Author Topic: Hero to Zero  (Read 10587 times)

Offline POD

• Just get out there!
Re: Hero to Zero
« Reply #25 on: May 15, 2011, 11:08:48 PM »
Did it stuff up the pump??

Pride before a fall - literally!

Keep 'em coming Bill! I live my silly life vicariously through you!
"Never trust an internet quote." - Thomas Jefferson

« Reply #26 on: May 16, 2011, 06:22:27 AM »
Great story ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
How come no one has ever got a camera when you really need one!!!
It could have been worse----- It could have been a barrow of cow manure.............

« Reply #27 on: May 16, 2011, 07:15:34 AM »
Did it stuff up the pump??

Pride before a fall - literally!

Keep 'em coming Bill! I live my silly life vicariously through you!
No sir it did not.
Pump is still running strong...
Bill and Morag
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #28 on: May 16, 2011, 01:09:50 PM »
HAHAHAHAHAHA!

That's made my day Bill. Sorry to hear about your impromptu dip - Sunday was quite cold too - I think it got down to 22 degrees overnight - not good swimming weather!

Glad to hear you had a win with the pump. It would have been an ordinary weekend all round otherwise!

(who's fallen in my fair share of pool, and off patios, and...)

« Reply #29 on: May 16, 2011, 06:15:20 PM »
Could be worse. Could have been a wheelbaorrow full of fresh chook manure.

He would have been in the sh|t then   ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #30 on: May 17, 2011, 12:10:24 PM »
Well written story - you got a laugh from me. Funny thing is though, I have done something similar! What type of mulch was it? Was it that black stuff that goes everywhere?

« Reply #31 on: May 17, 2011, 04:26:00 PM »
Well written story - you got a laugh from me. Funny thing is though, I have done something similar! What type of mulch was it? Was it that black stuff that goes everywhere?

Yes plus it was the very fine stuff that needs to be cleaned from the skimmer box every 14.37 seconds while trying to vacum it off the bottom of the pool.
But everyone will be happy to know that I have removed 99% of it.
Also after crazy dog finally finished laughing  (he started as soon as I walked into his pool shop) he sold me the chemicals to clean it all nice and pretty.
And the pump is still going strong!!!
« Last Edit: May 18, 2011, 06:20:15 AM by Bill »
"The problem with the world is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?"

« Reply #32 on: May 17, 2011, 09:37:29 PM »
I could just see crazy having a laugh at you expense Bill. ;D

Offline Crazy Dog

• Artificial intelligence is no match for natural stupidity
« Reply #33 on: May 17, 2011, 09:46:27 PM »
U becha John..was just so funny to read the way Bill put it up in the thread. By the way Bill walked UNDER THE DOOR not through it to get into the shop...must have known I would take the P!ss..

Grrr!!! >:D
« Last Edit: May 17, 2011, 09:47:58 PM by Crazy Dog »
Cairns FNQ - I love poor little defenseless animals, especially in gravy.

« Reply #34 on: May 17, 2011, 10:41:47 PM »
Good story Bill but let me tell you about my Saturday it may make you feel better, let me set the scene a bit first. my block slopes to the rear and I had an above ground pool that I had cut into the slope at the bottom of the garden. I pulled the pool out a couple of years ago, and me being lazy I planted some greenery and convinced the wife it was a sunken garden, just the place to relax, I also have a bit of a heart problem and by order of the family am not allowd to over excert myself and apparently moving my one tonne camper myself is concidered over excertion. Now to Saturday, I decide its time to to a bit of winter maintenance on the ski boat and when bringing it up the yard find it wont fit past the camper that I have just spent the last two years building, so I have to move the camper. No one home so it only has to move a couple of feet so no one will know, pull the chocks out from behind the wheels and off I go, push it back a bit and bugger me it drops off the end of the pavers and away she goes, its about this time i realize how hard it is to pull the hand brake on when running after a trailer, no matter theres some big rocks at the top of the sunken garden, she'll be right just aim the wheels at the rocks. It hits the rocks chucks me in the air and against a bloody tree, that hurt, get myself up off the ground and look at the damage, trailer has gone over a four foot straight drop and draw bar is pointing to the heavens. Its about this time I realize I'm in deep poo, what do I do, ah hah good time to try out my new Warn winch i have just fitted to the Rodeo, quickly bring the truck in hook the cable to the draw bar and off I go, now to me this drop looks like a miny gunshot and no way is it going to come out but to my amazment up she comes no problems, pull her up onto the pavers again, chock the wheels, feed the cable back onto the winch, backed the Rodeo out, cleaned the mud off the back of the trailer go to the fridge and get a beer and in walks daughter number 2,she takes one look and says"dad you have moved the camper", "no worries darl only rolled it back a couple of feet alls good". I've done some dumb things in my day but this one is up there and telling you blokes about it probably is another.
Have to look on the bright side though,
1  thank god I left the hole in the back yard dont know where it would have ended up if it wasnt there.
2 I now know why the trailer weighs a tonne, one little dint in the stone gaurd for the water tank, no other damage
3 I was worried the 8000 pound winch was too small but was amazed at how easy it dragged it out
4 The fridge is full of beer and bourbon

Biggest problem I have now is how I am going to explain the mods I have made to her sunken garden
Ended up with a big ar$e black bruise on the leg and lost interest in boat maintenance only thing left to do was drink beer :cheers:

Sorry to high jack but thought it might make you feel a bit better and I know :worthles: but thats not gunna happen fellas

« Reply #35 on: May 18, 2011, 06:18:45 AM »
This thread has gone from good to better. ;D :cheers:
and  :worthles:

« Reply #36 on: May 18, 2011, 06:25:51 AM »
Good story macca.
As to the renovations in the garden it must be for drainage  ;D
Glad you and your ct are ok...
Bill and Morag

« Reply #37 on: May 18, 2011, 06:28:05 AM »
U becha John..was just so funny to read the way Bill put it up in the thread. By the way Bill walked UNDER THE DOOR not through it to get into the shop...must have known I would take the P!ss..

Grrr!!! >:D
I was hoping it was your day off but with the luck I had over the weekend I knew it was wishful thinking.
Beisdes as you noticed as soon as you started laughing I started laughing... again.
Thank you for helping me get the pool clean again...

« Reply #38 on: May 18, 2011, 03:21:20 PM »
Classics the both of you, still need pics. Still laughing

« Reply #39 on: May 18, 2011, 05:39:56 PM »
Classics the both of you, still need pics. Still laughing

Nope  not from me,
Just a hint though if I happen to pull up near you in a camp and you see me start un hitching then run like hell and if your camp is downhill from me then start praying.
That bloody thing would go thru anything when she gets a head of steam up

Offline singo-26

• Gone bush permanently!
« Reply #40 on: May 18, 2011, 06:36:20 PM »
Nope  not from me,
Just a hint though if I happen to pull up near you in a camp and you see me start un hitching then run like hell and if your camp is downhill from me then start praying.
That bloody thing would go thru anything when she gets a head of steam up

Or quickly dig a garden. :cheers:

2001 HZJ105 and a custom rearfold softfloor.

« Reply #41 on: May 18, 2011, 06:41:43 PM »
Good story macca.
As to the renovations in the garden it must be for drainage  ;D
Glad you and your ct are ok...
Bill and Morag

Good idea Bill, you got any spare mulch up there? :cheers:

« Reply #42 on: May 18, 2011, 07:51:40 PM »
This is clever  , a cunning & devious plan to publicly out your secret acts of stupidity  that you have survived . Other wise you would be awarded a Darwin Award for terminal stupidity .  :cheers:

« Reply #43 on: May 18, 2011, 08:53:59 PM »
This is clever  , a cunning & devious plan to publicly out your secret acts of stupidity  that you have survived . Other wise you would be awarded a Darwin Award for terminal stupidity .  :cheers:

come on speewa, nows your chance, fess up :cheers:

« Reply #44 on: May 19, 2011, 07:16:37 AM »
Mate I ,,arrrrr havent done anything stupid in the last Iittle while ,,,,,,that I will tell anybody about  8)
If you havent got a pic of me doing it ,, it wasnt me , I wasnt there , I dont know what you on about . >:D
If you do have a pic its been photo shopped to set me up ,,,,, hasnt it  ;D

Offline TroyE

• you can't buy experience
« Reply #45 on: May 19, 2011, 07:27:34 PM »
how did you explain the bruise to the misses

troy
you can't polish a turd, BUT you can roll it in glitter...

« Reply #46 on: May 19, 2011, 07:33:49 PM »
I would have paid to hear that  ;D

« Reply #47 on: May 20, 2011, 07:36:20 PM »
how did you explain the bruise to the misses

troy
Mate I've been married for thirty five years, I,m lucky if she notices me let alone a bruise, but geez I'm glad she doesn't visit Myswag or I would have a few more