Author Topic: Another Newbie from GB  (Read 2834 times)

Offline wacanary

Another Newbie from GB
« on: November 09, 2012, 12:53:46 AM »
Over in your beautiful country on a temporary visa (which I am hoping to turn permanent in due course) but got the bug to "go bush" almost immediately. Now fully kitted out with a Prado & second-hand Cub and slowly easing the better half into a life under canvas. I was brought up sleeping on the floor under ex-army canvas in the middle of the UK winter but the missus had a more delicate upbringing so I'm easing her in with weekend trips to serviced campsites and I'll leave the Simpson for next weekend :D
Ultimately I'll have to do the big lap but I've only been here 9 months so will need to accrue a bit of leave first.
And yeah, I know.... :worthles:.....so here's the kit:

Re: Another Newbie from GB
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2012, 05:16:23 AM »
G'day and welcome.
Great looking setup you have there :cup:
Can't blame you wanting to make Australia home mate ;D
Happy and safe travels

Offline baldheadedgit

• your shout.?.. I'll ave Arf.......!
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2012, 05:24:38 AM »
Ahh, and another fellow country man.... welcome to you also my son.. :angel:   ;D

BHG

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2012, 07:46:53 AM »
G'day mate.  A big Aussie welcome to another pommie who has seen the light.  Nice looking rig.  Looking forward to reading of your adventures.

The following users thanked this post: oldmate

« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2012, 08:41:05 AM »
Treg up , Go bush , Enjoy  & Welcome to MySwag  :cheers:

« Reply #5 on: November 10, 2012, 02:36:01 PM »
G'day wacanary,

To MySwag,
Nice looking setup you have yourself there.
There is plenty of country to see here and there is plenty of great info to help you get out there and enjoy it.

« Reply #6 on: November 10, 2012, 07:41:37 PM »
Hi wacanary and welcome to My Swag

Offline carinya

• Nothing $30 million wouldn't fix
« Reply #7 on: November 10, 2012, 08:35:25 PM »
Welcome.  Good luck with your adventures
MK Triton Dual Cab.
Cheap gal trailer with some stuff added.

« Reply #8 on: November 10, 2012, 09:04:40 PM »
Welcome to the show maaaaaaaate :cheers:

Offline GG

• Don't know Karate...but I DO know crazy!
Another Newbie from GB
« Reply #9 on: November 12, 2012, 09:58:12 AM »
Hi wacanary and welcome to the forum. Happy travels to you both. Cheers. GG
2008 Toyota 'Freddy' Kluger & 1980's 'Gypsy' Jayco Dove Camper

Offline wacanary

« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2012, 02:28:56 AM »
Cheers Guys,

A lot of friendly people on this forum.

We had our first trip up to Jurien Bay a couple of weeks ago and herself was pretty OK about it. Since been to the Perth 4WD expo and put down a deposit on a big portable fridge with her blessing so it likes we're in for the long haul. :cheers:

First trip was not without it's adventures. Bush flies - you attract an awful lot when you are the only sentient beings for many kilometres which isn't conducive to eating your lunch at a rest-stop in the middle of the Nambung NP in November. Lots of effing and blinding while putting up the awning in 32 degree heat (I still sweat for England when it gets a bit warm - I know - there's a lot worse to come!) especially when the quality $11 step from Red Dot fails under my sylph-like stature. Found out the difference between a 10 amp & 15 amp Aussie extension lead when I tried to plug my $10 Bunnings special into the camper inlet socket. And then there's my reversing with a trailer in rear. Got into a right mess backing it into the garage on return and ended up unhitching & trying to use Newton's laws of gravity to help (we live on a hill). Totally underestimated the forces of attraction between the Earth & a 1 tonne trailer and nearly took out the side wall of the garage until I got the handbrake on, but not before we had run over the retic and knackered some of the pipework.

However, trailer is still intact and we are off to Busselton this weekend. Now looking at a few days in or around Albany after Xmas. The best bit is, I'm now living for the weekend, instead of doing what most Brits do in the UK and trying to fill in the time until I go back to work without getting too bored. I don't think Aussies know how lucky they are!

Offline firecracker

« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2012, 06:20:31 AM »
How green am i wacanary  :'( you did'nt try green lanes in the uk then !! can't get enough of um.what with my trailer build, sorting the D3, working on my 1928 Essex hot rod,and the usual jobs round the homestead, mind you won't have to mow any grass over there just sweep dust. ;D
 :4x4:
D3 HSE, Compomotive18"275x65 Cooper ATs, Sumpguard, GVNP.rods, Prospeed tree sliders, Brembo 4pot
Out laning/camping when i can.(ongoing trailer build)

Offline wacanary

« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2012, 10:02:41 AM »
Firecracker - Although I used to camp when I was younger, I've done very little since meeting the wife. Could never really ever justify a camper trailer in the UK (limited season, plenty of accommodation and short distances between attractions) and frankly never ever thought about it. Pretty quickly realised that out here in WA, if you don't take your accommodation with you, you won't see a lot of the countryside. What accommodation there is is sparse, expensive and often not very good.

Offline firecracker

« Reply #13 on: November 14, 2012, 10:10:13 PM »
Still very green with envy, can't ever see me getting over there, so will have to put up with the very green grass of home. Wild camping in Wales is pretty good with the stove inside my tentipi. ???
D3 HSE, Compomotive18"275x65 Cooper ATs, Sumpguard, GVNP.rods, Prospeed tree sliders, Brembo 4pot
Out laning/camping when i can.(ongoing trailer build)