Author Topic: Fishing licence ?? WTF is this real surely not  (Read 13641 times)

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
Re: Fishing licence ?? WTF is this real surely not
« Reply #25 on: April 06, 2013, 07:37:31 AM »
Look at this from where I sit anyone here in qld can go fishing anytime without the need for this licence.

You do need a fishing licence to fish stocked impoundments in QLD. Have done for years.

« Last Edit: April 06, 2013, 07:50:10 AM by Jason B »

Offline rockygu4.8

« Reply #26 on: April 06, 2013, 07:41:09 AM »
You do need a fishing licence to fish stocked impoundments in QLD. Have dove for years.

thanks Jason I am referring to chucking a rod in down the beach or off the local jetty purely talking recreational fishing here

4.8 litre Gu Patrol
2006 Goldstream Storm
2010 Armadilo Arma X

« Reply #27 on: April 06, 2013, 07:42:09 AM »
l just dont understand l have a Vic fishing licence & still cant catch fish  >:D   :cheers: but l will monitor the water as l slip another coldie down  :cheers:
maybe you need to do a Dundee and get the gelignite out  >:D

« Reply #28 on: April 06, 2013, 07:46:04 AM »
maybe you need to do a Dundee and get the gelignite out  >:D

Don't encourage him.............

Offline Jason B

« Reply #29 on: April 06, 2013, 07:49:34 AM »
thanks Jason I am referring to chucking a rod in down the beach or off the local jetty purely talking recreational fishing here

Cool, I am referring to recreational fishing also, on the inland QLD have a permit system so they can raise funds to keep the impoundments stocked, so you must pay for access.

« Reply #30 on: April 06, 2013, 10:18:07 AM »
I grew up in NSW and remember dad having one.

IIRC there was a NSW fishing licence for fresh water many years ago? This was removed long before the overall fishing licence was introduced in 98 which included Salt water.

Initially I was sceptical but having seen that the money has only gone back into the sport I thinks it's great. My only gripe is an admin one. As a holder of a boat licence or boat Rego, wtf can't I pay And have it on my boat licence? Or better still hold a fishing license for my vessel?  Then when my mate comes over from SA or a visitor from O/S I don't have to stuff around getting them 3 day license etc.

Offline Crisp Image

• Old enough to know better. Young enough to do it again!
« Reply #31 on: April 06, 2013, 11:19:55 AM »
l just dont understand l have a Vic fishing licence & still cant catch fish  >:D   :cheers: but l will monitor the water as l slip another coldie down  :cheers:
That is because the border is on the victorian bank of the river. The river is in NSW.
Enjou your  :cheers:
Crispy

2008 Outback Sturt, 2010 Prado 150 D4D Tug

« Reply #32 on: April 06, 2013, 11:31:57 AM »
A licence to fish........hmmmm.

those who have time to fish and DONT have to pay.......... under 18 years.  ::)
                                                                                        Aboriginal people.  ::)
                                                                                        Seniors citizens. ::)

those who Dont (once in a blue moon anyway) have time to fish and DO have to pay............the poor bloke who works all week and just likes to relax on the river bank and wet a line. :(

NSW- The Revenue State.    >:(
« Last Edit: April 06, 2013, 11:33:41 AM by MarkGU »

Offline deepop

• Living the dream.
« Reply #33 on: April 06, 2013, 11:39:35 AM »
That is because the border is on the victorian bank of the river. The river is in NSW.
Enjou your  :cheers:
Crispy
Actually CI I believe he's suggesting that the fish aren't aware he has a fishing licence and so don't realise they're supposed to be jumping on his hook.   Something along the lines of 'still can't catch fish' and not 'still can't go fishing'.
Manual petrol 105 series 'cruiser.
Aust. trailers semi off road trailer with Southern Cross Canvas tent, water, gas, kitchen and other stuff.

« Reply #34 on: April 06, 2013, 12:06:49 PM »
To check if you need a fishing licence in Queensland go to http://www.daff.qld.gov.au/28_12990.htm

« Last Edit: April 06, 2013, 12:09:24 PM by KingBilly »

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #35 on: April 06, 2013, 12:18:20 PM »

I can tell you I have nearly had a fusty cuff with some indigenous Australians up north where by I have measured a fish as undersized and was requested / told to hand it over . Upon advising it was undersized I was informed that thoses fisheries rules do not apply to certain Australians .

I refused to hand the fish over and promptly returned it to the water , when the next fish came to the bank I had 3 people attend to my fishing line and remove my fish. I small heated scuffle took place and my my undersized fish was taken away .

My mate who is far less diplomatic than me and super passionate about fisheries , decided that the next fish would be going back in the water regardless of size. He stood at waters edge with fillet knife in hand , I have no doubt he would have used it and not to fillet the fish , the persons moved on to the next law abiding people and bullied thier way to few more undersized fish and then went on their merry way. No fishing required just abuse your birthright.

Now the fine for having an undersized fish in Qld can be huge , so tell me how this system is fair.

Fish are fish , undersized is undersized , no matter who you are or where you come from.  Maybe one day the govt will get serious about protection .

I will say that I fish in yamba each year and the boat ramps are awesome , I always  see fisheries patrols out and about doing checks . So I am happy to pay the licence . I would pay it in qld if the funds went towards  pure enforcement . We have enough laws to protect our fishery just not enough bite to enforce them.

Give our fisheries officers wider enforcement powers and the judicial support they need then our fisheries will flourish , not more scientists and more studies. And for those who blame commercials for everything , the recreational fishers can do horrendous damage to a fishery as well. I have had a few discussions on jetties after looking in buckets.

In the US the rangers / fishos etc have massive enforcement powers and use them . We need to get serious about our wildlife.

Rant over  ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline Ynot

• Tony. Prado 150 GXL, Coromal 632RTP
« Reply #36 on: April 06, 2013, 12:20:27 PM »
I dont mind paying it as it is quite small amount but i fish both northern nsw wales and god's country and i dont see any more value for the licence fee than what we get for free!

Sent from my Vox using Tapatalk 2

How is education supposed to make me feel smarter? Besides, every time I learn something new, it pushes some old stuff out of my brain. Remember when I took that home winemaking course, and I forgot how to drive?  (Homer J Simpson).

Offline Roo

• Is hitting the road Jack.
« Reply #37 on: April 06, 2013, 12:21:28 PM »

NSW- The Revenue State.    >:(

License fees do not go into general revenue. It is held in trust and used solely to benefit recreational fisheries and fishers. What would be the alternative? Slug the taxpayer? Not very fair if you don't fish.

Rockygu, I used to see a lot of non compliance in my region, tweed river, as QLD anglers would slip over the border to fish here and bring certain equipment not legal to use in NSW. I'd commonly see cast nets used to gather bait around the bridge pylons. The introduction of the license scheme has in some part improved this situation as once QLD anglers realized they needed a license some decided they should check rules too. You can imagine the incredulous response from someone used to using cast nets when advised that just over the border they face heavy penalties for using such equipment. Bag limits and protected species was another ripper I'd see. A nice bag of estuary cod in QLD is a good day out, NSW its totally protected.

So rules is rules, check em, get a license and enjoy your trip. As much as I appreciate fisheries inspectors and the work they do, you don't want to be caught short on the wrong side of the line. Same deal for me when I head north of the border.
[insert witty comment]

« Reply #38 on: April 06, 2013, 12:24:52 PM »
I find it funny people will happily spend $20 on a lure and inevitably lose it and whinge about paying $20 for a fishing license that lasts a whole year :)

Offline Roo

• Is hitting the road Jack.
« Reply #39 on: April 06, 2013, 12:25:11 PM »
I dont mind paying it as it is quite small amount but i fish both northern nsw wales and god's country and i dont see any more value for the licence fee than what we get for free!

Sent from my Vox using Tapatalk 2

Its not free.....all taxpayers pay. Not a user pays system. And to be fair, SE QLD has some great facilities but also has the majority if the states population too. I imagine it is similar in Sydney.
[insert witty comment]

« Reply #40 on: April 06, 2013, 12:27:53 PM »
I find it funny people will happily spend $20 on a lure and inevitably lose it and whinge about paying $20 for a fishing license that lasts a whole year :)
you loose $20 lures?

ya need to spend $20 on fishing lessons mate  8)

bring ya rod and cold beers up this way and we' learn ya  ;D

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #41 on: April 06, 2013, 12:33:24 PM »
Shhhhhhhhh. Lures are only $4.99 at latest that's what the wife thinks ;D ;D ;D

Jet :cheers:
RV POWER SOLUTIONS

« Reply #42 on: April 06, 2013, 12:34:24 PM »
Shhhhhhhhh. Lures are only $4.99 at latest that's what the wife thinks ;D ;D ;D

Jet :cheers:
Theo........Bullfrogs mate Ruffy keeps him in fishing tackle.maybe you could get yours from him also?

« Reply #43 on: April 06, 2013, 12:50:21 PM »
I can tell you I have nearly had a fusty cuff with some indigenous Australians up north where by I have measured a fish as undersized and was requested / told to hand it over . Upon advising it was undersized I was informed that thoses fisheries rules do not apply to certain Australians .

I refused to hand the fish over and promptly returned it to the water , when the next fish came to the bank I had 3 people attend to my fishing line and remove my fish. I small heated scuffle took place and my my undersized fish was taken away .

My mate who is far less diplomatic than me and super passionate about fisheries , decided that the next fish would be going back in the water regardless of size. He stood at waters edge with fillet knife in hand , I have no doubt he would have used it and not to fillet the fish , the persons moved on to the next law abiding people and bullied thier way to few more undersized fish and then went on their merry way. No fishing required just abuse your birthright.

Now the fine for having an undersized fish in Qld can be huge , so tell me how this system is fair.

Fish are fish , undersized is undersized , no matter who you are or where you come from.  Maybe one day the govt will get serious about protection .

I will say that I fish in yamba each year and the boat ramps are awesome , I always  see fisheries patrols out and about doing checks . So I am happy to pay the licence . I would pay it in qld if the funds went towards  pure enforcement . We have enough laws to protect our fishery just not enough bite to enforce them.

Give our fisheries officers wider enforcement powers and the judicial support they need then our fisheries will flourish , not more scientists and more studies. And for those who blame commercials for everything , the recreational fishers can do horrendous damage to a fishery as well. I have had a few discussions on jetties after looking in buckets.

In the US the rangers / fishos etc have massive enforcement powers and use them . We need to get serious about our wildlife.

Rant over  ;D ;D

We see that to Jet. The lot up here do have some limits though but still try getting away worth it. They have started to harden up them now and we often see the rangers down on Cable Beach and surrounds. I've even seen them turn around a bugger off once they spotted the ranger  >:(

Sort of sick of the "special" treatment, not to be confused with racism  8)

« Reply #44 on: April 06, 2013, 12:58:47 PM »

those who have time to fish and DONT have to pay.......... under 18 years.  ::)
                                                                                        Aboriginal people.  ::)
                                                                                        Seniors citizens. ::)

those who Dont (once in a blue moon anyway) have time to fish and DO have to pay... the poor bloke who works all week and just likes to relax on the river bank and wet a line. :(
I have no issue with the U18 bit. Kids wanna go fishing, gets them out of the house, and away from xbox, then ****in WOOHOOO..

But why #2 doesn't have to pay Shits me.

Offline Jason B

« Reply #45 on: April 06, 2013, 01:05:37 PM »

Rant over  ;D ;D

Interesting scenario Jet

Sound like they were just thugs mate conning a feed.

In NSW the same rules apply to indigenous people as they do to you and I. Same size limits etc. There are some exceptions for collecting under a permit for traditional cultural events. The indigenous don't need a licence to fish, however this is in line with fisheries policy around the world.

There is a fair bit of miss information out there that indigenous people (NSW I am referring too) can use gill nets, drum nets etc etc. This is not the case at all and if you see anyone using this equipment report them and we will do our best to nab them.

Like your mate, if I was fishing and this occurred I would have done my best to do some damage with a shovel. I am more than happy to give anyone a feed (give most of my fish away to the neighbours) but not under those circumstances.

The NSW licence directly funds 6 fisheries officer positions on the inland (3 of my staff). It pays for compliance of the recreational fishing havens along the coast and made these possible by supplying the funds to buy the commercial out of those rivers.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
« Reply #46 on: April 06, 2013, 01:18:07 PM »
Jas,

It was funny afterwards as my mate is a little loose , when I said to him that I thought his idea of using the knife to cut the line before the fish got to the bank was top shelf thinking.

Imagine my surprise when he said " oh i never thought of that I suppose that would have worked too"

Loose as  ;D :D but a great boat partner for 3 weeks straight kind of bloke who would jump on croc if it had you by the leg. But not a good partner to take to the pub to watch the footy if you get my drift. ;D

Jet ;D

RV POWER SOLUTIONS

Offline Jason B

« Reply #47 on: April 06, 2013, 01:23:22 PM »
Jas,

It was funny afterwards as my mate is a little loose , when I said to him that I thought his idea of using the knife to cut the line before the fish got to the bank was top shelf thinking.

Imagine my surprise when he said " oh i never thought of that I suppose that would have worked too"

Loose as  ;D :D but a great boat partner for 3 weeks straight kind of bloke who would jump on croc if it had you by the leg. But not a good partner to take to the pub to watch the footy if you get my drift. ;D

Jet ;D

Lol sounds like a magnet to random violence. I have a couple of mates similar, great blokes and awesome company, but we manage their environment so there isn't any issues.

« Reply #48 on: April 06, 2013, 01:33:37 PM »

Lol sounds like a magnet to random violence. I have a couple of mates similar, great blokes and awesome company, but we manage their environment so there isn't any issues.

you have mates ?  ;D

well bugga me  :-*

Offline Jason B

« Reply #49 on: April 06, 2013, 01:45:10 PM »
Yes MG.

Pass on the buggering Mr. You look like you were well and truly buggered in that FB photo  ;D should we post that on here too  :angel:

You are a very attractive special in a bra and skirt!   :-*