Author Topic: Starting out  (Read 4361 times)

Offline Lipstick nomad

• Learning the Ropes
Starting out
« on: May 03, 2014, 01:30:20 PM »
Hi Everyone,

I've just discovered this site after attending the Camping & Caravanning Super Show at Rose Hill - loved it.  Exchanging tips and learning from others experiences is my main interest for joining.

Lipstick Nomad is my wife's self-identification - refusing to compromise chic while thrilling at camping. We're in our sixties, recently retired and on a tight budget.

We have an old (mid 1980's) home-made, off-road camper trailer.  No frills. It was given to us in 2012 by an old friend whose dad, a  coach builder by trade, constructed it for his retirement adventures.  We did some renovations to the mesh and the floor, repainted the box, added electric brakes and a big toolbox. All up it owes us about $2,500. It's an 8x5 box with straight up and down sides and a drop down tail gate, six-stud Landcruiser wheels/tyres on a 45mm square axle.  It weighs 520kg (box, canvas, bed, spare wheel and gas bottle) before we load our camping junk and suitcase of lipsticks!!  The canvas is in pretty good nick and I have re-waterproofed it.  We've done several short getaways and one 6 week trip in 2013 to outback NSW, SA and Vic.  Although I get "the wants" for smart, modern rigs, we are generally well satisfied with our basic old camper - we like to feel we're camping, not in a hotel.  That said, there are some improvements which would not go astray and we're working through them on our limited budget.