Author Topic: Cape York - Do I need to take spare Leaf Springs for the Trailer?  (Read 3038 times)

Offline Beachman

• Hard Top Camper User
Hi All,

Later this year we are doing Cape York and taking our Camper Trailer and I’ve received conflicting advice on Trailer Springs. One guy I spoke to broke both his springs while another towed his trailer to the Cape a couple of times without issue.

We have a 9 year old locally made good quality Soft Floor Camper and to date I’ve never had any issues. Also all up I estimate it will weight around 750kgs fully loaded.

I’ve measured the springs and they are Eye to Eye, 5 Leaf, 680 long, 60mm wide and while I’m no expert of springs, but from what I’ve read on the internet these seem heavy duty. I also know this isn’t a common size. Seeing the trailer is light, it doesn’t have shocks.

Just after any feedback as conscious that if I carried every single spare part for the Car/Trailer it’s going to add some serious weight, but also if I do break a spring it’s going to be painful.

Thanks

Offline plusnq

• Hard Top Camper User
Re: Cape York - Do I need to take spare Leaf Springs for the Trailer?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2018, 10:47:24 AM »
We towed our Ultimate Camper in 2016. The corrugations can be bad and certainly will shake anything loose that it can. We saw a lot of broken trailers on our trip. I would be certain the trailer is suitable for this type of trip before committing to taking it.

There is a limit to what you can carry before all the extra spare parts become a liability in themselves due to weight. I would recommend making sure everything is in good order on your vehicles. If you think the trailer is suitable but are concerned about the springs, replace them before your trip. Perform regular maintenance checks on your trip and you should be ok.

Cheers

Offline Johnnos3003

• Soft Floor Camper User
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2018, 11:16:38 AM »