General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on August 24, 2012, 03:22:11 PM

Title: 4x4 show this weekend
Post by: Bird on August 24, 2012, 03:22:11 PM
Anyone going?
http://www.4x4show.com.au/melbourne/ (http://www.4x4show.com.au/melbourne/)

Might go look at jockey wheels :( and tourism NSW... if the rain stops that is :(
Title: Re: 4x4 show this weekend
Post by: Swannie on August 24, 2012, 03:39:19 PM
Yep thinking Sunday...Lost what about you?

Post by: Bird on August 24, 2012, 03:54:51 PM
Yep thinking Sunday...Lost what about you?

yea, sunday maybe...
Weather dependent LOL!
Post by: Swannie on August 24, 2012, 03:55:57 PM
If weather good, should catch up for a meet and greet.

Post by: KingBilly on August 24, 2012, 04:11:24 PM
What's rain.  Nothing in Qld for over a month.  Enjoy the show.
Post by: Bird on August 24, 2012, 04:13:00 PM
just talkin to a mate that is there, he says its better than last yr, but very quiet on the visitors today...

Greg, if I go sunday, I'll know saturday night, so I'll post up...

I just hate crowds.
Post by: _Gecko_ on August 24, 2012, 05:13:24 PM
was thinking of going sunday if i am ok to drive after a big night planned for saturday.
Give me a chance to see how things handle the rain.
Guessing i will be the only alternative/goth looking person in the place so if you see me give me a shout out.
Gecko
Post by: Paul Mac on August 24, 2012, 05:42:09 PM
Bruce (Lost) if you are still interested in a jockey wheel after you've been to the show give me a hoy as I have a new ALKO power wheel jockey wheel with a nuematic tyre going at a reasonable price.

Cheers Paul
Post by: Swannie on August 24, 2012, 06:57:15 PM
Bruce (Lost) if you are still interested in a jockey wheel after you've been to the show give me a hoy as I have a new ALKO power wheel jockey wheel with a nuematic tyre going at a reasonable price.

Cheers Paul

What $$ you after Paul?
Post by: JCOJ on August 24, 2012, 07:39:07 PM
I'm coming over from Adelaide to be there on Sunday - my new Aussie Swag is on display there and I get to take it home when the show ends. YAY!!

I'd be happy to catch up with a few of you Vics if you are keen.  I estimate I won't get there until around 10.30am.
Post by: Swannie on August 24, 2012, 08:04:00 PM
Sounds good John. Jump on the forum tomorrow night and we can all confirm attendence or not and a meeting point.

Post by: fuji on August 24, 2012, 08:40:06 PM
Okay, just got a leave pass for a couple of hours on Sunday. Little one has a play date and swmbo will probably go to gym woohoo. Will confirm tomorrow night.
Wayne
John, might get to see your camper after all. ;D
Post by: Swannie on August 24, 2012, 09:12:18 PM
Wyno, does that mean we get to see the new family member??

Post by: Bird on August 24, 2012, 11:53:00 PM

Cheers Paul
Hey paul
any specs on it? Length etc
Post by: fuji on August 25, 2012, 06:26:58 AM
Wyno, does that mean we get to see the new family member??

No, I dont want to take her to the big smoke yet, she's still a bit gun shy, you have to consider she came from the country.  :'(
Post by: D4D on August 25, 2012, 07:38:39 AM
If any of you go please have a robust chat with the guys on the BFG stand and ask why they are exhibiting at the show considering they can't supply any tyres for months!
Post by: Paul Mac on August 25, 2012, 10:53:45 AM
Sent you a pm Bruce.
Post by: fuji on August 25, 2012, 05:53:30 PM
Show of hands Ladies & Gents? 
I am, anyone else?
Wayne
Post by: Bird on August 25, 2012, 06:04:09 PM
Sent you a pm Bruce.
got it... will get back to you

Im not going to the show.. too much kids Shit I've been volunteered for  >:(   >:( 

but we should arrange a coffee/beer/dinner night one night instead somewhere to put names to faces.
Post by: Brett B on August 25, 2012, 06:09:30 PM
I am, anyone else?
Wayne
Hey WYNO
I went early this morning. Heaps of people there much the same as last year
Bargin wise I think sunday will be the go you will be able to hagel with them
Checked out all the awnings on offer tigerz ironman arb and a few others as far as I could see they are exatly the same .Same Ali extusion same poles except tigerz will have the cast Aloy end insted of plastic.
Had a chat with Allan and his nephew from Terrain Tamer about there old banger project coming along nicely
I bought a few rocker switches,axle bearing nut socket
Cought up with Carlisle from 4WD Touring and Craig from Johnnos about there new adventuers, Mag and TV some neat stuff in the pipeline there
Other than that Its the same as usual
I wasnt alowed to spend to many $ there as I have just bought a radio nav system from Matt at Dig Options
Post by: Swannie on August 25, 2012, 07:44:56 PM

Im not going to the show.. too much kids **** I've been volunteered for  >:(   >:( 

but we should arrange a coffee/beer/dinner night one night instead somewhere to put names to faces.
I'll be in that lost.
Post by: Swannie on August 25, 2012, 07:50:58 PM
I am, anyone else?
Wayne

Wayne I'm still intending to go. Pm your number and I'll give you a call at some stage in the morning when I'm there

Post by: GeoffA on August 25, 2012, 07:54:36 PM
....but we should arrange a coffee/beer/dinner night one night instead somewhere to put names to faces.

I like that idea.......... ;D
Post by: Swannie on August 25, 2012, 08:00:27 PM
Hey Geoff. Been using that ripper coots camper mate, since we caught up at Mitchell's?

Post by: GeoffA on August 25, 2012, 08:56:07 PM
Hey Geoff. Been using that ripper coots camper mate, since we caught up at Mitchell's?

Hi Greg,

We had planned to get away this weekend, but the weather forecast scared us off. Delayed for 2 weeks...
You been out in yours??

Geoff
Post by: JCOJ on August 25, 2012, 09:01:31 PM
Obviously I am still in.

Wayne - I have your number so I will text you in the morning for a meeting place.
Post by: xcvator on August 25, 2012, 09:12:45 PM

Im not going to the show.. too much kids **** I've been volunteered for  >:(   >:( 

Would I be allowed to join your group for dinner/drinkies  please, pretty please, pleeeaaaaassse ?
Sh@t i hate a person that grovels
Post by: fuji on August 26, 2012, 06:05:48 AM
Post by: Bird on August 26, 2012, 09:25:55 AM
Quote from: Brett B
Had a chat with Allan and his nephew from Terrain Tamer about there old banger project coming along nicely
Al's a top bloke, was at his shop yesterday looking at maps, forgettin he'd be at the show.
Post by: Bird on August 26, 2012, 09:27:31 AM
anyone going today, try this

https://secure.tradevent.com.au/National4x4Melbourne2012/
4X412
Post by: fuji on August 26, 2012, 02:09:14 PM
Al's a top bloke, was at his shop yesterday looking at maps, forgettin he'd be at the show.

Been there and now I'm home, met up with John and his new CT. Shes a real work of art. Aslo met up with Carlisle and hs crew and was shouted a coffee. Not intending to spend any money, I ended up buying 5 BFG KM2s which they had available. My first mod.
Post by: xcvator on August 26, 2012, 02:17:35 PM
Hey Wyno is that your new tug in your avatar  :laugh:
Post by: fuji on August 26, 2012, 03:42:37 PM
I wish, thats an old one we had a few years ago. Some young buck probably has it now.
Post by: JCOJ on August 26, 2012, 10:10:38 PM
Well I had a great time at the show.  It is sooooo much bigger than anything Adelaide can put on - so many more exhibitors, huge pavillions, and I also got to see Flemington which I have only seen on tv every November for the past 40 years!!

I also got to meet Wyno (great catching up with you  :cheers: :cheers:  ), and of course I picked up my camper - pics coming when I get it back home!!
Post by: Bird on August 26, 2012, 11:33:48 PM
I had to take kids to the skate park at Cranny... some of them 12yr olds are insane..
But bargain at $8 for 1/2 a day..

http://www.theshedskatepark.com.au/ (http://www.theshedskatepark.com.au/)
Post by: Slug on August 28, 2012, 01:24:23 PM
G'day all, i had a solid day there on Friday.  Reasnoble crowd numbers i thought, wouldnt like to have been there when busy!  I havnt been for a few years, last time was when it was at Geoff's shed.  I thought there was more "smaller" stuff previously?  This time round it was lots of big $ stuff.  I did manage to get a few bargain books/guides and maps though, so i feel like i had a bargain.  Certainly had to know your prices on a few other things though.