General => Introductions => Topic started by: MDCowners on June 10, 2013, 04:51:47 PM

Title: newby
Post by: MDCowners on June 10, 2013, 04:51:47 PM
Have purchased an MDC camper back in April new from head office in Brisbane and have travelled over 5000ks and erected it and camped in it 4 times and have experienced heavy rain, storm, wind etc and so far am very happy. It is the semi offroad v3 version and one of the main reasons of purchase was the Adelaide show price of $3999 which suited my budget. I was aware of the musings on this sight of MDC products and the apparent dislikes of their chinese products but took a chance and have so far been pleasantly surprised. Being an old fitter / welder I was also happy with the welds and general construct of the trailer. ( I have no affiliation with MDC ) I look forward to meeting members of the org. and travelling with our trailer and our Suzuki V6 grand vitara in the future.

Regards Bill

Title: Re: newby
Post by: thommo19 on June 10, 2013, 05:13:24 PM
Congrats on the purchase
Welcome to this great forum,I'm only new myself I'm sure you will enjoy it as I do.
Jeff
Post by: D4D on June 10, 2013, 05:19:42 PM
Welcome to myswag Bill, lots of good info here.

I'd be interested to know your thoughts on the GV, thinking about one for the missus.
Post by: StrvnMrvn on June 10, 2013, 05:23:53 PM
Welcome to the clan Bill!

Look forward to hearing of your adventures and mods!

I looked a MDC but went with a GIC and have done a few mods to mine.

Enjoy your stay!
Post by: muzza01 on June 10, 2013, 05:31:35 PM
Welcome to the forum Bill.  How about posting up some pics of your CT and GV for us here.  See you around the forum.
Post by: berlitza on June 10, 2013, 05:33:17 PM
hi bill ,ya need to post up some pics mate  :D
Post by: KingBilly on June 10, 2013, 05:46:37 PM
Welcome Bill.  Look forward to reading of your adventures.

Post by: MDCowners on June 10, 2013, 05:48:17 PM
Hi and thanks for replies,
Still learning how to post photos, waiting till the 13 yr old granddaughter comes to visit to show me how.
Post by: BigJules on June 10, 2013, 06:01:05 PM
G'day & Welcome Bill
Post by: Rob C on June 11, 2013, 09:17:32 PM
Welcome Bill,

Well done on the CT purchase.
Looks like you are out there camping and getting the use out of it.
Might catch up out there somewhere in the great SEQ.
waiting for the Pics.

Post by: speedhump on June 12, 2013, 07:56:39 AM
Welcome Bill,
Speedhump
Post by: redrocker on June 15, 2013, 07:33:50 PM
Welcome Bill
hope u enjoy the made house it all good fun plenty of reading

Redrocker
Post by: Snow on June 16, 2013, 12:06:02 AM
G'day Bill and welcome to Myswag.  :cheers:
Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 16, 2013, 07:17:45 AM
Welcomr to MySwag Bill,best forum going around

Post by: weso on June 16, 2013, 09:35:20 AM
Well done Bill !!
Welcome to the pool come on in the waters fine :cheers:

Post by: Tjupurula on June 18, 2013, 05:18:20 AM
Hi Bill
Welcome to what I rckon is the best Internet Family around.
Post by: speewa158 on June 18, 2013, 06:04:28 AM
Hi Bill
Welcome to what I rckon is the best Internet Family around.
[/quote
                    What he said  ;D ;D ;D    :cheers:
Post by: MDCowners on June 18, 2013, 05:02:26 PM
Thanks to you all and what a great welcome to a great site !!!!  Still trying to get my 70 year old brain to work out how to post photos-----it will happen     many thanks Bill
Post by: billythunder on June 20, 2013, 03:50:53 PM
Suzukis are the go I've got a jimny I'm setting up for touring in future I'm going to get a v6 gv and a bigger offload trailer
Post by: DarWen on June 20, 2013, 05:58:47 PM
Hi Bill, Welcome to myswag.
Post by: nbd73 on June 20, 2013, 06:31:26 PM
Thanks to you all and what a great welcome to a great site !!!!  Still trying to get my 70 year old brain to work out how to post photos-----it will happen     many thanks Bill
Bill, the topic of posting photos has been covered in depth, but put simply the best way is to have them uploaded to a web based share program such as dropbox or photobucket. You can then insert as many photos as you want into a thread simply by cut & pasting the url address for each photo (when on the particular web site you use a simple right click of the mouse will bring up the option to do this) into the topic using the  insert options. The other more cumbersome alternative is to upload photos from your PC or phone, but you are restricted in number & resolution/picture size by doing this as you are actually adding data to the web site as opposed to simply adding a link to where the images are stored.
Post by: kiwi66 on June 28, 2013, 12:06:18 PM
Welcome to the forum MDCowners, you have been having fun getting out there, great to read that, I'm pretty new and love this forum, get heaps of idea's. Cheers Judy
Post by: MDCowners on August 16, 2013, 04:00:01 PM
hi there ,
I have been able to get a little closer to getting my photos on here but I will keep working on it.
bill
Post by: KingBilly on August 16, 2013, 04:13:28 PM
OK Bill. let's see if I can help.  First off, you can either host your photos on a photo hosting site like the myswag gallery or Photobucket or similar.  Then you just post the link to your photo into your post.  There's a button up above the text box under the "Bold Text" button to insert an image.

Or the easiest way is to just attach them to your post.  But your photos need to be small (in kb terms).  So either take them on a low resolution setting or resize them.  I like this free program http://www.irfanview.com/ (http://www.irfanview.com/)  for resizing.  Go to "Image" and "Resize/Resample" then choose "640x480 pixels" which seems to work well for myswag.  OK, last step, under the text box there is "Additional Options".  Click on that and under "Attach" browse to where your photo is located on your computer and attach it.  When you hit "Post", the photos you have attached will be at the bottom of your post.  Max off 5 photos.  If you have more, hit "Reply" and attach them.

Let me know if you need help
Post by: Wezza on August 16, 2013, 04:31:34 PM
I struggled with trying to get photos to work too.

So now I upload to Flickr and then it gives you the option to share using BBcode which I then cut and paste into the email.  The beauty of Flickr is that is gives you the option of what size photo you wish share and adjusts the BBcode accordingly.  The ugly of Flickr is that you probably sign away all of your rights to any of your photos.

Post by: MDCowners on August 16, 2013, 07:17:07 PM
Hi Campers,
Thanks for your ongoing help. I am heading into the Flinders in two weeks so will send in photos and we are camping at Alpana Station so hopefully the flowers will be out.
Regards Bill
Post by: Ynot on August 16, 2013, 11:29:32 PM
Hi Campers,
Thanks for your ongoing help. I am heading into the Flinders in two weeks so will send in photos and we are camping at Alpana Station so hopefully the flowers will be out.
Regards Bill

And a trip report?

Post by: MDCowners on September 08, 2013, 07:07:02 PM
Hi fellow campers,
Travelled to Alpana Station in the Flinders last week and camped in the beautiful ranges for three nights accompanied by lotsa birds kangaroos and emus and a zillion flies which made eating a little difficult but the nights were great and we waited till dark to eat. I would recommend the underground tour at Blinman and the enormous burger at the Blinman pub (a real speciality )  Travelled through the beautiful bunyeroo valley and brachina gorge and as usual at this time of the year the wildflowers were prolific. Packed up the camper early on our last day and travelled through the Parachilna Gorge to meet the marree road and onto Farina. I wanted to take a photo of the remains of the Exchange hotel as my grand uncle was a publican there in the 1930 period for a few years. It is marvellous that the town is slowly being restored and I look forward to being old enough to see more done.
Moved onto Marree for the night and chickened out and booked into the pub as it had risen to 34 degrees and the flies were horrendous but the meal in the Tom Kruse dining room was superb. Next morning we travelled up the Oodnadatta Track and down to Roxby Downs.
The MDC camper behaved beautifully and is still in one piece.   Regards Bill