Author Topic: A Question About Off Road Hitches.  (Read 4913 times)

A Question About Off Road Hitches.
« on: August 17, 2012, 04:52:53 AM »
The trailer we've bought, has the standard old ball hitch.

We're only planning on Fraser and Teewah beaches, for most of our off road stuff, so my question is....

Would a standard hitch be OK for stuff like the rocks crossings on Fraser etc or should i splurge and get a poly block hitch?

I'm pretty careful and slow going over the rocks etc in the Jeep, as it;s the WIFE'S.

Its hard to go fast whilst being flogged like a redheaded step child from the passenger seat.  :-[

Offline TOPNDR

Re: A Question About Off Road Hitches.
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2012, 08:17:44 AM »
Get an off road hitch, polly block or otherwise (we've got a DO35 - much easier to disconnect or connect than Tregg). There's not enough articulation with a standard 50mm ball, unless you have a Hyland Hitch.
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

Offline Chris-Vi

• Prado and Sportscruiser 1550
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2012, 08:26:42 AM »
We have a DO35 as well to replace the old hitch. Have used the Hyland on our old camper and they are a good hitch as well. Just make sure you get the right towball for them. On Fraser you need the articulation from an off road hitch in my mind anyway.  :cheers:
2008 Prado GX
2013 Sportscruiser 1550

« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2012, 08:30:52 AM »
I think you should get an offroad hitch just for the noise factor.  Imagine all the clunking and banging of a standard hitch going over sand!

We too have the DO35 and think it is great!
« Last Edit: August 17, 2012, 08:59:03 PM by JKohn »

Offline Duchess

• "Its not as hard as you think, you know."
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2012, 05:19:22 PM »
Another DO35 lover here. I've got the V2 and its great. I love the new addition of the cap that goes over the top of the locking mechanism, it really made a difference on the dusty roads up at the Cape.

Having come from a ball hitch, it made me wonder why I took so long to change over! SO much quieter on the back of the car, definitely no banging or jarring on the back of the car any more.

"I've got one job on this ship. It's stupid but I'm going to do it!"

www.duchessandthedukeontour.blogspot.com.au

Offline Gra

« Reply #5 on: August 17, 2012, 10:28:30 PM »
I've got one of the Alko jobs. I know some people dont love 'em but I find it really easy to use, and a bit easier to hook-up if the trailers in the soft stuff. Just got to remember to put the plastic bit in the glove box. And carry a spare plastic bit. Actually, come to think of it, it's a pain in the arse..get a polyblock or DO35.

Regards, Gra.

Offline grafy82

« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2012, 12:21:21 AM »
If you don't want to spend a fortune, eBay have ORAC and Tregg style ADR approved hitches. Simple and reliable. I got my ORAC for $127.00 delivered.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
« Reply #7 on: August 18, 2012, 12:57:40 AM »
I thought I could get away with a standard ball but then learned the hard way when reversing up a small bank slightly articulated.
Short Story cost me $600 to repair plus the $275 that I should have spent in the first place for the hitch.
I bought the ozhitch due to it's self aligning and ease of use
How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2012, 05:28:59 AM »
I'm hoping i can get something at the camping show today.

I don't mind the look of the one Grafy82 has the pic of. A lot like me really, simple, but reliable.

« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2012, 04:00:37 PM »
Because no-one else has pitched it yet, I'll throw in a vote for the OzHitch. I love ours. It's Fan-Tas-Tic. Easy to hitch up in any condition, works beautifully, just a good thing.

I've heard a few people now not happy with their Alko hitches. I'm sure a lot of owners love them, but if I wanted a standard 50mm ball coupling, I'd go the tried-and-true Hyland hitch. They're not without their concerns, but I'd not hesitate to have one.

Norm is on the forum here, he might do you a discount if you drop him a PM and ask :)
http://ozhitch.com/

Now, as to whether you need one or not - possibly not. But it's cheap insurance. And if you're going to bother about replacing the camper's hitch for something like a Hyland, you may as well go to a full-offroad articulating hitch and not worry. That's my theory anyway. So long as you've got a HR-style removable-receiver towbar, you can keep a second tongue with a 50mm ball coupling for when you need to borrow a trailer.

This is MySwag - everyone NEEDS a hitch that can articulate through 720-degrees, and 6 pairs of MaxTrax.

Good luck!

« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2012, 04:18:17 PM »
Thanks for all the input folks.

I'm taking the CT into Gympie early Friday morning to have them suss it out.
I need one with a hand brake fitted to it and they reckon they'll have me sorted.

Most of my lecky bits are now here, so i'll get the Anderson plug and isolator switch fitted along with the brake controller either this week or next week.

My mate suggested the isolator switch may be overkill, but hell, it can't hurt.

« Reply #11 on: August 21, 2012, 05:12:08 PM »
Hi Jeeps
Mate for what its worth we only do beach and forestry tracks with our camper,,Have  crawled the rocks at Rain Bow beach and on Fraser all with a standard 50mm ball set set up with no troubles, adjust the hitch up properly and it dosnt clunk slap to bad ,,

« Reply #12 on: August 21, 2012, 06:31:56 PM »
I've got to admit, i've thought about running a ball hitch, but me being me, i've decided to go the off road hitch.

Be my luck, i'd have the Jeep on one angle, the CT on another and i'd hear a loud pop as the whole F-ing thing comes apart.

I'll tell you about some of my little adventures over time, but it was the time i had a fireball come out of the wifes Dyson whilst playing with it and a fuel tank that told me, anything is possible.

Getting a chook to catch fire in the microwave was my second time....  :-[

I don't drink as much anymore, and that does seem to have helped.

Offline TOPNDR

« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2012, 03:27:30 AM »
When crossing the Simpson in '09, we came upon some folk on the Rig Rd who were heading for Alice to enter the Finke Desert Race. They had their bikes on a trailer, 50 mm ball.  The ball had snapped and the trailer was jerry-rigged to their Towbar with gaffer tape.  I kid you not, and am glad it wasn't me!
'09 VX TTD Cruiser:- 6 speed auto, 650 nm torque plus bling
'09 Australian Off Road Quantum

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #14 on: August 23, 2012, 08:38:45 AM »
It is surpising how far 'off road' a standard ball coupling can go... but better safe than sorry.
Hyland uses a 50mm ball, has no pins etc to think about and doesn't have any intricate mechanisms that can be affected by mud/grit

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

Offline Strider

« Reply #15 on: August 23, 2012, 10:25:41 AM »
Hi Jeepers, I have a hitch the same as Graffy has pictured that you can have. I took it off and had a Ozhitch fitted because I found it a PITA to connect to the car on uneven ground. If you want it PM me for the address.

Alan

« Reply #16 on: August 23, 2012, 12:03:55 PM »
Geez Strider,

That's kind of you.

Mine incorperates a hand brake as well, so i need to get something with that as part of it. but thank you for the very kind offer.

Kev

Offline Campa

« Reply #17 on: August 23, 2012, 12:05:45 PM »
Another vote for Ozhitch.

Not sure if you will have they same trouble as me,  but when I changed from a 50mm ball to my Oz Hitch the safety chains were a little bit tighter because of the extra length of the hitch. I removed them and added 2 more chains a few links longer to fix it up.

Offline Strider

« Reply #18 on: August 23, 2012, 04:58:26 PM »
No problem, I keep stubbing my toe on it in the garage  ;D

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #19 on: August 23, 2012, 05:24:15 PM »
Another vote for Ozhitch.

Not sure if you will have they same trouble as me,  but when I changed from a 50mm ball to my Oz Hitch the safety chains were a little bit tighter because of the extra length of the hitch. I removed them and added 2 more chains a few links longer to fix it up.

Another for the ozhitch

However seriously, as you are only doing the beach and fraser, save your $300 and stay with the ball. We went and spent a bit of time on fraser, my mate still had the ball hitch on his and there were never any worries.

Cheers, Craig

« Reply #20 on: August 23, 2012, 05:43:36 PM »
Another for the ozhitch

However seriously, as you are only doing the beach and fraser, save your $300 and stay with the ball. We went and spent a bit of time on fraser, my mate still had the ball hitch on his and there were never any worries.

Cheers, Craig

Oh Craig, I've been tempted to leave it, but for piece of mind, I'm going to fit the new hitch.
Hey, its only money i would've wasted on something silly like food or electricity, so all is good.

Offline cm4x4nut

• Kimberly Kamper
« Reply #21 on: August 23, 2012, 05:47:51 PM »
Oh Craig, I've been tempted to leave it, but for piece of mind, I'm going to fit the new hitch.
Hey, its only money i would've wasted on something silly like food or electricity, so all is good.

Fair enough mate, however can I suggest that if you are going to waste money.....can I suggest beer  ;D

Where in Gympie are you getting it sorted?

Cheers, Craig

« Reply #22 on: August 23, 2012, 05:59:51 PM »
New Age Automotive in Bonnick street tomorrow morning.

« Reply #23 on: August 24, 2012, 06:11:19 PM »
All done, a 3,000 kg tregg hitch, new hand brake thingy and done and dusted.

At least now, i know its correct and not gunna pop off the ball.

Thanks for all the input etc and the offer of a free hitch in amost it all too.  :cheers: