Author Topic: Landcruiser Mountain Park Sold  (Read 33994 times)

Landcruiser Mountain Park Sold
« on: January 13, 2016, 08:53:18 PM »
It's a 4wd park just North of Brisbane for those who have no idea where the place is.....Just read this on LCOOL forum, no idea of how true it is. Alben is the current owner for those who don't know him.
Received a call from Alben who said that the park is now under contract and will close in March.
It will now be called Crofters Mountain Resort.
This involves people buying a croft of land( the Irish and Scottish do this).
They will post on the internet soon.
« Last Edit: January 13, 2016, 08:54:55 PM by Rumpig »

Re: Landcruiser Mountain Park Sold
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2016, 09:33:18 PM »
Sooo its been sold again, think this makes it  the fourth or fifth time its been sold for real in the past 10 odd years, wonder if Alben has actualy sold it for real this time ..
Reckon you  real estate blokes would have ways of finding out .. Hope he got a Mottsa for it, He's not getting any younger ..
Reminds me of the Rugs a Million closing down sales or over stocked discount sales aads on the TV, it must have taken them near fifteen years to close down and I think its been near on ten years or more that  they are still trying to sell of the overstocked rugs.. ;D ;D
« Last Edit: January 13, 2016, 09:44:25 PM by edz »

« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2016, 06:04:45 AM »
Sooo its been sold again, think this makes it  the fourth or fifth time its been sold for real in the past 10 odd years, wonder if Alben has actualy sold it for real this time ..
Reckon you  real estate blokes would have ways of finding out .. Hope he got a Mottsa for it, He's not getting any younger ..
Reminds me of the Rugs a Million closing down sales or over stocked discount sales aads on the TV, it must have taken them near fifteen years to close down and I think its been near on ten years or more that  they are still trying to sell of the overstocked rugs.. ;D ;D

Lol, rugs a million closing sale!  Went on for ever, longest closing sale in history.  :cup:

« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2016, 06:21:45 AM »
I thought the Army bought it for training?
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"
The following users thanked this post: latestarter

Offline Red Dog 4x4

« Reply #4 on: January 14, 2016, 08:01:20 AM »
It hasn't sold, but like every thing of Alben's every thing is for sale at the right price, I was up there not long ago talking with him and his brother.

The Rig- 97 GQ Coil Cab with lots of goodies
The Trailer- 2002 Castaway camper with lots of mods....
Quad Build -http://cfmoto-forum.com/cforce-500-h-o/cforce-550ho-from-australia/

Offline hempo

« Reply #5 on: January 14, 2016, 10:08:12 AM »
Rugs a million.  Bit like John Farnham's final tour. 
2016 Holden Colorado LS Cab Chassis with 2011 Jimboomba Condamine Camper Trailer

« Reply #6 on: January 14, 2016, 10:48:47 AM »
Rugs a million.  Bit like John Farnham's final tour.

But wait, there's more!  ;D

« Reply #7 on: January 15, 2016, 11:46:13 AM »
It hasn't sold, but like every thing of Alben's every thing is for sale at the right price, I was up there not long ago talking with him and his brother.
might I suggest you check out their website which says different, and is in line with what my original post says....closes March 7 apparently

« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2016, 11:59:12 AM »
I think you have to buy your part of the land or something.. confusing
http://www.crofters.com.au/

Edit: the "LAND AND LIBERTY FOR GENERATIONS"... sounds greenies to me.. ??? strange

« Last Edit: January 15, 2016, 12:20:20 PM by Bird »

Offline GUEY

« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2016, 12:16:23 PM »
Yep :( No more LCMP for me unfortunately.
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2016, 12:22:41 PM »

Clearly the price was right. ;)

« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2016, 12:23:07 PM »
I just read the Crofters Web site and my take is you buy a 15 year lease on a parcel of land for around $400/$800. Then they charge an ongoing maintenance fee between $140/$180 per quarter.

So I gather that means your able to fence off your portion on land and go camping/4WDing whenever you like. So also means the general public aren’t allowed in.

While the initial price is reasonable, with the ongoing maintenance fee you would really want to spend a lot of time bush camping as $600-$700 per year pays for a lot of nights in National parks.

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2016, 12:43:44 PM »
From "The Crofters Way"

"As a private property, not open to the public, Crofters Estate maintains its right to enforce its own rules and regulations. For example no person is permitted to conceal their identity with clothing, hoods or helmets. This is a place of openness and freedom, not a place of concealment or servitude."

So you can't ride a motorbike whilst wearing helmets, or wear a hoody when it gets cold... ?
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2016, 01:04:42 PM »
My memories of the place were that its mostly Hot rough steep scrub country and dry hard rocky ground with a few flat areas and intermittent creeks .
Reckon the only ones doing any type of four wheel driviing will be the ones trying to scrabble up those tracks to get to their patch of steep waterless unusable 45*+  sloped  patch of scrub land .

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #14 on: January 15, 2016, 01:52:07 PM »
I just read the Crofters Web site and my take is you buy a 15 year lease on a parcel of land for around $400/$800. Then they charge an ongoing maintenance fee between $140/$180 per quarter.

So I gather that means your able to fence off your portion on land and go camping/4WDing whenever you like. So also means the general public aren’t allowed in.

While the initial price is reasonable, with the ongoing maintenance fee you would really want to spend a lot of time bush camping as $600-$700 per year pays for a lot of nights in National parks.

Interesting concept . 

Sounds like it could end up looking like a shanty town.
"You may erect a range useful permanent structures, such as: a lockable storage shed to stow your gear between visits, meaning you no longer have to cart all your gear with you; build a raised deck to get your tent off the ground or to gain an improved view; put down a slab or driveway; put in water tanks to collect your own water supply, even when you’re not there; build a shower stall for a gas shower."

« Reply #15 on: January 15, 2016, 02:06:25 PM »
And if you buy your plot next to or surrounded by 1 group of mates who are scrotes - what then?

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #16 on: January 15, 2016, 02:09:56 PM »
Interesting concept . 

Sounds like it could end up looking like a shanty town.
"You may erect a range useful permanent structures, such as: a lockable storage shed to stow your gear between visits, meaning you no longer have to cart all your gear with you; build a raised deck to get your tent off the ground or to gain an improved view; put down a slab or driveway; put in water tanks to collect your own water supply, even when you’re not there; build a shower stall for a gas shower."

It'll be interesting to see how it turns out. The website seems to be appealing to those who want freedom from the nanny state, which might translate to bogans who want to get drunk and hoon around on private property endangering themselves and others whilst they are exercising their 'right to personal freedom'. I hope it doesn't turn out that way and the trust has a decent way of dealing with that behaviour.
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

Offline Redcherokee

« Reply #17 on: January 15, 2016, 04:08:25 PM »
Brilliant. That is cheaper than Storage King.  Put up a bloody big fence and security, and store container loads of stuff there.

On the other hand, they don't permit dwellings, but don't define a dwelling.  But they do say camping is OK.  So, presumably I can merrily live in my caravan and annex indefinitely. Just need to make my holidays coincide with their maintenance shutdown periods.   :cheers:

Sounds like a bunch of idealists, who will undoubtedly get a hard hit of reality at some point.

Would love to read the contract.   Would also be interesting to see the lawsuit when someone gets injured through not wearing a helmet, because they are not permitted to wear one.

« Last Edit: January 15, 2016, 04:35:43 PM by Redcherokee »

Jeep Rubicon SWB 2013. Outback Campers Sturt 2011
4.2L Patrol and Billabong Grove 16 hard roofed camper.

Offline evolution

• Pain is just weakness leaving the body
« Reply #18 on: January 15, 2016, 04:31:33 PM »
Ive just been reading through the costs, I dont think its overly expensive in the long run. Provided the property doesn't get sold and re used for something different.
Min cost for a perpetual croft is about $4500 then to $13500.
If it was to actually work here it could be cool, but I am a little doubtful of the longevity of this project?

Nick
Owner at Regional Campers
Explore a different world!

Offline Rogerthatv2

• GNDN 4
« Reply #19 on: January 15, 2016, 06:10:21 PM »
Sad, had some good days in my earlier  4wding life, if I want to go back sounds like I might need to tune up my Banjo and buy some barb wire...

Good luck to the Perrets however, hope they enjoy their retirement.

2009 Jayco Outback Hawk & Prado 150 Series VX D4D - Now we just have to use it - not look at it!

scrapsD40

Landcruiser Mountain Park Sold
« Reply #20 on: January 15, 2016, 06:37:27 PM »
From "The Crofters Way"

"As a private property, not open to the public, Crofters Estate maintains its right to enforce its own rules and regulations. For example no person is permitted to conceal their identity with clothing, hoods or helmets. This is a place of openness and freedom, not a place of concealment or servitude."
Soooooooo, it's a nudist camp then?
« Last Edit: January 15, 2016, 07:20:39 PM by scrapsD40 »

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #21 on: January 15, 2016, 08:16:49 PM »
so it looks like you can select your croft ..lots of area to find a 900m2 plot and if it rings true that only so many will be avail you will have plenty of space around you.

tempting if motorbikes allowed

Jet ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #22 on: January 15, 2016, 09:28:46 PM »
so it looks like you can select your croft ..lots of area to find a 900m2 plot
Jet ;D

Sounds like a good place to go free camping.......if only it was free !!!   ???

Offline Hotdognz

« Reply #23 on: January 16, 2016, 08:48:17 AM »
They say no public yet they have events booked in on the web site, its the best place to go 4Wding and camping at the same time close to Brisbane and will be missed, our Jeep club has 2 weekend trips there a year and I go on another 2 through the year, the variety of tracks their is great.

Sent from my YOGA Tablet 2-1050F using Tapatalk

Offline griz066

« Reply #24 on: January 16, 2016, 09:45:58 AM »
Yesterday's Gone, Tomorrow Hasn't Happened, Live For Today.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=12950.msg192834#msg192834