General => General Discussion => Topic started by: DaveR on December 31, 2014, 05:07:39 PM

Title: The "Show us ya Garden - Landscaping" Thread
Post by: DaveR on December 31, 2014, 05:07:39 PM
Yep, show ya back yard off time.

Now for those who like to garden with Roundup and Gravel please hit the back button now...    ;D

To kick it off, here is some of my handy work.
First the front.
The drive way is fenced of so kids can't escape and get ran over. Gates are to get to wash cars on the front yard.
(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7466/15531139094_9f4a037767_c.jpg)

(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8580/15966161870_0c06b7fb4e_c.jpg)

(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8567/16152720952_2158e1e176_c.jpg)

(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8649/15967715617_bca4e456db_c.jpg)

Now for the back, I had someone make the patio and glass fence, but I did the rest. Below the timber decking is a curtain style water fall, best bit is, I didn't pay the $1600 the thieves wanted, I paid about $30 and built my own.  :cup:
(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8632/16151584931_eea39e88e4_c.jpg)

(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8614/15533768183_601bf0b736_c.jpg)

(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7572/16153496715_a2f53278c9_c.jpg)

(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7493/15533758343_5b424334bb_c.jpg)

(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7570/15966189660_594c01ff81_c.jpg)

(https://farm9.staticflickr.com/8646/15966174110_9258b1f0e6_c.jpg)

This is the west side, I made this to keep it cooler, and have a nice place to sit for breaky in summer.
(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7487/15531148514_b0db823e9a_c.jpg)

Now the mango tree, its almost ready, will be for a day after I go back to work..... >:(
(https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7559/16152745072_437db6f3cd_c.jpg)

As I am guilty is stealing a few of these ideas from the interweb, thought it be good to put some back to share.
Yes I know, I should spend more time under canvas.....
Title: Re: The "Show us ya Garden - Landscaping" Thread
Post by: V8CRSA on December 31, 2014, 05:24:33 PM
DaveR,

I love the "green" grass, I have 2 dogs and lots of shade can't get grass anything like that  :cup:
Looks great mate.

Post by: D4D on December 31, 2014, 05:28:07 PM
Nice frangipani, how did you set your pavers in with the rocks?
Post by: Steffo1 on December 31, 2014, 05:34:37 PM
Mate, that looks great! The only thing I'd be a bit worried about is that Mozzies love mango trees.
Post by: DaveR on December 31, 2014, 05:36:23 PM
how did you set your pavers in with the rocks?

They sit on plastic and that is it, sometimes I shuffle them about a bit to line them up again.
Post by: DaveR on December 31, 2014, 05:37:48 PM
The only thing I'd be a bit worried about is that Mozzies love mango trees.
Not much of a problem here, more bats then anything else. OH, and birds fighting over the shade on a hot day as it seems to be always cool in the canopy.
Post by: oldmate on December 31, 2014, 06:02:16 PM
Looks great dave, 1 billion times better than my yard. I like camping too much ;)
Post by: McGirr on December 31, 2014, 06:08:33 PM

Mate, I could get a couple million for your home, call me when your ready to sell  ;D

Post by: DaveR on December 31, 2014, 06:14:47 PM
Cash up front?  ;D
Post by: SteveandViv on December 31, 2014, 06:47:42 PM
That looks great, nice lines and order :cup:
Post by: xcvator on December 31, 2014, 06:58:07 PM
C'mon Dave, that's just showing off, get a life, go camping or fishing or both  >:D Geeze I'm glad Bronny doesn't look at "myswag" or my life wouldn't be worth living if she saw those pics ;D ;D ;D ;D

and what's wrong with a bit of roundup and gravel ?  :angel:
Post by: DaveR on December 31, 2014, 07:01:25 PM
PLEASE Don't be tellin me I am the only 1 here.......
NOooooooooooooooooooo
Post by: McGirr on December 31, 2014, 07:12:19 PM

Living in a unit.

The best I can do  ;D

Post by: Garfish on December 31, 2014, 07:47:26 PM
I grow weeds in the garden, unfortunately not even the weeds you can sell.   

I forgot to run the lawnmower over the garden this week
Post by: berlitza on December 31, 2014, 08:14:12 PM
wow noice dave very posh,,,,, I've got some tall green things a bird bath and some guy shows up one a fortnight to mow the weeds,
Post by: xcvator on December 31, 2014, 09:22:39 PM
PLEASE Don't be tellin me I am the only 1 here.......
NOooooooooooooooooooo
Yeeeessssssssssssssssssssssssssss  :cheers:
Post by: Kangaron on December 31, 2014, 09:41:01 PM
Not much water around here.

Post by: markg66 on December 31, 2014, 09:41:46 PM
I generally "garden" with roundup or a bobcat.

I payed a bobcat dood to do this................ as I'm building three of these................

Hmmmm sorry maybe off topic.
Post by: berlitza on December 31, 2014, 10:00:26 PM
bobcat sounds like more fun   :cup:
Post by: Paul (SA) on January 01, 2015, 09:54:25 AM

Now for those who like to garden with Roundup and Gravel please hit the back button now...    ;D

As I am guilty is stealing a few of these ideas from the interweb, thought it be good to put some back to share.
Yes I know, I should spend more time under canvas.....

Great - next time I am on the coast, I know where I am headed with the kids for a free swim! ;)
Post by: DaveR on January 01, 2015, 06:32:18 PM
Great - next time I am on the coast, I know where I am headed with the kids for a free swim! ;)
With the beer fees, it is cheaper to go to the theme parks....
Post by: Clouty on January 01, 2015, 06:41:50 PM
Very nice Dave  :cup:

I bet there was alot of sweat spilt in construction..
Post by: Snake on January 01, 2015, 06:42:57 PM
Typical QLD'er, pool, bright green grass, sunshine. Mate i'm in Melbourne and my yard is either soaking wet from pissing rain or yellow from 42' weather all summer.
Post by: oldmate on January 01, 2015, 06:51:04 PM
Typical QLD'er, pool, bright green grass, sunshine. Mate i'm in Melbourne and my yard is either soaking wet from pissing rain or yellow from 42' weather all summer.

Be careful on the typical Qlder stuff, or I will be forced to post a pic of my yard to prove you wrong lol
Post by: DaveR on January 01, 2015, 06:54:53 PM
Be careful on the typical Qlder stuff, or I will be forced to post a pic of my yard to prove you wrong lol

Yer, too right, wot he said. Some of us live on a trendy looking former swamp with high soil salinity due to the rising sea water below, hey Oldmate..... ;D
Post by: GeoffA on January 01, 2015, 06:58:04 PM
.......Some of us live on a trendy looking former swamp with high soil salinity due to the rising sea water below.... ;D

We have them down here too, complete with Greg Norman designed golf courses.......
Post by: oldmate on January 01, 2015, 07:57:37 PM
Yer, too right, wot he said. Some of us live on a trendy looking former swamp with high soil salinity due to the rising sea water below, hey Oldmate..... ;D

Yes mate, some of us do mate  ;D ;D
Post by: Woodsie on January 01, 2015, 11:47:49 PM
We are on an Acre in West Aus, here are some pics of the yard....
Post by: jeeps on January 02, 2015, 12:11:33 AM
Here's mine DaveR:

Front yard:

(http://i421.photobucket.com/albums/pp300/jeeps_photo/Home/fire1_zpsbd6556ef.jpg)

Backyard:

(http://i421.photobucket.com/albums/pp300/jeeps_photo/Home/byard1_zpsb3fe1a46.jpg)

I don't mow my backyard down near the creek ;)

Post by: speewa158 on January 02, 2015, 05:47:22 AM
l have 154 acres to look  after  , mow , edge, weed , water 7 improve . The novelty wears off when l get home so sometimes l do the 3monthly mow to keep it looking nice  >:D >:D No lm not joking  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on January 02, 2015, 05:50:34 AM
We are on an Acre in West Aus, here are some pics of the yard....

Very nice Woodsie. Love the stonework... :cup: :cup:
Post by: xcvator on January 02, 2015, 08:41:08 AM
Here's mine DaveR:

Front yard:

(http://i421.photobucket.com/albums/pp300/jeeps_photo/Home/fire1_zpsbd6556ef.jpg)

Backyard:

(http://i421.photobucket.com/albums/pp300/jeeps_photo/Home/byard1_zpsb3fe1a46.jpg)

I don't mow my backyard down near the creek ;)

Now that's my kind of garden  :cup: :cheers: :cup: :cheers:
Post by: DaveR on January 04, 2015, 09:14:25 PM
My previous home had a garden a lot like your jeeps, well, no garden at all, just bush with wallaby tracks. I spent time pulling the weeds all out and that was it.
Post by: muzza01 on January 08, 2015, 06:43:56 PM
Here are a few pics of my place Dave. Unfortunately I use roundup a fair bit. I do all my edges with roundup, haven't used a whipper snipper for years.

I took a couple of snaps today but it is a bit overcast here ATM. It looks like the wet season has finally arrived with our first wave of the monsoon. Some heavy rain coming and I expect our lawn to change to a rich dark green by the end of the month.

First two pics are the front, the next two are the back. If you zoom in on the first pic, you can see a waterfall on the mountain in the background.

Front yard
(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zps96141b8d.jpg)
(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zps2147c73f.jpg)
Back yard
(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsec564621.jpg)
(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpsdf37bfcd.jpg)
Post by: V8CRSA on January 08, 2015, 06:52:58 PM
I would kill for some of that qld grass down here in Melbourne,so green and lush....looks great muzza :cup:

Post by: xcvator on January 08, 2015, 06:57:16 PM
Do you run a few sheep or do you mow that lot Muzza  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: muzza01 on January 08, 2015, 07:12:25 PM
I would kill for some of that qld grass down here in Melbourne,so green and lush....looks great muzza :cup:

Do you run a few sheep or do you mow that lot Muzza  ;D ;D ;D

Thanks guys.
I use one of these, average about 65-70 minutes, but I can mow it all well under an hour if I am in a hurry.
(http://i895.photobucket.com/albums/ac155/muzza01/Mobile%20Uploads/image_zpse4a7bd91.jpg)
Post by: Clouty on January 08, 2015, 07:50:53 PM
Very nice muz :cup:

Nice tinny in the backyard ;D
Post by: DaveR on January 08, 2015, 09:23:11 PM
Hey Muzza, how to you have a refreshment when driving these mowers, look a bit anti social to me for an hours work in the garden?
Looks great by the way,
When I lived in Edge Hill, an old mate lived near you on a big plot and I got volunteered to fix his ride on to carry a small esky
Post by: oldmate on January 08, 2015, 09:26:09 PM
Hey Muzza, how to you have a refreshment when driving these mowers, look a bit anti social to me for an hours work in the garden?
Looks great by the way,
When I lived in Edge Hill, an old mate lived near you on a big plot and I got volunteered to fix his ride on to carry a small esky

If it's like my neighbours torro zero turn, it has drink holders  :cup:
Post by: muzza01 on January 08, 2015, 09:38:37 PM
Looks great by the way,
I like to keep my weekends free so I usually mow during the week after work. I normally mow the front one arvo and then the back the next arvo which is about 30 mins or one beer.

If it's like my neighbours torro zero turn, it has drink holders  :cup:

Yep, defo has a stubbie holder but I normally hold my beer in my hand and drive at the same time  :angel: :police:
Post by: DaveR on January 08, 2015, 09:41:20 PM
I assumed your hands must be on the controls at all times, quiet a skill to hold the beer to then.....
Post by: JD-120 on January 08, 2015, 09:50:58 PM
heres our's, we live northside of brisbane.

bought the house, this is the only original pic of the front yard I have

(https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-vDPQIs2NafQ/U8BDgyiLHfI/AAAAAAAAEVk/xd6uf-IPd-E/w800-h600-no/Streetview.jpg)

ripped out al lthe trees in the front yard, got the machinery in to remove the hill and replaced with sandstone walls

(https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-uADKkJPeQBY/TUxnutCOYVI/AAAAAAAABpU/RqDOjcNRCDI/w1185-h889-no/IMG_1012.JPG)
(https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-F_oxjLZkjJc/TUxnviHLS2I/AAAAAAAABpk/4L1yFDEixek/w1185-h889-no/IMG_1013.JPG)
(https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-H9S5x6mXuLY/TUxnyZQGQJI/AAAAAAAABpw/HLSnXsgvGY4/w1185-h889-no/IMG_1056.JPG)
(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-L7yeSpNln2o/TUxn4Hd3jXI/AAAAAAAABqM/_-m0CnFIlVY/w1185-h889-no/IMG_1062.JPG)
(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-l8ku55IGi-w/TUxn8kqN8QI/AAAAAAAABqk/Nwwhdd_zfs4/w1185-h889-no/IMG_1068.JPG)

next was to build fromt fence to keep the animals in and the kids safe.

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-hataaV-nfNA/TWBShpTdiAI/AAAAAAAABro/kZLb4pt14JQ/w1185-h889-no/IMG_1091.JPG)

lay the grass. plant the shrubs

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-CuoVWyBJ_AI/VK5tIxMsnwI/AAAAAAAAXOE/KwAmPFyCw8E/w1185-h889-no/IMG_0035.JPG)

add a deck at the front entrance

(https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-YKanQUtTUvE/VK5tPq6LITI/AAAAAAAAXOQ/mA6jP6xbPbw/w1185-h889-no/IMG_0036.JPG)
(https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-on_5io36K6Y/VK5tVX-ttUI/AAAAAAAAXOc/GCV-FUnacjA/w1185-h889-no/IMG_0037.JPG)

next project is the back yard, its a bit of a mess, so no pics of that :)
Post by: DaveR on January 09, 2015, 02:48:58 AM
Very nice work there Justin, you'd have to be happy with that  :cup:
Post by: muzza01 on January 09, 2015, 10:15:23 AM
Very nice work there Justin, you'd have to be happy with that  :cup:
Agreed, big project.
Post by: JD-120 on January 09, 2015, 10:27:20 AM
Yeah thanks guys, it is satisfying to sit back and look at the finished product. These pics are about 18months old, so the garden has filled in now finishing it off nicely.

the missus has some grand plans for the back yard, but this is going to require some serious saving and will probably span a few years or phase's
Post by: duggie on August 11, 2016, 07:07:49 PM
I have decided that my front yard is in need for a face lift.

It was nearly 30 years and two divorces since I built up the front yard with off cut sleepers. They have been repaired/replaced a couple of times but it is time for a new look .

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8050002.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8050002.jpg.html)

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8050003.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8050003.jpg.html)

My front yard as it was last week.

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8110016.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8110016.jpg.html)

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8110015.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8110015.jpg.html)

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8110014.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8110014.jpg.html)

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8110012.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8110012.jpg.html)

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8110009.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8110009.jpg.html)

My front yard as it is now.

I am pretty happy with the transformation that a bit of hard work and time has made .

Next up is to transform my drive way native garden area, again this was built up with sleeper off cut some years ago and between time and white ants it is in need of a face lift as well.

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8050008.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8050008.jpg.html)

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8050006.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8050006.jpg.html)

I intend to block this up with a combination of the Bauxite colour blocks mixed with a random pattern of Charcoal coloured blocks , then I intend to concrete the drive way with Charcoal coloured concrete.
Post by: muzza01 on August 11, 2016, 07:12:40 PM
Nice work Duggie
Post by: Proudy on August 11, 2016, 07:20:44 PM
Just finished this in the backyard so now have a nice spot to sit with dogs in winter. Pool for summer. Fire pit for winter (http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160811/c5a89d4981fa61ecc6c9d8c8516c8885.jpg)(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160811/ff75f7ad891bfad5ecefb94e98e61871.jpg)

Post by: rags on August 11, 2016, 08:26:52 PM

Now for those who like to garden with Roundup and Gravel please hit the back button now...   

A couple of those picture look like they contain gravel and from my experience roundup is the only effective gardening tool to use with that landscape feature.
Post by: Hairs on August 11, 2016, 08:52:51 PM
Just a modest 2 acres in a small country town.
God's Country really  ;D
Post by: duggie on November 27, 2016, 07:40:30 PM
I have found some time over the past two weekends to carry on with my front yard face lift. I still have a fair way to go with the block work up the driveway but it is all starting to look like it did in me head.

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8050008.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/P8050008.jpg.html)

Looked very close to this last Saturday morning.

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0004.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0004.jpg.html)

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0001.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0001.jpg.html)

Looked like this this morning

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0005%201.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0005%201.jpg.html)

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0007%201.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0007%201.jpg.html)

Looks like this this arvo.

Time for a beer or three , me thinks.  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on November 27, 2016, 07:53:12 PM
Nice work mate  :cup:
Has come up a treat
Enjoy your cold  :cheers:
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on November 27, 2016, 08:08:03 PM
Geeezz, you've got big rats there Hairs!! >:D >:D >:D :cheers:
Post by: Bullant4x4 on November 27, 2016, 11:24:54 PM
An oldie but a goodie. I loved waking up in the morning.
Post by: tryagain on November 29, 2016, 10:43:10 AM
Well, I landscaped it, maintain it, and refer to it as my garden. Downside is I don't own it, upside is I get paid to do it.

(http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee228/Timandbecphillips/20141015_170905_Android.jpg) (http://s233.photobucket.com/user/Timandbecphillips/media/20141015_170905_Android.jpg.html)
Post by: tryagain on November 29, 2016, 10:55:36 AM
And another one, although I should have a lot more and better photos but seldom think to take them.

(http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee228/Timandbecphillips/20141128_162841.jpg) (http://s233.photobucket.com/user/Timandbecphillips/media/20141128_162841.jpg.html)

(http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee228/Timandbecphillips/20141128_162850.jpg) (http://s233.photobucket.com/user/Timandbecphillips/media/20141128_162850.jpg.html)
Post by: Skipper on November 29, 2016, 01:11:02 PM
Awesome looking Dave.

Can I ask what you have running along the top of the fence line and on the fence? Is it a climber and vine?

Also keen to see a better picture of the frames... I have a neighbours fence that would suit that set up...

Adam..
Post by: Bullant4x4 on November 29, 2016, 01:32:58 PM
Well, I landscaped it, maintain it, and refer to it as my garden. Downside is I don't own it, upside is I get paid to do it.

(http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee228/Timandbecphillips/20141015_170905_Android.jpg) (http://s233.photobucket.com/user/Timandbecphillips/media/20141015_170905_Android.jpg.html)

Whats the address? Just missing a camper pitched on the lawn  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Pete79 on November 30, 2016, 11:46:43 PM
I've finally got around to going through the old hard-drive and uploaded a few photos from the work we've done on our place.

Firstly;
When we bought our block the only infrastructure was this first 5 meters of gravel into the cleared area at the front of the block and a walking track through the gully and up into the top back section with a foot bridge over the creek that runs through the middle of the property.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_2351_zpsd8co8lqt.jpg)

So we just camped on it for a while as we got a feel for the lay of the block and started making some rough plans.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_2732_zpsjviy1ybd.jpg)

After about 6 months we pushed in a lower driveway and got the start of a pad happening.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/earthworks%209_zps56exvbx4.jpg)

Then camped on that pad for a while longer...  ;D
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_4390_zps8s7gh5ii.jpg)

Then all the fun life stuff of building a house, having kids and working my a** off to pay for everything happened for a while.

Our little valley gets really good annual rain fall (even though you wouldn't know it right now), so the very first piece of civil works I did on the block was cut in a big drain that captured nearly all of the surface water from about 180m or so of our road frontage and pushed it all into a 375mm culvert. This pulled everything away from the top of the house pad and I knew I would need that water for something one day, just didn't know what at that stage....

After not too long the wife got sick of the big washout that was forming at the end of the culvert and mud pit that was supposed to be our front yard and she insisted that we get someone in to sort out something to retain the bank.
I reluctantly agreed (I have a problem paying people to do things that I can do myself), but the landscaper was a pretty cool guy and we bounced a round a few ideas about a dry creek bed, I agreed with the concept and got them started ASAP.

The first 12 tonnes of rock was delivered and the boys got to work.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_6031_zpsfei0foxu.jpg)
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_6028_zpsuhdh2m11.jpg)
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_6048_zpsrhlwhftd.jpg)

In the end I was left with what looked like an incomplete job, but it was only the beginning of the whole project and that was really only what I had commissioned the guys to do.
It didn't look the greatest, but I wasn't too bothered at that stage.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_6140_zpsn5euiaua.jpg)

Now I did mention earlier that I always thought I could do the job myself, didn't I? ;)

I'm pretty sure the "professional" job stayed for about a month or so (just long enough for the pasion fruit vine to grow on the fence), then I called up my mate, I got another 24 tonnes of rock delivered and did it my way.  ;D

Out it all comes.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_6969_zpsh7aw15ix.jpg)
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_6966_zpsstlowf3l.jpg)

My waterfall at the end of the main culvert dug out and starting to be rocked up.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_6972_zpsods0ruzm.jpg)

Now it's taking shape.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_7006_zps4alsqkro.jpg)

And finished to a standard that I can live with now.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_7256_zpsggjzyk90.jpg)
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_7273_zpsprtpep3r.jpg)
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_7621_zpsaayaunig.jpg)
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_8301_zpswlnoimka.jpg)

And I did mention it rains here, right?
This is a pretty poor quality video of the creek in an average shower of rain. You should see it when it's really pouring (like the January 2011 event, she was raging then)

You might want to turn down your sound before clicking on this.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Weather/December%20Rains/th_100_8002.mp4) (http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Weather/December%20Rains/100_8002.mp4)

So we're up to 36 tonnes of rock and 800m2 of turf so far for just the front yard.

Next I had to move onto the back yard.
Post by: Pete79 on December 01, 2016, 12:50:40 AM
And on to the back yard.

The plan was to put in a 6x12 shed with a nice wide (and flat) driveway behind the shed.
So first up was the shed pad. We'd been going all of 20 minutes when this big old stump raised it's head, but the little 1 tonne chinese digger ripped into it, no sweat.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/ECE37CB4-7743-4354-A213-05C8C6552FF3_zps3quj9kps.jpg)

To get the shed pad big enough we needed to rob a fair bit more dirt from the top bank then I had planned.
So in with another 12 tonnes of rock, this time I ordered what was supposed to be 300mm pitching rocks, but I recon half the load were a good 600mm and I had to get a bit creative to move them around. ;)

The wife and I laid this 22m long wall on our own, by hand, in March (read that as sweating our a** off).
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/F274A26A-B780-40A2-8B5B-F59AAF4101D5_zpspzelntgw.jpg)
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/F3BB3BE0-C94F-4C16-A2FE-7A8D5CD41673_zpsdzii8rvj.jpg)
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/7AC68169-6C8C-481F-B680-461405A4D32D_zps1ebemyb9.jpg)

With that unplanned bit of extra manual labor out of the way, it was on with the real job.
For that we needed.... you guessed it... another 24 tonnes of rock.
And there was some big suckers in these loads, we had the 3 tonne bobcat wheel standing with one that was basically 1m cubed.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/86B4EE1D-ADC5-4B10-B2BF-6018B986F767_zpshrtmig3w.jpg)
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/DB24F434-4CF5-43EB-A6BE-7F77AF357C67_zpsomcenalp.jpg)

Shed pad formed up and ready to pour.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/530B94E3-59BF-4D7E-BCB2-D00B7E64B7F8_zpsixmxzwnr.jpg)

Now the wife and I built this shed 100% on our own, just the 2 of us.
If you ever want to test a marriage, build a shed together...  :-X

I'm happy to say we made it though this one and now when we're having a glass of wine or a beer together out there in the afternoons the drinks are even sweeter.  :D
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/IMG_2121_zpsyunwhid7.jpg)

We're in the process of making our outdoor kitchen and entertaining area between the shed and the house.
It's only early stages now, but the concept is there.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/AF9EB1F6-2856-40CF-8E5F-1603307EA53C_zps7qgcascx.jpg)

To finish off the lower driveway I needed to put in a retaining wall along the bank behind the shed, but I was getting a bit tired of playing with rocks, so went with timber on this one.

Nice rainbow colours out of the footings.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/4A62F240-D51B-44AB-867C-59409C1C962B_zpsn1wukesg.jpg)

This bank is mostly clay over sandstone (as you can see by the colours above), in the wetter months water leaches out of the toe on this bank.
So I thought I'd take advantage of nature and pull that water down into some garden beds.
I thought 350mm X 350mm trenches with agg pipe and filled with 40-50mm stones should do the trick. The agg pipe is coiled inside each bed and topped with stone before filled up with our garden soil we've been building for a few years.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/B5E76298-63C3-4AE4-B171-E7C7343EE756_zpsu5mzpjr8.jpg)
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/E9551AB5-DDCC-4448-A0C2-2FD769C4E8FC_zpsumotlhn1.jpg)

Now we've gone from this.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/House/100_4914_zpssfn4ty3v.jpg)

To this.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/B1CD939F-7F44-43CD-87A4-4B858A3BA74A_zps2iluruhj.jpg)

And to finish it all off, I pulled in a new top driveway so now I can drive straight though front to back.
As with everything on our block, it wasn't so simple, but we're really happy with how it came up in the end.
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/BC6DE0AB-91D9-4D8B-B30F-1CD85255ED44_zpspfbjf773.jpg)
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/65C775E8-37C1-446E-B308-942E74BF1155_zps2sfih6si.jpg)
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/A14A1992-8E9D-406D-A1F0-3B356FE5534E_zpsbrmir34m.jpg)
(http://i844.photobucket.com/albums/ab10/Pete_79/Random%20stuff%20to%20share/38C6EB7A-C138-4717-BB9C-E47E6AD2B1F9_zps9gv1clqr.jpg)

Now that I've sorted all my photos on my hard drive, I guess I'd better get started on doing my trailer build thread here soon too......  ;D  :cheers:
Post by: Watty2975 on December 01, 2016, 04:27:13 AM
Great job. A lot of hard work and good thought gone in there.
Post by: Fizzie on December 01, 2016, 07:14:56 AM
Awesome job Pete!  :cup:

& you have of course left a few 00 m2 of grass open for Swaggers to set-up on, haven't you  ???   ;D
Post by: Pete79 on December 01, 2016, 09:29:18 AM
Cheers guys.
Yes a lot of hard work to get to this stage, but still so much more to go.
Thankfully I had a 5 year gap in between doing the front yard and the back yard (we moved to Sydney for my work for a while), but we're back in full swing now.
I've got 200 native tube stock sitting at our local nursery to collect now, I'm waiting for this darn rain to start so I can plant out my road side garden.

And yes Fizzie, there's a couple of nice flat spots put aside for visiting campers to set up on.
We had the whole family here last Christmas. At one stage we had 15 adults, with camper trailers in the back yard, tents in the front yard and plenty of beers and good times had by all.  :cheers:
Post by: Hairs on December 02, 2016, 02:38:44 PM
Geeezz, you've got big rats there Hairs!! >:D >:D >:D :cheers:
Love the wild life that share our place  ;D
Found a 6' roo in the front yard the other morning, lucky I saw it before I let the dogs out.
We've had snakes, Red Bellie Blacks, Green Tree snake that lives under the solar panels, Blue Tongues, a kola, King Parrots and many other birds, even have a Wedge Tail nest about 400 meters away, an echidna got trapped inside the house yard one night, we have had a turtle bury it's eggs in the garden one year and a Plover that nest every year on the front lawn.
But those rats are the funniest buggars to watch when they get close to the three guinea pigs cages.
They have no idea what is in the cage, it kinda scares them, but they wont hop away.
Post by: ronmac on December 02, 2016, 02:51:34 PM
Hairs, are they paddy melons ( wallabies ) in your top picture. cheers Ron.
Post by: Hairs on December 02, 2016, 03:01:28 PM
Hi Ron,
Sorry, they aren't,
Just your normal garden variety Wallaby  (http://www.clarencecoastpropertymaintenance.com.au/images/smilies/roflmao.gif)

Couldn't help myself  ;D

This poor little bugger spent three days under the draw bar of the caravan one flood, it rained & rained.
Post by: briann532 on December 02, 2016, 03:36:52 PM
Looking really awesome Pete.

Well done.
Also thanks for sharing the pics.
Post by: Green rv on December 02, 2016, 04:02:26 PM
Holly rock wall Pete
 like you landscape style

im doing a native vs veggie and fruit garden at home on a std size block in the suburbs 
still needs a lot of work
also need to finish my 35 tonne rock wall that i started in 2010 during the 2010-2011 floods

Adam
Post by: Joff on December 13, 2016, 12:37:30 PM
Nearly finished the new pond. We always wanted to live by a river

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161213/7f5893ef931e15caa06c38f9579f01e1.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161213/50ea27fd34d94c7bf9837b1f0296609c.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161213/c291189cd7ad2ffc35e5976ad9ce9a7c.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161213/15f52f7bdfe16f3a986531cab4f97116.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161213/509f01b36d9f3aa881bb821cc00c11ed.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161213/5d71a68a3f25d905389e9e351134c267.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161213/6116a8fc7f6cec40b31081c9dbf01724.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161213/2f8519763cf125e474ab2100bbf25ca8.jpg)

(http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161213/3653372b36977c8cc01b24a12459081a.jpg)

Post by: Joff on December 13, 2016, 12:40:55 PM

Post by: duggie on December 13, 2016, 12:51:46 PM
Very nice Joff , you gotta be happy with that .  :cup:
Post by: Joff on December 13, 2016, 01:54:01 PM
Very nice Joff , you gotta be happy with that .  :cup:

Send me down a couple 60cm Barra to stock it with  :cup:
Post by: Fizzie on December 13, 2016, 02:05:22 PM
Sorry, can't help with the Barra  :'(

How about a 60cm Saltie to keep your's company?   :D

(& there'll be no more dangling toes in the water!  >:D)

BTW - looks awesome!  :cup:
Post by: KeithB on December 13, 2016, 02:22:23 PM
This was our last house on a tiny block of land in the inner west of Sydney. We quarried all of the stone for the garden walls out of our own bedrock. The pond is over six feet deep and the biggest fish is 85cm.

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/53098-1/110+Short+005.jpg)

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/53101-1/110+Short+018.jpg)

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/53104-1/110+Short+029.jpg)
Post by: DaveR on December 13, 2016, 07:26:42 PM
There is certainly some impressive work being done, glad I don't have to pick a favorite.
Post by: Joff on December 14, 2016, 07:48:32 AM
Sorry, can't help with the Barra  :'(

How about a 60cm Saltie to keep your's company?   :D

(& there'll be no more dangling toes in the water!  >:D)

BTW - looks awesome!  :cup:
Love too but i think it might grow

Post by: duggie on January 28, 2017, 03:50:59 PM
G'day peoples,

Well I am pretty happy with the now finished retainer wall down my driveway.

Over 8 pellet's of AB junior blocks, 160 odd caps , 8 metres of soil , 4 metres of pine bark mulch and around 40 new plants as well as the micro irrigation

I have gone from this.

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0016.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0016.jpg.html)

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0013.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0013.jpg.html)

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0008.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0008.jpg.html)

To this.

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0006.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0006.jpg.html)

Hired a Dingo to do the backfill/cleanup

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0003.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/IMG_0003.jpg.html)

Some of the 40 odd plants to ready be planted
Post by: GeoffA on January 28, 2017, 04:56:33 PM
That's a nice result duggie.... :cup: :cup:

Time for a :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on January 28, 2017, 05:01:09 PM
Well done Duggie, looks like all the helpers are Camera shy.

;D :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on January 28, 2017, 05:15:04 PM
Like watching an ep of Ground Force , all done in 5 pics ( with the help of 50 Bastards that you don't ever see )        Well Done   :cup:    :cheers:
Post by: duggie on January 29, 2017, 08:08:20 AM
Well done Duggie, looks like all the helpers are Camera shy.

;D :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:

Thanks Cruiser 105Tvan , GeoffA and speewa158

Here is a photo of the only helper that I had working with me , Top bloke , but don'y say / talk much.

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/XXXX.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Front%20yard%20face%20lift/XXXX.jpg.html)
Post by: DaveR on January 29, 2017, 08:12:04 AM
Looks great Douggie, funny how that type of helper seems to cost as much as hired help some times?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 29, 2017, 08:40:59 AM
Was the dingo digger much help?

I was gunna hire one last year for our place at Lockyer and got told don't waste ya money... they're useless.
Post by: duggie on January 29, 2017, 08:59:32 AM
Was the dingo digger much help?

I was gunna hire one last year for our place at Lockyer and got told don't waste ya money... they're useless.

You can't compare a dingo to a bob cat , but yes the dingo was OK , better than a shovel and wheelbarrow .

I was able to move around 8 cubic metres of dirt/soil for backfill plus use the trencher to cut out some fairly big tree roots in the driveway , do some roadwork ( fill in from where the tree roots were ) plus cleanup around the wall in 1 day , then I used the dingo to ferry and spread the 4 cubic metres of pine bark on the next day after planting and plumbing in the micro irrigation .

So yes , they have a purpose . But comes back to who and how you operate the thing.
Post by: Steffo1 on January 29, 2017, 09:06:32 AM
Really depends on what use you want. I hired one a few years ago, with bucket & trench digger. With the low  speed of the machine plus our uneven ground, the bucket was next to useless as I had a fair distance to cover. It was quicker to use the machine to load the back fill sand into a couple of wheel barrows & use them. The trencher, however, worked well even in our Shitty, shaley soil, albeit a little slow & jerky.
Perhaps you can hire a faster model theses days.
Post by: Pete79 on March 11, 2017, 01:28:41 PM
We managed to get 100 tube stock in during the week, 100 more going in today.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170311/51d1f63180ad9b92d2b0dacebf4a5dac.jpg)

Hoping to get at least 300 plants in the ground before the forecast rain gets here next weekend. 🤞
Post by: tryagain on March 11, 2017, 03:28:41 PM
Hoping to get at least 300 plants in the ground before the forecast rain gets here next weekend. 🤞

There is a saying in the industry when it's raining that it's good planting weather, there is some truth to this if it's not a muddy bog but it usually has as much to do with deadlines and keeping people working in the rain as it does with what good for the plants.
Post by: Pete79 on March 11, 2017, 05:54:22 PM
There is a saying in the industry when it's raining that it's good planting weather, there is some truth to this if it's not a muddy bog but it usually has as much to do with deadlines and keeping people working in the rain as it does with what good for the plants.
Everything went in the ground on top of the sandstone the plants are leaning on.
I've got 2 choices;
1) bust out the breaker bar, smash the clay and try to time it so I plant as close as possible to a big rain event.
2) wait until after the rain and slop around in goo, shoving plants into mush.

I've had a lot of success with option 1, we've done well over 600 tube stock now (it's probably well over 700 now that I think about it) and haven't lost too many.
I also like to hand water for the first week or so anyway and try to control the moisture levels while their settling in.

Last time I looked at the long range forecasts all of the models where pushing towards 200mm or more for us after next weekend. Time will tell if it comes off or not.

Anyway, I managed to get 70 plants done this afternoon and finished in the worst sections.
Post by: markeaust on March 13, 2017, 11:31:54 AM
My little bit of "bush in the city".............

(http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb258/markeaust/House/IMG_0732_zps28b7ab6b.jpg) (http://s208.photobucket.com/user/markeaust/media/House/IMG_0732_zps28b7ab6b.jpg.html)

Loved the look of this old house...bit like an old cattleman's hut.... ;D

(http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb258/markeaust/House/IMG_0729_zpsdb5564a0.jpg) (http://s208.photobucket.com/user/markeaust/media/House/IMG_0729_zpsdb5564a0.jpg.html)

(http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb258/markeaust/House/IMG_0730_zpsd963c570.jpg) (http://s208.photobucket.com/user/markeaust/media/House/IMG_0730_zpsd963c570.jpg.html)

View looking out the front door.....

(http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb258/markeaust/House/IMG_0734_zps91fef19b.jpg) (http://s208.photobucket.com/user/markeaust/media/House/IMG_0734_zps91fef19b.jpg.html)

Still a work in progress......probably always will be............. 8)

Post by: speewa158 on March 13, 2017, 05:50:18 PM
Set up your CT in the back yard to dry it for storage ,,,,, then you can look forward to weeks of rain of Biblical Proportions  . That should help the new plantings     :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on March 13, 2017, 05:54:19 PM
My little bit of "bush in the city".............

(http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb258/markeaust/House/IMG_0732_zps28b7ab6b.jpg) (http://s208.photobucket.com/user/markeaust/media/House/IMG_0732_zps28b7ab6b.jpg.html)

Loved the look of this old house...bit like an old cattleman's hut.... ;D

(http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb258/markeaust/House/IMG_0729_zpsdb5564a0.jpg) (http://s208.photobucket.com/user/markeaust/media/House/IMG_0729_zpsdb5564a0.jpg.html)

(http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb258/markeaust/House/IMG_0730_zpsd963c570.jpg) (http://s208.photobucket.com/user/markeaust/media/House/IMG_0730_zpsd963c570.jpg.html)

View looking out the front door.....

(http://i208.photobucket.com/albums/bb258/markeaust/House/IMG_0734_zps91fef19b.jpg) (http://s208.photobucket.com/user/markeaust/media/House/IMG_0734_zps91fef19b.jpg.html)

Still a work in progress......probably always will be............. 8)

Looks Good ,,, not sure that Cattle Huts have power connected , but it works well  :cheers:
Post by: Mallory Black on March 13, 2017, 07:27:48 PM
my take on a traditional old inner suburb brissy back yard
Post by: Pete79 on June 04, 2018, 02:18:37 PM
Got past a big milestone on my landscaping project over the weekend.

I don’t want to think about how many hours have gone into this, but I finally finished the front fence on the weekend.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180604/208287fb03cb5aef341205caf22bc08a.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180604/3eafa06a5cd4322af5009c2d916852c6.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180604/ff836c5d23cb95228cd6ccb69c7f7a2d.jpg)

The last part of the job was the big gates down to the lower section of driveway and shed area and I finally finished them off yesterday afternoon.

Being a boily by trade I tend to over do some things, but I though 50x50 SHS and 21 lineal meters of 200x25 hardwood slabs was exactly what gates should be made out of on our property..... ;)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180604/b220bb313606aba7c6e5f709c59e7b6d.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180604/da91ded995fdd70b25825e7038d38bdf.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180604/598ff230ac1e5b5346890f1340bcb9c5.jpg)

Post by: tryagain on June 04, 2018, 03:48:54 PM
Looks good, each of those gates would have to weigh in at about 60kg+ each wouldn't they?
Post by: Spada on June 04, 2018, 05:36:28 PM
looks good.....we need a thumbs up emoji.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on June 04, 2018, 05:53:42 PM
Definitely a top job, well done.
Post by: Pete79 on June 04, 2018, 07:29:34 PM
Looks good, each of those gates would have to weigh in at about 60kg+ each wouldn't they?
I recon closer to 80kg each...
But the 125x125x5 SHS concreted 2m deep into a 450mm round hole should hold them up... ;)

I didn’t pour the whole 2m x 450mm, but there’s a good 10-15kg of concrete with heaps of rio welded to the base of each post. ;D
Post by: Pete79 on October 25, 2018, 09:13:02 AM
I installed a new garden ornament yesterday. :)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181024/a5dc1ca09d26af83ea3614e9dd43b3c2.jpg)

Was a tight squeeze, but we got it there.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181024/bdac66f0599844d5cf1ee5fa502e5708.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181024/0f092ce0eb0022fa03b7b7187eeaca29.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20181024/e6cb39cbdb2cdd00a9fbf95e0c301f8a.jpg)
Post by: Fizzie on October 25, 2018, 09:22:31 AM
Well, you used to have a driveway, Pete :'(
Post by: Pete79 on October 25, 2018, 09:28:31 AM
Yeah getting over 150mm of rain in the 10 days leading up to driving over 50 tons worth of truck, trailer and house on a freshly cut slope will often finish up looking like that.

The guys where absolutely brilliant and took all care possible to not damage anything, but some things are unavoidable.
Post by: Bird on October 25, 2018, 11:51:53 AM
Mowed the weeds last night.. looking much better for 4 days until they are 4ft high again :(
Post by: speewa158 on October 25, 2018, 07:21:15 PM
Went out & sprayed the compound 2 weeks back as it was going off  . Hit the trash with the brushie & now its not as vigorous as it was . Brown  , wilting  & Stuffed    :cheers:
Post by: Spada on December 27, 2019, 05:47:40 PM
Reviving an old thread, cause I'm killing time waiting for the mortar to go off.

We've had a pond in the garden beside the deck for about 15 years. Its been patched and repaired a few times in its life, but the trees around it had finally caused some cracks that needed some more extensive repairs  :'( sorry, didn't think to take any before pictures).

Since we weren't camping this xmas, I decided to spend a few days and finally fix it properly. When I first built it, it was just done with a morter mix about 30mm thick and painted with a pond sealer. The base is fine other than a few cracks, so I've used wire bird mesh as the reo and put another morter mix about 50mm thick all over. Once the mortar has gone off, next week I'll seal it with a couple of coats of Cromolin concrete sealer, before adding 2 coats of Cromolin pond seal. Hopefully that should add another 15 years to its life.

Each pond is around 3m x 2m, and they both hold around 3000l each. The 2 ponds are linked by 2 small waterfalls and a short creek thing in the middle. There's a bricked garden bed on the inside of the top pond for some aquatic plants, and I plan to replace the water lilies that were submerged in terracotta pots in each pond. Mozzi lavea and toal eggs are controlled by having gold fish in each pond. The surrounding garden bed will get a good tidy up, and I've put down a mortar base to pave a sitting area along the front edge.

Work in progress, and should keep me out of mischief for a couple of weekends.

Post by: Spada on December 27, 2019, 06:03:37 PM
Title: The "Show us ya Garden - Landscaping" Thread
Post by: Pete79 on December 27, 2019, 08:30:42 PM
Nice work mate!
Now for the fun bit of planting it all out. ;D

This afternoon the wife was just looking at the spot where I’m supposed to be building a pond out the back of our place.
I promised I’d get on to it right after the trailer build is finished... ;)

I did my own dodgy version of pebble-Tex in our landscaping creek.
We did pretty much the same as you with the 30mm thick concrete and chicken mesh for a section of creek between 2 waterfalls in the front garden.
But before troweling off the wet concrete, I packed in a top layer of medium sized Mary River stones (30-60mm). Then hosed off the top bit of concrete to exposed all of the stones before it fully cured.
Post by: Spada on December 28, 2019, 07:39:29 AM
I did my own dodgy version of pebble-Tex in our landscaping creek.
We did pretty much the same as you with the 30mm thick concrete and chicken mesh for a section of creek between 2 waterfalls in the front garden.
But before troweling off the wet concrete, I packed in a top layer of medium sized Mary River stones (30-60mm). Then hosed off the top bit of concrete to exposed all of the stones before it fully cured.

Cheers Pete. I'd done similar with the creeky bit last time, but it was a bastard for catching all the leaves and crap so this time I've used the mortar to shape some lumps and hollows for the water flow, but kept it smooth to make it easy to keep clean. I'll be using a sandstone coloured pond seal paint, so hopefully it wont look too artificial?

The yard is an ever evolving beast, with works being dictated by time and money....with money being the main limitation  :'( The last project took me around 3 months to buils retaining walls and back-fill the batter behind the house to bring ground level up to the back deck and terrace the bit off the lower patio. It started with the neighbor putting in a pool and I took all of his dirt. Piled the dirt up to the back veranda and compacted it as I went, then built a block wall around the filled section.
Post by: Spada on December 28, 2019, 07:44:19 AM
I dry hired 1.5t Kanga for most of the dirt shifting, but all the trenches for the footings were hand dug and all the concrete for the footings was done in a hand mixer.
Post by: Spada on December 28, 2019, 07:50:44 AM
I was pretty chuffed with the way it turned out. The house is split level with the kitchen, lounge and dining areas on the split. Being able to walk straight off the deck instead of having to go down the stairs and walk up the batter to get to the back yard has really opened up the yard. The lower section is the man-cave and we've put a spa on that patio.
Post by: rockrat on December 28, 2019, 08:18:15 AM
I’m glad my missus doesn’t read MySwag, I’d never hear the end of it .

Post by: Pottsy on December 28, 2019, 08:46:10 AM
Great work, you should be justifiably proud of your work. Looks bloody fantastic. :cup:
Post by: DaveR on December 29, 2019, 02:51:43 AM
Looking good there.
I laid the same blocks about 10 years ago, and found they are best in full sun, the water sets in on the blocks I have in the shade and makes a stain which is hard to remove.
Yours should look great for a long time.
Post by: Pete79 on December 29, 2019, 06:29:34 AM
Wow, that looks awesome!
Post by: GeoffA on January 02, 2020, 09:09:26 PM
Looks very nice indeed  :cup: :cup:
Post by: xcvator on January 03, 2020, 07:54:48 AM
You wanna come to my place Spada ?   :cheers:
Great job there mate   :cup:
Post by: Spada on January 03, 2020, 08:15:27 AM
Cheers for the kind words, The pond is still a work in progress. Got some paving down and tidied up the garden bed a little last week-end, 1st coats of sealer go down this week-end. There's been a little bit of settling behind the retaining walls, so I need to lift those pavers with about another 30mm of bedding at some point  :'(
Post by: Fizzie on January 15, 2020, 02:26:13 PM
Some interesting ideas for saving water around the house & garden

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-01-15/rain-gardens-green-roofs-solutions-for-stormwater-problem/11843114 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-01-15/rain-gardens-green-roofs-solutions-for-stormwater-problem/11843114)
Post by: tedota on January 15, 2020, 07:31:41 PM
Be good if the cities could utilize the amount of stormwater run off each year in some way. Would help with the annual water restrictions.
Post by: alnjan on January 15, 2020, 08:23:34 PM
I use my tanks for all our water supplies.  I good never understand why urban areas haven't been allowed to use tanks for grey water supplies.  Guess it comes down to Council chasing a dollar in water rates.   
Post by: rockrat on January 15, 2020, 08:46:02 PM
The bottle tree blocking the driveway is gone! Next step is to finalise the driveway design and get that done asap.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200115/fbb1e2cdb127cdd9c35da8e4be0d5713.jpg)

Post by: Pete79 on January 15, 2020, 10:35:35 PM
The bottle tree blocking the driveway is gone! Next step is to finalise the driveway design and get that done asap.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200115/fbb1e2cdb127cdd9c35da8e4be0d5713.jpg)

I can’t let the wife see this, she loves our bottle tree.

Though we planted ours in pride of place AFTER the driveway was designed and built. ;)
Post by: rockrat on January 16, 2020, 06:55:39 AM
I can’t let the wife see this, she loves our bottle tree.

Though we planted ours in pride of place AFTER the driveway was designed and built. ;)
I promise it was done humanely and the tree didn’t scream one bit.

Post by: Spada on February 09, 2020, 10:07:51 AM
Rain has slowed progress on the pond for the last month, and I sure aint complanin bout that  ;D
Any way, it's finally all sealed, planted and filled (with rain water :D). The brightness of the yellow turns to a darker sandstone once the tannin from the water stains it a bit and gets some algae growth around the waterline. Just need to order a new pump for one of the filters to increase the water flow a bit and I need to glue in a sandstone lip on the top waterfall, but otherwise it's job done ;D
Post by: Pottsy on February 09, 2020, 12:33:26 PM
Very nice Spada, looking the goods. :cup:
Post by: nab on February 09, 2020, 01:25:20 PM
Looks so green and lush, well done! Over here everything is dead and dry as a chip...
Post by: Spada on February 09, 2020, 04:03:15 PM
Looks so green and lush,

For about the first time in a year  :D We've had reasonably good rain for about the last 3 weeks and the grass is just starting to recover after a loonnng dry spell, but there are still quite a few bare spots. We've got fairly crappy sandy loam around here, I'd love to top-dress with an organic blended topsoil but Mrs Spada wont let me spend money on "dirt" :'(
Post by: gronk on February 09, 2020, 05:05:38 PM
Topdressing is really a thing you do to level a lawn.  If you are allowed, get hold of a coring machine and fill in the holes with the "good" soil.
If I get an area of lawn that is struggling, I fork it, and open up the holes a bit and go over with dynamic lifter and hose in.
Post by: Spada on February 09, 2020, 05:41:06 PM
Topdressing is really a thing you do to level a lawn.  If you are allowed, get hold of a coring machine and fill in the holes with the "good" soil.
If I get an area of lawn that is struggling, I fork it, and open up the holes a bit and go over with dynamic lifter and hose in.

You're right, I cored and fertilized after the first couple days of rain and it sure helped, but would have loves something decent to top over the cored holes.
Post by: Spada on April 12, 2020, 03:14:23 PM
This lock-up is going to kill me. Mrs Spada & I decided to use Easter at home to tidy up the gardens. It's their first big overhaul in 15 years. 22 trailer loads of trimming and raked up leaf litter (most of it was fed through the fire pit, but some went to the tip).

Front yard looks a lot tidier now  :D but we've still got the backyard to go  :'(
Post by: D4D on April 12, 2020, 03:26:01 PM
This lock-up is going to kill me. Mrs Spada & I decided to use Easter at home to tidy up the gardens. It's their first big overhaul in 15 years. 22 trailer loads of trimming and raked up leaf litter (most of it was fed through the fire pit, but some went to the tip).

Front yard looks a lot tidier now  :D but we've still got the backyard to go  :'(

Nice job, it's a good time to get into the garden.
Post by: Fizzie on April 13, 2020, 08:51:17 AM
22 trailer loads of trimming and raked up leaf litter (most of it was fed through the fire pit, but some went to the tip).

If you've got lots of trimmings etc, then I can recommend one of these https://www.ryobi.com.au/products/details/2400w-crushing-shredder-rsh2445s (https://www.ryobi.com.au/products/details/2400w-crushing-shredder-rsh2445s).

We've only had ours for a couple of weeks now but it's awesome ;D 55l bin on it, but that equates to ~2m3, or a trailer load, of rubbish ;D

& then couple it with one of these https://www.ryobi.com.au/outdoor/products/list/category/loppers (https://www.ryobi.com.au/outdoor/products/list/category/loppers) for even more goodness! 8)
Post by: Hairs on June 20, 2020, 03:43:57 PM
Finally getting around to doing something about where the above ground pool use to be. An outside fire area, maybe something like this?
Where the deep end of the pool was, will become a water feature, water supplied from the shed and house.
Now it's time for a few Coopers Pale Ales and enjoy the view.

Enjoy you arvo Swaggers
Cheers(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200620/60bf642db90ae7fbe07f3279c83faa18.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200620/b432eed3132cfcefe058a8512a243312.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200620/966997e6d18a32e80fc6ed86735c6c04.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200620/791d5a85132172bc926db942be966076.jpg)
Post by: Spada on August 26, 2020, 06:46:34 AM
With a real lack of camping this year, I've needed something to keep me occupied so we've started on another little yard project. It's still a work in progress, but thought I'd post up the work so far. So about 15 years ago we built a little wooden deck area up the back garden where we could have a few sundowners and "survey the kingdom" so to speak. Most Sunday afternoon's a few of the neighbours wander up and we share a few ales. Over time, we added a fire pit off to the side which has now evolved into the primary gathering area and the decked bit hasn't been getting a lot of use. We quite often have a camp oven cook up in the fire pit with the neighbours, and have built an oven type thing from an upside down metal wheel barrow over the fire for cooking. About all we've used the deck area for is putting food on the table for serving. With a bit of beer and some thinking music, we came to the conclusion that the outhouse (as we call it) needed a new lease of life, and a plan was hatched  8)
These are the before pictures of the deck area. In it's origional form it is 4.8 x 2.4 with a shade cloth roof, and was completely overgrown with a jasmine vine.
Post by: Spada on August 26, 2020, 06:56:19 AM
We decided some time ago that we'd really like a pizza oven, and deliberated for ages on if we'd get enough use and where it could go. In the end we made the decision and decided to put it off the end of the outhouse and turn that area into an outdoor bush kitchen type area.

So stage 1 was to push the back wall out 400mm to make room for a bench along the back wall, and to ad a 600mm extension off the front for a seating/prep bench area, and the shade cloth roof was redone with old corrugated iron.
Post by: Spada on August 26, 2020, 07:02:18 AM
Next job was to build a bench-top/table arrangement in the front extension. I've scored a 2400 x 900 granite slab off ebay for $40, so that will be turned into a prep area for the wood oven. I've set it at a height that is comfortable to sit at, and from outside it is about "public bar" height to stand and look in. I've used an old pine sleeper to rim the top and sheeted the front in old tin.
Post by: Spada on August 26, 2020, 07:12:16 AM
With the front bit done, I spun around and focused on the back wall. This was framed using recycled timber and also sheeted in old tin. The original wooden table was cut in half and the 2 halves used to make a bench along the back wall.I already had a water line running behind the outhouse for some garden taps, so I tapped into that and installed a sink ($20 from the recycle shop), and we already have power to the outdoor area so a couple of power points will eventually be added the back wall (when I can con my sparky mate around for a beer).
Post by: Spada on August 26, 2020, 07:16:16 AM
With building works mostly done, it's now time to look at the wood oven area. We hand poured a slab off the end, and built a block stand from some blocks left over from when I built a retaining wall behind the shed. these were then core-filled for extra strength.
Post by: Spada on August 26, 2020, 07:23:21 AM
So far, it's been about 5 weeks since we started the project. This weeks task is to form and pour the concrete bench top for the wood oven. This will pull up the works for a little while now. I'd like to leave the top to cure for a couple of weeks, and then we are away for the 2 weeks of school holidays (assuming Qld doesn't follow Victoria's lead between now and then). There will still be some tinkering like adding a 12v lighting system and a few odd jobs, but after the top is poured on Friday not much more will happen until the start of October. That's when the oven building will start  ;D
Post by: GGV8Cruza on August 26, 2020, 07:35:26 AM
Looking great, which oven are you going with

Post by: Fizzie on August 26, 2020, 07:37:22 AM
About all I can say is wow! ;D

(& when is the Official MySwag Pizza Night ???)
Post by: GeoffA on August 26, 2020, 07:39:20 AM
Nice... :cup: :cup:

....and the barbie is bomb-proof, too.... ;D ;D
Post by: Spada on August 26, 2020, 07:40:13 AM
Looking great, which oven are you going with

Thanks GG, Melbourne Fire Brick Company - D95 model.
Its a pre-cut brick kit oven.
Post by: Spada on August 26, 2020, 07:41:36 AM
Nice... :cup: :cup:

....and the barbie is bomb-proof, too.... ;D ;D

do it once, do it right  ;D
Much easier to overdo it during, than repair it after.
Post by: Spada on August 26, 2020, 07:42:30 AM
About all I can say is wow! ;D

(& when is the Official MySwag Pizza Night ???)

Thanks Fizzie........ and maybe, one day  :angel:
Post by: GeoffA on August 26, 2020, 07:48:52 AM
do it once, do it right  ;D
Much easier to overdo it during, than repair it after.

Yep. If a job is worth doing, it's worth over-doing.... ;D
Post by: Pete79 on August 26, 2020, 08:06:56 AM
That’s one sweet looking outhouse.... ;D
Post by: Spada on August 26, 2020, 08:39:43 AM
That’s one sweet looking outhouse.... ;D

Cheers Pete.......... Hows to pool going?
Post by: Pottsy on August 26, 2020, 08:40:24 AM
Very speccy Spada, great builds. Lots of good times with family and friends ahead I’d reckon. :cup:
Post by: Pete79 on August 26, 2020, 10:02:34 AM
Cheers Pete.......... Hows to pool going?
Pretty good so far. Should be laying boards by this afternoon.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200826/764ef106a4fd60cc849a7632229661ae.jpg)
Post by: Spada on August 26, 2020, 12:04:36 PM
Pretty good so far. Should be laying boards by this afternoon.

lookin good. Is that timber I can see? i thought you were a steel boy >:D
Post by: Spada on August 27, 2020, 06:36:08 AM
Before I started the outhouse reno, I'd not long finished another little backyard improvement. Our block is on a gradual slope (about 1 in 20). The retaining walls that I built behind the house a few years ago gave us a bit of level ground off the back deck, but the ground rolled off to the side from there and there was a bit of a hollow between the house and the shed. In June I used a pile of old pine sleeper that I had behind the shed from when I replaced the shed retaining wall with blocks, and put in a small wall from along the fence line to claim back some more level ground.
Post by: Spada on August 27, 2020, 06:40:00 AM
Then added 50m3 of topsoil to claim back some level ground and smooth out the hollow up to the shed  :D

I hope this rona thing ends soon, being stuck at home is killing me.
Post by: Fizzie on August 27, 2020, 07:35:32 AM
being stuck at home is killing me.

Maybe so, but point out to the Boss how much $ you've saved doing all this work yourself, rather than paying somebody to do it!
Post by: Spada on August 28, 2020, 04:15:10 PM
Bench top poured today. Just finished troweling it off......... beer o'clock now, so I'm off to the neighbours for Friday drinks  ;D
Post by: Bird on August 28, 2020, 04:21:09 PM
Quote from: Spada
I hope this rona thing ends soon, being stuck at home is killing me.

Quote from: Spada
so I'm off to the neighbours for Friday drinks  ;D

oh the hard life we lead... :'(
Post by: Spada on August 28, 2020, 04:23:27 PM
oh the hard life we lead... :'(

If it'll make you feel better, I'll have one for you too  ;D

We're allowed out now, up to 10 people together  :D Social distancing guidelines are..... if you can smell my fart, you're too close
Post by: Hairs on August 30, 2020, 08:27:45 AM
Use to be an Above ground pool here.
Slowly making it a usable outside area.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200829/564e7d96cd78dea91ff262492a0e710f.jpg)
Post by: Steffo1 on August 30, 2020, 03:58:01 PM
Bench top poured today. Just finished troweling it off......... beer o'clock now, so I'm off to the neighbours for Friday drinks  ;D

Do you want some quad guttering for the barbie shack? It's in good nick as only a couple of years old.
Post by: Spada on August 31, 2020, 06:23:34 AM
Use to be an Above ground pool here.
Slowly making it a usable outside area.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200829/564e7d96cd78dea91ff262492a0e710f.jpg)

You promised us a firepit Hairs? is that what the paved square is for?

Looking good  :cup:
Post by: Spada on August 31, 2020, 06:47:05 AM
Do you want some quad guttering for the barbie shack? It's in good nick as only a couple of years old.

Funny you mention guttering Steffo, we were discussing just that in yesterday mornings showers. If you've got some to get rid of I might be keen  ;D

With the oven stand finished, that's the main construction work done. So this weekend we started to do some of the finishing works to try and tidy up the appearance a bit so it doesn't like like a construction site. Put a row of sleepers along the front and filled it with stone to tie it in to the existing fire-pit area, and filled the hollow in the ground with a bit of topsoil. Got all the 12v lighting in place and wired. I'll spread some lawn seed on the new dirt this afternoon.
The oven is due to arrive this week, but it will have to go in the shed until October when I'll have time to build it. In the mean time, there is still a lot of trimming work to be done. I'll add a roof over the oven stand and enclose the back corner to weather proof the cooking area, and once the form work comes off the stand I'll use that ply to make some shelves along the back wall. The 2 old windows are only sitting there at the moment so I can see what they look like, so they've got to be framed and hinged. And the granite bench-top needs to be cut to size and fitted, but I'll wait until after the oven is built for that, clumsy me would most likely drop a brick on it if I did it first? I'm sure there is a heap of other things that will end up being done, but I suspect this is going to be an ever-evolving project 8)
Post by: Hairs on August 31, 2020, 07:08:24 AM
You promised us a firepit Hairs? is that what the paved square is for?

Looking good  :cup:
Hi mate,
The fire pit will be to the right of the pavers, outside of the stones.
:)
Post by: Fizzie on August 31, 2020, 07:20:06 AM
we were discussing just that in yesterday mornings showers.

I'm sure there is a heap of other things that will end up being done, but I suspect this is going to be an ever-evolving project 8)

Easy for me to say, because I'm not the one doing it ;D, but could I suggest extending the front roof out 1/2 - 1m or so, particularly over the "bar" ???

That way, when there's a shower of rain, people will still be able to lean on the bar, & enjoy their drinks, without getting wet! ;D
Post by: Spada on August 31, 2020, 07:54:39 AM
Easy for me to say, because I'm not the one doing it ;D, but could I suggest extending the front roof out 1/2 - 1m or so, particularly over the "bar" ???

That way, when there's a shower of rain, people will still be able to lean on the bar, & enjoy their drinks, without getting wet! ;D

Cheers Fizzie, it's a good thought and something I probably didn't plan enough for originally. There's a 500'ish overhang at the front and the roof line is about the same line as the sleepers on the ground. I have thought about going out a bit further but that'll need either another couple of posts or some form of bracing back to the existing posts, and a bit more tin. Unless its a driving rain inside should be OK, but standing outside will have you in the drip line :'( I think it'll be OK as it is for now, but that's not to say it wont change ;D
Post by: Steffo1 on August 31, 2020, 10:47:25 AM
Funny you mention guttering Steffo, we were discussing just that in yesterday mornings showers. If you've got some to get rid of I might be keen  ;D

Might pay to do some measuring (Twice ;D) as one length of gutter is 7700 long. Can then cut it to suit for transportation.

Other lengths are shorter, various lengths. All free, to a good home.
Post by: Spada on August 31, 2020, 11:56:34 AM
Might pay to do some measuring (Twice ;D) as one length of gutter is 7700 long. Can then cut it to suit for transportation.

Awesone Steffo, will keep that in mind. I think I might have a length stashed under the house and will check that first and get back to you  :cup:
Post by: rags on August 31, 2020, 01:36:24 PM

Is that colourbond guttering complete with the protective plastic covering still attached, exposed to the sun so never to be able to remove👍
I say that with a 😀 as nothing more frustrating when I was roofing than trying to pull the plastic of aged guttering and capping, where it breaks into pieces the size of a 10c piece
Post by: Spada on September 06, 2020, 06:18:22 AM
This weeks update  ;D
Pulled the form work off the oven stand and cut in some control joints. With a bit more beer and thinking music, A plan was hatched to extend the roof line to cover the oven stand. I was originally going to leave this out in the open, but decided it would be a more practical space if it was less exposed to the elements. I also framed and sheeted the end of the wall around the back side of the oven stand and hinged a pair of old sash windows into the back wall (one at each end). This is just to let in a little light and breeze so things dont feel too enclosed.

And Fizzie, thanks for planting that seed and messing with my head. While I was extending the roof over the oven stand I also pushed out the roof over the bar by another 500, so the overhang is now 1.1m.

Today is fathers day and I'm under domestic arrest, but this morning I'll still try and glue in the false floor under the oven stand and sheet the gable end of the new roof section to finish that off. I'm also hoping to salvage the form ply and use that to make some shelves for the bench along the rear wall, but that might be a job for ron.

Post by: GGV8Cruza on September 06, 2020, 06:54:34 AM
Looking great, the concrete from afar came up well, happy with it. How did you vibe it in the end??

Post by: Fizzie on September 06, 2020, 07:19:47 AM
And Fizzie, thanks for planting that seed and messing with my head.

You're welcome! ;D

I'm good at thinking of jobs for other people to do ;) >:D

& on that topic ... ;D

Looking at the overall photo (which looks awesome btw! :cup:), spotted your man sitting on the bench over the back, & was just thinking that if his mate was leaning on the outside corner between the stove & the bar, with stubbie in hand, then you'll always have somebody to have a chat to while cooking ... ;D :-*

Post by: Spada on September 06, 2020, 08:50:41 AM
Looking great, the concrete from afar came up well, happy with it. How did you vibe it in the end??

Thanks GG, yeah it came up pretty good, just a few tiny bug holes here and there, but they'll be covered when I dress the edges in timber. In the end I hired a little whipper snipper type vibrator. I was able to get an afternoon hire at a good rate so it worked out well.
Post by: Hairs on September 06, 2020, 09:25:59 AM
That looks great mate.
Well done.
Post by: Hairs on September 06, 2020, 09:28:12 AM
I got the water feature sorted this morning.
Pump and all :)
Fysh is a happy girl :)
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200905/d31b44aa07200232ee42ac300de0dd3d.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200905/61ec1a4eb54b13e548d0d3c3a718c60b.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200905/393946543defad142ab007b2881bb5f8.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200905/41cf2c4e454061342ad811ccf8aa3caa.jpg)
Post by: Spada on September 06, 2020, 11:37:27 AM
I got the water feature sorted this morning.
Pump and all :)
Fysh is a happy girl :)

stone work looks great, must have taken hours.

Looks like  agreat spot to sit and enjoy  :cup:
Post by: Spada on September 06, 2020, 11:50:25 AM
V8's will start soon, so I downed tools and did a tidy up and washed the concrete dags and sawdust off everything. Got a few more things on the "to do" list done, next big ticket item will be the oven in October. I'm just not quite sold on the closed in corner on the right of the oven stand, think I'll keep my eye out for an old door and pinch a glass panel out of it to let some light in and open the corner up. I'm thinking of a door glass cause they are only 240 wide so will fit between the studs, and you can get them with a kookaburra picture printed in the glass.

Anyway, here's some show off pictures  ;D
Post by: Spada on September 06, 2020, 11:52:11 AM
and the inside
Post by: Hairs on September 06, 2020, 12:14:55 PM
Cheers mate,
Yeah, took Fysh a few hours, a couple of days actually:).

Your project is looking awesome mate.
You must be stoked.
Post by: Spada on September 06, 2020, 01:35:03 PM
Your project is looking awesome mate.
You must be stoked.

Once I put up a hammock and get foxtel, i'll probably never come inside  ;D
Post by: Hairs on September 06, 2020, 03:58:07 PM
Once I put up a hammock and get foxtel, i'll probably never come inside  ;D
Couldn't blame you either.
:)
Post by: Pete79 on September 06, 2020, 05:58:39 PM
No rest for some fathers on Father’s Day....

But we made some good progress this weekend, we should be ready for the fencing and roofing to be delivered in the next couple of days.

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200906/1df18600e32cd1b50e504481205b9c3c.jpg)

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200906/4da89a58c803330ba8df4a54554a729d.jpg)

So I knocked the old men off early and now it’s time for meat, fire and beers.... ;D

(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200906/0159c4c2e84e6fce402d0fed125b187c.jpg)
Post by: Spada on September 07, 2020, 06:31:18 AM
Looking good Pete, nice work. Whats the plan for the un-decked edge? plants?

Meat, fire, beer - nice trifecta  8)
Post by: Pete79 on September 07, 2020, 07:25:39 AM
Looking good Pete, nice work. Whats the plan for the un-decked edge? plants?
Hopefully more decking when the budget allows.

But at this stage we’re debating between plants or weed matting and river rocks.
The wife votes plants, so I guess I already know what we’ll be doing in there.... ;)
Post by: Fizzie on September 07, 2020, 07:48:18 AM
But at this stage we’re debating between plants or weed matting and river rocks.
The wife votes plants, so I guess I already know what we’ll be doing in there.... ;)
Always going to be pulling leaves & rubbish out of the pool then :'(
Post by: Pete79 on September 07, 2020, 07:57:52 AM
Always going to be pulling leaves & rubbish out of the pool then :'(
Nah, has to be low growing soft leaved shrubs. Safety fencing rules with no climb zones and all that stuff dictate that.

It will be something like Philodendrons or low growing hydrangeas.
Post by: Spada on September 09, 2020, 05:15:37 PM
Pizza oven arrived today  ;D  Some assembly required
Post by: Pete79 on September 09, 2020, 05:31:35 PM
Jeezz, you must have a good postie... :P
Post by: Hairs on September 09, 2020, 05:53:33 PM
Cement FONDU  ?
Sure it's what ya ordered ;)

Awesome stuff.
Can you make a slideshow/vid of how it all goes together?
That would be excellent, cheers.
Post by: Spada on September 09, 2020, 05:56:04 PM
Jeezz, you must have a good postie... :P

I just happen to know a bloke  ;D
Post by: Spada on September 09, 2020, 06:07:55 PM
Cement FONDU  ?
Sure it's what ya ordered ;)
Awesome stuff.

There's 3 different flavours of cement in the kit Hairs...... think I might need to read the instructions properly.

I wont be starting my build till after the school holidays, but I'll do some progress reports along the way. Here's a time lapse of the kit that's the next size up from mine (same-same, but 100mm bigger diam).  - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=thpb9GUA4m0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=thpb9GUA4m0)
Post by: Fizzie on September 10, 2020, 07:02:05 AM
I've never really checked them out, but I always thought the fire was like a barbie - under the cooking area ???

Obviously not!
Post by: Spada on September 10, 2020, 09:33:35 AM
I've never really checked them out, but I always thought the fire was like a barbie - under the cooking area ???

Obviously not!

Yeah, I've been schoolin up a bit on this lately. 3 types of heating come into play - direct heat from the fire, radiant heat from the brick, and convection heat from hot air. The size of the fire and where you place it in the chamber and has different effects on the 3 types of heat, as does the chamber design and where you place the food. I'll have a lot to learn through trial and error with the different types of cooking- either hot and fast, or long and slow. The model we're building is about a 2 hour fire to get from cold to Pizza hot (about 350-400), but on the way up to that temp you can cook your nibbles like chicken wings or flat breads and then do the pizza's once at full temp. Its what happens after that that I'm looking forward to. The model we're building is supposed to take 60 hours to get back down to 70deg (with the door closed). It'll drop to 230 in the first 12 hours, and then takes another 48 to slowly lose the rest of the heat. It should be good for frying bacon & eggs the next morning, and then doing a roast for the next nights dinner without having to relight the fire. You can also do a smallish fire to get some initial heat in, throw some moist wood chips onto the coals, use the door to choke the flame and do a long and slow smoking. If you're at all interested (and have an hour to kill) they've done a pretty good demo video of the different cooking methods here- https://www.youtube.com/embed/n9vBQIFOEEQ?wmode=opaque&enablejsapi=1 (https://www.youtube.com/embed/n9vBQIFOEEQ?wmode=opaque&enablejsapi=1)
Post by: Bird on September 10, 2020, 10:31:37 AM
How about this in ya neighbours front yard.
Post by: NZMarkb on September 10, 2020, 12:45:11 PM
That’s Freken cool
Post by: Fizzie on September 11, 2020, 07:16:51 AM
That's great ;D, but I think Council may have something to say about it ???
Post by: Hairs on September 12, 2020, 05:28:32 PM
There's 3 different flavours of cement in the kit Hairs...... think I might need to read the instructions properly.

I wont be starting my build till after the school holidays, but I'll do some progress reports along the way. Here's a time lapse of the kit that's the next size up from mine (same-same, but 100mm bigger diam).  - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=thpb9GUA4m0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=thpb9GUA4m0)
Cheers mate.
Post by: Hairs on September 12, 2020, 05:32:43 PM
Veranda area is the next on the hit list.
An outside Bar area starting to take shap.
Merbau, 240x45, backing board is a lenght of 140x19 Merbau decking.

The 25x25 stakes will be removed, the post and rails will be paint a Flat Black.
(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200912/f03687abdc2810e78f07d27ce3464ab7.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200912/5742663890040668caca598ef00ca0fa.jpg)
Post by: Spada on October 08, 2020, 05:21:11 PM

Okeydokey  ;D

I tried setting up the gopro to do a time lapse, but it all got too hard. Battery in the gopro wont last more than about an hour and I cant be buggered wiring up a power supply, so it's just going to be some words and a couple of pictures as we go along for now.

Work started today with getting the base insulation ready. There were 4 calcium/silica boards that needed to be cut to shape. Just pin the supplied templates onto the boards and cut out with a jigsaw. Base boards were cut and positioned and then they are covered with a layer of alfoil. The calcium/silica boards are 50mm thick and are the insulation to stop the heat escaping through the base. The alfoils' purpose is as a moisture barrier between the mortar and the insulation boards. Otherwise the porous boards would suck all the moisture from the mortar before it could form a proper bond.

That took 1 1/2 hours this afternoon, I'm aiming to get the floor tiles mortared down tomorrow afternoon so they can have overnight to cure and I can start the brick dome on the weekend.

Post by: Spada on October 10, 2020, 06:56:07 AM
Had another crack with the gopro but stuffed it up again  >:(

Got the base tiles mortared down yesterday, about 3 hours work. They're a 40mm thick fire brick tile laid on 10mm of refractory mortar, so all up the base is 100mm thick now. All the bricks needed to be soaked in water before being laid so they don't suck all the moisture from the mortar. It's amazing how porous they are, putting a few in a tub at a time is like dropping an alka seltzer in a glass with the fizzy bubbles coming out of the bricks. There was a fair bit of jigging around trying to get all the joints flush for a smooth finish. Probably too much, cause the instructions say to just whiz round with a grinder to smooth them off, but I'm a bit too OCD for that. There's a couple that I'll tidy up, but overall I was happy with the flush joints. After an overnight cure, the brick dome can be started today.
Post by: fractured ranga on October 10, 2020, 09:03:17 AM
Pizza ovens are the best thing ever, my place had one (and the shed) when I bought it so the hard work was done, I just made a bar next to it to store extra wood. Once you get the hang of it you won't like store bought pizza anymore (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201009/6f56078e506e29ff088b4bea8d755ff7.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201009/c024483e43ba342b93f50f1202171e44.jpg)

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Post by: Fizzie on October 10, 2020, 11:46:31 AM
you won't like store bought pizza anymore

We already much prefer our own over store made & we don't even have a fancy wood fired pizza oven, just a normal 'leccy one! ;D
Post by: Kangaron on October 10, 2020, 12:07:40 PM
The Weber makes a reasonable pizza as well

Sent from my Moto G (4) using Tapatalk

Post by: Spada on October 10, 2020, 05:46:56 PM
9 hours work today, at a reasonably leisurely pace with a few tea breaks along the way.
first 5 brick courses done, 6 more to go. The tramell tool makes easy work of placing the bricks.

Post by: Pete79 on October 10, 2020, 05:53:14 PM
Master craftsmen...
You’ll be enjoying awesome feasts out of that for many, many years.

Looks great mate!
Post by: Spada on October 11, 2020, 06:18:53 AM
Master craftsmen...

Far from it mate  ;)

Gotta say, the kit is incredibly well prepared and the instructions (written and video) make it relatively easy to assemble. Just like big boys lego  ;D
Post by: Fizzie on October 11, 2020, 06:48:28 AM
So the bricks are shaped, are they ???

Start off flat but then get a increasing slope built into the top ???
Post by: glenm64 on October 11, 2020, 07:49:49 AM
Nah, their just falling inwards. The kit comes with a carton, drink a few lay first level drink a few more...etc,etc.  :laugh:
Post by: Fizzie on October 11, 2020, 09:04:11 AM
Personal experience, Glen ??? >:D
Post by: Spada on October 11, 2020, 01:39:14 PM
So the bricks are shaped, are they ???

Start off flat but then get a increasing slope built into the top ???

Bricks are pre-cut and there are 3 types, each with a different taper and profile. First few courses are type 1, next couple alternate type 1 & 2, then a couple of only type 2, and so on and so on. 10 brick courses in total.

We've gone as far as we can this week, another 5 hours today got us up to finishing the 8th course. Stripped out the flu arch formwork and cleaned and pointed all of the internal joints. The next stage is to insert fibreglass dome to support the last 2 brick courses and then mix and pour the castable keystone. Once the work starts on this stage it needs to be completed and left to cure until the keystone has set, but cant be left longer than 12 hours or the morter will be too hard to clean off the underside. So it's too late today to start that process, it'll have to wait until next weekend now  :'(
Post by: NZMarkb on October 11, 2020, 06:27:01 PM
Your a bloody legend mate
I’m never showing my mrs this page
She’s been on a our a pizza oven for years😂😂
Post by: Spada on October 12, 2020, 06:27:41 AM
She’s been on a our a pizza oven for years😂😂
Fire Brick Company in Melbourne - they ship world wide  ;) https://melbournefirebricks.com.au/ (https://melbournefirebricks.com.au/)

I spent a fair bit of time looking at kits from a few different companies. Their's was a little dearer that than the others, but the kit is far more comprehensive than many of the other brands I looked at. Many of the other brick oven kits require you to cut the bricks yourself which is a lot of work, so for me it was worth the extra dollars.
Post by: tryagain on October 13, 2020, 10:55:22 PM
Fire Brick Company in Melbourne - they ship world wide  ;) https://melbournefirebricks.com.au/ (https://melbournefirebricks.com.au/)

Waiting for Bird's reaction when he checks the prices!
Post by: gronk on October 14, 2020, 05:44:08 AM

That's a hell of a lot of takeaway pizzas for the price ?
Post by: Spada on October 14, 2020, 06:26:41 AM
That's a hell of a lot of takeaway pizzas for the price ?

Why did I know that was going to come up  >:D
Trust me, we've thought long and hard about this. We spent quite a while pondering the idea and or us it's all about the entertaining more than the personal use, although it'll get used quite a bit for that. We live in a good close community and have a core group of neighbours who we socialise with pretty much every week (and we all go camping together). Most weeks we are all 2 doors down from us for Friday night drinks, and most Sundays everyone comes to our place for sundowners. Quite often we will have a Saturday night special at our place for a fireside cook up, which is why our fire pit is into it's 3 incarnation. Its had to grow to accommodate the crowd  8) It's quite common for us to have at least 8 adults + kids just for a non-event Saturday night gathering. Special events (like birthdays) attract even bigger crowds.
And it's not just for Pizza's. Once fired, it takes 2 hours to get the oven up to 400c, and then takes 60 hours for it to cool from that back down to 70c, and you can cook in it for the full time period. Our planned use would be a Saturday afternoon firing (crowd or no crowd) and cook some nibbles like chicken wings or a flat bread & cheese dip during the preheat cycle and then pizza cooking later on on the evening. Next morning, the oven will still be hot enough to do bacon and egg breaky, and then later on either throw a roast in to slow cook for the rest of the day or a small quick re-fire the next afternoon will have it back at full temp for for Sunday night sundowners, or using the residual heat from yesterdays fire you can start a little fire than choke it and throw in some damp wood chips for a long and slow smoke.

Yes it's a Shite load of money if Domino's cardboard is to your liking  >:D, but I see it is value adding to our home and an improvement to our outdoor entertaining area.
Post by: Pottsy on October 14, 2020, 06:38:14 AM
Great explanation Spada, simply put the friendships and fellowships created for you, your family and community are priceless.
How you choose to spend your hard earned dollars is really nobody’s concern but yours.
Enjoy
Post by: Fizzie on October 14, 2020, 07:09:33 AM
if Domino's cardboard is to your liking

Wash your mouth out!

To be honest, I haven't yet had a commercial pizza from anywhere, even $25 "gourmet" ones, that taste as good as our home made more-or-less Meatlovers do! ;D (& as I mentioned before, they're just cooked in a normal electric oven, not even wood-fired)
Post by: tryagain on October 14, 2020, 07:29:27 AM

At that price, it's obviously more of a lifestyle choice than an effort to save money, but no need for you to justify to us. If you can afford it and that's what you choose to spend your money on then that is all that matters. You can't take money with you at the end of the day. Only time it ever rises an eyebrow for me is when people keep buying stuff they really can't afford.
Post by: Steffo1 on October 14, 2020, 07:45:25 AM
Trust me, we've thought long and hard about this. We spent quite a while pondering the idea and or us it's all about the entertaining more than the personal use, although it'll get used quite a bit for that. We live in a good close community and have a core group of neighbours who we socialise with pretty much every week (and we all go camping together). Most weeks we are all 2 doors down from us for Friday night drinks, and most Sundays everyone comes to our place for sundowners. Quite often we will have a Saturday night special at our place for a fireside cook up, which is why our fire pit is into it's 3 incarnation. Its had to grow to accommodate the crowd  8) It's quite common for us to have at least 8 adults + kids just for a non-event Saturday night gathering. Special events (like birthdays) attract even bigger crowds.
And it's not just for Pizza's. Once fired, it takes 2 hours to get the oven up to 400c, and then takes 60 hours for it to cool from that back down to 70c, and you can cook in it for the full time period. Our planned use would be a Saturday afternoon firing (crowd or no crowd) and cook some nibbles like chicken wings or a flat bread & cheese dip during the preheat cycle and then pizza cooking later on on the evening. Next morning, the oven will still be hot enough to do bacon and egg breaky, and then later on either throw a roast in to slow cook for the rest of the day or a small quick re-fire the next afternoon will have it back at full temp for for Sunday night sundowners, or using the residual heat from yesterdays fire you can start a little fire than choke it and throw in some damp wood chips for a long and slow smoke.

Yes it's a Shite load of money if Domino's cardboard is to your liking  >:D, but I see it is value adding to our home and an improvement to our outdoor entertaining area.

Mmmm, fresh baked, hot bread!!!!!.............................and for around $3 grand, you've got a very good multi-purpose piece of equipment. How many people have spent that and a lot more on 4wd bling that they don't really need.

Post by: Spada on October 24, 2020, 07:02:01 AM
Time for an update.
Not much happened last weekend because I was watching the V8's, but the brick work is now finished and the keystone cast. Also finished the vent arch and installed the precast chimney cap.
Today we're aiming to get the insulation wrap on so the waterproof edge flashing can be done before making a plinth for the entrance and tiling the slab tomorrow.
Post by: Pottsy on October 24, 2020, 07:10:15 AM
Nice build. :cup:
Post by: gronk on October 24, 2020, 07:27:18 AM
Great explanation Spada, simply put the friendships and fellowships created for you, your family and community are priceless.
How you choose to spend your hard earned dollars is really nobody’s concern but yours.
Enjoy

yeh, I was having a dig....we all spend money on things that others regard as useless.... ;D
Post by: Fizzie on October 24, 2020, 08:12:09 AM
Time for an update.

On the first photo, what's the little round bit that looks like its poking out the side ???
Post by: rags on October 24, 2020, 10:31:21 AM
On the first photo, what's the little round bit that looks like its poking out the side ???

That would be where the 2stroke turbo blower bolts on.
Post by: Spada on October 24, 2020, 02:44:19 PM

It's a thermowell for a screw in thermometer. It's basically a case that is permanently mounted, and then a thermometer probe screws into an internal thread. That way the thermometer is removable without leaving a hole in the oven wall when it's out.
Post by: Spada on October 24, 2020, 02:58:19 PM
The rain set in at lunchtime today so we didn't quite get as much done as I'd hoped. Today we did a double wrap of 25mm ceramic-fibre blanket, then a 150mm aluminium flashing is wrapped around the base and sealed to create a moisture proof barrier, then the whole dome is wrapped in wire. The next stage is to tile the bench before the final 50mm of render goes over the dome. I managed to get the plinth poured for the granite landing that is going at the entrance, but the rain killed any plans of doing the tiling today  :'( The tarp is just to keep any rain off the fibre blanket layer.
I was hoping to finish the tiles today so I could get the first coat of render on tomorrow, but now it looks like I'll have to do the tiles tomorrow (if the rain clears) and leave the rendering till next weekend.
Post by: Spada on October 25, 2020, 04:44:46 PM
Another day and a bit more done. The instructions say to allow 50 hours for the build, and I recon I'll go over that budget. There's a few stages that need 12hours between steps for setting, so jobs like todays work took about 3 hours but now I wont get back to it until next week end, so it sure does burn a hole on your weekends.

The weather cleared late yesterday afternoon, so I was able to get the bench tiled and left to set overnight. 1st up this morning we trimmed and glued in the granite landing around the oven entrance. Way back in the planning stages I lucked onto a 2400 x 900 x 40 granite benchtop on ebay for $40. I cut out a 2100 x 600 chunk for the benchtop near the oven and the offcuts I was able to salvage to use for the oven entrance. The oven stand tiles we're leftovers from a bathroom reno a few years ago. The tiling and landing needed to be done before the dome could be rendered. That way you don't need to be too fussy with the cut edges as the render will cover them.
Anyway, the weather held out long enough for us to be able to mix up a brew of render and get the 1st of 3 coats on. The render is a mix of perlite fill, lime, sand, and cement, and each coat goes on about 15 to 20mm thick. Lovin the detail in the kit, it even included a float that is shaped to give the right curve on the dome. More or less just slop on the render in a rough form and then use the float to shape it. The finished shell will be around 50mm thick. I was happy to get the first render coat on as I didn't fancy leaving the bare ceramic blanket exposed for a another week.
Post by: Spada on October 30, 2020, 07:21:01 AM
Fitted the chimney yesterday. The supplied chimney was only 900 high which got me to about 100mm short of the tin roof. Yesterday I got a 900 extension with a 10" outer to go through the roof. Easy enough fit. Found centre with a plumb-bob, cut a 260mm hole in the tin, couple of screws and a tube of silastic, job done in about 1/2 hour.
Whilst the ovens flue can easily crank up to a couple of hundred degrees, the outer skin creates a 40mm air gap around the flue and according to the fireplace shop shouldn't get much above 60'ish deg. I've cut the roof batons about 25mm short of the outer skin and I'll see how the temperature goes once I start firing the oven. I've still got a length of ceramic fibre blanket left over from the oven insulation, so if I think the chimney gets a bit too hot I might end up putting a wrap of that between the batons and the outer skin?

2 more coats of render to go on this week-end (12 hours apart) and then I can actually light a fire in the bloody thing  ;D
Post by: Steffo1 on October 30, 2020, 08:05:26 AM
The weather is looking OK for you, too! :D
Post by: Spada on October 30, 2020, 08:11:45 AM
The weather is looking OK for you, too! :D

Yeah, watching that Steffo. As long as it holds off on the mornings we should be fine. The dome is fully undercover and once the Perlite render is on it's wrapped in plastic and covered with a tarp to slow down the cure, so the rain hopefully wont be a problem.
Post by: Beachman on October 30, 2020, 12:13:47 PM
Fantastic looking Pizza oven and you have done a great job.

My Father use to be a Bricklayer and due to his age they taught the apprentices back in the olden days then how to make odd shape things and fireplaces etc.  So over the years he built a few Pizza Ovens like the one in the photo but back then there wasn’t any pre-cut bricks or templates. Each brick was individually cut and to stop if falling in on itself/hold the roof bricks in place they use to fill the middle with brickies loam, then once dry dig/hose out the sand.

He has since passed so I wasn’t able to get one built at our current house, but I do have a steel pizza oven and agree they are not a cheap investment. But well worth the taste you get from homemade plus it’s somewhere to stand around and drink beer while entertaining and waiting for the pizzas to cook.
Post by: Spada on November 01, 2020, 06:16:18 AM
My Father use to be a Bricklayer and due to his age they taught the apprentices back in the olden days then how to make odd shape things and fireplaces etc.

I can remember when I was a wee lad dad would take me to work with him on the school holidays (in the 70's dad was a foremen for a construction company ;D) and it used to amaze me watching the brickies pick up a brick in their hand and split it with a trowel. Thankfully all my oven bricks came pre-cut.
Post by: Spada on November 01, 2020, 11:07:42 AM
Reached a milestone today... construction is finished  ;D ;D ;D
Yesterday and today we got the final 2 coats of render done. Only took about an hour per coat, but it had to be left 12h between coats. All up, roughly 50mm of render over the dome. Now it gets wrapped in plastic and left to cure for a few days, then I can start to fire it in. 7 day process starting with a small fire for a couple of hours, increasing in size each day to drive the moisture out of the dome. Once it's been through 4 full firings, the dome gets painted with an elastomeric sealer and the grey chimney cap gets painted in a high temp satin black.
Post by: Spada on November 01, 2020, 11:17:20 AM
Still lots to do, but we're getting there. Need to sand and seal all the timber. I've got some draws to install under the right of the bench, there's a cupboard to go over the sink, and lots of trimming and tidy up to do.... But we're a hell of a lot closer to the end than the start now.
Post by: D4D on November 01, 2020, 11:31:29 AM
Still lots to do, but we're getting there. Need to sand and seal all the timber. I've got some draws to install under the right of the bench, there's a cupboard to go over the sink, and lots of trimming and tidy up to do.... But we're a hell of a lot closer to the end than the start now.

Very nice oven, we're about to fire ours up for some pizzas and bread
Post by: Spada on November 01, 2020, 04:42:25 PM
Couple more jobs ticked off the list today. Draws under the bench and a cupboard over the sink.
Post by: Hairs on November 01, 2020, 04:47:53 PM
It's coming along nicely.
Love ya work.
Post by: Bird on November 01, 2020, 05:48:32 PM
Quote from: D4D
Very nice oven, we're about to fire ours up for some pizzas and bread

Jamie Jamie Jamie.. tisk tisk tisk ...
you should know better....

:worthles: :worthles: :worthles: :worthles: :worthles:
Post by: D4D on November 01, 2020, 05:55:06 PM
Jamie Jamie Jamie.. tisk tisk tisk ...
you should know better....

How's this? Here's a pic of the vegie patch I planted today after ripping out the old plants/weeds.
Basil
Chives
Coriander
Parsley
Beans
Carrots
Rosemary
Tomatoes
Chillies

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/vegpatch.jpg)
Post by: Bird on November 01, 2020, 05:56:59 PM
How's this? Here's a pic of the vegie patch I planted today after ripping out the old plants/weeds.
Basil
Chives
Coriander
Parsley
Beans
Carrots
Rosemary
Tomatoes
Chillies

its acceptable...
Post by: Spada on November 02, 2020, 06:55:33 AM
Basil
Chives
Coriander
Parsley
Beans
Carrots
Rosemary
Tomatoes
Chillies

Must be a pizza thing, we've not long ago planted about the same list of ingredients  ;D
Post by: Spada on November 02, 2020, 07:00:30 AM
It's coming along nicely.
Love ya work.

Thanks Hairs, I'm pretty pleased with the way it's turned out.
Post by: DrewXT on November 03, 2020, 09:30:55 AM
Basil
Chives
Coriander
Parsley
Beans
Carrots
Rosemary
Tomatoes
Chillies

Birdies Garden Beds, big tick!!

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Post by: D4D on November 03, 2020, 10:01:07 AM
Birdies Garden Beds, big tick!!
The silver beds are actually tree protectors, half the price of the veggie beds and the same result. They also don't rot like the old wine barrels.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on November 03, 2020, 08:13:02 PM
Planted some screening plants along our boundary after cleaning up all the creepers and blackberries. 42 holes to dig. Now all they need to do is grow

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201103/dbd12217fcc248dfd55ee4dc0d8462bd.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201103/23d83de5008aae283fcae0220402a7ca.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201103/9fc74b76da103f107f481b508df953ea.jpg)

Sent from my SM-N976B using Tapatalk

Post by: Spada on November 05, 2020, 05:56:00 AM
The first fire  :D

Started the curing process yesterday. Only a little fire, but took the oven to 100deg for 3 hours then shut the door. Same again today followed by 2 days with a slightly bigger fire, and then another 2 days of bigger again. Will be ready for it's first full firing on Sunday   8)
Post by: westvic on November 05, 2020, 06:14:07 AM

Started the curing process yesterday. Only a little fire, but took the oven to 100deg for 3 hours then shut the door. Same again today followed by 2 days with a slightly bigger fire. Will be ready for it's first full firing on Sunday   8)

That really is a work of art!

Congratulations and I hope it brings you many fine feeds
Post by: NZMarkb on November 05, 2020, 06:29:37 AM
Love your work mate
But there's no way I'm showing it to the Mrs  :cheers:
Post by: DannyG on November 05, 2020, 07:41:03 AM

Started the curing process yesterday. Only a little fire, but took the oven to 100deg for 3 hours then shut the door. Same again today followed by 2 days with a slightly bigger fire. Will be ready for it's first full firing on Sunday   8)

Great stuff mate, it has turned out really nice.
Post by: Steffo1 on November 05, 2020, 07:50:42 AM
Love your work mate
But there's no way I'm showing it to the Mrs  :cheers:

She only has to read and follow the instructions, mate.
Post by: NZMarkb on November 05, 2020, 07:55:56 AM
She only has to read and follow the instructions, mate.

Yep, that i'd end well  :D :D
Post by: Spada on November 15, 2020, 07:53:22 AM

And this is exactly why we built it. Saturday night, no formal occasion or invites, and we ended up with 11 people gathering for no other reason than the fact we all enjoy each others company  :D

Last night in the oven we made a roasted eggplant dip, melted triple brie dip, and flat breads for starters, then 7 pizzas for the mains.
Post by: Pottsy on November 15, 2020, 08:08:07 AM
Priceless! :cup:
Post by: Fizzie on November 15, 2020, 09:11:44 AM
7 pizzas

Is anybody else allowed to touch the "shovel" ??? ;D
Post by: Spada on November 15, 2020, 09:21:36 AM
Is anybody else allowed to touch the "shovel" ??? ;D

Hell no  :o

had a look this morning, 12h after last nights cook the oven was still 250c. Within a minute of taking the door out the coals re-ignited, so we made breakfast  ;D
Post by: NZMarkb on November 15, 2020, 06:01:17 PM
Doesn’t that make all the blood sweat and tears worth while
That looks fantastic mate, well done
Post by: Pete79 on November 15, 2020, 09:44:03 PM
Mate this whole build is awesome.

The outhouse extension looks great and the pizza oven came up a treat.
You should be proud of all of this.

I’m sure all of the neighbors are happy with the fruits of your labour.... ;)
Post by: Spada on November 16, 2020, 05:52:21 AM
Yep, real happy to be able to start enjoying the fruits of our labour. It's been 4 months in the making.

The oven was still 210c at 4:00 the next afternoon so we re-heated the leftover pizza & garlic bread and baked some chicken wings for Sunday Sundowners with the neighbours, and also did a roast lamb & veg for dinner. That's 24h of cooking from a single fire of about 1/2 a wheelbarrow worth of wood.
Post by: GeoffA on November 16, 2020, 06:45:11 AM
Yep, real happy to be able to start enjoying the fruits of our labour. It's been 4 months in the making....

You get out of it what you put in.

A job well done... :cup:
Post by: D4D on November 16, 2020, 06:55:33 AM
Yep, real happy to be able to start enjoying the fruits of our labour. It's been 4 months in the making.

Your oven has turned out great, it certainly holds the heat well.
Post by: Fizzie on November 16, 2020, 07:23:06 AM
That's 24h of cooking from a single fire of about 1/2 a wheelbarrow worth of wood.

Awesome! :cup:

How long did it take to get up to temp before starting cooking ???

You're never going to use the kitchen again ;D
Post by: Spada on November 16, 2020, 09:51:02 AM
Your oven has turned out great, it certainly holds the heat well.

Cheers, thanks. I'll be curious to see what the temp is tonight, which will be 48h from firing.

How long did it take to get up to temp before starting cooking ???

Hi Fizzie, I lit the fire at 4:15, and around 5'ish It was way hot enough to start some of the pre-cooking. It got up to about 500c by around 5:30-6'ish, so I probably had a little too much wood in the back of it to start (learning curve). That was a much faster pre-heat than I think is good for the long term life of the oven? The model we got was advertised as a 2 hour preheat to get it to 450c. It actually got there much quicker, but I think my initial firing was a bit too enthusiastic and I had too much wood in at the start. I'd stacked 6 big lumps of split hardwood across the back wall and built about a 400mm square fort fire in front of that with another 2 split hardwood lumps leaning against the front of that.

Around 5:30'ish I started roasting some pumpkin and an eggplant near the mouth of the oven, and made the tomato based pizza sauce in a frypan in the oven. I also had to fry off some mini meatballs and saute some mushrooms for the toppings. Then I baked a couple of flat breads and some melted brie dips for nibbles. We didn't actually start cooking the pizzas until around 7'ish, but the oven was at temp a good 1&1/2 hours before then. The pizza's were cooking in less time than the prep team could build them ;D

We did learn a few thing from this first real firing - a bit less wood at the start would be better. We worked out you don't need a super hot oven at the start when you're making nibbles and prepping toppings while its preheating, and we also need to work on getting our dough mix right. We carefully followed the recipe but I think it was a bit too moist and I was having a little trouble sliding the raw pizza's off the peel onto the oven floor. Possibly the humidity affected the dough mix?

Post by: Pete79 on November 16, 2020, 10:48:47 AM
and we also need to work on getting our dough mix right. We carefully followed the recipe but I think it was a bit too moist and I was having a little trouble sliding the raw pizza's off the peel onto the oven floor. Possibly the humidity affected the dough mix?

We've found a good dusting of flour on the peel is vital, then after spreading the base we give a little shake to loosen the dough and make sure it slides around right before doing the toppings.
If the base is only on the peel for a minute or 2 while doing the toppings it slides off nicely into the oven.

If you mess around too long the dough starts to stick to the peel and your wife wants to divorce you for dropping cheese and crap all over the base of the brand new oven as you shake the hell out of the peel trying to get that darn pizza off....  Don't ask how I know.... ;D
Post by: Steffo1 on November 16, 2020, 11:12:52 AM
Do you have a set of bathroom scales in the kitchen? :D
Post by: Spada on November 16, 2020, 04:17:05 PM
Cheers, thanks. I'll be curious to see what the temp is tonight, which will be 48h from firing.

Just checked and it's still at 120c 48h's after being lit.
Post by: Raym on November 16, 2020, 08:31:19 PM

If you mess around too long the dough starts to stick to the peel and your wife wants to divorce you for dropping cheese and crap all over the base of the brand new oven as you shake the hell out of the peel trying to get that darn pizza off....  Don't ask how I know.... ;D

The beauty of the wood fired oven is that all that crap disappears next time you fire up.

I cooked plenty of beer can chicken in mine sitting on the floor without a tray & there is no staining from it.
Post by: Fizzie on January 28, 2021, 02:54:49 PM
Question for all the Garden Gurus, thanks ;D

We're currently putting in a few rain water tanks around the yard & wondering about pumping water from them, rather than just gravity feed (trickle) ???

Don't have 240v to any of the spots without running a long extension cord, so wondering about solar powered 12v pumps ???

Do any of you use one ???

Don't need a lot of pressure - just enough to get the water from the tank here across the yard over there - ~15m, & it really doesn't matter how hard it comes out at that end. Just so long as the Mrs has enough water for her plants!

As we all know, happy wife ... ;D

PS Please don't tell me that it's cheaper just to use town water - that's a discussion that's well & truly been & gone! ::)
Post by: Steffo1 on January 28, 2021, 04:24:44 PM
You can get a small petrol pump pretty cheap, if you hunt around..............................or one of these might be the go.
Post by: Fizzie on January 29, 2021, 07:03:29 AM
Thanks Steffo.

Was hoping to avoid petrol due to both noise & exhaust ???

& the manual version is way too much hard work! :o ;D
Post by: Steffo1 on January 29, 2021, 07:30:46 AM
Was hoping to avoid petrol due to both noise & exhaust ???

Yep, I understand.
Post by: Fizzie on February 10, 2021, 12:53:35 PM
Continuing with rain-water tanks ...

How do you all keep mossies under control ???
Post by: Mace on February 10, 2021, 01:25:20 PM
Continuing with rain-water tanks ...

How do you all keep mossies under control ???

Keep the inspection  lid on and ensure all inlet/outlet  connections are well sealed. Run any oulets down to ground level and give the little suckers  no means of entry.  Or are you considering an open tank?

http://www.tankworldtas.com.au/installation.html (http://www.tankworldtas.com.au/installation.html)

Post by: Fizzie on February 10, 2021, 01:31:25 PM
They are screened, thanks Mace, but screens sometimes come loose / get moved so the little sods get in there >:( :'(
Post by: bmwfreak on February 10, 2021, 01:51:42 PM
They are screened, thanks Mace, but screens sometimes come loose / get moved so the little sods get in there >:( :'(
The wrigglers add to your daily protein count >:D.
How old is your tank installation? May be time to update/upgrade some of your fittings if they are coming loose or moved (I assume you mean by nature, not human intervention?).
We have had tanks as our main source of water, in two different houses for 12 years and not had a wriggler issue. Another ‘fix’, (which won’t stop the mosquitoes) if concerned about ingesting the little suckers, is to install filters on the outlet side of the tank supply. We have 2 x 5micron filters and 1 x UV filter directly from the pump, and a 1 micron silver filter at the house. Or the old standby of kero, which creates a film on top of the water in the tank.
Post by: Pottsy on February 10, 2021, 02:40:53 PM
Couple of drops of paraffin oil in the tank seems to do the trick.
Post by: Fizzie on February 11, 2021, 07:42:01 AM
Thanks, fellas.

These tanks are only for watering the garden, & maybe topping the pool, so not worried about swallowing anything ;D

Have heard about both kero & paraffin - they don't damage the plants or put a bad taste in the veges ???
Post by: Pottsy on February 11, 2021, 10:00:10 AM
You only use enough paraffin to put a slick/rainbow on the surface. Tiny amount required, never had an issue.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 27, 2021, 10:59:15 AM
During the lockdown period in Vic the projects list got bigger and bigger. One of the main projects was another entertaining area beside the pool. We are getting there.

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210327/02ae5755b96d53b49986c0758859c978.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210327/d836e237752fccc6b1811cefb3f77f5a.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210327/e7af4a6badab2c840ce7c9084b9fe631.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210327/3f4c822a95888ca535a7ac6510590cf7.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210327/b34706a4bd8bc444aefeeefa003f6bfb.jpg)

Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 27, 2021, 11:03:58 AM
A bit further advanced

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210327/e9783e2413e7027f928634f5166093ea.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210327/eac21a623105601359de70fccd62ac72.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210327/431f484909d33874f2c1743a6872972d.jpg)

Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 27, 2021, 11:04:58 AM
And the main feature has now arrived and it's time to start building

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210327/3fffbb2903ce5afca4dbbb5cd5c99cc6.jpg)

Post by: Spada on March 28, 2021, 07:11:50 AM
And the main feature has now arrived and it's time to start building

looks suspiciously like a new pizza oven  8)
Post by: tryagain on March 28, 2021, 07:21:31 AM
I thought you were supposed to use lock down to actually do those jobs around the house that you never get too, not add more jobs to the list?
Post by: edz on March 28, 2021, 09:31:52 AM
One for DanyG 
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 29, 2021, 07:12:23 AM
looks suspiciously like a new pizza oven  8)

Sure is, i went the pre cast model

Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 07, 2021, 06:32:02 PM
It's all taking shape, a weekend with no camping

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/b0ee3e99e38385846097f8f3c0f201d2.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/145e9d68d5601d2a532e7d635cbc7aa7.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/998d8518e06004e88575172027753c63.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/c62b87b743dbb943bbd6198822c99ead.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/fdbf417b7e96cff3ebbe1725637c1c87.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/3151e0fea6ee8061ab9e6074a1083907.jpg)

Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 07, 2021, 06:33:27 PM
And a bit of paving as well

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/e54c344a179517e5fb02400f7236a011.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/a1283bbe33a26d115a168828f0760693.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/5a3734a8d35ae4453f660a6f39298938.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/062bb91d3d0c26746e388ad94c780568.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/9254921c6de9eb94a94298cd01baf911.jpg)

Post by: Pottsy on April 07, 2021, 06:52:30 PM
You’ve been a busy boy. :cup:
Post by: Spada on April 07, 2021, 08:24:03 PM
Looks awesome 👍
Post by: Fizzie on April 08, 2021, 06:56:55 AM

Is this when we point out that the edges are ragged ??? ;)

Looks great though! ;D

I can see some big parties out there!
Post by: Bird on April 08, 2021, 09:57:20 AM

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/e54c344a179517e5fb02400f7236a011.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/a1283bbe33a26d115a168828f0760693.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/5a3734a8d35ae4453f660a6f39298938.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/062bb91d3d0c26746e388ad94c780568.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210407/9254921c6de9eb94a94298cd01baf911.jpg)

Can I have a micromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicrogram of your motivation? Where do you buy it from
Post by: bmwfreak on April 08, 2021, 10:00:40 AM
Great job on the oven and the paving :D. Is the formwork(?) staying there?
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 08, 2021, 10:25:19 AM
Great job on the oven and the paving :D. Is the formwork(?) staying there?

Do you mean the jack, it has been removed and all stayed in place.

Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 08, 2021, 10:28:57 AM
Applied second coat of render, 1 more to go. Starting to look like an oven now.

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210408/ec37d6d56ca335360db36add44687455.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210408/51a430deaaf202df13f10fa0de3c003d.jpg)

Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 08, 2021, 10:30:29 AM
Can I have a micromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicromicrogram of your motivation? Where do you buy it from

I wonder myself as well Bird, came back to work just to have a rest from the labour side of things.

Post by: bmwfreak on April 08, 2021, 01:05:10 PM
Do you mean the jack

Nah, the timber around the outside of the pavers😇
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 08, 2021, 01:37:44 PM
Nah, the timber around the outside of the pavers😇

Retaining wall holding in all the rock I barrowed in. Will build a screen of some type which will also have a bench for the pizza oven prep area.

Post by: bmwfreak on April 08, 2021, 01:55:16 PM
Cool bickies  :cup: :cup:
Post by: Hairs on April 08, 2021, 03:36:52 PM
Applied second coat of render, 1 more to go. Starting to look like an oven now.

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210408/ec37d6d56ca335360db36add44687455.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210408/51a430deaaf202df13f10fa0de3c003d.jpg)

Coming along nicely.
Post by: Steffo1 on April 10, 2021, 02:30:45 PM
Here's an idea for some of you enterprising blokes on the forum!

Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 18, 2021, 06:47:49 PM
First firing has occurred. 6 fires until we can cook some pizza. Need to get all the moisture out of the oven slowly.

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210418/8f73265cd84a8de26a31090ae37ea7cc.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210418/fe368930c95bb759b99c99753849cc63.jpg)

Post by: Hairs on April 18, 2021, 07:47:10 PM
Looks the Goods mate.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 25, 2021, 08:33:42 PM
It works, first pizzas passed through the oven today. Very happy with the result and the taste. Cook super quick and have that wood fired taste.

GG(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210425/454c1baf740b9a4acc7e89e626addc5f.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210425/f9d30007a271e9552e98c3d23b9ff5df.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210425/70a023223d54f277a79b208a4b40b6de.jpg)

Post by: Fizzie on April 26, 2021, 06:41:23 AM
Good to hear! ;D

But is that pumpkin on the pizza ???
Post by: Hairs on April 26, 2021, 07:29:27 AM
Awesome.
Ya gotta be happy with that.
Cheers for sharing.
Post by: Spada on April 27, 2021, 08:09:53 AM
That first pizza is the most satisfying  :cup:
Oven looks great.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 27, 2021, 10:33:54 AM
That first pizza is the most satisfying  :cup:
Oven looks great.

It sure is, now a bit more work with a couple of benches and we will be set

Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 17, 2021, 09:02:18 AM
All finished now, had a party on Saturday night and pumped out around 45 pizzas, extremely happy with the end result and can't wait to use it more.

GG (https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210516/b151d2b91c979e2372b93ccdf2527315.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210516/b7711c5484ffd44e720edb87eba39a0e.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20210516/02dc38ad0e990a5652b000993b6901d5.jpg)

Post by: Fizzie on May 17, 2021, 01:09:22 PM
pumped out around 45 pizzas

45!!! :o :o :o

How many people did you have there ???
Post by: GGV8Cruza on May 17, 2021, 01:21:35 PM
45!!! :o :o :o

How many people did you have there ???

Had around 50 there, one of them was BD, he eats a lot  ;D

Lots of prep the night before making all the dough

Post by: tryagain on May 22, 2021, 06:33:06 PM
extremely happy with the end result and can't wait to use it more.

Whole thing looks great, I'd be happy with all of that too.
Post by: DannyG on September 17, 2021, 09:31:05 AM
We have a few acres on the coast that we like to camp at regularly so i decided to build a little area to keep the fires in one place and do a bit of drinking and cooking  ;D

Its not finished yet. Im going to find some more beer barrels to make a bin and possibly I have a bench seat idea using those slabs of wood I built the bar top with. The only thing I wasn't overly happy with is, one of the pine posts must be a bit soft as the shade cloth bends and twists it under the force of holding itself up. But I may live with it...should of used steel posts.

(https://www.ozisuzu.com.au/album/uploads/big/3056a1e0252b0b192c3411885aecd3f3.jpg)
Post by: Spada on September 17, 2021, 09:52:52 AM
That looks awesome, and room for a Myswag meet-up  >:D
Post by: DannyG on September 17, 2021, 10:43:31 AM
That looks awesome, and room for a Myswag meet-up  >:D

Thanks and yes you are correct. Im about to make a little outdoor wash area and Im thinking of putting a gas burner ring in somewhere. Plus im making a couple of stools out of the beer barrel tops I cut off to make the smoker.
Post by: Hairs on October 17, 2021, 02:48:35 PM
Over the last 12 months, we have made some changes.
Where the pool was, is an area that got some attention, made a pond

Side veranda got some treads/steps.
Decking needs to be replaced.
From the shed, down to the lawn got a set of steps
And under the windows finished off with some hardwood decking
Karen has also started vegie garden.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211017/832bab584df95b6600f17a8c0d144e46.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211017/af259e1f69dc7e238e2b4966c8aae04e.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211017/3f3120c759a224b2bc5fe3598242e141.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211017/05b26ec7849b6275731de9848c18d246.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211017/160faf89cbc03b255590af0a2a485cb4.jpg)
Post by: Spada on October 18, 2021, 10:38:46 AM
Coming along nicely, love the lizzard  8)
Post by: Spada on October 23, 2021, 03:45:23 PM
Put 150kg of fertilizer down just in time for the spring rain. Just finished mowing and sitting up the back with a beer admiring the lawn now 😊
Post by: Bird on October 23, 2021, 06:50:39 PM
Put 150kg of fertilizer down just in time for the spring rain. Just finished mowing and sitting up the back with a beer admiring the lawn now 😊
Far too green and far too much to mow ;)_
Post by: Spada on October 24, 2021, 06:12:13 AM
Far too green and far too much to mow ;)_

About an hour on the ride on, I don't mind it  8)
Making my coffee this morning, counted 32 Little Corella's in the back yard  :D
Post by: GeoffA on October 24, 2021, 06:48:11 AM
 :cup: :cup:

Very nice indeed Spada....
Post by: Pete79 on October 24, 2021, 06:51:01 AM
Must of had a good supervisor to get such a perfectly even spread of fertilizer…. :D :D
Post by: Hairs on October 24, 2021, 02:13:17 PM
Coming along nicely, love the lizzard  8)
Thanks mate,
Found it in the scrap metal pile at the Metal Recyclers, It looked like a scrunched up ball of rusty wire.

Today's job.
Built a fold up shelf to put the 9kg gas bottle on when the big up runs out, the safety chain will go through the handle of the 9kg to the eye bolt.
Use to put the 9kg on a chair while we waited.(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211024/51138851e08c76d4b91717500b097d5c.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211024/9eb2c20e147820a9de976e04b146c0a1.jpg)(https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20211024/ed4e3e2f00ef7bba03c31d7a6d26f22a.jpg)
Post by: Fizzie on December 24, 2021, 08:01:18 AM
Anybody ever tried it ???

https://www.abc.net.au/everyday/how-to-use-sugar-to-reduce-weeds-in-garden/100067762 (https://www.abc.net.au/everyday/how-to-use-sugar-to-reduce-weeds-in-garden/100067762)
Post by: Spada on December 24, 2021, 10:38:28 AM
Anybody ever tried it ???

https://www.abc.net.au/everyday/how-to-use-sugar-to-reduce-weeds-in-garden/100067762 (https://www.abc.net.au/everyday/how-to-use-sugar-to-reduce-weeds-in-garden/100067762)

Interesting theory, but I've never tried it.
I've got bit of a problem with creeping indigo at the moment, wonder it it might work on that? So far nothing short of napalm seems to kill it  >:(
Post by: Steffo1 on December 24, 2021, 10:46:53 AM
Interesting theory, but I've never tried it.
I've got bit of a problem with creeping indigo at the moment, wonder it it might work on that? So far nothing short of napalm seems to kill it  >:(

Try 'Cutlass M', available from Fernland nursery, Yandina.
Post by: Spada on July 08, 2022, 06:36:50 AM
Starting another little project in the back yard this weekend  :)

Last weekend we we were doing a cookup in the outhouse (or pizza hut) & we wanted to sit around the firepit but it was raining. Using some bits & pieces that were lying around behind the shed we quickly cobbled up a bit of a tin roof lean-too over the firepit. As a proof of concept it was a huge success & I received planning permission from the council of civil affairs (Mrs Spada). I've been scrounging around for the required bits & pieces this week and hopefully I'll have it done over the next 2 weekends.

Plan is to continue the existing pizza hut roof line another 5m and kick it on a 45° for another 3m at the end. All sides will be open for ventilation & I'll build a hood & chimney over the firepit. The posts have been donated from a neighbour, 1 scored an 8m LVL for the front beam off gumtree for $50, Saturday I'm picking up 20 sheets of bullnose tin for the back roof section. I'll need to buy some treated pine to make the roof trusses today, but I'm just going to use fence battons to keep costs down. All I've got left to source is about 20 x 3m lengths of rusty corro for the front face of the roof (i've put a call out on the grapevine for that).

No progress yet, but the 1st pic is the before & the 2nd pic is the rough arsed temporary we threw up last weekend.
Post by: NZMarkb on July 08, 2022, 07:14:29 AM
Your an "ideas man" that's for sure :cup: :cup:
Post by: Bird on July 08, 2022, 09:34:12 AM
Starting another little project in the back yard this weekend  :)

Last weekend we we were doing a cookup in the outhouse (or pizza hut) & we wanted to sit around the firepit but it was raining. Using some bits & pieces that were lying around behind the shed we quickly cobbled up a bit of a tin roof lean-too over the firepit. As a proof of concept it was a huge success & I received planning permission from the council of civil affairs (Mrs Spada). I've been scrounging around for the required bits & pieces this week and hopefully I'll have it done over the next 2 weekends.

Plan is to continue the existing pizza hut roof line another 5m and kick it on a 45° for another 3m at the end. All sides will be open for ventilation & I'll build a hood & chimney over the firepit. The posts have been donated from a neighbour, 1 scored an 8m LVL for the front beam off gumtree for $50, Saturday I'm picking up 20 sheets of bullnose tin for the back roof section. I'll need to buy some treated pine to make the roof trusses today, but I'm just going to use fence battons to keep costs down. All I've got left to source is about 20 x 3m lengths of rusty corro for the front face of the roof (i've put a call out on the grapevine for that).

No progress yet, but the 1st pic is the before & the 2nd pic is the rough arsed temporary we threw up last weekend.
looks awesome.. love "LITTLE" project.. ;0
Post by: Spada on July 13, 2022, 04:07:21 PM
Progress report  :D

Posts & beams done on the weekend, trusses made Mon/Tue and put up today. I need to frame out a section between the trusses either side of the change of direction in the roof over the next couple of days and hopefully be ready batons & tin on the weekend. I can only sheet the back half for now until I've made a hood & chimney for the firepit... A fellow swagger has offered to help me with that bit & glue some steel together 8) ...and I'm still looking for old tin.

Post by: NZMarkb on July 13, 2022, 05:43:47 PM
Well done mate, you’re not mucking around 🍻🍻
Post by: Spada on July 14, 2022, 07:14:31 AM
you’re not mucking around 🍻🍻

Got a deadline, Mrs Spada's 50'th party in a month. She wanted a kitchen reno for her birthday, so I'm upgrading the firepit  >:D 2 birds, 1 stone  ;D
Post by: Fizzie on July 14, 2022, 07:23:24 AM
Hate to tell you this, but there's a fair chance that that's probably not the kitchen upgrade she wanted! ::) >:D
Post by: NZMarkb on July 14, 2022, 07:43:14 AM
Got a deadline, Mrs Spada's 50'th party in a month. She wanted a kitchen reno for her birthday, so I'm upgrading the firepit  >:D 2 birds, 1 stone  ;D

Love it Legend  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Spada on July 14, 2022, 07:43:57 AM
Hate to tell you this, but there's a fair chance that that's probably not the kitchen upgrade she wanted! ::) >:D
wait... say whaaaat  ???
Post by: Steffo1 on July 14, 2022, 08:58:03 AM

That is a good option for a kitchen upgrade.
The good woman did one earlier this year and little did I know that a 'Kitchen upgrade' includes ripping all the existing house tiles up and reflooring with a pretend timber look, new bedroom carpets, a full strip and rebuild of the laundry, twelve Ikea flat packs of new furniture  :'( :'( :'( and numerous sundry items.

However, 'A Happy Wife....' yadda, yadda!
Post by: Spada on July 14, 2022, 10:50:10 AM
However, 'A Happy Wife....' yadda, yadda!

saw on the back of a truck once - Happy Life, No Wife
Post by: Spada on July 23, 2022, 05:28:29 PM
Time for an update, roof is finished now. Next job will be hood & flu for the firepit and some 12v lighting.
Post by: NZMarkb on July 23, 2022, 06:28:15 PM
Well done mate, looks fantastic 🏆🏆
Post by: Mace on July 23, 2022, 08:06:12 PM
if only I had a bigger block of land...

Great job,  :cup:
Post by: Spada on July 24, 2022, 05:53:28 AM
Well done mate, looks fantastic 🏆🏆

Thanks mate. I was aiming for "rustic", but I'll settle for "fantastic"  ;D
Post by: Fizzie on July 24, 2022, 06:51:33 AM
How about amazing, will that do ;D
Post by: GeoffA on July 24, 2022, 08:00:24 AM
...or "inviting"?....

:cup: :cup:
Post by: duggie on July 24, 2022, 08:28:52 AM
Thanks mate. I was aiming for "rustic", but I'll settle for "fantastic"  ;D

Well done , Rustic it is . Bit rough on those in bare feet , but overall it a Bloody Great job .
Post by: Spada on July 30, 2022, 07:16:22 AM
Added some 12v lighting yesterday. Went up last night to check it in the dark and just happened to catch the end of a spectacular sunset.
Post by: GeoffA on July 30, 2022, 07:21:20 AM
That's nice.... :cup: :cup:
Post by: NZMarkb on July 30, 2022, 08:12:19 AM
Well done Spada
That looks fantastic :cup: :cup:
Post by: Spada on August 22, 2022, 05:45:04 AM
Mrs Spada asked for some fairy lights near the step to the outhouse. Had an old tea kettle hanging up and an over-sized cup/saucer planter pot. Bit of wire & some solar lights turned it into this-
edit- no idea why the picture turned sideways, and cant seem to fix it. sorry bout that.
Post by: NZMarkb on August 22, 2022, 05:49:17 AM
Mrs Spada asked for some fairy lights near the step to the outhouse. Had an old tea kettle hanging up and an over-sized cup/saucer planter pot. Bit of wire & some solar lights turned it into this-
edit- no idea why the picture turned sideways, sorry bout that.

Your an idea’s man Spada
That looks great 🏆🏆
Post by: Fizzie on August 22, 2022, 07:53:04 AM
You just got full marks from Leafz :cup:

But now she's jealous & wants similar! ::)
Post by: Pottsy on August 22, 2022, 08:05:53 AM
Very arty. Looks great.