Author Topic: Removing diesel smell  (Read 12452 times)

Offline DX grunt

Removing diesel smell
« on: May 28, 2011, 06:00:43 PM »
Ever been 'spat at' when your filling your diesel tank, or acquired half a cup of diesel on your hand from a dodgy pump?

Me too.

How do you get rid of that diesel smell?

Nissan Patrol ute - ex Telstra - pod has heaps of 'glamping equipment', but not enough to be overloaded.

Re: Removing diesel smell
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2011, 06:02:13 PM »
we carry some of those moist towelletes like the ones you use on babies bums........they work a treat for that  :cup:

Offline DX grunt

« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2011, 06:05:06 PM »
we carry some of those moist towelletes like the ones you use on babies bums........they work a treat for that  :cup:

Thanks.  It really stinks, hey!!!
Nissan Patrol ute - ex Telstra - pod has heaps of 'glamping equipment', but not enough to be overloaded.

« Reply #3 on: May 28, 2011, 06:06:05 PM »
Thanks.  It really stinks, hey!!!
yeah it does.......just make sure the babies bum hasn't been in it 1st  :cup:

« Reply #4 on: May 28, 2011, 06:07:25 PM »
I use a glove

« Reply #5 on: May 28, 2011, 06:10:03 PM »
I use a glove
we dont want to know what you do with one glove D4D  :-*

Offline Brisan

« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2011, 06:11:37 PM »
Petrol will was it off ;D

« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2011, 06:12:25 PM »
we dont want to know what you do with one glove D4D  :-*

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2011, 06:16:26 PM »
A real 4wder licks it off  ;D

« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2011, 06:16:37 PM »

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #10 on: May 28, 2011, 06:41:16 PM »
Ever been 'spat at' when your filling your diesel tank, or acquired half a cup of diesel on your hand from a dodgy pump?

Me too.

How do you get rid of that diesel smell?

so rossco. now the truth comes out as to why you spent so much money on diesel today.... :D
Jon

CRD TD42TI Patrol - Ultimate Xtrk TBD

« Reply #11 on: May 28, 2011, 07:09:59 PM »
A real 4wder licks it off  ;D

A real 4wder lights his hand and burns it off...... 8)

Offline shrek4

• Lifestyle AT12 & 2020 Nissan Patrol Ti-L
« Reply #12 on: May 28, 2011, 07:21:25 PM »
A real 4wder lights his hand and burns it off...... 8)

You forgot to add that a real 4wder would then post pics on myswag for others to criticize and argue the merits of the flame heat intensity, level of burning on the hand and then quote copious amounts of technical information from questionable sources about the 'dance' one does when their hand is on fire. Sooner or later a mod shuts the thread down because the pissing contest gets out of hand.

Isn't that how it's done around these parts?

Ps. Not directed at anyone here just getting a wee bit fed up of the tone of threads lately.

Ok I'm off my soapbox now.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2011, 07:23:05 PM by shrek4 »

Offline shrek4

« Reply #13 on: May 28, 2011, 07:30:30 PM »
Ok, in an attempt to be constructive to the thread so far,

I've use a hand wash which you can get in a tube (like toothpaste) which you can use under the tap at the servo. The hand wash has lots of 'bits' in it and is very gritty and smelly. Does a good enough job.

Further to that, my Diesel Hyundai iX35 soft roader came with a box of disposable gloves for this very reason. I personally don't use them but could imagine many would.

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #14 on: May 28, 2011, 07:41:58 PM »
my Diesel Hyundai iX35

OT - but how is the little ix35? I had a Santa Fe before my trol and liked it (for what it was) before it started with its turbo blowing obsession
Jon

« Reply #15 on: May 28, 2011, 07:42:21 PM »
You forgot to add that a real 4wder would then post pics on myswag for others to criticize and argue the merits of the flame heat intensity, level of burning on the hand and then quote copious amounts of technical information from questionable sources about the 'dance' one does when their hand is on fire. Sooner or later a mod shuts the thread down because the pissing contest gets out of hand.

Isn't that how it's done around these parts?

Ps. Not directed at anyone here just getting a wee bit fed up of the tone of threads lately.
Ok I'm off my soapbox now.

You forgot all the people telling you its unsafe, immoral or unholy. Then you would get all the people who would tell you that while in the emergency service they attended many hand lighting's....

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #16 on: May 28, 2011, 07:44:52 PM »
You forgot all the people telling you its unsafe, immoral or unholy. Then you would get all the people who would tell you that while in the emergency service they attended many hand lighting's....

and the ones who used to do 100,000Volt hand lighting, so that's far more relevant than the people who can tell you about practical day to day 12/24V hand lighting
Jon

Offline DX grunt

« Reply #17 on: May 28, 2011, 07:45:39 PM »
OT - but how is the little ix35? I had a Santa Fe before my trol and liked it (for what it was) before it started with its turbo blowing obsession

OI, Jon

Hyjack your own thread.  lol.  

PS.  I soaked up the diesel I spilt and put it in a clipseal bag so it doesn't
evaporate.  I'll wring it out when I need it.  lol

« Reply #18 on: May 28, 2011, 07:47:38 PM »
I usually have some Dettol hand sanitiser handy to rub onto my hands after each fill up to remove any unwanted germs, and then rub in a little Vaseline Intensive Care Coconut oil, which then softens up the skin and removes the smell of the diesel.  Nothing worse when you're trying to drink your take-away frappe-latte and the smell of diesel wafts off yours hands, and interrupts the aroma of the coffee beans.
« Last Edit: May 28, 2011, 07:56:46 PM by Gunna Do »

Offline shrek4

« Reply #19 on: May 28, 2011, 07:51:04 PM »

I've lost count of the number of people who've commented positively on the car. I personally love it. I know it's not a 4WD but for a soft road AWD it has excellent power with the torque of the diesel and economy. It handles well and has plenty of room. Is great value for money compared to a number of other brands I'd considered.

It handled the towing of the CT for our first run with it at Easter with no issues, plenty of power to spare and great economy.

Sorry for the OT, but I was asked......

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #20 on: May 28, 2011, 07:52:47 PM »
I discovered Chai Lattes the other day. Fair dinkum cinnamon donut in a cup!

Offline theflyingbadger

« Reply #21 on: May 28, 2011, 07:54:32 PM »
Sorry for the OT, but I was asked......

don't worry about it. Ross is the king of , so it's good to get him back a little bit :)
Jon

« Reply #22 on: May 28, 2011, 07:55:16 PM »
I discovered Chai Lattes the other day. Fair dinkum cinnamon donut in a cup!

Hey Dan... Every one else was joking???

Offline Brisan

« Reply #23 on: May 28, 2011, 07:56:36 PM »
When I was in the Emergency Brigade we used a Hyundai ix35 for underwater recovery and my hands were always on fire...........

Sorry 

« Reply #24 on: May 28, 2011, 07:57:49 PM »