Author Topic: EMG taking over Overlander Mag  (Read 5856 times)

Offline hookedon4wding

• My Videos
EMG taking over Overlander Mag
« on: May 27, 2011, 01:43:36 PM »
Not sure if this has been posted about before but I recently received a PM on the Overlander forum requesting a pic of my old Pajero.

According to the bloke who requested it, EMG (aka 4WD Action's publisher) is taking over the Overlander Magazine as well.

Gotta say, I'll be very disappointed if they change the magazine too much. I've recently cancelled my 4wd Action subscription and purchased an Overlander one which I enjoy a lot more.

For me, 4wd Action (and all of their offshoots) has too many ads, paid 'reviews', repeated 'comparos' and  too much of a preference for old 4wds. The travel stories, coming mainly from 'mum and dad' authors are also declining in editorial quality.

Please EMG, don't change Overlander to mimic your other 4wd mags!

Re: EMG taking over Overlander Mag
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2011, 01:45:39 PM »

« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2011, 02:09:45 PM »
http://forums.overlander.com.au/viewtopic.php?t=70298
possibly something in this thread

By the sounds of this, it will just be another 4wd action
"Dave here, I work for Express Media Group and I am part of the team that have been given the exciting opportunity of getting Overlander running successfully from our headquarters.

I can confirm that Overlander will not be 'killed off', its a good quality title that deserves the same kind of attention that 4WD Action has received allowing it to grow substantially in the last few years. Under the EMG banner Overlander will receive this attention. "

Offline hookedon4wding

• My Videos
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2011, 02:19:40 PM »
That'd be disappointing.  >:(

They all need to take a leaf out of Carlisle Roger's book. Camper Trailer Australia is by far the best quality, most unbiased and refreshing magazine on the market in this niche. Carlisle's writing in particular is excellent!

« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2011, 02:28:56 PM »
I only buy Bushdriver

« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2011, 02:30:21 PM »
I only buy Bushdriver
if only we could.

« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2011, 02:48:03 PM »
I only buy Bushdriver

Where from?, that hasn't been on the shelves for years.

« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2011, 02:58:38 PM »

My Tercell has a Flux Capacitor.

« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2011, 04:29:52 PM »

AND Will that work on my Patrol?? ;D

« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2011, 04:31:31 PM »
I thought you were a Hiclone guy?

« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2011, 04:54:49 PM »
I stopped buying 'ARB Action' years ago.

I used to amazed at how the badge engineered ARB fridge could beat an Engel in a comparaison carried out at ARB's test facility!

Why don't you just change the dates on your old copies?

A lot safer than trying to get a Tercell up to 88 miles an hour!

« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2011, 05:20:30 PM »
I only buy Bushdriver

My old lady picked up about 15 copies from the OP shop a month or two back, I have read a few of them, some great high country trips too,

60 seires and 4 Runners were the features.

Track closures also talked about

« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2011, 05:25:07 PM »
The firs bushdriver i got was when i was about 8. It had a test on a Chevy c20 ute at jillaby motorcross track and a story on how to fit aeon rubber springs to a 45. Imaging the important stuff in my head thats not there because i remember that ???
« Last Edit: May 27, 2011, 05:30:44 PM by darren »

Offline Finners

• Sampling perfect tracks - racetrack or 4WD!
« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2011, 05:41:03 PM »
Dave from EMG told me that Overlander had gone "too soft-roader". They're planning to have the title focus on capable "newer" trucks (aka IFS), including modded ones. i.e. They'd bring reader's IFS rigs to Overlander. But no more Ford Territory AWD or Audi Q7.

4WD Action further narrows its' niche focus on modded solid axle trucks - you'll never see a Prado in it again.

Agree re earlier point on the 2 Camper mags - chalk'n'cheese in terms of quality journalism.
2012 Complete Campsite Fraser hard floor | 2012 Ford Ranger dual cab XLT 3.2 manual + too many mods - including nut behind wheel ;p

Offline cootha

« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2011, 07:57:33 PM »
oh god NOOOOO. Will the tentacles of the evil empire ever stop spreading?  Watch the ad count of Overlander go up 1000% and watch the level of intelligence of Overlander go down 1000%. 

I was a subscriber to 4wd action for 2 years and was chucking them in the bin at about the 12 month mark and buying overlander at the newsagents instead.  4wd action is moronic. 

Can't wait for it: Instead of a great stories about travelling through Morocco or something and seeing wonderful places and cultures, they'll have endless air compressor and suspension and tyre shootouts over and over, where the company that pays them the most wins.  Ah shoot me.  >:D

« Reply #15 on: May 27, 2011, 08:02:41 PM »
Unfortunately there is enough bogans in 6" lifted GQ's with mud pig and tuff dog stickers buying there mag's and saying Roothy's great because he talks about beer.

« Reply #16 on: May 28, 2011, 04:57:59 AM »
How long have you been a bogan Darren , I still trying to grow a Flathead , arrr, Mullet myself  ;D

Offline DANBRI

• "Canvas Undies Never Die"
  • www.campingaustralia.org
« Reply #17 on: May 28, 2011, 07:36:11 AM »
All good things come to an end.

Offline 4wd26

« Reply #18 on: May 28, 2011, 10:20:42 AM »
https://shop.magstore.com.au/ProductDetails.asp?ProductCode=DM275b
Already added overlander to the subscription deals- and not a bad offer either.

might actually finally subscribe to a EMG mag  :'(  ;D
'08 Mitsubishi Triton GLX/R Diesel Auto, with offroad accessories.
Windsor Rapid 472s Offroad
Not your usual camper trailer
Getting Out There<- BLOG

« Reply #19 on: May 28, 2011, 11:05:14 AM »

I just recieved that email myself

Offline Sixtys Guy

« Reply #20 on: May 28, 2011, 01:46:57 PM »
Unfortunately there is enough bogans in 6" lifted GQ's with mud pig and tuff dog stickers buying there mag's and saying Roothy's great because he talks about beer.

LOL!. I've been buying 4x4 Australia recently. It's nice to read well written articles that aren't aimed at Bogans. I haven't read Overlander for a few years, but weren't there a few ex 4wdMonthly Journo's that moved to Overlander?
2009 Dual Cab Hilux
2009 Southern Cross Canvas Bush Mate

« Reply #21 on: May 28, 2011, 01:48:34 PM »
I got a 4wd Action subs offer by email yesterday, which also offered Overlander.

Offline cootha

« Reply #22 on: May 28, 2011, 02:11:09 PM »
that's another thing that cheesed me off about 4wd action; the endless spam and junk mail and offers and telemarketer phone calls at 6pm.  I had to send them a letter to stop it.  Can't stand them (even though I bought their camper trailer mag today... :P) lol.

Offline hookedon4wding

• My Videos
« Reply #23 on: May 28, 2011, 04:23:52 PM »
LOL!. I've been buying 4x4 Australia recently. It's nice to read well written articles that aren't aimed at Bogans. I haven't read Overlander for a few years, but weren't there a few ex 4wdMonthly Journo's that moved to Overlander?

Yeah, Mark Allen writes for Overlander now. I don't mind his articles though.

Good call about the endless junk mail with subs offers. They cheesed me off no end too.