Author Topic: 4WD Touring Australia - Series 6 on YouTube (MySwag exclusive link)  (Read 8387 times)

Offline wakychapmans

Re: 4WD Touring Australia - Series 6 on YouTube (MySwag exclusive link)
« Reply #25 on: July 04, 2018, 03:11:00 PM »
4xoverland is awesome. When I first found it I binge-watched about 5-10 videos in a row.

Will have to check out Ronny Dahl and Gaving Gillett

Ronny did a trip across the Anne Beadel recently (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KREaSl8m8M0&t=300s) and the big trip before that was the Kimberly (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q1CUIY4_948&list=PLR6JepWZ7T69xCqtf2F3c-Q4XMXjBXAOG)
Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=58855.msg1064705#msg1064705
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.

« Reply #26 on: July 04, 2018, 04:06:15 PM »
Yep love Ronnys trips, But man they went to a lot trouble to go where they went in the Kimberly to catch SFA, great 4wding trip though,  Craig
« Last Edit: July 04, 2018, 04:19:45 PM by Craig Tomkinson »
The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans

« Reply #27 on: July 04, 2018, 06:30:30 PM »
I'm pretty much the same now.

I don't know about the rest of you... but I'm finding much better content now on Youtube.

Ronny Dahl - https://www.youtube.com/user/RonBacardi666/videos

4xoverland - https://www.youtube.com/user/4xforum/videos

and Gavin Gillett - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCM3lzi1dvOFbmi9fiMqktsw/videos

stream it to the big TV and relax...

Both Ronny and Andrew (4xoverland) do a heap of product reviews as well and they can sometimes be *very* brutally honest. (this is good thing)
i watch those myself....Expedition Overland and  The Road Chose Me are worth a look also, there's one other show I watch of a young couple in a Troopie getting around Indonesia, but I forget it's name right now.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #28 on: July 04, 2018, 06:42:32 PM »
Yep love Ronnys trips, But man they went to a lot trouble to go where they went in the Kimberly to catch SFA, great 4wding trip though,  Craig

I know right... NOT ONE FISH after all that work!
Wayne & Kyria Chapman

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #29 on: July 04, 2018, 06:46:31 PM »
i watch those myself....Expedition Overland and  The Road Chose Me are worth a look also, there's one other show I watch of a young couple in a Troopie getting around Indonesia, but I forget it's name right now.

thanks for that Rumpig... checking out The Road Chose Me now. Already watched the entire Alaska to South America run of Expedition Overland. Brilliant stuff.

Another good one (no voice overs though) is Geko Expeditions - https://www.youtube.com/user/geko4x4com/videos

Wayne & Kyria Chapman

Offline Annieandandy

« Reply #30 on: July 04, 2018, 07:06:03 PM »
Hey guys!
Along with a slot on Aurora this Thursday at 7pm and on Gem this Saturday at 8am, we're putting the full show up on YouTube each week so you can watch it whenever/ wherever you want.

As a special MySwag exclusive, here's the unlisted playlist for episode 1, which won't be properly live until this Thursday. I wanted to see what you guys reckon, and give you something back for all the support we've seen here over the years!

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?

list=PLgXpxJ0hcDl1aj9TEdbz80vbunIOT7lG_

Hey mate really enjoying these on YouTube at the moment. Having trouble finding it on the Aurora programme listing on Foxtel though.

Offline oldblade

• Porsche it's broken again
« Reply #31 on: July 04, 2018, 07:08:52 PM »
I get that ads make you  money and money keeps the world going around but there are much more subtle ways to advertise

example talk about the benefits of a bar and have an ARB bar on the car.

We all love watching our hobbies and our hobbies cost money get the vendors to supply equipment use it and abuse it but don't turn it into an infomercial and us Hobbiest will see it in action and buy it an not feel like we are being sold to

I am smart but stupid ;D

« Reply #32 on: July 04, 2018, 08:31:38 PM »
thanks for that Rumpig... checking out The Road Chose Me now. Already watched the entire Alaska to South America run of Expedition Overland. Brilliant stuff.

Another good one (no voice overs though) is Geko Expeditions - https://www.youtube.com/user/geko4x4com/videos
The Way Overland was the other name I was trying to recall earlier....think I have watched Geko Expeditions before, but will search it to see  :cheers:

« Reply #33 on: July 04, 2018, 09:55:26 PM »
Not being nasty but in fairness to the OP shouldn't this be discussed in another thread.  I had the impression he started this thread to allow swaggers access to his shows

Sent from my SM-T815Y using Tapatalk

The following users thanked this post: discoteddy, xcvator

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #34 on: July 05, 2018, 09:51:57 AM »
Not being nasty but in fairness to the OP shouldn't this be discussed in another thread.  I had the impression he started this thread to allow swaggers access to his shows

a very good point. Sorry Carlisle for the thread hijack.

I've started a new thread for 4wd/adventure YouTube stuff. Over here - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=54921.0
Wayne & Kyria Chapman

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
« Reply #35 on: July 05, 2018, 10:30:02 AM »
1st time I have watched your stuff, certainly is an interesting mix of an accent you have some words are very much Australian whilst others are very much American, thanks for posting it up though, I watch very little in the way of scheduled programming but watch a little online.
Yeah mate - that's why we are going this way. I don't watch TV anymore, I figured nobody else does either...
Living the Dream

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
« Reply #36 on: July 05, 2018, 10:35:58 AM »

It's your forum guys, and mine, and all of ours. We talk about what's near and dear. I'm here to be a part of the story, not the whole story.
In terms of the ad stuff...I get where you are coming from. It's no accident that we don't look like some of the other shows. And if I wear my heart on my sleeve sometimes (I actually really dig ARB, Toyota, Isuzu, MaxTrax, BFG, REDARC, etc) it's because I only use gear I'd buy. You'll never see me pushing Shit, and these days, it's pretty rare I'm pushing anything. Sometimes I need to let people know who is supporting me to get to do this stuff full time, but I'm doing that less and less these days, as you guys hate it and the sponsors are starting to understand that and let us do things the way we want.
Anyways...rant over! Thank you for watching the show! That's my dream, being out there as much as possible and trying to capture it in motion and images and words. Couldn't do it without you guys...you're my boss!

Carlisle
Living the Dream
The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #37 on: July 05, 2018, 10:40:19 AM »
... to get to do this stuff full time...

Carlisle

and if you'd like a full time sidekick... I'm pretty sure that you'll find a few volunteers here.

oh oh... me... me...

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
The following users thanked this post: Carlisle Rogers

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
« Reply #38 on: July 05, 2018, 10:50:12 AM »
and if you'd like a full time sidekick... I'm pretty sure that you'll find a few volunteers here.

oh oh... me... me...
Closest thing I got now is our photography tagalongs we're doing next year...
Living the Dream

Offline CorzaDry

« Reply #39 on: July 05, 2018, 12:17:41 PM »
Thanks for posting this up, I also watched it at work! Could you report back once you know viewer numbers? I am interested to see what numbers you get on TV vs on-demand viewing (eg Tenplay, 9NOW, youtube).

I am finding these days its hard to watch things during the day having a small child who won't sit still so I have been watching more shows via on demand, it so much easier being able to watch when I want.

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #40 on: July 07, 2018, 07:09:33 AM »
Hey guys!
Along with a slot on Aurora this Thursday at 7pm and on Gem this Saturday at 8amlist=PLgXpxJ0hcDl1aj9TEdbz80vbunIOT7lG_[/url]

Carlisle

for what it's worth Carlisle,

Aurora didn't have it listed in the on screen guide (on Foxtel) and although I tried to record the show that was on at that time... I got nothing.

Gem, has Skippy scheduled for 8am. But it's 7.08am now so I guess we'll wait and see...

Wayne & Kyria Chapman

Offline wakychapmans

4WD Touring Australia - Series 6 on YouTube (MySwag exclusive link)
« Reply #41 on: July 07, 2018, 07:59:44 AM »
Yeh

Nah

That's definitely the Bush Kangaroo

« Last Edit: July 07, 2018, 08:01:41 AM by MuruCycles »
Wayne & Kyria Chapman

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
« Reply #42 on: July 09, 2018, 12:48:53 PM »
for what it's worth Carlisle,

Aurora didn't have it listed in the on screen guide (on Foxtel) and although I tried to record the show that was on at that time... I got nothing.

Gem, has Skippy scheduled for 8am. But it's 7.08am now so I guess we'll wait and see...
This is another reason I'm not really keen to keep going with the TV guys. They've tried to screw us around so much over the years, dropped listings, changed airing times to accommodate My Kitchen Rules reruns (I wish I was kidding) and charged an arm and a leg for something that nobody really wants any more, like endless ad breaks.
The more we have to spend just to get a slot, the less there is for quality cameras, camera operators, fuel, flights, all the other things that make it possible to make something worth watching...
Even when something's on TV, most people record it for later anyway. I'm just not convinced the TV networks aren't bullShitting about the viewership numbers anyway to justify selling ads themselves.
Anyway...thanks for checking it out, guys! Any feedback is always welcome here, or privately via message!

Carlisle
Living the Dream

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
« Reply #43 on: July 09, 2018, 12:57:09 PM »
Also, as promised, link to Episode 2, more from Lorella Springs:

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLgXpxJ0hcDl0CQdWSDJsshQ64AdmyO3cT

Carlisle
Living the Dream

Offline JCAT

• Live for today, you may not be here tomorrow.
« Reply #44 on: July 10, 2018, 03:57:50 AM »
Just watched your latest episode Carlisle, fantastic.

Certainly makes me want to visit Lorella Springs. I am wondering if I can squeeze a visit in on my way home from the Cape next year.
2018 Prado GXL
2017 Vista Crossover XL

« Reply #45 on: July 10, 2018, 05:49:26 AM »
Really enjoying this series Carlisle. Thanks for sharing it with us.  :cup: :cup: :cup:   :cheers:

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
« Reply #46 on: July 10, 2018, 10:26:25 AM »
Just watched your latest episode Carlisle, fantastic.

Certainly makes me want to visit Lorella Springs. I am wondering if I can squeeze a visit in on my way home from the Cape next year.

Thanks mate! Stoked you guys are digging the new stuff!
Living the Dream

Offline Carlisle Rogers

• www.4wdtouring.com.au
« Reply #47 on: July 10, 2018, 10:30:04 AM »
Really enjoying this series Carlisle. Thanks for sharing it with us.  :cup: :cup: :cup:   :cheers:

No worries, thanks for watching! Heaps more coming, and some epic fishing once we get up to Arnhem Land!
Living the Dream