General => General Discussion => Topic started by: McGirr on September 25, 2011, 06:03:00 PM

Title: What content do you want in a 4wd or camper trailer magazine !!
Post by: McGirr on September 25, 2011, 06:03:00 PM
Interesting to read how many subscribers to magazines whether its 4wd or camper trailer magazines are not happy with the content. Here is your chance to say what you want to see or read in them to make them worth the money. I too have not renewed my membership in some magazines.

Do you like the free gifts or perceived value in subscribing such as saving money !!

This is not an opportunity to rubbish them but to give honest feedback that would make you re invest in them.

I have no affiliation with any magazine.

Title: Re: What content do you want in a 4wd or camper trailer magazine !!
Post by: D4D on September 25, 2011, 06:08:55 PM
I like reading reader's campers for the mod ideas, trip reports to not common places, I only re-subscribed because they did a 12 month deal for $60. I do watch the DVDs when the destination interests me.
Post by: JCOJ on September 25, 2011, 07:00:04 PM
One thing I would like to see is "How long it took to erect as seen photographed" - and this is done from the time they touch the hitch to the time they are ready for the photographs.  Not like the Trak Shak up in 2 minutes video where the ropes and pegs are convenient already banged in and are the right length and the poles already sitting on the ground prior to the clock starting.  I wish I could rock up to a campsite with my pegs and poles already in.

I too like the campers mods, but would go further and do the complete set up of both their 4by and campertailer.
Post by: BigJules on September 25, 2011, 07:17:58 PM
I like the trip reports and also the DIY segments.

The DVDs are usually entertaining.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on September 25, 2011, 07:40:04 PM

Excellent Idea McGirr! 

So I'd like to read:

Camping articles that are more than "we drove there, we camped here, we drove here, we went home ... what about the local history, natural features ... other reasons to go than just drinking beer and extreme 4wd-ing as some of us do neither.  Stay away from The Simpson, GRR, Canning, The Cape, Coffs, Vic "high" country, Fraser, particular 4x4 parks ... I'm sure there are more places than those to report on and they've been "done to death" ... there is thousands of k's between them ... and I feel sure you can camp somewhere in between.  Agreed that many of us save for years to do the one Big Trip of a Lifetime, but we are all doing those little quick insignificant trips in between more often than not.  I would like to hear more about those.

Reader Modifications:  these are fantastic!  There is always something that can be done better by someone who actually goes camping and has thought things through well to suit the lifestyle.  Save some mod's for other issues though.  A full article on everything one bloke modified can become rather boring, if he's basically changed everything on his camper.  Stick with things that make camping easier or more fun or less frustrating ... if that makes sense.

If the competitions state "must have people and your camper in the photo" then don't award the winning prize to someone who hasn't complied to the rules.  Don't make the prize something we probably already have ... what's wrong with making the prize a list we can choose from ... like a kayak for two or a GPS mapping pack or a "goodie bag" of assorted products or a dunny or a fancy invertor ... but we get to pick which one?

Cut back on the advertising.  I do understand it pays the bills, but it's hard to find 10 pages of articles amongst 50 pages of adverts.

Love the DVD's (and the fact you can just play the "travel" part without having to see all the boring bits.  Can you try to get the volume up to television standards ... I don't have a tele remote any more and it's a PITA to have to adjust it continually as I don't have any slaves kids to change it for me.  Yeah I might be a tad lazy there, but I think it's a valid issue.

Don't keep changing the price just because you added a DVD or stubbie cooler this month that doesn't usually come with the mag.  If you throw it in, then the extra expense is your worry and changing the price of your mag is just annoying for the consumer.

Ensure your editor reads the articles and looks at the added maps and such.  It's embarrasing (for your mag) to read about a place to visit in Qld and the map shows it in Vic.  If you are giving us a map to see, please make it legible and/or larger.  A tiny little map with itsy bitsy writing on it makes it difficult to see where you are talking about ... not all of us have 50/50 vision or can find our glasses  ;D

I'm as keen as the next camper to see what's new on the scene, so why are you making a small page or two at the back for all the wonder inventions that can afford to "advertise" in your mag.  Jump out on a limb and feature some of these items so we can see how they might be used, rather than giving us the advertising speal and a photo of the item.

I could probably come up with more, but my fingers are getting tired ...

Post by: bussoboy on September 25, 2011, 08:45:30 PM
I find myself buying the Caravan magazines because they have so much more on the area they are going too, not just the how they got there. I'ld like to see some stuff about regular 4wd's and the places they can go, not about the rock climbing 6" lifted monsters they think we all drive.

CTT need to start making DVD's on travel, mods etc.not the rolling adverts for GIC, Jimboomba, Xtrail, Complete Campsite etc that they currently run - I mean most of us that buy the mag have already got a CT and I for one would like to know what to do with it rather than what they think I should of bought

just my 2 cents worth
Post by: MDS69 on September 25, 2011, 09:05:28 PM
further to what has been posted already, if you could get an honest no holds barred opinion, a report on different CT's 12-24 months down the track by the purchasers. Maybe topics covered could be, ease of set up, what you like/don't like, manufacturer support/after sales service/warranty issues (seems to be a hot topic lately), mods you have done and why.
I don't think the majority of road tests go far enough.

kit_e has covered quite a few good ideas too.
Post by: DeLuxHiLux on September 25, 2011, 09:09:53 PM
Yeah, how about something new, something based on the real world and the vehicles most people drive, and not Rock Crawling machines. Show me how to do a mod at home, not a full mechanical workshop (or at least tell us what the get done professionally)

Some unbiased reporting based on an honest opinion, not the sized of the advertisers cheque book. if its crap, say so!!

Mods done by real people to improve their experience with their campers and trucks, not some crazy 6" lifts and "converting your live axle trailer to Independant trailing arm airbag suspension in 20mins with a Leatherman and a roll of Gaffer!"

Comparo's are great as long as the bias rules as mentioned eariler apply. Maybe even some owner "interviews" about what they use, why they use it, what they have done to it and why, and what they plan to do. One of these articles per issue would be great. Using a template of questions as well as a p[art where owners get to give their opinion on their rig

And make a subscription worth while. 12 for the proce of 10 or the like. Makes it worth subscribing.
Post by: barneys on September 25, 2011, 09:13:56 PM
what kit e said  kit e have you looked at (on the road) you mite like it
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2011, 09:18:31 PM
Quote from: Kit_e_kat9
Cut back on the advertising.  I do understand it pays the bills, but it's hard to find 10 pages of articles amongst 50 pages of adverts.
While we all agree, you'd be happy to pay 5x the cover price? I struggle to see value in paying the current price. Most wouldnt pay more per and then the magazine would go under. its my dream in a mag too, but won't ever happen. but there are other options...

My wishes
 - have the Content page on the inside of the first page (not inside the cover), not adverts. You open the mag, you wanna find that thing shown on the cover, you dont want to have to battle to find it. Table of contents should be first thing you see.

- bung all the ads at the back of the magazine, they used to do this, it worked really really well, with an index of the adverts EG: batteries, lights, trailers, etc..

- get all the articles at the front of the magazine - get people interested in reading.

- submitted articles on trips - try and make them to different places. We have all read about 1290840129384023894089 trips to the High Country.

- followed by the "tests"... But instead of making it a 1.5page quick speil really go into things - if your unsure of indepth buy yourself a car magazine from the 1970's and see how they used to do tests - they were usually 10 pages with all the nitty gritty. Each test should have at least 1 photo of the trailer from each side - same inside and underneath. No photo's of the little tester bloke with the trailer hooked to his GU while he is leaning on a fence pointing at a tree. Thats not any use.

- if you find something in a test on an item that is real Shit, say it how it is... dont sugar coat it.

No chance of any of it happening, but you asked.

Quote from: bussoboy
I'ld like to see some stuff about regular 4wd's and the places they can go, not about the rock climbing 6" lifted monsters they think we all drive.

Quote from: DeLuxHiLux
Yeah, how about something new, something based on the real world and the vehicles most people drive, and not Rock Crawling machines.
but then the hardcore 4wders and non tourers will not buy the mags cause bolt on bandits are of no interest to them.

This comes up every time theres a thead like this, its impossible to please everyone
Post by: DeLuxHiLux on September 25, 2011, 09:36:00 PM

but then the hardcore 4wders and non tourers will not buy the mags cause bolt on bandits are of no interest to them.

This comes up every time theres a thead like this, its impossible to please everyone

I get that people have different interests, but dont assume we all drive some crappy 6" lifted, 350 Chev machine with rock sliders, double diff locks and fron and back winches! I enjoy 4x4ing, andeven though my idea of a good time involves more driving than winching, it doesnt mean that they need to fill the mag from front to back cover with these machines. If i had one of these trucks, id buy a mag dedicated to this type of vehicle. A CT mag should appeal to the mainstream market which i'd have thought was tourers and people with mildly modd'ed toenhance safety and bush capability trucks, not competition rock crawlers.

And I too an sick of the pic of  3 knuckleheads standing and pointing at a truck/trailer/tyre/air compressor/winch. It is totally pointless and just means that the "writer" (I shudder to use the journalist) has to write less as more column inches are taken up by pics!
Post by: dno on September 25, 2011, 09:36:21 PM
I'd like to see some themed trips.
Maybe river fishing.
Weekends in the swag.
Weekends or trips away prospecting.
Trips away shooting.
I'd also like to see maps of roads and tracks traveled and more input on the history side of an area.
Would also like to have a list of real world questions that all story writers answer,something like.
Faverite mod you've done.
Whats the next mod on the list.
Best tyres you've run.
Favorite destination.
What trip do you plan to do but haven't done yet.
Theres a few more that could be added.
Post by: Bird on September 25, 2011, 09:38:42 PM
Quote from: DeLuxHiLux
I get that people have different interests, but dont assume we all drive some crappy 6" lifted, 350 Chev machine with rock sliders, double diff locks and fron and back winches!
They dont. Thats what sells magazines.

Dont assume that all 6"lifted 4wds are crappy.

point being that your arguement is the exact arguement that the other side of 4wding have towards your idea of 4wding.
Post by: bussoboy on September 25, 2011, 10:12:56 PM
my arguement is EMG have "extreme 4wd" for the hard core guys.................why do they need to make the flagship mag mainly extreme as well?

surely they can throw tourer built 4wd's into the mix a bit more often?

i don't have a problem with the big rock crawlers (unless they chew up the track i want to drive down), i just don't aspire to make my ute into something i need a rope ladder to get into

surely i cant be alone in this?
Post by: Prado BB on September 25, 2011, 10:24:15 PM
I was going to simply post that "can of worms" pictures again, but really, can we all see now how hard it is with all these different tastes, wants and needs? 
Post by: bert56 on September 26, 2011, 05:27:16 AM
Most articles in 4wd magazines are either about toyotas or nissans. I know there is a majority of these out there but how often do you see a good article or follow up on a Ranger, BT50, Triton or any lesser know 4wd.

Bert
Post by: Heiny on September 26, 2011, 06:06:44 AM
Most articles in 4wd magazines are either about toyotas or nissans. I know there is a majority of these out there but how often do you see a good article or follow up on a Ranger, BT50, Triton or any lesser know 4wd.

Bert
I totally agree with you Bert, even the possibly 3rd best selling 4x4 the Pajero never gets a mention and this would give the magazine's more material to write about
Post by: hookedon4wding on September 26, 2011, 06:55:27 AM
I'd like to see some consideration taken to vehicle safety when comparing vehicles. It's never a factor and it should be. Especially when singing the praises of the benefits of old against new vehicles.

Likewise a new 70 Series might be tough and simple blah blah but no ABS, TC, side airbags (they've only just received front airbags) etc. This should count against it heavily in comparisons with safer vehicles. Especially when considering the high number of high speed kms involved in serious touring.

Oh and no more f'ing GIC ads, advertorials or taking the GIC bloke on every DVD trip! Over exposed much...

Ah, now I feel better :)
Post by: Gunna Do on September 26, 2011, 07:13:51 AM
Much much better maps of the areas travelled, maybe even full page maps with a bit of detail.  Very hard to see the detail on most.

And more articles with modified Patrols. ;D ;D  Can't get enough of this sort of thing, but then again that's what I own and that's what interests me, much the same as others would like articles on other brands of 4bys.

I would much rather buy a magazine worth $10.00 with 30 pages of adds, than buy one worth $15.00 with 20 pages of adds.  It's a fact of life, magazines need adverts to offset the cost of production.  How hard is it to turn the page over when there is an add on it?  Some of these adds can give you other options on jobs you are doing or things you want to buy, as not everyone can drop their 4by off at the local ARB shop and pay to have all the work done, the same as some of us don't own a brand new 4by which doesn't require any maintenance outside it's service periods, the same as some of us use our 4bys for what they were built for, not just running up to the local supermarket, and so things go wrong which require ideas on fixing or making stronger or better.

Everyone's interest and wants are different.

This thread seems to be slowly swinging its attention and complaints towards the 4WD Action magazine which I would like to think wasn't McGirr's original intention.

What content do you want in the mags, not what are the mags doing wrong?
Post by: Redback on September 26, 2011, 08:09:27 AM
I prefer reading the trip reports in all the forums I visit, gives you a better idea on what places are like without the bias reports on places and items that sponser the magazines, trek notes and GPS points are much better and more accurate, there are more photos and much more deverse types of vehicles and campers.

I'll only read a mag if it's given too me.

Post by: hookedon4wding on September 26, 2011, 08:14:37 AM
I prefer reading the trip reports in all the forums I visit.

Post by: Bird on September 26, 2011, 09:53:05 AM
Quote from: Gunna Do
How hard is it to turn the page over when there is an add on it?

Simple, but the next 2 pages will be full of ads... and the 2 after.
Post by: cdustbehindme on September 26, 2011, 01:20:50 PM
long weekend trips with a small map or pic of where it is in aus.... dont know how many times i have to do google searches or read 3/4 of the article to work out if the place they are talking about is within driving distance or on the other side of the country...  ???

mods are great and other teckky stuff

funnily enough i always really enjoy the pics of other readers and what they are up too....

pics are always good so you can see why you are going there (not all of them of the 4wd, good to see the countryside your going there to look at), pictures tell a thousand words....  :cheers:

i reckon less emotion more info...  its great knowing that everyone had a great time, but what do you need to know to do the trip....

rough budgets on things could be good... even if its rough.... below $100  over $10,000  am I going to plan a trip to cape york to find out i havnt got ennough money to do it for ten years......  wow installing HID drivers is great but if i need to fork out over $500..... 

Post by: DANBRI on September 26, 2011, 01:57:02 PM
Unedited opinions, no need to bag products, just point out where they could improve. Upsetting an advertiser is a concern however, loosing credibility because of the obvious is a greater one. 4WDA has lost the ability to influence its audience.

More 'New Products' we all love to look at shiny stuff, related to 4wding or not.

Less pushing the same GIC crap, insulting our intelligence.

More humour in articles, less 'we went here, and then we did this, then a train came past' BORING. I seriously read the first paragraph and if it hasn't caught me by then, it gets binned. This is leasure reading, not study or scholar work that needs to be read and remembered. It needs to be entertaining, interesting, humorous and somewhat in depth (in depth could be detail or controversy).

Anyone submitting articles PLEASE, PLEASE do your best to make the story interesting, not just a trip report.

Post by: Traveller on September 26, 2011, 05:46:25 PM
I agree with Danbri, Lost and Bussoboy.

Keep the extreme stuff for the extreme mags.

I can remember when CTT did a lot of camper tests in each issue, mainly by Brendan Batty. I liked this because it meant that one person could compare the campers and you could judge what he really thought. The first thing I looked at was the box at the start of the article that showed the pros and cons of each trailer, but I noticed that stopped after one manufacturer took offence at their review. Now we only get the positives and no the true picture.

I realise GIC, Jimboomba, etc are paying the bills but please give us some variation. I know most people want family friendly soft floor reviews but there are a lot of couples now travelling (grey nomads and the soon to be), and they can have spending power at that stage in their life, so how about a few of the top end hard floor reviews.

Maybe if we only received DVDs every 2-3 months then the need to pack them with the same manufacturers might diminish, and reviews that stated the facts, not the advertising, might become more prevalent.

And, as said, more humour. I think Graham Cahill was a great presenter and writer, and is still quite good, but is slowly being pressured into following the set EMG line.
Post by: morgue on September 26, 2011, 08:14:59 PM
I agree with Danbri, Lost and Bussoboy.

Keep the extreme stuff for the extreme mags.

I can remember when CTT did a lot of camper tests in each issue, mainly by Brendan Batty. I liked this because it meant that one person could compare the campers and you could judge what he really thought. The first thing I looked at was the box at the start of the article that showed the pros and cons of each trailer, but I noticed that stopped after one manufacturer took offence at their review. Now we only get the positives and no the true picture.

I realise GIC, Jimboomba, etc are paying the bills but please give us some variation. I know most people want family friendly soft floor reviews but there are a lot of couples now travelling (grey nomads and the soon to be), and they can have spending power at that stage in their life, so how about a few of the top end hard floor reviews.

Maybe if we only received DVDs every 2-3 months then the need to pack them with the same manufacturers might diminish, and reviews that stated the facts, not the advertising, might become more prevalent.

And, as said, more humour. I think Graham Cahill was a great presenter and writer, and is still quite good, but is slowly being pressured into following the set EMG line.

That was one of the reasons why I stopped the subscription, I was sick of those bloody GIC ads and the other cheap trailer manufacturers....plus the DVD's are old rehashed of Ruthy barrelling around the scrub and making a fool of himself, then saying it was fun...fun.
Yeh, lying under a 4wd in the dirt for hours on end, scraping knuckles and grease fixing wheel and suspension parts you have damaged on purpose because you have stupidity hit a rock that you saw. 
Post by: TroyE on September 26, 2011, 08:28:02 PM
I get that people have different interests, but dont assume we all drive some crappy 6" lifted, 350 Chev machine with rock sliders, double diff locks and fron and back winches! I enjoy 4x4ing, andeven though my idea of a good time involves more driving than winching, it doesnt mean that they need to fill the mag from front to back cover with these machines. If i had one of these trucks, id buy a mag dedicated to this type of vehicle. A CT mag should appeal to the mainstream market which i'd have thought was tourers and people with mildly modd'ed toenhance safety and bush capability trucks, not competition rock crawlers.

And I too an sick of the pic of  3 knuckleheads standing and pointing at a truck/trailer/tyre/air compressor/winch. It is totally pointless and just means that the "writer" (I shudder to use the journalist) has to write less as more column inches are taken up by pics!

the problem is, that the so called dedicated mags, are just as crap, and, I have a CT that will go every where my pootrol can! my tug would fit into the category of tuff tourer (only 3" of lift with 33" muddies (but I don't have lockers) high mount winch etc), and yes I like to go to the hard to get to places, a less modified 4wd just won't make it with out a struggle, so yes I like to read about some of the "rock crawlers" that you speak of, but I have a CT( all home make by me) and like to read articles on diy mods on them and the tug.

:cheers: troy
Post by: McGirr on September 26, 2011, 08:44:45 PM
Correct Gunna Do the idea was what information and features you would like to see in a magazine not bagging certain magazines. The thread was to hopefully get magazine companies to read and find out what we all want in them.

Advertising is a fact of life and pushing certain advertisers are always going to be there but look past that. Yes tyres, compressors, fridges and other tests will always be repeated as new models will always come on the market and I enjoy these comparisons.

I would like more readers trips with great photos as they are not swayed by advertisers. So here is your chance to do a trip report and send it to them like I have for this years Cape Trip.

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on September 26, 2011, 08:56:47 PM

And more cooking with camp ovens that don't include stew stew stew and camp oven tips too please ... nothing fancy like types of meat or cheese you can only find in some exotic deli in china town either ... real food using ingredients from the local store please or things we can catch along the way (yes I've done curried bunny before ... tastes like chicken  ;D ).

I know it's a bit National Geographics, but a decent map every once in a while would be nice too.  "Featuring the Kimberleys and here's a map!" maybe?

Tips on keeping the dust out or the food upright or the Fur Kids happy whilst camping (in fact can you feature a dog friendly place on occasion as some of us prefer those to actual kids ... no offense intended) or keeping the flies at bay or how to pack the car or the real reason a good long handled shovel is a must or how NOT to pack the roof rack once you've learned how to mount one in 5 easy steps ...

Fingers are tired again ...
Post by: TroyE on September 26, 2011, 09:17:16 PM
more local trips NOT just local to Brisbane, Sydney or Melbourne!!!!!!!!!!!!!  and the usual suspects Vic HC, coffs etc........
I live in north east Queensland, so maybe a few trips to the southern gulf country, or the basalt wall out near Charters, porcupine gorge or winton  for example, these are within 3-5 hours of townsville. and the odd dvd from CTA would be nice, and through in a map if your doing a major article on an area, so we can all plan our future trips, and give a rough budget for the trip. more readers rigs and trip reports and DIY mods/services, upgrades or installs. and most of what has been said before ;D less adds blah blah blah

troy
Post by: Redback on September 27, 2011, 08:27:19 AM
Correct Gunna Do the idea was what information and features you would like to see in a magazine not bagging certain magazines. The thread was to hopefully get magazine companies to read and find out what we all want in them.

Advertising is a fact of life and pushing certain advertisers are always going to be there but look past that. Yes tyres, compressors, fridges and other tests will always be repeated as new models will always come on the market and I enjoy these comparisons.

I would like more readers trips with great photos as they are not swayed by advertisers. So here is your chance to do a trip report and send it to them like I have for this years Cape Trip.

They would get a good idea by reading the trip reports in the forums, there are some humdingers in some of the forums.

Joff from Overlander (and here) ausastar and Bushie from AULRO (and here) Gunna Do and Darren from here to name a few.

What might get me to buy a mag would be, a more varied view of 4WDs and Campers, not just the same ol same ol jacked up Nissans and Toyotas, I wanna see other makes, Mitsubishis, single and dual cab utes, Land Rovers and Jeeps that are setup well for touring, I often go up to guys when I'm out touring around to check out the mods they have done to the rig and camper, half the mods on my Disco and camper are ideas I got from other setups and the majority of my mods are not from Land Rovers I've seen.

Post by: Bird on September 27, 2011, 10:23:15 AM
Quote from: McGirr
Advertising is a fact of life and pushing certain advertisers are always going to be there but look past that.
Obviously 90% of the people in this thread have spoken are suggesting what they dont want in the magazine and are hoping that the magazine people are reading and taking it into account, the major part of the mag is these ads or pushing certain products.

Why cannot all the ads be at the back of the magazine? Have the meaty stuff first. Shit last.

Yes tyres, compressors, fridges and other tests will always be repeated as new models will always come on the market and I enjoy these comparisons.
The issue is hardly anybody trusts what they write - you read that in everyone of these threads. Specially when its followed by massive advertising spreads.
When 2 different magazines in 2 mths both do the same 'indepth testing' on a product, say Spotlights for example ... when one magazine has product A being best and Z being worst in 1 mag, and Z being best and A worst in the other you have to have doubts...

I would like more readers trips with great photos as they are not swayed by advertisers.
agree
Post by: DannyG on September 27, 2011, 10:42:29 AM
I'm probably a bit different to most because I don't mind the advertising it gives me more pretty pictures of products I may or may not be able to afford to look at and read about.

Also when they do tests, lets say the compressor tests or the winch tests they done not long ago, I really like the trouble they go to to set the tests up and make it an even field for everyone.

For example, winching the same vehicle up the same hill using different winches, one fails and one doesn't. Do you really think they are lying to us and saying one failed and one didn't because of the advertising dollar?

I might be naive but I believe what they say happened during their tests!! 

And it makes good business sense to tell mr winch manufacturer that your winch just won our testing article so now is a good time to put a full page ad in just after the article??

I do understand what some people are saying in that certain products are pushed heavily and wont cop a bad wrap while the company that owns the products is a main contributor to the $$$$$$$$$$$$

Take GIC for example. You don't honestly believe they pay X amount of dollars for the enormous amount of advertising and exposure they get through the EMG magazines??  Personally I don't think so. I think they must have some sort of profit sharing arrangement in their 'partnership' with the magazines.
Id guess it is an arrangement that is worked out between the two parties for a period of time and then they work on the suck it and see scenario. GIC sell a lot of campers because of 4WD action then EMG get a nice little profit from those sales, win win all round............but I could be wrong??

Anyway I guess Im happy with the magazines I read, you cant please everyone. If I was to be critical, I personally like reading trip reports on forums.

Some of them are great reads. Written by mr average just like myself. Unbiased, tell it like it was type stories. I got bogged in soft sand because I couldnt be bothered airing down from 35 psi type thing....warts and all stories by real people.

Post by: TOY80ST on September 27, 2011, 11:13:40 AM
If you don't like em dont buy em. There is plenty of info on here. Infact there are a lot of people on here who put quite a lot of time into their reports and they also have the better wisdom than most journalists. I gave up buying a magazine a few years ago because it was just repeating itself. They then started doing comparo's on products and you could tell they were PAID comparo's. I bought the magazine a few years ago to see if it had changed. But what really got me was one bloke quoted what I should be doing because this certain mag said it was the way to get done. These magazines arent a bible and they should not be treated as such. People can be bribed and articles in some/ most magazine's reflect this. Though no one will ever own up to it.

Learn how to be thrifty and use what you have available. Life should be your experiences and not those of a magazine. We are all different and we all make up our one minds (some better than others) Sorry I can hear SWMBO talking :) .

Anyway sorry for that I know this thread was supposed to be about what you want in a mag.

If you are new to camping join a group of people who aren't and travel with them for a while. If you are new to 4wding join a 4wd club. There are clubs out there who like to just tour and camp with a little bit of low range work. Best thing I ever did was a 4wd training course. I had to try to bog a telstra 75 series on cable beach it wouldn't bog even in 2wd and 40psi in all tyres. Had fun trying though. They even taught me how to use a winch and other recovery equipment safely. These things are worth every penny and they have people in them who care that you are with them they take about $70 a year from you and a mag takes about $120 if your not subscribed.

Everything I want from a mag has already been said above. Index at front. Articles in middle and adds at back.

Cheers Paul.

I still buy a couple of mags but I search through them before I do to see if there is anything that I want to read.
Post by: Chippy76 on September 27, 2011, 02:34:14 PM
Ok so why dont we start an online MYSWAG mag ??? lol With articles contributed from the forum members?

I have become sick and tired of the obvious Cash for comment style reporting. Nothing seems to be a legit report anymore, they all seem to be a report on new products available from their (one assumes high paying) sponsors. If I want to buy a product , I will do the research myself. Not be swayed by a biased "report" in a CT mag.

I would love to see more trip reports to the smaller lesser known spots. Not the overcrowded- everyman and his dog there- cost a fortune- popular parks.

Readers Mods .... love them. some great ideas, many that I have pinched for myself.

and STOP rehashing old articles and passing them off as new content! That is criminal journalism in my eyes ......

I do think it would be a good idea to have a "test it and rate it" section on this forum, where we can do a REAL WORLD test on camping items (gennies, solar panels, cookware etc) and submit a report. Maybe some kind of template should be used ( to make it an even judging field)

Cheers Chippy :D
Post by: earle on September 27, 2011, 03:20:15 PM
Ok so why dont we start an online MYSWAG mag ??? lol With articles contributed from the forum members?

Since I found myswag I have stopped buying the magazines. Most of the articles I need are here, you just have to search for them a bit sometmes. :cup:
Post by: Bird on September 27, 2011, 03:24:15 PM
Ok so why dont we start an online MYSWAG mag ???
you have it already infront of you... its called the forum.
Post by: morgansmall on September 27, 2011, 03:28:18 PM
Whilst there's more info to be found on the internet, I enjoy the realityof reading a magazine, on the bus, at a campsite, waiting in the doctor's surgery whatever.  Last thing I want to do after staring at a computer at work for 8 hours is read more stuff on a screen.  

Anyway the kinds of stuff that would make Camper Trailer mags more interesting for me are:

The other things like new gear reviews, comparo's, are all good to stay, as long as they're honest and factual.

Post by: yogi on September 27, 2011, 03:35:27 PM
I hate seeing shinny new 4x4's with all brand new bit's fitted and then they go on to tell you how great the setup is .... it's brand new how the f#%$ would they know it never been off road ....... lol ..... I want to see a 4x4 that's done 100 000k's of hard touring then you can say what did or didn't work.

99% of the time I only watch the DVD and might flick through the mag once 8)

I would like to see more super tough CT destinations. Getting there is half the fun ..... One of the main reasons I bought a CT was to make the 4x4ing harder and more challenging.

Product comparisons are BS most of the time .... bit more honesty would be good.

Post by: HEM19X on September 27, 2011, 06:02:44 PM
Was disappointed with the latest [no 25?] CTT mag where over 60 pages were set aside as a buyers guide. Like many people, I have a CT, I'm not looking to upgrade anytime soon so to have a large part of the mag taken up with something I'm not interested in was a waste. Next time I think the buyers guide should be a separate suppliment.

Also go tired of the 4WD action repeating the tests again & again, besides how many times do we need to see Roothy "Do the Cape"?

Post by: Redback on September 27, 2011, 06:29:52 PM
I hate seeing shinny new 4x4's with all brand new bit's fitted and then they go on to tell you how great the setup is .... it's brand new how the f#%$ would they know it never been off road ....... lol ..... I want to see a 4x4 that's done 100 000k's of hard touring then you can say what did or didn't work.

99% of the time I only watch the DVD and might flick through the mag once 8)

I would like to see more super tough CT destinations. Getting there is half the fun ..... One of the main reasons I bought a CT was to make the 4x4ing harder and more challenging.

Product comparisons are BS most of the time .... bit more honesty would be good.

Come to the High Country with us and we can sort that out for you ;D

Post by: JCOJ on September 27, 2011, 07:37:25 PM
Was disappointed with the latest [no 25?] CTT mag where over 60 pages were set aside as a buyers guide.

I was really looking forward to this issue which incidentally had 'Collectors Edition' on the front cover.  I was expecting it to be a true buyers guide with a camper from every manufacturer out there, not just 5 manufacturers with every camper they have - most of which have already been reviewed in the last three editions of the mag - a very poor effort!

What I would like to see: Them stopping superimposing the stupid GIC logo everywhere they can!!!!!!!  It's on the backs of every trailer, it's even on the canvas and it is just too over the top!
Post by: Boo Boo on September 27, 2011, 10:12:00 PM
HEM19X .... when we were up there this year guess who we saw ...... lol ..... you had better get ready for a few more DVD's of Roothy doing the Cape .... with his new best mate from GIC ;D

Redback ...... sounds like a plan 8)

PS(Doh .... popsted from the wifes account how embarisment)
Post by: Bird on September 27, 2011, 11:00:05 PM
Quote from: Boo Boo
you had better get ready for a few more DVD's of Roothy doing the Cape ....
Gee.... let me rush out and subscribe.. they may give out a free GIC sticker with every subscription to make it worth while.
Post by: camdyson on September 27, 2011, 11:03:44 PM
I stopped buying mags when I got my iPad - now I can read Myswag on the throne instead... ;D

For years I've kept the magazine publishers in business, but honestly the forums are so much better it's hard to see where the future of mags is. I think the smart ones will have to get online ASAP and ensure they have a good iPad- compatible product, coz that's reality now.

I read the newspaper on the 'pad now too. Me, a Luddite, so what hope for the hardcopy brigade in future! Advertisers can still help pay the bills online, if the web mag "sells" enough hits/subscriptions.

Not sure what I'll put in the waiting room in future though......

Cam
Post by: DannyG on September 27, 2011, 11:36:00 PM

I have become sick and tired of the obvious Cash for comment style reporting. Nothing seems to be a legit report anymore, they all seem to be a report on new products available from their (one assumes high paying) sponsors. If I want to buy a product , I will do the research myself. Not be swayed by a biased "report" in a CT mag.

I would love to see more trip reports to the smaller lesser known spots. Not the overcrowded- everyman and his dog there- cost a fortune- popular parks.

Readers Mods .... love them. some great ideas, many that I have pinched for myself.

and STOP rehashing old articles and passing them off as new content! That is criminal journalism in my eyes ......

I do think it would be a good idea to have a "test it and rate it" section on this forum, where we can do a REAL WORLD test on camping items (gennies, solar panels, cookware etc) and submit a report. Maybe some kind of template should be used ( to make it an even judging field)

Cheers Chippy :D

Chippy
I think your onto something there.

It may not need to be an online mag as such but how about a complete package of the forums best bits for each month or quarter or whatever.

You could have a couple of the best trip reports, maybe some updates on the CT's etc being built by members, show some the best mods that have been displayed on the forums. You could have a humour section where some of the one liners or funny things that happened could get put together in a nice little package. The list is endless really :)

Not everyone gets time to catch up on the happenings of the forum on a daily or weekly basis, so to be able to browse a dedicated 'highlights' section where all the best bits (as voted by the members?) are displayed could be a real good idea??

You could also do some product testing by real people who are totally unbiased. Geez you may even invite companies to advertise in that part of forum? Ok maybe not so popular, but someone has to pay for this place so it could be an outlet to offset some of the costs?

Could also be a bit time consuming but Im sure there would be volunteers??  LOL

Whatcha's reckon? Chippy your a bloody genius mate!
Post by: Sharpy on September 27, 2011, 11:45:02 PM
Saw his thread and just had to comment. My 4WD Monthly mags fill boxes and shelves with nothing to do with them? Mum and Dad kept buying annual subscription and greatly received and read in the down stairs ablutions room. Now updated to Camper trailer monthly, they are filling the recycle box as we type.
The "compares" were great to read until ARB fridge won over the Aussie Bushman Fridge >:(??? This was the end of the line as the obvious bias to sponsors ruled over common sense. Show me why the ARB fridge is better than the Bushman???
Bushman + cheaper, less current draw, better options and still good build????Sold out to the ARB rip off that is the ICON, read as people selling stuff to others who have no idea of 4WD and camper trailer needs.
Great forum answers all the questions no mag needed however dose not work in the down stairs loo ;D

Went to ARB Tempe and watched them sell new Prado lift kit, mud tyres, bull bar and etc to some one who described himself as 10% dirt road use only $12k. Fist and last time I go anywhere near that shop.

However agree forum at Myswag replaces the need for these easy reading mags :laugh
Post by: WilSurf on September 28, 2011, 10:25:34 AM
What I would like to read is a trailer review over a longer period.
Not a review where they took the trailer to the local caravan pak, set up the trailer, had a look inside and bring the trailer back to the showroom.
Have it hooked up to a car and drive for 3-4 weeks over bitumen, sand, dirt, rocks.
Post by: bert56 on October 05, 2011, 06:53:42 AM
I like most here don't buy the mazagines anymore. I just got sick of seeing the same things over and over. I bought mags when I first started to modify my truck hoping for good advise on what products work the best but what I got was information only on those that spent the most on advertising and not the best product. After awhile they lose all creditibily. Has anyone actually seen Roothy towing a GIC camper or camping in one.

Bert
Post by: TOY80ST on October 05, 2011, 07:09:44 AM
I like most here don't buy the mazagines anymore. I just got sick of seeing the same things over and over. I bought mags when I first started to modify my truck hoping for good advise on what products work the best but what I got was information only on those that spent the most on advertising and not the best product. After awhile they lose all creditibily. Has anyone actually seen Roothy towing a GIC camper or camping in one.

Bert

Funny thing about those mags. When they first started Roothy was the villiage idiot. Now he is their better article writer. Bring back Pat, Bring back Pat. ;D
Post by: bussoboy on October 05, 2011, 09:07:37 AM
Funny thing about those mags. When they first started Roothy was the villiage idiot. Now he is their better article writer. Bring back Pat, Bring back Pat. ;D

Didn't i see an e-mail the other day about Pat having his own magazine soon? (i'll have to look when i get home)........now that should be worth a read as his style of 4wding is far more appealling to me than the rock crawling lets take it to the edge and beyond type of stuff that most other magazines promote
Post by: xmasbaby67 on October 05, 2011, 09:27:29 AM
I would love to see more reader's trip reports as I find them more real life and not sponsored to the wazoo with plugs for every man & his dogs merchandise!!!!  Really over the amount of advertising within the stories....

More readers mods and ideas....love those bits the best.

More weekender trips that are not based 2hrs from a major city....I would like to see some of the unknown areas a bit closer to some major regional areas maybe.

Cheaper campertrailer reviews.....maybe it's just me but they seem to be reviewing some very expensive trailers and sometimes they are bordering on caravans.  I think maybe review one at the more expensive end and then do 2 low end of the market ones and 2 middle of the range trying to make the majority reviewed within first timers budgets as this is why most of us started buying the mag in the first place when we were looking to purchase or maybe upgrade just a little.
Was quite annoyed with the latest CT Touring mag as they had their 2011 buying guide which only included 3-4 brands and reviewed multiples of these brands......WTF that's not a guide that's paid advertising to me.

Less product promotion in stories and keep the ads to just that ads.  Seems like you are reading about the same products ALL the time.....
Post by: Bird on January 25, 2016, 09:47:48 AM
I want more fully paid for trips.
Post by: plusnq on January 25, 2016, 10:23:23 AM
I want more fully paid for trips.

Even if you have to drive a Toyota ?  ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on January 25, 2016, 10:37:12 AM
Quote from: plusnq
Even if you have to drive a Toyota ?  ;D ;D
I'd even drive a Dualcab Banana if it was all paid for!
Post by: plusnq on January 25, 2016, 12:12:16 PM

I'd subscribe just to watch that video  ;D ;D
Post by: haywas on January 25, 2016, 12:39:41 PM
Giddy, and thanks for raising his topic. I am another who loves to read owners mods.  A mix of locations that includes off road campers and on road campers, and perhaps more family park locations.

I totally agree about enough of the Kimberley, Fraser, brindies etc.

And, perhaps some views of the ladies section, the good sides of camping and the bad, to let them have their say, because most of us seem to be families.

Post by: jw2170 on January 25, 2016, 01:31:18 PM
Not so much the 4X4 mags, as I don't have a 4WD..Just drool on the pages....

However in the CT mags I would like to see more articles on great spots that you do NOT need a 4WD to get into...

There must be many CT owners out there that have no intention of trying to take their CT over "Gunshot"....

Post by: plusnq on January 25, 2016, 01:34:44 PM
Not so much the 4X4 mags, as I don't have a 4WD..Just drool on the pages....

However in the CT mags I would like to see more articles on great spots that you do NOT need a 4WD to get into...

There must be many CT owners out there that have no intention of trying to take their CT over "Gunshot"....

Awww. Now you're just picking on Oldmate  ;D
Post by: wakychapmans on January 25, 2016, 01:46:31 PM
quite a gravedig this thread... last post before today was October 2011.

but now I get to put my two cents worth...

Since the original thread asked people to *not* slag off specific magazines... I'll do my best to avoid that.

1) glowing multi page reviews of the magazines (or DVDs) trailer supplier isn't a review. It's pure advertorial. Please don't try to mix the two. We're not idiots and it just makes you look considerably less than credible.

2) pick your mags target audience. Then support them and stick to it. An example from the mountain biking scene (which I'm more familer with) would be Mountain Biking Australia magazine. It's targeted specifically to cross country, trail and endurance riding. And while the Downhill scene is quite popular... this magazine doesn't try to cater for it. Trying to cover all aspects of a pass-time usually ends up with none of them being covered well. and eveything being done half assed.

3) more readers mods. I like Camper Trailer Australia because of this very feature.

I'm sure there are more things to put here.... but this list will do for now.

Post by: Jakster1 on January 25, 2016, 03:57:21 PM
Real trips by real people
Readers rigs
Proper 4wds being used as intended
Tips and tricks
Mechanical section
And some nice looking ladies 😂

And less pointless ads, relevant and quality are ok to keep upto date with what's out there.
And stop pushing certain products trying to convince joe blow it's the absolute best ever and nothing  else compares because it's the latest and greTest
Post by: #jonesy on January 25, 2016, 04:49:15 PM
On the cover put when it was printed for eg Jan 2016. Not issue number #
I don't mind reading an old mag or even buying one that is a fa months old if it has an interesting article. I just read (and paid for 2016) a mag with Simpson Desert article talking about "this years" track condition. It mentions at one point 2013, and somewhere else in the mag it mentions 2015 but nothing about when it was printed. I don't mind if I know the info is a year or two old, l just want to know how old it is.
Post by: Rumpig on January 25, 2016, 08:47:35 PM
should we start calling you Mr 4X4 now or what?...actually i heard a rumour that old Patty boy might be in a bit of trouble for using that name, and a lawsuit may be ensuing over it  :o
Post by: plusnq on January 25, 2016, 08:55:47 PM
should we start calling you Mr 4X4 now or what?...actually i heard a rumour that old Patty boy might be in a bit of trouble for using that name, and a lawsuit may be ensuing over it  :o

You would think he had trademarked it, but maybe not.
Post by: Bird on January 25, 2016, 09:25:15 PM
Quote from: Rumpig
should we start calling you Mr 4X4 now or what?...
Actually... its Sir Bird to you.
Post by: Rumpig on January 25, 2016, 09:30:42 PM
Actually... its Sir Bird to you.
I already have a few other names i can use before that mate  ;D ;D
Post by: Bird on January 25, 2016, 09:32:25 PM
I already have a few other names i can use before that mate  ;D ;D
(http://image.spreadshirtmedia.com/image-server/v1/compositions/1910952/views/1,width=280,height=280,appearanceId=121.png/don-t-make-me-he-bitch-man-slap-you_design.png)

and just remember
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PTmHI3zehwY (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PTmHI3zehwY)
Post by: Muckinhell on January 26, 2016, 07:45:51 AM
On the cover put when it was printed for eg Jan 2016. Not issue number #
I don't mind reading an old mag or even buying one that is a fa months old if it has an interesting article. I just read (and paid for 2016) a mag with Simpson Desert article talking about "this years" track condition. It mentions at one point 2013, and somewhere else in the mag it mentions 2015 but nothing about when it was printed. I don't mind if I know the info is a year or two old, l just want to know how old it is.

Im with Jonesy, a date or even just the month the trip was taken on so we have an idea how it may be like at our present time we are thinking of doing the trip would be a real gain for info.
Post by: corndog on January 26, 2016, 01:04:05 PM
One thing is for sure and that is what I don't want to see in any mag. Anything to do with that idiot Roothy. So over him with his cooking and his plugging of bad camper trailer manufaturers.
Best thing he could do is drive off into the sunset and get lost.
Post by: austastar on January 26, 2016, 04:17:47 PM
  A few geo references,  even at the end of the article, would help in researching some of the interesting places.

Post by: Ozsnowman on January 28, 2016, 09:51:29 AM
I find myself buying the Caravan magazines because they have so much more on the area they are going too, not just the how they got there.

This! I get both Camper Trailer Touring and Caravan and Motorhome, and I only just end up skimming through camper trailer as there isn't much content in it any more :(. C&M has a lot more destinations, and some quite useful info, even for us camper towers
Post by: jw2170 on January 28, 2016, 09:53:10 AM
Awww. Now you're just picking on Oldmate  ;D

No way, just read his blog..... :cup:
Post by: Bird on January 28, 2016, 10:01:46 AM
Quote from: corndog
Anything to do with that idiot Roothy. So over him
x eleventy.. stuck in the 1970's with his bogan boozing attitude
Post by: muzza01 on January 28, 2016, 05:29:16 PM
Be great to have decent reviews of camping items that are not influenced by advertising. Refuse to buy any EMG mags for that reason.
Post by: #jonesy on February 14, 2017, 09:38:20 PM
I know it is an old thread.
I want real photos not staged shots.
I got baxk from Portland Sand Dunes this weekend and open the latest issue of a camping magazine and there is a small article on Portland. Complete with a picture of a camp set up in the dunes with tent etc. only thing is the camping is not in the dunes but a grassed area nearby.
Post by: Bird on February 14, 2017, 09:47:37 PM
I don't think anyone wants anything from magazines anymore.. Their era is over.
I don't know anyone who buys em. LOL!

You get better real world info online these days.

PS.. Portland is a great weekend away :)
Post by: DrewXT on February 14, 2017, 10:09:32 PM
I've found that Pat Callinans mag is the least staged, and they accept articles from everyday folks who send one in...

And yep, Portland is epic, I'm leading a trip there for our Club on the March long weekend... Can't wait!!

Sent from my Nexus 6P using Tapatalk

Post by: Malcur on February 15, 2017, 03:54:59 PM
I used to subscribe but stopped reading because I had a camper and was not interested in reading reviews of campers that did not adequately the bad points. I also have older eyes, and found that many mags were written on glossy paper, often with non-white background. I needed greater contrast between the words and the background.

Mal
Post by: #jonesy on February 15, 2017, 04:31:55 PM
I only get the mags as i was given a voucher for magazine subscription and it was the only thing I was interested in. I occasionally buy them when I am on holidays away so I have something to read while having a relax. But I have have found that the various mags are the exact same story regurgitated with a few different pics to make it look different.
Post by: Bird on February 15, 2017, 05:00:33 PM
Quote from: Malcur
I also have older eyes, and found that many mags were written on glossy paper, often with non-white background. I needed greater contrast between the words and the background.

Motorcycle magz were bad for this... mate writes for Aust Dirt Bike Mag, and I see them at his place, and black words on dark photos just make it impossible for old pricks to read...

I also dislike having to go to page 8-10 to find the index, as the first 7-9 pages are ads...