Author Topic: Kimberley Kamper Escape model  (Read 4686 times)

Offline bigred

• Tent User
Kimberley Kamper Escape model
« on: May 20, 2011, 09:46:59 PM »
Justing wanting to know where the Kimberley Kamper Escape fits into the KK's (I suspect it is the base model). I am looking at buying a 2006 model - does anyone have any comments on this particular model.
120 prado KK Limited Ed

Offline Jason B

• "Mark Goldie recovery team coordinator"
  • Hard Top Camper User
  • 80 Series Turbo DX Cruiser, Kimberley Kamper 2013 SE
Re: Kimberley Kamper Escape model
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2011, 10:06:55 PM »
Hi mate.

I am new to KK ownership and only looked at a few before purchasing ours. I bought a KK Limited edition 2005 model with boat loader, boat and motor for 30k. I believe the escape model is the base model. The main difference is in the kitchen area, particularly the set up on the draw bar. The stove and storage systems are the main difference. To my knowledge the trailer chassis and body (tent part) are identical (pretty much) across all models.

I think the Escape is designed to keep the draw bar weight down also so it can be towed by smaller vehicles. If the design suits your needs then go for it. They are amazing and simple to use, we are impressed every time we use ours.

One of the other guys with way more KK knowledge will be able to provide you more detail and correct me if I am off target.

Regards

Jason

Offline gronk

• KKK... Kwik Kool Kamping
  • Hard Top Camper User
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2011, 10:48:27 PM »
I used to have an 05 KK Escape and yes they were the base model ( which is now the Sports RV )
One difference was the lack of the gullwing front box, instead it had the smaller box with the slide out cooker.
Also the Escape had electric brakes and leaf springs ( and shockies ), but that wasn't a bad thing....it still rode and handled very good ..
Came standard with only 2 batts ( 70A/H ) but it could be upgraded to 6 batts if you wanted !