Author Topic: Just thinking out a loud. ITS ON, IT'S GUNNA HAPPEN  (Read 8892 times)

Re: Just thinking out a loud on this one.
« Reply #25 on: May 16, 2018, 12:41:19 PM »
finally sounding like an interesting event :D

Settle down there boof-head..... all of my events are interesting.  8)  ;D

This will be a goer I reckon and if goes off ok, we might do a camp out thing at Easter and a Xmas in July.

Just hold 3 events per year......I was always taught to share....(always been popular at Swingers Parties too)  this is a good way to share as well.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2018, 12:57:23 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #26 on: May 17, 2018, 03:27:16 PM »
Yep I'll be there Jeepers.

« Reply #27 on: May 18, 2018, 03:14:51 PM »
Plenty of this.

And a bigger one of these... we've got firewood to burn,,, so to speak.  ;D

I'll have the 5 burner big boy running all week.... not a little bugger like this.

« Last Edit: May 18, 2018, 03:16:52 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #28 on: May 18, 2018, 07:31:17 PM »
So is this how you do "camping" when you have sold your camper and van  ;D in all seriousness though, good on you for throwing your place open, we will probably be heading 1000kms in the other direction though.

« Reply #29 on: May 19, 2018, 11:21:05 AM »
Can't wait will be good. 

« Reply #30 on: May 21, 2018, 03:07:43 PM »
A bit more thought on this to add....

Seeing as its very likely we'll have folks on Xmas day, i'm sure we can round up (Steal) some long tables etc and have a whizz bang Xmas lunch or Dinner.
OH, Norwegians (the wife) celebrate Xmas on Xmas eve, so that'll be the two ops for a good ol feed.

Hmmm, maybe a slap up full blown Xmas dinner on the eve and the same again for lunch the next day.

As you've already guessed, i'm thinking about this as I type.

We can bake a Shit load of roast potato's, pumpkin and that sort of crap, mix that in with turkey, chicken, ham, bacon (gotta have bacon) and maybe a solid chunk of steak for the vegetarians.

AS we get close, we can allocate different swaggers to supply different meats... or sweets... or whatever the fuk they want to bring.
I'll even supply the goofy friggin party hat things.

Make no mistake, this can go ahead rain or shine.
Even if it pisses down rain, we have a 7 metre x 15 metre shed we can set up in for the major meal times and by then, the new carport (5 metres x 8 metres) and four post hoist will be installed.
We could use the ramps on the hoist as tables.  :D

Even if we go into drought conditions prior to Xmas, we'll get a huge delivery of water and get it dumped in the dam.
That way, i can run the sprinklers over the camping areas so everyone will park up on green grass.
WE do hold 40,000 litres (tanks) of drinking water on site, so plenty for everyone.

Kids will be able to bring pushbikes and dogs can be bought as well, as long as they socialize ok with others and you pick up their turds.

As I've mentioned earlier on, we could have a very good Boxing Day Test for the ashes.
That will be an "all in" game including the girls, the kids, the works.

Add the food consumed the day before, the beers consumed on the day in the hot sun..... man, gunna be some sore heads coming up.

By the time this happens, we'll have a tenant in the granny flat well and truly, so to not upset them too much, I'll invite them to join us.
The flat is on the other side of the property, so the noise should be bearable for them.

At worse, I could always reduce their rent by a 2 or 3 dollars for the week I suppose for the inconvenience.
I tell ya, i reckon, this will be bigger than Ben Hur and will rival a National Meet..... or be a monumental failure.

Have I missed anything?

« Last Edit: May 21, 2018, 03:13:25 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #31 on: May 21, 2018, 04:16:12 PM »

Have I missed anything?

Give the tenants a free week, they can be the wait staff, one food, one drinks. :cheers:

« Reply #32 on: May 21, 2018, 04:33:07 PM »
Nup, the ol girl and I will do the wait staff bit.

She works at the Marina Bar and Grill here, so she pretty good at it too. (Me, not so much)

Offline KeithB

« Reply #33 on: May 21, 2018, 04:38:40 PM »
Jeepers, just a thought and I don't mean to sound negative because this is a wonderful and generous idea of yours.

But if one of the campers is seriously injured and their lawyer tells them that as the property owner, it's down to you, will your insurance cover you? If you are collecting to cover the cost of dunny hire, it may look to like a commercial enterprise to the law degree-clad, ambulance-chasing pinstriped scum.

You may have to notify your insurer to make sure you're covered. Such is the litigious world we live in.

Keith
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

« Reply #34 on: May 21, 2018, 04:49:47 PM »
Nah, no drama..... ITS FREE CAMPING, but if the said campers gave me, say, a Xmas gift of a little bit of cash, then what I do with it is up to me.

I might then choose, to give the previously mentioned campers the gift of a portable crapper to empty their bowels in. (The gift that just keeps giving)

Besides, I'd like to think, no-one on here would do that.

« Reply #35 on: May 22, 2018, 08:02:42 AM »
Besides, I'd like to think, no-one on here would do that.

I'd like to think that as well, but unfortunately, Keith may be right :'(

I know of one case where someone was doing volunteer work, had a bad accident resulting in permanent injuries & their family sued the volunteer group involved to cover the cost of medical treatment & ongoing care :'(

Might be worth talking to someone who runs a YouCamp property to see how they cover things ???

Offline KeithB

« Reply #36 on: May 22, 2018, 03:17:45 PM »
Jeepers, if you have a household policy when you move in, the public risk part of it should cover you. But it would be wise to check with your insurer. It may not be an issue at all. But if someone was seriously injured or disabled or worse, the injured party may have no option but to go after you.
200 Series 2008, bull bar, Airmax snorkel,rack with 200 watt solar, third battery, winch, 33's with 2 spares, long range tank, drawers & barrier, bash plates, lifted & locked, Richards transmission lockup plus plenty of dings. Now towing the new Off Road Glamper.

« Reply #37 on: May 23, 2018, 06:55:02 AM »
I have a different view. This is different to a volunteer doing work with a volunteer group as that is classed as work so the WHS laws apply.

This is no different to having a group of friends come over for a BBQ etc. The only way that I could see that there would be an issue is if the property owner (or person in control) did something deliberate to cause harm which then leads down a different path (legally speaking). I have never heard of anyone suing for something (much less winning anything) in regards to a private event / gathering. Am interested if anyone actually knows of this occurring

Rod

« Reply #38 on: May 23, 2018, 01:57:00 PM »
I think we'll be fine Rod.

I have no doubt, some one has tried it on at some point in time, but we have very good insurance etc, so I think it will go off ok.

Offline KeithB

« Reply #39 on: May 23, 2018, 03:07:19 PM »
I just did a bit of searching and it seems that an injured person has to prove that you were somehow negligent for the accident to happen. Here are some intersting case studies:
https://stacksgoudkamp.com.au/compensation/public-liability/case-studies/
Jeepers if you have decent home insurance I think you should be fine. If that opinion turns out to be wrong, please don't sue me.
Keith

« Reply #40 on: May 23, 2018, 03:45:26 PM »
Can run it by a very good litigation lawyer if ya like. Her hubby is my workmate.

« Reply #41 on: May 23, 2018, 03:57:22 PM »
Talk about bringing down a very generous offer by JC to open up his place for everyone to enjoy, why must we always look at the negatives in things.
I know what will happen now, people will jump on me and say that he has to cover his arse, well that's up to him, if he wants to have people over and run the risk so be it.
We all insure for one thing or the other but I sure as hell don't check my policy when I'm organising a bbq or have someone stay over or people visit
Take it for what it is, a generous offer of a good time amongst friends.
Jeepers I hope it is a wonderful success.
The following users thanked this post: Jeepers Creepers, Spada

« Reply #42 on: May 23, 2018, 04:26:31 PM »
It will work out..... just fine....  ;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P0WJqwiOAhc

Offline KeithB

« Reply #43 on: May 23, 2018, 04:35:18 PM »
X2 on the wonderful success.

« Reply #44 on: May 23, 2018, 04:41:05 PM »
(or person in control)

Rod
It’s a myswag get together, there will be no control...
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #45 on: May 23, 2018, 06:38:47 PM »
Just don't let anyone named "Murphy" on the property  ;D

« Reply #46 on: May 23, 2018, 06:59:15 PM »
Just don't let anyone named "Murphy" on the property  ;D

Or his mate O'Toole.

« Reply #47 on: July 12, 2018, 06:16:06 AM »
OK, its gunna happen......

If you want to attend, go to the trips etc section and ad ya name and how many you have coming

The wife and I will try really hard to make this a good thing.
Doesn't mean it will be, i could end up the biggest stuff since the beginning of time.  ;D

Either way, it'll be a week to remember.  :cheers:

Re: Just thinking out a loud. ITS ON, IT'S GUNNA HAPPEN
« Reply #48 on: July 12, 2018, 06:58:31 AM »
Hi JC, Thanks for the invite very generous offer, I do not know what my mob and I are up to, but if we are in the area when this is on, will see if we can drop in for a meet and greet and take it from there, Gee most people i know go the other way retire off the land and move to Rainbow or Tin Can to go crabbing and fishing, Mind you the flaming sand flies are buggers at Tin Can, Would be keen on a tagalong MS drive around the area on nice tracks but not hard core 4wd tracks as a ex farmer that has owner bull dozers and 4wd tractors and farmed on very steep country wrecking tires just for fun is not my thing,  Craig
« Last Edit: July 12, 2018, 07:07:03 AM by Craig Tomkinson »