General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on April 25, 2012, 12:13:07 PM

Title: Toolbox. Tool roll etc.. for tools in the camper
Post by: Bird on April 25, 2012, 12:13:07 PM
Well searching for toolbox didnt help, you get a billionteen hits for trailer toolboxes!

Wondering what sort of toolbox people carry their tools in while travelling? I know some people carry everything including a hoist, welders, and 200,000 piece stahlwille toolkits.... But Im lookin for somethin a touch smaller :)

I'm wanting to setup a toolbox/bag to leave in the trailer. Basic sized spanners, sockets, plyers, s/drivers, etc... I have electrical stuff and tape etc in a different bag.

My issue is all the metal toolboxes I've looked at are absolute RUBBISH quality, and I havent it Bunnings yet!!!

not a big fan of plastic boxes like this
(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MjY5WDM1MA==/$(KGrHqNHJBcE9rIkvO3cBPe7Q7Z1s!~~60_12.JPG)

So I'm lookin at 'toolbags'. maybe this size, maybe bit bigger...
EG: 
1 x NEW Dewalt 24" Contractor Tool Bag $35.00
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/330453285398 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/330453285398)
(http://img.auctiva.com/imgdata/1/3/1/5/2/1/6/webimg/349191912_tp.jpg)

It might be a bit easier to pack in nooks and crannys, not sure but anyone using them??
Title: Re: Toolbox... for tools in the camper
Post by: Nomad on April 25, 2012, 12:18:03 PM
I bought one similar to that from Bunnings. I haven't used it in the CT, thats a good idea. <Edit> The Dewalt bag I mean.
Mines pushing 6 years old now and has had a fair bit of use and its still going reasonably well.

To my shame I am using a coles cooler bag to store the basic tools that I carry camping......................Its easy enough to jam into unusual shaped places.

Nomad
Post by: bullfrog on April 25, 2012, 12:20:51 PM
Gday Bruce
I use a soft tool bag in the toolbox on the Tracky. It's a little smaller than the 24" one you pictured, maybe 20". It's a Irwin brand from Bunnings & hold pretty much what you posted,ie, basic spanner set, pliers , bit & pieces to get out of gaol. I also put some extras like gas O rings, extra fuses etc. This bag is only for the camper & it stays in the front box all the time. So far I'm happy with the idea. They don't rattle, will settle into shape & can pack things on top of it. Seems to be easier to fit in the box than a hard tool box too. :cheers:
Post by: D4D on April 25, 2012, 12:22:53 PM
Those soft tool bags are a good idea and less likely to rub a hole in something on corrugations. Hmmm and I am off to Bunnings this arvo :)
Post by: Malcur on April 25, 2012, 12:27:21 PM
I've gone the other way. I have a hard plastic tool box (similar to the one in the first photo). I use it at home then when travelling pack it into the floor space behind the back seat of the car. Works well for me.

Mal
Post by: Bird on April 25, 2012, 12:43:58 PM
Quote from: bullfrog
They don't rattle, will settle into shape & can pack things on top of it. Seems to be easier to fit in the box than a hard tool box too. :cheers:

Cheers Mr. This is wat I wanted to hear.. I'll go with one of the dewalt ones, I hope they are still good quality. Just not sure on size yet.

Thanks.

Sent using a computer, keyboard, mouse, screen, and electricity
Post by: Spurio on April 25, 2012, 12:48:17 PM
Hey Lost,

Had the same issue, so I talk myself into a combination kit:

There are a few different kits around, I picked my one up in a tool shop but I have since seen them in Bunnings.

http://www.sidchrome.com.au/product/7866/69-piece-38-drive-metric-af-combination-tool-set?newproducts=true (http://www.sidchrome.com.au/product/7866/69-piece-38-drive-metric-af-combination-tool-set?newproducts=true)

http://www.vektools.com.au/stanley-hand-tools/stanley-59pce-socket-plier-tool-kit-p-9009.html (http://www.vektools.com.au/stanley-hand-tools/stanley-59pce-socket-plier-tool-kit-p-9009.html)

Takes up about the same room as a laptop bag and each tool has its place so you know if you left any behind.

I think stanley and sidchrome are all made in the same factory these days.
Post by: Burnsy on April 25, 2012, 01:19:25 PM
I like soft bags as they don't waste space.  At the moment I use a miners canvas tote I had lying around.  I am keeping my eye out for a length of canvas from an old awning or similar (you see them on roadside chuckout sometimes) that I will simply pile all the tools on and roll them up.  This will double as a ground sheet to use when undertakning any repairs and do away with the need for a dedicated bag.
Post by: graham on April 25, 2012, 05:44:04 PM
G,day Lost i brought a sidchrome toolbox (set of metric and imperial spanners same with a socket set 1/4 and 1/2 met and imp all in ametal toolbox with room to spare for hammer chisels files circlip pliers, and a full set of pliers)  the toolbox ,with the spanners and sockets was $200 with a dartboard cabinet  i brought it from trade tools on the gippy highway ,next door to the Kimberly dealer i got a funny feeling they still have them at that price ,but i could be wrong    cheers Graham
Post by: Campa on April 25, 2012, 07:01:52 PM
Those tote bags are great. I use this Snap on one http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/item.asp?P65=&tool=all&item_ID=646915&group_ID=681882&store=australia&dir=catalog (http://buy1.snapon.com/catalog/item.asp?P65=&tool=all&item_ID=646915&group_ID=681882&store=australia&dir=catalog)   for work and throw it in the camper when we go camping, you'll be suprised how much can fit in them, and for $60 its bloody good value. Ive had mine for over 6 yrs and its still going strong.  In mine I put all my hand tools. It holds all my metric and imperial hand spanners from 6mm (1/4") - 25mm (1") , My 1/4" and 1/2" drive metric / imperial socket sets up to 32mm - 1 1/4". Pliers (circlip, wire crimps cutter, linemans etc) - , butane solder set, files, oil filters strap, selection of electrical joiners, tapes, loctites etc. hammers, pry bars, 12pc screwdriver set, electrical mini screw driver set, multi meter.......etc etc  pretty much everything for roadside repairs. Only thing I cant fit is the 18v impact wrench and drill  ;D they both get thrown in beside it!
Post by: Jon on April 25, 2012, 08:22:34 PM
I have a good steel toolbox my young bloke made in year 9 metal work that holds all my sockets and heavier bits and pieces.
My tool belt holds all my normal stuff, meter, various screwdrivers, 2 shifters, pliers , side cutters, crimp lugs and connectors plus a fair range of common allen keys.
Both containers live in the back of the Paj
Post by: nick 08 on April 25, 2012, 09:55:59 PM
I have a soft bag from bunnings also cost about $10-$15 from memory and also a large canvas tool roll made buy MSA which is good for keeping all the single hand tools and bits and pieces neat.

Nick
Post by: Bird on April 26, 2012, 10:18:16 AM
I find it annoying that all these companies spend millions on rubbish, but cant have 1 photo of the inside of their bags showing "all the pockets and poo inside the bag " on their websites.
Post by: cruisindub on April 26, 2012, 05:09:42 PM
Tool rolls are good, stop rubbing through anything, Also everything has a place and there's a place for everything.as mentioned, nothing gets left behind .
Tool bags aregoood, for easy packing and soft padding,  but its easy to do as I did, over pack it andcant close the zip, so I finally settle on a small plastic tool box that I made a dedicated place for. That's just for the toolbox.can no longer fill it with extras, if the lid doesn't close it doesn't go in.it fits square, always know where it is,and nothing else gets packed in its place.
Works for me.
good luck!
Post by: Bird on April 26, 2012, 05:21:40 PM
these also dont look bad to put in the other bag, but at $100 they can smoke me.
(http://www.australiandirect.com.au/assets/full/PLURL.jpg)
Post by: Campa on April 26, 2012, 06:08:03 PM
I find it annoying that all these companies spend millions on rubbish, but cant have 1 photo of the inside of their bags showing "all the pockets and poo inside the bag " on their websites.

Hey lost I took a few photo's of mine today....also gave my a chance to give it a clean out  ;D

Post by: Sicilianmama on April 26, 2012, 06:37:24 PM
Good idea, something we are definitely getting after our incident on the weekend :/
Post by: Bird on April 26, 2012, 07:12:10 PM
Quote from: bnk08
Hey lost I took a few photo's of mine today....also gave my a chance to give it a clean out  ;D

Love your work Mr... Thats an awesome lookin bit of gear.

Thanks, shame the companies didnt have that on their sites!
Post by: johnyd on April 26, 2012, 08:02:04 PM
these also dont look bad to put in the other bag, but at $100 they can smoke me.

Plenty of other options
 Google shopping results  (https://www.google.com.au/search?q=tool+roll&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&client=firefox-a#q=tool+roll&hl=en&safe=off&client=firefox-a&hs=Kg1&sa=X&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&tbs=p_ord:p&tbm=shop&prmd=imvns&ei=GxiZT8rlEaLcmAXR9unnBQ&ved=0CJsBELsNKAE&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_cp.r_qf.,cf.osb&fp=23ea5ef47bc3b399&biw=1280&bih=696)

I'd go for a couple of smaller ones, colour coded or at least with labels and chuck them in a larger bag like you suggested. 

Some of the ones at places like Repco, SCA, or Autobarn don't look bad on quality/price for the larger bags if you have one near you.

Currently my gear just slides around in the back of my Commodore in the packages they came in, so I'm not much help on picking things.

If you're still thinking about a metal one you can find some better ones than many stores stock at garage sales if you have the time and inclination.  I picked up a  Geelong box  (http://www.geelongsales.com.au/products_item.php?recordID=18) for $20 in near perfect condition.  It had a can of expandable foam "leak" in it that I had to get out, took about 10 mins with some power tools to get it clean.  I know you're not after something that big, but simple things like that can have people basically chuck away some nice gear and if you happen to be around at the right time you can get a bargain.
Post by: Bird on April 26, 2012, 08:11:41 PM
Plenty of other options
 Google shopping results  (https://www.google.com.au/search?q=tool+roll&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&client=firefox-a#q=tool+roll&hl=en&safe=off&client=firefox-a&hs=Kg1&sa=X&rls=org.mozilla:en-GB:official&tbs=p_ord:p&tbm=shop&prmd=imvns&ei=GxiZT8rlEaLcmAXR9unnBQ&ved=0CJsBELsNKAE&bav=on.2,or.r_gc.r_pw.r_cp.r_qf.,cf.osb&fp=23ea5ef47bc3b399&biw=1280&bih=696)

I'd go for a couple of smaller ones, colour coded or at least with labels and chuck them in a larger bag like you suggested. 

Some of the ones at places like Repco, SCA, or Autobarn don't look bad on quality/price for the larger bags if you have one near you.

Currently my gear just slides around in the back of my Commodore in the packages they came in, so I'm not much help on picking things.

Cheers Mr.
Been googling for them and other things on and off for a few days... I was plannin a trip to Bursons, Repco, Superrubbish, and others tomorrow on way to Pirahna offroad to look at.. stuff ;) 
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 26, 2012, 08:17:57 PM
I have a hard bodied one that fits nicely in the drawer. I think i got it from bunnings, its a trojan brand and the compartments in the top are good for small bits and pieces. Sorry for the pic, just snapped it then in the dark and the rain

Post by: jclures on April 26, 2012, 08:18:59 PM
These are very good bags, made for industrial jobs, but they are not cheep.
http://www.beehivevinyl.com.au/component/redshop/1/79/beehive-tool-bags (http://www.beehivevinyl.com.au/component/redshop/1/79/beehive-tool-bags)
Post by: johnyd on April 26, 2012, 08:26:28 PM
Cheers Mr.
Been googling for them and other things on and off for a few days... I was plannin a trip to Bursons, Repco, Superrubbish, and others tomorrow on way to Pirahna offroad to look at.. stuff ;)

I figured you would've but thought I'd put the link in anyway. 

I like looking at "stuff" to, wander around the camping, auto and off-road stores around town quite often if I have time to kill.  Been half looking for a tool bag since the stuff I have slides around.  Most of the SCA and similar aren't terrible for the price, but they aren't that flash if you aren't worried about the price.  Don't even look at the cheap red metal toolboxes, blokes used to use them at boarding school to put drinks in the common fridge.  They ended up in pieces more often than not, and I don't think anyone even had tools.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 26, 2012, 08:28:09 PM
These are very good bags, made for industrial jobs, but they are not cheep.
http://www.beehivevinyl.com.au/component/redshop/1/79/beehive-tool-bags (http://www.beehivevinyl.com.au/component/redshop/1/79/beehive-tool-bags)

Damm you JC, i think you cost me some money on that link >:D

Post by: Bird on April 26, 2012, 08:32:46 PM
pays to shop around

1- http://www.australiandirect.com.au/buy/large-tool-roll/PLURL (http://www.australiandirect.com.au/buy/large-tool-roll/PLURL) (same seller on ebay!)
2 - http://www.msa4x4.com.au/Products/ToolRolls.asp (http://www.msa4x4.com.au/Products/ToolRolls.asp)

only $10 difference, but still $50 overpriced.
Post by: jclures on April 26, 2012, 08:48:22 PM
GG I can only speak highly of these bags, my son uses them on his work place carrying all his tools as a heavy diesel fitter, I ordered him a new bag on Sunday night and it was delivered here today.
 (http://www.beehivevinyl.com.au/components/com_redshop/helpers/thumb.php?filename=product/1331101812_WEB%20SPDB2-7%20-%20Copy.jpg&newxsize=250&newysize=167&swap=0)
Post by: Bird on April 26, 2012, 09:51:52 PM
after googling, found a foto of the MSA one opened up.

(http://img855.imageshack.us/img855/7700/img1144.jpg)
Post by: cruisindub on April 27, 2012, 02:00:49 AM
If after a tool 'roll' check out a 'kitchen room's same thing, loops or pockets for spammers/screwdrivers just a fraction of the price from the home stores.

I bough some cheapies, always good for the bits and pieces.
Post by: Bird on April 27, 2012, 08:46:58 PM
If after a tool 'roll' check out a 'kitchen room's same thing, loops or pockets for spammers/screwdrivers just a fraction of the price from the home stores.

I bough some cheapies, always good for the bits and pieces.
Yea good idea.
although Im over buyin cheap things I have to replace in a few mths...

Theres a few more things to look at yet :)
Title: Re: Toolbox. Tool roll etc.. for tools in the camper
Post by: nick 08 on April 27, 2012, 10:49:54 PM
My MSA tool roll was only $70 from the local TJM same as the one Lost just posted a pic of.

Nick
Post by: Bird on April 28, 2012, 09:18:18 AM
Inspectin last nights Ebay Damage while drinking purchases, also known as 'retail therapy'...

Not a big night. only this, but bidding on seveal other things.
 - http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/160787296491 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/160787296491) I just hope the stiching is ok.
I think I'll go the Snapon bag on prev page.
Post by: D4D on April 29, 2012, 08:23:43 PM
I like these, small enough to fit in drawers etc. http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/120901831637 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/120901831637)
Post by: Bird on April 29, 2012, 08:33:42 PM
I like these, small enough to fit in drawers etc. http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/120901831637 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/120901831637)
Not bad, any 'sleeves' inside the bag to slide tools in, or only outside?
Post by: heath74 on April 29, 2012, 08:34:10 PM
I tried a few different things in the end I'm using this

http://www.4wdaction.com.au/shop/special-subscription-deals/epic-4wd-subscription-deal-9.html (http://www.4wdaction.com.au/shop/special-subscription-deals/epic-4wd-subscription-deal-9.html)

The link has a the mags and things in it.  But I got the tool roll with tools for about 100$ delivered.  The tools are of fair quality, but I mostly got it for the tool roll.  I have added a few more tools and substituted out some of the tools for my preferred items. But you get the idea.
Post by: D4D on April 29, 2012, 08:35:35 PM
Dunno, I'll tell you when it arrives :)
Post by: Bird on May 03, 2012, 07:59:17 PM
anyway, I think it was the night of the Brown Brothers
I got

(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/$(KGrHqQOKkQE1tPpIgF0BNoP6Q2tZg~~_12.JPG)
This has turned up, and not a bad lookin thing :) $34.00

and

(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MTA2M1gxNjAw/$(KGrHqRHJEkE911i1iROBPlnf,VK+w~~60_12.JPG)
Paid for today, shall see how it goes.
Post by: D4D on May 03, 2012, 08:01:47 PM
I like the tool roll, got a link?
Post by: GeoffA on May 03, 2012, 08:08:58 PM

Me too. Looks good. Very flash.......

I got a couple of Southern Cross Canvas tool rolls a few years ago.
Forget what I paid, but they've been good.

One gets used for tent pegs, the other even has tools in it. Go figure.......
Post by: Bird on May 03, 2012, 08:10:23 PM

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/160794117182 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/160794117182)
Post by: GeoffA on May 03, 2012, 08:14:10 PM
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/160794117182 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/160794117182)

Done. Thanks....
Post by: D4D on May 03, 2012, 08:22:27 PM
Done. Thanks....

Post by: Bird on May 03, 2012, 08:31:03 PM
My work is done here.
Now to hook up for lunch with Bazzle tomorrow on the compressor gig :D
Post by: D4D on May 03, 2012, 08:48:20 PM
Now to hook up for lunch with Bazzle tomorrow on the compressor gig :D

Say gday for me
Post by: Bird on May 03, 2012, 08:51:03 PM
Say gday for me
come along.. its at some Golf drivers soy latte saccurine place in mitcham
Post by: D4D on May 04, 2012, 06:38:51 PM

Arrived today, very good quality and has both inside and outside sleeves.
Post by: jk on May 04, 2012, 06:40:49 PM
Yep.........got mine on Tuesday  :cup: , looks ok so far but only time will tell.
Post by: D4D on May 12, 2012, 07:27:16 PM
Picked up the tool roll from the post office. I am pretty happy with it overall although it is a bit narrow for the big shifters and breaker bars.
Title: Toolbox. Tool roll etc.. for tools in the camper
Post by: BigJules on May 12, 2012, 07:39:13 PM
I use a couple of soft tool bags. Picked up a set of three bags, S, M & L, for $40 from Hardware House maybe 12 years ago, still going strong. I have a roll for my spanners, so one can always find the right spanner and never leave one behind.

What about the plastic cases with tools? If they were good enough quality would you be keen on one? All your sockets, drivers & spanners sorted, stored and secure.
Post by: D4D on May 12, 2012, 07:45:17 PM
What about the plastic cases with tools? If they were good enough quality would you be keen on one? All your sockets, drivers & spanners sorted, stored and secure.

I have a Bahco set in a plastic case. I'm using the tool roll for the stuff like screwdrivers etc.

(http://justtools.com.au/productimage_2860.jpg)
Post by: fuji on May 12, 2012, 08:20:00 PM
Picked up the tool roll from the post office. I am pretty happy with it overall although it is a bit narrow for the big shifters and breaker bars.
Big Bank job ay?
Clicked on the Ebay link but no longer available. :'(
Post by: D4D on May 12, 2012, 08:21:56 PM
Big Bank job ay?

Nah just big nuts :)
Post by: mrdenn1s on May 12, 2012, 08:50:40 PM
ALDI have a toolbag on sale next week that may make it into my CT
Post by: cruisindub on May 13, 2012, 12:20:00 AM

No Aldi in WA ! :'(
Quit telling us all over here about all the cheap tool rolls, cryovacers, fire blankets, etc and all the other cheap stuff we cant get over here in the West! ;D
Post by: D4D on May 13, 2012, 07:25:45 AM

Link? I am blind
Post by: GeoffA on May 13, 2012, 07:41:29 AM
I have a Bahco set in a plastic case. I'm using the tool roll for the stuff like screwdrivers etc.

(http://justtools.com.au/productimage_2860.jpg)

I'm doing much the same.........
Post by: crocbait on May 13, 2012, 07:57:13 AM
Dont forget the roll of rescue tape
Post by: GeoffA on May 13, 2012, 08:01:30 AM
Dont forget the roll of rescue tape

.........and cable ties...........gotta have cable ties........... ;D
Post by: Teabag on May 13, 2012, 08:14:18 AM
I picked up a Stanley set at 50% off at Supacheap during Xmas sales....Fits perfect in rear draws and has everything you would need except specialised stuff.....Just added a pliers set......

http://www.stanleytools.com/default.asp?CATEGORY=SMT+MECH+SETS&TYPE=PRODUCT&PARTNUMBER=94-376&SDesc=Stanley%26%23174%3B+145+Piece+Socket+and+Ratchet+Set (http://www.stanleytools.com/default.asp?CATEGORY=SMT+MECH+SETS&TYPE=PRODUCT&PARTNUMBER=94-376&SDesc=Stanley%26%23174%3B+145+Piece+Socket+and+Ratchet+Set)

Post by: fuji on May 13, 2012, 08:16:37 AM
Link? I am blind
I have the catalogue, they appear to be toolbags and not tool rolls. However to throw in the back of the car, they look okay for $24.99 :police:
Post by: Bird on May 13, 2012, 10:36:26 AM
Dunno, I'll tell you when it arrives :)
so, do tell
Post by: D4D on May 13, 2012, 10:44:42 AM
so, do tell

Arrived today, very good quality and has both inside and outside sleeves.
Post by: tjrobbo on May 13, 2012, 02:36:44 PM
Kinchrome make some good sets in hard plastic cases, we use them in the tractors on the farm. Fairly sure there are a few different ones with different tools.
They are similar to the bahco kit D4D showed.
Post by: Bird on May 13, 2012, 08:53:34 PM
Quote from: D4D
any fotos...?
the one I got is way too big :(
Post by: D4D on May 13, 2012, 08:56:30 PM
any fotos...?
the one I got is way too big :(

That's why I bought the small one, pics tomorrow, too cold to go out now.
Post by: Pipeliner on May 14, 2012, 08:23:41 AM
I use one of these (http://www.sydneytools.com.au/shopexd.asp?id=11051&bc=no) from Hitachi.  Two good zip-up side pockets, a spanner roll, lots of tool pockets, and the top can either be used as a seat or a place to put the loose nuts and screws that otherwise get lost on the ground!
Post by: D4D on May 14, 2012, 06:47:21 PM
Aldi special http://aldi.com.au/au/html/offers/2827_21876.htm (http://aldi.com.au/au/html/offers/2827_21876.htm)

(http://aldi.com.au/au/media/offers/WK20_48_Premium_Tool_Bags_PD.jpg)
Post by: BigJules on May 14, 2012, 07:19:36 PM
I am still on the look out for a tool bag lonmg enough to fit my chainsaw into. Might get one made up.
Post by: Teabag on May 14, 2012, 08:02:23 PM
I am still on the look out for a tool bag lonmg enough to fit my chainsaw into. Might get one made up.

Mate, I have had one of these for about 5 years and works a treat......

http://www.infrontcampinggear.com.au/category40_1.htm (http://www.infrontcampinggear.com.au/category40_1.htm)
Post by: BigJules on May 14, 2012, 08:05:54 PM
Perfect, thank you.
Post by: Bill on May 14, 2012, 08:33:30 PM
I picked up a Stanley set at 50% off at Supacheap during Xmas sales....Fits perfect in rear draws and has everything you would need except specialised stuff.....Just added a pliers set......

http://www.stanleytools.com/default.asp?CATEGORY=SMT+MECH+SETS&TYPE=PRODUCT&PARTNUMBER=94-376&SDesc=Stanley%26%23174%3B+145+Piece+Socket+and+Ratchet+Set (http://www.stanleytools.com/default.asp?CATEGORY=SMT+MECH+SETS&TYPE=PRODUCT&PARTNUMBER=94-376&SDesc=Stanley%26%23174%3B+145+Piece+Socket+and+Ratchet+Set)

I have one similar to yours.
Mine has pliers and screwdrivers already included.
It lives behind the rear seat in Nav.
I also got a good deal on mine at Super Cheap, such nice, helpful, extremley knowledgable employees at that Smithfield Super Cheap Store ;D
Bill and Morag
Post by: carinya on May 15, 2012, 11:55:29 AM
Love the idea of the soft bags/ rolls etc, but the minister for finance says we have enough tool boxes in the shed already. I normally just repack the steel cantilever type with tools/ spares for the trip, and put it with the .303 ammo box that has the compressor and straps/ chains right up the front of the triton tray.  Flat on top for packing the food boxes, weight over the axle.
Post by: D4D on May 15, 2012, 12:17:43 PM
any fotos...?

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/bag1.jpg)
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/bag2.jpg)
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/bag3.jpg)
Post by: Bird on May 15, 2012, 12:20:51 PM
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/bag1.jpg)
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/bag2.jpg)
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/bag3.jpg)
are you happy with the size of the bag?
Post by: KevinD4D on May 15, 2012, 01:15:55 PM
My tool setup

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-4V9sskuUKzU/T7HGkkjbOsI/AAAAAAAAAEs/vYn8JOWdE88/w806-h537-k/IMG_2986.JPG)
Bahco tool set

(https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-yVp0_Qvh7-I/T7HGwHq-KnI/AAAAAAAAAEw/CgIUPMuQUEA/w356-h237-n-k/IMG_2987.JPG)
Bunnings tool bag with the balance of tools

Post by: CRW on May 15, 2012, 03:25:38 PM
My tool setup

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-4V9sskuUKzU/T7HGkkjbOsI/AAAAAAAAAEs/vYn8JOWdE88/w806-h537-k/IMG_2986.JPG)
Bahco tool set

(https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-yVp0_Qvh7-I/T7HGwHq-KnI/AAAAAAAAAEw/CgIUPMuQUEA/w356-h237-n-k/IMG_2987.JPG)
Bunnings tool bag with the balance of tools

Where do you guys get the Bahco sets from please

Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 15, 2012, 03:29:52 PM

Most good tool shops have them and possibly even the big green shed, there are a couple of sizes but that is the same one I have and its great

Post by: Bird on May 15, 2012, 03:33:12 PM
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Bahco-94pc-Socket-and-Mechanical-Tool-Set-Chrome-Vanadium-1-4-1-2-Dr-NEW-S87-7-/261024450587?pt=AU_Hand_Tools&hash=item3cc645081b (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Bahco-94pc-Socket-and-Mechanical-Tool-Set-Chrome-Vanadium-1-4-1-2-Dr-NEW-S87-7-/261024450587?pt=AU_Hand_Tools&hash=item3cc645081b)
Post by: CRW on May 15, 2012, 03:48:48 PM
Most good tool shops have them and possibly even the big green shed, there are a couple of sizes but that is the same one I have and its great

Thanks Garrick ;D

Post by: KevinD4D on May 15, 2012, 03:56:46 PM

Got mine from Bunnings about 2 years back. There are a few different sizes, but not real cheap but its all top quality stuff.
Post by: D4D on June 24, 2012, 12:26:39 PM
Clicked on the Ebay link but no longer available. :'(

Try again http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=160829690990 (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=160829690990)

I just filled mine up and it works really well. Uses much less space than the toolbox did.
Post by: allanjennison on June 24, 2012, 03:40:38 PM
Try again http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=160829690990 (http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=160829690990)

I just filled mine up and it works really well. Uses much less space than the toolbox did.

I've had one of these for two years and it's great. Well made and takes most of what you need for a trip
Post by: fuji on June 24, 2012, 07:13:16 PM
I mightbget a set of gear-wrench spanners
Post by: Xoe01 on June 28, 2012, 08:33:07 AM
Geez...... and you guys have the cheek to go on about us girls & our handbags & shoes!!!
Post by: Bird on June 28, 2012, 12:21:39 PM
Geez...... and you guys have the cheek to go on about us girls & our handbags & shoes!!!
did anyone here something? :P
Post by: nuthermug on June 28, 2012, 01:10:48 PM
Just choose the tools and stuff you want to take and get a canvas awning mob to make a bag/roll to take it all.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 03, 2012, 06:27:16 PM
Just found this store, not sure if its been mentioned before

http://www.ruggedxtremes.com/australia/ (http://www.ruggedxtremes.com/australia/)

Post by: GU_Thomo on December 04, 2012, 11:34:13 AM
For general day to day tools I use ammunition cases.
Been using the same ones for 40 years, cheap, waterproof, airtight and strong.
No rust on any tools in all the years I have been using them.

(http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb91/GU_Thomo/General/AmmoBoxWeb-Large.jpg)

(http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb91/GU_Thomo/General/_case_w_m_640-1.jpg)

Post by: Matto on December 04, 2012, 02:47:00 PM
Just found this store, not sure if its been mentioned before

http://www.ruggedxtremes.com/australia/ (http://www.ruggedxtremes.com/australia/)

Great link GG. I've been after a good canvas tool roll for a while now - this one looks like it will fit the bill, and is priced reasonably.
http://www.ruggedxtremes.com/australia/canvas-pvc-tool-rolls-wraps/58-deluxe-canvas-tool-roll.html (http://www.ruggedxtremes.com/australia/canvas-pvc-tool-rolls-wraps/58-deluxe-canvas-tool-roll.html)

Cheers!
Post by: Bird on December 04, 2012, 03:11:18 PM
Quote from: Lost
So I'm lookin at 'toolbags'. maybe this size, maybe bit bigger...
EG: 
1 x NEW Dewalt 24" Contractor Tool Bag $35.00
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/330453285398 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/330453285398)
(http://img.auctiva.com/imgdata/1/3/1/5/2/1/6/webimg/349191912_tp.jpg)

This bag we used on the Tolmie weekend, and fitted clothes for 1 adult and 1.5 kids in it nicely.
Way too big for tools!
Post by: Symon on December 04, 2012, 08:30:53 PM
http://www.beehivevinyl.com.au/products/beehive-toolbags (http://www.beehivevinyl.com.au/products/beehive-toolbags)
Post by: Renno on December 06, 2012, 07:55:08 AM
This  Stanley  (http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online-store/products/Stanley-Tool-Kit-132-Piece.aspx?pid=222143&menuFrom=80406#Description) set seems reasonably priced. Normally $279 on special for $179 at Supercheap Auto.
Renno :cheers:
Post by: Bird on December 12, 2013, 09:11:35 AM
any other options?
Post by: muzza01 on December 12, 2013, 11:10:40 AM
Lost, My son has one similar to this one. Good quality, good size.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Makita-Tool-Bag-/261349257567?pt=AU_Tool_Parts_Accessories&hash=item3cd9a1315f&_uhb=1 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Makita-Tool-Bag-/261349257567?pt=AU_Tool_Parts_Accessories&hash=item3cd9a1315f&_uhb=1)

This one looks even better.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/MAKITA-26-CONTRACTORS-BAG-WITH-WHEELS-HANDLE-LXT601-GST-INVOICE-/331045745308?pt=AU_Power_Tools&hash=item4d13dd329c&_uhb=1 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/MAKITA-26-CONTRACTORS-BAG-WITH-WHEELS-HANDLE-LXT601-GST-INVOICE-/331045745308?pt=AU_Power_Tools&hash=item4d13dd329c&_uhb=1)
Post by: paulo on December 12, 2013, 11:20:06 AM
G'day,

I use a canvas tool bag I proudly bought from a "canvas bloke" at a camping show about 15-18 years ago. Wouldn't be without it. I bought it because the metal one I had was too noisy in the back of my station wagon, so I thought it might do the trick. It passed with flying colours, no rattles and didn't slide around scratching or belting into anything. It's about 14" long, and they do hold a heap of gear.
Post by: Bird on February 08, 2015, 11:29:53 AM
Lost, My son has one similar to this one. Good quality, good size.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Makita-Tool-Bag-/261349257567?pt=AU_Tool_Parts_Accessories&hash=item3cd9a1315f&_uhb=1 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Makita-Tool-Bag-/261349257567?pt=AU_Tool_Parts_Accessories&hash=item3cd9a1315f&_uhb=1)

This one looks even better.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/MAKITA-26-CONTRACTORS-BAG-WITH-WHEELS-HANDLE-LXT601-GST-INVOICE-/331045745308?pt=AU_Power_Tools&hash=item4d13dd329c&_uhb=1 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/MAKITA-26-CONTRACTORS-BAG-WITH-WHEELS-HANDLE-LXT601-GST-INVOICE-/331045745308?pt=AU_Power_Tools&hash=item4d13dd329c&_uhb=1)
looks good
Post by: Humphreythebear on February 08, 2015, 01:16:14 PM
Bought a Russian Tank Drivers bag at the Corowa military show .... I think it was 5 bucks .

Basically a canvas bag with pockets for grenades , a knife and spare ak47 ammo ! !
Smells like gear oil and kero ....
Post by: evolution on February 08, 2015, 04:00:57 PM
This  Stanley  (http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online-store/products/Stanley-Tool-Kit-132-Piece.aspx?pid=222143&menuFrom=80406#Description) set seems reasonably priced. Normally $279 on special for $179 at Supercheap Auto.
Renno :cheers:

After the tools got pinched out the back of the navara, I bought one of these to go in the drawers.
It fits perfectly, and I have a small plastic stanley tool box for all the random little bits and pieces.  Great kit for the money IMO

Evo
Post by: Barry G on February 08, 2015, 04:18:34 PM
After the tools got pinched out the back of the navara, I bought one of these to go in the drawers.
It fits perfectly, and I have a small plastic stanley tool box for all the random little bits and pieces.  Great kit for the money IMO

Evo
That set is still on special until the 15th, AND now down to $149, so a further $30 reduction!   ;D
Post by: Slo1 on February 11, 2015, 08:34:29 AM

I have the same tool bag, mine has copped an absolute flogging for about 5 years and still going strong
Post by: paceman on February 11, 2015, 08:51:46 AM
not a bad price, i think...

http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online-store/products/Stanley-Tool-Kit-132-Piece.aspx?pid=222143#Description (http://www.supercheapauto.com.au/online-store/products/Stanley-Tool-Kit-132-Piece.aspx?pid=222143#Description)

Post by: Bird on February 11, 2015, 09:13:25 AM
Bought a Russian Tank Drivers bag at the Corowa military show .... I think it was 5 bucks .

Basically a canvas bag with pockets for grenades , a knife and spare ak47 ammo ! !
Smells like gear oil and kero ....
I want one!
Post by: FNQBunyip on February 11, 2015, 09:20:53 AM
Bahco , make a few very handy sets with most of the bits you would want .

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Bahco-106-Piece-Mechanical-Socket-Spanner-Set-S106-1-4-1-2-dr-/181080429055?pt=AU_Hand_Tools&hash=item2a293c11ff (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Bahco-106-Piece-Mechanical-Socket-Spanner-Set-S106-1-4-1-2-dr-/181080429055?pt=AU_Hand_Tools&hash=item2a293c11ff)

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Bahco-94-Piece-Socket-Spanner-Set-LIFETIME-WARRANTY-S87-7-/160882943909?pt=AU_Hand_Tools&hash=item25755ee7a5 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Bahco-94-Piece-Socket-Spanner-Set-LIFETIME-WARRANTY-S87-7-/160882943909?pt=AU_Hand_Tools&hash=item25755ee7a5)

Good quality stuff..

Post by: Bird on June 19, 2019, 12:37:14 PM
Plenty mention Bahco  - people still happy with the quality?
Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 19, 2019, 01:23:21 PM

Had mine for years and still going strong, wait for a sale which would be now for EOFY and see what deal you can get

Post by: Fizzie on June 20, 2019, 10:14:02 AM

Are you still looking & wondering, 7 years later ??? ::) >:D
Post by: Pete79 on June 20, 2019, 11:31:34 AM
It's a big decision you know.......
Might even need 2 threads for this one. ::) ;)
Post by: GeoffA on June 20, 2019, 05:45:49 PM

Yep. Doesn't get used much though, 'cos it's in the Patrol..... ;D
Post by: tryagain on June 20, 2019, 05:55:19 PM
Yep. Doesn't get used much though, 'cos it's in the Patrol..... ;D

And the patrol is parked up?
Post by: GeoffA on June 20, 2019, 05:59:04 PM
And the patrol is parked up?

Could have put money on a response like that.... ;D
Post by: shanegtr on June 23, 2019, 11:26:23 AM
I've used quite a few beehive tool bags at work over the years. Very good quality, but you pay the $$$ for them
http://www.beehivevinyl.com.au/shop-online/beehive-toolbags
Post by: Pete79 on June 25, 2019, 09:19:29 AM
I've used quite a few beehive tool bags at work over the years. Very good quality, but you pay the $$$ for them
http://www.beehivevinyl.com.au/shop-online/beehive-toolbags

I still have my beehive vinyl toolbag that I bought in 1999/2000.
Even after years of FIFO work the bag is still in great condition, unfortunatly the velcro stopped sticking many years ago and now it's on the shelf in the shed with all of my welding leathers stored in it and an old belt holding it closed...