Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506602 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1175 on: September 01, 2018, 06:11:50 AM »
I get my fuel at the wrong servo's I think.

https://scontent.fbne5-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/38894214_10156006797386785_853723414068723712_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=e9dea4f18ba7fed344b245937a0d29a7&oe=5BFF304C

« Reply #1176 on: September 03, 2018, 12:01:12 AM »
Tuned in to the Pickles auction of the A9X Torana Hatch light weight ..Was up to $365000 + Not sure if it sold or was pulled from the Auction, the page just came up this vehicle is  No longer for sale

« Reply #1177 on: September 03, 2018, 12:14:19 PM »
The car was brought at the Winchelsea farmers Market near colac for $900. 23 years ago and he says the EJ is pretty much untouched since he bought it

« Reply #1178 on: September 03, 2018, 12:26:38 PM »
Doesn't look like he takes it shopping.  It's looking too good.

« Reply #1179 on: September 04, 2018, 01:07:00 PM »
I flick through this thread from time to time and based on pretty much all of the posts I assumed all old cars where stupidly priced these days.
Over the last few weeks I’ve been searching for bits and pieces on Gumtree, every now and then I’m getting random results with adds for old cars.

I helped a good mate rebuild a HR sedan about 20 years ago, he sold it a couple of years after we finished it for around $8k.
I expected people would be asking twice that these days and was surprised to see a super tidy HR sedan (better then the one we built) for about $10k.
There was also a neat HZ 1 tonner for under $5k and a heap of really crappy half assed restored HJ utes for under $3k.

Really didn’t expect to see there are still some reasonable prices for most old cars and that the world hasn’t gone completely mad after all.
The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #1180 on: September 04, 2018, 01:43:41 PM »
Just have to temper that with certain base typish models and what type of car it is,  as to what sort of popularity they have  ..

« Reply #1181 on: September 05, 2018, 05:15:14 AM »
I stumbled across one of these....... Pretty rare car and no, he won't sell it to me.
Most on here would never have heard of an Ascort. (I hadn't until I saw one)
The 72 year old owner wouldn't let me photograph the car and as i'm trying to get it off him, I was ok with that.

From Wikipedia,
The Ascort was an automobile manufactured by Continental Coachwork of Sydney, Australia from 1958 to 1960.

Designated as the Ascort-TSV-1300 G.T., it utilized a mildly modified Volkswagen chassis fitted with a four-seat coupé body which was based on that of the Volkswagen Karmann Ghia coupé, although significantly different in appearance. The body, which was constructed of fibreglass, had a prestressed double shell with a bonded-in light steel tubular frame, and was mounted on an 11-inch rubber seal. The 1.3-litre Volkswagen flat-4 engine was modified using Okrasa and Porsche components to produce 54 bhp at 4300 rpm. The vehicle's total weight was 1467 lb, 33% less than that of a standard Volkswagen Beetle sedan. The Ascort had a top speed of 96 mph and could accelerate from zero to 50 mph in 12.0 seconds.

19 cars were built before production was terminated. Although there were plans to offer the car with a 70 hp, 1500 cc engine, which would have given the car a top speed of well over 100 mph, this variant was never produced.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 05:17:12 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #1182 on: September 05, 2018, 07:40:14 AM »
Would be rarer than a Bolwell  Nagari for sure, Where did you find this bloke ... You doing a bit of Barn find sniffing out in Banjo country . :D
ASCORT and KARMANN 
« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 07:46:06 AM by edz »

« Reply #1183 on: September 05, 2018, 07:47:07 AM »
Would be rarer than a Bolwell  Nagari for sure, Where did you find this bloke ... You doing a bit of Barn find sniffing out in Banjo country . :D
ASCORT and KARMANN

Less than klm from the house here in Tin Can.  :o

This a ripper link to the story of the Ascort. The car I found, is photographed in this story too.

http://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=2ahUKEwjM4bW2rqLdAhWBIIgKHUk-CQ8QFjAAegQICBAB&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ascort-tsv-1300.com%2FHistory.htm&usg=AOvVaw2LVwUorpmQmgzNJJAAOomH
« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 08:11:11 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #1184 on: September 05, 2018, 11:24:56 AM »
Quote from: Pete79
Really didn’t expect to see there are still some reasonable prices for most old cars and that the world hasn’t gone completely mad after all.

3 x SLR Torana ashtrays genuine in good condition can post
Boronia, Victoria, Australia
$950
$950 the lot or can seperate

« Reply #1185 on: September 05, 2018, 12:06:55 PM »
Thats a bloody good read Kev ..
Tell him  he's dreaming Birdman ....  How about an RS 2000 Escort steering wheel  " BARE FRAME ONLY " For $300 on facecrap market place
« Last Edit: September 05, 2018, 12:13:12 PM by edz »

« Reply #1186 on: September 05, 2018, 12:33:38 PM »

$950

How much would one be worth signed by Peter Brock.

« Reply #1187 on: September 05, 2018, 01:38:30 PM »

$950

Smoking has always been an expensive habit and even more so today.

« Reply #1188 on: September 05, 2018, 02:40:57 PM »
Quote from: edz
Tell him  he's dreaming Birdman .... 
How about an RS 2000 Escort steering wheel  " BARE FRAME ONLY " For $300 on facecrap market place
I know
cant see that HZ tonner being much chop for 5k....

« Reply #1189 on: September 05, 2018, 03:42:28 PM »

« Reply #1190 on: September 06, 2018, 11:27:14 AM »
Mate is walking around the Shannons place at moment...prick keeps sending me photos :'(

« Reply #1191 on: September 10, 2018, 12:12:17 PM »
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlRKSmHgzdE

Barn Find - Rare Ferrari AND 427 Cobra Hidden for Decades'
then.... https://youtu.be/dnU9jcOEE2o
« Last Edit: September 10, 2018, 12:31:34 PM by Bird »

« Reply #1192 on: September 10, 2018, 02:01:08 PM »
Its tyres pumped, pretty good for 50yr..
Almost ready to blast out..

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #1193 on: September 10, 2018, 02:02:45 PM »
https://www.facebook.com/festivalofspeed/?hc_ref=ARSFI6QxuryOFARjsPGEmna_7N4D_z4Cr2F9kgj_-gEnnm9K-oXbKX32az0aojbZ_pI&fref=nf&__xts__[0]=68.ARBXMs26_Hi79kCxjm35SwzZHlR00DaoGG29khGHaqRTsnVKY19M5weuSGcUIMMW2u87fTYo14snFISjqs1rgBGSOg3qh0eJ9wNtxXiE0kM42AHBOvmPT_3KQ2DO7g_DB1d5u2emHokSqoL6juLVnYY5kgcv1CWJUiDtsRluwnIyC-oeT3aR-lQ&__tn__=kCH-R

« Reply #1194 on: September 10, 2018, 02:05:52 PM »
Or the short version:
https://www.facebook.com/festivalofspeed

But yes, old cars going fast... very close to often unforgiving run offs.

« Reply #1195 on: September 10, 2018, 02:44:56 PM »
There was also a neat HZ 1 tonner for under $5k

A HZ ute was my first car. Nearly bought a nice 1 tonner as a run around back in the 90s that had beautiful timber for the tray. Always regretted not getting it. Luv the HJ, HX and HZs  :cup:

:worthles: or even a link would do

Rod

SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #1196 on: September 10, 2018, 03:19:36 PM »
A HZ ute was my first car. Nearly bought a nice 1 tonner as a run around back in the 90s that had beautiful timber for the tray. Always regretted not getting it. Luv the HJ, HX and HZs  :cup:

:worthles: or even a link would do

Rod

Sorry mate, it was just a random Gumtree add that came up when I was looking for a push bike for the daughter. Would take me forever to find it again...

My school books where covered in pictures of all sorts of cars, but the all time favorite one was the deep burgundy coloured HZ Sandman with a premier front end that was on the front of my folder that i had for most of my senior years at school.
I wanted to build that car so badly....

After finishing school and about 2 years of searching with no luck I settled for an XE panelvan to get my van fix for a few years. Wasn’t the dream Sandman, but still a heap of fun.

Edit;
I wanted pretty much exactly this, in a panelvan.
« Last Edit: September 10, 2018, 03:56:18 PM by Pete79 »

« Reply #1197 on: September 10, 2018, 04:03:22 PM »
Sorry mate, it was just a random Gumtree add that came up when I was looking for a push bike for the daughter. Would take me forever to find it again...

My school books where covered in pictures of all sorts of cars, but the all time favorite one was the deep burgundy coloured HZ Sandman with a premier front end that was on the front of my folder that i had for most of my senior years at school.
I wanted to build that car so badly....

After finishing school and about 2 years of searching with no luck I settled for an XE panelvan to get my van fix for a few years. Wasn’t the dream Sandman, but still a heap of fun.

Edit;
I wanted pretty much exactly this, in a panelvan.

Love the colour.

« Reply #1198 on: September 10, 2018, 07:24:32 PM »
Thanks Pete. Imagine that with slightly different red (more burgundy) and a 1 tonner tray with nice oiled timber and that is basically the ute that i didn't buy :'(.

What could of been

« Reply #1199 on: September 12, 2018, 03:23:24 AM »
I stumbled across a place yesterday about 5 minutes from our place in the boonies.

No one was home, but I'll be calling back soon. Just a few of the cars there, in varying stages  of decay

Very late 70's or early 80's Fleetwood Brougham
Very late 70's or early 80's Cadillac hearse. (I want this one)
P76
Mk 2 Zephyr wagon.
FB Holden's

Hopefully, he won't want silly money for 'em, but I think you and I both know how it will go down.