Author Topic: A Serious Question.... about ice, yep...ice.  (Read 7464 times)

Offline Jeepers Creepers

• Hard Top Camper User
A Serious Question.... about ice, yep...ice.
« on: September 02, 2012, 04:07:23 AM »
We'll have the milk etc, in the gas fridge, but to keep our sports drinks (BEER) cold, i was going to take our rather old esky.
It still works OK and all that crap, but to keep the beer extra nice and cold, i was going to "salt the ice"

Now, I've never done the salt on ice before, but have been told, it will last longer and be colder.... is that correct?

The reason i ask, oh great camping guru's of the cosmos, is that I'm of the belief, that they salt roads to melt the ice in cold climates.

So, will salting the ice, make it colder and last longer (sounds like an ad for Mr. Wobbly nasal spray erection stuff) or will it melt the ice quicker?

I guess I'd really like to hear from someone that's done it before or has a science degree.

Oh alright, anyone can answer......  :D
I DON'T CARE HOW NICE THE HAND SOAP SMELLS.....

You should never walk out of the public toilets sniffing your fingers.

Offline fuji

• "Tail End Charlie"
  • Hard Top Camper User
  • "nolle timere" Don't be afraid
Re: A Serious Question.... about ice, yep...ice.
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2012, 05:58:50 AM »
When I was a youngun and lived overseas in Sth Korea, the US Military used to throw salt on the icy and snowed in roads. It worked so I think that salt does melt the ice. I suppose you could buy some cheap pool salt and give it a try. Probably cost $15 total IMO. Cheers
Wayne
2017 (79 series) Landcruiser, and Evernew E100😎

Offline HEM19X

• Hard Top Camper User
  • If I agree with you, then we would both be wrong!
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2012, 06:40:10 AM »
In the good old days, the local fish co-op used to freeze salt water for the trawlers to keeps prawns cool as salt water freezes at a lower temp than fresh.