Author Topic: 4.5kg Gas bottles  (Read 5232 times)

Offline ianola

4.5kg Gas bottles
« on: April 02, 2015, 03:03:11 PM »
Looking for information on where to purchase 4.5kg gas bottles. Having trouble finding a retailer in Cairns.  Main outlets like Bunnings & BCF only carry 4kg bottles and the larger sizes 9kg etc. Our Camper is fitted with 2x 4.5 kg gas bottle holders and bottles we own are close to expiry. Any suggestions would be most welcome.

Ecomate  RF hard floor camper
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

You have as much right to be wrong as you have to be right

Re: 4.5kg Gas bottles
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2015, 03:13:48 PM »
G'day mate, I bought a 4.5 kg from Mitre 10 here in Tully about 6 months ago.

« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2015, 04:01:33 PM »
Sorry mate, just went up and asked them and they don't stock 4.5 kg bottles anymore. ???
You may have to buy a couple of 4kg holders and fit the 4kg bottles.

« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2015, 05:11:03 PM »
Better off to go to a "swap and go" type place. If still in date no extra charge. POL fitting most places. Some servos also have the other fitting.
The following users thanked this post: ianola

Offline Mik01

• Scenic Rim 4x4
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2015, 06:50:06 PM »
Looking for information on where to purchase 4.5kg gas bottles. Having trouble finding a retailer in Cairns.  Main outlets like Bunnings & BCF only carry 4kg bottles and the larger sizes 9kg etc. Our Camper is fitted with 2x 4.5 kg gas bottle holders and bottles we own are close to expiry. Any suggestions would be most welcome.

You won't find them for sale anymore I believe.
I assume you are talking about the standard POL fitting, just slightly larger than 4kg?

If you're that attached to them, you can have them re-tested and re-stamped for another 10 years by a certified gas cylinder place. Try your local Elgas branch, hardware or whoever has your local distributor ship for domestic gas bottle deliveries. This won't be especially cheap.

Otherwise change to 4's as it's standard nowadays. I think you would just need to Line the inside of your holders with sticky foam to reduce the width, to hold the cylinders snug.
Contact me for special MySwag prices on 4x4 accessories!
http://scenicrim4x4.com.au

« Reply #5 on: April 02, 2015, 07:30:32 PM »
Mate , I've got 4kg bottles in my Ecomate, it just has a piece of pinch weld rubber around the ring that keeps them contained

« Reply #6 on: April 02, 2015, 09:07:16 PM »
Ian, I am busy for the next four days but I have all of next week off. I can come around with my bottle and show you what I did, otherwise there are pics and a description in my CT thread where I modified mine. Let me know if you need help.
Muz

Offline ianola

« Reply #7 on: April 03, 2015, 01:50:30 PM »
Thanks G,  Will have a look in Mitre 10 Cairns on the chance they might have 1 or 2 in stock. Failing that will consider the options of conversion to 4kg bottles with modifications to holders or testing and re-stamping existing 4.5kg bottles. Thanks also for checking out your local Mitre 10 store. Intend to follow up with Muzza 01 to see what solution he has engineered.
I & N
Ecomate  RF hard floor camper
Landcruiser Turbo Ute

You have as much right to be wrong as you have to be right

« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2015, 04:22:51 PM »
I would be ringing them first (Mitre 10). fair drive to find it's only a 4 kg bottle.