Author Topic: Stepping OUT!  (Read 3080 times)

Offline saddleup

• The horizon is my destination. Come - walk with me
Stepping OUT!
« on: June 18, 2012, 10:49:23 PM »
A quick note to say "HI" and thank you for the information I have already gleaned from various posts.

I thought I knew a thing or two about camping.  8) And I do - its just the other 10,000 things or so that has got my head in a spin after scanning this forum. ???

After 12 years or so, and three kids, the wife and I getting back into camping and showing the ankle biters some of the great places and things this beautiful country has to offer. However, for some reason the idea of humping a 25 kg backpack over a few hills has lost its attraction. Oh yeah, the 3 kids claiming to be tired after 10 minutes carrying a water bottle might also have something to do with it. And a soft bed. Cold beer (that's for me not the kids). Umm to think of it I'm not sure the hiking was that good after all!  ;)

So, with a cheap CT (with lots of possibilities for Mods in the future) in tow behind our Colorado Duel Cab, we are off to Lake Eyre and the Flinders Ranges during the next school holidays. Nothing too grand as far as off-roading is concerned, but enough to get where we want (this time).

All going well, the CT and family are set for regular excursions over the next few years.

So thanks for your help, knowledge and information already given and I'll try to keep up my end of the bargain by adding what I can.

And yes, I'll add pics when I have them.

Craig

Re: Stepping OUT!
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2012, 10:58:14 PM »
Welcome to the Zoo Craig,

Plenty of fun for the familty to be had in a CT, even a cheap one!

Look forward to some pics of your adventures.

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2012, 05:25:48 AM »
G'day Craig and welcome to the forum.
Heaps of help and fun here.
Happy times ahead with the camper mate.

Offline Smoko

« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2012, 05:30:49 AM »
Welcome enjoy your trips

Smoko
2009 Vacation Camper 2015 Triton

« Reply #4 on: June 19, 2012, 06:53:10 AM »
G'day Craig & Family

Your kids will love it, ours are just hitting the teenage years & still love it.
If you heading to the Flinders, this may wet your appetite and help, A week in the Flinders, which was part of a months travel for us last year, Here
Take your time, it is beautiful country around the Flinders.

« Last Edit: June 19, 2012, 11:04:32 AM by Hairs »

Offline Gmac52

« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2012, 09:45:16 AM »
 :D :DWay to go Craig & family get every one out there and away from the tele unless it's tele track cape york :laugh: :laugh:
GU 3.0Lt 2" Lift 3"exhaust  Tune-it chip 33" Maxxis Big Horn Mike Vine inter-cooler Kit Trackabout Safari

« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2012, 09:49:54 AM »
Welcome to My Swag Craig Kids will have a ball but don't forget the camera it all goes to quick  :cheers:

« Reply #7 on: June 19, 2012, 11:27:40 AM »
G'day & Welcome Craig.

I thought I knew a thing or two about camping.  8) And I do - its just the other 10,000 things or so that has got my head in a spin after scanning this forum. ???

Isn't it terrific. I learn new things every day from MySwag, as well as being inspired by those building their own CTs, and enriched by those sharing their stories and photos from trips near and far.

Offline Riguez

« Reply #8 on: June 19, 2012, 12:26:36 PM »
G'day Saddleup from another Canberran  :cheers: a few around here. Have you been out to Flinders etc before?
2010 Mitsubi Triton GLX-R

2009 Cub Brumby

Offline saddleup

• The horizon is my destination. Come - walk with me
« Reply #9 on: June 19, 2012, 09:29:12 PM »
Thanks for the welcome.

Riguez - No, we originally hail from Vic and most of our camping has been in the Vic high country, Grampians, Otways, etc. This trip will be our first foray into the centre, CT camping and camping with kids. Nothing quite like jumping in the deep end as far as firsts are concerned.

BigJules - Amen to that! After picking up a few back issues of 4WD and Camper Trailer Australia mags and enthusing about a few mods picked up here, the wife is starting to get a little worried when I mention 'tinkering' with a few things.  ;)

Gibbo301 - the two oldest kids are on the countdown and are keen to keep a travel journal - and aren't I glad digital cameras are cheap and saves all that film processing.  ;D

Craig

Offline pigd4d

« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2012, 09:40:30 PM »
Welcome mate, there's nothing better than seeing the family enjoying a camping trip
GET OUT THERE AND ENJOY IT-LIVE THE DREAM
CHEERS MICK

Offline Tjupurula

« Reply #11 on: July 11, 2012, 12:35:37 AM »
Hi Saddleup
Now there is a handle that I can relate to.  Welcome to one of the best sites in the land of the Internet.  Heaps of information here.

Offline olddigger

« Reply #12 on: July 11, 2012, 06:03:57 PM »
Saddleup, welcome to the asylum. Nice to see a fellow Colorado owner getting out there.
Cheers, Tony

« Reply #13 on: July 12, 2012, 05:11:03 AM »
Hi Craig and welcome to My Swag

Offline 1HDT

« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2012, 09:50:06 AM »
Welcome to MySwag Craig.

It's funny how your camping preferences change over the years. I find myself camping with things I swore I never would.  :D

1HDT