General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Joff on August 03, 2016, 12:40:29 PM

Title: Show us ya real bike!
Post by: Joff on August 03, 2016, 12:40:29 PM
That tree hugger thread needs a rival  >:D

Where are the real riders of Myswag??

Here's my current. I say current coz I just signed up for the BMW Test Ride day at Wisemans Ferry next Thrursday. Test riding the new GSA.

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v231/Joff/bike_zpsnomhrna5.jpg)

BTW, that's not me, that's my daughter (in case anyone thought I was small and wore yellow)  ;D
Title: Re: Show us ya real bike!
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2016, 01:13:46 PM
my last road bike that I got ****ed up on
first week headed down to Khancoban... that was one of the fastest weekends on the road ever :D
(http://www.vf750fd.com/Peter_Seymour/birdriver.jpg)

Was engine/frame #0700001  8)
(http://www.vf750fd.com/Peter_Seymour/birdvfr.jpg)

At the island
(http://www.vf750fd.com/Peter_Seymour/birdphil.jpg)

last racebike at Oran Park the day I finally got graded  :cup: :cup:
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/bike/7.jpg)

but I've had a few bikes

XR75 (didnt everyone start on one!)
XT200 YAM
DR250 SUZ.
XT250 YAM
400WR HUSKY
VF750FD (83)
KATANA 750 SUZ
GSX1100 SUZ
YZ250 (85,86,90) YAM
YZ490 YAM
FZ750N YAM(one street and one race)
RZ250 (race)
RZ350 (race)
TZR250 YAM (race)
TZ350A (74 Mod)
TT600N YAM(ended up as a 720)
TT250N YAM(ended up as a 280)
350EXC KTM
RZ500 YAM
KTM250MXC (85,89)
KR1S 250 KAWA
RGV250 SUZ
ShitBOX DUC 900SS (SS= Super Shit)
VFR750FV (green)
XR400 (96)

probably more but that's an old list off mates website
Post by: db on August 03, 2016, 01:25:48 PM
My current bike looks mostly like this
(http://www.myswag.org/MGalleryItem.php?id=2265)

- except mine is looking a little more used and has aftermarket cans. Great all round bike, sadly mostly used for commuting.
Post by: Joff on August 03, 2016, 01:33:23 PM
I refuse to commute on my bike. I did it for a little while but it just made me hate people in cars hahaha. It made weekend recreational riding less compelling too coz I was tired of riding during the week which pissed my wife off coz she likes the weekend rides.

Now I only ride for fun  ;D and most weekends at that  8)
Post by: Joff on August 03, 2016, 01:39:53 PM

XT200 YAM
DR250 SUZ.
XT250 YAM
400WR HUSKY
VF750FD (83)
KATANA 750 SUZ
GSX1100 SUZ
YZ250 (85,86,90) YAM
YZ490 YAM
RZ250 (race)
RZ350 (race)
TZR250 YAM (race)
TZ350A (74 Mod)
350EXC KTM
RZ500 YAM
KTM250MXC (85,89)
KR1S 250 KAWA
RGV250 SUZ
VFR750FV (green)
XR400 (96)

Nice list. Way longer than mine but I did start on an XR75 in the 70's. We still have one in the family too with my bro-in-law. All his kids started on an XR50, then to the old XR75. My son started on a PeeWee then a TTR70. The BIL just had his first grandson too so no doubt the little fella will be on that little 50 in few years.
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2016, 01:46:10 PM
Nice list. Way longer than mine but I did start on an XR75 in the 70's. We still have one in the family too with my bro-in-law. All his kids started on an XR50, then to the old XR75. My son started on a PeeWee then a TTR70. The BIL just had his first grandson too so no doubt the little fella will be on that little 50 in few years.
Cam started on a QR50, then Atomik chow thing, then XR70 I got off a mate at ADB, then wanted to race, so had an RM65.. thank **** he gave it up, I couldn't afford it.
but he did well on the XR70 out at the track
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/bike/cameron.jpg)
Post by: Joff on August 03, 2016, 01:48:41 PM
My list

XR75 (borrowed)
RM250
TS185 (I think)
CB250 x 2 (broke the 1st one)
KLR650 (still got it)
CB900F
XV1100
GSX1400
R1200GS (Current)
(R1200GSA) next
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2016, 01:51:12 PM
Quote from: Joff
KLR650 (still got it)
I could go one... mate had an early one, was almost as easy as the TT for wheelstands :D
Wazza has just gone a DR and into adventure riding and having a ball.. GS too heavy for it.. helps having mate who is BM Mechanic ;D
Post by: Zooks4life on August 03, 2016, 01:57:17 PM
This is mine, 08 crf 250x. Only things ive added so far are a lowering link and bashplate. Goes good

(http://i915.photobucket.com/albums/ac357/zooks4life/Mobile%20Uploads/IMG_20160419_171836_zpseoxlxonj.jpg) (http://s915.photobucket.com/user/zooks4life/media/Mobile%20Uploads/IMG_20160419_171836_zpseoxlxonj.jpg.html)
Post by: Joff on August 03, 2016, 01:58:21 PM
I could go one... mate had an early one, was almost as easy as the TT for wheelstands :D
Wazza has just gone a DR and into adventure riding and having a ball.. GS too heavy for it.. helps having mate who is BM Mechanic ;D

Mine is early girl - 87mod. it's 2 years into a 3 week rebuild at the moment. No foreseeable completion date just yet  :cheers:

I have taken my GS down the Darling and to various other off the blacktop places. I wouldn't take it on real rough stuff but that's only coz I'm not good enough. There is no doubt that in the right hands they will go anywhere though. I'm doing a run through the back country from Orange to Hill End as soon as my mate who is organising the ride pulls his finger out. The rest of the crew are on older Tenere's, a couple newish KLR650's and assorted other big bore singles. They can just order for me. I'll be there when I get there hahaha
Post by: Joff on August 03, 2016, 02:00:01 PM
My current bike looks mostly like this
(http://www.myswag.org/MGalleryItem.php?id=2265)

- except mine is looking a little more used and has aftermarket cans. Great all round bike, sadly mostly used for commuting.

Nice. I like the note the 270deg parallels have. My mate had the TRX850.
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2016, 02:02:06 PM
Mine is early girl - 87mod. it's 2 years into a 3 week rebuild at the moment. No foreseeable completion date just yet  :cheers:
Hmm... https://store.schnitzracing.com/schnitz-piston-kit-705cc-kawasaki-klr650/

Hill End, Sofala etc spent many weeks camping out there as a kid... loved it out there.
Post by: Joff on August 03, 2016, 02:09:27 PM
Hmm... https://store.schnitzracing.com/schnitz-piston-kit-705cc-kawasaki-klr650/

Hill End, Sofala etc spent many weeks camping out there as a kid... loved it out there.

Not that I'd bother with hop up kit for it but;

705cc forged piston kit for the 1996-2015 KLR650. Will NOT fit 1995 and earlier cylinders.

Mine is 87.. way to old for that Shit hahahaha

That said, I have put braided brake lines on it and am looking at upgrading the front brake disc. But that is purely to save my skin under regular riding. Last time I rode it I nearly slammed into a car coz, at the time I had the GSX1400 which had two huge front discs - it would stop on a dime. But coz I had been riding the GSX, when I hit the brakes on the KLR they felt like they were out to lunch.
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2016, 03:03:59 PM
Not that I'd bother with hop up kit for it but;

Mine is 87.. way to old for that Shit hahahaha

http://www.ebay.com/itm/351580638014 (http://www.ebay.com/itm/351580638014)
Post by: terravista on August 03, 2016, 03:08:17 PM
There are some serious lists of bikes so far and good pictures.
For what it's worth this is my list, but no pickies. I never had anything worth bragging about after digital cameras were invented.
1924 BSA
1967'ish Honda Elsinore 250
1967 Kawasaki 125 trail bike
1979 Suzuki 185 Trail
1978 Honda Hawk 400
1983 Honda Super Hawk 400
Postie Bike
1952 Francis Barnett Falcon 250, still in the shed waiting a reno.
     (bought from a guy who allegedly used it in The Cage of Death at the Ecca a long time ago)
Couple of step thru scooters (Honda City & Chinese Domino's delivery)
1986 BMW K100
2004 Suzuki 185 Farm Bike
If quads count, 2008 Polaris 500, 2012 Ice Bear 550, 2015 Grudge 200 with tipper, unknown year Yamato 250.

Post by: evolution on August 03, 2016, 03:08:26 PM
This is my current one. Haven't ridden it for months as its still too painful with my leg injuries from last year.
But I do love this bike  :cup:

Nick
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2016, 03:18:38 PM
This is my current one. Haven't ridden it for months as its still too painful with my leg injuries from last year.
But I do love this bike  :cup:

Nick
I'll take it for a run for ya.. told ya that.
Post by: Bird on August 03, 2016, 03:21:33 PM
Quote from: terravista
1952 Francis Barnett Falcon 250, still in the shed waiting a reno.
     (bought from a guy who allegedly used it in The Cage of Death at the Ecca a long time ago)
I missed out on a 1929 Rudge (I think it was) my grandfather bought brand new - with sidecar on it several years back...
My Uncle had it in the UK and was selling it.. I told him I'd buy it and pay shipping and shout him a hour at brothel...  but the cocksucker wouldn't do it.. Needed full restore, but stayin in family all those years would have been awesome

Nice of him, he did send me a photo of it fully restored by the prick that won it on ebay... ****wit
Post by: Coolblue80 on August 03, 2016, 03:39:30 PM
Here's my 2011 DR650.  Just a commuter bike. Since the pic I've added Pirelli street tyres.
(http://i817.photobucket.com/albums/zz92/pageys/SAM_0024.jpg) (http://s817.photobucket.com/user/pageys/media/SAM_0024.jpg.html)
And here's a pics of my Deckson Daredevil.
(http://i817.photobucket.com/albums/zz92/pageys/20140201_175402_zpsece6efa4.jpg) (http://s817.photobucket.com/user/pageys/media/20140201_175402_zpsece6efa4.jpg.html)
And hopefully  my next bike.
http://www.suzukimotorcycles.com.au/range/road/cruiser/boulevard-m109r-black-edition/features (http://www.suzukimotorcycles.com.au/range/road/cruiser/boulevard-m109r-black-edition/features)
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: loanrangie on August 03, 2016, 03:42:07 PM
My T595 Daytona.

Post by: Kangaron on August 03, 2016, 03:45:18 PM
No pics of my bikes on hand so pinched some of the net.

Triumph 1968 Bonneville which I bought new.  Did 104,000 miles in 6 years untill it was stolen.
By then it was heavily modified and a Bogner paint job .

I then chose a Triumph Trident, but due to a strike at the factory in Meredith I settled for an 850 Commando.

My riding days are but a distant memory now, my dream machine, a Manx.

Post by: briann532 on August 03, 2016, 03:56:23 PM
My all rounder for the farm and the odd run around town.

(http://www.motorcyclespecs.co.za/Gallery%20B/kawasaki%20KLX250S%2009%20%201.jpg)

Also have my sons KLX110L, daughters chongnese "pink" bike and the KTM.

Hoping to add a Vstrom to the stable soon....
Just need to finish the shed so I've got somewhere to store all the new toys!!!

Post by: Bird on August 03, 2016, 04:18:36 PM
The rest of the crew are on older Tenere's
I forgot my Super Tenere on the list. ;D
Post by: whitey001 on August 03, 2016, 04:30:50 PM
2011 Triumph Street Triple R - Quickshifter, Arrow rearsets and a few other goodies.

Al.
Post by: Spada on August 03, 2016, 05:32:05 PM
(http://i68.tinypic.com/afjxok.jpg)

The big one CBR1100XX Blackbird, set up as a 2up mile muncha  ;D I've fitted HID spots and mains, up-specced the suspension, changed the seat, fitted electronic cruise, heated grips, UHF, Intercom..........and some other stuff.

The little one is a CBR250RR.....I've had it since it was imported in '94. its compliance plate ends in the numbers 000001, as it was the first ever 250RR complianced and registered in Aus. It used to be in the original red/white/blue livery (ala Fireblade colours), but after it bumped into the bitumen one too many times, I stupidly dressed it in a RC211V copy fairing.   If I can ever find an original fairing, I'd dearly love to restore it to it's original condition  :'(

There has also been a few other bikes pass through the shed over the years- but I've only got the two in the picture left now
XR200
VT250 (2 0f them actually)
DT175
XR400
NSR250
FJ1200
Post by: Joff on August 03, 2016, 05:41:26 PM
Nice, the lot of em.  :cup:

Keep em coming :worthles:
Post by: Bullant4x4 on August 03, 2016, 05:50:01 PM
Have no bike now but here is a pair of stagg leathers I use to wear down Wonthaggi enduro race track back in the 70's when I was 5yr.
Dad rode with Kelvin Thomas and we use to ride with his boys.
Post by: rags on August 03, 2016, 06:02:12 PM
That tree hugger thread needs a rival  >:D

Where are the real riders of Myswag??

Here's my current. I say current coz I just signed up for the BMW Test Ride day at Wisemans Ferry next Thrursday. Test riding the new GSA.

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v231/Joff/bike_zpsnomhrna5.jpg)

BTW, that's not me, that's my daughter (in case anyone thought I was small and wore yellow)

Love the photo, I lived at the top of that track for 25 plus years before moving north and now looking for a BMW GS like yours for riding on weekends. Have fun on the ride at wiseman.
Post by: Joff on August 03, 2016, 06:28:59 PM
Love the photo, I lived at the top of that track for 25 plus years before moving north and now looking for a BMW GS like yours for riding on weekends. Have fun on the ride at wiseman.

You can have mine for $11500.  :cup:
Post by: Barrabart on August 03, 2016, 06:33:07 PM
A good representation of bikes across different types, uses......... keep em coming.

I had a bike licence as soon as I could get one, had a car lic too, but only rode bikes. Didn't own a car till kids come along in my early twenties, still had bikes then too for my commuting.....
Pre lic had an old DT250 yammie ( for trail riding and sneaking about town as a 15/16 yr old) flogged that thing mercilessly, couldn't kill it. Mate however killed it, stacked it creek side in Cairns on a high bank, bike did a few cart wheel to wards the bank drop off and continued to somersault until landing about 15mtrs out in deep swamp water....... we tried at low tide to retrieve, not a chance, she was silted over and vacuum stuck to the river bed....... prob still there now in part.

First bike with lic - XL250 (back in the 250cc restriction days.

Bought a 69 Triumph Trophy TR6 (partly mongrelised, but I thought it was the coolest beast)

GPZ750 Kwaka.

Honda CB750 with a 1000cc motor in it that had been given a wiseco big bore kit and worked accordingly (Brett Katana in Cairns gave it some 'special' treatment)...... in essence, motor was fit for drag racing, frame steering general handling was not, but I had plenty of fun and some scares on that thing.

Then over the years a few other trailie / commuter things TT350, XT250 DR350, all bought at different times to suit current situations.

I still like them now and frequently still buy mags and spend time on bike sales keeping up with research on whats new etc....

If I was to buy a bike now I'd be inclined to go for a cruiser type or adventure type...... No interest anymore in sports/speed bikes....... too fat, too old.  ;D

Oh and the Mrs has seen the Ural side car set ups...... she reckons they look like a fun way to spend a Sunday, I agree with her........ but for ~$20k I would have other more usable preferences first. A lotto win would definitely see one in the stable though, just for novelty value.

Post by: topcat on August 03, 2016, 06:34:08 PM
current steed in Tassie early this year (been there 11 of the last 16 years!).
Just fitted K&N pods to the carbs - goes and sounds even better.

History is -
Honda CD175
Kawa Z200
Honda CB500/4
Honda CB750F1
Kawa Z400F
Kawa Z650C
Kawa GPZ750A1
Yam RD350 YPVS
Suzi GSXR750
Kawa ZRX1100
Kawa ZRX1200 (current)

Post by: gronk on August 03, 2016, 06:37:20 PM
I missed out on a 1929 Rudge (I think it was) my grandfather bought brand new - with sidecar on it several years back...
My Uncle had it in the UK and was selling it.. I told him I'd buy it and pay shipping and shout him a hour at brothel...  but the cocksucker wouldn't do it.. Needed full restore, but stayin in family all those years would have been awesome

Nice of him, he did send me a photo of it fully restored by the prick that won it on ebay... ****wit

My grandfather imported a Minerva around 1907.....possibly the 1st to be imported here....came in a box and had to be self assembled.
He used to also ride with Burt Munro in a Sydney motor cycle club when Burt used to live in Sydney !
Post by: Bullant4x4 on August 03, 2016, 06:46:26 PM
A good representation of bikes across different types, uses......... keep em coming.

I had a bike licence as soon as I could get one,s.

I had a Vic bike licence at the age of 16. Vicroads stuffed up and approved a British moped licence and let me ride. The moped licence came in the mail if you wrote away lol.
Post by: Joff on August 03, 2016, 06:51:41 PM
current steed in Tassie early this year (been there 11 of the last 16 years!).

After numourous work trips to Tassie and comensurate number of rent-a-cars to hoon about the place in, i finally got to take a bike down there a few crissys ago. What a great place to ride for a few weeks. 2 up on the beemer, hot, cold, windy, hail, rain, sleet, hot again,,,,, and all that was in one day  :cheers:.

We will go back one day.
Post by: Barrabart on August 03, 2016, 07:10:44 PM
2 up on the beemer.

/quote]

Hey Joff,

Always liked the idea of two up tripping about with the Mrs.
Obviously it would be on a suitable bike designed for this type of mile muching two up...... question is, I'm around 130kgs over 6' tall, and the Mrs while shorter is around the 85kgs.......
what sort of weights does it get to when it's considered just too much for two up riding...... Obviously we'd have gear on board too, suitable to either just day rides up to spending a week or so floating about.

I'd also be looking a beemer's in both road and adventure, also big Jap equivalents....... possibly even HD in a full dresser type or variant of.....

Your thoughts?
Post by: J.R on August 03, 2016, 07:11:48 PM
2015 KLX250, 150 and 110.

Sold the 150 not long after purchase. Indonesia piece of Shit it was.

About to upgrade the 110 to a KLX140L and keep the 110 as the chook chaser.

It won't let me post a photo from my IPad as its 1.5mb.
Post by: Paddler Ed on August 03, 2016, 07:34:21 PM
Wife on her ex Aus Army XT600EB:

(https://scontent-syd1-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/12494700_10153966019400856_4088054536472661922_n.jpg?oh=98bee1f75903c60e23d2ad825f974b79&oe=5821C677)

She called me on the UHF and said don't bother bringing the car down!
Post by: Joff on August 03, 2016, 07:59:38 PM

Hey Joff,

Always liked the idea of two up tripping about with the Mrs.
Obviously it would be on a suitable bike designed for this type of mile muching two up...... question is, I'm around 130kgs over 6' tall, and the Mrs while shorter is around the 85kgs.......
what sort of weights does it get to when it's considered just too much for two up riding...... Obviously we'd have gear on board too, suitable to either just day rides up to spending a week or so floating about.

I'd also be looking a beemer's in both road and adventure, also big Jap equivalents....... possibly even HD in a full dresser type or variant of.....

Your thoughts?

Ha! We could be twins  :cheers:.

Im 125 - 130 depending on my last motion and the Mrs, while not 85 kegs (i wouldnt tell the mrs that you revealed that  >:D) isnt a 50kg weed either. The 1200GS tours quite fine with us plus loaded hard cases (not in photo below but they are the regular BMW Vario boxes), topbox and tankbag.i just screw the rear spring up and take it easy. It does touch down on the pegs a bit more but nothing that could be considered a problem.

Any of the bigger bikes would be ok with you and your mrs. They do have GVMs etc but i have never even bothered to look mine up or weigh us. I just ride and have fun.  :cup:

Pic is actually from that Tassie trip but it was a day trip out from a nice BnB in Huonville so big panniers are off

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v231/Joff/Mobile%20Uploads/10906454_880677455299460_7614100848577907826_n_zpsy0ywcnzl.jpg)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 03, 2016, 08:08:30 PM
Similar thread here with heaps of entries, will merge them soon

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=7497.msg110754#msg110754 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=7497.msg110754#msg110754)

Post by: Bird on August 03, 2016, 08:14:33 PM
You can get suspension setup for nearly any weight these days on any bike...
either standard suspension, or after market, but Ohlins etc are extremely expensive, but you can do some amazing stuff with them
Post by: GeoffA on August 03, 2016, 08:15:02 PM
And here's a pics of my Deckson Daredevil.
(http://i817.photobucket.com/albums/zz92/pageys/20140201_175402_zpsece6efa4.jpg) (http://s817.photobucket.com/user/pageys/media/20140201_175402_zpsece6efa4.jpg.html)

That's a bit flasher than my first bike......a mower engine between 2 wheel-barrow wheels  :cup:.......but it was heaven on a stick for a 12yo
Post by: Snow on August 03, 2016, 10:19:52 PM
Here is my ride. A 2015 Yamaha FJR1300AEF. Being a sports touring tragic this bike is my motorcycle nirvana. And Mrs Snow loves it too.  ;D
Post by: achjimmy on August 03, 2016, 10:47:02 PM
Geez I had a few I  can't remember

Some funny mini bike made here
Honda step thru
TS 90 Suzuki
YAMAHA DT250
Suzuki A5
Kawasaki A1 250 (still got it)
Ducati 125
Ducati 860 GT x2
Ducati 860 GTS
Ducati Darmah
YAMAHA R something 900
BMW 650
Ducati Pantah 500 (still got it)
Post by: Barrabart on August 03, 2016, 11:53:57 PM

and the Mrs, while not 85 kegs (i wouldnt tell the mrs that you revealed that  >:D) isnt a 50kg weed either.

Oh don't worry, she's a proud 85kg, curves in all the right places type of girl............  :cup: ..... And my motto is, "no body likes to cuddle a stick"  ;D  :cheers:
Post by: MrNoodle on August 04, 2016, 12:48:54 AM
Enduro riding is where it's at. 2013 Husaberg FE 350. Got about 230 hours on it and coming up towards 7000 km's I think.

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160803/3a37ebfea7746528f1e6cee6735dc255.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160803/fc5e992b110f41326d78ec6c714c54f0.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160803/b3c83dbec4e494ab893453a7547d8df0.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160803/54d7956dda93a5fb59aaf13d8f911fbc.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160803/7f02dd3371a09473cb82ffeded8641b5.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160803/8a76462f9edb8d73c189c866de2695c7.jpg)
Post by: VAGRANT on August 04, 2016, 06:47:55 AM
Ive only been riding for about 12 years, I though that I should wait until I was older and more mature as I was a bit stupid in cars when I was younger, the jury is still out as to whether I have waited long enough.

91 Honda VFR
04 Aprila RST1000
04 Aprila Tuono
06 KTM 950SM
07 Triumph Tiger
08 Yamaha FZ1
01 YAMAHA FZ1 in NZ
09 KTM SMT
09 KTM ADV R
11 Aprila V4 TUONO
14 BMW S1000R

The bottom one is me finding my limits.

Post by: Spada on August 04, 2016, 07:29:41 AM
Here is my ride. A 2015 Yamaha FJR1300AEF. Being a sports touring tragic this bike is my motorcycle nirvana. And Mrs Snow loves it too.  ;D

You might be interested in this ?

Next to camping, this is my other hobby - http://farriders.com.au/index.php (http://farriders.com.au/index.php)

My 2 biggest efforts were Brisbane - Ross (Tasmania) - Brisbane in 83 hours (24 of them on the boat), and Brisbane - Renmark - Brisbane in 44 hours ;D

Family life has slowed me down a hell of a lot, but I still get out when I can...............................not often enough though.
Post by: Joff on August 04, 2016, 01:05:41 PM
This is from a few years ago. The little fella is nudging 18 now - and as big as me  :angel:

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v231/Joff/connorbike-1.jpg)
Post by: Jimmi on August 04, 2016, 08:29:04 PM
(http://i1370.photobucket.com/albums/ag252/jamesrennie1/830cfb1d1f51bdf68325cf1d437bd0c6_zpsz7s77wfi.jpg)
2012 Kawasaki KLR 650
Post by: Hoyks on August 04, 2016, 08:45:43 PM
My trusty steed, unfortunately I wasn't using it much, so got rid of it.

I miss my bike :-[

Post by: Joff on August 04, 2016, 10:13:10 PM
My trusty steed, unfortunately I wasn't using it much, so got rid of it.

I miss my bike :-[

Last time i saw you you were on that. John Daniels' funeral if i recall correctly   :-[
Post by: GanG on August 04, 2016, 10:43:35 PM
My plaything/commuter.........keen to upgrade, but also want to upgrade the camper, I reckon I know which is going to win, and its not going to be the bike somehow
Post by: noel_w on August 04, 2016, 10:57:32 PM
My list
DT100 Yammy with yz125 motor
RD 350 (aircooled) Had to put drop bars on it to keep the front wheel on the ground. Went well but handled like a wet rag.
XL500 Honda
GS750 Suz (850 Yoshi kit with custom 4-1 and some $$$$ suspension mods) Sweet bike. Was never the same after T boning a Gemini. Then again neither was I
GS1100G Suz old mans bike
Then Kids arrived.......
Would like to get a GS1000S barnfind for less than 2 arms and a leg one day
My mate has a container on his place with 9 (last count) K0-K3 Fonda Whores. Won't sell me any of them the b@r$t@rd.
Am contemplating a Suzuki Bandit though too if I could afford one - one day maybe
Post by: MattMu on August 04, 2016, 11:29:48 PM
Baby Tenere.. Gets me anywhere I want to go..with a smile.
(http://i317.photobucket.com/albums/mm388/macca2801/Mobile%20Uploads/2014-08/7C87FBAF-A9C8-4D58-B51F-8B51C4F64C85_zpsjr1nyr1b.jpg)
Post by: AJ on August 04, 2016, 11:32:26 PM
As a little fella (early 1970s) Honda 50 shared with my big brother.
Then a two stroke Yamaha 80 with the cool chrome rear springs
Mid teens and L plates a Yamaha 185 chook chaser
P-plate bike was an RZ250R
Off P-plates and traded to an RZ500R (insane, bonkers, death wish)
Went off bikes for many years but rode some mates bikes.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on August 05, 2016, 07:36:50 AM

We used to buy those things just for the engine. Dump the bikes and fit the engines into TQ speedway cars  ;D
Post by: Bird on August 05, 2016, 08:43:40 AM
Quote from: noel_w

Bloke in my old club has one sitting in his garage.. his brother bought it new, snowy got it off brother... rode it for a year... been sitting in shed since mid 80's.....

I also know of a late model TZ500 sitting unloved with a complete rebuilt engine.. Mounty restored it after it sat for 10yrs, crashed it 6 mths later at Oran, then beat Shit out of the bloke behind the garages that cut him off.  Then he sheded the bike and its still at his dads
Post by: noel_w on August 05, 2016, 09:07:17 AM
Bloke in my old club has one sitting in his garage.. his brother bought it new, snowy got it off brother... rode it for a year... been sitting in shed since mid 80's.....

Is it for sale?
Post by: Gohard on August 05, 2016, 09:07:54 AM
Mine started with a Suzuki GP125
XT500
RM80
Dt50
Gsx1100 1983
KX 200 I think???
CX 500 Honda
XT500
Gs1000g
Xr500
Xr600
Suzuki pitbike
Slingshot
SRAD
TL1000
Few other Shitboxes in between and the latest project a BMW complete complete restoration.1995 RS. Bought for $600 still regod

Sent from my SM-T350 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on August 05, 2016, 09:15:13 AM
Great ad
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/252487822724 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/252487822724)
Post by: whitey1 on August 05, 2016, 09:41:45 AM
Am contemplating a Suzuki Bandit though too if I could afford one - one day maybe
You can have mine for $6200. Selling it to fund my caravan build.
(https://s20.postimg.org/mzh40dol9/edited_1469709871052.jpg) (https://postimg.org/image/bn4iilfw9/)
Post by: jwb on August 05, 2016, 10:20:26 AM
Xr 75
A Suzuki scooter ? 110 cc ?
Xl 100
DT 400 D
Xs 500 C
Z1000 R Eddie Lawson Replica
89 GSXR 1100 - Written off = Tank Slapper ????
91 GSXR 1100 This was bought @ 2 years old with less than 1800 klm on the clock.
It was sweeeeeeeet!

Post by: Bird on August 05, 2016, 10:22:39 AM
Is it for sale?

I've been asking about it for around 20 years. :(
Post by: topcat on August 05, 2016, 12:33:24 PM
blah, blah, blah ....
Z1000 R Eddie Lawson Replica

ooooooooooohhhh me likey - got any pics  :cheers:
TC
Post by: Snow on August 05, 2016, 12:39:31 PM
Back last xmas I was visiting family and got my mum to take a photo of me on the new FJR. It was taken in the exact same spot she had taken a photo of me on my GS1100G in 1992, 23yrs earlier. Ahh, how nostalgic.  ;D
Post by: noel_w on August 05, 2016, 01:21:58 PM
You can have mine for $6200. Selling it to fund my caravan build.
(https://s20.postimg.org/mzh40dol9/edited_1469709871052.jpg) (https://postimg.org/image/bn4iilfw9/)

Bit far to go to pick it up  :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: VAGRANT on August 05, 2016, 01:42:11 PM
Back last xmas I was visiting family and got my mum to take a photo of me on the new FJR. It was taken in the exact same spot she had taken a photo of me on my GS1100G in 1992, 23yrs earlier. Ahh, how nostalgic.  ;D

I imagine that the one finger braking technique wouldn't have been as effective on the 1100. :D
Post by: Hoyks on August 05, 2016, 02:19:48 PM
Last time i saw you you were on that. John Daniels' funeral if i recall correctly   :-[

Yep, sold it in March this year, served me well for almost 8 years, so can't complain.
Post by: Snow on August 05, 2016, 05:44:46 PM
I imagine that the one finger braking technique wouldn't have been as effective on the 1100. :D
Yeah, the one finger pose.  8)
The GS brakes were pretty good in their day and grabbing too much front once saw me on my butt wondering what had happened. The FJR is a whole different world with interlinked ABS stoppers. No chance of locking up the front and spudding in on this beastie.  ;D
Post by: Foo on August 05, 2016, 06:05:29 PM
my last road bike that I got ****ed up on
first week headed down to Khancoban... that was one of the fastest weekends on the road ever :D
(http://www.vf750fd.com/Peter_Seymour/birdriver.jpg)

Was engine/frame #0700001  8)
(http://www.vf750fd.com/Peter_Seymour/birdvfr.jpg)

At the island
(http://www.vf750fd.com/Peter_Seymour/birdphil.jpg)

last racebike at Oran Park the day I finally got graded  :cup: :cup:
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/bike/7.jpg)

but I've had a few bikes

XT200 YAM
DR250 SUZ.
XT250 YAM
400WR HUSKY
VF750FD (83)
KATANA 750 SUZ
GSX1100 SUZ
YZ250 (85,86,90) YAM
YZ490 YAM
RZ250 (race)
RZ350 (race)
TZR250 YAM (race)
TZ350A (74 Mod)
350EXC KTM
RZ500 YAM
KTM250MXC (85,89)
KR1S 250 KAWA
RGV250 SUZ
VFR750FV (green)
XR400 (96)

Ummm no A 125 BSA Bantam, here.  ;D

Shoulda been a 900 Darmah SD, the red and white one.  ;D

Post by: Bird on August 05, 2016, 06:55:48 PM
Quote from: Foo
Ummm no A 125 BSA Bantam, here.  ;D

TA125 I inherited from a mate who got evicted from his house... I never really owned it but he didn't claim it in 10 yrs so I sold it.. Wish he left the TZ500 at my place instead.
(http://www.cmsnl.com/img/community/vehicles/6/61/616/61636/big_201311241635510.ta%20125%20race%20003.jpg)
Post by: Foo on August 05, 2016, 08:59:32 PM
TA125 I inherited from a mate who got evicted from his house... I never really owned it but he didn't claim it in 10 yrs so I sold it.. Wish he left the TZ500 at my place instead.
(http://www.cmsnl.com/img/community/vehicles/6/61/616/61636/big_201311241635510.ta%20125%20race%20003.jpg)

Mmmm a TZ 500, now that would be goodly.  ;D

Post by: Bird on August 05, 2016, 09:03:42 PM
Mmmm a TZ 500, now that would be goodly.  ;D
Its sitting in his dads shed... unloved.. has been there at least 18yrs now...
very similar to this
(http://www.tz350.net/images/500/tz500_sonauto_for_sale_2_reduced.jpg)

how about this one then Foo
http://racebikemart.com/adverts/YAMAHA_TZ500_EX_BARRY_SHEENE__1312878279.php (http://racebikemart.com/adverts/YAMAHA_TZ500_EX_BARRY_SHEENE__1312878279.php)

First one Sheene ever rode 60,000ukp
(http://racebikemart.com/uploads/images/rzk-R1312878283.jpg)
Post by: Gohard on August 05, 2016, 10:13:18 PM
7months in the making. And finally done!
15th Complete rebuild I have done. And this one the most tiring. Have done absolutely  everything myself.
Post by: DrewXT on August 05, 2016, 10:35:53 PM
CT90
XR250
DT175
IT465
ZZR600
TTR350

Nothing now, after I lost a lot of money on a Hyabusa speeding fine not long after they hit the market...

Wouldn't mind a Vstrom as a commuter/weekend cruiser when kids are older

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Post by: Foo on August 06, 2016, 04:24:06 AM
very similar to this

A shame it's just sittin there, gettin dusty.  :'(

http://racebikemart.com/adverts/YAMAHA_TZ500_EX_BARRY_SHEENE__1312878279.php (http://racebikemart.com/adverts/YAMAHA_TZ500_EX_BARRY_SHEENE__1312878279.php)

No ABS breaking or computer chit on those bikes. I would love to see how the modern day riders try and ride these at race speed.  ;D

Post by: Vards on August 06, 2016, 07:54:53 PM
Have had a few over the years, don't ride anymore though.

QR50 (still have it in the family 33 years old)
DS80
CR125
YZ250
RM125
YZ426 (spat the Pistons through the cases $$$$)
KTM450exc
KTM300exc (loved the 2 stroke)

Suzuki Across 250
ZXR250
Aprilia RS250 (awesome bike had fun at the island)
GSXR750
Fire blade 929( best all rounder)

Cheers Steve
Post by: Bird on August 06, 2016, 07:57:40 PM
No ABS breaking or computer chit on those bikes. I would love to see how the modern day riders try and ride these at race speed.  ;D

ya missed the brakes.. single piston... lol
Post by: achjimmy on August 06, 2016, 08:07:44 PM
very similar to this

Oh yeah all those years in the 70s at Bathurst. Willing, Hanford some of the great kiwis ginger Malloy, stu advant , Crosby etc great years current moto GP doesn't hold a candle to those boys and what they RØDE and how they played ;-) Bit like real F5000 and 70s F1 to the Nancy cars today?

My dad made a YAMAHA 500 triple motor out of two Tz 350s for Eric Hinton before the factory made the 500  :cheers:
Post by: Joff on August 11, 2016, 08:34:37 PM
So i went for a larrop on this today at the BMW Experience day at Wisemans Ferry.

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v231/Joff/Mobile%20Uploads/20160811_153851_zpsuqaoyssh.jpg)

All i can say is WOW!. That bike can make anyone ride like a star. Clutchless shift, 4 ride modes, 3 suspension modes plus 3 rear spring preloads. Cruise control, integrated nav and a heap of other stuff.

Its a big bike. Being the GSA its heavier than my 07 GS but feels oh so light. 30ltr tank wasnt full so i guess that might make a small difference but man, what an easy bike to ride, especially on dirt. In Enduro mode even a nuffa like me can hold a killer powerslide.

I WANT ONE :cup:
Post by: Skuta on August 12, 2016, 06:58:46 AM
I've been watching this thread for a bit now and thought I might throw my babies in there. Bumblebee, Mario and Luigi, I've had more bikes than birthdays and I swear there is no better all rounder than a California. The yellow and black one I sold about a year ago to trade up to the bronze one, beautiful bike to ride and the silver one is a 1981 1000sp that I've had for the last 10 years.
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160811/fd7da0ed31394a03aa402d729d2cd2cf.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160811/c84d95d50d497ea93368e2ebd726c8a5.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160811/e1ba69e085daaf0443f100d4d7c55a2b.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160811/1e4af4de5009d6d2f6a2c5c4c1d4f757.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 12, 2016, 07:26:18 AM
Don't own these anymore as we sold 'em a few years back due to lack of use.

MRS JEEPER'S 08 HARLEY TRIKE.

(http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h200/figjam007/Bikes/SL376362.jpg~original) (http://s64.photobucket.com/user/figjam007/media/Bikes/SL376362.jpg.html)

(http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h200/figjam007/Bikes/SL376368.jpg~original) (http://s64.photobucket.com/user/figjam007/media/Bikes/SL376368.jpg.html)

THIS WAS MY CHOPPER.

(http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h200/figjam007/Bikes/56-r.jpg~original) (http://s64.photobucket.com/user/figjam007/media/Bikes/56-r.jpg.html)

(http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h200/figjam007/Bikes/SL374730.jpg~original) (http://s64.photobucket.com/user/figjam007/media/Bikes/SL374730.jpg.html)

THE CUSTOM REAR END WE DID WITH MY OWN DESIGN TAIL-LIGHTS.

(http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h200/figjam007/Bikes/SL374307.jpg~original) (http://s64.photobucket.com/user/figjam007/media/Bikes/SL374307.jpg.html)

MRS JEEPER'S TRUMPHY BEFORE THE TRIKE CAME ALONG

(http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h200/figjam007/Bikes/Picture001-3.jpg~original) (http://s64.photobucket.com/user/figjam007/media/Bikes/Picture001-3.jpg.html)
Post by: Artie01 on August 16, 2016, 10:37:09 AM
Geez....working the brain now...
sl100
xr200
dt175
klx250
xt500
1948 t500 Trumpet
Duke 1983 Pantah
4 XV750 Viragos (all custom)

Still got the Duke, 1 Virago almost finished (pic attached), 3 more in various states of (dis) assembally or planning....

Post by: Gohard on August 16, 2016, 11:12:27 AM
Geez....working the brain now...
sl100
xr200
dt175
klx250
xt500
1948 t500 Trumpet
Duke 1983 Pantah
4 XV750 Viragos (all custom)

Still got the Duke, 1 Virago almost finished (pic attached), 3 more in various states of (dis) assembally or planning....
Nice. Love the duke
Post by: Squalo on August 16, 2016, 01:23:33 PM
I've been watching this thread for a bit now and thought I might throw my babies in there. Bumblebee, Mario and Luigi, I've had more bikes than birthdays and I swear there is no better all rounder than a California. The yellow and black one I sold about a year ago to trade up to the bronze one, beautiful bike to ride and the silver one is a 1981 1000sp that I've had for the last 10 years.
(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160811/fd7da0ed31394a03aa402d729d2cd2cf.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160811/c84d95d50d497ea93368e2ebd726c8a5.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160811/e1ba69e085daaf0443f100d4d7c55a2b.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160811/1e4af4de5009d6d2f6a2c5c4c1d4f757.jpg)

Nice bikes! My best mate Marty has a 1973 ex Cali cop bike that he's stripped down to a cafe racer, he also has a Griso, and has just bought a 2015 Cali... clearly the Guzzi thing runs deep :)
Post by: Squalo on August 16, 2016, 01:43:21 PM
So here's mine. Bought it in 1998, still got it - love it to bits, even though I haven't ridden it for a very long time (kids etc.).

Mine on the left, Birds one on the right. Was this 1999 Bird?

(https://c2.staticflickr.com/4/3795/9254350634_b187757f6d_o.jpg)

2001, in Holbrook - on the way to a mate's wedding at Yackandandah.

(https://c1.staticflickr.com/3/2586/3725392377_537b409c96_o.jpg)

How it looks now - a work in progress. Grandpa's axe :) The engine and frame are original... not much else is.

(https://c1.staticflickr.com/1/668/22712147043_bd9875d6d9_c.jpg)
Post by: Bird on August 16, 2016, 02:51:44 PM
So here's mine. Bought it in 1998, still got it - love it to bits, even though I haven't ridden it for a very long time (kids etc.).

97 model
Post by: Squalo on August 16, 2016, 09:12:37 PM
Yeah I know that, but what year did we have that gathering at Spider's place? :)
Post by: Skuta on August 17, 2016, 12:21:55 PM
Nice bikes! My best mate Marty has a 1973 ex Cali cop bike that he's stripped down to a cafe racer, he also has a Griso, and has just bought a 2015 Cali... clearly the Guzzi thing runs deep :)
Yeah mate, you don't tend to stop at one with them. Had a MKiv Le Man's before any of these. My brother had a griso that got wiped out on Mt glorious by another bike, he's got a 74 Eldorado and his main horse is a stelvio now. Dad just bought his first guzzi, almost the same as my bronze one, he loves it, reckons it's the best bike he's ever owned.

How it looks now - a work in progress. Grandpa's axe :) The engine and frame are original... not much else is.

Post by: Bird on August 17, 2016, 12:24:11 PM
Quote from: Squalo
Yeah I know that, but what year did we have that gathering at Spider's place? :)

yea I think it was 99... libation
I think Spid has another bike now and livin out Penrith way
Post by: loanrangie on August 17, 2016, 12:30:09 PM
Love the VFR's, i had a 91 with a tingate carbon pipe that sounded fantastic.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 29, 2016, 04:22:12 AM
A couple more pics of Mrs. Jeepers Trumpy.

(http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h200/figjam007/New%20Photos/Picture004copy.jpg) (http://s64.photobucket.com/user/figjam007/media/New%20Photos/Picture004copy.jpg.html)

(http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h200/figjam007/New%20Photos/Picture017copy.jpg) (http://s64.photobucket.com/user/figjam007/media/New%20Photos/Picture017copy.jpg.html)
Post by: BLKWDW on August 29, 2016, 01:40:05 PM
My 500exc
(http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i87/vswgn/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpssg0qaqtq.jpeg) (http://s70.photobucket.com/user/vswgn/media/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpssg0qaqtq.jpeg.html)

Wife's Sherco 300 4t
(http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i87/vswgn/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsh7aw12re.jpeg) (http://s70.photobucket.com/user/vswgn/media/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsh7aw12re.jpeg.html)

Daughters crf 250x
(http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i87/vswgn/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsy8pieeej.jpeg) (http://s70.photobucket.com/user/vswgn/media/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsy8pieeej.jpeg.html)

Post by: Redback on March 01, 2017, 12:35:24 PM
OK, I'm back from the cold, haven't posted on the forum or any other forums for quite some time, I occasionly dropped in to one or two every now and then, but not alot, started getting back into it around Xmas, so I'm slowly working my way back, I've been doing a bit riding and bought myself a bike to get bike fit for some touring and to start riding my old 1973 Kawasaki H2-A 750 triple I've had for over 30yrs, start to seriously restore it back in the beginning of 2015 and finally finished in January this year, it was a ground up restoration and something I had never done before, so it was a daunting task for me, I did have some experience with triples as I raced a H1 500 in post classic racing in the late 80s and early 90s and I bought this bike with the intention to race along side my 500, but like a lot of things, it sat in the shed for ages and never got around to racing it, to be honest I was haveing too much racing the H1 and my SOS bike as well as doing enduros on my XR.

So I eventually got off my arse and here it is, it's not perfect and not 100% finished as I have a new exhaust coming and I'm replacing the right side outer head with a new one without broken fins, then it will be finished, it is now registered on Club plates, has over 500 miles up and is great fun to ride, first time I ever road one of these was back in 1973, frightened the bejesus out of me, nothing like my old Triumph :o ;D

So here it is, in all it's glory.

The Start
(http://gallery.myff.org/gallery/2001712/IMG_1968.JPG)
La Perouse
(http://gallery.myff.org/gallery/2023623/BOTMNov.JPG)
First start up
https://vimeo.com/181423576 (https://vimeo.com/181423576)

(http://www.aulro.com/afvb/attachments/motor-cycling/114053d1474154223-my-750-triple-project-re-ignites-img_2621.jpg)

Post by: Pling on March 01, 2017, 03:44:27 PM
My Last two Enduro bikes

2011 KTM 400EXC
2015 Husky 300

Then 2015 back Operation... No more racing :'(
Post by: bmwfreak on March 06, 2017, 06:18:00 PM
My current stable
R80GS
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170306/c35e415a998066acdb0500474203605c.jpg)
R1200STSE
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170306/a26e79f8fa99dade83f2948d7825c390.jpg)
R1200RT
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170306/b8a200c5431b40bfd6a05e869a78641c.jpg)
R1200RT & Timeout hardfloor camper
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170306/684ef383106e9f3a3d82f4e4b6bb06da.jpg)

Post by: Brisbane Puff on March 12, 2017, 11:02:39 PM
Seeing we are including outfits... Something a little different..

Post by: OldPaj on March 14, 2017, 08:48:24 PM
Up along the Edwards River

(http://i328.photobucket.com/albums/l353/OldPaj1/BMW%20R1200GSA_zpsa7pla70x.jpg)
Post by: feisty on March 18, 2017, 05:05:14 PM
Current 3 are
BMW R1100s
BMW R65
Honda VTR 1000

I love my twins

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Post by: SEADOO on March 18, 2017, 07:36:14 PM
My daily ride.

2015 KLX 250s with a tune and pipe.
Post by: SEADOO on March 18, 2017, 07:37:24 PM
2016 KLX140L. Just some to follow my daughter around with.
Post by: SEADOO on March 18, 2017, 07:39:09 PM
The collection.
Post by: SEADOO on March 18, 2017, 07:41:41 PM
My daughters KLX110L.

Needs a pair of Renthal bars.
Post by: SEADOO on March 18, 2017, 07:45:14 PM
Currently saving for one of these.

2017 KLX250.
Post by: SEADOO on March 18, 2017, 07:49:11 PM
Sort of a motorbike.

The latest addition.

2017 Kawasaki STX 15R 160hp.
Post by: SEADOO on March 18, 2017, 07:50:17 PM
The Toowoomba Kawasaki dealer likes me 😉
Post by: Coolblue80 on March 19, 2017, 06:32:58 AM
My daughters KLX110L.

Needs a pair of Renthal bars.
A mates son has one off these. They are a fun little bike. They pull decent wheelie for a smaller bike.
Post by: briann532 on March 19, 2017, 08:09:11 AM
The collection.

Hey seadoo.
My collection is identical......
Except the John Deere..........
We love our kwaka's
Post by: Paddler Ed on May 03, 2017, 12:56:00 PM
As my pictures have disappeared from before, here's the Wife's new bike, a 2008 WR250:
(https://i.imgur.com/eUwuKe3h.jpg)

Wife's old XT600:

(https://i.imgur.com/LmhnROIh.jpg)

In theory, I use the XT600 but it's broken at the moment so she's using the car, and I'm using the WR... I need to sort out the sprag clutch in the XT I suspect; I've got the gaskets ready to open it up, but not got round to doing it yet.
Post by: grantxx on May 03, 2017, 06:42:01 PM
My bird,
(https://c1.staticflickr.com/5/4190/34246888001_1c327651c9_c.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/UbhfEe)QR Moto Ride Day 11th Sept Red Group 128 (https://flic.kr/p/UbhfEe) by Grant McDonald (https://www.flickr.com/photos/150153534@N07/), on Flickr

The GSXR we shared, bought it to replace the CBR250RR
(https://c1.staticflickr.com/5/4193/33581283364_13bc79e961_c.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/TasRAd)GSXR600 (https://flic.kr/p/TasRAd) by Grant McDonald (https://www.flickr.com/photos/150153534@N07/), on Flickr

The baby
(https://c1.staticflickr.com/3/2848/34381776266_0077e55cde_c.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/UocAeY)Michelles (https://flic.kr/p/UocAeY) by Grant McDonald (https://www.flickr.com/photos/150153534@N07/), on Flickr
Post by: grantxx on May 03, 2017, 06:45:22 PM
I discovered this bike was better here than on track

(https://c1.staticflickr.com/5/4181/34381845976_1b8f328530_b.jpg) (https://flic.kr/p/UocWXS)bird at drags (https://flic.kr/p/UocWXS) by Grant McDonald (https://www.flickr.com/photos/150153534@N07/), on Flickr
Post by: Coolblue80 on May 04, 2017, 07:59:41 AM
Just gave my dr650 a birthday.  Opened up the airbox,  modified the slide on the carb.  Re jetted the carb and changed the needle to one with a different taper. Also ground the header pipe weld and fitted a gixxer muffler with a custom midpipe.  Goes pretty good now.  Still got a bit of fine tuning to do on the carb, but it's pretty close.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: griz066 on July 18, 2017, 05:49:10 PM
2016 KTM EXC-F  :cheers:
Post by: kylarama on August 10, 2017, 06:24:23 PM
For the 2 stroke lovers and those with a death wish.

Honda's bringing back the CR500.

http://latestmxvideos.com/index.php/2017/08/08/honda-announces-2018-cr500-amazing-technology/

Post by: Bigfish on August 13, 2017, 02:02:00 PM
(http://IMG_20170509_093734-2064x1548.jpg)

Welded crank, heaps of bling, 103ci   and for sale!!
Post by: Bird on August 13, 2017, 02:31:07 PM
Quote from: Coolblue80
Just gave my dr650 a birthday.  Opened up the airbox,  modified the slide on the carb.  Re jetted the carb and changed the needle to one with a different taper. Also ground the header pipe weld and fitted a gixxer muffler with a custom midpipe.  Goes pretty good now.  Still got a bit of fine tuning to do on the carb, but it's pretty close.
Cheers, Mike.
keep going ;D
https://procycle.us/info/articles/dr650/dr900.html
Post by: BTMNDR on August 14, 2017, 12:36:31 AM
My mid life crisis. 35 years after selling the previous bike - a GS750.

Lucky I told my sons what I was doing, otherwise I'd not have known that I'd need a helmet, or gloves, or a jacket.  Even better was learning that I'd have to put fuel in it!   :cheers:
Post by: Coolblue80 on August 14, 2017, 04:17:22 AM
keep going ;D
https://procycle.us/info/articles/dr650/dr900.html

Has always been at the top of my wishlist. He doesn't sell the 900 kits. It was a one off thing that he did. He does however sell a 790 kit, hot cams, Modified head,  pumper carb.................................
Mines just a work bike though.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: toglhot on August 14, 2017, 09:59:46 AM
I can't ride bikes anymore as I can't use the levers and can't hang on while I kick them to life, wouldn't own a bike you couldn't kick. This is my last bike, a Triumph Bonny. All work: mechanicals, balancing, paint, polishing, spoking, electrical, sheet metal work and so on I did myself.

The gray is the first version of the Bonny I did when stationed in the NT. The bin received the seat and base, exhaust, engine spacers and brackets, foot pegs, tail light bracket, side covers, air cleaner, triple zener pack, tacho, Instrument cluster, battery holder and clutch plates.

They were replaced with a hand beaten aluminium seat base, 2” drag pipes, aluminium engine spacers and brackets, aluminium foot pegs, tail light bracket, aluminium side covers, single zener, speedo bracket, battery holder, side covers, an earlier model single Zener and a set Barnets.

The frame had all excess tabs removed, a couple of extra tabs were added to the rear frame members for side cover mounts, I removed the air cleaner bracket welded to the 3” frame tube/oil tank. Once finished I filed all the welds smooth and bogged them.

I added an oil cooler mounted on an aluminium bracket I bent up. The rear guard was shortened and to that I mounted the tail light bracket I beat up, new steel seat hinges were also made up along with a couple of baffles I made up and slipped into the drag pipes.

The electrics were redone, replacing the rectifier with a Tandy unit and the triple pack zeners with a single zener mounted on the heat sink I bent up. Ignition was now via the handlebar switch block with another two master switches to fool thieves: One on the left side cover, the other mounted on the heatsink.

The engine was stripped and a new barrel and pistons and rings were purchased along with a set of big end shells. Gaskets were all hand formed except for the head gasket, for that I binned the solid copper one and replaced it with a composite. Combustion chamber, piston crown, cons and ports were mirror polished along with valve heads - face and backs. Gearbox cam plate was re-shaped a little and the edge along with the fork slots were polished.

I balanced the crank using knife edge straights, turned up a couple of stainless push rod tubes, mirror polished the engine side covers, and rocker covers, sand blasted the crankcase halves and cylinder head, polished the alternator rotor, why? because I could and it looked smick!

The rear brake bracket and hubs were polished, and the wheels laced with stainless spokes. The cylinder head was also reshaped a little to get nice square edges on the fins.

Frame, tank, side covers, speedo, tail light bracket, foot brake lever, kick stand and centre stand and rear brake rod were all painted in metallic charcoal gray.

The side covers, tail light and battery holder were all mounted using grommets and positive stop nuts I turned up from aluminium. Also turned up were two stainless brake cylinders on my Hafco AL-50 I had just bought. Boy, was that fun. This was my first lathe and the first time I’d ever used one. The cylinders had a 26 TPI thread cut on one end. The lathe didn’t come with a threading chart so I had to get out my calculator and put the brain to work. The bore was 5/8” from memory for which I turned up a couple of pistons to suit. I had to drill two tiny holes, .07mm from memory through the cylinders into the bore, the stainless was 316 and I think I went through something like half a dozen drills – no feel when drilling holes this small.

To each cylinder I welded a 1/4” threaded spigot with which to mount the reservoir and rear take off. To feed the cylinders I tuned up a 2” round aluminium reservoir and cap. To fit them together I machined a course acme thread in both cap and reservoir, talk about jumping in at the deep end: 2” internal and external acme threads and a 26 TPI thread on 316 stainless. Both came out brilliant though, the piston and cylinder having better tolerances than the originals.

I used this bike going to and from work in Katherine, it was so loud you couldn’t hear a brace of Harleys on full song through the din this thing made.

Posted south to Adelaide I knew it wouldn’t get past the pits so once settled I stripped the Bonny again painted it gloss black, polished everything again but this time also polished the lower sliders, switch blocks, turned up a tall 1” round aluminium reservoir and polished that, fitted an oil filter using a floor polisher bracket and polished the crankcase halves. Lots of difficult to get at areas here so it took a while; and a few handmade mops. I bought a couple of ugly mufflers and fitted them and then stuck it over the pits. It passed first time and I rode it too and from work every day for a couple of years.

I was posted north again, this time to Darwin, so the bike was again stripped and then re-assembled once we’d settled in. I only made one mod this time, replaced the speedo with a digital one. I never registered the bike in Darwin as our house was within walking distance to work; but, I did enter the Bonny in the Darwin European Bike Show and won best Triumph.

The Bonny stood around under the house for a couple of years until the RAAF kicked me out. Once out we settled in Port Kennedy in Perth. My body was pretty much spent by this time, I couldn’t kick it anymore so never bothered reassembling. It sat around in a couple of steel trunks for a while and then I sold it as a basket case.

Amazing the difference one little item makes: On the gray there is a chrome strip around the base of the seat, that's missing on the black - makes all the difference: the rear end on the black just looks unfinished. Looking at the pics now the gray had nice lines and looked mean, but could have benefited greatly by the addition of more shiny bits. There’s probably a heap of other bits and pieces I made, or polished, or modded but this all I can remember.

I tried to keep the Bonny looking as much like a Bonny as I could, only a Triumph enthusiast could probably pick the differences. Here’s a few pictures:
Post by: Bigfish on August 14, 2017, 10:07:55 AM
That engine looks great.
Post by: austastar on August 21, 2017, 03:06:47 PM
   Not my bike.

But it is my Mum.

(http://i.imgur.com/EY9KLIT.jpg)
(http://imgur.com/a/M5cJr)
Not bad for 100.

Post by: Bird on August 21, 2017, 04:43:53 PM
Quote from: Coolblue80
Has always been at the top of my wishlist. He doesn't sell the 900 kits.
yea and looking at the work that went into it, it would be a mission or a very expensive ship to him to build and reship back.. Some of the Piston milling I wouldn't be confident to do or have in an expensive motor like that.
We had a slightly sponsored by Yamaha dude in our club Steven Gall who was a few years Mr MX :D...
He managed to get lots of go fast bits for his dirt track TT600 that my old Boss Chris Dixon at Macklins - and many of the parts ended up on my TT... :D Carbs, heads, exhausts, barrels and BB kits :D some of the bits nobody else had access to from Yam factory in Japan :D :D I'd get a phone call saying he had some bits and was I interested, I was usually at his place before he hung up.
Was well worth it over a stocky!

It was a one off thing that he did. He does however sell a 790 kit, hot cams, Modified head,  pumper carb.................................
Do it :P

Mines just a work bike though.
and?? Do it! :)
Post by: Swannie on October 16, 2017, 06:17:35 PM
Just added another toy to the shed
KTM 520 EXC

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171016/2dce9e309ed22fc6e85430db8f2f2d66.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171016/ad71965c0cbb874948a3ad9b6b8c91b5.jpg)

Post by: Bird on October 19, 2017, 08:25:57 AM
Quote from: Swannie
Just added another toy to the shed
KTM 520 EXC

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171016/2dce9e309ed22fc6e85430db8f2f2d66.jpg)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171016/ad71965c0cbb874948a3ad9b6b8c91b5.jpg)
You'll never have time to ride it :P
Post by: cowwee on October 19, 2017, 08:49:58 AM
Just got her home this last weekend!(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171018/c7354c2d234ead5bdcc918d0300f510a.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171018/b70ecb045d28fabe5e5f5c001e110b90.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171018/c14caa2e95e37520a75dc76a18ac14cf.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171018/9c7b95c8764f5176ce6a6d95ce23cbc6.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171018/b4a4aff7143aaf1dbbd0d465f439f528.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171018/5aac97c579b716686d399512d0eb86d1.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

Post by: KathyL on October 19, 2017, 10:43:25 AM
Here are the four bikes I currently own (and maintain):

1980 Honda CX500 Shadow (original condition - not restored):
(http://www.leslies.id.au/images/CX500_080511.jpg)

2006 Honda NT700V Deauville:
(http://www.leslies.id.au/images/NT700V_080511.jpg)

2007 BMW F650GS:
(http://www.leslies.id.au/images/F650GS/F650GS.jpg)

2012 Honda CTX200 Bushlander:
(http://www.leslies.id.au/images/2012_CTX200.jpg)

I've also done the Postie Bike Challenges three times - see Kathy Leslie's 2009, 2012 and 2013 Postie Bike Challenges (http://www.leslies.id.au/) - I've ridden a Postie Bike through every State and Territory of Australia (I live in the ACT and rode a Postie Bike here many years ago) and travelled more than 10,000 kilometres doing so!
Post by: hawkeye on November 18, 2017, 03:21:58 PM
From the last trip we did in August on the Suzuki Dr650's

(https://farm5.staticflickr.com/4340/36189155853_e79fe8f4b6_b.jpg)

And one from our trip to Halls Gap in March on our Suzuki Vstrom 1000's

(https://farm5.staticflickr.com/4161/34469495152_5380c4eae6_b.jpg)

Post by: BMPatriot on November 18, 2017, 06:16:33 PM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171118/b59ffc6d5fb35a1678978461fb1c5db6.png)

2009 Honda CBR1000r

Beautiful bike. Low kms. A dream to ride.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171118/55526c41e9b315b899862621c9670ae0.jpg)

2016 Honda Grom MSX125

Great fun bike for the beaches around home. In a year I've only managed 300km as I use it short distance around home!!

Post by: feisty on November 26, 2017, 06:22:55 PM
2 new bikes in a week! 
Got rid of the VTR 100 with 14k on it and bought these.
Boxer cup replica with 22k on it for half market value. R1150rt cos it's comfie and I am getting older. Still have another r1100s and the r65 for the misses(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171126/9746dd410623890708ddf874887339da.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171126/1c495d6c0f74c69674d1a71faea205d7.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171126/27d53470837cd95e31277bc8496644e5.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171126/d48f9a383a5046d4b399531d618f9036.jpg)

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

Post by: Paddler Ed on November 26, 2017, 07:51:24 PM
We seem to be getting closer to 2 working motorbikes; got the new sprag clutch fitted to the XT on Saturday, so that's ready for some oil and then rego (10 days before it needs blueslip...)...
Post by: Ragman on November 26, 2017, 10:24:38 PM
a couple of the bikes in my shed.
Post by: RonnieQ on November 27, 2017, 08:19:39 PM
My new 2017 Multistrada 1200s DVT.
Captain sensible for the riding position, Troy Bayliss on drugs for performance.
Enough electronics to scare an FA-18 pilot.
Really happy with it.
I sold the KTM 990 SuperDuke after 10 years of ownership longest I have ever owned a road bike.
Sorta miss it a bit.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171127/3bd4d68cc9b54299f847998d072cace7.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171127/4ed80657f40ec6ca30f4c7c1547b0544.jpg)

Post by: feisty on December 07, 2017, 08:23:46 AM
Went for a ride on the new boxer cup yesterday along the eastlink toll road. Got to my desination and thought gee my exhausts need repacking. Had a look under the bike (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171206/0ad6e7b2a1448a69fa7734c15903fe6d.jpg)

Post by: feisty on December 07, 2017, 08:29:11 AM
Rang eastlink to see if they had seen them..SEEN THEM the bloke roared. You shut down three lanes of the freeway while we picked them up!  They were two brothers racing carbon that (which I discovered doing last night's research) are notorious for falling off. Anyone know of anyone who can fix these?   Looking around for any non tbr replacements (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171206/cbf52371cfb68969977a77d5d06fd396.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20171206/d78c87ed14259baefa3e5f5241aba299.jpg)

Post by: whitey1 on December 07, 2017, 10:23:44 AM
Looks like a truck ran over them!
Post by: Bird on December 07, 2017, 10:42:39 AM
Quote from: feisty
Rang eastlink to see if they had seen them..SEEN THEM the bloke roared. You shut down three lanes of the freeway while we picked them up!
Were they found in the center lane on eastlink at Boronia Rd around 5.20/5.45 ish?? if so, I saw em get run over by about 50 people who each one stopped, looked at the thing in the road, then drove over em - but nobody bothered to move them. All 3 lanes were not really moving...

There was somethign in the road, but I couldnt tell what it was, it was a mess splatted there.

FWIW if they are notorious for falling off, contact 2bros and see what comeback they come up with.
Post by: feisty on December 07, 2017, 12:14:09 PM
Were they found in the center lane on eastlink at Boronia Rd around 5.20/5.45 ish?? if so, I saw em get run over by about 50 people who each one stopped, looked at the thing in the road, then drove over em - but nobody bothered to move them. All 3 lanes were not really moving...

There was somethign in the road, but I couldnt tell what it was, it was a mess splatted there.

FWIW if they are notorious for falling off, contact 2bros and see what comeback they come up with.
Hiya bird. They were collected.about 9.30 am and i got.them.from.eastlink about 11. Must have been another set....

Yep I sent an email to two brothers racing with photos and story.   Really dont want another set. They have to be repacked every 4000km. This is 2017 FFS!

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 27, 2017, 05:42:54 AM
Stumbling through Photo-Bucket this morning and found this one of Mrs. Jeepers and the Trumpy. This pick would be 10 years old now.

The shot is in Port Douglas when we used to do motorcycling holidays.

(http://i64.photobucket.com/albums/h200/figjam007/Bikes/bike.jpg~original) (http://s64.photobucket.com/user/figjam007/media/Bikes/bike.jpg.html)
Post by: Coolblue80 on October 23, 2018, 09:49:00 AM
Well after 7 years of owning my 2011 DR650 it's days may be numbered. I see a big bike in my future again after not having one for 20 years. I'm really leaning toward a new Triumph Tiger Sport. Boy am I going to in for a big shock going from 40hp after some mods to 125hp.
Here's what I'm thinking of.
Cheers, Mike.
https://www.teammoto.com.au/used-bikes/for-sale/triumph/tiger-sport-abs-/2017/675155 (https://www.teammoto.com.au/used-bikes/for-sale/triumph/tiger-sport-abs-/2017/675155)
Post by: Bird on October 23, 2018, 10:47:38 AM
Well after 7 years of owning my 2011 DR650 it's days may be numbered. I see a big bike in my future again after not having one for 20 years. I'm really leaning toward a new Triumph Tiger Sport. Boy am I going to in for a big shock going from 40hp after some mods to 125hp.
Here's what I'm thinking of.
Cheers, Mike.
https://www.teammoto.com.au/used-bikes/for-sale/triumph/tiger-sport-abs-/2017/675155 (https://www.teammoto.com.au/used-bikes/for-sale/triumph/tiger-sport-abs-/2017/675155)
They get a good wrap, mate works for Peter Stevens and says good things
https://bikereview.com.au/2016-triumph-tiger-sport-review/ (https://bikereview.com.au/2016-triumph-tiger-sport-review/)

Although bit of weight diff too

DR Dry weight: 166kg
Trump Dry weight: 218kg
Post by: Coolblue80 on October 23, 2018, 02:34:27 PM
They get a good wrap, mate works for Peter Stevens and says good things
https://bikereview.com.au/2016-triumph-tiger-sport-review/ (https://bikereview.com.au/2016-triumph-tiger-sport-review/)

Although bit of weight diff too

DR Dry weight: 166kg
Trump Dry weight: 218kg
They do get rave reviews. I have read and watched everything I can on them and can't find many negatives. I have looked at a few other bikes, namely, Honda Africa twin Adventure Sports, Suzuki VStrom 1000, Triumph Tiger 800XRT, Yamaha Super Tenere 1200. I've wiped a couple of the list pretty much straight away. The Super T is more bike than I need. A lot of tech that I don't need and exy to boot. The VStrom, despite good reviews, is just not my cup of tea when it comes to styling. Plus no cruise control, which I really want this time round. The Honda was at the top of my list and I was patiently waiting for the 2019 model to be announced. Unfortunately, no cruise control for the AT in the 19 model. Dearer buy in than the Triumph and slightly more expensive to service. That leaves the two Triumphs. The Tiger Sport ticks more boxes for me. I have no desire to go offroad so why not go for a road orientated bike. Plus it's got the 1050 donk instead of the 800 in the TigerXRT. I know there are other bikes from other manufacturers but I think the Tiger Sport is the one for me.
Post by: feisty on November 02, 2018, 03:25:12 PM
95 R1100Gs. The new companion to the BoxerCup Replica and the R1150Rt and the R65.

Yep I have a thing about boxers....(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181102/e8f051706f2101aa7ba165b0db482c86.jpg)

Post by: Bird on November 02, 2018, 03:38:36 PM
95 R1100Gs. The new companion to the BoxerCup Replica and the R1150Rt and the R65.

Yep I have a thing about boxers....(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181102/e8f051706f2101aa7ba165b0db482c86.jpg)
can I come work with you?  I need a job where I can afford that many rego's.
Post by: feisty on November 02, 2018, 04:35:25 PM
Hey I'm retired now Bird. This one is only a year off club reg. Hence that is why I bought it. My cunning plan is to have all cars and bikes on club rego by the time I turn 58.  Thats why I only buy low km immaculate old stuff.

Post by: Snow on November 03, 2018, 12:42:03 PM
A snap of my FJR at Dannys lookout at Mt Hotham on the way to this years MotoGP. An awesome week of motorcycling and watching great racing.
Post by: SEADOO on November 04, 2018, 04:37:18 PM
Just comparing to the bicycle thread.

I was at Pushys in Canberra the other day.

Full carbon down hill bike. $15k and you have to push it up hills.

Around the corner at Canberra Motorcycle Centre (great coffee shop) KTM enduro on road with rego. $13,999.

I know what I'd rather spend my money on and I don't have to push it up hills.
Post by: froggy on November 05, 2018, 03:41:06 PM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181105/66352bf77f9e0c933a6055443ea394f2.jpg)
Post by: mumbls on November 06, 2018, 11:34:56 PM
Bought this as a cheap runner while I get the coin together for an Africa Twin (that's the plan). Surprised how much fun this is for a little bike.
Post by: rnrphantom on November 09, 2018, 08:40:02 AM
This is my 1969 Triumph. Had it for many years and great fun on the back roads around Mt Macedon area. Holds her own on the freeways able to comfortably sit on the speed limit 2 up.
We do have a 2001 R1150RS for serious trips though.
Post by: terravista on November 14, 2018, 08:52:21 AM
I can't get a picture of my 1952 Francis Barnett Falcon 250 cause it's in the dark shed, but did like the looks of this one off facebook.

https://www.facebook.com/BlazeArtWorksAirbrush/videos/1632661180120625/ (https://www.facebook.com/BlazeArtWorksAirbrush/videos/1632661180120625/)
Post by: Kangaron on November 14, 2018, 09:11:07 AM
This is my 1969 Triumph. Had it for many years and great fun on the back roads around Mt Macedon area. Holds her own on the freeways able to comfortably sit on the speed limit 2 up.

I had a 69 Bonne, purchased it brand new.
Great bike.
Post by: macca on November 14, 2018, 11:45:03 AM
I had a 69 Bonne, purchased it brand new.
Great bike.
I had a 66 Thunderbird and mate had a 69 Bonnie, they sure were great bikes

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Post by: rnrphantom on November 15, 2018, 02:56:54 PM
Still are great bikes mate.
Spent Melbourne Cup weekend camped at Broadford for the Southern Classic. Lots of Triumphs racing, especially in the sidecars. I have a mate that races a sidecar, so does his father and 2 brothers. 4 of the same family racing pre-unit Triumphs.
Post by: macca on November 15, 2018, 04:53:46 PM
Still are great bikes mate.
Spent Melbourne Cup weekend camped at Broadford for the Southern Classic. Lots of Triumphs racing, especially in the sidecars. I have a mate that races a sidecar, so does his father and 2 brothers. 4 of the same family racing pre-unit Triumphs.
Yeah I bet they are Rob, still kicking myself for getting rid of it but I had a girlfriend that hated bikes so the bike had to go, still got the girlfriend albeit she is now the wife of forty something years. Did two of the Sunbury concerts on the bike, bloody good times they were

Post by: bmwfreak on November 15, 2018, 05:35:15 PM
Bought in August, ostensibly for my birthday!!
Previously had a R1150RS and loved it. This one is a lot more of everything, except luggage and fuel.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181115/2ad2cd267a23670fa76ee13969f7143f.jpg)
This shot was taken on the way home from the Thunder rally at Nundle, NSW.

Post by: feisty on November 24, 2018, 04:42:48 PM
Bought in August, ostensibly for my birthday!!
Previously had a R1150RS and loved it. This one is a lot more of everything, except luggage and fuel.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181115/2ad2cd267a23670fa76ee13969f7143f.jpg)

Very nice.  How are you liking tour shift assist pro?

Post by: Bird on November 24, 2018, 05:00:55 PM
Quote from: bmwfreak
Still got a trophy from the Thunder around here somewhere. And the ex had longest distance pillion :D
Post by: bmwfreak on November 26, 2018, 05:59:03 AM
Very nice.  How are you liking tour shift assist pro?

Have to be honest and admit to only having used it a couple of times so far. Too old fashioned mentally to be downshifting without the clutch🤗
Post by: feisty on November 30, 2018, 10:44:38 PM
Have to be honest and admit to only having used it a couple of times so far. Too old fashioned mentally to be downshifting without the clutch
Hey good on you. I would be the same but a couple of mates rave about it.

Post by: Bird on January 22, 2019, 07:47:15 AM
How about this puppy... got a spare £189,995.00?

Honda RC213V-S Serial Number: 002. The Ultimate Collectors Bike. With Race Kit
The First RC213V-S to be Delivered Worldwide
(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/HiEAAOSwfEdbsi5U/s-l1600.jpg)

(https://i.imgflip.com/mqpgb.jpg)

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/253908868743 (https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/253908868743)
Post by: Redback on February 01, 2019, 05:47:54 PM
My first R series BMW, 2006 R1200GS, had it for about 6 months now and absolutely love it.

(http://www.ozadventurerider.com/Forum/download/file.php?id=1375)

Heading into Tumut on the Wee Jasper Rd
(http://www.ozadventurerider.com/Forum/download/file.php?id=1439)

Kangaroo Valley
(http://www.ozadventurerider.com/Forum/download/file.php?id=1386)

Post by: bmwfreak on February 03, 2019, 05:53:48 PM
My first R series BMW, 2006 R1200GS, had it for about 6 months now and absolutely love it.

(http://www.ozadventurerider.com/Forum/download/file.php?id=1375)

Heading into Tumut on the Wee Jasper Rd
(http://www.ozadventurerider.com/Forum/download/file.php?id=1439)

Kangaroo Valley
(http://www.ozadventurerider.com/Forum/download/file.php?id=1386)

Lots of good times in front of you with that bike.
Be very careful though, once you have bought one BMW R series, there is no end to the number of them you will accumulate. I got to 5 in the shed, but the wife got a bit peeved. I have cut back to 4 only, with two 1200’s, an RT and an ST (both 2006), needing to be moved on.
Out of 4 very good friends, only one has a single BMW R series.

Post by: Redback on February 06, 2019, 06:34:17 AM
Lots of good times in front of you with that bike.
Be very careful though, once you have bought one BMW R series, there is no end to the number of them you will accumulate. I got to 5 in the shed, but the wife got a bit peeved. I have cut back to 4 only, with two 1200’s, an RT and an ST (both 2006), needing to be moved on.
Out of 4 very good friends, only one has a single BMW R series.

Yeah been eyeing off a 1200 Ralle X 8) not my first Beemer though though had 3 before this, K100, k100RS and a F650GS, all great bikes, the daughter has a F650GS, that's it in the bottom photo, mate is on the R1100GS, actually most of the guys I ride with are on BMs.

I also have this;
(http://www.ozadventurerider.com/Forum/download/file.php?id=1425)
Post by: Redback on March 07, 2019, 11:28:21 AM
Family photo

Post by: Bird on March 07, 2019, 11:36:29 AM
Family photo

(https://advrider.com/f/attachments/img_6491-jpg.1570743/?temp_hash=aea7bfc2890d515223a4531a521c088d)
pics not working unless ya logged into ADV :)
Post by: Redback on March 07, 2019, 12:13:57 PM
How's that.
Post by: Bird on March 07, 2019, 01:38:27 PM
How's that.
first one works - second still not
Post by: Redback on March 07, 2019, 01:53:55 PM
first one works - second still not

Same photo
Post by: Bird on March 07, 2019, 02:06:45 PM
Yeah been eyeing off a 1200 Ralle X 8) not my first Beemer though though had 3 before this, K100, k100RS and a F650GS, all great bikes, the daughter has a F650GS, that's it in the bottom photo, mate is on the R1100GS, actually most of the guys I ride with are on BMs.

I also have this;
(http://www.ozadventurerider.com/Forum/download/file.php?id=1425)
that link not working
Post by: Redback on March 11, 2019, 06:28:28 AM
that link not working

Different photo same bike

Post by: noel_w on March 28, 2019, 10:36:45 AM
Different photo same bike
All hail to the man with huge K-nackers. Serious power band with nil handling. One ride was enough for me to hand the keys back when I took one for a test ride.
Post by: Bird on March 28, 2019, 10:47:36 AM
All hail to the man with huge K-nackers. Serious power band with nil handling. One ride was enough for me to hand the keys back when I took one for a test ride.
known as a hinge!! just plan ahead too if you want to stop ;)
Post by: Redback on March 28, 2019, 12:38:52 PM
Great bike if you set them up properly, as for a power band, not that I ever noticed, they pull like a 4 stroke almost off idle, mine will sit at 60kph happily in 5th and pull away from 60kph without an effort, actually it's happier when it's in a higher gear at lower speeds.

As for brakes, as above with new everything it pulls up quite well for a 60s/70s bike.

This is a small part of an article from Cycle Magazine from 1973,

The H-2 was comparison tested by Cycle magazine in 1973 against the Ducati 750, the Honda CB750, the Harley-Davidson Sportster 1000, the Kawasaki Z1, the Triumph Trident 750, and the Norton Commando 750. The competition consisted of acceleration, braking distance, and road race course lap-times. Each test was run several times including 10 attempts at a fastest road course time. The H2 was the fastest accelerating machine, posting the fastest 1/4 mile run on a drag strip. Experts were surprised at the other results. Despite an uncomfortable feel and slight front wheel hop under hard braking and not giving the sensation of stopping particularly fast it had the shortest stopping distance and highest braking G load of all the bikes. On the road course, despite what had been heard and written about its ill handling, frame flexing and the supposed tendency to speed wobble exiting high speed turns, it was tied for the fastest lap time with the Kawasaki Z-1 to the tenth of a second. Overall the Kawasaki H-2 750 had the lowest ET, second-highest quarter-mile speed, the fastest lap time, the strongest braking force, the highest torque and horsepower readings on the dynamometer, the highest power-to-weight ratio, the lowest price and scored by points for performance was by far the least expensive per unit displacement.

I have raced both the H1 500 and the H2 750, once I sorted the brakes out by renewing all the lines and new pads and seal in the caliper the brakes were great, the key to handling is aligning the front a rear wheels properly, makes a big improvement to the bike,

All the hipe about it's handling was unfounded, ask anyone that raced one.

Here ya go the H2 and H1 I raced, that's my GPZ and K100 also, that H2 was not mine.

Post by: Bird on March 28, 2019, 01:10:26 PM
Quote from: Redback
Here ya go the H2 and H1 I raced, that's my GPZ and K100 also, that H2 was not mine.

Second one Amaroo?
I miss that place, loved going over the top and down the right hander off camber :D specially on teh chooky
Post by: Redback on March 28, 2019, 01:18:46 PM
Second one Amaroo?
I miss that place, loved going over the top and down the right hander off camber :D specially on teh chooky

Yeah great circuit I loved Amaroo too, our Club(Northern Districts) did the last ever meeting there, shame.

ANYWAY

Here is the complete article from Cycle Magazine if you want some light reading.

http://www.kawatriple.com/articles/1973%20Superbikes/superbikes1.htm (http://www.kawatriple.com/articles/1973%20Superbikes/superbikes1.htm)
Post by: Snow on April 10, 2019, 09:39:58 PM
My FJR1300 has a new stablemate. An immaculate 2014 YZF-R1. Awesome!
Post by: Bird on July 06, 2019, 05:27:49 PM
how this for lean angle.
66 degrees..

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/D-uMIWGWkAEirIs.jpg)
Post by: Snow on July 09, 2019, 09:29:31 PM
how this for lean angle.
66 degrees..

Even Marquez reckons that is too far. The kid is a freak though.
Post by: Coolblue80 on July 17, 2019, 03:17:06 PM
Currently in the negotiating phase of the deal but it looks like this will be mine by the weekend. 2016 Honda VFR1200x Crosstourer. Only 8500k's on the dial and absolutely spotless. Looks like I'll be doing the the 14hr round trip to pick it up very early Saturday morning. All subject to inspection and test ride of course. Words cannot explain how excited Wifey is about my new bike. Hahaha
Cheers, Mike.
(https://i.imgur.com/bqQZ0aY.jpg)
Post by: Coolblue80 on July 20, 2019, 06:22:48 PM
Drove down to Brissy from Bundy early this morning.  Checked out the bike and took it for a test ride.  Deal was done.  Wasn't confident with traveling back to Bundy with bike in the trailer so Wifey drove the car home and I rode the bike.  Called into one of the big bike gear shops and picked up a new helmet,  jacket, boots and jeans. Good ride to Bundy apart from a sore ass and a numb right hand. 
Cheers,  Mike.

Update********Made the trek from Bundy back home to Gladstone this morning. Love this bike. Might have to look at some cruise control though. Really struggling with hands going numb.
Post by: Coolblue80 on July 27, 2019, 04:43:29 PM
Couldn't help going for a short scoot this afternoon out to our local dam/lake. Used to ski out here all the time when I had my skiboat. Sometimes twice a week depending on my shift. Very upsetting to see it almost glassed out. Many good times and lots of laughs had out here.
Cheers, Mike.
(https://i.imgur.com/C1i1OoQ.jpg?1)
(https://i.imgur.com/eoz06hE.jpg)
(https://i.imgur.com/YV89KuL.jpg?1)
Post by: Spada on July 28, 2019, 07:16:22 AM
Might have to look at some cruise control though. Really struggling with hands going numb.

These are frikkin awesome  - https://www.mccruise.com/collections/motorcycle-cruise-applications/products/honda-vfr1200x-crosstourer?variant=343709793 (https://www.mccruise.com/collections/motorcycle-cruise-applications/products/honda-vfr1200x-crosstourer?variant=343709793)

And if you enjoy a bit of distance riding, this mob will be gathering for lunch at Turkey Beach in a few weeks time . We're thinking of doing the day trip from Brisbane ;D - http://farriders.com.au/index.php (http://farriders.com.au/index.php)
Post by: Coolblue80 on July 28, 2019, 09:14:24 AM
These are frikkin awesome  - https://www.mccruise.com/collections/motorcycle-cruise-applications/products/honda-vfr1200x-crosstourer?variant=343709793 (https://www.mccruise.com/collections/motorcycle-cruise-applications/products/honda-vfr1200x-crosstourer?variant=343709793)

And if you enjoy a bit of distance riding, this mob will be gathering for lunch at Turkey Beach in a few weeks time . We're thinking of doing the day trip from Brisbane ;D - http://farriders.com.au/index.php (http://farriders.com.au/index.php)

I was looking at the MCCruise. It might even be my gloves that are causing the problem, believe it or not. As for the Turkey Beach ride, that is only an hour from home. There is a track from Turkey Beach through to Agnes Waters/1770 that we take regularly. Shame the ride is on our wedding anniversary. Not sure if Wifey will let me sneak off for a ride. Play it by ear.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: Bird on August 19, 2019, 10:07:37 AM
I want one

8 cylinders, 2.0 litres… 334hp and 242kgs
, the PGMV8 is the ultimate street bike he came back to the Victorian bush to build. The carbon bodied, road-legal machine is a mechanical masterpiece, packing 334hp from its signature 2.0l V8. So to get the inside word, Pipeburn spent considerable time over the last six months getting to know the man and his machine.
https://www.pipeburn.com/home/2019/08/16/worlds-most-powerful-production-motorcycle.html (https://www.pipeburn.com/home/2019/08/16/worlds-most-powerful-production-motorcycle.html)

But no fairing??
http://pgmv8.com.au/ (http://pgmv8.com.au/)
Post by: Coolblue80 on November 28, 2019, 06:32:27 PM
My Mc Cruise kit for the Crosstourer turned up this arv. I'll make a start on it tomorrow and finish it up on Saturday. Can't wait to ride pain free.
Post by: Spada on November 29, 2019, 08:57:43 AM
My Mc Cruise kit for the Crosstourer turned up this arv. I'll make a start on it tomorrow and finish it up on Saturday. Can't wait to ride pain free.

Nice, love mine.

I broke my right thumb many moons ago and it now gives me heaps of grief on the bike. the MCcruise has made a world of difference on a long trip. Set and forget  ;D
Post by: bmwfreak on November 29, 2019, 09:32:51 AM
how this for lean angle.
66 degrees..

He’s got castors embedded into his knee protectors >:D >:D
Post by: scrubber on November 29, 2019, 05:51:14 PM
how this for lean angle.
66 degrees..

You realise that he's not actually moving and is just having bit of a lie down
Post by: Coolblue80 on November 30, 2019, 03:34:59 PM
WooHoo. Cruise is in and works a treat. Nice easy install with the best instructions I have ever used. Old mate from McCruise even answered the phone this morning(Saturday) as I was having a drama with the calibration side of things. Nice bloke and knew his stuff. It ended up being due to a possible software change in Honda programming, not a fault of the cruise. Also did the wiring for the extra Stedi LED lights that are coming so I don't have to take the plastics off again. Went for a 30 minute test ride and it's bloody great. Rock solid up hill and down dale. Love it. Now I've got to go and wash the bloody thing.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: Heavensent on December 01, 2019, 09:25:52 PM
Heres my current
2004 ZZR 250.
Great little bike and good fun to ride.
Oneday I'll upgrade to a Honda CMX500.
Prettyuch my daily other than when its raining or on night shift.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191201/b3664f63ab4a86fe3346c290eea58376.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: gasgaschris on December 01, 2019, 10:26:04 PM
This wasn't my last road bike, but it was definitely my favorite..

I've had well over 100 roadies, but stick to off-road now. Much safer(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191201/c06bc9a3c4aab8a10028f35544221251.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

Post by: tombie on December 01, 2019, 11:14:05 PM
My current 2...

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191201/f172592f2e3c1c0b1313a4cfc4b6e08e.jpg)

This ones undergoing some changes at the moment
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191201/e20a4c376bc57c06b7c2577a580c3933.jpg)

Post by: NZMarkb on June 17, 2020, 11:10:42 AM
Hi team
I see we have some great cars and stuff in other treads
Lets see what your riding or have hidden in your sheds
I'll kick it off with one of mine (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200617/7423cd264817bf44df169e1e0212b0e6.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200617/919256318d149eff705382a3f633703e.jpg)

Post by: Bird on June 17, 2020, 11:44:34 AM
tis kewl.... :)

FWIW mate has 4 actual Dakar bikes in his shed. 2 Andy Caldicott ones and 2 more.
Post by: NZMarkb on June 17, 2020, 11:48:47 AM
Nice
I had a ride on a 790 and liked it, well until I got back on the 990
I love shredding rear tyres on gravel roads on it, it's so much fun to ride
It scares me every time. That's what keeps you alive  ;D
Post by: NZMarkb on June 21, 2020, 12:48:35 PM
Wish it was mine(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200621/6cc1cf1d0b65c3c5f5e6327eeae8be08.jpg)

Post by: Bird on June 21, 2020, 01:36:00 PM
Wish it was mine(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200621/6cc1cf1d0b65c3c5f5e6327eeae8be08.jpg)

I know where theres an original TZ500 I think H model in a shed rotting away... its a mate who used to race, who disappeared many years ago.. it is sitting his dads shed.. his dad wont part with it

Wish I had my old TZ350 still ... was a **** of a thing when I think back with detonation and that stupid reverse gear pattern, but I was always tinkering with it
Post by: NZMarkb on June 21, 2020, 01:47:29 PM
I rode a 700 back in the late 80’s once, what a beast
A bloke I know has 2 750’s
Post by: Bird on June 21, 2020, 01:53:15 PM

you finished it yet? :P
Post by: Bird on July 02, 2020, 04:35:56 PM
I rode a 700 back in the late 80’s once, what a beast
A bloke I know has 2 750’s
here ya go
This 1979 race bike is for sale.
TZ750 F Harris Frame - Lock Heed Brakes - 41mm adjustable forks
Scitsu tachometer - Magnesium Crowns - 17ins. wheels alloy -
hydro formed Peter Campbell exhaust - Electrex World Advance/Retard ignition - Log Booked
A$60,000 -

(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/670AAOSwtMNe1M-q/s-l1600.jpg)
Post by: NZMarkb on July 02, 2020, 06:05:54 PM
Cheers Bird
Not sure I like the wheels but the Harris frame would make it handle better than they did Back in The day
Post by: NZMarkb on July 02, 2020, 06:13:02 PM
My Beta 300rr Racing (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200702/364c992748eebd199024c85239ec0785.jpg)

Post by: NZMarkb on July 02, 2020, 06:14:19 PM
A bit of Kiwi ingenuity (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200702/6d78312efbf1ae2a0bf4a21bb0d5f489.jpg)

Post by: Foo on July 03, 2020, 06:21:09 AM
A bit of Kiwi ingenuity (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200702/6d78312efbf1ae2a0bf4a21bb0d5f489.jpg)

WTF is goin on with those pipes?  :o It looks like a bucket of worms sittin in there.

Post by: bmwfreak on July 03, 2020, 06:34:03 AM
Some people will go tpo any length to ensure they have even length headers from the ‘V’ motors  ;D ;D
Post by: NZMarkb on July 03, 2020, 08:02:40 AM
The power that thing makes I'm not arguing
Post by: Bird on July 03, 2020, 09:52:08 AM
WTF is goin on with those pipes?  :o It looks like a bucket of worms sittin in there.

Have a read of the Racing Achievements.. The whole thing when it came out blew everyones mind.
Brilliant story...
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Britten_V1000 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Britten_V1000)
https://www.carthrottle.com/post/why-the-britten-v1000-is-the-most-incredible-built-not-bought-bike-ever-made/ (https://www.carthrottle.com/post/why-the-britten-v1000-is-the-most-incredible-built-not-bought-bike-ever-made/)
Post by: NZMarkb on July 03, 2020, 10:01:08 AM
Whenever you ask Andrew Stroud about the Britten he gives you a smile before he talks
Well worth watching some of the doco's that have come out
Post by: Snow on July 04, 2020, 08:38:46 AM
Picked up an old banger ‘85 Suzuki GS1100G to restore and add to the harem. I bought one of these new back in ‘84 and always regretted selling it. Not looking to make look concourse, just used but not abused.
Post by: Foo on July 06, 2020, 03:47:53 PM
Some people will go tpo any length to ensure they have even length headers from the ‘V’ motors  ;D ;D

Yeah figured that they are same tuned length but that is butt ugly uncovered. 😉

Sent from my SM-T355Y using Tapatalk

Post by: Foo on July 06, 2020, 03:49:05 PM
Have a read of the Racing Achievements.. The whole thing when it came out blew everyones mind.
Brilliant story...
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Britten_V1000 (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Britten_V1000)
https://www.carthrottle.com/post/why-the-britten-v1000-is-the-most-incredible-built-not-bought-bike-ever-made/ (https://www.carthrottle.com/post/why-the-britten-v1000-is-the-most-incredible-built-not-bought-bike-ever-made/)

Remember reading about it  many years ago. Sad that it wasn't put into production.

Sent from my SM-T355Y using Tapatalk

Post by: dazzler on July 28, 2020, 05:55:35 PM
Here is mine from a recent ride;

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200728/6eb42953e3d8f1069c2eab9fa10eb5aa.jpg)

Post by: noel_w on July 29, 2020, 11:53:48 AM
Picked up an old banger ‘85 Suzuki GS1100G to restore and add to the harem. I bought one of these new back in ‘84 and always regretted selling it. Not looking to make look concourse, just used but not abused.
Hey Snow, I bought one new in '84 too from City Suzuki in Goulburn St in Sydney. Had to sell it when kids came along in '92. Was a sweet tourer but never really had any soul I thought. Took me from Brissie down to the 1st GP at Phillip Island. Did a lot of K's on that old beast.
It replaced my GS750 which was my pocket rocket in the day. Yoshi 860 kit, O'brien custom pipes, S&W suspension etc.
Post by: Bird on August 10, 2020, 10:30:05 AM
Not mine - but $44,000 ????
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/114346847614 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/114346847614)

New in crate - never opened.

(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/sd4AAOSwAi9fL0MT/s-l1600.jpg)
Post by: RonnieQ on August 10, 2020, 01:37:31 PM
Whenever you ask Andrew Stroud about the Britten he gives you a smile before he talks
Well worth watching some of the doco's that have come out
The Man The Bike The Legend.
The Britten makes every body smile. John was a man ahead of his time a visionary and amazing  engineer.

You will see why it makes Andrew Stroud smile in this clip.

https://youtu.be/p6DLeXwW67E

Post by: Coolblue80 on January 04, 2021, 06:08:42 PM
Ordered and put a deposit on my new dirt squirter this afternoon. 2021 Kawasaki KLX300r. Not the most powerful, fastest, lightest, gnarliest bike but it ticks all the boxes for me.
https://kawasaki.com.au/shop/motorcycles/off-road/2021-klx300r/
Post by: Coolblue80 on February 24, 2021, 08:01:52 AM
Picked up my KLX300R a couple of weeks ago. Immediately put Renthal bars, BarkBussters and grips and a hour meter on it. Waiting on a bash plate and radiator guards. Only put 3/4 hour on it. So far so good.
(https://i.imgur.com/YSCg4wb.jpg)
Post by: NZMarkb on February 24, 2021, 12:11:03 PM
Are you going to use Force radiator guards
I’ve had them on a lot of my bikes and rate them
Post by: Coolblue80 on February 24, 2021, 01:21:43 PM
https://thai.webike.net/en/sd/th0495518
Going with SRC rad. guards and bash plate. They are a full guard/brace and have a mount for an electric cooling fan. Bit dearer than a normal guard but way more protection. Also options for the Klx are a bit hard to come by. Plenty of bash plate options, just not a lot to pick from for rad guards.
Cheers, Mike.
Post by: Coolblue80 on April 18, 2021, 05:21:35 AM
(https://i.imgur.com/A7KB5C8.jpg)

Stickers make all the difference. Plus a new addition to the fleet.  My boys new KLX140RL.

(https://i.imgur.com/CwH2Bf6.jpg)
Post by: NZMarkb on April 19, 2021, 11:59:20 AM
Been a work in progress for a while now
But getting close (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210419/60a61a5405616fa47ddf8fa56b72d0b9.jpg)

Post by: Bird on April 19, 2021, 10:19:08 PM
Been a work in progress for a while now
But getting close (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210419/60a61a5405616fa47ddf8fa56b72d0b9.jpg)

not many IT200's around

Heres one for the ADV riders - Flinders on bikes
https://youtu.be/SsIh9raeDGk (https://youtu.be/SsIh9raeDGk)
Post by: Pete79 on April 20, 2021, 09:10:51 PM
I’ll just leave this crazy 300hp creation from a Brazilian ex-Formula One driver and champion motorcycle custom builder here..... ;)

https://youtu.be/3br_haXmeWk (https://youtu.be/3br_haXmeWk)

https://youtu.be/kps82JmgoVg (https://youtu.be/kps82JmgoVg)

(https://assets.newatlas.com/dims4/default/faed2ad/2147483647/strip/true/crop/1919x1080+0+0/resize/1440x810!/quality/90/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fnewatlas-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com%2Farchive%2Ftmc-dumont-giant-hubless-rims-4.png)
Post by: jclures on April 21, 2021, 07:10:23 AM
I hope he never slips back on the seat, it might be a painful experience.
Post by: Foo on April 24, 2021, 04:21:58 PM
Oops!  :-[

Post by: Bird on April 24, 2021, 08:04:23 PM
Oops!  :-[

get with the program... lolol
Post by: Foo on April 25, 2021, 04:52:30 AM
get with the program... lolol

:-[  :P :angel:

Post by: Bird on April 25, 2021, 12:27:31 PM
  :-[  :P :angel:

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Bird on April 26, 2021, 12:16:25 PM
.. now for something completely different... I've had a go at it at MX, was fawkin awesome fun!

Fancy having a crack on a racing sidecar? Here’s your chance…
Annandale-Leichhardt MCC to host sidecar training day on May 23

https://www.mcnews.com.au/fancy-having-a-crack-on-a-racing-sidecar-heres-your-chance/ (https://www.mcnews.com.au/fancy-having-a-crack-on-a-racing-sidecar-heres-your-chance/)
(https://www.mcnews.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/2021-ASBK-Rnd3-WakefieldPark-ASBK-Rnd3-Day3-_DSC5128_Sidecars-Race1_Corey-Turner_Danyon-Turner_NeilCameron-1024x519.jpg)
Post by: Pete79 on April 26, 2021, 03:03:55 PM
.. now for something completely different... I've had a go at it at MX, was fawkin awesome fun!

https://www.mcnews.com.au/fancy-having-a-crack-on-a-racing-sidecar-heres-your-chance/ (https://www.mcnews.com.au/fancy-having-a-crack-on-a-racing-sidecar-heres-your-chance/)
(https://www.mcnews.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/2021-ASBK-Rnd3-WakefieldPark-ASBK-Rnd3-Day3-_DSC5128_Sidecars-Race1_Corey-Turner_Danyon-Turner_NeilCameron-1024x519.jpg)
Back in apprentice days I did my TAFE training with the nutter hanging off the back of this thing.

He was the 1000cc sidecar world champ.

(https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQshNipXU7c-20ZBSjbomHNFMNSe3NMmBAhWg&usqp=CAU)

What a loose unit that dude was.... ;)
Post by: NZMarkb on April 26, 2021, 05:04:32 PM
Always respected these guys and girls
Unfortunately I’m too fat and old to give it a decent go any more
Post by: Kangaron on April 26, 2021, 05:37:26 PM
Parked next to me at lunch on Sunday.
all perfectly restored, not a drop of oil on the ground.  :cup:

Post by: bmwfreak on April 26, 2021, 05:46:10 PM
not a drop of oil on the ground.  :cup:

They haven’t been restored to original specs then >:D
Post by: achjimmy on April 26, 2021, 06:33:19 PM
They haven’t been restored to original specs then >:D

Lol,was going to say same  ;D
Post by: Bird on April 27, 2021, 09:01:25 AM
Quote from: NZMarkb
Always respected these guys and girls
Unfortunately I’m too fat and old to give it a decent go any more
You never saw Stan Bayliss or nearly anyone racing chairs in the 80/90's in AU then i gather :D

heres one for Keith too
(https://images1.bonhams.com/image?src=Images/live/2009-05/26/7893681-1-1.jpg&top=0.0894&left=0.0793&bottom=0.8374&right=0.9695&width=640&height=480&autosizefit=1)
Post by: Bird on April 30, 2021, 11:15:41 AM
Anyone who was plannin to go to the Island for world superbikes, its been cancelled

WorldSBK Calendar
Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, the FIM, the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit and DWO have agreed there will be no 2021 edition of the Australian Round.
Organisers are working towards a return to the iconic venue in 2022 as the first event of the 2022 Championship.
Post by: Foo on April 30, 2021, 12:56:40 PM

Hell yeah, it is one hell of a hoot. Had a Short Circuit sidecar with a 650 Yamaha in it and ran on Shell A.  :cup: :cheers:

Post by: Bird on June 03, 2021, 05:46:20 PM
For those in Shitney, my old club runnin the 5 hour :)

Sydney 5 Hour shaping up to be a ripper with full grid
Spectator entry to the event is free and you can grab tickets from Eventbrite at https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/156628296451 (https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/156628296451)

https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/st-george-motorcycle-club-endurance-series-round-1-of-2-tickets-156628296451 (https://www.eventbrite.com.au/e/st-george-motorcycle-club-endurance-series-round-1-of-2-tickets-156628296451)

Date and time
Sat, Jul 24, 2021, 8:30 AM –
Sun, Jul 25, 2021, 5:00 PM AEST

Ferrers Road
Eastern Creek, NSW 2766

The full calendar for the weekend includes

--    IPONE Formula St George 2 Hour, relay format for Supersports 300 class machines which will feature a Le Mans style start and will run late on Saturday 24th with a finish under lights.
--   The Sydney 200, single rider, single bike endurance for Superbikes and Supersport 600’s which will run on the Sunday morning, with a Le Mans style start, ahead of the Pirelli Sydney 5 Hour.
--   Pirelli Sydney 5 Hour, relay format endurance for Superbikes and Supersports 600’s. This headline event is scheduled to kick off, also with a Le Mans start, just before noon on Sunday 25th.
--   AGV Retro Superbikes sprint races across the weekend featuring Period 5, 6 and Pre-Modern bikes from the 70’s through to the 90’s.
--   Pit stop challenge, an opportunity for fans to see the crews in action in a head-to-head knock out competition involving the whole team, with the final being under lights after the finish of the IPONE 2 Hour Saturday evening.
Post by: Bird on June 04, 2021, 10:37:24 AM
Quote from: Snow
Hows the restore going...

Mate (strangely his name is snow too!)still has that GS1000S sittin in the shed
Post by: Steffo1 on June 04, 2021, 06:26:28 PM
How's this for bad luck?
Recently, Troy Bayliss was injured in a bicycle accident and now Alex Rins has a broken wrist, from a treadly prang!

Remy Gardner has a MotoGP offer, too!
https://www.crash.net/motogp/news/979519/1/bicycle-accident-rules-alex-rins-out-catalunya-motogp (https://www.crash.net/motogp/news/979519/1/bicycle-accident-rules-alex-rins-out-catalunya-motogp)
Post by: Bird on June 23, 2021, 10:27:49 AM
Oh Santa... I've been a really good boy....

https://leangp.com/en/ (https://leangp.com/en/)
Post by: Foo on June 23, 2021, 03:58:55 PM

Well if ya plissed and on it, just spread some pillows around the floor to soften the crash.  :laugh: :laugh: :angel:

Post by: Bird on June 23, 2021, 04:28:14 PM
Well if ya plissed and on it, just spread some pillows around the floor to soften the crash.  :laugh: :laugh: :angel:

could be a tragic ending with VR goggles :D
Post by: bmwfreak on June 24, 2021, 08:52:28 AM

Me too!!!
Post by: NZMarkb on June 24, 2021, 09:05:46 AM
Come on guys, the last thing we need is some more PlayStation warriors
Every time they turn up at the track they hardly make it out of the carpark
Although you can normally spot them, so you can take up a good vantage point first
No point telling them anything, they've done it all before from the safety of their lounge chair :cheers:
Post by: NZMarkb on September 06, 2021, 09:28:59 AM
Lockdown's been good for one thing anyway
Had it running yesterday, fired up 1st kick (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210905/0b99ed55215bc49080742955a23a8690.jpg)

Sent from my SM-A315G using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on September 06, 2021, 10:20:51 AM
Lockdown's been good for one thing anyway
Had it running yesterday, fired up 1st kick
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210905/0b99ed55215bc49080742955a23a8690.jpg)
Nice 200 there... pretty rare - like all IT's these days..
Borrowed a mates KDX200 back in the day for a weekend down at Yerriyong track... Only then I realized how others did so well in enduros around me compared to my heavy old TT although it was no standard TT anymore  >:D
Post by: NZMarkb on September 06, 2021, 10:44:01 AM
Yeah those old 4 strokes were heavy beasts
I had an IT200 when I was about 20, then raced the first of the water cooled KDX’s in the early 90’s before going onto KX250’s
My mate has an IT250k so can’t wait to show up at a trail ride with them both on the back of the Ute  :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: Bird on November 01, 2021, 01:44:21 PM
Confucius Say: dont wear a gopro when ya riding.. :)

A learner motorcycle rider faces more than $77,000 in speeding fines after police combed through helmet footage from his GoPro-style action camera.

The 23-year-old man was originally busted for speeding on September 11, when police allege he was riding at 162km/h in an 80km/h zone of the Warringah Freeway in North Sydney.

Police said the learner rider told them “he was on his way to a nearby driving school where he was due to take part in a program to assist him in becoming a safer rider”.
When officers noticed that he was wearing a video camera, they confiscated the memory card.

A subsequent investigation of its files resulted in a further 41 charges levelled at the rider, who now faces 14 counts of dangerous driving, including fines worth up to $2200 each, plus 15 counts of speeding over 45km/h (attracting a $2520 fine) and three counts of exceeding the speed limit by 30km/h (and $935 per pop).

Police added six other traffic offences to the man’s bill, along with two counts of offensive behaviour and one breach of public orders that could relate to coronavirus lockdowns.

Police allege the man regularly rode at speeds exceeding 200km/h.

https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/on-the-road/learner-rider-faces-77000-in-speed-fines/news-story/69e7187719a5f2c7b08e183f41ebef69 (https://www.news.com.au/technology/motoring/on-the-road/learner-rider-faces-77000-in-speed-fines/news-story/69e7187719a5f2c7b08e183f41ebef69)
Post by: Bird on November 04, 2021, 04:10:33 PM
Be good to see the kid win it

Remy Gardner has his first opportunity at claiming the 2021 Moto2 World Championship this weekend.

If Remy Gardner can outscore team-mate Raul Fernandez by more than eight points this weekend, then he will be crowned 2021 Moto2 World Champion.

During the second Misano race of 2021 last time out, Fernandez looked on course to take over the championship lead for the first time this season, however, a costly crash whilst leading has instead left him 18 points behind the Australian.

That means if Gardner wins at Portimao - the circuit he took his first ever Moto2 win at last year, then Fernandez has to finish no lower than second in order to extend the title battle to Valencia.

Despite what’s at stake, Gardner isn’t focusing too far ahead and instead wants to keep the same approach as recent rounds.

https://www.crash.net/motogp/news/990762/1/gardner-not-thinking-too-much-about-what-s-stake-has-first-match-point (https://www.crash.net/motogp/news/990762/1/gardner-not-thinking-too-much-about-what-s-stake-has-first-match-point)
Post by: Bird on November 08, 2021, 01:29:21 PM
Quote from: Legend
Remy Gardner has his first opportunity at claiming the 2021 Moto2 World Championship this weekend.

If Remy Gardner can outscore team-mate Raul Fernandez by more than eight points this weekend, then he will be crowned 2021 Moto2 World Champion.
That means if Gardner wins at Portimao - the circuit he took his first ever Moto2 win at last year, then Fernandez has to finish no lower than second in order to extend the title battle to Valencia.

Remy Gardner takes 23-point lead into Moto2 championship finale  :cup:
https://www.mcnews.com.au/remy-gardner-takes-23-point-lead-into-moto2-championship-finale/ (https://www.mcnews.com.au/remy-gardner-takes-23-point-lead-into-moto2-championship-finale/)
Post by: Foo on November 09, 2021, 07:30:17 PM
Let's hope that he has settled and learnt from all of his mistakes and stays upright now. It would be good to see him win and then move to the next level.  :cup:

Post by: Bird on November 09, 2021, 09:25:16 PM
Let's hope that he has settled and learnt from all of his mistakes and stays upright now. It would be good to see him win and then move to the next level.  :cup:

The second father/son on top step in history? The  Roberts from USA would be other.
Post by: Foo on November 10, 2021, 06:00:42 AM
The second father/son on top step in history? The  Roberts from USA would be other.

Yeah that's true.

Mick Dohans son is into Go-Karts I think but haven't heard anything since he went back overseas for the racing.

Post by: gronk on November 10, 2021, 07:13:54 AM
Yeah that's true.

Mick Dohans son is into Go-Karts I think but haven't heard anything since he went back overseas for the racing.

Jack Doohan, currently running 2nd in FIA formula3 championship. Is a Red Bull academy driver.
Post by: Bird on November 10, 2021, 07:49:39 AM

yea karts were a few weeks ago, but instead of bikes he went soft, and went playing with RC cars instead
https://jackdoohan.com/blogs/news (https://jackdoohan.com/blogs/news)
Post by: Foo on November 10, 2021, 07:56:53 AM
Jack Doohan, currently running 2nd in FIA formula3 championship. Is a Red Bull academy driver.

That's it.  8)

Post by: Foo on November 10, 2021, 07:58:38 AM
yea karts were a few weeks ago, but instead of bikes he went soft, and went playing with RC cars instead
https://jackdoohan.com/blogs/news (https://jackdoohan.com/blogs/news)

I think he decided he didn't want to be banged up like his old man at the age of 30.  ;D 100mm off the ground, you don't hit it as hard.  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Post by: Bird on November 10, 2021, 08:01:25 AM
I think he decided he didn't want to be banged up like his old man at the age of 30.  ;D 100mm off the ground, you don't hit it as hard.  :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

back in my day we used to get banged up like that by the brothers before school...
Post by: NZMarkb on November 10, 2021, 08:02:07 AM
Yeah and a fight in the pits makes bantam weights look like heavy weights   >:( ;D ;D
Post by: Foo on November 10, 2021, 10:45:43 AM
back in my day we used to get banged up like that by the brothers before school...

Sent from my SM-T510 using Tapatalk

Post by: Snow on November 10, 2021, 08:48:14 PM
Getting this show n tell thread back on track. My R1 again. Fun beastie  ;D
Post by: Spada on November 11, 2021, 06:28:57 AM
Getting this show n tell thread back on track. My R1 again. Fun beastie  ;D

Eastern Creek track day?

I used do a lot of track days, but that was 25 years ago. Had a chuckle once when I rode my CBR250RR from Cairns to Philip Island for a weekend HART event. I was the slowest bloke on the straight, but it was amusing to see the reaction from the hero's that trailered their bikes from Melbourne. They couldn't grasp the concept that I'd ridden 4000k's, so I could ride on a track. They just didn't get it.
Post by: Bird on November 12, 2021, 07:19:39 PM
One for Geoffy
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/265399136476/ (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/265399136476/)
Post by: Bird on November 15, 2021, 08:21:36 AM
(https://lewlewsports.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/11/Remy-Gardner-2021-Moto2-World-Champion.jpg)
Post by: Foo on November 15, 2021, 06:11:01 PM
And moving to the top level next year. Haven't heard what team though, unless I missed that part?

Post by: Bird on November 15, 2021, 06:26:51 PM
And moving to the top level next year. Haven't heard what team though, unless I missed that part?

him and Fernandez same KTM team but GP
https://www.motogp.com/en/news/2021/06/02/gardner-confirmed-for-tech3-ktm-motogp-seat-in-2022/376565 (https://www.motogp.com/en/news/2021/06/02/gardner-confirmed-for-tech3-ktm-motogp-seat-in-2022/376565)
Post by: Foo on November 15, 2021, 08:35:37 PM

Post by: Bird on February 12, 2022, 02:41:24 PM
now for something special.. i wish it was mine, but I do know where there is a well raced one rotting in a shed :(

It’s not often that you see a mint 1982 Yamaha TZ500 racer up for auction. And it’s even more unusual when it’s never been ridden, completely original, and showing 0 miles on the clocks. In fact, the only signs that it’s 40 years old are two small cracks near the seat and on the rear fairing. Still on original tyres!

(https://www.rescogs.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/02/Mint-1982-Yamaha-TZ500-Racer-Up-For-Auction-Side.jpeg)

https://www.rescogs.com/2022/02/zero-mile-mint-1982-yamaha-tz500-racer-up-for-auction/ (https://www.rescogs.com/2022/02/zero-mile-mint-1982-yamaha-tz500-racer-up-for-auction/)
Post by: Foo on February 12, 2022, 03:53:57 PM
now for something special.. i wish it was mine, but I do know where there is a well raced one rotting in a shed :(

It’s not often that you see a mint 1982 Yamaha TZ500 racer up for auction. And it’s even more unusual when it’s never been ridden, completely original, and showing 0 miles on the clocks. In fact, the only signs that it’s 40 years old are two small cracks near the seat and on the rear fairing. Still on original tyres!

(https://www.rescogs.com/wp-content/uploads/2022/02/Mint-1982-Yamaha-TZ500-Racer-Up-For-Auction-Side.jpeg)

https://www.rescogs.com/2022/02/zero-mile-mint-1982-yamaha-tz500-racer-up-for-auction/ (https://www.rescogs.com/2022/02/zero-mile-mint-1982-yamaha-tz500-racer-up-for-auction/)

Fork, I hate to think of how much that will go for.  :o :o

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bird on February 12, 2022, 04:08:55 PM
Fork, I hate to think of how much that will go for.  :o :o

Sent from my CPH1879 using Tapatalk

Though no estimate has been placed on it, the model comes just a month after Collecting Cars broke the record for setting a new world record for a Japanese bike at auction - a Honda RC213V-S still in its original flight box - to the tune of £182,500
Post by: Foo on February 13, 2022, 05:50:28 PM
Mick talking about those crazy beasts just recently.  ;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UnXvmiFNT8s&t=59s (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UnXvmiFNT8s&t=59s)

Title: August Motorcycle Swap Meet- Nth Brissie
Post by: Steffo1 on July 16, 2022, 11:23:44 AM
FYI

http://www.hmccq.org.au/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Pine-Rivers-Swap.png?fbclid=IwAR2bOiWRdzn1nJc9kpNvnUNHK4940eM0KWsGtIHTg60SPujtzU3yyZlGSLM (http://www.hmccq.org.au/wp-content/uploads/2022/06/Pine-Rivers-Swap.png?fbclid=IwAR2bOiWRdzn1nJc9kpNvnUNHK4940eM0KWsGtIHTg60SPujtzU3yyZlGSLM)
Title: Re: August Motorcycle Swap Meet- Nth Brissie
Post by: Bird on July 16, 2022, 12:39:59 PM
is that the price, or the phone number ???

https://www.classicmotorcyclesales.com.au/product/honda-nr750-oval-piston-1994/ (https://www.classicmotorcyclesales.com.au/product/honda-nr750-oval-piston-1994/)

(https://www.classicmotorcyclesales.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/honda-nr750-750x422.jpg)
Post by: Foo on July 16, 2022, 05:39:24 PM

https://www.classicmotorcyclesales.com.au/product/honda-nr750-oval-piston-1994/ (https://www.classicmotorcyclesales.com.au/product/honda-nr750-oval-piston-1994/)

(https://www.classicmotorcyclesales.com.au/wp-content/uploads/2020/04/honda-nr750-750x422.jpg)

WTF?  :o :o

Post by: Steffo1 on July 16, 2022, 06:26:18 PM
Bargain!! ;D

https://youtu.be/TgEm6_X46Y8 (https://youtu.be/TgEm6_X46Y8)
Post by: Foo on July 16, 2022, 07:14:59 PM
Bargain!! ;D

https://youtu.be/TgEm6_X46Y8 (https://youtu.be/TgEm6_X46Y8)

:o It maybe a rare one but I still prefer the VF1000R.  :cup:

(https://assets.shannons.com.au/GE0VV84N3B6A2ZJ/TE3534EGS4L3SD7/8hpx7gdymoap92xt/jpg/2400x1800x3/vehicle/1984-honda-vf1000r.jpg)

Post by: NZMarkb on July 16, 2022, 07:42:31 PM
That’s a real pice of modern day history 👍👍👍
Just wish I had the money🤔
Post by: Bird on July 16, 2022, 08:16:57 PM

(https://assets.shannons.com.au/GE0VV84N3B6A2ZJ/TE3534EGS4L3SD7/8hpx7gdymoap92xt/jpg/2400x1800x3/vehicle/1984-honda-vf1000r.jpg)
There were 5 of them in our small town when they came out, also 2 Red F2F's... Loomy still owns 3 not his original one but bought in recent years.

Horribly expensive things to work on and almost more expensive to rebuild engine than they were worth :(
I had a 750FD but suffered from the cam issue they all had :( awesome bike when it was going
Post by: Spada on July 17, 2022, 07:52:28 AM

from memory, they were about $75k new in 1995. In that ere they were pure exotica, but I think I'd rather an RC30.
Post by: achjimmy on July 17, 2022, 09:18:20 AM

Simply gorgeous , wasn’t a lot of 500s around either . I’ve been chasing a tz350 for ages and they are just getting more and more expensive . Wonderful era of race bikes thou
Post by: Bird on July 17, 2022, 11:01:45 AM
Quote from: achjimmy
Simply gorgeous , wasn’t a lot of 500s around either .
Last I heard Mountys one is sitting in a shed at his old mans place untouchced since the early 90s when he binned it at Oran Park

I’ve been chasing a tz350 for ages and they are just getting more and more expensive . Wonderful era of race bikes thou
only got 2500 for mine when I sold it when I came back from USA :( Wasnt my favorite track bike with such a narrow powerband
Post by: Bird on July 21, 2022, 12:00:43 AM
Here ya go then Foo! Looks tidy too...
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/134168588154 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/134168588154)
Post by: NZMarkb on July 21, 2022, 04:03:51 AM
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/134168588154 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/134168588154)

In the mid to late 90's you could buy a nice one of these for around 4k
FZR100's were the same (I had a nice one of them) :cheers:
Post by: Foo on July 21, 2022, 10:31:01 AM

Nice.  8)

There's a Honda 900 F2B below it also but I can't figure out copy n paste on the laptop.  :-[ Had one from brand new and then another second hand one some 10yrs later, they were nice to ride.  ;D

Post by: Bird on July 21, 2022, 10:44:18 AM
Nice.  8)

There's a Honda 900 F2B below it also but I can't figure out copy n paste on the laptop.  :-[ Had one from brand new and then another second hand one some 10yrs later, they were nice to ride.  ;D

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/204033909616/ (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/204033909616/)
Post by: Bird on July 21, 2022, 10:47:11 AM
Quote from: achjimmy
Simply gorgeous , wasn’t a lot of 500s around either . I’ve been chasing a tz350 for ages and they are just getting more and more expensive . Wonderful era of race bikes thou
What about a 250....
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/255635374940 (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/255635374940)

or if ya cashed up...
(https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/yBMAAOSwQqhi05jB/s-l1600.jpg)
Post by: Brett on July 21, 2022, 11:38:36 AM
This was my favourite bike, should have never sold it.

2013 CVO Breakout with a built 117cu motor fed by a pro charger.
Post by: Foo on July 21, 2022, 11:56:48 AM
https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/204033909616/ (https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/204033909616/)

Yeah that's it. I sold mine with 14000klms on it and in immaculate condition. The bloke that bought it, wrote it off two weeks later and only the rear wheel was salvageable.  :o

Post by: gronk on July 21, 2022, 01:08:03 PM
My dad’s last bike was a VFR750…..sold it when he realised he was losing the touch…at 81 yrs old.

Cousin used to race a Ducati 250 at Oran Park and Amaroo back in the day…..out handled the Yammies but had no power. Still has the bike.
Post by: Foo on July 21, 2022, 01:23:48 PM
My dad’s last bike was a VFR750…..sold it when he realised he was losing the touch…at 81 yrs old.

Cousin used to race a Ducati 250 at Oran Park and Amaroo back in the day…..out handled the Yammies but had no power. Still has the bike.

There's a few blokes still riding around at that age but I guess the mindset needs to change a little to not wanna race into corners a bit hot.  :)

Be interesting too know what that Ducati would be worth now?

Post by: gronk on July 21, 2022, 03:30:20 PM
There's a few blokes still riding around at that age but I guess the mindset needs to change a little to not wanna race into corners a bit hot.  :)

Be interesting too know what that Ducati would be worth now?

Tell tale sign…get home and forget to put your foot down when stopped.

Cousin also has a Moto Guzzi 500 in pieces…..he’s 70yrs old and his “normal” bike is a Buell..
Post by: loanrangie on July 21, 2022, 04:51:52 PM

Awesome bikes, had a VFR750 myself.
 Almost cried when it went.
Love my trumpy though.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220721/ce016fc3c87c9ba276876e9dc1e91306.jpg)

Sent from my WP6 using Tapatalk

Post by: Foo on July 21, 2022, 05:23:30 PM
Tell tale sign…get home and forget to put your foot down when stopped.

Cousin also has a Moto Guzzi 500 in pieces…..he’s 70yrs old and his “normal” bike is a Buell..

Umm yeah, that's a very big sign.  :o

I would still love a Guzzi. When at Bathurst one yeah when Crosby was at his best, there was one floating around and the speed that he could get across the mountain was crazy and then one lap, he came unstuck and that bike and him did a major cartwheel across it with the bike totally destroying itself.  :'( Such a sweet sound came from the exhaust at  220kmhs at that point.  8) It was a 750 Le Mans.

Post by: glenm64 on July 21, 2022, 09:41:38 PM

I would still love a Guzzi. When at Bathurst one yeah when Crosby was at his best, there was one floating around and the speed that he could get across the mountain was crazy and then one lap, he came unstuck and that bike and him did a major cartwheel across it with the bike totally destroying itself.  :'( Such a sweet sound came from the exhaust at  220kmhs at that point.  8) It was a 750 Le Mans.

I've had this since I was 19. 1000cc with lots of mods all round. Still goes hard and is super reliable. Only problem is my knee starts complaining after 3-4 hrs in the saddle nowadays.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20220721/42273a5faebf62c01656a548184d4924.jpg)

Sent from my SM-X200 using Tapatalk

Post by: Foo on July 30, 2022, 07:27:56 AM
If this doesn't get you adrenalin flowing, nothing will.  ;D

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/294188845_5173808082738973_7711375691499340317_n.jpg?_nc_cat=110&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=gvnAKSqwTs0AX_Dd4Xe&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=00_AT_HCriJZetdO6PSKHKMtPnQEMyGb-U6qbAs3C4snnKeTQ&oe=62EA0389)

Post by: Bird on July 30, 2022, 07:59:09 PM
If this doesn't get you adrenalin flowing, nothing will.  ;D

(https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/294188845_5173808082738973_7711375691499340317_n.jpg?_nc_cat=110&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=5cd70e&_nc_ohc=gvnAKSqwTs0AX_Dd4Xe&_nc_ht=scontent-syd2-1.xx&oh=00_AT_HCriJZetdO6PSKHKMtPnQEMyGb-U6qbAs3C4snnKeTQ&oe=62EA0389)

Shit hot photo... love to go there one day
Post by: Foo on July 31, 2022, 03:15:08 AM
Shit hot photo... love to go there one day

One of my mates ticked it off his bucket list this year. He said it was just mind blowing the speed that they went past you at.  :o He stayed with a bloke from our cycling days and was right on the course.  ;D

Post by: Spada on September 04, 2022, 01:13:45 PM
After almost 2 yeas gathering dust (life just got in the way), I finally got motivated to get back out there. Got a weekend away with some mates on the bikes next month so thought I'd give it a bit of a once over. New plugs, air & oil filter, new oil, brake & clutch fluids, radiator flush... and a good wash & polish. Short ride today and all is good  ;D

It's an '05 CBR1100XX that I've had since new. big list of modifications to set it up as a mile muncher -
VFR bars, Fireblade rear shock and heavier progressive springs in the front, cruise control, UHF, LED light upgrade & LED spotlights, touring screen, heated grips, GPS, Starcom intercom system, custom seat, givi panniers, scottoiler, front fender extender, radiator protector & rear hugger.
Post by: NZMarkb on April 01, 2023, 08:06:12 AM
Look what’s under my EzUp
IMG]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230331/be3132f31f9683e89a1275b05039b32d.jpg[/img]

Post by: NZMarkb on April 01, 2023, 08:26:11 AM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230331/d8a32e2d909709e9cd2fe11db1d5c627.jpg)
Last weekend at Pukekohe
The race track is no more, horse racing only now
I’m riding the 350LC

Post by: NZMarkb on April 01, 2023, 08:37:59 AM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230331/d0b8005314dfc2b1c85641c29bb59275.jpg)
Look what’s under my EzUp

Post by: Foo on April 01, 2023, 11:11:35 PM
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230331/d8a32e2d909709e9cd2fe11db1d5c627.jpg)
Last weekend at Pukekohe
I’m riding the 350LC

The widow maker.  ;) Funny how the RD 400 was a much easier bike to ride.  :o

Post by: Spada on April 03, 2023, 01:11:06 PM
The Brittan is pure MC porn, and there ar'nt may RD's left alive these days. those ones look mint.
Post by: NZMarkb on April 03, 2023, 03:16:42 PM
There were 2 Britten’s there on the day
Both did laps and lead the parade laps :cheers:
Post by: Bird on April 03, 2023, 03:44:43 PM
The widow maker.  ;) Funny how the RD 400 was a much easier bike to ride.  :o

Thats a beautiful 350B there in blue.. Would be a rare bike... The LC aint bad either!

Post by: NZMarkb on April 03, 2023, 04:08:24 PM
Thats a beautiful 350B there in blue.. Would be a rare bike... The LC aint bad either!

We just finished the air cooled a few weeks ago
She runs like a clock
Neither are full restos, but rather tidied up survivors
Built to be ridden
Post by: Bird on April 04, 2023, 10:11:01 AM
Last weekend at Pukekohe
Is that where they did the drifting? Was watching some awesome drifting from UnZud on tele few months ago... i thought it was closing down...? or is that elsewhere

edit: https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/sport/2022/07/iconic-pukekohe-park-raceway-to-close-as-motorsport-venue-as-horseracing-use-expands.html (https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/sport/2022/07/iconic-pukekohe-park-raceway-to-close-as-motorsport-venue-as-horseracing-use-expands.html)
Post by: NZMarkb on April 04, 2023, 10:19:40 AM
Is that where they did the drifting? Was watching some awesome drifting from UnZud on tele few months ago... i thought it was closing down...? or is that elsewhere

edit: https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/sport/2022/07/iconic-pukekohe-park-raceway-to-close-as-motorsport-venue-as-horseracing-use-expands.html (https://www.newshub.co.nz/home/sport/2022/07/iconic-pukekohe-park-raceway-to-close-as-motorsport-venue-as-horseracing-use-expands.html)

Yes that's the track
A lot of history gone, like so many other tracks  >:( >:(
Post by: Bird on April 04, 2023, 10:54:11 AM
A lot of history gone, like so many other tracks  >:( >:(
Same here.. Oran Park, now a housing estate,  Amaroo few houses but you can pretty much last time I google earthed you could nearly see the outline of the track still and Wakefield which is in the country is hanging on by its last few teeth