General => Previous Member Trips => Trips, Tracks, Touring and Reports => 2018 McGirr's Myswag.org 2018 Ultimate Kimberley Adventure => Topic started by: krog on November 21, 2015, 02:26:40 PM

Title: What you going to tow on 2018 Kimberly trip
Post by: krog on November 21, 2015, 02:26:40 PM
What is everybody going to tow or sleep in on trip we at present have soft floor camper but will have hard floor or but not sure is suited to trip a jayco swan outback preferred we are going to be away for 6 mnths during and after trip so some comfort and easy set up will be required will be happy to hear others thoughts.
Title: Re: What you going to tow on 2018 Kimberly trip
Post by: McGirr on November 21, 2015, 04:09:24 PM

Still saving to buy our new trailer, hybrid, van and still unsure  ;D

Post by: filcar on November 21, 2015, 07:02:52 PM
If I can manage to move from the back up list to the main game I'll be in my Aussie Swag camper.
Post by: Chris J on November 22, 2015, 11:05:46 AM

Oka will stay at home, will bring Mazda BT-50 and 2010 Tvan Track Trailer.

Regards, Chris.
Post by: tracker on November 22, 2015, 03:24:20 PM
BT 50.....Ecomate forward fold...Hmmmm...not sure bout wifey though  ... >:D >:D
                                            Cheers Wayne.
Post by: alnjan on November 29, 2015, 09:34:00 AM
Like McGirr, still to buy.  Looking for something a that better suits our needs and abilities then the Cub
Post by: Doweymex on December 02, 2015, 09:23:19 PM
We'll have our Complete Campsite Soft floor. Hopefully by then a 200lc will be the tug!
Post by: noel_w on December 02, 2015, 09:29:32 PM
Hoping not to tow anything. Setting up my GU ute to camp out of. See how I go.
Post by: Spud7017 on December 03, 2015, 10:56:49 AM
BRS Offroad Hybrid........behind the Amarok.
Post by: Trevdeb on December 08, 2015, 05:26:02 PM
Hi Tracker,
I like the look of the Mod Con FF campers, are you happy with yours ?

Post by: Bad Scott on December 20, 2015, 06:08:23 AM
A Ultimate LC79 combo ;D
Post by: wakychapmans on December 20, 2015, 06:27:30 AM
our current setup is the 105 series towing the "half an 80 series" trailer. (it just tows sooooo well behind my cruiser)

but 2018 is a ways off...

prefered (upgrade) camper would be a 2nd hand Tvan.

Though a Breakaway w/dinette would be on that same list too.

Post by: tracker on December 20, 2015, 07:26:32 PM
Hi Tracker,
I like the look of the Mod Con FF campers, are you happy with yours ?

Sorry Mate ...haven't hit this thread for a while....but in answer to your question...in a nut shell....yes !!!
Post by: fuji on February 28, 2016, 09:38:10 PM
Hopefully a new van will be ordered later this year, looking at a Evernew off road. Have to sell the Aussie Swag first.
Post by: filcar on February 29, 2016, 12:01:23 AM
Hopefully a new van will be ordered later this year, looking at a Evernew off road. Have to sell the Aussie Swag first.

Why would you go down from an Aussie Swag?
Post by: McGirr on February 29, 2016, 11:54:11 PM

Wayne said I can have his Aussie Swag because I am organising the trip  ;D

Post by: filcar on March 01, 2016, 08:24:27 AM

Sounds like a good deal then .... ;)
Post by: dlncooke on March 22, 2016, 07:02:07 AM
Hi, We'll be staying in an Oztent, Sold our camper trailer and bought a van.

Post by: BMPatriot on March 26, 2016, 09:52:59 AM
Currently have a patriot X1 but I'm beginning the build on the touring camper soon so it's ready for 2018! Want something more suited to longer term travel so have a custom design in motion.

Post by: JCOJ on May 16, 2016, 10:05:46 PM

We went from an Aussie Swag to an Evernew. I wouldn't call it 'going down' but rather 'staying equal'.
Post by: fuji on May 18, 2016, 11:33:56 PM

It's at Evos atm getting detailed for the big sale.😁😁😁😁
Post by: richo36 on May 25, 2016, 08:50:24 PM
Greg & I will be in our home made off - road trailer that has been places we are yet to see 😕
Post by: Symon on July 08, 2016, 10:05:51 PM
El cheapo has been raised from the dead with a new paint job, kitchen and a Trackabout tent top.  It survived its test run up the Cape so should be in good nick to head to the Kimberley's.
Post by: yogi on August 10, 2016, 08:20:54 PM
I reckon you could tow a caravan on this trip :cheers:

Post by: Alan Loy on March 08, 2017, 04:58:35 PM
We have just acquired a new Tvan  ;D so thats what we will be towing
Post by: McGirr on June 04, 2017, 12:05:45 PM

Looks like we will be taking the mighty tough country camper on the trip due to being unable to obtain finance to purchase anything. The joys of living remote as finance companies don't like to lend to people who live remote.

No issues as the camper will be getting some major upgrades over the coming year.

New large toolbox

Slide out kitchen

Finally fix the wiring set up

Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 05, 2017, 09:26:23 AM
Looks like we will be taking the mighty tough country camper on the trip due to being unable to obtain finance to purchase anything. The joys of living remote as finance companies don't like to lend to people who live remote.

No issues as the camper will be getting some major upgrades over the coming year.

New large toolbox

Slide out kitchen

Finally fix the wiring set up

Thats a bugger Mark. Out of interest, what was your replacement??

Post by: McGirr on June 05, 2017, 04:20:07 PM
Thats a bugger Mark. Out of interest, what was your replacement??

We looked at all styles from hybrids to off road vans. We did not mind the zone rv vans but decided to look at a jayco and then decided that its hard to buy one without the right amount of money. Both vans have metal frames.

Post by: richo36 on June 12, 2017, 02:12:31 PM

I have to thank you because Greg & I FINALLY just completed your itinerary for the Cape York 2011 trip we were going to go on with you and it was UNREAL!  Our home made camper performed brilliantly as did the Triton that is now six years older than when we were going to accompany you.  People, places and weather were fantastic and we stayed in most of the places you mentioned.  CANNOT WAIT FOR NEXT YEAR.

Lyn Richardson
Post by: McGirr on June 12, 2017, 07:28:50 PM
Great to hear Lyn. I am glad you enjoyed the Cape. Next years trip will be epic.

Post by: Spud7017 on July 01, 2017, 05:20:30 PM
Hi fellow Kimberley travellers.... Just run in our 2nd BRS Offroad Hybrid Van. We upgraded to the premium model which we will be taking to on the Kimberley trip. Just completed a 12k km shake down from Hobart to the Tip in Cape York. What an absolute awesome adventure and has wet our appetite for more... Bring on the Kimberley's!