Author Topic: 5 things made in Australia?  (Read 20550 times)

Offline Doug.b

• Dislike keyboard Heroes
Re: 5 things made in Australia?
« Reply #50 on: May 25, 2013, 09:50:10 AM »
2012 PAJERO VRX  - Adventure offroad camper  - Cape York 
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35363.0

« Reply #52 on: May 25, 2013, 11:10:27 AM »
These are worth a watch

Where the bloody hell are you - New Zealand Small | Large

Mitre 10 classroom ad

Funny New Zealand Ad Small | Large

« Reply #53 on: May 25, 2013, 11:28:32 AM »
Funny mate :)

« Reply #54 on: May 25, 2013, 12:45:58 PM »

Ford Falcon
Dunlop Tyres
Carlton Beer
Bundy Rum
TV Cabinet (Au Made)

Offline paulo

« Reply #55 on: May 25, 2013, 01:29:42 PM »
Bundy Rum
Champion and Bronzewing Shotty Ammo
Canvas Gumboot Bag (Infront)
2nd hand Jayco Eagle
Tooheys Old

Hopefully some new things to add after the camping show tomorrow ;D

Offline kiwipride

My plan is to live forever......so far, so good!

Offline cyberess

« Reply #57 on: May 25, 2013, 02:32:33 PM »
Ford Falcon
Dunlop Tyres
Carlton Beer
Bundy Rum
TV Cabinet (Au Made)

Count Dunlop Tyres out  :police:
2008 - South Pacific Tyres ceased manufacturing in Australia to focus on their marketing, wholesaling and retailing operations.
Count food and drink out as mentioned in a earlier post

You only have 2 items

« Reply #58 on: May 25, 2013, 05:58:02 PM »
I know of two.
Vista RV Crossover
MySwag Forum :D

« Reply #59 on: May 26, 2013, 04:46:39 AM »
Count Dunlop Tyres out  :police:
2008 - South Pacific Tyres ceased manufacturing in Australia to focus on their marketing, wholesaling and retailing operations.
Count food and drink out as mentioned in a earlier post

You only have 2 items

Did,nt know Dunlop had gone and soon Ford will be gone too. Sure is hard to fine anything of mass production still happening here in Australia. What worries me is when our third world suppliers realise that we are relying on them entirely they may then increase their pricing knowing that there is nothing we can do about it.
We all need to look at the big picture and see how the current supply and purchase of all this cheap imported product has or will in the near future affected our own jobs and livelyhood and then make an extra effort to support Aussie Made, even if it does cost a few extra dollars it will be worth it.

Offline Canaussie

5 things made in Australia?
« Reply #60 on: May 26, 2013, 07:00:07 AM »
Lifestyle CT
GOE lift rods(Disco4)
Bedroom suite ;-)
Wife's Jewellery( I should of known shed cost me lol)
My kids made here( even though I'm a Canuck)

Vinnie D4 2.7L 2012
Boogie Lifestyle extenda 2012

Mods.....what mods?

BernieS

« Reply #61 on: May 26, 2013, 10:52:16 AM »
Just thought I'd throw this in here.

http://www.onlyoz.com.au/index.php?main_page=page&id=8

If you live in Brisbane.... Australian made Grocery store located at Enoggera on the Northside

Offline rescue1

• D40 Navara [HIS] T31 X-Trail [HERS]
« Reply #62 on: May 26, 2013, 06:22:14 PM »
The sirens we sell to Land Rover for Army ambulances are made in Australia from local and imported parts (no electronic component manufacture here) We used to build the boards here but you can justify $300 for local assembly when you can import the same part from China for $30 and have it done 100 times quicker. If we could sell 1000 sirens at a time (instead of the 10-25 every couple of years) the whole thing would be made in China. As it is Land Rover tell us our design is far more reliable than the locally built model sold by the previous owner, not that the Army repair anything, when one breaks they just put a new one in...why spend $100 on a repair when you can buy a new one for $500???

Offline westvic

« Reply #63 on: May 27, 2013, 03:29:13 PM »
tom waterhouse
TAB
Tatts
centrebet
oooops, sorry, services not things
Getting there if half the fun

The other half is a cold beer when you do.

Offline trekkn

« Reply #64 on: May 27, 2013, 06:53:09 PM »
the hydraulic and industrial hose i sell is made in wodonga same as the fittings the only aussie maed hose and fittings and its the best on the market but also the most expensive  :cheers:

Offline Mallory Black

« Reply #65 on: May 27, 2013, 08:20:19 PM »
lately I bought:
some concrete
soil
Ferguson's KO66 rustproofing......

oh crap that's just 3
1998 3.4V6 Prado & homebuilt rear fold soft floor

« Reply #66 on: May 27, 2013, 09:18:37 PM »
tom waterhouse
TAB
Tatts
centrebet
oooops, sorry, services not things

Hahaha. To much NRL for you.  :cup:

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #67 on: May 27, 2013, 09:22:41 PM »
Narva wiring
GT Campers water tank :)
Motospray (I think) 2-pak paint

ummm...

yes it is difficult... I can't get Aussie-made tyres any more. However, I am a habitual 'can turner' in supermarkets

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

« Reply #68 on: May 10, 2016, 11:19:11 PM »
Hahaha. To much NRL for you.  :cup:
Sad but true these days!

« Reply #69 on: May 11, 2016, 07:40:49 PM »
Both my kids are Australian made.....
Does that count????

Just kidding.

I do the grocery shopping in our house and I do find it difficult sometimes to support Aus.
I have found though that Aldi do well and their meat and produce has some good quality local stuff.
It is getting harder and harder to get Aussie made, but can I claim my caravan was Aussie made and a significantly large purchase so I figure that's a help to the economy.
I also support our local pub at the farm on a regular basis so that's my other contribution.

As a tradie, I reckon the best thing you can do to support local is to use local. We use the money we earn to buy local beer, spend at our local shops, use local services ourselves, and also sponsor a heck of a lot of kids soccer shirts, bike club trophy's, netball uniforms etc etc.

Support a local business and you are doing more for the economy in one transaction that our government does in a year. (another thread I know, but I wouldn't go there!)

Now my five things recently bought:

1: Retreat caravan
2: Water filter
3: Stone guard
4: A moderate amount of local wine (O.K. a shedload, but I'm not an alcohol. They need a drink - I already have one!)
5: $28,000 of Prysmian cable

Great thread too.....

« Reply #70 on: May 11, 2016, 09:38:41 PM »
Bread from my local baker. $3.50
5'11" "biscuit" from my local board shaper, lucky last because the blanks are all about to be made offshore, foam blanks are polluting and our govt doesn't want them made here anymore. $750
XXXX Gold $35
About 40 signs made from alubond from my local signwriter. $7500

All those guys live in my neighbourhood.

Offline pommiedic

« Reply #71 on: May 11, 2016, 10:09:56 PM »
My 2 Trackabouts - 1 for sale
Drifta kitchen
Dick Smiths Strawberry Jam
Washing Basket - Sadly struggling now
My kids - See comment above
My English staffy

Sad when I struggle to name 5 off the top of my head
Why is the 1st Tea of the day the best?

scrapsD40

5 things made in Australia?
« Reply #72 on: May 11, 2016, 10:16:31 PM »
Too easy
1-House (although still in partnership with the bank)
2-Trackabout CT (as above)
3-Swmbo x1 (although based on OP Reg, still paying for so not entirely purchased)
4-Sons x2 (best as I can figure timing. Although youngest son speaks fluent Japanese so not sure. So if not will substitute the Doog)
5-Driveway Pavers, concrete paths, grass&garden (all paid for and made locally)
« Last Edit: May 11, 2016, 10:27:03 PM by scrapsD40 »

Offline BrisVegasGolfer

« Reply #73 on: May 26, 2016, 08:27:07 PM »
Enmach water tank
Airtec snorkel
Redarc TowPro and SBI
Mountain Trail camper
fyrlyt spotties
2015 Isuzu MU-X