Author Topic: Another Newbie  (Read 4430 times)

Offline Outbeck

Another Newbie
« on: August 20, 2012, 04:25:46 PM »
Hi everyone,
We recently became the proud owners of a slide on camper - love it.
It's only had the one test drive and cant wait to go again.
I've been reading this forum for many months and decided it was time to join.
I hope to be able to pick a few brains.
While we're very happy with the new camper it has a few minor issues so I though I'd lob it out there:
1) The camper comes with a 70L tank with pump - the waster tastes putrid - just like the plastic tank in fact.
2) The camper is aluminium (including the ceiling) and there's a lot of condensation - sometimes it's just too damn cold to open the window though. I'm about to try 'Hippo' moisture absorber but the area might be too big.
Any suggestions appreciated and happy camping.
 8)

Re: Another Newbie
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2012, 04:28:46 PM »
Welcome aboard.. We need as many Victorians as we can on this forum  ;D

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2012, 05:02:39 PM »
The camper comes with a 70L tank with pump - the waster tastes putrid - just like the plastic tank in fact.

Just read up on this last week but can't find the thread.  Most suggestions were to firstly use a food grade hose to fill the tank.  The cheapest I could find was a 10m Pope brand hose at Bunnings for $19.99 but no fittings.  Camping stores sell them for between $28 and $36, also without fittings.

Second bit of advice I gleaned was to put some bi-carb of soda in the tank, leave it for a while and then drain.  May need to repeat.  Others suggested cordial or lemon juice.

Thirdly, if all else fails, install a carbon filter to remove the taste.

Welcome aboard and enjoy getting out and about.
The following users thanked this post: oldmate

« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2012, 07:47:32 PM »
Hi Outbeck and welcome to My Swag

Offline Ricklanga

« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2012, 08:32:34 PM »
Hi Outbeck & welcome to the forum,

With regards to your condensation problems this might be helpful. http://www.hyperventmarine.com/ I have not tried this but have read good things about it. It is apparently a bit pricey though & not sure where to get it from in Oz, a marine dealer perhaps.

--
Richard.
2004 Pajero Exceed & 2012 Jayco Eagle Outback

It always rains on tents. Rainstorms will travel thousands of miles, against prevailing winds for the opportunity to rain on a tent.

Offline Outbeck

« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2012, 10:22:54 PM »
Just read up on this last week but can't find the thread.  Most suggestions were to firstly use a food grade hose to fill the tank.  The cheapest I could find was a 10m Pope brand hose at Bunnings for $19.99 but no fittings.  Camping stores sell them for between $28 and $36, also without fittings.

Second bit of advice I gleaned was to put some bi-carb of soda in the tank, leave it for a while and then drain.  May need to repeat.  Others suggested cordial or lemon juice.

Thirdly, if all else fails, install a carbon filter to remove the taste.

Welcome aboard and enjoy getting out and about.

Thanks King Billy,
The hose is supposedly food grade so I think it's the tank. Keen to try the bi-carb and maybe lemon juice. Cordial? Wine flavoured cordial might do the trick? Having said that, a carbon filter would also wipe out potential nasties so could kill two birds with one stone.

Offline Outbeck

« Reply #6 on: August 20, 2012, 10:36:08 PM »
Hi Outbeck & welcome to the forum,

With regards to your condensation problems this might be helpful. http://www.hyperventmarine.com/ I have not tried this but have read good things about it. It is apparently a bit pricey though & not sure where to get it from in Oz, a marine dealer perhaps.

--
Richard.

Thanks Richard - It seems to be particularly aimed at under-bed condensation but cant see why it wouldn't work if stuck to the ceiling.
I sent them an email to see if that was possible and if there's a distributor here.
Beck

« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2012, 07:30:34 AM »
G'day Beck,

A nice easy setup you have there.
I can't see in your picture, but does the roof have a little whirlybird thingy?
If not, one may help, I think you can adjust how much air flow there is that goes through it. Just a thought  ;D

Offline Outbeck

« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2012, 05:52:41 PM »
I can't see in your picture, but does the roof have a little whirlybird thingy?

Thanks Hairs - I don't have a whirlybird thingy so I followed it up on the internet and....bingo!
I think that might be just the ticket.
For anyone who's interested, a company called Edmonds (www.edmonds.com.au) make the CSR Edmonds Vehicle Vent.
Anyone with condensation problems or a hot or stinky rig might want to check it out - available on ebay too!
They claim to be 100% water tight but no mention of being adjustable.

Thanks also to Richard - I got an email back from the company you suggested and they said it would do the job but only post inside mainland USA - what the hell?

Next stop Lower Glenelg River NP as soon as it warms up a bit

« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2012, 06:36:47 PM »
Glad you're going to get it sorted.
What made me think of it was, when we got our Swan we closed the 4 season vents in the roof vent when it was cold.
The amount of condensation was dripping. With the 5 of us + cooking there was a lot of moisture in the camper.
Leaving the vents just a little open stopped the condensation.
Happy Days.  ;D

Another Newbie
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2012, 06:40:18 PM »
Welcome aboard mate :cheers:

Offline Gmac52

« Reply #11 on: August 24, 2012, 06:34:17 AM »
 :DWelcome guys , plenty of good info here ;D
Gra ::) ;)
GU 3.0Lt 2" Lift 3"exhaust  Tune-it chip 33" Maxxis Big Horn Mike Vine inter-cooler Kit Trackabout Safari

Offline Outbeck

« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2012, 09:27:27 AM »
Thanks for the welcome everyone - here's another pic from the back:

« Reply #13 on: August 29, 2012, 08:42:40 PM »

Plenty of headroom in the annex on a rig like yours isn't there. Hope you get your condensation problem sorted, though it might just be something you put up with when the weather is colder. Rinse your tanks, even if you get a carbon filter, that will clear the bad taste out.

bunyip

« Reply #14 on: September 08, 2012, 12:38:37 AM »
Not sure if you have the ventilation fixed but on the Kimberley Kampers they have a fan to extract the hot air. They charge a huge amount for this. I had a look at it is basically a low voltage fan from a PC case. Use very little battery, are pretty quiet until the bearing go. Instead of $60 you can pick up exactly the same fan at a computer shop for $10.