Author Topic: Nowhere to go and still need a recovery  (Read 3016 times)

Offline OldPaj

Nowhere to go and still need a recovery
« on: September 19, 2020, 07:45:09 PM »
Mowing lawns on our patch (actually on the naturestrip) and had an OOOOPs moment.
Shock, horror I bogged my Greenfields mower in the drainage ditch. Had to get the Pajero out (and the Mrs) and do a recovery. Note the mask! as I was off "my" property!
The neighbour over the road recently had lots of gravel put on his drive. Unfortunately for me, the tip truck wheels had created a ditch in the drain (hidden by grass) which caught water and was super soft. However it probably wouldn't have happened if I went down the slope rather than attempted to go up

Offline Bigpickle

Re: Nowhere to go and still need a recovery
« Reply #1 on: September 19, 2020, 09:53:48 PM »
Terrific stuff ole mate.

The Paj would have been on it's limits, I reckon.

« Reply #2 on: September 20, 2020, 07:36:01 AM »
& did you snatch it out or just pull ???

What is the safe WLL of that rope ???

Did you have it connected to approved recovery points on both vehicles ???

Please explain why is there no Traffic Control in place, when you are clearly blocking the road ???

Did you complete a full Risk Analysis of the planned recovery ???

;D ;D ;D

« Reply #3 on: September 20, 2020, 07:53:58 AM »

Offline loanrangie

« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2020, 06:15:35 PM »
A few weeks back i had to recover my dads D22 from his backyard then winch myself out as well, steep block with lots of slippery mossy crap and wet grass.
MY08 TDV6 SE D3,
2003 Dingo Offroad Camper Trailer.
1974 Kombi microbus
1958 FC special sedan
1998 Triumph Daytona T595

Offline OldPaj

« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2020, 08:31:02 PM »

Please explain why is there no Traffic Control in place, when you are clearly blocking the road ???

1. Just straight tension on rope, no snatch.
2. Yes - Bull bar on mower, approved by me in the circumstances, the towball on the Paj, yes also approved by me.
3. dead end (court) all neighbours out, in fact the last of them just left as I was walking back to the house to get the Mrs and the Paj. he told me this morning that he thought it was hilarious!
4. Yes, many mitigations put in place and residual risk assessed as minimal.

And yes, Bigpickle, the Paj was struggling a bit and was barely able to pull it out of the bog. But I think that was the wife's driving technique causing the issue.

;D ;D ;D
The following users thanked this post: Fizzie

« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2020, 08:40:41 PM »

;D ;D ;D
And the oh&s forms, licences, council permits to block the road, did you notify the council asset protection officer of the damage ?

« Reply #7 on: September 21, 2020, 07:00:05 AM »
he towball on the Paj,

You pulled it out using the towball!!! :o :o :o

>:D

« Reply #8 on: September 21, 2020, 08:15:45 AM »
Geez, that's dangerous! At least I used a snatchy for the ride-on recovery! :D

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #9 on: September 21, 2020, 09:23:15 AM »
Hahaha

I've used the winch on my wagon for more ride on recoveries than anything else ;)
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

« Reply #10 on: September 21, 2020, 10:20:39 AM »
My BiL used the winch (on his Pajero!) for real for the first time last year - pulling tree stumps out of his garden! ::) ;D

« Reply #11 on: September 21, 2020, 01:53:11 PM »
    And with a bit of cunning and a snatch block or two, they can go straight out of the garden into the trailer.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Offline Humphreythebear

« Reply #12 on: September 21, 2020, 03:07:09 PM »
No diff Locks on the Greenfield ?

I had one - the best little mower ! ( bought it to use Commercially and to replace my Rover Rancher )

I still have the  Rover Rancher ( 5speed ) now - its coming up to 22 yrs old - still cuts like a champion
Outback Sturt , Holden SS Ute and a MTB for the Rough Stuff

Offline OldPaj

« Reply #13 on: September 21, 2020, 10:19:07 PM »
No diff Locks on the Greenfield ?

I had one - the best little mower ! ( bought it to use Commercially and to replace my Rover Rancher )

I still have the  Rover Rancher ( 5speed ) now - its coming up to 22 yrs old - still cuts like a champion

Yes, and diff was locked, as our little property (6 acres) is somewhat uneven, however both wheels were bogged, so the mower just sat there spinning them both.
The following users thanked this post: Humphreythebear

« Reply #14 on: September 23, 2020, 09:01:48 PM »
We have a block(2 acres), on the lower side of a few houses, when it rains for a few days the grounds becomes a 2in sludge.
I have been bogged on the Cox Cruz(zero turn) many times.
To the neighbours chuckles, I have had to use the 80 to drag it to dryier ground.
It happens :)

Offline McTavish

« Reply #15 on: September 23, 2020, 10:02:19 PM »
Rated recovery points I presume??

:)
Vacation Camper & McTavish surfboard - what more does a guy need??