Author Topic: 4/1 roster. Help please  (Read 8256 times)

Offline Buster3931

4/1 roster. Help please
« on: April 12, 2014, 09:31:22 PM »
Hi guys

With Philip Morris due to rap up production at the end of the year I'm starting to look at other options for employment. One I'm considering is having a try for a spot at one of the construction jobs going in Qld or WA .

I'm a sparkie/Instru. I have had a chat to one of the ETU organisers . Not too sure what my chances are but if any members here have worked or are working this roster what are your thoughts on it ? Any pros and cons. Preferably a gas plant too.

Offline 2impulsiv

Re: 4/1 roster. Help please
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2014, 11:48:31 PM »
Everyone is different, over my years in mining I have done most roster combinations, on 4 and 1 your time away will drag on and your R&R will fly! Depending on your situation, be it single or family and kids it's a long time away!

Might pay to look around at all there current projects and see who has the best roster/conditions. Being a tradesman you should have heaps of options!

2012 GIC Extreme Off-Road Camping Trailer. Here!
2014 GXL Prado. Here!

« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2014, 12:01:21 AM »
If you're single and trying to save $$.......... 4/1 is probably going to help you out.

If u have a Mrs and kids the 4/1 is going to get very ordinary, very quick.

« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2014, 03:57:50 AM »
Yeah 4/1 is a single mans roster. If you aren't single, you will be after a few months.

Offline ozstickman

• Just Grinning
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2014, 04:52:18 AM »
Yeah bugger 4/1. Def not good for a family man. I do 7/7 and it's the pick of them in my opinion.

I know heaps that do 2/1 over the west and they don't mind it.

Don't complain! It could be worse, you could be six foot under or a brick of ashes!!
Our camper Barry - http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=31963.0

Offline scubasteve

« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2014, 05:59:26 AM »
Brother inlaw loves 4/1 , but he has no kids , me on the other hand , I do 2/2, married with kids . This is about as long as I would be away from family with out problems.
Did 4/2 for a couple of months and my kids really struggled with it.Which in turn affected me.

« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2014, 06:11:14 AM »
With a 4/1 roster you live to work , not work to live. 28 days straight is a long time , fatigue starts to kick in after the first 12 to 14 days by the end you are totally buggered and the 7 days off only get you back to a level playing field.

Oh yea if you have a missus, you wont for long, Those sort of rosters cost me two marriages.

cheers duggie

Offline Buster3931

« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2014, 07:45:48 AM »
Thanks guys

Mrs and too kids here. Her parents live around the corner . I've done night shift for pretty much the whole time I've known her. My thinking was that if I was going to give this a go then this would be the time .

There is a spot I was going to try for much closer to home but not for about 12 or 18 months. This would be a stepping stone with it in mind.

Can you guys recommend an employer that has spots and better roster ?

Offline swanny

• Lets go Camping......!!!!!!!
« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2014, 07:55:37 AM »
4/1....crap....u will be over it in no time....keep looking around with your quals there will be something more attractive out there....look for even time rosters, or as they call them in the industry lifestyle rosters....they are the BOMB for both time off and family time.

I do an even time roster....5/5 and its fantastic  :cup: :cup: :cup:, takes a little while to get used to, but once you do, you will never change.

Swanny
« Last Edit: April 13, 2014, 08:34:09 AM by swanny »

Offline Buster3931

« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2014, 08:13:41 AM »
I'm not looking forward to any change in shifts. For the last ten years my shift has been Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday nights @ 12 hours . 6to 6. Three days on four off. No rotation . Gee I'm going to miss that.

Will need to go to one of these sort of jobs to keep my pay level similar roughly.

Offline Thruster

« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2014, 09:06:09 AM »
I suggest looking for an operational role rather than something at the construction phase. Construction is done based on deadlines and schedules with bonuses for the constructing company for meeting them.  Hence their rosters will always be focused on working time for shorter timeframes whereas operating plants, mines etc rosters are better as they are for a long term sustainable workforce.

Offline Malcolm Tugless

• Are we there yet ?
« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2014, 09:21:39 AM »
Whoop ... misread the title, thought it said 4/1 ROASTER and was expecting to find information on cooking chickens.

Not sure if chickens have days off though. Some of them work to a rooster, others towards a roaster.

Offline koshari

« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2014, 09:27:30 AM »
I suggest looking for an operational role rather than something at the construction phase. Construction is done based on deadlines and schedules with bonuses for the constructing company for meeting them.  Hence their rosters will always be focused on working time for shorter timeframes whereas operating plants, mines etc rosters are better as they are for a long term sustainable workforce.

I agree. I work in maint and we have a 1x7 roster. Best roster ever imo.

10.17hr days. 5 on 5 off ,4 on 4 off ,5 on 5 off. Rinse and repeat as nessasary. ::)

No nights except O/T and occasional plant outage return to services.
« Last Edit: April 13, 2014, 09:29:12 AM by koshari »
Code: [Select]
5M strips SMD3528x150 SMD3528x300 SMD5050*150 SMD5050x300 
LED Qty 150 pcs 300 pcs 150 pcs 300 pcs
Voltage DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V DC 12V
Current(A) 1Amp 2Amp 3Amp 6Amp
Pwr 12 watt 24 watt 36 watt 72 watt

Offline DropBearRacing

« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2014, 09:45:44 AM »
I'm not looking forward to any change in shifts. For the last ten years my shift has been Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday nights @ 12 hours . 6to 6. Three days on four off. No rotation . Gee I'm going to miss that.

Will need to go to one of these sort of jobs to keep my pay level similar roughly.

Buster if you want 4 on five off join the cops or the firey's. A lot more stable shifts plenty high divorce rate in both but a lot less than mining  :laugh:

Otherwise as has been suggested before, try and get on a site in a maintenance role as the rosters are very family friendly.
The Bear made me do it!!

stretch7702000

« Reply #14 on: April 14, 2014, 02:46:05 PM »
You can do a lot better than the 4/1 roster. I don't know of any places actually doing this roster.

« Reply #15 on: April 14, 2014, 04:29:57 PM »
I am hoping to move from a 5 on 2 off roster (normal full time in the real world) to a 4 on 3 off roster. This will give me three nights away each week. Mind you this is drive in not FIFO so very different.

Offline speedcomm

« Reply #16 on: April 14, 2014, 04:33:59 PM »
I must be the only sucker with a young family doing 4/1...   Mine is OS with the allowances to make it worthwhile. For a short term stint anyway.  2 year gig, half way thru, then back to normality.
2.8L Prado. Jayco Eagle OB.

Offline Proudy

« Reply #17 on: April 14, 2014, 04:39:11 PM »
I could never do a4/1 roster after the last 5 years on my roster 3 on 3 off 3 on 6 off that's weeks not day either. You have to love oil and gas
Landcruiser 76 with lots of fruit

« Reply #18 on: April 14, 2014, 06:09:18 PM »
Last time I did 4/1 I was in construction, money was great, but I was a single bloke back then.  All the guys in my crew were either single, divorced, or going through divorce.

Offline Buster3931

« Reply #19 on: April 14, 2014, 06:26:37 PM »
I hear everyone saying its a single blokes roster. Our plan is it will only be for 6 or 12 months. It will be a fill in between current and a spot I really want that is a totally different shift pattern and is only 20minutes from home. The 4/1 roster job will give me some extra experience that should help get the job I want at the end. Hopefully.

My wife and I realise it will be a hard slog but it will only be for a set time and if the other job fails to materialise then other options will be looked into.

BUSTer

Offline DropBearRacing

« Reply #20 on: April 14, 2014, 07:42:55 PM »
I hear everyone saying its a single blokes roster. Our plan is it will only be for 6 or 12 months. It will be a fill in between current and a spot I really want that is a totally different shift pattern and is only 20minutes from home. The 4/1 roster job will give me some extra experience that should help get the job I want at the end. Hopefully.

My wife and I realise it will be a hard slog but it will only be for a set time and if the other job fails to materialise then other options will be looked into.

BUSTer

Mate sounds like you are not going into this with your eyes closed.  If you and the missus are on the same page and this is only a stepping stone to the real goal then go for it I think.  Good luck and I hope it all works out for you both short term and in the long term.  :cheers: :cheers:
The Bear made me do it!!

« Reply #21 on: April 14, 2014, 08:06:09 PM »
Yeah mate, sounds like your attacking it the right way............ but stick to your plan, don't get hooked on the $$.

All the best to you and yours, i'm sure you'll be sweet.  :cheers:

Offline Top.ender

• "I WONDER WHERE THIS TRACK GOES"
« Reply #22 on: April 14, 2014, 11:08:54 PM »
Thanks guys

Mrs and too kids here. Her parents live around the corner . I've done night shift for pretty much the whole time I've known her. My thinking was that if I was going to give this a go then this would be the time .

There is a spot I was going to try for much closer to home but not for about 12 or 18 months. This would be a stepping stone with it in mind.

Can you guys recommend an employer that has spots and better roster ?
4 and 1 is a construction roster and don't be fooled ....it will affect your life wether you have a family or not...catching up with mates is a nightmare...if you want a more friendly roster you'll need to go maintenance but its an employers market in WA atm and they want experience, not sure about Queensland...Good Luck...

100 Series Diesel with lots of stuff
2014 Jayco Swan Outback

Offline Travelling Tribe

« Reply #23 on: April 15, 2014, 10:14:20 AM »
My hubby works a 28/28day roster on the Gorgon gas project off Karratha (Integrated Rating on a ship).
Definitely not something every family can deal with but so far it works for us.

Not sure a 28/7 would work so well, you'd all feel a bit ripped off in the time you get together.

There is a new project just getting started called Wheat Stone, it's another gas field project but will have land based facilities at Onslow, might be worth checking out what positions they need filling?
~Tracee

« Reply #24 on: April 15, 2014, 10:26:37 AM »
Current WA oil and gas construction rosters are 26 and 9 however first gas for one project is due in Q3 this year and for the other one Q2 next year

So unless you are highly specialised you may have missed the boat