General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Fizzie on January 01, 2022, 09:17:31 AM

Title: What's Making News - 2022
Post by: Fizzie on January 01, 2022, 09:17:31 AM
No Swaggers involved, I hope ??? :'(

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-01/car-drives-through-family-tent-west-kentish-tasmania/100734136 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-01/car-drives-through-family-tent-west-kentish-tasmania/100734136)
Title: Re: What's Making News - 2022
Post by: Bird on January 01, 2022, 09:27:11 AM
RIP Betty White.
3 weeks short of the ton...

https://www.news.com.au/entertainment/celebrity-life/celebrity-deaths/the-golden-girls-star-betty-white-dead-at-99/news-story/cdd5d4bb0bbd594131f92324baf9ef98 (https://www.news.com.au/entertainment/celebrity-life/celebrity-deaths/the-golden-girls-star-betty-white-dead-at-99/news-story/cdd5d4bb0bbd594131f92324baf9ef98)
Post by: Fizzie on January 06, 2022, 10:37:50 AM
& again!
Post by: lloydus67 on January 08, 2022, 07:51:50 AM
78k new COVID case a day here in Australia, puts us firmly in rank No7
It good to see our leaders putting us out as world leaders in something with their policies
(Edit)Just a bit of perspective per captor, we are No1 in the world for infection rate. Good on ya scomo

Sent from me
Post by: Fizzie on January 08, 2022, 09:45:35 AM
Another Great gone :'(

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-08/sidney-poitier-first-black-actor-to-win-best-actor-oscar-dies/100745338 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-08/sidney-poitier-first-black-actor-to-win-best-actor-oscar-dies/100745338)
Post by: Fizzie on January 15, 2022, 10:16:30 AM
As was said the other day - just get out there & do it! ;D

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-15/how-to-travel-cheaply-budget-holiday-ideas-from-single-parent/100756124 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-15/how-to-travel-cheaply-budget-holiday-ideas-from-single-parent/100756124)
Post by: Bird on January 15, 2022, 11:07:32 PM
a tsunami warning LMAO!!! all head to the blue mountains.

https://www.theage.com.au/world/oceania/footage-shows-waves-crashing-into-homes-as-tsunami-warning-sounds-in-tonga-20220115-p59ohh.html (https://www.theage.com.au/world/oceania/footage-shows-waves-crashing-into-homes-as-tsunami-warning-sounds-in-tonga-20220115-p59ohh.html)
Post by: Pottsy on January 16, 2022, 08:42:34 AM
Lots of places suffering damage, not only from the tsunami but from the tidal surges, rips etc created. A one metre tsunami doesn’t sound like much but that is above normal wave heights and you need to think of it like a consistent bow wave, they just keep coming in at very short intervals pushing the water inland without the chance to recede.
Low lying areas are coping significant damage throughout the Pacific.
Post by: Hairs on January 16, 2022, 05:09:51 PM
See ya later Novak.
Don't let the door hit ya on the way out.
Post by: Bird on January 16, 2022, 05:15:40 PM
See ya later Novak.
Don't let the door hit ya on the way out.
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Pottsy on January 16, 2022, 06:04:21 PM
3650 kms as the crow flys from Tonga to Sydney and Aus records it’s highest tsunami waves in history of between 80cm to 1metre, that is some hell of an explosion and force. Got to feel for Tonga, Fiji, Samoa and all those low lying nations. Could be days before help arrives due to the volcanic ash cloud.
Post by: corndog on January 16, 2022, 06:55:58 PM
Another Great gone :'(

Another great gone.......Novax....... or should that be.......Another gone great   ;D ;D ;D
Post by: DandyD on January 16, 2022, 09:35:14 PM
Lots of places suffering damage, not only from the tsunami but from the tidal surges, rips etc created. A one metre tsunami doesn’t sound like much but that is above normal wave heights and you need to think of it like a consistent bow wave

They are regular tourist attraction here. They even have a star rating.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7MME_cW7zmo (https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7MME_cW7zmo)

Mind you, the tide range in that area is near 13 metres.
Post by: Pottsy on January 17, 2022, 07:10:52 AM
They are regular tourist attraction here. They even have a star rating.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7MME_cW7zmo (https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=7MME_cW7zmo)

Mind you, the tide range in that area is near 13 metres.

Still wave, we get them in Oz as well, river flow meets tidal influence = instant wave, great phenomenon
Post by: austastar on January 17, 2022, 09:14:57 AM
   Only one experience of a bore. Camped on The South Cape Estury where the river forms a small lagoon at the beach.
During the night, the high tide topped the sand barrier and a bore ran up the lagoon and funnelled into the river.
The approaching sound had me puzzled (dark at night) but the commotion from a tent closer to the water edge confirmed it must have been a bore.
Dropped pin
https://maps.app.goo.gl/EFSns2xq3ZG6dr5n8

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk
Post by: Pete79 on January 17, 2022, 11:48:34 AM
3650 kms as the crow flys from Tonga to Sydney and Aus records it’s highest tsunami waves in history of between 80cm to 1metre, that is some hell of an explosion and force. Got to feel for Tonga, Fiji, Samoa and all those low lying nations. Could be days before help arrives due to the volcanic ash cloud.
Incredible that it only made a 1m wave when you see the power of it from space.

https://youtu.be/v2TlhBT9fuQ (https://youtu.be/v2TlhBT9fuQ)
Post by: Bird on January 18, 2022, 11:02:20 AM
Explain this to the boss. On the way to Geelong Caravan show ??? Similar ute, similar van ?

https://www.3aw.com.au/caravan-flip-causing-traffic-delays-on-the-princes-freeway/ (https://www.3aw.com.au/caravan-flip-causing-traffic-delays-on-the-princes-freeway/)
(https://www.3aw.com.au/wp-content/uploads/sites/12/2022/01/3aw-image-caravan-600x400.jpg)
Post by: GeoffA on January 18, 2022, 11:12:42 AM
Explain this to the boss....

Show special....1 only....
Post by: Bird on January 18, 2022, 12:20:49 PM
Show special....1 only....
too many wheels.
Post by: NZMarkb on January 18, 2022, 12:30:01 PM
Not the best advertisement for the stability of their vans 🤔🤔
Post by: GeoffA on January 18, 2022, 02:09:44 PM
too many wheels.

...1 pair hardly used...
Post by: Bird on January 18, 2022, 02:15:57 PM
Quote from: GeoffA
...1 pair hardly used...
cheap unused air conditioner there too...
Post by: edz on January 19, 2022, 10:05:51 AM
Rest in Peace little one .. Sad outcome for one of our hometown young ones ..
 Put the Scumbag in the general population in prison .. No protective custody cell block, let him face what he deserves  ..
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-19/man-charged-with-murder-over-missing-9yo-girl-in-blue-mountains/100765502 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-19/man-charged-with-murder-over-missing-9yo-girl-in-blue-mountains/100765502)
Post by: Bird on January 19, 2022, 11:13:59 AM
Quote from: edz
 Put the Scumbag in the general population in prison .. No protective custody cell block, let him face what he deserves  ..

Couldn't agree more...
Post by: corndog on January 19, 2022, 12:13:40 PM
Why keep him anywhere, except in a box in the ground, we don't have it but I would just give this scum a bullet.
Post by: Bird on January 19, 2022, 01:36:17 PM
Quote from: corndog
... but I would just give this scum a bullet.
too fast.. unless you shot out each knee 1 by 1 and elbows. just not sure which I'd shoot out first. He needs to suffer.

Court documents reveal the girl was killed between 7pm on Tuesday January 11 and 10am January 12, but police were not made aware of her disappearance until days later

... he was suffering long-standing mental health issues

the defense have already started...
Post by: Hairs on January 19, 2022, 01:43:04 PM
I have no words.
R I P, Little one.
:(
Post by: bmwfreak on January 21, 2022, 06:20:20 PM
Apparently Meat Loaf is off the menu 😢. Rib eye and barramundi are still on, so two out of three ain’t bad 😁
Post by: Bird on January 21, 2022, 06:44:55 PM
Apparently Meat Loaf is off the menu 😢. Rib eye and barramundi are still on, so two out of three ain’t bad 😁
who will ever forget his performance at the AFL grandfinal LOL\
https://www.theage.com.au/culture/music/legendary-american-singer-meat-loaf-dies-aged-74-20220121-p59qai.html (https://www.theage.com.au/culture/music/legendary-american-singer-meat-loaf-dies-aged-74-20220121-p59qai.html)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 22, 2022, 05:40:14 AM
So, out of all the great performances and songs he did, you'll judge him in death by his worst.  ???

Post by: xcvator on January 22, 2022, 09:21:15 AM
So, out of all the great performances and songs he did, you'll judge him in death by his worst.  ???

Fair comment  :cheers:
Post by: DarWen on January 22, 2022, 12:14:34 PM
I Remember Paradise by the dashboard lights when i was younger.  The wife won't be in it these days. ??? ???
Post by: Troopy_03 on January 22, 2022, 12:56:43 PM
I Remember Paradise by the dashboard lights when i was younger.  The wife won't be in it these days. ??? ???

One of my all time favourite song lines, and was very appropriate back in 1974, when the mrs and I were ummmm courting?  ;D
Post by: Brij on January 22, 2022, 01:15:37 PM

.....ooooonnnnneeeee goat!
Post by: alnjan on January 22, 2022, 01:18:07 PM
who will ever forget his performance at the AFL grandfinal LOL\
https://www.theage.com.au/culture/music/legendary-american-singer-meat-loaf-dies-aged-74-20220121-p59qai.html (https://www.theage.com.au/culture/music/legendary-american-singer-meat-loaf-dies-aged-74-20220121-p59qai.html)

https://wwos.nine.com.au/afl/harley-medcalf-on-meat-loaf-afl-grand-final-2011-performance/08e34af4-ec76-4a99-ba02-f2b42c58ff96 (https://wwos.nine.com.au/afl/harley-medcalf-on-meat-loaf-afl-grand-final-2011-performance/08e34af4-ec76-4a99-ba02-f2b42c58ff96)
Post by: Bird on January 22, 2022, 03:19:20 PM
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers

Wasn't meant to offend Kev, only ever seen him 30yrs ago on Rage at 4am when i was gettin home pissed, or MTV and then the next time I heard of him was the footy GF (I didnt think he was still around) and I only know 2 of his songs, Bat outta Hell and Paradise - mainly off the radio
Post by: bmwfreak on January 22, 2022, 04:06:31 PM
I have had the Bat Out Hell album on three different formats since its release. A great album with nary an ordinary song. Unfortunately, I can’t say that for the other albums. Dead Ringer and I would do anything for love were the only other songs that showcased his amazing voice IMO.

I found this question in a google entry - ‘ Did the lead singer of Meat Loaf die? ‘ obviously a true fan >:D

RIP Meat!
Post by: Fizzie on January 23, 2022, 09:38:47 AM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-22/riverina-community-raises-1-million-to-save-local-pub/100772036 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-22/riverina-community-raises-1-million-to-save-local-pub/100772036)

Good on 'em! :cup:

Hope it works out ???

Post by: Troopy_03 on January 23, 2022, 03:26:50 PM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-22/riverina-community-raises-1-million-to-save-local-pub/100772036 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-22/riverina-community-raises-1-million-to-save-local-pub/100772036)

Good on 'em! :cup:

Hope it works out ???

Shows where Aussie's priorities lie eh? LOL
Post by: Bird on January 25, 2022, 10:55:45 AM
Quote from: edz
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-19/man-charged-with-murder-over-missing-9yo-girl-in-blue-mountains/100765502 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-19/man-charged-with-murder-over-missing-9yo-girl-in-blue-mountains/100765502)
what the **** is wrong with people..

https://www.news.com.au/national/nsw-act/crime/nsw-police-reveal-how-eightyearold-charlise-mutten-died/news-story/f6921104ebcfe17b92f97a1b3b8ca423 (https://www.news.com.au/national/nsw-act/crime/nsw-police-reveal-how-eightyearold-charlise-mutten-died/news-story/f6921104ebcfe17b92f97a1b3b8ca423)
Post by: edz on January 25, 2022, 12:34:05 PM
Yep ..Wont bring the poor little bugger back ..But for open and shut cases, save us all the cost .. Hell, I'd glady cover the cost of the Bullet
Strap him to the post load the round, Send the waste to the Fertiliser factory .. So some good might come of it .
Post by: Bird on January 25, 2022, 12:38:38 PM
Yep ..Wont bring the poor little bugger back ..But for open and shut cases, save us all the cost .. Hell, I'd glady cover the cost of the Bullet
Strap him to the post load the round, Send the waste to the Fertiliser factory .. So some good might come of it .
I'll drive the truck to the factory and carry the chunk of Shit inside and turn the machine on
Post by: Fizzie on January 25, 2022, 02:36:06 PM
& here's one you don't see everyday! ;D

https://amp.9news.com.au/article/92508b90-d41b-4bfa-b3f8-c9407d53d65b (https://amp.9news.com.au/article/92508b90-d41b-4bfa-b3f8-c9407d53d65b)

New cave complex underneath, perhaps ???

Reckon there'll be somebody out there checking it as soon as things dry out.
Post by: bmwfreak on January 25, 2022, 03:53:30 PM
Written by 9News Staff. What is their education level these days?

Quote from report -

‘Flash flooding left the Stuart Highway nearly submerged underwater, ’ 🤔
Post by: alnjan on January 25, 2022, 08:47:11 PM
https://www.9news.com.au/national/dylan-alcott-australian-of-the-year-winner-2022/f7565c72-1c8e-4339-9702-2817570d2bf0

(https://www.9news.com.au/national/dylan-alcott-australian-of-the-year-winner-2022/f7565c72-1c8e-4339-9702-2817570d2bf0)
Tennis star Dylan Alcott has been named the 2022 Australian of the Year, becoming the first person with a disability to receive the award.
A fierce advocate for people with a disability, in 2021 Alcott became the first male tennis player in history to win the Golden Slam — all four grand slam titles plus an Olympic or Paralympic gold medal in the same year.
Alcott's eponymous foundation seeks to remove the barriers for people with a disability seeking to get involved in sport, studying and mentoring by providing funding and grants.
Post by: Fizzie on January 27, 2022, 01:17:49 PM
Interesting, & damn good!, idea:

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-27/hi-vis-reflective-cattle-eartags-to-prevent-car-crashes/100779328 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-27/hi-vis-reflective-cattle-eartags-to-prevent-car-crashes/100779328)
Post by: Pottsy on January 27, 2022, 01:21:02 PM
Interesting, & damn good!, idea:

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-27/hi-vis-reflective-cattle-eartags-to-prevent-car-crashes/100779328 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-01-27/hi-vis-reflective-cattle-eartags-to-prevent-car-crashes/100779328)

Great idea but I can see it contributing to a lot more alien sightings on the way home from the pub. But officer there was these shining lights dancing across the road.
Post by: austastar on January 27, 2022, 01:44:54 PM
   In Finland they put reflecting tape on reindeer every muster.
Pitty wombats, camels, emus, devils, roo etc are so damn uncooperative.

Post by: jclures on January 27, 2022, 04:35:00 PM
Maybe they should do that to the deer here as well, I have counted 3 killed to the road to Cairns in the last two months. 1 large buck with antlers and two others. When I went to cairns the antlers were still on the carcase, but when I came home someone had removed them.
Post by: Bird on January 27, 2022, 06:19:32 PM
Useless unless the cow is facing the right direction and flicking his ears up..

They need full safety vests
https://www.chinareflective.com/news/Reflective-vest-for-cows.html (https://www.chinareflective.com/news/Reflective-vest-for-cows.html)
Post by: DandyD on January 28, 2022, 07:14:49 PM
& here's one you don't see everyday! ;D

You’re right. That’s the first time I’ve seen one of those new Grenadier Land Rover things on the road.
Post by: Bird on January 28, 2022, 07:33:45 PM
You’re right. That’s the first time I’ve seen one of those new Grenadier Land Rover things on the road.
9 out of 10 landrovers ever made are still on the road..

the other one made it home :P
Post by: Bird on February 02, 2022, 12:39:02 PM
Drugs are bad.... Mmmmkay

Dont play with scissors when stoned... (https://www.news.com.au/technology/science/human-body/thai-man-completely-amputates-own-penis-with-scissors-during-cannabisfuelled-psychotic-episode/news-story/b5d89728a042dfae585a7ca2ea868197)
Post by: Troopy_03 on February 02, 2022, 04:30:10 PM
Drugs are bad.... Mmmmkay

Dont play with scissors when stoned... (https://www.news.com.au/technology/science/human-body/thai-man-completely-amputates-own-penis-with-scissors-during-cannabisfuelled-psychotic-episode/news-story/b5d89728a042dfae585a7ca2ea868197)

Makes ya toes curl up just thinking about it eh...

and it seems like a popular pass time:

https://www.complex.com/life/man-cuts-off-penis-throws-out-of-car-during-police-chase/ (https://www.complex.com/life/man-cuts-off-penis-throws-out-of-car-during-police-chase/)
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-9545905/Man-48-chops-penis-kitchen-knife-left-stump.html (https://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-9545905/Man-48-chops-penis-kitchen-knife-left-stump.html)
https://nypost.com/2020/12/30/staten-island-man-cuts-off-penis-throws-it-in-toilet/ (https://nypost.com/2020/12/30/staten-island-man-cuts-off-penis-throws-it-in-toilet/)
https://www.thesouthafrican.com/news/mentally-ill-man-cuts-off-his-penis-in-failed-suicide-attempt-gets-it-successfully-reattached/ (https://www.thesouthafrican.com/news/mentally-ill-man-cuts-off-his-penis-in-failed-suicide-attempt-gets-it-successfully-reattached/)
Post by: Bird on February 02, 2022, 04:48:42 PM
Makes ya toes curl up just thinking about it eh...

and it seems like a popular pass time:

https://www.complex.com/life/man-cuts-off-penis-throws-out-of-car-during-police-chase/ (https://www.complex.com/life/man-cuts-off-penis-throws-out-of-car-during-police-chase/)
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-9545905/Man-48-chops-penis-kitchen-knife-left-stump.html (https://www.dailymail.co.uk/health/article-9545905/Man-48-chops-penis-kitchen-knife-left-stump.html)
https://nypost.com/2020/12/30/staten-island-man-cuts-off-penis-throws-it-in-toilet/ (https://nypost.com/2020/12/30/staten-island-man-cuts-off-penis-throws-it-in-toilet/)
https://www.thesouthafrican.com/news/mentally-ill-man-cuts-off-his-penis-in-failed-suicide-attempt-gets-it-successfully-reattached/ (https://www.thesouthafrican.com/news/mentally-ill-man-cuts-off-his-penis-in-failed-suicide-attempt-gets-it-successfully-reattached/)
could be worse Pass me a fork please. (https://au.news.yahoo.com/man-lodges-fork-in-penis-18563526.html)
(https://waxgolf.files.wordpress.com/2015/12/crying-man.gif)
Post by: xcvator on February 05, 2022, 11:52:10 AM
NOW READ THIS   :cup: :cup: :cheers: :cheers: https://www.9news.com.au/national/australia-post-ordered-to-pay-couple-for-not-delivering-parcels-to-their-door/d2dd6707-db66-46b9-9cc2-52c5789b7fe1?ocid=Social-9NewsM (https://www.9news.com.au/national/australia-post-ordered-to-pay-couple-for-not-delivering-parcels-to-their-door/d2dd6707-db66-46b9-9cc2-52c5789b7fe1?ocid=Social-9NewsM)
Post by: Fizzie on February 06, 2022, 06:15:20 AM
Wow!

I reckon the AP Boardroom must be frantic this morning! >:D
Post by: bmwfreak on February 10, 2022, 05:21:57 PM
The wife and I were coming home from Ipswich today when we caught up to a BMW X5 heading north out of Yarraman, in the overtaking lanes. The BM caught up to a 70 series ute doing it tough up the hill, in the left lane, and INDICATED to overtake. Having completed the overtaking manoeuvre the BM then INDICATED and MOVED BACK into the left lane.
Has anyone seen a recall notification for BMW X5’s with the malfunctioning indicator issue?
Post by: Fizzie on February 11, 2022, 06:47:39 AM
Jeez, they'll be tracking that car down to take it back! >:D
Post by: Robbo on February 12, 2022, 07:01:13 PM
Jeez, they'll be tracking that car down to take it back! >:D
Must have just had his blinker fluid topped up.

Sent from my SM-A226B using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on February 12, 2022, 07:04:41 PM
Must have just had his blinker fluid topped up.

Sent from my SM-A226B using Tapatalk
I dunno, I just reckon its bullShit... not possible.. unicorn toothfairy bmw blinker..
Post by: bmwfreak on February 22, 2022, 10:43:58 PM
Looks like it’s on in Europe😞

I think Vlad wants to go down in history as the Russian/USSR president who didn’t back down from conflict with the West.
Post by: Hairs on February 24, 2022, 03:19:34 PM
Just got home,
News reports on most channels,
air raid sirens sound in the capital of Kyiv.
;(

Edit, Blasts heard in the capital.
Post by: Bird on February 24, 2022, 06:28:18 PM
Just got home,
News reports on most channels,
air raid sirens sound in the capital of Kyiv.
;(

Edit, Blasts heard in the capital.
EarthCam Live: Kyiv, Ukraine
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2cyQPN5xQtU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2cyQPN5xQtU)
Post by: Fizzie on February 25, 2022, 07:27:17 AM
& when "EarthCam Live" is apparently off the air, that can't be good :'( >:(

Comments do say power & internet though.
Post by: Bird on February 25, 2022, 09:31:59 AM
& when "EarthCam Live" is apparently off the air, that can't be good :'( >:(

Comments do say power & internet though.
theres a Shit load of cameras live around the city.. CNN etc must have invested well in Go-Pros and installing them for last 5 months.
Post by: Pottsy on February 25, 2022, 11:21:43 AM
Why?
https://www.9news.com.au/national/weather-update-nsw-floods-turn-deadly-as-man-found-dead-in-submerged-toyota-land-cruiser/aee699ad-a1ee-42d7-8daf-bf3bdf99f9a3?ref=BP_RSS_ninenews_4_nsw-floods-turn-deadly-as-man-found-dead-in-submerged-car_240222
Post by: Hairs on March 04, 2022, 08:58:58 AM
Vale, Rod Marsh.
;(
Post by: Bird on March 04, 2022, 09:11:26 AM
Vale, Rod Marsh.
;(
yea thats Shit news... :( but was coming...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YnFNA654WsI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YnFNA654WsI)
https://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/cricket-legend-rod-marsh-dead-at-74/news-story/feedb4d68d3614964643ab32e1887392 (https://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/cricket-legend-rod-marsh-dead-at-74/news-story/feedb4d68d3614964643ab32e1887392)

https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/rod-marsh-in-pictures-20220303-h2253d.html (https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/rod-marsh-in-pictures-20220303-h2253d.html)
Post by: Foo on March 05, 2022, 03:23:30 AM
And Warney has followed.

https://www.nine.com.au/ (https://www.nine.com.au/)

Post by: Hairs on March 05, 2022, 07:15:21 AM
And Warney has followed.

Hmmm, :(
Sad news.
Post by: Troopy_03 on March 05, 2022, 09:36:37 AM
And Warney has followed.

https://wwos.nine.com.au/cricket/shane-warne-death-cricket-legend-dies-of-heart-attack-aged-52/b097a230-5443-4d34-8ba0-af44350112c1 (https://wwos.nine.com.au/cricket/shane-warne-death-cricket-legend-dies-of-heart-attack-aged-52/b097a230-5443-4d34-8ba0-af44350112c1)
Post by: Pottsy on March 16, 2022, 07:23:41 AM
Just saw on telly Lloyds are auctioning of flood damaged MDC camper trailer and caravans with a $1 reserve.
Damaged electronics, upholstery etc, no thanks!
Post by: GBC on March 16, 2022, 07:33:50 AM
Just saw on telly Lloyds are auctioning of flood damaged MDC camper trailer and caravans with a $1 reserve.
Damaged electronics, upholstery etc, no thanks!

The owner of MDC put up the link on the owner's page yesterday. I could be well off the mark here but he is stating that they are not statutory writeoffs and can be registered in any state. I believe the stat writeoff height for a van is water over the floor, so putting 1 and 3 together i'm guessing they may not have gone too far under at all and the insurer has wiped them anyway. Could be worth a squizz for prospective van buyers anyway.
Post by: Pottsy on March 16, 2022, 02:24:52 PM
The owner of MDC put up the link on the owner's page yesterday. I could be well off the mark here but he is stating that they are not statutory writeoffs and can be registered in any state. I believe the stat writeoff height for a van is water over the floor, so putting 1 and 3 together i'm guessing they may not have gone too far under at all and the insurer has wiped them anyway. Could be worth a squizz for prospective van buyers anyway.
Some had upholstery pulled out, so I’d reckon above floor height.
Post by: alnjan on March 16, 2022, 08:30:35 PM
https://www.smh.com.au/national/albanese-will-not-review-kitching-mistreatment-claims-20220316-p5a58a.html (https://www.smh.com.au/national/albanese-will-not-review-kitching-mistreatment-claims-20220316-p5a58a.html)

Seems the media is happy with this, wander if it was the other bloke what would be said? 
Post by: Hairs on March 23, 2022, 04:57:04 PM
Ashleigh Barty,
You do what is best for you, young Lady.
Thank you for taking us along for the ride.
:)
Keep chasing your Dreams.
Post by: alnjan on March 23, 2022, 06:09:20 PM
Be interesting to see what you takes on next
Post by: Hairs on March 23, 2022, 06:48:47 PM
Be interesting to see what you takes on next
It will be mate,
She holds her self well, down to earth, I wish her well.
Post by: Kangaron on March 23, 2022, 08:25:26 PM
Impending marriage, I think kids may be on the horizon.

Sent from my motorola edge 20 fusion using Tapatalk

Post by: Fizzie on March 24, 2022, 07:47:09 AM
Yep, she's one of the very few that have left while they're at the top, so can walk away holding their head high ;D :cup:

I'd reckon coach of the Aussie team would have to be in there somewhere ???
Post by: Bird on March 24, 2022, 09:06:19 AM
Quote from: Fizzie
I'd reckon coach of the Aussie team would have to be in there somewhere ???
i thought she was engaged.. ?  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: xcvator on March 24, 2022, 06:35:08 PM
What sort of spin will be put on this ?
https://www.news.com.au/national/politics/jacqui-lambies-secret-deal-with-scott-morrison-to-release-refugees-revealed/news-story/524ac244ae1e0f54a132039a9d9a39f4 (https://www.news.com.au/national/politics/jacqui-lambies-secret-deal-with-scott-morrison-to-release-refugees-revealed/news-story/524ac244ae1e0f54a132039a9d9a39f4)
Post by: bmwfreak on March 24, 2022, 08:43:03 PM
“There is no secret deal,’’ Senator Cormann said.

The Prime Minister also told reporters that there was no secret deal.

“It means she is happy with the government’s policies and the bill that was presented to the Senate, and she voted for it,” Mr Morrison said

The spin is already in. FAKE NEWS, it never happened. The Russians never funded anything to do with it. The claim by Ukrainian officials that this happened is NAZI propaganda.

Post by: xcvator on April 07, 2022, 03:15:13 PM
How much longer will we have access ????  >:( >:( >:(
https://www.abc.net.au/news/rural/2022-04-07/cattle-stations-in-cape-york-disappearing/100972532 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/rural/2022-04-07/cattle-stations-in-cape-york-disappearing/100972532)
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 07, 2022, 07:31:07 PM
“There is no secret deal,’’ Senator Cormann said.

The Prime Minister also told reporters that there was no secret deal.

“It means she is happy with the government’s policies and the bill that was presented to the Senate, and she voted for it,” Mr Morrison said

The spin is already in. FAKE NEWS, it never happened. The Russians never funded anything to do with it. The claim by Ukrainian officials that this happened is NAZI propaganda.

WTF? what's that weird claim got to do with the story?
Post by: Fizzie on April 08, 2022, 10:47:28 AM
Don't know if it's only recent or not, but just saw reference to this:

https://www.canningstockroute.net.au/closedareas (https://www.canningstockroute.net.au/closedareas)

Calvert Ranges & Calvert Range Track closed to ALL access till further notice (which could be years ???)
Post by: D4D on April 08, 2022, 02:04:05 PM
Oh what a feeling https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/motoring-news/toyota-australia-loses-class-action-for-faulty-diesel-particulate-filters/news-story/e573b50068234eda4bc701ff5bdf0e21 (https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/motoring-news/toyota-australia-loses-class-action-for-faulty-diesel-particulate-filters/news-story/e573b50068234eda4bc701ff5bdf0e21)
Post by: MDS69 on April 08, 2022, 06:57:06 PM
Oh what a feeling https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/motoring-news/toyota-australia-loses-class-action-for-faulty-diesel-particulate-filters/news-story/e573b50068234eda4bc701ff5bdf0e21 (https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/motoring-news/toyota-australia-loses-class-action-for-faulty-diesel-particulate-filters/news-story/e573b50068234eda4bc701ff5bdf0e21)

In the Daily Mail article they used a petrol 120 photo for reference.
Post by: DandyD on April 10, 2022, 07:57:42 AM
In the Daily Mail article they used a petrol 120 photo for reference.

The Daily Fail?
Post by: corndog on April 10, 2022, 11:46:27 AM
Well he's called. It's a shame he just cannot come out the door, stand at the microphone and tell us in a couple of sentences that it has been set, any questions?  Nope, not done. He spends 10 minutes of electioneering, everything we have heard for the past few weeks, all said again. Another 1 minute speech turned into 10 minutes of waffle. 
Post by: Bird on April 10, 2022, 11:56:22 AM
Quote from: corndog
Well he's called.
time to go underground... united party ads been ruining Youtube for months...
(https://ih1.redbubble.net/image.810754187.9767/poster,504x498,f8f8f8-pad,600x600,f8f8f8.u2.jpg)
Post by: Pottsy on April 11, 2022, 05:56:01 PM
An alternative Prime Minister who doesn’t know the current cash rate!

God help us all.
Post by: Steffo1 on April 11, 2022, 06:18:28 PM
Quote from: Pottsy link=topic=58286.msg1052329#msg1052329 date=1649663761

God help us all.
[/quote

Amen!
Post by: Bird on April 12, 2022, 10:34:42 AM
mad that this amount of new stuff is chucked out with so many with nothing left after recent floods etc...  Great work by this group/charity to get goods

https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/sustainability/more-than-25-billion-in-unsold-brand-new-goods-wasted-each-year/news-story/db9b751245abb40e88b66cf5bc03c36d (https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/sustainability/more-than-25-billion-in-unsold-brand-new-goods-wasted-each-year/news-story/db9b751245abb40e88b66cf5bc03c36d)
Post by: Bird on April 13, 2022, 10:26:37 AM
and they'd be the first to cry if a group of pissed off motorists dragged them off the truck and threw them off the bridge....

https://www.news.com.au/national/nsw-act/news/climate-protesters-bring-sydney-harbour-bridge-traffic-to-a-standstill/news-story/5ba430517f5cbc24500562d58cf243c4 (https://www.news.com.au/national/nsw-act/news/climate-protesters-bring-sydney-harbour-bridge-traffic-to-a-standstill/news-story/5ba430517f5cbc24500562d58cf243c4)
Post by: Bird on April 13, 2022, 12:27:39 PM
https://www.news.com.au/entertainment/celebrity-life/celebrity-deaths/comedy-legend-gilbert-gottfried-dead-at-67-after-long-illness/news-story/78c488bdea3c778e4cdab990d6226896 (https://www.news.com.au/entertainment/celebrity-life/celebrity-deaths/comedy-legend-gilbert-gottfried-dead-at-67-after-long-illness/news-story/78c488bdea3c778e4cdab990d6226896)

Comedian Gilbert Gottfried has died at the age of 67 after suffering a long term heart condition, his family has confirmed in a statement on social media.

“We are heartbroken to announce the passing of out beloved Gilbert Gottfried after a long illness. In addition to being the most iconic voice in comedy, Gilbert was a wonderful husband, brother, friend and father to his two young children. Although today is a sad day for all of us, please keep laughing as loud as possible in Gilbert’s honour. Love, the Gottfried family.”

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FJo4UAWXsAYKjY5?format=jpg&name=900x900)
Post by: Spada on April 13, 2022, 01:32:13 PM
and they'd be the first to cry if a group of pissed off motorists dragged them off the truck and threw them off the bridge....

I just wish the media would stop covering these sorts of protests. Take away their 15 minutes of fame and you take away their incentive to protest.
Post by: Fizzie on April 14, 2022, 07:27:10 AM
I just wish the media would stop covering these sorts of protests. Take away their 15 minutes of fame and you take away their incentive to protest.

Agree entirely.

& where does fairness & so on come into play here ??? If just any person drove across the Bridge at 5kph, stopped in the middle of it & got out to admire the view, they'd be in the slammer within 5 minutes & their vehicle would be towed away. ::)

But it's OK for ProtestorsTM to disrupt 000s of people ??? >:(
Post by: xcvator on April 17, 2022, 10:24:30 AM
Not much has changed has it ?
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-04-17/newspaper-1939-shows-australias-politicians-behaving-the-same/100990270 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-04-17/newspaper-1939-shows-australias-politicians-behaving-the-same/100990270)
Post by: D4D on April 18, 2022, 08:46:06 PM
Happy Easter, beadlocks and aftermarket headlights and wonders why he gets defected...
https://www.whichcar.com.au/news/victoria-police-target-4wds-over-easter-long-weekend? (https://www.whichcar.com.au/news/victoria-police-target-4wds-over-easter-long-weekend?)
Post by: lloydus67 on April 18, 2022, 09:16:23 PM
The article says that he had all his engineering certificates with him

Sent from me
Post by: Bird on April 18, 2022, 09:26:10 PM
Quote from: D4D
Happy Easter, beadlocks and aftermarket headlights and wonders why he gets defected...
https://www.whichcar.com.au/news/victoria-police-target-4wds-over-easter-long-weekend? (https://www.whichcar.com.au/news/victoria-police-target-4wds-over-easter-long-weekend?)
Recently a guy in club got defected for light bar on bull bar at Southland..
 Cops were waiting around for em to drive past, and said 'you guys are easy picking'... They went right over his couple of yr old dual cab, lookin for wheels outside guards the works, measured and all tyre size, and suspension lift.. the works..

edit "while the second phase will run over the Anzac Day long weekend from the early hours of Friday April 22 to midnight Monday April 25, 2022."
Nutha reason to not bother going away next weekend.
Post by: Fizzie on April 19, 2022, 06:48:35 AM
Recently a guy in club got defected for light bar on bull bar

AFAIK they're legal (depending on just how it's mounted, of course) so on what grounds, or did he fail the attitude test ??? >:D
Post by: Bird on April 19, 2022, 09:03:03 AM
AFAIK they're legal (depending on just how it's mounted, of course) so on what grounds, or did he fail the attitude test ??? >:D

Obviously they arent.. Just standard 6-9 iin bar mounted on bullbar. (not one of the monster 3ft ones you see)
He got stickered and had to go to Vicroads to clear it.
Post by: GeoffA on April 19, 2022, 09:22:35 AM
Maybe it was hard-wired into the high beam?
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 19, 2022, 09:51:58 AM
Obviously they arent.. Just standard 6-9 iin bar mounted on bullbar. (not one of the monster 3ft ones you see)
He got stickered and had to go to Vicroads to clear it.

Yes they are legal mounted on the bull bar, as long as they comply with the requirements of Vicroads:
https://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/registration/modify-or-build-a-vehicle/modify-or-build-a-light-vehicle-or-trailer/fog-and-driving-lights (https://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/registration/modify-or-build-a-vehicle/modify-or-build-a-light-vehicle-or-trailer/fog-and-driving-lights)

Similar in NSW
Post by: Bird on April 19, 2022, 10:18:37 AM
Yes they are legal mounted on the bull bar, as long as they comply with the requirements of Vicroads:
https://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/registration/modify-or-build-a-vehicle/modify-or-build-a-light-vehicle-or-trailer/fog-and-driving-lights (https://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/registration/modify-or-build-a-vehicle/modify-or-build-a-light-vehicle-or-trailer/fog-and-driving-lights)

Similar in NSW
those arent mounted on the top of the bullbar.

the lamps must not be mounted on a bull bar in a way that they protrude above the top or front of the bull bar (see fig. 2).

Figure 2
(https://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/-/media/images/safety-and-road-rules/vehicle-safety/fog-lights-and-additional-driving-lights/1-prohibited-position-of-led-light-bars-in-relation-to-bullbars.ashx?h=199&w=300&hash=4AE2DDA24E83A4C86139C341FF58FD3F)
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 19, 2022, 03:06:26 PM
those arent mounted on the top of the bullbar.

the lamps must not be mounted on a bull bar in a way that they protrude above the top or front of the bull bar (see fig. 2).

Figure 2
(https://www.vicroads.vic.gov.au/-/media/images/safety-and-road-rules/vehicle-safety/fog-lights-and-additional-driving-lights/1-prohibited-position-of-led-light-bars-in-relation-to-bullbars.ashx?h=199&w=300&hash=4AE2DDA24E83A4C86139C341FF58FD3F)

You didn't say mounted on the top of the bullbar, you just said mounted on the bullbar

Bird:
Recently a guy in club got defected for light bar on bull bar at Southland..

and disagreed with Fizzies post

Fizzie:

Bird:

Incidentally, mine is legally mounted on the bullbar..  ;D ;D

Post by: corndog on April 19, 2022, 04:21:31 PM
I'm  pretty sure mounting fishing rod holders that protrude above the bull bar makes it unroadworthy. Some will say what a load of crap, but, it's the law, like it or not. And going by that where does it stand with your aerial mount Troops?
Post by: Steffo1 on April 19, 2022, 06:06:03 PM
Everything here legal in Qld, apparently. The light bar is contained within the extremities of the front bar. The rod holders, when not in use, are twisted back, behind the bar, which I have been advised is legal.

Post by: Hairs on April 19, 2022, 06:24:01 PM
NSW Regulations use to be, below pics.
Whether this has changed I don't know.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220419/49718b96eb30b3750b94a53ede12c890.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220419/aabd36426baf510a34d41dcc264bc139.jpg)
Post by: bmwfreak on April 19, 2022, 06:25:19 PM
All designed to give a pedestrian, who walks out in front of a 2T vehicle a ‘fair chance’ of survival(?)
Post by: Troopy_03 on April 19, 2022, 08:28:31 PM
I'm  pretty sure mounting fishing rod holders that protrude above the bull bar makes it unroadworthy. Some will say what a load of crap, but, it's the law, like it or not. And going by that where does it stand with your aerial mount Troops?

UHF Antenna is fine, it doesn't protrude in front, and there is no rule to say it can't be mounted where it is. Obviously the antenna is normally fixed to the spring mount, it was taken off to repaint it at the time. The thing with rod holders protruding forward is they can gouge chunks out of an unfortunate pedestrian, should you happen to hit one that is too slow to get out of the way.  >:D
Post by: alnjan on April 19, 2022, 09:28:32 PM
The article says that he had all his engineering certificates with him

Sent from me

Engineering Certificates are not a get out of trouble card like some wish.  If it still looks dangerous you will still get a sticker
Post by: Fizzie on April 27, 2022, 12:43:32 PM
Anybody planning on heading out Western Qld, sorry, but you're not going just yet!

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-04-27/qld-weather-record-rain-western-queensland-flood/101018128 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-04-27/qld-weather-record-rain-western-queensland-flood/101018128)
Post by: sparksy on April 27, 2022, 01:43:24 PM
Everything here legal in Qld, apparently. The light bar is contained within the extremities of the front bar. The rod holders, when not in use, are twisted back, behind the bar, which I have been advised is legal.

cars over here a while back were defected because only had 1 light bar fitted. ADR used to state that any auxiliary lights on front must installed in be in pairs.  Solution for some was to simply wrap black duct tape ove centre section so it became 2 sets of lights.
Post by: Steffo1 on April 27, 2022, 02:18:07 PM
cars over here a while back were defected because only had 1 light bar fitted. ADR used to state that any auxiliary lights on front must installed in be in pairs.  Solution for some was to simply wrap black duct tape ove centre section so it became 2 sets of lights.

I'm pretty sure that Qld amended their transport requirements a couple of years ago, to address the single light bar issue. It is illegal to have one sitting on the top bar.
Post by: Hairs on May 01, 2022, 08:57:51 AM
Hey Bird,
Here's a pi55er for ya Mate :)
They want to band the word 'Mate'
'NSW government ministers have been reportedly told to avoid using the word “mate” as part of new workplace behaviour advice'

https://www.news.com.au/national/nsw-act/politics/dominic-perrottet-ministers-unhappy-with-new-pc-office-advice/news-story/926835959ecc81d3e1ab61a86e6fce8c
Post by: Fizzie on May 01, 2022, 09:20:21 AM
Happened to Son 2 a little while back.

He's a Mod on a game Discord server, & they were trying to sort out an issue.

Got it sorted with some helpful input from somebody, so son said "All now fixed with valuable help from "them". Thanks, mate!"

& things went a bit strange from that moment :'(

What are you trying to suggest?

Who are you?

Have you been stalking me?

::)

He apologised & explained that he's in Oz & that's a term of friendship & appreciation, not any sort of sexual suggestion!
Post by: Bird on May 01, 2022, 11:59:54 AM
Hey Bird,
Here's a pi55er for ya Mate :)
They want to band the word 'Mate'
'NSW government ministers have been reportedly told to avoid using the word “mate” as part of new workplace behaviour advice'

https://www.news.com.au/national/nsw-act/politics/dominic-perrottet-ministers-unhappy-with-new-pc-office-advice/news-story/926835959ecc81d3e1ab61a86e6fce8c
"an external “diversity and inclusion” consultant."
WTF is one of them? Can you imagine living with these sort of happy souls?
Post by: Steffo1 on May 01, 2022, 12:38:12 PM
WTF is one of them? Can you imagine living with these sort of happy souls?

These people would no doubt be academically educated in a university.
Perhaps, to alleviate financial burden on the uni, they could be used as subjects by the psychology faculty?

Post by: Hairs on May 01, 2022, 04:25:09 PM

That's easy for you to say. :O

Post by: Bird on May 06, 2022, 01:07:26 PM
about time :) and one for caravans too :P

Calls for off-road licence endorsement to reduce bush rescues
All the gear and no idea? Some argue training should be required to drive off road

The rise in popularity of off-roading has meant an increase in the number of rescues being undertaken by tow truck drivers and recovery specialists in recent years, leading to calls for a special licence endorsement.

Pundits are recommending the change – which would require drivers to undertake a four-wheel-drive course to gain the endorsement – for people to take their vehicles into certain areas, such as beaches or bushland.

Debate has kicked off in recent days after a 2018 blog post from television personality Pat Callinan surfaced on social media.

Callinan argued a typical driver’s licence wasn’t sufficient for most people to be trusted with controlling a large four-wheel-drive, saying “one licence category covers everything from a Kia Piccanto [sic] to a 79 Series [LandCruiser] via a Porsche 911”.

While drivers require special licence endorsements to operate a motorcycle or truck, anyone with a basic motor vehicle licence can take their car into potentially dangerous areas.

https://www.whichcar.com.au/news/calls-for-off-road-licence-endorsement (https://www.whichcar.com.au/news/calls-for-off-road-licence-endorsement)
Post by: Steffo1 on May 06, 2022, 07:17:57 PM
A 'Potentially Dangerous Area' for what type of vehicle? Will you need a licence to drive a Suby Outback on the beach, or to head into the forestry in Territory?
Another licence should be required by trailer boat owners, to prove they can reverse down a boat ramp.
You're never going to stop dickheads! Just look at a lot of PWC licence holders!
Post by: GeoffA on May 06, 2022, 07:37:32 PM
Just another level of bureaucracy IMO.

Licences don't stop bingles and stupidity in cars and trucks....

Post by: Bird on May 06, 2022, 08:29:48 PM
A 'Potentially Dangerous Area' for what type of vehicle? Will you need a licence to drive a Suby Outback on the beach, or to head into the forestry in Territory?
Another licence should be required by trailer boat owners, to prove they can reverse down a boat ramp.
You're never going to stop dickheads! Just look at a lot of PWC licence holders!
he who has most licenses wins...  :cup:
Post by: Fizzie on May 07, 2022, 07:27:23 AM
he who has most licenses wins...  :cup:

A mate of mine is a shooter, both rifles & pistols. He's also an armourer, an instructor, a collector, works on the occasional movie, & also used to have a security licence.

He had something like 10-12 separate "firearms" licenses to cover everything that he did, every one of them it's own individual piece of plastic, every one of them with it's on expiry date, & each being charged separately ::) :'( >:(
Post by: DandyD on May 07, 2022, 07:34:25 AM
Just one licence for rifled firearms here but every piece you own has to be added to it, plus silencers. No pistols though, unless they are muzzle loading or have a humorously long barrel.
Post by: Fizzie on May 07, 2022, 07:40:15 AM
plus silencers

Jeez, even mentioning that "S" word on an Oz forum has probably just lit up alarms all over the place! ::) :o >:D
Post by: DandyD on May 07, 2022, 07:56:44 AM
Jeez, even mentioning that "S" word on an Oz forum has probably just lit up alarms all over the place! ::) :o >:D

Using a rifle without a silencer here is regarded as bad manners.

You can even get them for shotguns.

Post by: Steffo1 on May 07, 2022, 08:00:12 AM
In some countries, they use 'Silencers' without rifles!
Post by: Bird on May 12, 2022, 03:49:05 PM
Interesting the ute is no longer a ute....

https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/motoring-news/why-toyota-says-the-landcruiser-is-no-longer-a-ute/news-story/f28b3fb7c653c40d81534221b13ae881 (https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/motoring-news/why-toyota-says-the-landcruiser-is-no-longer-a-ute/news-story/f28b3fb7c653c40d81534221b13ae881)
Post by: Bird on May 13, 2022, 10:42:15 AM
and the crypto world crumbles
https://crypto.com/price/terra-luna (https://crypto.com/price/terra-luna)

“I lost over 450k usd, I cannot pay the bank,” reads one of the top posts on the Reddit forum for Terra Luna, a cryptocurrency that has lost more than 99 per cent of its value over the past week.
Charlie Munger with Warren Buffett, described cryptocurrencies as a ‘venereal disease’.

https://www.news.com.au/finance/markets/world-markets/crypto-investors-panic-during-market-bloodbath-i-will-lose-my-home/news-story/453f15a51fea3e2ccf3ca16c5b6503c2 (https://www.news.com.au/finance/markets/world-markets/crypto-investors-panic-during-market-bloodbath-i-will-lose-my-home/news-story/453f15a51fea3e2ccf3ca16c5b6503c2)
Post by: NZMarkb on May 13, 2022, 10:56:44 AM
and the crypto world crumbles

“I lost over 450k usd, I cannot pay the bank,” reads one of the top posts on the Reddit forum for Terra Luna, a cryptocurrency that has lost more than 99 per cent of its value over the past week.
Charlie Munger with Warren Buffett, described cryptocurrencies as a ‘venereal disease’.

https://www.news.com.au/finance/markets/world-markets/crypto-investors-panic-during-market-bloodbath-i-will-lose-my-home/news-story/453f15a51fea3e2ccf3ca16c5b6503c2 (https://www.news.com.au/finance/markets/world-markets/crypto-investors-panic-during-market-bloodbath-i-will-lose-my-home/news-story/453f15a51fea3e2ccf3ca16c5b6503c2)

Well, didn't see that coming  8) 8)
Post by: Bird on May 13, 2022, 11:18:02 AM

Well, didn't see that coming  8) 8)
more zeros in front of it now .... down 100% in 24 hours ... effectively worth zero

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FSmU_5IWQAAvj2r?format=jpg&name=900x900)
Post by: Hairs on May 14, 2022, 07:53:20 AM
Channel 9 this morning is running a story were the Family members of those gunned down are saying the police need to do more to stop these shootings.
They have to be taking the p155.
Let them shoot each other, natural selection
https://www.9news.com.au/national/hamze-family-double-shooting-police-response-multiple-arrested-in-sydney/9e63ab3a-71d4-4a7a-9afd-3adcdebef8bb
Post by: Fizzie on May 14, 2022, 08:00:03 AM
the police need to do more to stop these shootings.

Well, yeah, the :police: could do lot's more ...

Just go round, grab everyone that they know, or even suspect, are involved with gangs, drugs & so on, & lock 'em up for 30 years! >:D

That'd help things immensely! ;D
Post by: Bird on May 14, 2022, 11:07:34 AM
Channel 9 this morning is running a story were the Family members of those gunned down are saying the police need to do more to stop these shootings.
They have to be taking the p155.
Let them shoot each other, natural selection
https://www.9news.com.au/national/hamze-family-double-shooting-police-response-multiple-arrested-in-sydney/9e63ab3a-71d4-4a7a-9afd-3adcdebef8bb
they are working on it
https://www.news.com.au/national/nsw-act/crime/young-man-dead-in-sydney-shooting/news-story/fd64cd9da5e13b7d6bc72e1538006b82 (https://www.news.com.au/national/nsw-act/crime/young-man-dead-in-sydney-shooting/news-story/fd64cd9da5e13b7d6bc72e1538006b82)
Post by: Fizzie on May 15, 2022, 07:37:20 AM
they are working on it

Yep ...

"He said police were working tirelessly to stop and investigate such shootings when they took place."

https://content.api.news/v3/images/bin/820ebd2269d42bf0e37114c628564a5f (https://content.api.news/v3/images/bin/820ebd2269d42bf0e37114c628564a5f)

ctrl + to zoom in on the very relaxed cops smiling & obviously sharing a joke about the "tragic situation" >:D
Post by: rags on May 15, 2022, 08:53:40 AM
Another former cricketer gone , too young,
 https://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/cricketing-great-andrew-symonds-cause-of-death-revealed/news-story/5150c655c00d7db7cb1123a2393121af (https://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/cricketing-great-andrew-symonds-cause-of-death-revealed/news-story/5150c655c00d7db7cb1123a2393121af)
Post by: Hairs on May 15, 2022, 01:13:23 PM
Another former cricketer gone , too young,
 https://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/cricketing-great-andrew-symonds-cause-of-death-revealed/news-story/5150c655c00d7db7cb1123a2393121af (https://www.news.com.au/sport/cricket/cricketing-great-andrew-symonds-cause-of-death-revealed/news-story/5150c655c00d7db7cb1123a2393121af)
Post by: xcvator on May 16, 2022, 10:40:25 AM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-05-16/outback-queensland-crashes-traffic-police-warning-caravans-/101064062 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-05-16/outback-queensland-crashes-traffic-police-warning-caravans-/101064062)
Post by: Hairs on May 16, 2022, 06:07:47 PM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-05-16/outback-queensland-crashes-traffic-police-warning-caravans-/101064062 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-05-16/outback-queensland-crashes-traffic-police-warning-caravans-/101064062)
Thank God no deaths.

IMO, I could be wrong, But there has to be a change in the requirements to tow anything over, let's say 1500kg(for argument sake).
We've all seen people who can't even reverse a 6x4 box trailer.
Many Swaggers are Heavy Vehicle operators, we need a license to drive a vehicle over 4.5T, HR's, Multi's.
Yet anyone can walk into a car yard, buy a 4X4, Add all the extras, go over their AGM, go down the road and buy/hook up a 24+ caravan, with no idea in the world & off they go.
Something has to change, for the safety of all road users.
Post by: alnjan on May 16, 2022, 07:10:00 PM
Thank God no deaths.

IMO, I could be wrong, But there has to be a change in the requirements to tow anything over, let's say 1500kg(for argument sake).
Many Swaggers are Heavy Vehicle operators, we need a license to drive a vehicle over 4.5T, HR's, Multi's.
Yet anyone can walk into a car yard, buy a 4X4, Add all the extras, go over their AGM, go down the road and buy/hook up a 24+ caravan, with no idea in the world & off they go.

I can see it will not be long before they will be getting put off the scales and put off the road. 
Post by: Steffo1 on May 16, 2022, 07:28:14 PM
Thank God no deaths.

A 6x4 box trailer is one of the hardest things to reverse, due to its length and lack of visibility.
Post by: Brij on May 16, 2022, 09:50:52 PM
Where are the stats that show all these crashes are caused by lack of experience, over weight or incorrect weight distribution?

Quite often see, read comments that claim drivers saying they have been towing for years and never had an issue, then one day - over it goes.

So what are the actual causes of the crashes?

I believe the bloke in NSW who was just found guilty for whatever he was charged with after the deathes of his wife and step son stemming from a caravan rollover, crash was an ex Army driver trainer with many years of experience. Still got it wrong with extreme consequences..

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 17, 2022, 04:24:26 AM
Where are the stats that show all these crashes are caused by lack of experience, over weight or incorrect weight distribution?

Quite often see, read comments that claim drivers saying they have been towing for years and never had an issue, then one day - over it goes.

So what are the actual causes of the crashes?

I believe the bloke in NSW who was just found guilty for whatever he was charged with after the deaths of his wife and step son stemming from a caravan rollover, crash was an ex Army driver trainer with many years of experience. Still got it wrong with extreme consequences..

Lots of folks will offer a solution or "the solution" whist having no idea what the problem or the real cause of something is or was in the first instance.

Often, i would think, the eyes see it on TV, then their brain processes they must be inexperienced, then quickly followed by running fingers over that clever little keyboard.
Arrrr.... alas, the clever little keyboard or tablet of phone or whatever it may be..... allowing folks to solve problems they know nothing or little about.

The 80 year old who is a dead set menace on the road, is a really terrible and unsafe driver who shouldn't be on the road EVER.
But can honestly say..... over 60 years driving..... never had a crash.
Post by: Hairs on May 17, 2022, 08:51:14 AM
A 6x4 box trailer is one of the hardest things to reverse, due to its length and lack of visibility.
Mastered it behind an 80 series.

Post by: gronk on May 17, 2022, 09:18:47 AM
Lots of folks will offer a solution or "the solution" whist having no idea what the problem or the real cause of something is or was in the first instance.

Often, i would think, the eyes see it on TV, then their brain processes they must be inexperienced, then quickly followed by running fingers over that clever little keyboard.
Arrrr.... alas, the clever little keyboard or tablet of phone or whatever it may be..... allowing folks to solve problems they know nothing or little about.

The 80 year old who is a dead set menace on the road, is a really terrible and unsafe driver who shouldn't be on the road EVER.
But can honestly say..... over 60 years driving..... never had a crash.

A few of those 80 yr olds have never had an accident…UNTIL…..they put it thru the shopfront at the local shopping plaza !!  Lol
Usually doesn’t injure anyone ( by sheer luck ), and my mum and dad were the same, no one wants to tell them they are past it as far as driving goes……they go shopping, come home without 1/2 the things they went to buy, and they think there is nothing wrong with their driving ??

And every one of those shopfront crashes they put their foot on the accelerator instead of the brake ……and didn’t take it off…..pretty fundamental error for a “young” person to avoid.

I’m 63…..god help me when I get old….and I’m not giving up my license for nobody !!!   ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on May 17, 2022, 09:37:17 AM
Quote from: gronk
... no one wants to tell them they are past it as far as driving goes……they go shopping, come home without 1/2 the things they went to buy, and they think there is nothing wrong with their driving ??
mates going through this with his dad at moment.. 3 crashes in 2yrs... Nobody injured though... but Al's trying to find a way to say 'dad ya times come'...

Nutha mates dad up at Laurieton had a 'limited' license which allowed him X klms from home to get shopping and Dr's appointments.. I never knew there was such a thing as a limited license. ???
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 17, 2022, 09:45:58 AM
A few of those 80 yr olds have never had an accident…UNTIL…..they put it thru the shopfront at the local shopping plaza !!  Lol
Usually doesn’t injure anyone ( by sheer luck ), and my mum and dad were the same, no one wants to tell them they are past it as far as driving goes……they go shopping, come home without 1/2 the things they went to buy, and they think there is nothing wrong with their driving ??

And every one of those shopfront crashes they put their foot on the accelerator instead of the brake ……and didn’t take it off…..pretty fundamental error for a “young” person to avoid.

I’m 63…..god help me when I get old….and I’m not giving up my license for nobody !!!   ;D ;D

A lot of them do it..... in Nambour years ago, an old chick backed over a mother and daughter..... killed the Mum from memory too.

With the caravan towing, isolate the issue and address it.
Post by: Spada on May 17, 2022, 12:11:07 PM
'dad ya times come'...

Biggest milestone towards independence & freedom in a persons life is getting a licence......... biggest fear of isolation & restriction is taking it off them.
Post by: Mace on May 17, 2022, 03:03:55 PM
I never knew there was such a thing as a limited license. ???

They have been around in Vic at least for a while.  When we had the shop back in the 90's we regularly used to have elderly drivers nearly wipe out the fuel pumps - usually by driving over the low slung delivery hoses (thats why most are up in the air now...).  I used to give the local  :police: the heads up after a few near misses by any individual.  We had two or three customers on a 20km or 40km  radius of town restriction..

My own dad gave his license up of his own accord at 82.  His peripheral vision was shot.
Post by: Fizzie on May 17, 2022, 03:17:15 PM

One thing from the article that I'll have a whinge about:

"He also recommended keeping a close eye on road conditions, from checking Facebook groups, Transport and Main Roads (TMR) and RACQ websites"

The problem there is how often the info is updated, or not.

e.g. https://roadconditions.racq.com.au/-28.20522220731185,152.01993943635208,z16 (https://roadconditions.racq.com.au/-28.20522220731185,152.01993943635208,z16) is RACQ for Warwick (TMR is exactly the same). Says that roads are still cut in the middle of Warwick, but the last update was 1.16AM, Sat 14/5! >:(

According to BoM, they've only had 6mm of rain over the last 5 days & they also show the river height as ~2m below minor flood levels ???
http://www.bom.gov.au/fwo/IDQ65396/IDQ65396.041534.plt.shtml (http://www.bom.gov.au/fwo/IDQ65396/IDQ65396.041534.plt.shtml)

So, are roads open or closed ???

We're supposed to be going out there in 10 days time, so it would be nice to know if the roads are actually open or not! ::) >:(
Post by: Hairs on May 17, 2022, 03:24:02 PM

My own dad gave his license up of his own accord at 82.  His peripheral vision was shot.
Mother in-laws husband gave up his licence a month ago, he knew it was time.
Last year So did the retired copper next door, he'd only bought a New Mustang a couple of years ago.
There are people out there that do the right think. 

Post by: Hairs on May 17, 2022, 03:24:04 PM

Mother in-laws husband gave up his licence a month ago, he knew it was time.
Last year So did the retired copper next door, he'd only bought a New Mustang a couple of years ago.
There are people out there that do the right think. 

Post by: Troopy_03 on May 18, 2022, 11:30:57 AM
A lot of them do it..... in Nambour years ago, an old chick backed over a mother and daughter..... killed the Mum from memory too.

With the caravan towing, isolate the issue and address it.

A few years back I nearly got taken out by an old dear, trying to reverse into a parking spot, out the front of a cafe. She had her back wheel against the curb, and was still at too big an angle, so she just gunned it till she mounted the curb. I jumped back out the way, but she hit a short wall in front of the sidewalk cafe tables, which knocked one table flying, and the bloke and woman sitting at the table knocked to the ground. Luckily no one was seriously hurt, but then she tried to drive off. Someone grabbed her keys and kept her there till cops arrived.
Post by: bmwfreak on May 18, 2022, 02:04:47 PM
We have seen 25-40 year old 1st generation Australians driving like that, many times. Well, maybe not quite that extreme, but the potential is there.
Post by: Bird on May 19, 2022, 03:29:17 PM
was it ever going to be sold here... lol plus its ugly as hell
https://www.drive.com.au/news/tesla-cybertruck-pulled-from-sale-in-australia-thousands-of-customers-owed-refunds/ (https://www.drive.com.au/news/tesla-cybertruck-pulled-from-sale-in-australia-thousands-of-customers-owed-refunds/)
Post by: corndog on May 19, 2022, 05:35:11 PM
We have seen 25-40 year old 1st generation Australians driving like that, many times. Well, maybe not quite that extreme, but the potential is there.

Were they driving a fully sick VL Commadore with turbo mate?
Post by: Hairs on May 20, 2022, 04:35:43 PM
The man offering his services to the Bulldogs(NRL).
This should be in Funny photos :)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220520/23545172d8c96acd79f8d384b2fc00b7.jpg)
Post by: Hairs on May 20, 2022, 04:45:14 PM
"Coles Introduces Paid Leave For Staff Undergoing Gender Affirmation.'

“We know that we have at least 900 team members who identify as transgender or gender diverse. We need to have proper policy and education in this area, so there is clear guidance around taking leave for this important transition in their life,”

https://10play.com.au/theproject/articles/coles-introduces-paid-leave-for-staff-undergoing-gender-affirmation/tpa220518kazru

Post by: Bird on May 20, 2022, 06:10:41 PM
"Coles Introduces Paid Leave For Staff Undergoing Gender Affirmation.'

“We know that we have at least 900 team members who identify as transgender or gender diverse. We need to have proper policy and education in this area, so there is clear guidance around taking leave for this important transition in their life,”

https://10play.com.au/theproject/articles/coles-introduces-paid-leave-for-staff-undergoing-gender-affirmation/tpa220518kazru

I identify as an Apache attack helicopter, why won't they build me a helipad?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 21, 2022, 06:25:52 AM
My dear ol Dad would always use the saying.....

He wouldn't know if he was Arthur or Mather, has never been so true or applicable  as it is today. 
Post by: gronk on May 21, 2022, 08:52:50 AM
My dear ol Dad would always use the saying.....

He wouldn't know if he was Arthur or Mather, has never been so true or applicable  as it is today.

The trouble is these days the screwed up parents think it’s normal to raise a kid as an Arthur or Marther and let them decide what they want to be when they get older ?

Except in rare genetic cases, there is no such thing as gender neutral. More a case of parent brain neutral !!
Post by: Bird on May 21, 2022, 10:56:32 AM
RIP...Evangelos Odysseas Papathanassiou

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r78QV5Cwiq0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r78QV5Cwiq0)

https://www.washingtonpost.com/obituaries/2022/05/19/chariots-of-fire-composer-vangelis-dead/ (https://www.washingtonpost.com/obituaries/2022/05/19/chariots-of-fire-composer-vangelis-dead/)
Post by: NZMarkb on May 22, 2022, 06:03:36 AM

I identify as an Apache attack helicopter, why won't they build me a helipad?

I identify as a First Class Passenger but they keep putting me in cattle 😉
Post by: plusnq on May 22, 2022, 04:46:37 PM
I identify as a First Class Passenger but they keep putting me in cattle 😉

Next 😂😂😂
Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 23, 2022, 03:45:27 PM
Big Dollars

https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/motoring-news/why-mercedes-sold-the-worlds-most-valuable-car/news-story/85d5732ab792ac56ecd4136261c29704 (https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/motoring-news/why-mercedes-sold-the-worlds-most-valuable-car/news-story/85d5732ab792ac56ecd4136261c29704)

Post by: Bird on May 23, 2022, 05:00:08 PM
Big Dollars

https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/motoring-news/why-mercedes-sold-the-worlds-most-valuable-car/news-story/85d5732ab792ac56ecd4136261c29704 (https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/motoring-news/why-mercedes-sold-the-worlds-most-valuable-car/news-story/85d5732ab792ac56ecd4136261c29704)

when do you pick it up?
Post by: bmwfreak on May 25, 2022, 09:58:25 AM
Yanks are at it again :-[. Will they ever learn? >:(

https://edition.cnn.com/us/live-news/texas-elementary-school-shooting-05-24-22/index.html (https://edition.cnn.com/us/live-news/texas-elementary-school-shooting-05-24-22/index.html)
Post by: bmwfreak on May 25, 2022, 10:39:28 AM
This from the initial reports on CNN ‘live’ web site - ‘A suspect is in custody following reports of an active shooter at Robb Elementary School in Uvalde, Texas, according to a post from the Uvalde Police Department’

Then from 10 mins ago - ‘Gov. Greg Abbott said earlier Tuesday “it is believed” that the shooter, 18-year-old Salvador Ramos was killed by law enforcement. Estrada confirmed the suspect was killed.

I guess if they got the right person, it has a certain feel of karma about it. Total now up to 18 children. :'(
Post by: Hairs on May 25, 2022, 05:34:25 PM
400 million guns in america, more guns than people.
Why didn't some one pop him?
I know that is simplistic, but if Americans carry soo many fire arms.
BTW, something has to change in their culture, but it won't.
Post by: Pottsy on May 25, 2022, 06:21:09 PM

Sadly Americans value their guns more than they value their children, family and friends. ( I know that’s a broad statement but it’s how it appears to me)
Post by: Bird on May 25, 2022, 06:51:45 PM
Quote from: Hairs
... but it won't.
Nope

they are asking where he got the guns from.. 'happy birthday son, here ya go'..
****ed up country.
Post by: MDS69 on May 25, 2022, 07:23:16 PM

I follow a few American and International running pages and it is not unusual to see someone (more often than not female) in the US asking for recommendations on a holster to carry a sidearm whilst running either concealed or visible depending on what state they are in.
Post by: Kangaron on May 25, 2022, 11:13:06 PM
A friend (female exchange teacher) was loaned a car during her stay. On her initial outing to the local shopping mall was given a 38 snub for her handbag and told there was a 45 in the glove box.
Was mid 2021.
No licence or training.

Sent from my motorola edge 20 fusion using Tapatalk

Post by: Fizzie on May 26, 2022, 07:36:19 AM
more guns than people.

Especially in Texas!

Because, in the interest of safety, you're not allowed to carry guns into a school ::)
Post by: Bird on May 26, 2022, 10:13:39 AM
They did in the end
An unnamed law enforcement official told ABC News that Ramos was killed by a nearby lone Border Patrol agent who rushed to the school, despite not having backup.

yet another one today
https://www.news.com.au/world/north-america/police-arrest-texas-student-walking-to-school-with-assault-rifle-day-after-tragic-uvalde-shooting/news-story/6753952b32d2310b25083ad4bde83c30 (https://www.news.com.au/world/north-america/police-arrest-texas-student-walking-to-school-with-assault-rifle-day-after-tragic-uvalde-shooting/news-story/6753952b32d2310b25083ad4bde83c30)
Post by: bmwfreak on May 26, 2022, 11:14:53 AM
yet another one today
https://www.news.com.au/world/north-america/police-arrest-texas-student-walking-to-school-with-assault-rifle-day-after-tragic-uvalde-shooting/news-story/6753952b32d2310b25083ad4bde83c30 (https://www.news.com.au/world/north-america/police-arrest-texas-student-walking-to-school-with-assault-rifle-day-after-tragic-uvalde-shooting/news-story/6753952b32d2310b25083ad4bde83c30)

A summary page for ‘mass’ shootings in the US, FOR THIS YEAR!!!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_mass_shootings_in_the_United_States_in_2022 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_mass_shootings_in_the_United_States_in_2022)
Post by: Hairs on May 26, 2022, 12:00:17 PM
Especially in Texas!

Because, in the interest of safety, you're not allowed to carry guns into a school ::)
Reports out now,
He posted on social media of his intention.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 27, 2022, 05:45:41 AM
I see Ray Liotta passed away overnight.

Liked him in his movies.
Post by: Pottsy on May 27, 2022, 08:37:04 AM
I see Ray Liotta passed away overnight.

Liked him in his movies.

Good actor, enjoyed his stuff. Died in his sleep aged 67, was working on another movie.
Post by: Bird on May 27, 2022, 02:12:46 PM
Bugger :(

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-05-27/mass-injuries-in-boating-incident-at-horizontal-falls/101105282 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-05-27/mass-injuries-in-boating-incident-at-horizontal-falls/101105282)
Post by: Mace on May 30, 2022, 10:06:42 AM
Another legend gone..

https://www.theguardian.com/music/2022/may/30/ronnie-hawkins-rocknroll-legend-who-mentored-the-band-dies-aged-87 (https://www.theguardian.com/music/2022/may/30/ronnie-hawkins-rocknroll-legend-who-mentored-the-band-dies-aged-87)
Post by: Bird on May 30, 2022, 11:46:10 AM
you'd be Shitting acid if you had a deposit on getting a house built out there

https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/other-industries/queensland-company-solido-builders-joins-long-list-of-construction-firms-biting-the-dust/news-story/540b67a1ff4244675b31a6b53a838861
Post by: bmwfreak on May 30, 2022, 11:52:00 AM
you'd be Shitting acid if you had a deposit on getting a house built out there

https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/other-industries/queensland-company-solido-builders-joins-long-list-of-construction-firms-biting-the-dust/news-story/540b67a1ff4244675b31a6b53a838861

https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/other-industries/queensland-company-solido-builders-joins-long-list-of-construction-firms-biting-the-dust/news-story/540b67a1ff4244675b31a6b53a838861 (https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/other-industries/queensland-company-solido-builders-joins-long-list-of-construction-firms-biting-the-dust/news-story/540b67a1ff4244675b31a6b53a838861)
Post by: Bird on May 30, 2022, 06:55:39 PM
A summary page for ‘mass’ shootings in the US, FOR THIS YEAR!!!
 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_mass_shootings_in_the_United_States_in_2022 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_mass_shootings_in_the_United_States_in_2022)
Its all piss and wind thinking it will ever change.

https://www.news.com.au/world/north-america/nra-gives-away-assault-rifle-used-in-uvalde-school-shooting-backs-gun-rights/news-story/bcb528ec7ec2ae28590453b8201b04ed (https://www.news.com.au/world/north-america/nra-gives-away-assault-rifle-used-in-uvalde-school-shooting-backs-gun-rights/news-story/bcb528ec7ec2ae28590453b8201b04ed)
Post by: alnjan on May 30, 2022, 07:11:43 PM
Would love to know what these Assault Rifles they speak of?
Post by: xcvator on May 30, 2022, 08:58:35 PM

Visit the USA or Ukraine and you'll find out quick
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 31, 2022, 05:26:08 AM
Visit the USA or Ukraine and you'll find out quick

ha ha ha.... ya got that right.
Post by: Gazza00 on May 31, 2022, 09:54:14 AM
 "Would love to know what these Assault Rifles they speak of?"

Seems like you might have a few to choose from

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_assault_rifles (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_assault_rifles)     

Post by: xcvator on May 31, 2022, 11:03:36 AM
And it just goes on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on and on
https://www.news.com.au/world/north-america/at-least-26-people-killed-in-shootings-across-the-us-over-memorial-day-weekend/news-story/5b241161c1b03737587a192d236f9fd5 (https://www.news.com.au/world/north-america/at-least-26-people-killed-in-shootings-across-the-us-over-memorial-day-weekend/news-story/5b241161c1b03737587a192d236f9fd5)
Post by: PhilWynn on May 31, 2022, 03:35:11 PM
oh RIP
Post by: Dingo0163 on May 31, 2022, 07:04:21 PM
A lot of people see AR-15 and think that the AR stands for assault rifle , it doesn’t. It stands for armalite rifle , the company that makes them. They are a semi auto. A true assault rifle like the military uses are able to switch from a semi auto to full automatic. Full automatics are banned from sale to civilians.
Post by: Troopy_03 on June 01, 2022, 10:21:35 AM
A lot of people see AR-15 and think that the AR stands for assault rifle , it doesn’t. It stands for armalite rifle , the company that makes them. They are a semi auto. A true assault rifle like the military uses are able to switch from a semi auto to full automatic. Full automatics are banned from sale to civilians.

That depends on the source of the definition doesn't it? The US Assault Weapons Ban (1994) even includes semi-automatic weapons in the definition https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Federal_Assault_Weapons_Ban#Definition_of_assault_weapon (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Federal_Assault_Weapons_Ban#Definition_of_assault_weapon)

But the fact is that AR-15 was designed and developed as a military weapon with high velocity rounds, capable of being fitted with large capacity magazines, and with the purpose of killing people.

Sure it is only semi-automatic, but in a normal sport shooting situation, why do you need a semi automatic rifle? and especially one that can be fitted with such a large capacity magazine. Yes you can bring out the old argument that they are more effective when culling feral animals in large numbers, but in reality there are only a handful of people that do that. And IF the argument was valid in that kind of situation, then there should be a totally distinct license for those scenarios, with very restricted access to such weapons by professionals only. Simply no need for them in sport shooting at all.

The Aussie SLR (L1A1) was only a semi-auto (without the legendary match stick mod)
Post by: Dingo0163 on June 01, 2022, 12:10:29 PM
Yes I read the Wikipedia link. Here is another link for you to read. The only point that I was making is that the AR in AR-15 does not stand for assault rifle. The same thing can be said about the so called silencer. There is no such thing , it is a moderator. It cuts the noise , nothing like what you see on the tv. You might hear on the news about police finding a pistol with a silencer on it. It sounds more sinister than a moderator / suppressor.
http://www.nssf.org/msr/facts.cfm
Post by: corndog on June 01, 2022, 12:56:53 PM
Best news of the day.

Nadal beats Jerkoffabit.

Could happen to a nicer guy, that is Nadal, not the other *%/&@()^.
Post by: Troopy_03 on June 01, 2022, 04:52:21 PM
Yes I read the Wikipedia link. Here is another link for you to read. The only point that I was making is that the AR in AR-15 does not stand for assault rifle. The same thing can be said about the so called silencer. There is no such thing , it is a moderator. It cuts the noise , nothing like what you see on the tv. You might hear on the news about police finding a pistol with a silencer on it. It sounds more sinister than a moderator / suppressor.
http://www.nssf.org/msr/facts.cfm

Correct, the AR in the model designation doesn't stand for Assault Rifle.. but WTF does that matter? even if people mistakenly think it is.. there are plenty more "Assault Rifles" in the yank terminology, that don't have an AR prefix designator, obviously. But the most popular "Assault Style Rifle" in the US is the AR-15, and can be bought by some numnuts the day after they reach the legal age. Probably just as easily obtained illegally as well.

As for suppressors, yes, I can see the practical sporting advantage of using a suppressor, but not with a pistol, or any short arms. Seriously, who would need a suppressor on a short arm, unless you had devious intentions?
Post by: Bird on June 01, 2022, 06:09:55 PM
https://www.3aw.com.au/tom-elliott-shares-exclusive-details-on-a-new-car-tax-being-considered-by-government/ (https://www.3aw.com.au/tom-elliott-shares-exclusive-details-on-a-new-car-tax-being-considered-by-government/)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 02, 2022, 04:33:55 AM
new car tax will never apply to me.  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D 8)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 02, 2022, 08:25:35 AM
Excellent to see Johnny Depp win his case.

After being falsely accused of sexual assault myself nearly 20years ago, its not much fun. >:(

YEAH.... I won mine too from a lying heap of Shit who was casing money.

So i followed the Depp case pretty strongly..... Astrid called it my Home and Away.  ;D

The truth most times, will win in the end..... Go Team Depp.   
Post by: NZMarkb on June 02, 2022, 08:38:55 AM
Excellent to see Johnny Depp win his case.

After being falsely accused of sexual assault myself nearly 20years ago, its not much fun. >:(

YEAH.... I won mine too from a lying heap of Shit who was casing money.

So i followed the Depp case pretty strongly..... Astrid called it my Home and Away.  ;D

The truth most times, will win in the end..... Go Team Depp.   

Yes I had a friend in the same situation
Unfortunately he did 6 months behind bars before the truth came out
That Amber H is a total nut job now playing the "Loss for all women" card
Women that make false accusations should serve the same sentence the accused was facing
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on June 02, 2022, 09:22:57 AM
I got told, write a cheque for $10k or maybe $20k tops, and the hairy armpit brigade would make it go away.

My answer was Get Fukked.

I was told, it's a business decision, write a cheque and move on.

Fought it and nailed the mole.
Post by: Bird on June 02, 2022, 10:18:08 AM
I got told, write a cheque for $10k or maybe $20k tops, and the hairy armpit brigade would make it go away.

I was told, it's a business decision, write a cheque and move on.

Fought it and nailed the mole.
mate had similar... cops turned up cuffed him took him, charged him with abuse and Shit... 2 weeks in parra jail before court, and his barrister tore her to shreads.. He was 400klms away at an event with more witness than people I know.

but what blows my mind is - the case got dismissed within minutes - but nothing happened to her. What if he had no witnesses?
Post by: Hairs on June 02, 2022, 04:31:05 PM
Seems they are growing in numbers.
A good mate has just spent his Super defending himself against a natistic psychopath.
The courts have sided with her, it's a sh1te fight.
He's 63, he has nothing.
The property goes to her, she has sold all his gear, Boat, 2x quad bikes, 2x Hilux's, court has backed her factless claims.
It's broken him, he's F÷=ked.
Can't see his 5 kids, she's threaded the older ones who have their own kids, that she will have their kids taken from them.
She knows the system.
Female QC(God only knows hoe she afforded that), always had a female magistrate or Judge preside the case.

Really feel  for anyone that goes through these things.
Post by: Bird on June 08, 2022, 11:28:23 AM
Cock-a-doodle?

https://www.timesnownews.com/international/article/uk-man-jailed-for-three-years-for-having-sex-with-pet-chickens-his-wife-filmed-horrifying-act/670018  (https://www.timesnownews.com/international/article/uk-man-jailed-for-three-years-for-having-sex-with-pet-chickens-his-wife-filmed-horrifying-act/670018)
Post by: Hairs on June 12, 2022, 02:44:25 PM
Five riders have now been killed while racing at this year's Isle of Man TT event.
'The latest riders to die were a father and son team competing in a sidecar race'

https://news.sky.com/story/isle-of-man-tt-father-and-son-die-competing-in-race-taking-number-of-rider-deaths-to-five-12631705?dcmp=snt-sf-twitter
Post by: Bird on June 17, 2022, 07:17:22 PM
WTF are 12yr olds doing robbing and stabbing people... ?? WTF are 11 yr olds doing out at that time of night ???

I hope the girls dad gives these little ****s what they deserve, the courts cant/wont...

Two children charged after girl, 11, stabbed in armed robbery
By Jackson Graham
June 16, 2022 — 6.05pm

An 11-year-old girl is recovering in hospital after being stabbed in a lane at a Frankston shopping centre early on Thursday morning and police have charged two children, aged 12 and 14, over the incident.

Police allege a trio of youths approached the girl on Gallery Lane near the Bayside Centre shopping mall about 12.15am, before demanding she hand over her mobile phone and personal items and then stabbing her several times with a sharp object.

Police have charged two children over an armed robber and stabbing of another child in Frankston.

Paramedics took the Port Melbourne girl to Frankston Hospital in a stable condition with injuries to her upper body. She was transferred to the Royal Children’s Hospital, where she remains in a stable condition.

Transit police officers responded to the incident and arrested the children.

Police have since charged a 14-year-old Frankston boy and a 12-year-old Highett girl with armed robbery and assault.

They were summonsed to appear at a children’s court at a later date.

Police say they are aware that there is footage of the incident.

An 11-year-old Carlton girl was released pending summons
Post by: Fizzie on June 18, 2022, 08:16:41 AM
WTF are 12yr olds doing robbing and stabbing people... ?? WTF are 11 yr olds doing out at that time of night ???

I hope the girls dad gives these little ****s what they deserve, the courts cant/wont...

Had this same conversation a little while ago, with a friend whose a :police:

She said that in a lot of cases, these kids don't have families as they're either dead, in prison, or so out of it on drugs that they hardly even realise they've got kids. A lot of them are also with foster parents, who don't want to, or can't, control them.

No real simple answer I'm afraid beyond just fixing society! ::)
Post by: Fizzie on June 18, 2022, 02:19:24 PM
Just saw this:

https://www.letsgocaravanandcamping.com.au/news/do-not-use-swift-500-gas-cooker-owners-warned (https://www.letsgocaravanandcamping.com.au/news/do-not-use-swift-500-gas-cooker-owners-warned)

&

https://www.rshq.qld.gov.au/safety-notices/petroleum-and-gas/swift-500-series-cookers-in-caravans (https://www.rshq.qld.gov.au/safety-notices/petroleum-and-gas/swift-500-series-cookers-in-caravans)

Post by: Bird on June 18, 2022, 07:51:01 PM
No real simple answer I'm afraid beyond just fixing society! ::)
agree.... but where do you start :(
Post by: bmwfreak on June 18, 2022, 08:19:41 PM
Just saw this:

https://www.letsgocaravanandcamping.com.au/news/do-not-use-swift-500-gas-cooker-owners-warned (https://www.letsgocaravanandcamping.com.au/news/do-not-use-swift-500-gas-cooker-owners-warned)

&

https://www.rshq.qld.gov.au/safety-notices/petroleum-and-gas/swift-500-series-cookers-in-caravans (https://www.rshq.qld.gov.au/safety-notices/petroleum-and-gas/swift-500-series-cookers-in-caravans)
Started with a couple of van explosions in WA and has now expanded to be Australia wide. Basically 90% of vans can’t cook inside until this is resolved. Swift could be up for many millions of dollars for a $10 saving using aluminium tubing rather than copper (apparently)
Post by: Hairs on June 19, 2022, 10:46:04 AM
'Aboriginal Flag To Have Permanent Spot On Sydney Harbour Bridge By End Of Year'
I have no problem with that, about time really, but reading the article further, at a cost of $25M.
For a flag pole, WTF?
Great if you can score a contract like that.

https://10play.com.au/theproject/articles/aboriginal-flag-to-have-permanent-spot-on-sydney-harbour-bridge-by-end-of-year/tpa220619ptmke
Post by: Bird on June 19, 2022, 05:13:33 PM
Toyota faces $2 billion class action as 260,000 Aussies affected by ‘defective’ vehicles

More than 260,000 Aussie car owners could score a major payout from car giant Toyota, with the largest class action in Australia underway.

https://www.news.com.au/finance/money/costs/toyota-faces-2-billion-class-action-as-260000-aussies-affected-by-defective-vehicles/news-story/33d24b771dd2434d89e648a526df7132 (https://www.news.com.au/finance/money/costs/toyota-faces-2-billion-class-action-as-260000-aussies-affected-by-defective-vehicles/news-story/33d24b771dd2434d89e648a526df7132)
Post by: bmwfreak on June 19, 2022, 05:55:37 PM
I’m surprised the dealership network haven’t been screaming at Toyota (Australia and Japan) with these unfortunate people taking up the workshop schedule ???
Post by: Hairs on June 20, 2022, 06:19:31 PM
Finally, someone has grown a back bone.

'FINA votes to restrict transgender women's participation in elite swimming competitions'
 https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-06-20/fina-votes-to-restrict-transgender-swimmers-in-competition/101166220
Post by: Bird on June 20, 2022, 06:32:32 PM

'FINA votes to restrict transgender women's participation in elite swimming competitions'
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-06-20/fina-votes-to-restrict-transgender-swimmers-in-competition/101166220 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-06-20/fina-votes-to-restrict-transgender-swimmers-in-competition/101166220)
agree

Talk back was nearly in meltdown on the sports radio channel on way home
Post by: OldPaj on June 20, 2022, 06:39:35 PM

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-06-20/fina-votes-to-restrict-transgender-swimmers-in-competition/101166220

Sadly probably only until it is tested in one of the various human rights courts.
Post by: bmwfreak on June 20, 2022, 09:26:01 PM

Forget backbone! Someone had the balls  >:D >:D >:D
Post by: Hairs on June 21, 2022, 06:27:19 AM
Sadly probably only until it is tested in one of the various human rights courts.
Just heard that on the wireless, some international anti discrimination court.
Post by: Bird on June 21, 2022, 10:59:35 AM
Just heard that on the wireless, some international anti discrimination court.

couple of other sports have followed suit... I reckon they were all waiting for someone to make the first move.
It doesnt have to be that hard.
Your born with a tap your a male.
Your born without a tap your a female.
if you cut it off, its your decision.

The one they mentioned on SEN was for the NRLW training for their next season..

How did the world get itself in such a mess.

YMMV
Post by: xcvator on June 21, 2022, 01:16:19 PM
https://www.news.com.au/entertainment/celebrity-life/celebrity-deaths/fleetwood-mac-keyboardist-brett-tuggle-dead-at-70/news-story/46dd9193536c3bce6481a9ca39770f96 (https://www.news.com.au/entertainment/celebrity-life/celebrity-deaths/fleetwood-mac-keyboardist-brett-tuggle-dead-at-70/news-story/46dd9193536c3bce6481a9ca39770f96)
Post by: Fizzie on June 26, 2022, 07:02:42 AM
It's not just us! :'(

https://cardealermagazine.co.uk/publish/exclusive-massive-used-car-demand-is-sending-prices-of-some-second-hand-vehicles-way-above-new/228830 (https://cardealermagazine.co.uk/publish/exclusive-massive-used-car-demand-is-sending-prices-of-some-second-hand-vehicles-way-above-new/228830)

"Topping the list is the 2018-2020 Suzuki Jimny which, as of July 2021, has a trade value of £25,467 at the one-year/10,000-mile mark.

The average list price of the dinky off-roader when it was brand new was £17,846."

:o :o :o
Post by: corndog on June 26, 2022, 05:14:50 PM
If I heard it right, just heard on the news that Pootin was going to supply Belarus with with nuclear weapons within 3 months. Sorry for the words but there is nothing better to say it. This guy Pootin is a F*****G IDIOT.  He cannot be right in the head.
Post by: DandyD on June 26, 2022, 08:58:25 PM
It's not just us! :'(

https://cardealermagazine.co.uk/publish/exclusive-massive-used-car-demand-is-sending-prices-of-some-second-hand-vehicles-way-above-new/228830 (https://cardealermagazine.co.uk/publish/exclusive-massive-used-car-demand-is-sending-prices-of-some-second-hand-vehicles-way-above-new/228830)

"Topping the list is the 2018-2020 Suzuki Jimny which, as of July 2021, has a trade value of £25,467 at the one-year/10,000-mile mark.

The average list price of the dinky off-roader when it was brand new was £17,846."

:o :o :o

The Jimny is a bit of an oddball because despite demand being through the roof when it was introduced, they pulled it from the market shortly afterwards because it couldn’t meet the latest Euro emissions rules.

You can’t buy a new Jimny. As a result, used prices became exorbitant well before covid hit.

We were seriously considering buying one and I was a bit WTF? as I couldn’t believe Suzuki could be so stupid as to develop a car that couldn’t meet emissions targets that had been published years in advance.
Post by: Bird on June 30, 2022, 01:33:37 PM
Another one bites the dust..

Iconic Aussie manufacturer goes bust after 75 years in business unable to compete with cheap Chinese imports

Treg Trailers a long-running Adelaide business will close down on Thursday
    The owners said they simply couldn't compete with cheap Chinese imports
    China has been bullying Australia by banning exports over last two years
Speaking to The Adelaide Advertiser on Wednesday Ian, whose father Gordon established the business, said at it's height the company was very profitable and employed about 30 people.

'My father used to say people will soon forget the price, but they'll never forget the quality, and we've had a sensational reputation,' he said.

'But in recent times there's all the Chinese imports. You can buy a trailer now, which is absolute rubbish compared to what we build.'

'But it's like a toaster now - you expect it to last two or three years and then you chuck it away and you buy another one.'

About 12 staff at Treg Trailers will now be out of work after the closure.

Mr Tregoning said that his father had invented a special type of coupling joint to tow the trailers that is superior to the typical ball joint - but that the Chinese copied them and even branded them 'Treg'.

He said he'd spoken to lawyers who advised him he could end up pouring millions of dollars into pursuing legal action and likely get nowhere.

He added he felt responsible for his employees but it was simply not viable for the business to trade anymore.

The company will continue to sell its Treg Poly Block coupling system online.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10965355/Iconic-Aussie-manufacturer-goes-bust-unable-compete-imports-China-Treg-Trailers.html (https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-10965355/Iconic-Aussie-manufacturer-goes-bust-unable-compete-imports-China-Treg-Trailers.html)

(https://scontent.fmel16-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/286372847_5154274691358330_6020693238614194901_n.jpg?_nc_cat=106&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=730e14&_nc_ohc=DxVVdJ19qU8AX9FxKLQ&_nc_ht=scontent.fmel16-1.fna&oh=00_AT83iE_CL-tVP-z_e-83MWZc3dlsSnOIX2XFE0SeGB0pFA&oe=62C13AFF)
Post by: Pottsy on June 30, 2022, 01:56:22 PM
My brother bought an ex army mobile galley 40 plus years ago, 35 years ago we stripped it and put a new tub on it to our spec, this was folded and built by Treg, it’s still going strong to this day. Pig of a thing to reverse though, drawbar is about 30” long.
Post by: OldPaj on June 30, 2022, 08:20:13 PM
I wonder if really technologies/other hitch types have surpassed Treg. Eg. D035  hitches and others.

Really nothing to do with China, other than cheap manufacturing of the new type hitches.
Post by: Pottsy on June 30, 2022, 08:44:18 PM
Treg produced far more than just a poly block hitch
Enclosed trailers
Camping trailers
Tandem trailers
Light commercial trailers
Transportation trailers
Stock trailers
Single axle trailers
Off-road trailers
Mining trailers
Domestic trailers
Post by: Bird on July 01, 2022, 12:16:09 PM
this should work in the public's favour.. $5000 rego coming right up

A consortium of Aware Super, Australian Retirement Trust and Macquarie Asset Management will run licensing and registration for the next 40 years, while the state government maintains ownership of the service.

The move is the result of a 15-month modernisation program that started last year. Funds raised will go into the Victorian Future Fund to manage pandemic debt.

The state government will continue to manage data, privacy provisions and essential fee prices, and will regain control of all operations after the partnership ends, Treasurer Tim Pallas says.

"This is not a privatisation in anybody's language," Mr Pallas told reporters on Friday.

"We're always looking to see how we can drive better services, better performance, but we will never divest the ownership of assets."

Independent integrity bodies, including the Victorian Ombudsman, will still provide oversight.

Under the changes, learners and probationary licences as well as online testing will be made free.

Drivers who have not incurred demerit points or committed road safety offences in the three years prior to their licence expiring can also receive a 25 per cent discount on their licence renewal.

"We're embedding a culture of road safety in Victoria," Road Safety Minister Ben Carroll told reporters.

But the Victorian Greens have accused the state government of putting profit over people.

"With the privatisation of Port of Melbourne, the Land Titles Office, public housing estates and now VicRoads, Victorians have a right to know months out from the election what other public assets or agencies are on the government's privatisation hit list," Greens MP Sam Hibbins said in a statement.

Vicroads Privatized (https://www.examiner.com.au/story/7802999/vicroads-partially-privatised-for-79b/)
Post by: xcvator on July 01, 2022, 04:23:10 PM
this should work in the public's favour.. $5000 rego coming right up

A consortium of Aware Super, Australian Retirement Trust and Macquarie Asset Management will run licensing and registration for the next 40 years, while the state government maintains ownership of the service.

The move is the result of a 15-month modernisation program that started last year. Funds raised will go into the Victorian Future Fund to manage pandemic debt.

The state government will continue to manage data, privacy provisions and essential fee prices, and will regain control of all operations after the partnership ends, Treasurer Tim Pallas says.

"This is not a privatisation in anybody's language," Mr Pallas told reporters on Friday.

"We're always looking to see how we can drive better services, better performance, but we will never divest the ownership of assets."

Independent integrity bodies, including the Victorian Ombudsman, will still provide oversight.

Under the changes, learners and probationary licences as well as online testing will be made free.

Drivers who have not incurred demerit points or committed road safety offences in the three years prior to their licence expiring can also receive a 25 per cent discount on their licence renewal.

"We're embedding a culture of road safety in Victoria," Road Safety Minister Ben Carroll told reporters.

But the Victorian Greens have accused the state government of putting profit over people.

"With the privatisation of Port of Melbourne, the Land Titles Office, public housing estates and now VicRoads, Victorians have a right to know months out from the election what other public assets or agencies are on the government's privatisation hit list," Greens MP Sam Hibbins said in a statement.

Vicroads Privatized (https://www.examiner.com.au/story/7802999/vicroads-partially-privatised-for-79b/)

if it walks like a duck, sounds like a duck and looks like a duck wtf is it ?
Post by: Bird on July 01, 2022, 04:48:57 PM
Quote from: xcvator
if it walks like a duck, sounds like a duck and looks like a duck wtf is it ?

Apparently Macquarie are doing it out of the goodness of their hearts.
Post by: austastar on July 01, 2022, 05:49:23 PM
   IMHO, all major fixed time (rent) charges should be usage based, and (maybe with some minor local variations,) nation wide.
Private vs Govt? Couldn't care less, Google could do it easily with gps data.

Post by: Fizzie on July 02, 2022, 09:43:03 AM
A different slant on Getting Bogged at Inskip Point! ;D

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-02/rainbow-beach-yacht-recovery/101198450 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-02/rainbow-beach-yacht-recovery/101198450)
Post by: Pottsy on July 04, 2022, 09:15:21 AM
Toyota Japan have announced suspension of orders for the new Landcruiser as they have oversubscribed production capabilities.
Oh what a feeling! Or Bugga! Take your pick.
Post by: gronk on July 04, 2022, 02:02:52 PM
Toyota Japan have announced suspension of orders for the new Landcruiser as they have oversubscribed production capabilities.
Oh what a feeling! Or Bugga! Take your pick.

Due to covid affecting theirs and supply workers !! They haven’t had all factories going full steam for over a year !
76 series was out to a possible 4 yr wait !!
Post by: Bird on July 06, 2022, 10:10:09 PM
Interesting Technology

The European Union has introduced regulations which will require all new cars from 6 July 2022 to be fitted with technology to stop speeding.

Known as intelligent speed assistance (ISA), the system will warn drivers when they’re over the speed limit, or can actively prevent the car from speeding by controlling the car’s throttle input through its computer.

ISA will use both cameras and GPS map data to determine the speed limit on each road.

https://www.drive.com.au/news/new-cars-will-stop-drivers-from-speeding/ (https://www.drive.com.au/news/new-cars-will-stop-drivers-from-speeding/)
Post by: Fizzie on July 07, 2022, 01:55:53 PM
On the subject of trucks getting stuck in spots they weren't supposed to be in ???

Just saw reference to this article from the US:

https://www.wcax.com/2022/06/28/crews-work-dark-remove-stuck-truck-notch/ (https://www.wcax.com/2022/06/28/crews-work-dark-remove-stuck-truck-notch/)

The driver "told police he saw the warning signs about not driving through the Notch in a tractor-trailer but continued to follow his GPS anyway"! ::) >:(
Post by: Bird on July 08, 2022, 01:24:48 PM
That'll ruin ya day....
Post by: Foo on July 09, 2022, 11:58:13 AM
Interesting Technology

The European Union has introduced regulations which will require all new cars from 6 July 2022 to be fitted with technology to stop speeding.

Known as intelligent speed assistance (ISA), the system will warn drivers when they’re over the speed limit, or can actively prevent the car from speeding by controlling the car’s throttle input through its computer.

ISA will use both cameras and GPS map data to determine the speed limit on each road.

https://www.drive.com.au/news/new-cars-will-stop-drivers-from-speeding/ (https://www.drive.com.au/news/new-cars-will-stop-drivers-from-speeding/)

I don't have a problem with this at all and the fact that you can buy cars n bikes that will do over 250kmh when speed limits are 110kmh here in Aus, well except for the NT where there are open area sections. :cheers:

I agree with limiters on trucks but not to 100kmh but at 110kmh the same as the hi-way speed limits. Staggered hi-way speed flows create problems, just like twats towing caravans at 80kmh on open single lane roads!  ::)

Post by: Fizzie on July 10, 2022, 07:45:09 AM
create problems, just like twats towing caravans at 80kmh on open single lane roads!  ::)

Or as we had several times on our recent trip, the old 'Cruiser farm ute, loaded to the max, & then some more, cruising up the highway at 70-80 :'( >:(
Post by: Steffo1 on July 10, 2022, 08:14:18 AM
Or as we had several times on our recent trip, the old 'Cruiser farm ute, loaded to the max, & then some more, cruising up the highway at 70-80 :'( >:(
.................and cow cocky Brown, with four head in the crate of his 1970's ACCO, which does warp speed down any given hill, but can only manage 30 km/h on any incline over 5% grade. ;D
Post by: D4D on July 12, 2022, 09:54:32 AM
Something different - https://www.police.vic.gov.au/road-police-intercept-high-performance-buggies-toolangi-region (https://www.police.vic.gov.au/road-police-intercept-high-performance-buggies-toolangi-region)

(https://content.police.vic.gov.au/sites/default/files/2022-07/Toolangi.jpg)
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2022, 10:09:37 AM
Quote from: D4D
Something different - https://www.police.vic.gov.au/road-police-intercept-high-performance-buggies-toolangi-region (https://www.police.vic.gov.au/road-police-intercept-high-performance-buggies-toolangi-region)

(https://content.police.vic.gov.au/sites/default/files/2022-07/Toolangi.jpg)
that was a good investment...
Post by: NZMarkb on July 12, 2022, 01:26:26 PM
What did they charge them with
Having more fun than they were?
Post by: Bird on July 12, 2022, 01:50:19 PM
Quote from: NZMarkb
What did they charge them with
Having more fun than they were?

401 - having fun
401a - being outdoors...

then no rego, no insurance, maybe no license
Post by: Mace on July 13, 2022, 04:28:08 PM
Ouch....

Second crash for the Ferrari Breadvan in 7 years...

https://www.drive.com.au/news/one-off-ferrari-crashes-at-le-mans-classic/?utm_campaign=syndication&utm_source=smh.com.au&utm_content=article_1&utm_medium=partner (https://www.drive.com.au/news/one-off-ferrari-crashes-at-le-mans-classic/?utm_campaign=syndication&utm_source=smh.com.au&utm_content=article_1&utm_medium=partner)
Post by: Fizzie on July 14, 2022, 07:29:12 AM
From that page:

https://www.drive.com.au/news/victorian-authorities-target-loud-exhausts/ (https://www.drive.com.au/news/victorian-authorities-target-loud-exhausts/)

Would be nice if they checked some of the bikes around here! >:(
Post by: gronk on July 14, 2022, 09:13:50 AM
From that page:

https://www.drive.com.au/news/victorian-authorities-target-loud-exhausts/ (https://www.drive.com.au/news/victorian-authorities-target-loud-exhausts/)

Would be nice if they checked some of the bikes around here! >:(

I can’t work out how every Harley sold in Australia would fail a noise test, but every cop ignores them all.

Ps; not quite correct…..there is probably 4 people in Australia that didn’t remove the OEM pipes !!
Post by: Bird on July 14, 2022, 10:17:46 AM
Quote from: gronk
I can’t work out how every Harley sold in Australia would fail a noise test, but every cop ignores them all.

Spoke to a few cops over the years when out on my bikes, (Putty rd, natio etc) and they said its a losing battle... They swap em, get it cleared and swap em back.
The only way it would work is each time you get done, the fine doubles. That may make them think twice.
Post by: Fizzie on July 14, 2022, 01:23:09 PM
& here's an article that will amaze everybody on here ::)

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-14/caravan-accident-surge-attributed-to-lack-of-knowledge/101234938 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-14/caravan-accident-surge-attributed-to-lack-of-knowledge/101234938)

One thing I don't understand though ???

"Exceeding size restrictions — for example, bikes attached to the rear — will see a $287 fine"

Umm, what 'dat all about ???
Post by: Mace on July 14, 2022, 03:11:39 PM
I  believe that the rear overhang limit on all vehicles including caravans is 3.7m.  The ROH is the distance from the centre line of the axle group of the vehicle to the end of the vehicle - including accessories..

https://gomakesomememories.com.au/getmedia/c8afd133-abed-41d2-97d0-79133bfd00c4/Caravan-and-Towing-Dimensions_web.pdf.aspx (https://gomakesomememories.com.au/getmedia/c8afd133-abed-41d2-97d0-79133bfd00c4/Caravan-and-Towing-Dimensions_web.pdf.aspx)

Opens another can of worms....

Post by: Fizzie on July 14, 2022, 04:11:34 PM
I  believe that the rear overhang limit on all vehicles including caravans is 3.7m.

Good info, thanks!

I noticed though:

"or the length of the front load carrying area/body ahead of the rear overhang line in the axle group, whichever is the lesser ... Front load carrying area is the distance from the centre of the axle/axle group to the front of a load carrying or the body (whichever is longer). Areas ahead of the body that can hold load are items like toolboxes, gas bottles etc."

Or our van, counting the pole box, that would drop the overhang to only ~3.2. Mind you, even with bag on the spare out the back, it's only 2.7 so I couldn't really imagine another 1/2m back out there!

Another thing to keep in mind though.
Post by: Bird on July 15, 2022, 10:30:58 AM
Oh what a feeling... There should be no questions from Yota on this Shit .... no excuses.

https://www.drive.com.au/news/toyota-owners-call-for-peeling-paint-fix/ (https://www.drive.com.au/news/toyota-owners-call-for-peeling-paint-fix/)
(https://images.drive.com.au/driveau/image/upload/c_fill,f_auto,g_auto,h_468,q_auto:eco,w_832/cms/uploads/acd9wfycfxb1iagt0i9g)
Post by: Pottsy on July 15, 2022, 11:02:59 AM
It’s only Toyota Australia being dicks, elsewhere around the world they have acknowledged the problem and are compensating owners.
Post by: Fizzie on July 15, 2022, 05:11:01 PM
This doesn't look good :'(

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-15/missing-hiker-in-grampians/101241436 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-15/missing-hiker-in-grampians/101241436)
Post by: Pottsy on July 15, 2022, 06:12:49 PM
This doesn't look good :'(

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-15/missing-hiker-in-grampians/101241436 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-15/missing-hiker-in-grampians/101241436)

Found alive and well.
Post by: Bird on July 16, 2022, 11:07:31 AM
It’s only Toyota Australia being dicks,
what defense could they possibly use to deny that paint job!!!!!!

(https://images.drive.com.au/driveau/image/upload/c_fill,f_auto,g_auto,h_540,q_auto:good,w_960/cms/uploads/pawmbbteksd064wkd89n)
Post by: achjimmy on July 17, 2022, 09:22:13 AM
& here's an article that will amaze everybody on here ::)

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-14/caravan-accident-surge-attributed-to-lack-of-knowledge/101234938 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-14/caravan-accident-surge-attributed-to-lack-of-knowledge/101234938)

One thing I don't understand though ???

"Exceeding size restrictions — for example, bikes attached to the rear — will see a $287 fine"

Umm, what 'dat all about ???

The wank factor to make the 3.5 g vans look as tough as and Jack them up 3ft in the air isn’t helping either ! I’ve got a mate just bought a super dooper off road van that sits crazy high and it can’t have a trailer stability control system fitted aprantlly  !

What’s that tell you about there stability ? 
Post by: xcvator on July 18, 2022, 12:50:25 AM
I can't help laughing

https://www.facebook.com/9NewsAdelaide/videos/571929414471998 (https://www.facebook.com/9NewsAdelaide/videos/571929414471998)
Post by: Pottsy on July 18, 2022, 08:45:26 AM
I can't help laughing

https://www.facebook.com/9NewsAdelaide/videos/571929414471998 (https://www.facebook.com/9NewsAdelaide/videos/571929414471998)

They spoke with him on the radio this morning, he wasn’t driving it was his mates car, they’ve done the trip along that beach plenty of times, his mate decided to search for some firmer sand lower down, end result one written off ute. Wanga’s is pretty philosophical about it, says he knows where there’s a one owner, never seen the salt, twin cab for sale!
Post by: Bird on July 18, 2022, 09:19:14 AM
I can't help laughing

I see your laughing and raise you
https://www.9news.com.au/national/adelaide-caravan-stuck-car-park-moana/e8c36a63-8430-449f-ab1c-0228f627ec63 (https://www.9news.com.au/national/adelaide-caravan-stuck-car-park-moana/e8c36a63-8430-449f-ab1c-0228f627ec63)

(https://imageresizer.static9.net.au/8XEd3wjkILoUKVan713595M-WkE=/800x0/https%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2Ffs%2Fffb05f40-0258-4f39-9eae-a0398815c14a)
Post by: xcvator on July 18, 2022, 10:49:37 AM
I see your laughing and raise you
https://www.9news.com.au/national/adelaide-caravan-stuck-car-park-moana/e8c36a63-8430-449f-ab1c-0228f627ec63 (https://www.9news.com.au/national/adelaide-caravan-stuck-car-park-moana/e8c36a63-8430-449f-ab1c-0228f627ec63)

(https://imageresizer.static9.net.au/8XEd3wjkILoUKVan713595M-WkE=/800x0/https%3A%2F%2Fprod.static9.net.au%2Ffs%2Fffb05f40-0258-4f39-9eae-a0398815c14a)

Yeah, I did see that and I'm still trying to work out how the fluck he did that   :cheers:
Post by: Bird on July 18, 2022, 12:11:37 PM
Yeah, I did see that and I'm still trying to work out how the fluck he did that   :cheers:

Drive thru Maccas or carpark with low roof... tried reversing out wife was guiding him... No the other right???
Post by: Fizzie on July 19, 2022, 07:39:59 AM
still trying to work out how the fluck he did that   :cheers:

Article says "after the driver towing the van misjudged a turn. The caravan was swept off the road and jammed on a ledge."

Swept off the road ??? What, by a very, very, strong gust of wind ???

I'd have a guess Birdie is right - started to drive into the carpark, saw a 2.3m height restriction bar which he won't fit under, started to back her up & Ooops! >:D
Post by: NZMarkb on July 19, 2022, 10:59:54 AM
Drive thru Maccas or carpark with low roof... tried reversing out wife was guiding him... No the other right???

He's (or She) taken the ramp thinking the van will follow in the same wheel tracks - WTF
Is this his first day towing, maybe he's just come from the dealer  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Should have gone wide into the garden on the left and we wouldn't be laughing at him now  :cheers:
Post by: xcvator on July 19, 2022, 01:00:37 PM
He's (or She) taken the ramp thinking the van will follow in the same wheel tracks - WTF
Is this his first day towing, maybe he's just come from the dealer  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Should have gone wide into the garden on the left and we wouldn't be laughing at him now  :cheers:

Just another argument to make people at least do a towing course
Post by: gronk on July 19, 2022, 03:46:12 PM
Just another argument to make people at least do a towing course

But for some, at least a course might make them realise towing something isn’t for them…..like the driver of the van….got the mirrors, but somehow didn’t know how to look in them !!
Post by: Bird on July 19, 2022, 04:19:52 PM
Isuzu's turn for class action
A class action law firm is investigating vehicle manufacturer Isuzu over concerns an estimated 90,000 utes on Australian roads could have defects.

Bannister Law is calling for owners of the Isuzu D-Max 4x4 and Isuzu Mu-X 4x4, sold by Isuzu UTE Australia Pty Ltd, to come forward.

Their inquiry concerns the vehicles’ inner guards in the engine bay, with customers experiencing cracking that was costly to fix. Customers have also had issues with the Diesel Particulate Filter (DPF).

The firm believes roughly 90,000 of the vehicles have been sold between 2017 and 2021.

It first came to their attention when dad-of-one William* found himself thousands of dollars out of pocket and months without a working vehicle.

“I’ve spent $65,000 on a car that’s cost $20,000 to repair in five years,” the Isuzu D-MAX owner told news.com.au.

https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/manufacturing/class-action-firm-investigates-90000-isuzu-utes-for-defects/news-story/a6a7b02faf5743072b5e6a1ea12617a1 (https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/manufacturing/class-action-firm-investigates-90000-isuzu-utes-for-defects/news-story/a6a7b02faf5743072b5e6a1ea12617a1)
Post by: xcvator on July 20, 2022, 07:45:58 PM
Bit of a frightener

https://www.caravanningnews.com/rollover.htm (https://www.caravanningnews.com/rollover.htm)
Post by: Fizzie on July 21, 2022, 07:52:19 AM
Well & truly, but I'd go so far to correct "Driving with a 'van is more dangerous than some people realise", to "Being an idiot with a 'van is more dangerous than some people realise". ::)

Overtaking two other vans which are at 95-100, while you're towing yourself, is not a clever thing to do! >:(
Post by: gronk on July 21, 2022, 09:52:24 PM
Well & truly, but I'd go so far to correct "Driving with a 'van is more dangerous than some people realise", to "Being an idiot with a 'van is more dangerous than some people realise". ::)

Overtaking two other vans which are at 95-100, while you're towing yourself, is not a clever thing to do! >:(

Not when the van is the size of a block of flats !

I have had my hybrid van up to 140, but towing with a 200 series and the hybrid weighs 1.7T and is rock solid at all speeds.
A thing I’ve done with all my campers is find a quiet bit of road and sit on 80 and make the van swerve side to side….the van should snap straight back into line.
Repeat at 100.

Some of these big vans have trouble tracking straight…in a straight line.
Post by: DandyD on July 22, 2022, 09:59:02 AM
Repeat at 100.

I inadvertently towed our first camper at 100mph when I was overtaking and forgot it was on the back.
Post by: austastar on July 22, 2022, 03:08:45 PM
   First trip with a hire van behind an old Volvo 240D was 'interesting'.
At 80k it would sway in time to the wipers.
Was somewhat frazzled at the end of that trip.

Post by: NZMarkb on July 23, 2022, 07:29:31 AM
I inadvertently towed our first camper at 100mph when I was overtaking and forgot it was on the back.

Haha that reminds me of when my Mrs got her WRX and the speedo was in mph and kmph
She was driving myself and a mate home from a big boys lunch in the pissing rain on a packed motorway
I said your going a bit fast aren’t you, her reply “Im only doing 95”
“thats miles an hour” I said
Oh I wondered why I’m always passing everybody 😂😂😂😂😂
She’d had it for a couple of months 🤦???🤦???

Post by: Fizzie on July 24, 2022, 10:42:59 AM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-24/caravan-industry-concerns-as-accc-warns-industry/101257414 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-24/caravan-industry-concerns-as-accc-warns-industry/101257414)

"The ACCC says it has received 1,300 complaints over the past five years and that the industry is on notice"

Wow, they must be shaking in their shoes by now! ::) >:(
Post by: kizza1 on July 25, 2022, 06:27:57 PM
This is how it starts. Beginning of the end.
https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/real-life/news-life/distressing-footage-shows-russian-chess-robot-crushing-sevenyearold-boys-hand/news-story/dc4ce345b378213b9da36a5dba9af8d2 (https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/real-life/news-life/distressing-footage-shows-russian-chess-robot-crushing-sevenyearold-boys-hand/news-story/dc4ce345b378213b9da36a5dba9af8d2)
Post by: NZMarkb on July 26, 2022, 05:00:19 AM
This is how it starts. Beginning of the end.
https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/real-life/news-life/distressing-footage-shows-russian-chess-robot-crushing-sevenyearold-boys-hand/news-story/dc4ce345b378213b9da36a5dba9af8d2 (https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/real-life/news-life/distressing-footage-shows-russian-chess-robot-crushing-sevenyearold-boys-hand/news-story/dc4ce345b378213b9da36a5dba9af8d2)

Was the robot loosing :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: Fizzie on July 26, 2022, 12:40:32 PM
We've (Self, Mrs & Son 2) just joined the crew of + :'( >:(

None of us are particularly sick though - I'm the worst with a runny nose, & none of us are running a temperature.

Reported it in & waiting to see what happens next, although I've already had a message that my GP will be giving me a call later ???
Post by: Bird on July 27, 2022, 10:22:02 AM
dragged from the question thread

Quote from: Pottsy
Sadly I don’t think they will be the last, fixed price contracts, material delays, loss of trades, covid delays, tightening labour market, rising interest rates it’s all adding up to a real cluster f…k.
another day....
https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/other-industries/sydney-families-visiting-builders-offices-hoping-for-answers-met-with-grim-sign/news-story/2b9c1a5c6e96ca157077eed707852ee4 (https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/other-industries/sydney-families-visiting-builders-offices-hoping-for-answers-met-with-grim-sign/news-story/2b9c1a5c6e96ca157077eed707852ee4)
Post by: xcvator on July 31, 2022, 10:06:24 AM
And another one gone much to soon 

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-30/archie-roach-aboriginal-musician-songwriter-artist-dead-at-66/101285620 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-07-30/archie-roach-aboriginal-musician-songwriter-artist-dead-at-66/101285620)
Post by: xcvator on August 04, 2022, 11:01:49 AM
Might have been born French but made Australia proud

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-08-04/australian-boxing-great-johnny-famechon-dies-aged-77/101299144 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-08-04/australian-boxing-great-johnny-famechon-dies-aged-77/101299144)
Post by: Mace on August 05, 2022, 05:26:47 PM
Again...

https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/editorial/details/overweight-caravan-problem-getting-worse-136747/?utm_source=sfmc&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=2022-08-05_Caravans_Newsletter&utm_id=146015 (https://www.caravancampingsales.com.au/editorial/details/overweight-caravan-problem-getting-worse-136747/?utm_source=sfmc&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=2022-08-05_Caravans_Newsletter&utm_id=146015)
Post by: Fizzie on August 06, 2022, 12:38:09 PM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-08-05/kosciuszko-hut-rebuilt-after-black-summer-fires/101297568 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-08-05/kosciuszko-hut-rebuilt-after-black-summer-fires/101297568)

Good to see! :cup:
Post by: alnjan on August 06, 2022, 06:29:32 PM
https://celebrity.nine.com.au/latest/judith-durham-lead-singer-of-the-seekers-dies-aged-79/1fb8c77c-65cc-467b-8e8b-6095ba5e7008 (https://celebrity.nine.com.au/latest/judith-durham-lead-singer-of-the-seekers-dies-aged-79/1fb8c77c-65cc-467b-8e8b-6095ba5e7008)

So many great songs
Post by: Bird on August 06, 2022, 07:06:11 PM
https://celebrity.nine.com.au/latest/judith-durham-lead-singer-of-the-seekers-dies-aged-79/1fb8c77c-65cc-467b-8e8b-6095ba5e7008 (https://celebrity.nine.com.au/latest/judith-durham-lead-singer-of-the-seekers-dies-aged-79/1fb8c77c-65cc-467b-8e8b-6095ba5e7008)

So many great songs
Such an amazing voice too.
Post by: Troopy_03 on August 06, 2022, 10:23:58 PM

So many great songs

But now The Carnival is Over..
Great Singer, and a sad day for Aussie music.
Post by: Fizzie on August 07, 2022, 07:09:35 AM
 :'(
Post by: alnjan on August 09, 2022, 06:43:27 AM
https://www.9news.com.au/national/olivia-newton-john-dies-aged-73-in-us/54c86eb5-4094-4ce8-a92c-9384a41ad120 (https://www.9news.com.au/national/olivia-newton-john-dies-aged-73-in-us/54c86eb5-4094-4ce8-a92c-9384a41ad120)

Judith Durham last week and now Olivia Newton John :'( :'(
Post by: DandyD on August 09, 2022, 07:10:58 AM

Sad news. I fancied the arse off her in the 70s.
Post by: Bird on August 09, 2022, 11:22:17 AM
https://www.9news.com.au/national/olivia-newton-john-dies-aged-73-in-us/54c86eb5-4094-4ce8-a92c-9384a41ad120 (https://www.9news.com.au/national/olivia-newton-john-dies-aged-73-in-us/54c86eb5-4094-4ce8-a92c-9384a41ad120)

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/FZrUOIgWIAAg2X4?format=jpg&name=small)
Post by: Troopy_03 on August 10, 2022, 10:00:01 AM
And Archie Roach, the week before Judith Durham.
Post by: Fizzie on August 12, 2022, 10:43:56 AM
https://www.autoevolution.com/news/family-spends-48-hours-in-the-wild-due-to-google-maps-it-should-be-a-lesson-for-everyone-195695.html# (https://www.autoevolution.com/news/family-spends-48-hours-in-the-wild-due-to-google-maps-it-should-be-a-lesson-for-everyone-195695.html#)

"The navigation app, however, took the driver off the highway and guided her to a dirt road where the four-wheel-drive SUV ended up struggling.

The vehicle eventually got stuck in the middle of nowhere,"

Post by: Steffo1 on August 12, 2022, 11:04:17 AM
https://www.autoevolution.com/news/family-spends-48-hours-in-the-wild-due-to-google-maps-it-should-be-a-lesson-for-everyone-195695.html# (https://www.autoevolution.com/news/family-spends-48-hours-in-the-wild-due-to-google-maps-it-should-be-a-lesson-for-everyone-195695.html#)

"The navigation app, however, took the driver off the highway and guided her to a dirt road where the four-wheel-drive SUV ended up struggling.

The vehicle eventually got stuck in the middle of nowhere,"

I have recovered at least half a dozen vehicles from the 'Road' in the red circle.

When I pose the question as to why on earth the drivers have taken this route, the answer is always, 'Google Maps shows it as a road' and I suppose it does.

It is, in fact, a rough track through an overgrown, old pineapple paddock! Blind Freddie could see that it's not a road!

Thankfully, the placement of a chain and 'Private Property' sign has quietened things down a bit.

Post by: Bird on August 12, 2022, 12:46:17 PM
Shame you dont hear much about Red Nose Day anymore...
https://www.rednoseday.org.au/ (https://www.rednoseday.org.au/)
(https://d2h2d5e8lla2cr.cloudfront.net/28l9mj3ri.png)

New data reveals there has been an increase in the number of stillbirths, but a reduction in number of infant deaths in Australia.
It comes as Friday, August 12, marks Red Nose Day, an annual national campaign that raises awareness of SIDS.

Latest figures show that nationally, 2997 babies aged under one died in the year 2019 - up 51 compared to 2946 deaths over the previous year.
Of the 2997 deaths, 2183 were stillbirths - up from 2116 the previous year.

A total of 100 were SIDS and unexplained deaths in infants - compared to 112 the previous year.

https://www.theleader.com.au/story/7857843/stillbirths-up-but-infant-deaths-decrease/?cs=1507 (https://www.theleader.com.au/story/7857843/stillbirths-up-but-infant-deaths-decrease/?cs=1507)
Post by: xcvator on August 12, 2022, 01:41:13 PM
Not totally forgotten, my grand daughter off to day care today
Title: VALE ARTHUR GODDARD
Post by: Steffo1 on August 16, 2022, 02:58:59 PM

Arthur Goddard the engineer in charge of the first Land Rover project has pass away on the 11th August 2022 at the age of 101.
Post by: Pottsy on August 20, 2022, 12:47:32 PM
Shouldn’t be allowed to fly a paper plane after this little effort.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-62602611
Post by: edz on August 20, 2022, 01:58:50 PM
I dont buy the pilot fatigue bit .. Over reliance on computers to fly and check systems has led to aircrews switching off and boredom, At best the only time the aircrew fly a modern passenger  aircraft is in the first and last 20 minutes of most flights ..
Post by: Pottsy on August 20, 2022, 02:03:46 PM
I dont buy the pilot fatigue bit .. Over reliance on computers to fly and check systems has led to aircrews switching off and boredom, At best the only time the aircrew fly a modern passenger  aircraft is in the first and last 20 minutes of most flights ..

I’d still like em to be awake!
Post by: gronk on August 20, 2022, 07:51:53 PM
I’d still like em to be awake!

Can’t open unhighted link ??
Post by: Bird on August 20, 2022, 07:53:24 PM
Can’t open unhighted link ??

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-62602611
 (https://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-62602611)
https://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/incidents/both-pilots-fall-asleep-on-ethiopian-airlines-passenger-plane/news-story/1bfa0c3d00a41cf8a18878f4041fb23d (https://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/incidents/both-pilots-fall-asleep-on-ethiopian-airlines-passenger-plane/news-story/1bfa0c3d00a41cf8a18878f4041fb23d)
Post by: Hairs on August 25, 2022, 05:50:33 PM
"Sydney's Club 77 bans 'unwanted staring' as part of a new policy designed to make partying safer"
https://www.skynews.com.au/lifestyle/sydneys-club-77-bans-unwanted-staring-as-part-of-new-policy-designed-to-make-partying-safer/news-story/9a477a8895c4d553e7973bf4da2f3a4f (https://www.skynews.com.au/lifestyle/sydneys-club-77-bans-unwanted-staring-as-part-of-new-policy-designed-to-make-partying-safer/news-story/9a477a8895c4d553e7973bf4da2f3a4f)

Really???

Sent from my SM-A235F using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on August 25, 2022, 07:51:15 PM
"Sydney's Club 77 bans 'unwanted staring' as part of a new policy designed to make partying safer"
https://www.skynews.com.au/lifestyle/sydneys-club-77-bans-unwanted-staring-as-part-of-new-policy-designed-to-make-partying-safer/news-story/9a477a8895c4d553e7973bf4da2f3a4f (https://www.skynews.com.au/lifestyle/sydneys-club-77-bans-unwanted-staring-as-part-of-new-policy-designed-to-make-partying-safer/news-story/9a477a8895c4d553e7973bf4da2f3a4f)

Really???
heard it on the radio, they were takin the piss out of it something savage LMAO!
Post by: Hairs on August 25, 2022, 07:55:59 PM
heard it on the radio, they were takin the piss out of it something savage LMAO!
So they should

Sent from my SM-A235F using Tapatalk

Post by: Steffo1 on August 26, 2022, 06:44:24 AM

Post by: Bird on August 29, 2022, 02:14:57 PM
Another Australian race track goes the way of the dodo

Benalla Auto Club (BAC) has confirmed that the embattled Wakefield Park Raceway is closed until further notice, effective September 1.

As first reported by Speedcafe.com, the circuit had been set to go into closedown mode given its restricted programme of race meetings rendered its operations unviable.

Already, a Motorsport Australia state championship meeting in mid-September had been cancelled, as reported last month.

Wakefield Park and owner BAC has been left reeling by July’s New South Wales Land and Environment Court ruling which has placed significantly tighter noise restrictions on the Goulburn circuit.

Going forward, it is restricted to no more than 30 days’ worth of race meetings per year, less than half of what BAC had been seeking as a compromise, and less also than what Goulburn Mulwaree Council had sought.

Even then, the ‘equivalent event’ system which the LEC has imposed means that Wakefield Park would be unable to use the other 335 days of the year for any other purpose anyway.

https://www.speedcafe.com/2022/08/29/wakefield-park-confirms-september-closure/ (https://www.speedcafe.com/2022/08/29/wakefield-park-confirms-september-closure/)
Post by: gronk on August 29, 2022, 06:46:10 PM
Another Australian race track goes the way of the dodo

Benalla Auto Club (BAC) has confirmed that the embattled Wakefield Park Raceway is closed until further notice, effective September 1.

As first reported by Speedcafe.com, the circuit had been set to go into closedown mode given its restricted programme of race meetings rendered its operations unviable.

Already, a Motorsport Australia state championship meeting in mid-September had been cancelled, as reported last month.

Wakefield Park and owner BAC has been left reeling by July’s New South Wales Land and Environment Court ruling which has placed significantly tighter noise restrictions on the Goulburn circuit.

Going forward, it is restricted to no more than 30 days’ worth of race meetings per year, less than half of what BAC had been seeking as a compromise, and less also than what Goulburn Mulwaree Council had sought.

Even then, the ‘equivalent event’ system which the LEC has imposed means that Wakefield Park would be unable to use the other 335 days of the year for any other purpose anyway.

https://www.speedcafe.com/2022/08/29/wakefield-park-confirms-september-closure/ (https://www.speedcafe.com/2022/08/29/wakefield-park-confirms-september-closure/)

All because they got 2 complaints from nearby residents…..who just happened to be living there for lots of years ??
The council got involved, restrictions were going to kill them, so they went to the Land & environment court and they then really killed them !!
Title: Satellite Phone to the Rescue
Post by: Steffo1 on September 03, 2022, 08:57:12 AM
A lucky couple. I wonder what the cause was? Grass? Aftermarket accessories? Will it be found out?

https://7news.com.au/news/disaster-and-emergency/couples-near-death-experience-as-new-4wd-bursts-into-flames-in-isolated-outback-ordeal-c-8096975 (https://7news.com.au/news/disaster-and-emergency/couples-near-death-experience-as-new-4wd-bursts-into-flames-in-isolated-outback-ordeal-c-8096975)
Title: Re: Satellite Phone to the Rescue
Post by: Fizzie on September 04, 2022, 07:05:22 AM
Will it be found out?

Can't see anybody going out there to try to do an autopsy on what remains!, so probably not until it happens again in Suburbia.
Title: Re: Satellite Phone to the Rescue
Post by: dogbox on September 04, 2022, 09:29:50 AM
A lucky couple. I wonder what the cause was? Grass? Aftermarket accessories? Will it be found out?

https://7news.com.au/news/disaster-and-emergency/couples-near-death-experience-as-new-4wd-bursts-into-flames-in-isolated-outback-ordeal-c-8096975 (https://7news.com.au/news/disaster-and-emergency/couples-near-death-experience-as-new-4wd-bursts-into-flames-in-isolated-outback-ordeal-c-8096975)

could be a TOYOTA thing seems to be a few lately
Post by: Spada on September 04, 2022, 01:01:44 PM
“Within 90 seconds the car was gone and we couldn’t reach it anymore.”
They managed to save a sleeping bag, blankets and a satellite phone
The couple spent the night shivering under a shade cover, with only a sleeping bag to keep Sandy warm.

That picture of their camp looks like they were able to get a crapload of gear out in 90sec? and there's a 4.5kg gas bottle burnt in the car, but they saved a 9kg bottle for their camp stove?

Post by: Fizzie on September 05, 2022, 07:28:46 AM
I wondered the same thing, but thinking about it, I think that may have been one of their other camps ???

Well & truly doing it spartan though!
Post by: Steffo1 on September 05, 2022, 07:58:44 AM
I wondered the same thing, but thinking about it, I think that may have been one of their other camps ???

Well & truly doing it spartan though!

I got that impression, too. Maybe photo stock for the media. Although, it has the Police symbol attached.
Post by: Bird on September 05, 2022, 09:01:47 AM
Quote from: Spada
That picture of their camp looks like they were able to get a crapload of gear out in 90sec?

I dunno... I reckon when the Shit was hitting the fan you'd manage to get a lot of stuff out just launching it out the back doors... also depends how it was all packed... in draws or just in the back of the car
Post by: Spada on September 05, 2022, 09:08:06 AM
I dunno... I reckon when the Shit was hitting the fan you'd manage to get a lot of stuff out just launching it out the back doors... also depends how it was all packed... in draws or just in the back of the car
yeah, probably. It might have even all been rolled up in the tarp in the back? Not hard to open a door and just drag $#!t out.
Post by: Bird on September 07, 2022, 01:01:56 PM
just when you thought things couldnt get dumber

https://www.9news.com.au/national/pub-facing-demolition-over-australia-flag-caledonian-hotel-nsw-hunter-valley/46d8acc8-32e9-41b5-a98f-54d6b7d832b6 (https://www.9news.com.au/national/pub-facing-demolition-over-australia-flag-caledonian-hotel-nsw-hunter-valley/46d8acc8-32e9-41b5-a98f-54d6b7d832b6)

then you read
https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/name-change-for-popular-aussie-beer-company-after-racism-row/news-story/cb5f7bc1f5a79a699d4240a9d410a160 (https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/name-change-for-popular-aussie-beer-company-after-racism-row/news-story/cb5f7bc1f5a79a699d4240a9d410a160)
Post by: xcvator on September 07, 2022, 03:40:21 PM

https://www.9news.com.au/national/pub-facing-demolition-over-australia-flag-caledonian-hotel-nsw-hunter-valley/46d8acc8-32e9-41b5-a98f-54d6b7d832b6 (https://www.9news.com.au/national/pub-facing-demolition-over-australia-flag-caledonian-hotel-nsw-hunter-valley/46d8acc8-32e9-41b5-a98f-54d6b7d832b6)

then you read
https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/name-change-for-popular-aussie-beer-company-after-racism-row/news-story/cb5f7bc1f5a79a699d4240a9d410a160 (https://www.news.com.au/finance/business/name-change-for-popular-aussie-beer-company-after-racism-row/news-story/cb5f7bc1f5a79a699d4240a9d410a160)

Stop the world, I want to get off
Post by: Fizzie on September 07, 2022, 03:54:31 PM
then you read

Colonial First State are in trouble then! ::)
Post by: Fizzie on September 07, 2022, 03:55:32 PM
Meanwhile:

https://www.racq.com.au/articles/rvs/2022/7/caravan-industry-under-scrutiny (https://www.racq.com.au/articles/rvs/2022/7/caravan-industry-under-scrutiny)

Would be nice if anything actually happens :-\ (& no, I'm not holding my breath! ::) :'( >:()
Post by: Pottsy on September 07, 2022, 04:46:13 PM

then you read

Therein lies the problem, businesses bend to the will of the minority. Who drives it, the media!
Post by: Bird on September 07, 2022, 05:19:53 PM
Therein lies the problem, businesses bend to the will of the minority. Who drives it, the media!
https://chng.it/grsMRgHCVz (https://chng.it/grsMRgHCVz)
Post by: Hairs on September 09, 2022, 07:20:23 AM
Queen Elizabeth II
R.I.P
1926-2022

You don't use magic to disappear, ya use a 4x4 & Swag.

Post by: Fizzie on September 09, 2022, 07:28:56 AM
 :o :'(

God Save the King!
Post by: gronk on September 09, 2022, 08:31:35 AM
:o :'(

God Save the King!

As unpopular as it may be, the English will still support the weirdo King. !!
Post by: Bird on September 09, 2022, 10:10:40 AM
Well thats TV ruined for the next month...

but on the flip side it will mean a day off work! Bring on the public holiday...
Post by: Fizzie on September 09, 2022, 04:32:53 PM
Bring on the public holiday...

& for the next question to be worked out ...

Will the King's Birthday holiday stay on the same (wrong) date as the Queen's, or will it move to November ???
Post by: Bird on September 09, 2022, 04:54:30 PM
& for the next question to be worked out ...

Will the King's Birthday holiday stay on the same (wrong) date as the Queen's, or will it move to November ???
I've worked it out.
we need to think of our lovely queen and keep Qeens Birthday long weekend... then have another long weekend for her memorial... Then a 3rd one for big ears Birthday....  Win / Win
Post by: gronk on September 09, 2022, 06:24:22 PM
I've worked it out.
we need to think of our lovely queen and keep Qeens Birthday long weekend... then have another long weekend for her memorial... Then a 3rd one for big ears Birthday....  Win / Win

Ha ha…I’m retired…I get a long weekend every weekend !!
Post by: Bad Scott on September 09, 2022, 07:14:54 PM
Ha ha…I’m retired…I get a long weekend every weekend !!
1 month left of Long service leave then …………………………….
Post by: Hairs on September 09, 2022, 08:27:18 PM
Does QLD now become Kingsland?

Post by: Bigpickle on September 09, 2022, 11:06:58 PM
From readings some news stories lately, I would suggest Liquorland.
Post by: Steffo1 on September 09, 2022, 11:18:18 PM

Nah. Victoria didn't become Edward.
Although, in this day and age, that's a possibility?
Post by: Fizzie on September 10, 2022, 07:15:27 AM

Nah. Victoria didn't become Edward.
Although, in this day and age, that's a possibility?

Well, both names are very sexist, so ... ??? ::)
Post by: GeoffA on September 10, 2022, 07:38:24 AM
Well, both names are very sexist, so ... ??? ::)

When Covid was in full swing it seemed more like Them & Us....
Post by: Bird on September 10, 2022, 03:21:09 PM
my old street Prince Charles Parade.... hows that go?
Post by: Hairs on September 10, 2022, 06:07:40 PM
Well, There ya go, who would of thought?
"Woman, 19, gives birth to twins fathered by two different men"
A young woman who had sex with two men on the same day has given birth to twin boys with different dads.

https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/health/health-problems/woman-19-gives-birth-to-twins-fathered-by-two-different-men/news-story/1254544e1c0f4d7449ec2956ae51e85d (https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/health/health-problems/woman-19-gives-birth-to-twins-fathered-by-two-different-men/news-story/1254544e1c0f4d7449ec2956ae51e85d)

Post by: Pottsy on September 10, 2022, 06:24:15 PM
Well, There ya go, who would of thought?
"Woman, 19, gives birth to twins fathered by two different men"
A young woman who had sex with two men on the same day has given birth to twin boys with different dads.

https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/health/health-problems/woman-19-gives-birth-to-twins-fathered-by-two-different-men/news-story/1254544e1c0f4d7449ec2956ae51e85d (https://www.news.com.au/lifestyle/health/health-problems/woman-19-gives-birth-to-twins-fathered-by-two-different-men/news-story/1254544e1c0f4d7449ec2956ae51e85d)

Is that what you call a “split decision”
Post by: gronk on September 11, 2022, 08:43:27 PM
Is that what you call a “split decision”

We used to call a girl like that a different name….. :-*
Post by: GeoffA on September 11, 2022, 09:49:17 PM
Her parents must be SO proud....
Post by: prodigyrf on September 11, 2022, 11:09:01 PM
Happened to be towing a couple of months back with fuel prices at their peak and filling at Erldunda diesel was $3.14/L and I worked out that was costing me 49c/km. So I'm not surprised with this news and coming to a servo near you soon you'd reckon- https://www.msn.com/en-au/money/other/holding-charge-of-100-at-petrol-stations-set-to-be-rolled-out-across-uk/ar-AA11Gr9g
Post by: Bird on September 12, 2022, 09:55:56 AM
Quote from: prodigyrf
Happened to be towing a couple of months back with fuel prices at their peak and filling at Erldunda diesel was $3.14/L and I worked out that was costing me 49c/km. So I'm not surprised with this news and coming to a servo near you soon you'd reckon- https://www.msn.com/en-au/money/other/holding-charge-of-100-at-petrol-stations-set-to-be-rolled-out-across-uk/ar-AA11Gr9g (https://www.msn.com/en-au/money/other/holding-charge-of-100-at-petrol-stations-set-to-be-rolled-out-across-uk/ar-AA11Gr9g)

no real difference in pay up front after 9pm etc
Post by: xcvator on September 12, 2022, 11:41:44 AM
no real difference in pay up front after 9pm etc
Not quite, if I only want $20-00 worth I'm still going to have $80-00 showing as a pending figure on my account that I can't use untill the servo says it's ok, their bit has been payed
Post by: Spada on September 12, 2022, 12:18:55 PM
Costco petrol have been that way since they opened. You punch in a credit amount at the bowser then fill up. Anything unused is immediately refunded.
Post by: DandyD on September 12, 2022, 04:40:06 PM
The newspapers tried to cause a bit of panic when it was first announced here, but in practice it hasn’t caused any issues that I am aware of.
Post by: plusnq on September 12, 2022, 04:56:31 PM
Common practice in remote communities in Arnhem Land.
Post by: Pottsy on September 12, 2022, 05:55:13 PM
Many small town in country SA now have 24hr prepaid fuel pumps, saves them the cost of a wage having someone sitting on a register everyday.
Post by: OldPaj on September 12, 2022, 07:25:09 PM
Many small town in country SA now have 24hr prepaid fuel pumps, saves them the cost of a wage having someone sitting on a register everyday.

Many small towns in Vic also.
Post by: MDS69 on September 13, 2022, 09:54:59 PM
Costco petrol have been that way since they opened. You punch in a credit amount at the bowser then fill up. Anything unused is immediately refunded.

And if you have a trip computer it is not hard to see litres used and multiply by the advertised price and manually key in your spend amount on the Costco bowsers.
Post by: Bird on September 15, 2022, 03:25:16 PM
Quote from: Bird
Well thats TV ruined for the next month...

Gee... I wasnt wrong...  6.00am Koshy live from the UK... 6.00:01 brick through screen.

They interviewed a bloke the other day who saw her go past in a motorcade in 1962. FFS what insight could he possibly have? The coverage is beyond ridiculous.

imagine sitting in a nursing home ... communal TV ..... some **** wants to watch the royal funeral for 7 days straight .... your legs dont work to be able to brain the ****
Post by: DandyD on September 17, 2022, 04:03:05 AM
Gee... I wasnt wrong...  6.00am Koshy live from the UK... 6.00:01 brick through screen.

What do you normally watch at 6.00 am on a Monday morning?

What does anybody normally watch at 6.00 am on a Monday morning, even if they live in a care home?
Post by: Fizzie on September 17, 2022, 07:20:48 AM

What does anybody normally watch at 6.00 am on a Monday morning, even if they live in a care home?

The inside of my eyelids!
Post by: Bird on September 17, 2022, 11:33:05 AM
Quote from: DandyD
I was hoping for REAL news and the traffic report.
Post by: DandyD on September 17, 2022, 07:41:39 PM
I was hoping for REAL news and the traffic report.

Are you sure you have the timings right?. What are they going to be showing live at 6am Monday? That’s 8pm Sunday in the UK.

The whole shebang doesn’t start until 8am on Monday. That’s 6pm in Melbourne.
Post by: Fizzie on September 18, 2022, 07:23:32 AM
Are we looking into this: https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-09-17/new-domain-names-available-to-cut-cyber-crime/101446682 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-09-17/new-domain-names-available-to-cut-cyber-crime/101446682) ???

Bit awkward when Brett & Jillsy are on the road, I know!
Post by: Bird on September 19, 2022, 10:06:51 AM
WTF?

Dan slammed for ‘nanny state’ rules in Victorian parks

A bold plan to update rules in Victoria has sparked accusations the Andrews Government is intruding too far into resident’s personal lives.

Walkers and riders caught not using government-sanctioned trails could face heavy fines, while swimmers could be barred from some waterways without a permit.

The new rules, which will affect more than 50 city and regional parks across Victoria, were outlined in the government’s proposed Metropolitan and Regional Parks Regulations.

Changes include a fine of up to $924 for walking off a park trail.

Victorians conducting “intrusive research” – interfering with “wildlife, soil, rocks, vegetation or visitors or that contravenes any regulation applying to the park” – could be hit with a $1,472 fine.

hose wanting to swim in a body of water at a park will require a permit unless that waterway has been clearly designated for swimming.

Rock climbers, abseilers, hang gliders and paragliders will also need to get a permit unless an area has been designated for it.

Those wanting to fill up a chainsaw with fuel or oil could also cop a $1,840 fine.

The rules, which are currently in a consultation process, are due to come into force before the upcoming November 26 election.

https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/dan-slammed-for-nanny-state-rules-in-victorian-parks/news-story/670a563f39a08241603d043f55933405 (https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/dan-slammed-for-nanny-state-rules-in-victorian-parks/news-story/670a563f39a08241603d043f55933405)
Post by: alnjan on September 19, 2022, 02:35:44 PM
WTF?

How do people keep voting for him?
Post by: plusnq on September 19, 2022, 05:14:42 PM
What is with filling up a chainsaw with fuel? Can.I use an electric one and avoid the fine?
WTF?//
Post by: Steffo1 on September 19, 2022, 05:43:01 PM
How do people keep voting for him?

This bloke has surpassed Sir Johannes Bjelke-Petersen on the " Looney Premier " ladder. By more than one rung, too!
Post by: Bird on September 22, 2022, 07:55:17 PM
Hope all our friends and sheep are ok...

https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/58magnitude-earthquake-rocks-new-zealand/news-story/7268df25858ed90d7ec34d9dd8d0c5c6 (https://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/58magnitude-earthquake-rocks-new-zealand/news-story/7268df25858ed90d7ec34d9dd8d0c5c6)
Post by: Hairs on September 23, 2022, 08:11:45 PM
Not really News, but it is.
And some will(not here) believe this.
Maybe it should be in the Joke thread.
https://www.skynews.com.au/opinion/peta-has-outdone-themselves-after-calling-for-sex-strike/video/460799db28dac891b73117cb90ac9e06 (https://www.skynews.com.au/opinion/peta-has-outdone-themselves-after-calling-for-sex-strike/video/460799db28dac891b73117cb90ac9e06)
“PETA – not Credlin – wants all women to impose a sex ban on men who eat meat because they’re responsible for more greenhouse gas emissions.”

Fark, that's a passer.

Post by: austastar on September 24, 2022, 12:57:34 PM
   People Eating Tasty Animals?

Post by: Bird on October 06, 2022, 11:02:39 AM
This should be good... :(

OPEC sides with Russia to cut oil output by 2 million barrels a day
The OPEC cartel has announced it will cut oil production by two million barrels a day, in a move that will drive up petrol prices.

https://www.news.com.au/finance/economy/opec-sides-with-russia-to-cut-oil-output-by-2-million-barrels-a-day/news-story/ff376116e0a6a087f9a9a245c1d754f3 (https://www.news.com.au/finance/economy/opec-sides-with-russia-to-cut-oil-output-by-2-million-barrels-a-day/news-story/ff376116e0a6a087f9a9a245c1d754f3)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on October 06, 2022, 11:56:03 AM
Putting this on hold till I can get to it.

Sent from my SM-S908E using Tapatalk

Post by: Snow on October 07, 2022, 01:47:24 PM
I have cleaned this thread up. There will be no more discussion re: R plates. The protagonist of said deleted posts take this as a wake up call or cop a Red card.
Post by: Hairs on October 08, 2022, 04:56:32 PM

Just WOW.
Emergency services were called to a home on Monfarville Street in St Marys, after reports a car had crashed into a house just after 5.20am.

A 50-year-old female occupant of the home was treated by police and paramedics, but died at the scene.
And a woman was allegedly seen running from the house with a baby.

https://7news.com.au/news/breaking/car-smashes-into-home-killing-one-as-mother-and-baby-allegedly-seen-running-from-the-scene-c-8482631 (https://7news.com.au/news/breaking/car-smashes-into-home-killing-one-as-mother-and-baby-allegedly-seen-running-from-the-scene-c-8482631)
Condolences to her family. :((https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221008/311dad262042a857b337bf86f23c7e12.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221008/5b287b515b5490c6f9f08d11751c55c5.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20221008/b2665c5d2ddc1bd799644c78a6d64357.jpg)

Post by: Pottsy on October 09, 2022, 02:56:30 PM
I’m not into art galleries etc but after Extinction Rebellion protesters glued their hands to a Picasso painting today, the courts need to use the full force of the law to stop these clowns. Gluing yourself to paintings, buildings, roads etc is just vandalism. The costs involved policing/removing these clowns should be garnered via sales of their property etc.
Post by: Bird on October 09, 2022, 03:03:26 PM
I’m not into art galleries etc but after Extinction Rebellion protesters glued their hands to a Picasso painting today, the courts need to use the full force of the law to stop these clowns. Gluing yourself to paintings, buildings, roads etc is just vandalism. The costs involved policing/removing these clowns should be garnered via sales of their property etc.
glue their hands to a few bars in jail....
Post by: xcvator on October 09, 2022, 03:09:55 PM
glue their hands to a few bars in jail....
up high or down low, with or without underwear ?
Post by: Foo on October 09, 2022, 04:22:05 PM
All of the above.  >:D

Post by: Bird on October 09, 2022, 04:28:19 PM
up high or down low, with or without underwear ?
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DdQiefSW4AEqb00?format=jpg&name=small)
Post by: alnjan on October 09, 2022, 04:51:59 PM

Precedent has been set, they will just claim Mental Health caused by Climate Change. 
Post by: Kangaron on October 09, 2022, 05:30:33 PM
Back in the 70's we had a group chain themselves to hoardings near a nuclear sub in Port Melbourne.
Nice sunny day it was too.
So we watered them, and fed them, and watered them some more.
Then watched, waited and had a laugh.
Post by: xcvator on October 09, 2022, 08:52:28 PM
Back in the 70's we had a group chain themselves to hoardings near a nuclear sub in Port Melbourne.
Nice sunny day it was too.
So we watered them, and fed them, and watered them some more.
Then watched, waited and had a laugh.

No pic Ron
Post by: Bird on October 12, 2022, 10:46:01 AM
RIP.. Angela Lansbury..
97.... good innings..
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-10-12/angela-lansbury-dies/101525332 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-10-12/angela-lansbury-dies/101525332)
Post by: Pottsy on October 19, 2022, 12:48:58 PM
Oops
 https://www.perthnow.com.au/news/1-billion-class-action-law-suit-launched-over-vehicle-emissions-c-8588462 (https://www.perthnow.com.au/news/1-billion-class-action-law-suit-launched-over-vehicle-emissions-c-8588462)
Post by: Bird on October 20, 2022, 10:01:14 AM
Retard
Tourist cops $2300 fine for ‘brazen’ act on Fraser Island
A 23-year-old man was snapped by a bystander and dobbed into a ranger for performing an illegal act on a popular Aussie island.

A tourist has learned a very expensive lesson after he was fined for feeding biscuits to a dingo.

The 23-year-old Australian man was waiting in line for a ferry on the island of Fraser Island, 250km north of Brisbane, when a bystander photographed him brazenly feeding the wild dog – known as Dingo in the local Indigenous dialect.

The incident took place in April, however following an investigation from the Queensland’s Department of Environment and Sciences (DES), the man was fined $2300 this week.

“A member of the public told rangers the man was at the front of the vehicle line while he was waiting for the ferry at Hook Point back in April,” DES compliance manager Mike Devery said in a statement.

https://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/warnings/tourist-cops-2300-fine-for-brazen-act-on-fraser-island/news-story/af955ccae7dcecbfb24ff7ed40cf812f (https://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/warnings/tourist-cops-2300-fine-for-brazen-act-on-fraser-island/news-story/af955ccae7dcecbfb24ff7ed40cf812f)
Post by: xcvator on October 20, 2022, 01:19:19 PM
Wonder how much fine you'd get for taking a dump on the beach
Post by: Troopy_03 on October 20, 2022, 02:28:52 PM
And another customer data information hack. Medibank this time.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-10-20/medibank-cyber-attack-hack-stolen-data/101557122 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-10-20/medibank-cyber-attack-hack-stolen-data/101557122)

In a statement, the company said the criminal group allegedly responsible had claimed that 200 gigabytes of data had been stolen and that it would be reaching out to affected customers to let them know and what to do next.

"That data includes first names and surnames, addresses, dates of birth, Medicare numbers, policy numbers, phone numbers and some claims data."

It said the claims data involved where the medical service was and the codes that related to their diagnosis and procedures.
Post by: Bird on October 20, 2022, 03:34:49 PM
Quote from: Troopy_03
And another customer data information hack. Medibank this time.

... and these are only the ones we hear about
Post by: NZMarkb on October 21, 2022, 02:56:43 AM
Retard
Tourist cops $2300 fine for ‘brazen’ act on Fraser Island
A 23-year-old man was snapped by a bystander and dobbed into a ranger for performing an illegal act on a popular Aussie island.

A tourist has learned a very expensive lesson after he was fined for feeding biscuits to a dingo.

The 23-year-old Australian man was waiting in line for a ferry on the island of Fraser Island, 250km north of Brisbane, when a bystander photographed him brazenly feeding the wild dog – known as Dingo in the local Indigenous dialect.

The incident took place in April, however following an investigation from the Queensland’s Department of Environment and Sciences (DES), the man was fined $2300 this week.

“A member of the public told rangers the man was at the front of the vehicle line while he was waiting for the ferry at Hook Point back in April,” DES compliance manager Mike Devery said in a statement.

https://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/warnings/tourist-cops-2300-fine-for-brazen-act-on-fraser-island/news-story/af955ccae7dcecbfb24ff7ed40cf812f (https://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/warnings/tourist-cops-2300-fine-for-brazen-act-on-fraser-island/news-story/af955ccae7dcecbfb24ff7ed40cf812f)

That story has even made the news over here
How entitled do you have to be
Post by: Bird on October 27, 2022, 10:12:23 AM
You cant make this Shit up..

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-10-26/nsw-mobile-speed-camera-cars-too-small-for-warnings-signs/101582214 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-10-26/nsw-mobile-speed-camera-cars-too-small-for-warnings-signs/101582214)   
Post by: Rowlie on October 27, 2022, 12:25:52 PM
You cant make this Shit up..

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-10-26/nsw-mobile-speed-camera-cars-too-small-for-warnings-signs/101582214 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-10-26/nsw-mobile-speed-camera-cars-too-small-for-warnings-signs/101582214)   

This is the sort of stuff that inspired those old English comedy series' Yes Minister / Yes Prime Minister. If they brought them back today they could run them as reality shows.
Post by: prodigyrf on October 27, 2022, 01:32:59 PM
Given fuel costs are directly related to the weight aircraft are lifting I dunno why passenger airlines aren't charging by the kilo including your luggage-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/travel/news/plus-size-woman-defends-not-buying-2-seats-on-airplane-why-should-i/ar-AA13od0x
Post by: plusnq on October 27, 2022, 02:54:26 PM
Given fuel costs are directly related to the weight aircraft are lifting I dunno why passenger airlines aren't charging by the kilo including your luggage-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/travel/news/plus-size-woman-defends-not-buying-2-seats-on-airplane-why-should-i/ar-AA13od0x

Never had a problem with this as long as they get the added increase in space to accomodate the larger taller person as well.
Post by: prodigyrf on October 27, 2022, 10:13:46 PM
Never had a problem with this as long as they get the added increase in space to accomodate the larger taller person as well.

Yeah well I'm tall so shorties would get a discount all things being equal but apparently fat lives matter-
https://www.foxnews.com/media/biden-mocked-claiming-extra-cost-roomier-airline-seats-unfair-people-color

Jeezussss when are they gunna stop with the elder abuse and stick him in a home?
Post by: Bird on October 28, 2022, 05:52:35 PM
might have to go for a drive tomorrow to see it

https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/thomson-dam-spills-over-for-first-time-in-26-years-as-rain-drenches-victoria-20221028-p5btvb.html (https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/thomson-dam-spills-over-for-first-time-in-26-years-as-rain-drenches-victoria-20221028-p5btvb.html)
Title: More Safety in Modern Vehicles
Post by: Steffo1 on October 29, 2022, 12:26:16 PM
The occupants walked away with minor injuries!

https://www.drive.com.au/news/land-rover-defender-rolls-six-times-in-wild-freeway-crash/?fbclid=IwAR0a62s4Z3n3PK692LeKcxe9hBc6aeMCPaznP8AkcwvPO8sXUe9cuCHxqaw (https://www.drive.com.au/news/land-rover-defender-rolls-six-times-in-wild-freeway-crash/?fbclid=IwAR0a62s4Z3n3PK692LeKcxe9hBc6aeMCPaznP8AkcwvPO8sXUe9cuCHxqaw)
Title: Re: More Safety in Modern Vehicles
Post by: Bird on October 29, 2022, 03:18:09 PM
The occupants walked away with minor injuries!

https://www.drive.com.au/news/land-rover-defender-rolls-six-times-in-wild-freeway-crash/?fbclid=IwAR0a62s4Z3n3PK692LeKcxe9hBc6aeMCPaznP8AkcwvPO8sXUe9cuCHxqaw (https://www.drive.com.au/news/land-rover-defender-rolls-six-times-in-wild-freeway-crash/?fbclid=IwAR0a62s4Z3n3PK692LeKcxe9hBc6aeMCPaznP8AkcwvPO8sXUe9cuCHxqaw)
will it buff out ?
Post by: Bird on October 29, 2022, 04:12:32 PM
https://www.theage.com.au/culture/celebrity/jerry-lee-lewis-outrageous-rock-n-roll-star-dies-at-87-20221029-p5bty7.html (https://www.theage.com.au/culture/celebrity/jerry-lee-lewis-outrageous-rock-n-roll-star-dies-at-87-20221029-p5bty7.html)

Jerry Lee Lewis, the untamable rock ‘n’ roll pioneer whose outrageous talent, energy and ego collided on such definitive records as Great Balls of Fire and Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On and sustained a career otherwise upended by personal scandal, has died at the age of 87.
Post by: lloydus67 on October 29, 2022, 06:26:14 PM
I thought this was the same mistaken report, from 2 days ago.

The news came two days after the publication of an erroneous report of his death, which was later retracted.

Lewis passed away at his home in Desoto County, Mississippi, with his wife, Judith, by his side, a statement from his publicist said. He had been ill in recent years and suffered a stroke in 2019.

Sent from me
Post by: Fizzie on October 30, 2022, 07:19:58 AM
I thought this was the same mistaken report, from 2 days ago.

The news came two days after the publication of an erroneous report of his death, which was later retracted.

Yeah, that was a bit of a weird coincidence ???
Post by: Robbo on November 01, 2022, 01:06:32 PM

https://www.news.com.au/sport/superracing/melbourne-cup/1000-litres-of-oily-sludge-dumped-on-flemington-before-2022-melbourne-cup/news-story/55aef527b65589a77d8b49874a69ec80

Sadly the world is full of scum like this these days. Hope they catch him, tie a rope around his neck and drag him a couple of times around the track behind a horse.  >:( >:(
Post by: Bird on November 01, 2022, 01:42:56 PM
https://www.news.com.au/sport/superracing/melbourne-cup/1000-litres-of-oily-sludge-dumped-on-flemington-before-2022-melbourne-cup/news-story/55aef527b65589a77d8b49874a69ec80

Sadly the world is full of scum like this these days. Hope they catch him, tie a rope around his neck and drag him a couple of times around the track behind a horse.  >:( >:(
how the **** do you get a car + trailer with a massive tank on it into the place?
Post by: Hairs on November 09, 2022, 05:29:00 PM
Everything is becoming Electric, as a First Responder, Village Fire Fighter, our RFS brigade is always updating our procedures in dealing with battery fires, not just Solar house systems, but vehile fires, and other Battery powered units in homes.
Bet many wouldn't of thought a battery powered scoot could cause a life threatening incident.
FAMILY OF FIVE ESCAPES ELECTRIC SKATEBOARD FIRE - YAMBA

https://www.fire.nsw.gov.au/incident.php?record=1667912640 (https://www.fire.nsw.gov.au/incident.php?record=1667912640)

Post by: rags on November 09, 2022, 07:00:32 PM
Everything is becoming Electric, as a First Responder, Village Fire Fighter, our RFS brigade is always updating our procedures in dealing with battery fires, not just Solar house systems, but vehile fires, and other Battery powered units in homes.
Bet many wouldn't of thought a battery powered scoot could cause a life threatening incident.
FAMILY OF FIVE ESCAPES ELECTRIC SKATEBOARD FIRE - YAMBA

https://www.fire.nsw.gov.au/incident.php?record=1667912640 (https://www.fire.nsw.gov.au/incident.php?record=1667912640)

Absolutely they can,  https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-09-17/qld-lithium-ion-battery-fires-risk/101428618 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-09-17/qld-lithium-ion-battery-fires-risk/101428618)
Post by: Fizzie on November 10, 2022, 06:53:07 AM
But from the article:

"Be aware of defects or contamination introduced during manufacture"

Umm ???

Yeah, I'll just pop over to China, walk into the factory & check out their procedures & QA! ::)
Post by: NZMarkb on November 10, 2022, 07:47:52 AM
But from the article:

"Be aware of defects or contamination introduced during manufacture"

Your guaranteed to find both of those there  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: Bird on November 11, 2022, 10:39:57 AM
Im sure some of the people making these decisions dont realize the appeal of these remote places is that it is remote and not 10000 people battling for 2ft of sand on the beach.... Anyway theres a dude on youtube who drove his Kombi through it.. few issues coming back  ;D ;D but cant be that hard.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-09/four-wheel-drive-track-demolished-to-boost-access-to-beaches/101629330 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-09/four-wheel-drive-track-demolished-to-boost-access-to-beaches/101629330)
Post by: Gazza00 on November 11, 2022, 10:53:36 AM
sealed road to improve access to isolated beaches and cultural heritage -  with WITH TOLL BOOTH
Post by: Hairs on November 14, 2022, 10:49:09 AM
What a mess, :(
"Freight train derailment in Victoria leaves more than a dozen shipping containers piled up on top of one another"

https://www.skynews.com.au/australia-news/freight-train-derailment-in-victoria-leaves-more-than-a-dozen-shipping-containers-piled-up-on-top-of-another-near-inverleigh/news-story/b659f32baf8f3b0488f3b231566db8ac (https://www.skynews.com.au/australia-news/freight-train-derailment-in-victoria-leaves-more-than-a-dozen-shipping-containers-piled-up-on-top-of-another-near-inverleigh/news-story/b659f32baf8f3b0488f3b231566db8ac)

Post by: Champin on November 14, 2022, 05:40:52 PM
It gets worserer Hairs. The was beer in some of those containers.

Sent from my SM-X200 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on November 14, 2022, 07:30:11 PM

its ok... its coming from Perth, cant be that good... :D
Post by: prodigyrf on November 14, 2022, 09:57:29 PM
Sorry feller but it was a new one on us-
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/world/cops-tase-man-with-bag-full-of-gasoline-and-he-bursts-into-flames/vi-AA13tR3a?category=foryou
Actually I thought the cops did pretty well going for the fire extinguisher in the heat of the moment  :police:
Post by: Hairs on November 15, 2022, 05:14:58 AM

NOOOOOO :(

Post by: NZMarkb on November 15, 2022, 07:00:22 AM
NOOOOOO :(

There need to be Coronial inquiry
We can't allow this sort of thing to ever happen again  :cheers:
Post by: Dingo0163 on November 15, 2022, 12:35:35 PM

There was no beer in any of those containers. I have already checked. I’m only about 8km from it as the crow flies.
Post by: Rhojef on November 15, 2022, 01:04:25 PM
There wasn't any beer in those containers or there isn't now
Just asking
Post by: Bird on November 18, 2022, 12:49:55 PM
never twatted.... but was this in his plan for it... LOL

MASS EXODUS CHAOS: Twitter locks buildings, workers set to quit
Hundreds of Twitter employees are expected to resign in the wake of Elon Musk’s brutal recent ultimatum demanding longer and more “hardcore” hours.

https://www.news.com.au/finance/work/at-work/spacex-workers-allegedly-fired-after-slamming-musk-criticising-work-culture/news-story/6f3353b7efab20f50bcc36cebe47bb49 (https://www.news.com.au/finance/work/at-work/spacex-workers-allegedly-fired-after-slamming-musk-criticising-work-culture/news-story/6f3353b7efab20f50bcc36cebe47bb49)
Post by: GeoffA on November 18, 2022, 04:54:29 PM
MASS EXODUS CHAOS: Twitter locks buildings, workers set to quit
Hundreds of Twitter employees are expected to resign in the wake of Elon Musk’s brutal recent ultimatum demanding longer and more “hardcore” hours.

I guess reality sucks....
Post by: Dingo0163 on November 19, 2022, 11:15:18 AM
There wasn't any beer in those containers or there isn't now
Just asking
There was not any beer in any of the containers. If there was , it would be my shout for the rest of the month.  :cheers:
Post by: Fizzie on November 20, 2022, 12:09:52 PM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-20/victorian-mobile-landcare-environment-tree-planting/101665838 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-20/victorian-mobile-landcare-environment-tree-planting/101665838)

Anybody here involved ???
Post by: Bird on November 21, 2022, 01:28:11 PM
A major south Brisbane road is expected to be closed for hours, with a truck stuck under a rail bridge. \
Emergency services were called to the rail bridge over Oxley Road at Corinda just before 9AM.

**** me, did he forget he was not in his camry
Post by: Fizzie on November 21, 2022, 02:30:17 PM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-21/queensland-driver-revivers-to-close/101672124

"There's a lot of other rest area sites which are provided by the state and private sector ... we would still be encouraging motorists to stop at these [other] locations." 

So pull into a Service Centre & get something from Wild Bean or Macca's ???
Post by: Fizzie on November 23, 2022, 07:21:09 AM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-22/barkly-roadhouse-fuel-stop-closes-indefinitely-kitchen-fire/101683454 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-22/barkly-roadhouse-fuel-stop-closes-indefinitely-kitchen-fire/101683454)

That's going to throw a spanner in a lot of people's travel plans :'(
Post by: NZMarkb on November 23, 2022, 07:36:27 AM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-22/barkly-roadhouse-fuel-stop-closes-indefinitely-kitchen-fire/101683454 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-22/barkly-roadhouse-fuel-stop-closes-indefinitely-kitchen-fire/101683454)

That's going to throw a spanner in a lot of people's travel plans :'(

Tennant Creek another 200+ km away !!
Or Camooweal 260 km  :-[ :-[
Post by: Fizzie on November 23, 2022, 05:03:20 PM
& who said Ibis are totally useless, & don't have anything going for them ???

Maybe they just do ??? ;D

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-23/ibis-find-way-to-eat-toxic-cane-toads/101683596 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-23/ibis-find-way-to-eat-toxic-cane-toads/101683596)
Post by: Pottsy on November 23, 2022, 05:42:22 PM
& who said Ibis are totally useless, & don't have anything going for them ???

Maybe they just do ??? ;D

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-23/ibis-find-way-to-eat-toxic-cane-toads/101683596 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-23/ibis-find-way-to-eat-toxic-cane-toads/101683596)

Go the bin chicken!  :cup:
Post by: Steffo1 on November 23, 2022, 05:52:25 PM
Our resident Kookie Klan have been eating the toads for a few years, too. They seem to have worked out the safe way to do it, as we have had the same adults for several years now and each year the chicks have survived, to the stage where we now have a family of nine.
Post by: S.W on November 24, 2022, 08:49:21 AM
Thought this may interest a few here

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-23/el-questro-tourism-and-nature-reserve-indigenous-land-deal/101679272
Post by: Hairs on December 05, 2022, 05:35:33 PM
Sesame Street actor Bob McGrath, who played Bob Johnson, dies aged 90
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-05/sesame-street-star-bob-mcgrath-dies/101734634 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-05/sesame-street-star-bob-mcgrath-dies/101734634)

Post by: Bird on December 05, 2022, 07:01:32 PM
may bollox a few trips planned

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-03/mains-roads-wa-work-on-repairs-ahead-of-kimberley-wet-season/101706762 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-03/mains-roads-wa-work-on-repairs-ahead-of-kimberley-wet-season/101706762)
Post by: xcvator on December 10, 2022, 07:36:25 AM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-09/alvey-reels-will-remain-open-after-being-acquired-by-gowings/101755902 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-09/alvey-reels-will-remain-open-after-being-acquired-by-gowings/101755902)
Post by: Bird on December 10, 2022, 09:55:41 AM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-09/alvey-reels-will-remain-open-after-being-acquired-by-gowings/101755902 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-09/alvey-reels-will-remain-open-after-being-acquired-by-gowings/101755902)
Great news... They been going over 100yrs and are a great product.
Post by: Fizzie on December 10, 2022, 12:36:00 PM
https://www.mygc.com.au/recall-thousands-of-popular-car-model-recalled-due-to-fire-risk/ (https://www.mygc.com.au/recall-thousands-of-popular-car-model-recalled-due-to-fire-risk/)

Hyundai ix35s could have brake fires! :o
Post by: Spada on December 12, 2022, 10:41:40 AM
New fee's coming to visit NT national Parks - https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-12/nt-tourism-national-parks-pass-litchfield-edith-falls-mataranka/101741136 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-12/nt-tourism-national-parks-pass-litchfield-edith-falls-mataranka/101741136)

I'm not opposed to the idea, as long as revenue is re-invested into the parks. Lets be honest, NT is probably behind the Eastern states when it comes to charging for park access.

Post by: Hairs on December 12, 2022, 07:47:42 PM
WOW :(
Several Queensland police officers shot at Wieambilla property

https://7news.com.au/news/qld/several-queensland-police-officers-shot-in-unfolding-emergency-at-wieambilla--c-9138530 (https://7news.com.au/news/qld/several-queensland-police-officers-shot-in-unfolding-emergency-at-wieambilla--c-9138530)

Post by: Bird on December 13, 2022, 09:02:57 AM
this is ****ed... one of the cops that was there only been in the fuzz 9 weeks.... imagine her impression of her new career now

RIP to the dead cops who were only doin their job

https://www.news.com.au/national/queensland/news/multiple-police-officers-allegedly-shot-at-queensland-property/news-story/2df4dfb4c495e5ea097eef7508b6544d (https://www.news.com.au/national/queensland/news/multiple-police-officers-allegedly-shot-at-queensland-property/news-story/2df4dfb4c495e5ea097eef7508b6544d)

sounds like the vermin that did it have now been killed... good ****in riddance.
Post by: Fizzie on December 14, 2022, 07:33:21 AM
only been in the fuzz 9 weeks.... imagine her impression of her new career now

Friend of ours joined the :police: a few years ago.

She was saying that it was mentioned at the Academy, that the record for a new cop having to draw & fire their pistol was 20 minutes into their first ever shift! :o

You have to wonder what was going on in the background here, when one of them was an ex-School principal ???

Post by: Bird on December 14, 2022, 07:48:08 AM
You have to wonder what was going on in the background here, when one of them was an ex-School principal ???
reading some of the articles, they both sound like 100% cast iron nutcases. and the missus too... ???
Post by: NZMarkb on December 14, 2022, 09:58:45 AM

Yes unfortunately the days of a large percentage of applicants spending a few years in the Defence force and then going into the Police is far gone
Now we get return to work Mum's, school teachers or race quota (all 4 foot 10 and below)
Some of the best police officers I know had 3-5 years real life experiences before joining
Post by: Bird on December 15, 2022, 01:45:07 PM
Great work... now to do it in AU

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-13/new-zealand-imposes-lifetime-ban-on-youth-buying-cigarettes/101768694 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-13/new-zealand-imposes-lifetime-ban-on-youth-buying-cigarettes/101768694)
Post by: Bird on December 19, 2022, 09:43:27 AM
Good to see the peaceful protest in the diveball other night....
WTF do they need flairs in the first place for ?

https://www.news.com.au/sport/football/aleague-melbourne-derby-descends-into-chaos-with-violent-pitch-invasion/news-story/eab656b4548172fb1d3ae37e49bda448 (https://www.news.com.au/sport/football/aleague-melbourne-derby-descends-into-chaos-with-violent-pitch-invasion/news-story/eab656b4548172fb1d3ae37e49bda448)
Post by: Fizzie on December 19, 2022, 03:51:56 PM
Anybody been to Alice recently ???

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-18/a-dangerous-game-youth-crime-crisis-alice-springs/101735492 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-18/a-dangerous-game-youth-crime-crisis-alice-springs/101735492)

Post by: Hairs on December 19, 2022, 04:07:19 PM
Good to see the peaceful protest in the diveball other night....
WTF do they need flairs in the first place for ?

https://www.news.com.au/sport/football/aleague-melbourne-derby-descends-into-chaos-with-violent-pitch-invasion/news-story/eab656b4548172fb1d3ae37e49bda448 (https://www.news.com.au/sport/football/aleague-melbourne-derby-descends-into-chaos-with-violent-pitch-invasion/news-story/eab656b4548172fb1d3ae37e49bda448)

I don't get it either  mate. ???
Post by: Bird on December 19, 2022, 05:53:54 PM
Anybody been to Alice recently ???

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-18/a-dangerous-game-youth-crime-crisis-alice-springs/101735492 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-18/a-dangerous-game-youth-crime-crisis-alice-springs/101735492)

just shoot em.. moving target practice for the army or cops.... or you could sell 20min sessions for hunters.

This has been out of control for a while.... 2yrs ago
https://9now.nine.com.au/a-current-affair/youth-crime-alice-springs-locals-overwhelmed-calls-for-action-over-town-anarchy/3d2668c0-fdfc-4871-9dfe-15905f446844 (https://9now.nine.com.au/a-current-affair/youth-crime-alice-springs-locals-overwhelmed-calls-for-action-over-town-anarchy/3d2668c0-fdfc-4871-9dfe-15905f446844)

how long before these loving little cherubs get killed and "they were good kids" comes out... or even worse, an innocent tourist/person or copper gets killed.
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/nt-police-car-rammed-by-youths-driving-stolen-vehicle/vi-AA14j0A2 (https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/nt-police-car-rammed-by-youths-driving-stolen-vehicle/vi-AA14j0A2)

Blind artist Lynne Wastell leaves Alice Springs due to crime
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-28/blind-artist-lynne-wastell-leaves-alice-springs-because-of-crime/101706362 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-28/blind-artist-lynne-wastell-leaves-alice-springs-because-of-crime/101706362)

Alice Springs woman, 84, afraid to leave her home after a series of break-ins
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-03/alice-springs-elderly-frightened-to-leave-home-break-ins/101601724 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-11-03/alice-springs-elderly-frightened-to-leave-home-break-ins/101601724)

Holding their hands and giving them a stern finger waving isn't working.
(https://media.tenor.com/_ErElebzWN0AAAAM/finger-shake-judge-judy.gif)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 19, 2022, 06:52:38 PM
Thread tidied, lets keep it to the normal standards please  :police: :police:

Post by: xcvator on December 23, 2022, 09:16:06 AM
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/jail-time-doubled-over-fatal-caravan-crash/ar-AA15yqGA?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=5a4d9e9247354549adf27f0e85a4ffc5 (https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/jail-time-doubled-over-fatal-caravan-crash/ar-AA15yqGA?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=5a4d9e9247354549adf27f0e85a4ffc5)
Post by: Bird on December 23, 2022, 11:35:39 AM
https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/jail-time-doubled-over-fatal-caravan-crash/ar-AA15yqGA?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=5a4d9e9247354549adf27f0e85a4ffc5 (https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/jail-time-doubled-over-fatal-caravan-crash/ar-AA15yqGA?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=5a4d9e9247354549adf27f0e85a4ffc5)
the Oxley Highway outside Walcha

not the best road to be towing on i'd say... famous motorcycling road.... 53klms of corners...
Post by: Fizzie on December 23, 2022, 02:58:41 PM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-23/caravan-park-insurance-premium-for-victorian-holiday-parks/101802766 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-23/caravan-park-insurance-premium-for-victorian-holiday-parks/101802766)

Insurance now just about impossible for Parks :'(
Post by: Fizzie on December 28, 2022, 09:36:18 AM
https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-27/irukandji-stings-kgari-fraser-islands-children-hospital/101811402 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-12-27/irukandji-stings-kgari-fraser-islands-children-hospital/101811402)

Post by: xcvator on December 30, 2022, 09:56:15 AM
The legend has gone

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2022/12/29/brazilian-football-legend-pele-dies-aged-82 (https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2022/12/29/brazilian-football-legend-pele-dies-aged-82)