Author Topic: Kids quad bike  (Read 12433 times)

Offline Swogjb

Kids quad bike
« on: May 22, 2011, 09:53:38 AM »
G'day All,
Im looking at getting a quad bike for our 3 year old daughters birthday and am after some information and opinions please.
We are after between a 50cc - 90cc four stroke 4 wheeler.
Are the Chinese units any good, if so what brand?
Or are we better off a good 2nd hand Japanese brand?
Any help much appreciated.
 :cheers: Glenn

Toyata Landcruiser TD 200 GXL
Trackabout Safari SV Extenda

Offline rotare

Re: Kids quad bike
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2011, 11:03:32 AM »
I recently brought a near new second hand chinese 110cc quad for my kids.  It had an electrical problem apparently and wasn't running when I brought it, and I paid $100 - I thought at that price it was worth it, as similar models on e-bay were selling between $800- $1000.

As I consider myself to be reasonably handy, I looked at it myself.  It was frustrating because the wiring is crap and how they colour their wires is different (ie, red is not positive and black is not negative).  After having a good look at it, and replacing a couple of electrical components, it still wouldn't run, so I started to ring around a few motorcycle repair places.

No-one would touch it.  As soon as I mentioned it was a chinese quad they weren't interested. Don't know whether they were simply prejudice against this style of quad, but most said they could spend hours trying to fix it as these chinese bikes were all put together differently, and the problem was probably minor but it would take hours to find.  Most places suggested for the price to have it fixed I might as well throw it in the bin and go buy a new one.... which wasn't a help to me!

Anyways, a friend of a friend was an automotive electrician and checked it out, and after a lot of hair pulling fixed it for $100. 

We’ve used it a couple of times since then and it goes okay.  It kinda looks like a name brand bike, but you can feel that the quality is not there.  It feels fragile, suspension is ordinary and the thing vibrates badly at high revs / speed.  The master cylinder for the rear brake started leaking and we lost the brakes, so I replaced the master cylinder.  Brakes were good again, but then the next time we used it the brake line split.  I’ve also noticed now the electric fan has stopped working.

The bike has probably cost me $400 all up, which is probably 1/10 the cost of a similar new, name brand bike.  However, in all honesty I’ve spent more time fixing the thing damn thing than the kids have spent riding it.

We couldn’t afford a name brand bike for our kids at the time, but this whole process has been a learning lesson.  I'd suggest if it's something you want to keep for a few years, spend the money on a proper name brand one.  Right now the thing has been shoved in the corner of the shed until I get motivated to fix it ....the upside to this is that the kids seem contempt just sitting on it, making engine noises and pretending their riding it..... whatever it takes to get them away from the TV. ;D   

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2011, 11:52:54 AM »
I spend all day every day servicing and repairing motor bikes. I detest chinese bikes. 99% are absolute crap and I would not recomend anyone buying one. The other 1% are in the higher price($1000 +) range and are OK, not great but better.
If your dead set on a cheap chinese crap bike, I suggest you buy at least two and use one for spare parts(yes, they are that bad)
For my money, buy a S/H jap. bike, there are heaps about second hand as kids have a habbit of growing up........
You need to remember that most really cheap chinese bikes are under $500, get a mechanic to spend two or three hours tracing electrical problems and the owner will soon be getting a repair bill for near the cost of the bike, and most people dont like that.
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2011, 12:06:54 PM »
For my money, buy a S/H jap. bike, there are heaps about second hand as kids have a habbit of growing up........

Im having trouble finding good 2nd hand bikes.
Any leads greatly appreciated

Offline graham

• I used to cruise, now i just PATROL
  • nrnr62
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2011, 01:32:46 PM »
hi swogsjb,moto/rmech,is spot on, the Chinese  bikes are not that good,unless you would like to do maintenance 23hrs per day. i brought one for my daughters and it lasted one day. the oil i put in the bike was worth more at the end of the day. So then i chased up two little suzuki 50 quads two strokes they went well, but then the mixing arrangement started to play up, so no worries just pre mix the fuel and let them go. if you dont get the mix right they tended to play up a bit. local suzuki dealer had a sale on, walked in seen two suzuki 50 four stroke quads asked for a price for two .was happy with the deal and walked out with two new pink quads  which i picked up later in the week,due to the fact that they only had one in stock. now we go for a weekend ride, we all go for a ride or i can sit in front of the camper and keep a eye on them.the four strokes seem to run for about 6-7 hours on a tank 2-3 litres . the other big selling point is that they are electric start,niccccccce   cheers Graham   ps i am about to fix up the two suzuki quads for sale in the next couple of weeks if it is of any help
nrnr62

Offline dsajfar

« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2011, 07:32:43 PM »
I have a kids Polaris 90cc Sportsman bike for sale, needs a bit of work inc, Auto Clutch Adjustment, new Starter Battery, needs Kick start spring relaced, some crack & repairs in Plastics but for $450 and a litlle of TLC you kids would have a good Quad bike...
Anyone interested let me Know, pickup COD Werribee Vic..

« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2011, 07:57:26 PM »
You cant go past the Suzuki 50cc four stroke quads :cup:

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2011, 09:47:05 PM »
While Suzuki mini bikes seem to be top of their class, there is nothing wrong with Polaris(made in USA) bikes if you "know" the bikes. I worked soley on Polaris bikes for 5 years and you get to know them pretty good. There are tricks(like anything) that only Polaris techs. get to know about them. One poor point is their charging system which leads to alot of flat batteries......and then when you go to kick start them, the shaft is siezed up andjams up all the time.
We have a Polaris ATV 50 for our little girl and paid alot more than $450 s/h. Sounds like a good price.
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

Offline Followme1

• Follow Me Campers
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2011, 08:26:20 AM »
My kids have a suzi 50 starts first time everytime and runs all day no problems, We paid $500 more than happy.

George
http://www.followmecampers.com.au

Offline Patr80l

« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2011, 08:36:37 AM »
There was a thread here on quad bikes and kids last year.
And there was a story in the news about a four year old who died on one.
I hope her age was a typo and you really meant 13th birthday.
A three year old does not have the motor and cognitive skills to properly control a quad bike.
40, 80, GU, Touareg, GU, Touareg, 200

Offline morgue

« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2011, 02:50:50 PM »
G'day All,
Im looking at getting a quad bike for our 3 year old daughters birthday and am after some information and opinions please.
We are after between a 50cc - 90cc four stroke 4 wheeler.
Are the Chinese units any good, if so what brand?
Or are we better off a good 2nd hand Japanese brand?
Any help much appreciated.

Ummm, 3yo on a quad bike...mate, ...wait until she is older and can ride a bike

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2011, 04:09:26 PM »
Ummm, 3yo on a quad bike...mate, ...wait until she is older and can ride a bike

She's been riding a push bike with training wheels for over 6 months. I've got a 700 cc quad that I can wind the throttle way back to a slow walking pace and Grace rides this very well. It's just a bit hard for her to turn due to the shear size of the bike but she does manage.she also had had a small electric quad that she has more than mastered.
I'm 100% sure that my daughter can handle a bike suited to her size in a surpervised way.
But thanks for the concern

« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2011, 07:29:29 PM »
There was a thread here on quad bikes and kids last year.
And there was a story in the news about a four year old who died on one.
I hope her age was a typo and you really meant 13th birthday.
A three year old does not have the motor and cognitive skills to properly control a quad bike.
How well was this poor unfortunate 4 year old supervised ??? ???

I have seen very capable 3-4 year old children on 2 and 4 wheel motor bikes, with more cognitive skills than some people that have a licence to drive a car.

As previously mentioned the good bikes have a adjustable throttle governor so the responsible parent can set the speed to suit the skill level.

Next you will be suggesting that kids to stop riding push bikes because some kid had an accident on one once ???

« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2011, 07:40:28 PM »
G'day Swogjb
 Sorry i can help you on a quad but i would recommend against the Chinese ones. Just from a few experiences friends had with bigger bikes.
Good on you for getting you kids one though. My eldest got her PW50 when she was 3 and while she doesn't want to beat the world she loves motorbikes as does her younger sister.
 As you can see no matter what question gets asked on this forum the keyboard safety police start banging their chest.
I hope there is enough normal people here to help you with the question you asked.
« Last Edit: May 23, 2011, 07:41:59 PM by darren »

Offline camdyson

« Reply #14 on: May 23, 2011, 07:40:43 PM »
The step-grandkids (!!) got one each last year for Chrissy. Pieces of cr@p, but if you're mechanical and can keep them going they're still a hoot while they last. Sadly their dad's no mechanic, so guess who got called on to get them running all the time.

Personally, I'd say wait until you can afford a "good" one, in a couple of years, but then I'm probably a Grinch.... >:D

Either way, PLEASE ensure you limit throttle -3y.o. heads and fence posts don't mix.

Cam
Set your chickens free

Offline Patr80l

« Reply #15 on: May 23, 2011, 08:22:06 PM »
Next you will be suggesting that kids to stop riding push bikes because some kid had an accident on one once ???

No, I'm basing it on twenty years as a doctor familiar with the motor skills and cognitive abilities of children and a Masters degree in Forensic Medicine which included the study of traffic medicine.

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #16 on: May 23, 2011, 08:22:42 PM »
I'll be watching this closley as my 4 yo will be getting one for christmas and I'm trying to decide on the best way to go also.

As a side note 6 yo kids in the middle east can strip, assemble, load and fire AK47's. thats pretty cognitive to me.

Jetcrew :D

RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

Offline Patr80l

« Reply #17 on: May 23, 2011, 08:25:14 PM »
I'll be watching this closley as my 4 yo will be getting one for christmas and I'm trying to decide on the best way to go also.

As a side note 6 yo kids in the middle east can strip, assemble, load and fire AK47's. thats pretty cognitive to me.

Jetcrew :D

Lego skills don't translate.

Offline Swogjb

« Reply #18 on: May 23, 2011, 08:42:34 PM »
There are 3 year olds and younger riding both small quad bikes and mini bikes all around this country.
That's what I'm basing my opinion on.

WTF......I was asking about Chinese quad bikes not the cognitive skills of a 3 yo.

Glenn

« Reply #19 on: May 24, 2011, 06:25:48 AM »
I'm basing it on twenty years as a doctor familiar with the motor skills and cognitive abilities of children and a Masters degree in Forensic Medicine which included the study of traffic medicine.

As Glenn has said "WTF......I was asking about Chinese quad bikes not the cognitive skills of a 3 yo." So unless you are going to post an answer Glenn's question keep your opinion for your own thread on "The cognitive skills of a 3 yo." if you wish to voice it.

« Reply #20 on: May 24, 2011, 09:25:43 AM »
 For the safety and well being of any child regardless of age when first learning , buy a ruputable brand. Feel good that you've given your child the best you can. That way you know that the brake leaver's are not going to bend or brake at the weld when called on in an emergency . The bike won't lose forward drive when going up a hill because some pin in the drive has broken allowing the bike to go rolling backwards down the hill with those crap brake leaver's and brake lines to hopefully work when needed most. Buy well and your money's safe, when you up grade you'll get most of it back. IMO Chinese quads= rubbish this is more so in the one's marketed as kids bikes. 

Offline rod_bram

• Just do it
« Reply #21 on: May 24, 2011, 09:52:12 AM »
My Grandkids have 3 chinese bikes and have had a good run for about 3 years from them. Things are now starting to break and wear out and as the "resident mechanic" it falls on me to keep them running. Last night the front handbrake broke on one and the carby mount let go, problem getting parts (they have to come from China and generally you get the wrong bit about 3 times before they get it right)(despite sending photo's with the order). Have suggested new Jap bikes needed sooner than later.
Rod and Lorna

Offline Squalo

• "Two Wheels Good"
« Reply #22 on: May 24, 2011, 12:29:26 PM »
I wouldn't touch a Chinese quad or two-wheeled bike.

And rather than quads have you considered a Yamaha PW50 with training wheels? A lot more fun for the kids once they have mastered it and the training wheels come off, and there's no difference when it comes to the likelyhood of accidents - they're going to fall off whatever you give them. Speaking of, make sure helmets are part of every ride (same goes for non-powered bikes), and there's no substitute for responsible supervision, as in sober adult supervision - but you knew that; I'd just go away feeling bad if I hadn't said it.

PW50s have good resale value if looked after, which tempers the initially high outlay for one.
2007 Jimboomba Maddison Staircase
1995 GQ DX Patrol TD42

Offline rockman

• Live ... then don't
« Reply #23 on: May 25, 2011, 12:31:58 AM »
I brought my son ( 4 ) a Suzuki 50 quad , 7 years ago .
Best thing ever , we both used to run around the paddock on it .
A bit of a freshen to the motor and its still going ..... ready for my 4 year old daughter .

Also brought a Chinese import quad , since owning it for about a year , I don't think we have ever got a full day from it without it failing .

Go the brand name quad , you wont regret it , even if you look around for a good second hand one .

Offline Patr80l

« Reply #24 on: May 25, 2011, 08:20:51 AM »
As Glenn has said "WTF......I was asking about Chinese quad bikes not the cognitive skills of a 3 yo." So unless you are going to post an answer Glenn's question keep your opinion for your own thread on "The cognitive skills of a 3 yo." if you wish to voice it.

If someone asks a dumb question about DIY 240V electrical work on this site, the electrical experts feel obliged to post a warning about safety.   Usually it's along the lines of "Just don't do it."   Everybody accepts their expertise, and the dumb questioner says "sorry I didn't realize how dangerous that was."

Why are motor vehicles different?  "WTF Officer, I've been driving at 80km/hr through this school zone for years and never hit anyone."

« Last Edit: May 25, 2011, 08:22:47 AM by Patr80l »