Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1763066 times)

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #5300 on: April 13, 2020, 08:20:08 PM »
Awesome, thanks...

Will be building something very similar...

No probs, I've got to build another trolley as the sister-in-law wants one too...

Offline MB TD42

• Retroform Carpentry and Joinery
« Reply #5301 on: April 14, 2020, 12:33:30 AM »
Finally finished in the shed this arvo...just as well...back to work in the morning.

Installed shelving for excess timber
Reinstalled dart board after too long.
Built a new matching work bench to extent the existing one. Made room for the old ice box to fit in the side of the bench.
Removed faulty twin fluro and installed 2 separate units to spread the light a bit more...
Vacuumed the whole shed down to remove all the dust build up...four 60litre shop vac loads of dust emptied out...lol

Pics don't justify the amount of work that went into getting the cave back into working order after 8 years or dormancy.

After this weekend its been suggested I move in there...suggestion noted and under consideration...so far the pros outweigh the cons...lol

Hope your all keeping sane...hopefully we can all get back onto our swags soon.enough.

We're all ere coz we ain't all there.
« Last Edit: April 14, 2020, 12:41:47 AM by MB TD42 »
We're all hear coz we ain't all there...

« Reply #5302 on: April 14, 2020, 08:10:01 AM »
Trolley finished, only problem is the vanish is gloss and reflects the light making it not good for photos which is what the wife wanted if for...

« Reply #5303 on: April 14, 2020, 08:15:38 AM »
Trolley finished, only problem is the vanish is gloss and reflects the light making it not good for photos which is what the wife wanted if for...

looks awesome... did you dilute the Black Japan at all?

also, it looks like 90x45 for the trolley frame?

« Reply #5304 on: April 14, 2020, 08:54:04 AM »
looks awesome... did you dilute the Black Japan at all?
Nah I just slopped it on with a wide brush, 2 coats, I used stain & varnish in 1, might use decking stain next...

also, it looks like 90x45 for the trolley frame?

90x45 for the trolley, 140x45 for the top
« Last Edit: April 14, 2020, 09:14:45 AM by D4D »

The following users thanked this post: paceman

« Reply #5305 on: April 14, 2020, 04:40:14 PM »
Getting a bit of motorvation to start checking through our camping set up .. Fix / repair / replace or alter  ...
Dragged the virtualy new plastic baby Engel 21 lt   [ MT27F ]  out and fired it up on mains power, set it to freeze and 45 minutes later it was sitting at a constant -15.8* C ..      Outside air temp of 30.2* C @ 50% humidity .. You beauty ..
 Now for the puzzling bit  ...   The TEMPERATURE Variations  ..
Filled to the top with packet stuff veg etc, out of our  small upright freezer [ for a defrost ] the Engel  warmed up to -10.2* C  [ both freezers virtualy side by side for the transfer ] so was'nt out of the cold for very long ... 
The Engel  continued to slowly warm, " Not liking that "  at 1.5 hrs after filling with the frozen stuff  it was showing -9.1* C ..
Doesn't look like the girls will be getting to take their favourite icecreams away .
Put everything back into the upright house freezer its showing -18.1    .. The empty Engel is now back to  -15.8*C  ..  All temps taken on the same thermometer .. Digital display with tube / probe type ..
Might have to do a longer test with sacrificial ice creams / frozen veg etc to see how it goes .. Out of curiosity just did an infra red thermometer temp scan of the cold plate in the Engel -26.3* C ..

« Reply #5306 on: April 14, 2020, 05:12:09 PM »
Think it may have needed longer to chill before loading it up, Edz. ???

May be just reading the temperature of the cold plate, not the air temp inside the fridge ???

Offline westvic

« Reply #5307 on: April 14, 2020, 06:27:34 PM »

could try a light sand with fine steel wool to reduce shinyness
Getting there if half the fun

The other half is a cold beer when you do.

« Reply #5308 on: April 14, 2020, 06:32:35 PM »
could try a light sand with fine steel wool to reduce shinyness

Thanks, I'll give that a go.

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #5309 on: April 14, 2020, 09:08:16 PM »
Finally finished our front yard this weekend, after 15 months of procrastination and trying to work out what we wanted...

Essentially planted in 3 "zones" separated by the driveway...

Then started on the veggie beds with the kids... First one is done and planted, second one should be filled tomorrow or Thursday...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #5310 on: April 14, 2020, 10:03:20 PM »
Think it may have needed longer to chill before loading it up, Edz. ???

May be just reading the temperature of the cold plate, not the air temp inside the fridge ???

Think you maybe right Fizz, on the not sitting cold long enough part ..Been sitting empty now for hours n  hours and the baby Engel is holding -17.1*C as air temp in the box  and cycles on again when it hits - 16.2* C and continues to rises  to -15.7* C till it starts dropping back to -17   .. The girls may still get to have their icecreams yet .
 rechecked the small house freezer and its running -21. or other Deg C, So the stuff coming out of that would have been well and truly colder than the Engel, So naturaly thought it would be cold enough to keep it ..

Update : The little Engel is pulling a constant -20* C at the cold plates, took 16 hr to solid freeze a 2 lt icecream tub of water and yet a 2 lt milk bottle froze in just on 8 hrs .
« Last Edit: April 16, 2020, 08:58:16 AM by edz »

« Reply #5311 on: April 15, 2020, 10:21:45 AM »
Quote from: DrewXT
Finally finished our front yard this weekend, after 15 months of procrastination and trying to work out what we wanted...
Can you come and do mine?

« Reply #5312 on: April 15, 2020, 11:19:19 AM »

looks good  :cup:

Offline Raym

« Reply #5313 on: April 15, 2020, 11:49:16 AM »
Got this beast complete today. Not sure the event it was for will go ahead, although it is planned for July.

Introducing "Golden Fire Reflected in Dragons Eye" Number 1 in a series of 1 or maybe 2 if I find more materials.

Learnt a lot doing this & would change some things if I did it again.

Now that I will have some uninterrupted time it is back to restoring horses while daydreaming about where to go when it is all over.

Ray

« Reply #5314 on: April 15, 2020, 12:24:56 PM »
It certainly came up well, Ray! :cup:

« Reply #5315 on: April 15, 2020, 04:38:21 PM »
My OCD can relax until tomorrow :cup:

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #5316 on: April 15, 2020, 09:08:36 PM »
Can you come and do mine?
If you didn't mind it taking 15 months

Sent from my SM-T835 using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #5317 on: April 15, 2020, 09:10:26 PM »
looks good  :cup:
Thanks mate, now to fight with Melbourne Water to get the approval for the deck and my 60 sqm shed

Sent from my SM-T835 using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline

« Reply #5318 on: April 16, 2020, 07:49:27 AM »
Thanks mate, now to fight with Melbourne Water to get the approval for the deck and my 60 sqm shed

Why Melbourne Water for approval, Drew ???

Online GeoffA

« Reply #5319 on: April 16, 2020, 08:19:17 AM »
They need to give the OK that what you're proposing does not have an adverse impact on one of their assets.

My experience with City West Water was not cheap, and not pleasant. Hopefully Drew has a better run....

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #5320 on: April 17, 2020, 12:12:26 AM »
Why Melbourne Water for approval, Drew ???
Flood overlay...

Their a pill to deal with, even though we're wanting the carport 4 metres from their asset, they want us to prove where it is, as it "may have moved since we put it in"...

It's a 6 foot pipe, btw...

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

2013 Amarok Highline

Online GeoffA

« Reply #5321 on: April 17, 2020, 07:02:35 AM »
....... they want us to prove where it is, as it "may have moved since we put it in"...

Yep. We had to pay to have a surveyor prove where their asset was.
When the results were in, they then sent their own surveyor to verify the work of a licensed surveyor.

It's easy to see why people do dodgeys....

« Reply #5322 on: April 17, 2020, 07:58:42 AM »
Unbelievable ::)

« Reply #5323 on: April 17, 2020, 08:14:30 AM »
In case you need a DIY fix during lockdown, I've been using the Bunnings 'click & collect' and 'drive & collect' service with good success. The only challenge is their limited range online, no timber for example.
https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/retail/bunnings-westfield-offer-contactless-drivethrough-service-amid-coronavirus/news-story/b5ecf17f2ed8d272783aac990bbc8797

« Reply #5324 on: April 17, 2020, 03:59:55 PM »
Who knows about old tools? My dad gave me these clamps, they were his dad's. The Dawn clamp is easy but I've never heard of and can't find anything on Saxon. Was it a 'home' brand or equivalent to Dawn? NFI why my grandfather had two different brand clamps, and he's not around to ask.