Author Topic: Wish me luck....  (Read 8475 times)

Re: Wish me luck....
« Reply #25 on: April 18, 2016, 12:27:37 PM »
Quote from: GeoffA
They were supposed to be here between 8am and midday. Still no show. Not a great start..... >:(
He probably doesn't have a GPS that goes that far into the wilderness.

my dude was right on time... Brilliant.. 5 mins in house, down the road for 10, back to house for testing and he left.

came in put the box on a wall inside that was an 'external' wall
then "WASNT ALLOWED" to touch anything else, EG: the fukcin modem! Nothing else.

Still waiting for everything else we were promised, like the TV etc... - and for our old internet to be cut off that was going to be cut off on March 31st cause we "HAD" to go to the NBN.. Lying ****s.

« Reply #26 on: April 18, 2016, 08:31:15 PM »
Well, the tech finally arrived at 1:30pm.......had issues at previous installs. Too bad if we had other things planned for the arvo.....

Took him about an hour to do his stuff, after I lifted the appropriate roof sheets. Went pretty smoothly.

Earlier we were getting 95 down and 35 up. It's now dropped back to 25 down and 35 up. Still seems to go OK at that. Will give it a day or so.....

For reference, the cable was getting 115 down and 2.5 up.

The TV thingy is here, but can't be bothered with it ATM.

Online GGV8Cruza

« Reply #27 on: April 18, 2016, 08:54:04 PM »
I wish I could get it on up here, our copper must have been laid 30 years ago

Offline sparksy

« Reply #28 on: April 18, 2016, 09:18:56 PM »
No worries mate, straight along the loungeroom gyprock in grey conduit.
She be right mate, no probs
Dont laugh Noel but thats how the solar installers were going to run the cables back to the switchboard from the inverter at my fathers house. They couldnt see a problem in fixing conduit along the cieling and then drill a hole in the plastered wall behind the switchboard. They got a bit upset when my father called me over and I told them no way.

« Reply #29 on: April 18, 2016, 09:28:01 PM »
Dont laugh Noel but thats how the solar installers were going to run the cables back to the switchboard from the inverter at my fathers house. They couldnt see a problem in fixing conduit along the cieling and then drill a hole in the plastered wall behind the switchboard. They got a bit upset when my father called me over and I told them no way.
Haha, not laughing mate, been a Telstra Tech for 27 years and have seen some doozies in my time. We were taught properly and in those days there was no time restrictions on installs so they were done correctly no matter how long they took. I think one of the best was a TV arial straight out a single brick external wall 2 stories up over the eaves to the antenna on the middle of the roof. Not even any fixings, just swinging in the breeze.

« Reply #30 on: April 18, 2016, 10:52:58 PM »
In 1987 a Telecom tech turned up to my townhouse to install a phone point from the kitchen to an upstairs bedroom....

3 Level dwelling; concrete slabs with brick walls; carpeted throughout ...

"No worries" -- all he did; (could do?); was to pull the carpet off the floor hooks around the walls - and chase the cable around all the walls in the dinning room adjacent to the kitchen; then down the hallway; up 14 srairs; and around the walls of the bedroom....     Job done....

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

« Reply #31 on: April 19, 2016, 07:58:46 AM »
NBN has been run through town  , & run it did . Not stopping to be connected up unless its to wifi but only if your out of town , not in town . l am  " in town " only by 500m but that counts  :'(                       :cheers:

« Reply #32 on: April 21, 2016, 07:56:32 PM »
It goes OK. No issues....

« Reply #33 on: April 21, 2016, 08:05:24 PM »
Now you're just showing off  :'( :'( :'(

« Reply #34 on: April 21, 2016, 08:08:47 PM »

I still hate you :)

« Reply #35 on: April 21, 2016, 08:17:35 PM »
BigPond cable had faster download, but the upload and ping are better now.
Don't really notice all that much difference to what we had, but it was forced onto us.....

Online GGV8Cruza

« Reply #36 on: April 21, 2016, 08:33:36 PM »

Your download is 30 times quicker than mine. I would not complain  :'(