General => General Discussion => Topic started by: carinya on December 09, 2012, 06:05:08 PM

Title: How much beer do you actually drink?
Post by: carinya on December 09, 2012, 06:05:08 PM
Time to fess up men, or girls as the case may be.  This is not supposed to be an appendage measuring contest either.

WARNING.
This could end in tears and may be a useful tool for your life coach.

I brew mine and go through about a keg ( 18L ) every 3 weeks.  This is just a beer or three in the afternoon at home.  We go anywhere,  which is rare I go through the bottle o and usually have a brick of cans on standby.  This lasts a few months.  in the winter it slows down a bit, more brewing than drinking but then a few rums go missing during the footy and the odd evening.

A mate at work gets three X  30 packs of heavy cans a week, every week.

Anyone else  wish to share?
Post by: lostindust on December 09, 2012, 06:05:55 PM
The 6 pack I got for Christmas last year is almost finished...only one bottle left.
Title: Re: How much beer do you actually drink?
Post by: baldheadedgit on December 09, 2012, 06:10:33 PM
Well i was a big drinker.. was not unusual to go thru 2-3 cartons a week, plus a few long necks thrown in for good messure,

But these's days, a carton will last a month or more,,, no long necks either..

BHG
Post by: crackacoldie on December 09, 2012, 06:13:32 PM
At home a carton will last 2 months.  In the camper a carton will only last a week.

Cracka
Post by: Black Diamond on December 09, 2012, 06:16:06 PM
I usually have about half a dozen VB a night, on top of the 2-3 I have at knock off :cheers:
Post by: PAC1977 on December 09, 2012, 06:26:48 PM
Normally only drink when there is an occasion, Friday is sometimes an occasion, everyday camping is an occasion. When there is an occasion I go hard or go home.
Post by: Hairs on December 09, 2012, 06:28:42 PM
Not hard to knock a few back if the conditions are right.
Can go a week without a drop, then again a 30 box of cans can last only two night nights if the conditions are leaning towards a wee bit of a slurp.
(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/pass%20out.gif)
Post by: Kydar on December 09, 2012, 06:29:11 PM
Warmer months = 1.5 to 2 cartons a week.
Cooler month = 1 carton a week
Camping= quite expensive. ( according to her)
 :cheers:  :cheers:  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on December 09, 2012, 06:29:32 PM
I drink more UDL's than beer.. beer leaves a dead taste in my mouth most times.
Post by: brickiematt on December 09, 2012, 06:32:31 PM
4 or 5 cans of a night after work, but if I have to drive the kids anywhere, then I'll only have 2. That's one of the strict rules I impose on myself.

Naturally, more when we're away. Bought home 4 cans from 2 slabs from this weekend at Walkerville.

Post by: Mace on December 09, 2012, 06:35:56 PM
During summer 1 bottle of home brew after work. 
I wish I had more Grolsh 1.5 litre ones to refill   ;D

A slab mite last a fortnight or longer.  I like mixed drinks:

Beer, then Wine, then a Scotch & Water, then a Port.  Thats a good mix. Throw in a stones if in the scrub.

Post by: gronk on December 09, 2012, 06:37:29 PM
I drink more UDL's than beer.. beer leaves a dead taste in my mouth most times.

Whats UDL's  ??

I must be getting old....cause when I'm camping nowadays, I rarely get thru 14 beers a night !!!!
Post by: DaveCQ on December 09, 2012, 06:46:30 PM
Normally only drink when there is an occasion, Friday is sometimes an occasion, everyday camping is an occasion. When there is an occasion I go hard or go home.

X2 :cheers:
Post by: fok on December 09, 2012, 06:54:44 PM
Will have 3 to 6 beers on the weekend,dont drink thru the week.scotch is a different story though.
Post by: speewa158 on December 09, 2012, 07:12:06 PM
Geeeeezs 2 or 3 slabs a week geeeeezs   .  ld spill that much  . l try to be a clean living youth of temperate habit but sometimes l stray or are led astray . :cheers:
Post by: hoytshooter on December 09, 2012, 07:19:31 PM
Usually have 5 or 6 schooners a night but dont really keep count .... with 6 kegs on tap i dont really take much notice how long a keg lasts as the wife does all the brewing and kegging ....
Post by: bullfrog on December 09, 2012, 07:26:20 PM
Seeing as the Old Bear may read this I'll refrain from posting  ;D ;D  No, I'm not scared of her..... really I'm not..... :cheers:
Post by: xcvator on December 09, 2012, 07:37:39 PM
I can handle a bottle of single malt scotch wiskey over a camp fire with out any effort at all  at all :cheers: ;D :cheers: ;D :cheers: ;D
Post by: D4D on December 09, 2012, 07:41:45 PM
I have a dozen beers sitting in the garage fridge, they have been there for 12 months. Couldn't even give them away to Speewa.

I used to clean up a 700ml of JD in a weekend (fri, sat, sun) now I'm down to a bottle every 2 weekends or so.

If I am camping it is strictly, 2 cans of JD per man per day as I am usually the driver.
Post by: bert56 on December 09, 2012, 07:48:30 PM
I normanly have 3 or 4 every arvo, but sometimes this stretches to a dozen or so.

Bert
Post by: McGirr on December 09, 2012, 07:58:36 PM

I only drink if there is a word "Day" after the name.  ;D

That will depend how much fluid I need to recoup on a hot day and being in Cairns it's hot everyday.

Camping is a different story, too scary to mention. I do attend meetings but I BYO.  :cheers:

Post by: ewwreckers on December 09, 2012, 08:04:26 PM
Not a great deal of beer, I don't mind a Corona or two when it's really hot, Vic can get stuck into XXXX when the mood strikes.  We're mainly bundy red or JD drinkers...amazing how much longer a bottle lasts when you put the nip pourer on!  Don't mind the odd blender full of Margarita's either, and have been known to do a fair bit of damage when we have a cocktail night.
Post by: D4D on December 09, 2012, 08:08:13 PM
...amazing how much longer a bottle lasts when you put the nip pourer on!

I prefer the 2 finger method :)
Post by: austastar on December 09, 2012, 08:10:25 PM
   bought a 6 pack of stubbies in the Bootleg Brewery, Margaret River WA in 2004, gave 2 to an auto-electrician in Port Augusta on our way back who helped us out on our way over, gave 2 to a nephew and drank the last one on a hot day last summer.
I guess I'm just not in the habit of buying it.

Post by: ewwreckers on December 09, 2012, 08:11:28 PM
So that's where we're going wrong D4D, but we have very tall glasses so thinking 3 or 4 fingers might be better :P
Post by: Bird on December 09, 2012, 08:12:38 PM
really????? :o
Post by: Lemo79 on December 09, 2012, 08:16:40 PM
I normanly have 3 or 4 every arvo, but sometimes this stretches to a dozen or so.

I can realate to that.

Lemo.
Post by: GeoffA on December 09, 2012, 08:24:15 PM
.....you're asking this question at this time of year ??? ???

How much ??? ???......... really doesn't matter.........you only rent it........ ;D ;D

:cheers: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on December 09, 2012, 08:34:49 PM
I have a dozen beers sitting in the garage fridge, they have been there for 12 months. Couldn't even give them away to Speewa.

Geeeeeezs l have standards  low they may be ,  but ,  light Beer & mottly Pure Blond . Orrrrr come on ,, lf you wont drink it why should l  ??? ??? Dodgy boy ..
Post by: cruisindub on December 09, 2012, 09:16:31 PM
Last December I bought 2 x cartons of cascade light, marked down as close to supposedly use by date, paid $17.
Just recently finished the last 6 pack or the last carton.

Now if your talking cartons of wine,barely a week.(and thats not the cardboard box wine)

In sure ifwe could afford more, we would probably drink more.

Recently my wife through her work has been given a few cartons beer, they've barely lasted a week.

Maybe its the weather or time of year.
Post by: jk on December 09, 2012, 09:43:29 PM
I choose to stay out of this debate in case the wife reads this thread  ;) , I was a teetotaler until I spent some time with McGirr  :cheers:  :cheers: we now catch up at the special meetings  ;D
Post by: cheif carlos on December 09, 2012, 10:03:23 PM
I was told as a kid that it's rude to count......but I seem to know most of the staff at the local bottlo!
Post by: Barrabart on December 09, 2012, 10:43:35 PM
I only drink for about half the year, i do a 15 days on 13 days off roster, when at work i don't touch a drop, however coming back through the airport i always grab my two 1125ml bottles of Bundy, they are always empty and in the recycle bin by about day 10 of my break, sometimes a 3rd bottle is purchased, especially during the NRL season, hehe.
I don't ever buy beer for home, will have a good quality beer when out for dinner etc.
Dead set i can smash near a full big bottle of rum and wake up feeling quite ok, drink 6 beers and i feel a bit ordinary..... I think it's a FNQ thing!!!

Post by: Bill on December 10, 2012, 05:30:22 AM
Morag has a glass of wine or two about once a month.
I do not drink at all anymore and the world is a better place because of it.
Post by: Joff on December 10, 2012, 05:33:24 AM
None. Beer is horse piss  >:(

:-*
Post by: Marcus73 on December 10, 2012, 05:58:13 AM

I'm with you Joff
Post by: carinya on December 10, 2012, 06:06:05 AM
Usually have 5 or 6 schooners a night but dont really keep count .... with 6 kegs on tap i dont really take much notice how long a keg lasts as the wife does all the brewing and kegging ....

Well done Hoyts.
My wife doesn't drink at all, that's actually how we got together.  We had a driver during the footy season.
Every time I am fiddling with the kegs I can hear " beer stinks" from inside the house.
Post by: Symon on December 10, 2012, 06:39:41 AM
I do not drink at all anymore and the world is a better place because of it.

I can relate to that.  The fact I have a stuffed liver and heart are a reminder of the days I'd rather not think about.

These days I would probably have one beer/rum a month at best.  While camping I have a few more but no where near the extent I used to.
Post by: McGirr on December 10, 2012, 08:17:11 AM
I choose to stay out of this debate in case the wife reads this thread  ;) , I was a teetotaler until I spent some time with McGirr  :cheers:  :cheers: we now catch up at the special meetings  ;D

teetotaler my ar%&  ;D  ;D

When you are sitting by a creek with friends camping its very hard not to have a few extra beers and if at home putting a camping dvd on just starts the process all over.  :cheers:

Post by: Xfigio on December 10, 2012, 10:45:26 AM
1 carton normally lasts me a year.  Leaves cash for other things instead.
Post by: Bill on December 10, 2012, 10:45:45 AM
I can relate to that.  The fact I have a stuffed liver and heart are a reminder of the days I'd rather not think about.

These days I would probably have one beer/rum a month at best.  While camping I have a few more but no where near the extent I used to.
Simon for me it's the days/weeks I CAN'T remember.
Never again.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 10, 2012, 12:23:05 PM

None.

I drink Southern Comfort ...

Post by: Marcus73 on December 10, 2012, 12:32:24 PM

None.

I drink Southern Comfort ...

Wow that means there's at least 2 of us!!
Post by: barraboy on December 10, 2012, 12:51:03 PM
My old man always told me that beer makes you feel like you should feel all the time.
Post by: bussoboy on December 10, 2012, 12:56:23 PM
it takes me about a month, sometimes even 2 to finish a bottle of Canadian Club at home, but a weekends camping will see 1/2 a bottle vanish.

used to go through 2 bottles a week and on big occassions i could drink 2 bottles in a night before passing out, then i figured out it was only killing me both physically and financially

beer just makes me agro and aggressive so i don't touch the stuff
Post by: bobnrob on December 10, 2012, 01:06:52 PM
Whats UDL's  ??

from Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/UDL_(drink))
United Distillers Limited, more commonly known as UDL, is an Australian brand of pre-mix (also known as alcopop or RTDs). It was started in 1965 by two Australian men. The company started with the two men mixing and selling the drinks in recycled glass bottles at parties and through word-of-mouth the company grew and gained recognition. The first drinks launched by UDL were: UDL Vodka Lemon, Lime and Soda; UDL Rum and Cola; UDL Gin and Tonic; UDL Brandy, Lime and Soda; and UDL Ouzo and Cola.

Or more commonly known as lolly water :D   :P

Me too...when she says I'm having too much, I show her 2 fingers!   >:D

If you asked 20yrs ago, I wouldn't've be able to see the screen to answer. And up till recently, not so much.
But now I find out I'm needing to be Glutton free, so no beer. So instead I suffer with drinking Jimmy Beam and/or some of his poorer cousins   ;D  but neat or with Dry only, that coke stuff makes me wake up feeling like the cat's done it's business in my mouth while I'm asleep  ::)
Post by: Hairs on December 10, 2012, 01:19:12 PM
beer just makes me agro and aggressive so i don't touch the stuff

Funny you should say that, a very good mate can drink spirits all night with out a drama, give him a beer and he goes burko.
(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-angry013.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Post by: HEM19X on December 10, 2012, 01:26:22 PM
I only drink of the 1st...1st Monday of the week, 1st Tuesday of the week, etc

Sometimes I only drink on days with a "Y" in the name, sometimes I don't drink at all [but not very often].

My wife can tell you exactly how many I have had - apparently!!!

Like Bullfrog, I'm not afraid of Tadpole!!!!
Post by: Bunyip on December 10, 2012, 03:03:24 PM
I would probably have a beer every 2 to 3 months.

I used to drink a lot of port and scotch but lately I almost never drink. Usual story, woke up one day with a killer hangover and will not go back there for love or money (except maybe at the MySwag 2013 Meet).

Post by: KingBilly on December 10, 2012, 03:11:35 PM
But now I find out I'm needing to be Glutton free, so no beer.

Try O'Briens gluten free beer from Dan Murphy's

http://www.gf-glutenfree.com/beer (http://www.gf-glutenfree.com/beer)

Post by: @fnq4now on December 10, 2012, 03:31:23 PM
Way, way, way too much  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:  And don't even ask me about Jack Daniels >:D >:D >:D
Post by: speewa158 on December 10, 2012, 03:58:36 PM

[/quote
You ARE doing it wrong for sure  >:D :cheers:
Post by: bullfrog on December 10, 2012, 04:10:49 PM
BU!!$HIT HEM, pick ya skirt up & run like I do !! I hope you have been training, a week at Jason's is not far away, let alone the NYE bash again  >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D
Lately ( the last 18 mths) I'm averaging between 1-2 blocks of mid cans a week, sometimes more, sometimes less. I plan on cutting back after the silly season is over ( NYE last year was a 2block day - 60cans). A lot has changed for me in the last 12mths, so the grog will be cut back, I hope, I think,...........................................................................maybe  >:D >:D >:D :cheers:
PS Spirits don't count, they be only talkin' bout beer Willis. :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: briann532 on December 10, 2012, 04:46:42 PM
Not sure how much I actually drink,

BUT I do know for sure, Its at least twice what I tell the missus I've had  >:D

Post by: bullfrog on December 10, 2012, 04:48:54 PM
BEER.... making stupid people bearable & ugly men / women get lucky...... :cheers: I'm orf to get another one. :cup:
Post by: Kalebjarrod on December 10, 2012, 04:52:49 PM
2 beers and I'm sleepy, so maybe 6 a week?

Post by: Clouty on December 10, 2012, 11:04:16 PM
I'm on nightshift at the moment so no rums during the week.. On the weekend I'd probably have 4 big glasses per night...
Post by: Heiny on December 11, 2012, 12:55:12 AM
As little beer as possible, rum is the nectar of the gods :cup:

Post by: jeeps on December 11, 2012, 02:18:26 AM
The REAL question is how much $ per month do you spend on beer/alcomahols?   ;D
Post by: fishfinder on December 11, 2012, 05:07:48 AM
i will have 6 - 10 stubbies on a thursday night if there is no twinge in any of my joints will drink a dozen on friday night. when i get up  saturday mornings i will know if it is ok to go hard saturday night or become a couch potato all weekend as my knees and ankles are swollen from gout .
Post by: JCAT on December 11, 2012, 05:30:28 AM
A slab used to last me three to four weeks but since I have started home brewing I reckon I drink 4-6 long necks a week. I try to only drink Friday, Saturday and Sunday although during the footy season a few Thursdays enter the equation.

Post by: gibbo301 on December 11, 2012, 08:41:43 AM
A sh:t load but it's job related my job is to turn beer into urine and I'm good at my job  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Paul (SA) on December 11, 2012, 09:20:00 PM
None on Wednesdays....cause that is my AA meeting night.
Post by: Fun Police on December 11, 2012, 09:24:41 PM
About a case per year.

Red wine and single malt on the other hand........
Post by: Mace on December 11, 2012, 09:50:26 PM
None on Wednesdays....cause that is my AA meeting night.

AA - Any Alcohol!

Red wine and single malt on the other hand........

Wish I still had the cash flow for the weekly indulgence - with just a dash of water for the scotch.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 12, 2012, 11:56:54 AM
Wow that means there's at least 2 of us!!

I don't have mine mixed with anything but air Marcus73 ...

Post by: Trackabout Off Road Campers on December 12, 2012, 02:55:29 PM
All setup for home and camping  :cheers: My beer economy is about a keg (19ltr) a fortnight.. Occasionally more.. Butt never less..
Post by: hoytshooter on December 12, 2012, 05:15:39 PM
All setup for home and camping  :cheers: My beer economy is about a keg (19ltr) a fortnight.. Occasionally more.. Butt never less..

yep same here setup at home and camping
(http://i1094.photobucket.com/albums/i456/hoyt1/IMG_0109.jpg)
(http://i1094.photobucket.com/albums/i456/hoyt1/IMG_3600.jpg)
Post by: Marcus73 on December 12, 2012, 05:24:09 PM
I don't have mine mixed with anything but air Marcus73 ...

Eeeeww.... You're on your own then!
Post by: sup8pdct on December 12, 2012, 07:14:35 PM
NONE! it is foul poo.

Spirits however are  holy goodness  ;D Realy like ord river rum........

James
Post by: McGirr on December 12, 2012, 07:16:38 PM
yep same here setup at home and camping
(http://i1094.photobucket.com/albums/i456/hoyt1/IMG_0109.jpg)
(http://i1094.photobucket.com/albums/i456/hoyt1/IMG_3600.jpg)

That's is heaven. Let me know when your in Cairns with your mobile bar , sorry camper  :cup:

Post by: nbd73 on December 12, 2012, 08:32:44 PM
Way too much, in answer to the original post.
But not as much as days gone by.  For one person for a week attached pic was a snap shot of proceedings.
Post by: kylarama on December 12, 2012, 09:20:36 PM
How much?

Generally in 375ml increments.

Location, company & mood dictate the elapsed time between said increments.
Post by: l0ckym on December 12, 2012, 09:31:20 PM
mm..about 2 x slabs a week..trying to back off a bit, but its the wrong time of the year..
I have 2 young kids and a 9-5 professional job..not a good look I guess..

Working on it...been dry since Sat night...drinking about 3-4L water a day, seems to be working...pacing the halls a bit though..

I'd love to be able to have 1 or 2 beers with dinner once or twice a week...but it always turns into 10+everynight...it seems abstinance may be the only cure..

I broke my leg this year, and had 6 weeks off, because I didn't think 10 beers and crutches were a good idea...but soon as the Doc gave me the Ok, I was straight back into it, like I never left...actually probably worse..

My family has a real drinking culture as well, but its a bit like smoking..would I want my kids to smoke = no, would I want them to drink like me = no - how would they learn that behaviour; "Hey mate, get dad another beer from the fridge can you?"...so in that context, I have a reason....we'll see how I go..
Post by: chillipepperz on December 12, 2012, 10:09:44 PM
So after 6 weeks of dietary restraint I find myself in coober pedy and two bottles of red later I'm wondering what the morning will be like...but I don't drink much!
Post by: Diesel Power on December 14, 2012, 09:53:44 AM
As a Mate said to me yesterday, "its West Coast Coolers for you from now on Mate". He said that because i got the snip yesterday. 2 beers a day is my usual, heavys of course, (except before Nightshift Symon!).
Angus
Post by: StrvnMrvn on December 14, 2012, 11:52:11 AM
Well after being O/S for 6 months for work, I really couldn't have any however, now that its chrissy holidays for me til the 29th of Jan, well I guess 5-6 beers a nite wouldn't be hard. However, during the normal work week, 3-4 would be the norm.

Post by: Foo on December 14, 2012, 12:34:29 PM
The REAL question is how much $ per month do you spend on beer/alcomahols?   ;D

It costs me $20 a month for the five bottles of rum I consume, oh the joys of home brew. :cup:

I can't, well I could but I can't drink more because I drive a B-double all week, so I have too be a good boy. :'(

Post by: Sawed-Off on December 14, 2012, 08:37:21 PM
It's more about the "what" rather than the "how many" for me these days. I enjoy selections from the craft beer aisle at Dan's, usually. I can't seem to drink more than 5 out of a sixer before my wife is taking me home. Probably good timing. Hangovers just about wreck me for the weekend these days.
Post by: Mace on December 14, 2012, 09:15:15 PM
It costs me $20 a month for the five bottles of rum I consume, oh the joys of home brew. :cup:

Thinking of doing spirits (scotch or bourbon) as well, what still do you use?

What essence  brands do you use?

Post by: Foo on December 15, 2012, 12:23:04 PM
Hi Mace,

I use the Still Spirits 25Ltr Super Reflux Still and the same brand essence.

The one I would buy now has a tall tower on it and will give 95% alcohol from the stilling process and you don't need to keep an eye on the temperature all the time, plus you can mix and drink straight away. 8) After you have broken it down to 40% of course. ;D

I also mix in a good tablespoon of glucose syrup per 5Ltrs of alcohol and this makes for a very smooth drop. If you stick you mixed brew in the freezer, yeah you read that right, for 24hrs it will mature it like a 12mth old brew. ;)

Post by: Mace on December 15, 2012, 02:27:05 PM
Thanx, will check them out. Something to think about in  the new year.

Will remember the freezer trick too.

Post by: qlddsl on December 16, 2012, 07:33:20 AM
As a Mate said to me yesterday, "its West Coast Coolers for you from now on Mate". He said that because i got the snip yesterday.

Need something stronger than that to dull the ache, had it done Wednesday as well!

Answer to o/p, not enough ;D
Post by: Tbombadelaide on December 18, 2012, 06:06:08 PM
Couple of Coopers Pale every camping day and try to stay away from those metrosexual crafted potpouri smelling beers.......... for all other occasions there is Mount Gay rum... :cheers:
Post by: Kirky on December 18, 2012, 07:06:05 PM
I gave up drinking............................funnily enough it was on the same day I took up guzzleing.