31 PM
I am with ya.....

Wait until the new generation of Google Home and the like get popular, only voice now but the new ones have a camera which will monitor the house occupants.  How nice....   The Selfie generation at its best I suppose.    Kevin
Post by: Pottsy on January 29, 2018, 03:36:43 PM
Didn't George Orwell write a book about "big brother"?
Post by: gronk on January 29, 2018, 05:14:22 PM
I can't see the problem with the facebook type things.......if you own a phone, google knows what you say already, unless you turn it off ..
If you have a desktop computer with a webcam, they can see you as well.
Post by: Bird on January 29, 2018, 05:55:49 PM
(http://i.ytimg.com/vi/yv7kWQ5cmaI/maxresdefault.jpg)
Post by: MadMarv on January 29, 2018, 07:01:44 PM
You carnt totaly hide from being monitored but you can make things a bit harder for mobs to link what you do/look at to who you are .... as in 2 friends have facebak and dont use there full names .... shortened 1st name and first 2 letters off last name .... me i use a totally diffrent name to my actual name for facebak ... just have to really think about what you want to share as once you let it out its out there forever
Post by: gronk on January 29, 2018, 08:02:16 PM
You carnt totaly hide from being monitored but you can make things a bit harder for mobs to link what you do/look at to who you are .... as in 2 friends have facebak and dont use there full names .... shortened 1st name and first 2 letters off last name .... me i use a totally diffrent name to my actual name for facebak ... just have to really think about what you want to share as once you let it out its out there forever

But you do all that and they still send you email crap because they know who you are. You're only hiding your real name from the general Facie crowd, who are generally your friends anyway.

Only share what you want the world to see.....
Post by: Swannie on January 30, 2018, 05:00:05 PM
Yep should see Bird around the campfire shares way too much 😂
Post by: gronk on January 30, 2018, 05:23:16 PM
Yep should see Bird around the campfire shares way too much 😂

Around a campfire is OK....usually 90% dribble anyway !!   :cheers: ;D
Post by: xcvator on January 30, 2018, 06:38:36 PM
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-01-30/pentagon-reviewing-security-after-strava-app-reveals-locations/9373054 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-01-30/pentagon-reviewing-security-after-strava-app-reveals-locations/9373054)
Post by: MadMarv on January 30, 2018, 06:44:15 PM
But you do all that and they still send you email crap because they know who you are. You're only hiding your real name from the general Facie crowd, who are generally your friends anyway.

Only share what you want the world to see.....

Dont get any extra or unwanted emails .... guess i must be lucky ..... you are right thou and i do only share what i want the world to see .... once its out there its there forever
Post by: Pete79 on January 31, 2018, 08:47:43 AM
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-01-30/pentagon-reviewing-security-after-strava-app-reveals-locations/9373054 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-01-30/pentagon-reviewing-security-after-strava-app-reveals-locations/9373054)

I hear all the time "if you've got nothing to hide, you've got nothing to worry about".
But when you DO have something to hide, well....... ;)

I find it hilariously funny that the country that loves to data-mine the most has just had it's military personnel freely share all of its top secrete locations...
Ebay will be flooded with used fit bits now I guess, "For Sale, 1 fit bit. Only used enough times to give the enemy our location. Can post at your expense or available for pick up from Afghanistan." ;D
Post by: Hoyks on January 31, 2018, 09:43:32 AM
I'm quite sure the enemy 'in country' already know where the Infidel Imperialist Invaders are working from.

I mean, all those piles of sand bags, the white blokes wearing camoflage, carrying rifles and trying to grow beards, all the helicopters and armored trucks with guns hanging off them coming and going at all hours of the day and night are all a bit of a giveaway.
Post by: edz on January 31, 2018, 09:59:25 AM
Reminds me of the first gulf war against Sadam, when the coalition took out  his radar units  every time they got turned on. To try and 
 blind his Anti Aircraft missile defence ..
The Iraqis then just used free to air real time weather satellite photo coverage of the region and further out, to track inbound aircraft, including the Stealth bombers and fighters .. Took a while and a few losses for the coalition to wake up to it ..
Post by: edz on January 31, 2018, 10:20:28 AM
I'm quite sure the enemy 'in country' already know where the Infidel Imperialist Invaders are working from.

I mean, all those piles of sand bags, the white blokes wearing camoflage, carrying rifles and trying to grow beards, all the helicopters and armored trucks with guns hanging off them coming and going at all hours of the day and night are all a bit of a giveaway.
Very true Hoyks, This tech is Just another string in the bow of war,  Observing from safety  where / when / how many and how often the creatures of habit repeat the same trip then use something like this to target and take them out  easily .. till they wake up to it and change their routines.
With the small drones these days you mostly cant see them / hear them, first thing you know is a shell burst right on top of or near you x that by ??? and its a real effect on morale .https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GmvumI5W5zM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GmvumI5W5zM)   ....   
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3twO_dioP9o (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3twO_dioP9o)
Post by: Darcy7 on January 31, 2018, 02:51:24 PM
I like to think of these 'wonders of modern technology' much like signing a contract.  Read the fine print fist before engaging.

By being a non subscriber, you risk isolating yourself from modern society.  That may be OK if that doesn;t worry you.

Personally, I have nothing to hide and I don't go jogging around secret military bases.  I'm even willing to exploit the technology for personal gain.  Might as well....

Post by: Troopy_03 on February 01, 2018, 08:39:18 AM
You may not have anything to hide, but you have plenty that other less scrupulous people may want to see... Like seeing that you are currently away from home on holidays and that you have accidentally given away your home address when you had a garage sale, or had something advertised for sale, or even shared a background shot of you house that a local low life may recognise. Maybe you showed pics of an expensive purchase like a car or boat of camper trailer, that is not so hard to remove from your property.
Post by: Bird on February 01, 2018, 08:45:36 AM
You may not have anything to hide, but you have plenty that other less scrupulous people may want to see... Like seeing that you are currently away from home on holidays and that you have accidentally given away your home address when you had a garage sale, or had something advertised for sale, or even shared a background shot of you house that a local low life may recognise. Maybe you showed pics of an expensive purchase like a car or boat of camper trailer, that is not so hard to remove from your property.
x trillions...
Post by: Pete79 on February 01, 2018, 09:24:10 AM
By being a non subscriber, you risk isolating yourself from modern society.  That may be OK if that doesn;t worry you.
Can honestly say that I don't feel like I'm missing out on anything much personally.

The only thing I can think of is when friends (that is actual friends, not Facebook "friends") organize a camping or 4WDing trip together on Facebook and I get a quick text message or phone call to let me know it's on. I guess I miss out on a little bit of chatter leading up to the trip, but I still get out there with my mates in the end.

Yesterday was a perfect example of why I can live happily without it.
Got a phone call early in the morning from an old surfing buddy that I haven't seen or spoken to in over 8 years. He was going to be on the sunny coast for the day and wanted to catch up for a wave.
I was busy with work and couldn't get to the beach, so he came out to my place in the afternoon, we had a couple of beers and caught up on 8 years worth of each other's lives. It was awesome!
Probably won't see him again for a few more years, but we'll have heaps more stories to tell next time we do catch up.

Absolutely agree.
Take a selfie on the way out the door and post "we're off on our 3 week holiday, only have the pet sitter coming over on Tuesdays and Thursdays to feed the cat. I hope our brand new boat is ok just parked in the driveway".

And my other favorite is job applicants.
Facebook is basically part of your resume these days.
Apply for pretty much any job today and your basically guaranteed the employer is looking at your Facebook page before they even think about calling you in for an interview.
You can have all your privacy settings on (if you choose to believe that actually helps your privacy), but you only have to 'like' a few dodgy pages or have a couple of "friends" with open pages that are full of trash and you've painted a picture of yourself for everyone else to see...
Post by: Bird on February 01, 2018, 10:55:45 AM
Quote from: Pete79
You can have all your privacy settings on (if you choose to believe that actually helps your privacy)...

There are companies that ask to see your stalkerbook page too as part of the interview if you have it locked down..
Post by: Rumpig on February 01, 2018, 11:17:40 AM
There are companies that ask to see your stalkerbook page too as part of the interview if you have it locked down..
never had one, so it's a non issue for me...life goes on fine without it 8)
Post by: austastar on February 01, 2018, 11:20:23 AM
      not everyone uses FB, or am I on me Pat Malone here?

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on February 01, 2018, 11:40:30 AM
Quote from: austastar
Nope never had it myself.
The only thing with families, is nearly every kids sport is now 'controlled' updated/run through stalkerbook... so She has stalkerbook and lives on it, so do many at work here.. cant go 10 mins without stalkering ??? baffles me.

I reckon there'll be mass suicides eventually when stalkerbook closes
Post by: macca on February 01, 2018, 11:41:43 AM

Sent from my GT-N5110 using Tapatalk
Nah mate, I'm with you, who really needs all that crap and Troopy you forgot that most photos you take these days shom your location in the photo details so its not hard to find your address

Post by: Troopy_03 on February 01, 2018, 12:03:58 PM
Nah mate, I'm with you, who really needs all that crap and Troopy you forgot that most photos you take these days shom your location in the photo details so its not hard to find your address

Only if you post pics with meta data include,  or if you post direct from your phone, unless you have location services selected off, but yes I forgot about that bit.
Post by: tryagain on February 01, 2018, 02:02:12 PM
I reckon there'll be mass suicides eventually when stalkerbook closes

People would actually be happier if that happens, there have been a number of studies that show an inverse relationship between social media use and happiness, like this one.

https://hbr.org/2017/04/a-new-more-rigorous-study-confirms-the-more-you-use-facebook-the-worse-you-feel

You will have to switch your adblocker off to view it.
Post by: Bird on February 01, 2018, 02:09:25 PM
Quote from: tryagain
People would actually be happier if that happens,
yea cant see that happening, people would actually have to phone and talk to each other... It would take a generation for that to recover... LOL!

Social skills are *ucked to non existent these days for our youth.
Post by: Hoyks on February 01, 2018, 02:20:30 PM
Only if you post pics with meta data include,  or if you post direct from your phone, unless you have location services selected off, but yes I forgot about that bit.

ISIS had a few 'own goals' with that.
Here is a picture of Ahmed and I outside our new headquarters! Good times.
Location services were still on, location tag added to the image and uploaded to social media.
Intel types review the image, looked at the meta data and then googled away.
GPS coordinate loaded into a JADAM and less than 12 hours after old mate took his hapy snap, the new HQ ceased to exist.

As for the kids using FaceBook; they have moved on. FB is only what parents/grandparents use ::) according to my 16 year old, all her friends are on several other apps now.
Post by: trinityalyce on February 02, 2018, 09:07:59 AM
As for the kids using FaceBook; they have moved on. FB is only what parents/grandparents use ::) according to my 16 year old, all her friends are on several other apps now.

According to my 19 year old neighbour it’s all about Snapchat now

Ah, social media. The good and evil of modern social societies...

I really dislike when some kind of organisation/group/whatever only coordinates through Facebook groups. We aren’t all on there.

Regarding smart watches/fitness bands... like anything, it’s all about the settings and what data you agree to make public. I’ve had a Garmin watch for years, love the thing. Looks like an actual watch too which is a bonus... And I’m able to keep my data private. I looked into Strava once... maybe someone can comment if this is still the case but I thought there was a way to exclude mapping within designated home/etc type areas (eg. Don’t share mapping data from within a 2km radius of this address or similar). Surely if this feature was used this whole issue wouldn’t have been a problem?
Post by: GBC on February 02, 2018, 09:56:42 AM
According to my 19 year old neighbour it’s all about Snapchat now

Ah, social media. The good and evil of modern social societies...

I really dislike when some kind of organisation/group/whatever only coordinates through Facebook groups. We aren’t all on there.

Regarding smart watches/fitness bands... like anything, it’s all about the settings and what data you agree to make public. I’ve had a Garmin watch for years, love the thing. Looks like an actual watch too which is a bonus... And I’m able to keep my data private. I looked into Strava once... maybe someone can comment if this is still the case but I thought there was a way to exclude mapping within designated home/etc type areas (eg. Don’t share mapping data from within a 2km radius of this address or similar). Surely if this feature was used this whole issue wouldn’t have been a problem?

Strava has a 'Private by default' button, you can show info to only your group/friends, you can choose not to participate in leaderboards, and you can exclude yourself from Flyby's and heat maps. Grunts running around bases in strange countries need slapping for sharing their private exercise info.
Post by: trinityalyce on February 02, 2018, 10:13:17 AM
Strava has a 'Private by default' button, you can show info to only your group/friends, you can choose not to participate in leaderboards, and you can exclude yourself from Flyby's and heat maps. Grunts running around bases in strange countries need slapping for sharing their private exercise info.

Thank you for clearing that up better than I could! I really have a hard time seeing how these troops working top secret ops can’t even navigate - or be instructed to - the security settings of their devices! If they are allowed to be worn on these bases one would think there’d be protocol regarding location settings etc.
Post by: Pete79 on February 02, 2018, 10:50:35 AM
Grunts running around bases in strange countries need slapping for sharing their private exercise info.

I was going to comment that most AJs I know (and I have a few in my family) just buy shiny new things and use them till they break.
Things like washing the new boat, putting oil in the new motorbike or changing any settings on the new tech device are not really considered necessary from what I've seen over many years....  ;D

And slightly off topic, but apparently the earlier comments about Facebook becoming irrelevant might be correct after all.
There's outrage in the US now that Facebook has blocked fake pages made by Russian Trolls.

https://www.gizmodo.com.au/2018/02/facebook-users-cry-censorship-after-being-told-which-russian-troll-pages-they-liked/ (https://www.gizmodo.com.au/2018/02/facebook-users-cry-censorship-after-being-told-which-russian-troll-pages-they-liked/)

I mean, you should be free to choose to believe that the fake pages you're following about defending the second amendment or back people's rights weren't started by a Russian Troll just to create unrest in your democracy.
I'm sure that Russian troll started that page because he genuinely wants you to keep your guns.... Right....  ;D  ;D  ;D

(https://i.kinja-img.com/gawker-media/image/upload/t_original/fxe98iiwhapiptxxyur3.png)

Post by: GBC on February 02, 2018, 11:53:32 AM
I was going to comment that most AJs I know (and I have a few in my family) just buy shiny new things and use them till they break.
Things like washing the new boat, putting oil in the new motorbike or changing any settings on the new tech device are not really considered necessary from what I've seen over many years....  ;D

And slightly off topic, but apparently the earlier comments about Facebook becoming irrelevant might be correct after all.
There's outrage in the US now that Facebook has blocked fake pages made by Russian Trolls.

https://www.gizmodo.com.au/2018/02/facebook-users-cry-censorship-after-being-told-which-russian-troll-pages-they-liked/ (https://www.gizmodo.com.au/2018/02/facebook-users-cry-censorship-after-being-told-which-russian-troll-pages-they-liked/)

I mean, you should be free to choose to believe that the fake pages you're following about defending the second amendment or back people's rights weren't started by a Russian Troll just to create unrest in your democracy.
I'm sure that Russian troll started that page because he genuinely wants you to keep your guns.... Right....  ;D  ;D  ;D

(https://i.kinja-img.com/gawker-media/image/upload/t_original/fxe98iiwhapiptxxyur3.png)

I spent years maintaining Armed Forces bases and DHA housing - I know EXACTLY what you mean - they are a breed apart. A family member is a CO of a base - he can tell some tales.

Funny about facebook, I am dabbling in a bit of Crypto gambling at present (you wouldn't call it investing), and since facebook have seen a conflict of interest with some blockchains starting new form of social media, the good old algorithms have been tweaked and amazingly stuff all crypto pops up in my feed anymore. They need to be very careful how they tread - social media platforms aren't exactly hard to create these days.
Post by: Pete79 on March 09, 2018, 10:56:34 AM
The natural progression of technology.....
 http://abc.net.au/news/2018-03-09/your-google-home-or-fit-bit-could-be-used-against-you-in-court/9510368?pfmredir=sm (http://abc.net.au/news/2018-03-09/your-google-home-or-fit-bit-could-be-used-against-you-in-court/9510368?pfmredir=sm)

“If that smart new home device in your bedroom is voice activated, then it's always listening.

That also means it's probably often recording, and sending information to the cloud.”

"I imagine what will happen is that there will be a case in which the police seek to get recordings and there will be conversation that is ambiguous on the recordings that the prosecution would try to construe as some admission of murder.

"It's definitely going to be at the forefront I think in a lot of criminal cases, probably all over the world but certainly in the United States."

"There have been a couple of interesting cases in America where, for example, a gentleman asserted that he was woken up and his home was on fire and he had rushed out," Bond University's Kate Mathews-Hunt says.

"In actual fact his Fitbit data showed that he had been engaged in heavy labour, which I think included removing quite a lot of things out of his home, and so his insurance claim was effectively impugned on that basis, that his story didn't hang together.

"So it's an incredibly interesting area, but it is also problematic."
Post by: Bird on March 09, 2018, 11:03:45 AM
Quote from: Pete79
The natural progression of technology.....
 [url=http://abc.net.au/news/2018-03-09/your-google-home-or-fit-bit-could-be-used-against-you-in-court/9510368?pfmredir=sm]http://abc.net.au/news/2018-03-09/your-google-home-or-fit-bit-could-be-used-against-you-in-court/9510368?pfmredir=sm (http://abc.net.au/news/2018-03-09/your-google-home-or-fit-bit-could-be-used-against-you-in-court/9510368?pfmredir=sm)[/URL]

I don't really see the appeal in the google control my house gig... is it that hard to turn a light on? or is it more the wank factor?
Post by: tryagain on March 09, 2018, 11:45:42 AM
Most peoples phones are "always listening" already and have them on themselves all the time, that how "Hey Siri" and "Hey Google" work much the same as the Google home, From memory, Gerard Baden Clay had his phone charging history used against him as it showed it being unplugged and then later plugged back in when he was supposedly in bed asleep.
Post by: Patr80l on March 09, 2018, 12:53:53 PM
There are two important secrets to success.
1. Don't tell people everything you know.
Post by: Pete79 on March 09, 2018, 12:58:17 PM
There are two important secrets to success.
1. Don't tell people everything you know.
Post by: Pottsy on March 09, 2018, 02:07:58 PM
I've always felt it is important to know nothing and to plead insanity!  ;D
Post by: Bird on March 09, 2018, 02:17:09 PM
I've always felt it is important to know nothing and to plead insanity!  ;D
(https://orig00.deviantart.net/fb56/f/2008/316/a/a/sgt__schultz_by_linworkman.jpg)
Post by: Bunyip on March 09, 2018, 02:45:57 PM
I don't really see the appeal in the google control my house gig... is it that hard to turn a light on? or is it more the wank factor?

We got one for free so I plugged it in.

One night a character on a TV show said "Hey Google, turn on the lights"
Out google home said "You have no lights configured"
Plug out of wall after that.
Post by: Pottsy on March 09, 2018, 02:59:16 PM
(https://orig00.deviantart.net/fb56/f/2008/316/a/a/sgt__schultz_by_linworkman.jpg)

Spot on!  :cheers: :cheers:  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: GeoffA on March 09, 2018, 04:53:14 PM

Excellent selfie Bwoose.... ;D
Post by: trinityalyce on March 11, 2018, 11:57:20 AM

I'm a bit of a tech geek who has been investigating "smart home" options (just... not the mainstream products available). Some reasons why I like the idea:

1. Being able to remotely control lights, ideally with a pre-set program, so that when you're away from home it still looks like there's activity
2. Being able to turn the air conditioning/heating/front light on before you arrive home so the house is more comfortable in various climates/after dark/whatever
3. Being able to control blinds to automatically raise/lower at given times of day to block heat from the sun and maximise energy efficiency/etc.

The reason I don't have something like this already? Because it is damn expensive, particularly to retrofit. And privacy concerns. I don't love the idea of having a microphone front and centre in my house listening to every conversation I have and uploading it to the Cloud, somewhere, where I have no control over how it is stored, for how long, or what is done with it. And I need to be convinced that some of the options aren't easily hack-able, and that vulnerabilities are checked for, identified, and addressed promptly.

"There have been a couple of interesting cases in America where, for example, a gentleman asserted that he was woken up and his home was on fire and he had rushed out," Bond University's Kate Mathews-Hunt says.

"In actual fact his Fitbit data showed that he had been engaged in heavy labour, which I think included removing quite a lot of things out of his home, and so his insurance claim was effectively impugned on that basis, that his story didn't hang together.

"So it's an incredibly interesting area, but it is also problematic."

Best way to solve this issue is don't attempt to defraud an insurance company while wearing a smart device (or probably even having your phone in your pocket - I imagine the "health" type apps would save accelerometer data...?) ;D

In all seriousness, tech isn't bad or something to be afraid of. But understanding it is power. What data is collected? How and where is it stored? Is that data shared, and if so under what circumstances? Its amazing how many people use certain devices, apps or features without fully understanding these points. Ignorance is bliss... until it comes back to bite you.
Post by: DrewXT on March 11, 2018, 12:59:16 PM
Have a look at this for your home automation, Trinity https://home-assistant.io ... Can do some very funky things with it, and it'll run happily on a raspberry pi, and integrates with a heap of third party solutions.

Guy at work has light sensors and zwave switches, and if the system detects all his family have left the house (using the wifi in their phones) , and the lights are on in the kids bedrooms, it turns off the lights.  Does the same with the air-conditioning.

He's also got heat and humidity sensors that are programmed in conjunction with the electric blind motors to put down the blinds if the temperature reaches a certain level...  That part has a mixture of individual Raspberry Pi Zero W's and Arduino systems that all draw low power, but make for quite an elegant solution.

He can also track when his mother in law leaves on her daily visit so it's safe to go home!! ;)

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: gordo350 on March 11, 2018, 03:45:38 PM
Must be analog based if it can detect broomstick residue
Post by: edz on March 11, 2018, 04:46:23 PM
I will comfortably stay low tech and of the grid as much as possible, Sadly even then the file profile on me and those associated with me will be quite extensive and show / be more intrusive than you'd ever want .
Now everyone uses that piece of plastic card in their wallets, They have you marked .
Post by: macca on March 11, 2018, 05:50:18 PM
Yeah I'm with you edz, pretty low tech around my house. I do enough repairing and programming CNC's at work to give me all the tech geek fix i need. Must admit I have started playing around with Arduinos lately at home

Post by: DrewXT on March 11, 2018, 07:58:24 PM
Must be analog based if it can detect broomstick residue
love it!!

I've worked in IT for 25 years, and the last thing I ever want to do when I get home is stuff about with more of them, at home, the most high tech we are is we stream radio using iHeartRadio

Post by: Bird on March 12, 2018, 09:01:31 AM
I will comfortably stay low tech and of the grid as much as possible, Sadly even then the file profile on me and those associated with me will be quite extensive and show / be more intrusive than you'd ever want .
Now everyone uses that piece of plastic card in their wallets, They have you marked .
x eleventy
Post by: trinityalyce on March 12, 2018, 09:43:35 AM
Have a look at this for your home automation, Trinity https://home-assistant.io ... Can do some very funky things with it, and it'll run happily on a raspberry pi, and integrates with a heap of third party solutions.

Guy at work has light sensors and zwave switches, and if the system detects all his family have left the house (using the wifi in their phones) , and the lights are on in the kids bedrooms, it turns off the lights.  Does the same with the air-conditioning.

He's also got heat and humidity sensors that are programmed in conjunction with the electric blind motors to put down the blinds if the temperature reaches a certain level...  That part has a mixture of individual Raspberry Pi Zero W's and Arduino systems that all draw low power, but make for quite an elegant solution.

He can also track when his mother in law leaves on her daily visit so it's safe to go home!! ;)

Thanks for the heads up! I had heard about the Z-wave stuff but hadn't looked into it much. Will definitely be looking at the website you've linked to!

I do love my tech. ;)

That said, there are some things I'm happily old school about. I may love tech at home and own more devices than any sane person should, all of which I use regularly, but I cannot wait to hit the bush and escape from any trace of phone reception. But then... I have the HF radio to play with (love old school tech just as much!  ;D) and will usually have a bluetooth speaker playing some tunes...  Yeah OK maybe I am addicted.  ;D ;D

...Can I go off grid entirely and still have all my tech?  ??? Don't see why not.  ;D That would be a dream come true for me.
Post by: Pottsy on March 12, 2018, 02:23:25 PM
It's easy to be old school,but as things modernise and progress there comes a point where you have to embrace it. I remember 35 years ago my wife buying me a pocket organiser, why do I need that I said but I gave it a go and it was a great tool for work contacts, appointments etc.
Now it's iPads, tablets, smartphones etc, got em all.
Bluetooth speakers, fantastic no more wires. Not sure I'm ready for Google Home, give it a few years but it will come.
Internet banking is a classic example, I can't remember the last time I stepped foot in a bank. Even my elderly parents, 88 and 89 are embracing new technology all be it with a lot of coaxing and tuition.
Way of the world wether we like it or not.  :cheers:
Post by: MadMarv on March 14, 2018, 02:18:10 PM
Me im not into home automation .... if i want the light/cooling/heating on i just get up same with the blinds/curtains ....  and on sharing info over f/book ive got my privacy settings set to only allow ppl to see what i want and my f/book isnt in my current name either .... yes ive had a couple off name changes ....
Post by: Troopy_03 on March 15, 2018, 11:51:44 AM
Me im not into home automation .... if i want the light/cooling/heating on i just get up same with the blinds/curtains ....  and on sharing info over f/book ive got my privacy settings set to only allow ppl to see what i want and my f/book isnt in my current name either .... yes ive had a couple off name changes ....

Mad Marv, Crazy Clarke, Crazy John?
Post by: GBC on March 20, 2018, 09:38:52 AM
We had a copper from Taskforce Argos speak to parents at our school last night. This bloke didn't pull any punches. As a demo during the break he asked for a volunteer who had a social media account. The only info he got was their name. In a minute or two using just his phone he had their address, kids names, photos, schools, one of the kids phone numbers, and the other kid's 'secret' snapchat account. And the parents described themselves as strict on social media. My kids don't have an email address outside of their school account, don't have social media, don't have devices in their rooms etc. but it seems like we are in the minority. 3 minutes is all a predator needs to get them on the hook. Be careful.
Post by: Pete79 on March 20, 2018, 09:58:59 AM
We had a copper from Taskforce Argos speak to parents at our school last night. This bloke didn't pull any punches. As a demo during the break he asked for a volunteer who had a social media account. The only info he got was their name. In a minute or two using just his phone he had their address, kids names, photos, schools, one of the kids phone numbers, and the other kid's 'secret' snapchat account. And the parents described themselves as strict on social media. My kids don't have an email address outside of their school account, don't have social media, don't have devices in their rooms etc. but it seems like we are in the minority. 3 minutes is all a predator needs to get them on the hook. Be careful.
Send that guy to every school in the country...
Post by: tryagain on March 20, 2018, 11:08:43 AM

Sounds like a great initiative from the QPS, I like to think of myself as reasonably tech-savvy, but either the parents weren't in any way "Strict on social media" (I think most were parents would describe themselves as that whether or not they actually were) He was cheating and using Databases that Joe public doesn't have access too, or he has Jedi powers.
Post by: Pete79 on March 20, 2018, 12:44:17 PM
Sounds like a great initiative from the QPS, I like to think of myself as reasonably tech-savvy, but either the parents weren't in any way "Strict on social media" (I think most were parents would describe themselves as that whether or not they actually were) He was cheating and using Databases that Joe public doesn't have access too, or he has Jedi powers.

No different to how hackers get everything off your computer. They use tools that are not really at hand for joe public, but really easy to find if your intentions are not so pure.

We had a demonstration from a former professional hacker showing how quickly he could get everything off our corporate servers in Switzerland by someone in the US clicking a dodgy link on an email.

As we all know law enforcement is ALWAYS at least 3 steps behind the crims. So if old mate had the tools to show a school demonstration, then guaranteed the tools the crooks are using these days are 3 times more advanced...

And as we all know the only people that matter in today’s modern world is those special people called ‘shareholders’.
Perhaps things might change with privacy now that shareholders have sent a message to Mr Zuckerberg...??
 http://abc.net.au/news/2018-03-20/facebook-plunges-massive-data-break-tech-stocks-wall-street/9565734?pfmredir=sm (http://abc.net.au/news/2018-03-20/facebook-plunges-massive-data-break-tech-stocks-wall-street/9565734?pfmredir=sm)

Of particular interest is how political analytics firm Cambridge Analytica had harvested the private data of more than 50 million Facebook users without their consent to support Donald Trump's 2016 presidential election campaign.

On Monday, Republican senator John Kennedy joined Senator Klobuchar in calling on Mr Zuckerberg to testify before Congress, and Democratic senator Ron Wyden sent a letter to Mr Zuckerberg asking about company policies for sharing user data with third parties.

"Everyone knows that tech fundamentals are solid, but rumblings like what you are seeing today, that does sort of prompt people to think 'is this as good as it is going to get or should I take some profits here?'" said Eric Freedman, chief investment officer for US Bank Wealth Management.
Post by: trinityalyce on March 20, 2018, 02:36:14 PM

Really? You'd be amazed what is easily able to be found on the internet if you try AND know where to look, all publicly accessible. I once found out the name (and a lot more details...) of the CEO of the company that bought out the small business I worked for when it was all hush-hush, no one knows anything about this company, they're just new, etc. etc. Nothing about the company was promoted anywhere, this was before they had a webpage, and they were keeping their cards very close to their chest. All I knew about them was the trading name. And honestly that was one of the easier information digging expeditions I've done to satisfy my own curiosity.

I'm not a hacker. I have no special knowledge or powers. And I can find out a fair bit about someone if I want to... So its not surprising that someone from a relevant police taskforce, or a predator who does this full-time for fun, or a hacker can find out much, much more than I am capable of... because I'm a nobody. LOL.

Also? My parents would have said they were tough on what I got up to on the internet when I was a kid. While I never did anything "bad" by any stretch, they were streets behind my level of computer literacy even when I was in my early teens, and had absolutely no clue what I did or how I did it. I didn't abuse that trust, but some kids will.

Parents - how highly do you rate your computer and internet skills? Because an interested and curious child will learn things quickly and leave you for dead if you don't keep up...
Post by: tryagain on March 20, 2018, 05:06:55 PM
I am not doubting that finding out plenty of information is possible for those who have put it out there, I have found more information on people that I am sure they realize is out there, but seriously, finding out
their address, kids names, photos, schools, one of the kids phone numbers, and the other kid's 'secret' snapchat account
with
only info he got was their name
all
In a minute or two using just his phone like 60-120sec
and
described themselves as strict on social media
I stick to my
either the parents weren't in any way "Strict on social media" He was cheating and using Databases that Joe public doesn't have access too, or he has Jedi powers
Or alternatively, GBC embellished the story a little to make sure the point was made.

Post by: Bigfish on March 21, 2018, 08:13:11 AM
I am not doubting that finding out plenty of information is possible for those who have put it out there, I have found more information on people that I am sure they realize is out there, but seriously, finding out withallandI stick to my Or alternatively, GBC embellished the story a little to make sure the point was made.

I totally believe that it is quite easy for someone clued up to find out all the details. After seeing what an acquaintence could retrieve on personal info...I know its very doable.  More info than what you have listed as well.  This is why I have no social media profiles.
Post by: MadMarv on March 22, 2018, 07:36:20 PM
Mad Marv, Crazy Clarke, Crazy John?

Birth name no idea
Leigh ... name mum and dad gave me ... (adopted)
Marv ... Marvin Martian ... yes i did do it
Lee .... 
Post by: Bunyip on May 25, 2018, 11:57:11 AM
Getting really creepy now

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-05-25/amazon-alexa-recorded-private-conversation-sent-it-to-contact/9799044 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-05-25/amazon-alexa-recorded-private-conversation-sent-it-to-contact/9799044)

Recording and sharing conversations without consent.
Don't believe their explanation either
Post by: Bird on May 25, 2018, 12:50:21 PM
Quote from: Bunyip
Getting really creepy now

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-05-25/amazon-alexa-recorded-private-conversation-sent-it-to-contact/9799044 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-05-25/amazon-alexa-recorded-private-conversation-sent-it-to-contact/9799044)

Recording and sharing conversations without consent.
Don't believe their explanation either
I dont believe it LOL!!!

Again I see no need for this sort of technoShit in your home... So you cant say anything that sounds like alexia? What if your name is Alex, your ****ed.

Same as the google bullShit "Google turn the light on" FFS, the switch is ****in next to you dickhead

They would all have the ability to record and transmit Shit to anywhere on earth..
Post by: Bunyip on May 25, 2018, 01:30:04 PM
What if your name is Alex, your ****ed.

What are the chances that they said just the right things at the right time to enable this to happen, and no one in the room heard Alexia talking back to them. I call BS on that, Alexia is going rouge!!!!