Author Topic: A woman's touch  (Read 6521 times)

Offline turbo ninja

A woman's touch
« on: January 20, 2015, 02:22:21 PM »
The title could be a little misleading :)  but what I am referring to is the great organisation and enthusiasm my wife puts into our camper trailer trips. I have never been on better equipped and more organised camp trips in my life - and I love it! Now before someone says "stop trying to earn brownie points on myswag" , ...disclaimer- my wife does not go on this website, so my praise is genuine and anonymous.

I have been a tent camper for many many years (only a few with my wife because she didn't really like 'rough' camping) It was years of camping with mates, bro in-laws etc. We always had decent gear and were reasonably organised but on reflection we only had the bare essentials. We winged it a lot but had a good time anyway. 

Now last year we purchased our first camper trailer - my wife was keen to camp, if it was in something more  comfortable than a tent.  Since our purchase, my wife and I  have been modifying and getting gear for it . Fun researching together and fun exploring the camping shops etc. It has given us a common interest and certainly created a new buzz/interest for our family (me, my wife and two boys) when we take the CT on a trip.

Now I better get to the point of the heading "a woman's touch". My wife has purchased so many little extra things that have made our camping trip more comfortable, organised, better equipped and the camper trailer is neat, tidy and well laid out. Everything has its place so we can just find things straight away. e.g cutlery drawer, pantry. The bed is super comfortable, thanks to quality sheets, pillows , doonas etc

In summary, I have to admit that my wife has made camping a touch classier and a better experience. It hurts me to say this! I am only in my early 40's - I hope it doesn't sound like I'm getting soft. I still have the 'rough-as-guts' camp out with mates, where a fishing rod, swag, some sausages and beer is all that is needed (a stubby holder looks too organised! lol) but I just want to see what others think of their wife's organisation......... a good thing like I am experiencing? :angel:  annoying because it is too clean and tidy and feels like home?  >:D  be interested to hear some feedback from both husbands and the clever wives out there.   - turbo ninja  ;D
« Last Edit: January 20, 2015, 02:43:17 PM by turbo ninja »
Drive in: 2012 Prado GXL.
Sleep in: 2013 Lifestyle camper trailer

A woman's touch
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2015, 02:42:33 PM »
Our CT is swmbos so set up how she wants. I just wish she would bait the hooks and cast the lines out. That would make my camping life sweeeeeeet!

Offline turbo ninja

Re: A woman's touch
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2015, 02:44:37 PM »
I'm hearing you scarps  ;D
Drive in: 2012 Prado GXL.
Sleep in: 2013 Lifestyle camper trailer

« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2015, 02:49:57 PM »
Our CT is swmbos so set up how she wants. I just wish she would bait the hooks and cast the lines out. That would make my camping life sweeeeeeet!
What about the stubby caps ?

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2015, 03:19:11 PM »
Dos she have a sister  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline Nay-DMAX

« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2015, 03:19:43 PM »

And she has done a good job setting it up.

« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2015, 03:24:57 PM »

Jet ;D

Even a brother would be ok for Theo, just don't tell Rusty.

« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2015, 03:31:24 PM »

And she has done a good job setting it up.
she is very good, there's no doubt:-)

« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2015, 03:51:05 PM »
Th OP of this thread is a suckhole  :P

« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2015, 04:05:53 PM »
suck hole...... ;D ;D

Only kidding I am in the same position, since purchasing our trailer my wife has also been very keen on setting up and organising the little things that make camping life easier.. It makes the whole experience better when both partners take a keen interest and it then rubs off on our kids..

Age old saying "happy wife happy life"

« Reply #10 on: January 20, 2015, 04:17:33 PM »

She may, but I think I'm married to her!   ;D

SHMBO has every gadget, accessory, Nik nak and camping aid known to man stored in and around the kitchen area of ours.

Every comfort extra purchased has been her doing. She knows where everything is packed.

My job is to pack the fridge and esky, attach the tug and put up/pull down the tent, all the brawny stuff. Then the camp gets set up as "she" wants.

Happy wife, happy life!

« Reply #11 on: January 20, 2015, 04:30:05 PM »
G'Day all,
              I repeat wot wilson N mace said.... ;D ;D ;D

Offline Paul (SA)

« Reply #12 on: January 20, 2015, 04:43:38 PM »
Now..... We all sit back and wait for Jeepers to comment!  >:D
2014 NW Pajero
2012 Jayco Swift OB

« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2015, 05:12:22 PM »
She may, but I think I'm married to her!   ;D

SHMBO has every gadget, accessory, Nik nak and camping aid known to man stored in and around the kitchen area of ours.

Happy wife, happy life!

They cost a fortune in batteries too.  >:D

Mine tried a 240 volt jobbie once and blacked out half of Tin Can Bay. :o
« Last Edit: January 20, 2015, 05:15:46 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #14 on: January 20, 2015, 05:20:14 PM »
Hearing you loud and clear mate, I have one as well, couldn't of asked for anything better, best wife, mum, and camper ever.....mind you she is a country girl so it helps heaps...

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Swanny

« Reply #15 on: January 20, 2015, 05:27:36 PM »

:cup: :cup: :cup:

« Reply #16 on: January 20, 2015, 06:41:48 PM »
My Misses was exactly the same when we set up our camper trailer.
Heck we even have matching dinner ware...
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

Offline Big Damo

• I work only for the holidays
« Reply #17 on: January 20, 2015, 06:58:09 PM »
Sounds just like my wife wanting to organise everything.
Now if I could just get her to enjoy the experience of camping before she forces me into a caravan  :-[
Must stay strong as I think life is too short to spend it indoors
Damo
« Last Edit: January 20, 2015, 09:43:47 PM by Big Damo »

XR6 and Lifestyle Extenda Elite

« Reply #18 on: January 20, 2015, 07:26:55 PM »
Yep

Happy Dragon. Happy Castle

« Reply #19 on: January 20, 2015, 08:03:24 PM »
suck hole...... ;D ;D

Age old saying "happy wife happy life"

Rubbish...anyone that believes that saying hasn't been married long enough !!   8)    8)

« Reply #20 on: January 20, 2015, 08:05:40 PM »

Rubbish...anyone that believes that saying hasn't been married long enough !!   8)    8)
or loved long time:-)

« Reply #21 on: January 20, 2015, 08:10:20 PM »

I said kitchen area, didn't mention the work zone!

(Is there a 12v version I can recommend to her!)  8)

Offline CampAround

• The count down is on...
« Reply #22 on: January 20, 2015, 10:39:26 PM »

Like.