Author Topic: Show us your bike (bicycle)  (Read 489115 times)

Re: Show us your bike (bicycle)
« Reply #1225 on: January 31, 2019, 09:55:09 AM »
So why weren't they using the bike track even out of courtesy?

Because I suspect the speed they are travelling at (guessing 25-35km/h) makes a shared path with pedestrians not the best option - they're travelling at 6-9x the speed a pedestrian is, but maybe 25-50% of the speed the traffic is on the road. Also, most shared paths force the cyclist to stop for each road crossing, whereas on the main carriageway they can carry on unabated.

« Reply #1226 on: January 31, 2019, 10:27:57 AM »
Because I suspect the speed they are travelling at (guessing 25-35km/h) makes a shared path with pedestrians not the best option - they're travelling at 6-9x the speed a pedestrian is, but maybe 25-50% of the speed the traffic is on the road. Also, most shared paths force the cyclist to stop for each road crossing, whereas on the main carriageway they can carry on unabated.
looking at teh photo theres more chance of coming across a lost 747 than a pedistrian, and its not a wide road to be riding 2 wide and share with cars...

« Reply #1227 on: January 31, 2019, 10:58:48 AM »
looking at teh photo theres more chance of coming across a lost 747 than a pedistrian, and its not a wide road to be riding 2 wide and share with cars...

I don't think you can draw that conclusion from seeing 100m of shared path/road. The cyclists are riding legally and have every right to be where they are. On country roads it is easier to see cyclists riding two abreast rather than single file.

This also makes for good reading.

The following users thanked this post: Aussie Camper

« Reply #1228 on: January 31, 2019, 11:38:02 AM »
Quote from: D4D
I don't think you can draw that conclusion from seeing 100m of shared path/road. The cyclists are riding legally and have every right to be where they are. On country roads it is easier to see cyclists riding two abreast rather than single file.

yep they are all legal etc...

But its a narrow road (there are plenty like that around there).. and IMTWO comes back to courtesy, on a shared narrow road with tools like the car driver - in reality Im surprised he didnt try passing them on the "road" on the right, which would have been really ****d if you were on the bike as he'd have 2 wheels and more than 1/2 the car on the grass - even more IF he did give them the 1.5mtr gap.

We used to ride through that region quote often with our club, some roads are fairly average out there, but some are amazing, and the pace got quite... non legal real fast :D

I reckon I'd even feel safer on the path where the car is where the bikes should be, but I guess you don't look as awesome on a bike path as the road.

anyway YMMV

« Reply #1229 on: January 31, 2019, 11:44:42 AM »
But its a narrow road (there are plenty like that around there).. and IMTWO comes back to courtesy

Exactly, the car driver needs to give the same courtesy to the cyclists as he would another car.

« Reply #1230 on: January 31, 2019, 03:32:27 PM »
Quote from: D4D
Exactly, the car driver needs to give the same courtesy to the cyclists as he would another car.

so the bike riders dont? I'd have thought everyone needs to be as courteous as each other.

The following users thanked this post: Poita

« Reply #1231 on: January 31, 2019, 05:53:38 PM »
so the bike riders dont? I'd have thought everyone needs to be as courteous as each other.

Agreed, I can't see how the cyclists weren't being courteous. I'm sure the cyclists would have dropped back to single file if the muppet in the 4wd was driving on the road and not on the shared path.

« Reply #1232 on: January 31, 2019, 07:21:45 PM »
Agreed, I can't see how the cyclists weren't being courteous. I'm sure the cyclists would have dropped back to single file if the muppet in the 4wd was driving on the road and not on the shared path.

or they could have simply ridden on the path

« Reply #1233 on: January 31, 2019, 07:53:43 PM »
I reckon that they were stretching the 1.5 metre tape measure in a few of the shots  as well ,

« Reply #1234 on: January 31, 2019, 08:04:53 PM »

Do we have to go over this again...

Offline Benduro

« Reply #1235 on: January 31, 2019, 08:11:46 PM »
The two biggest Flogs of the Year: the bloke who took the video, and the one who set up the go fund me account to pay the morons fine!
Such a hero with his 2000+kg vs 200kg approx' combined weight of cyclists.
I wish cyclist hating drivers would pick on someone their own size (and weight) >:(
The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans, Aussie Camper

Offline wakychapmans

« Reply #1237 on: February 10, 2019, 06:30:22 PM »
Troy is attacking the Idaho Trail again.  :cup:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/196108181144221/408435419911495/?comment_id=408445926577111&notif_id=1549780174802384&notif_t=group_comment_reply

pretty sure he's in Alaska for the Iditarod.

and that group you linked to is a closed group. So may not be viewable by others.

Wayne & Kyria Chapman
(+ Tucker & Monty the Samoyeds)
www.youtube.com/@morepawstravels/about
105 series Landcruiser 1HZ (soooooo much power)
1994, Supreme Getaway 14' (a "renovators dream")
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=56736.0
2 x titanium fatbikes with 4.8" tyres
The following users thanked this post: GBC

« Reply #1238 on: February 10, 2019, 06:32:47 PM »
pretty sure he's in Alaska for the Iditarod.

and that group you linked to is a closed group. So may not be viewable by others.

Yeah, I new it was Idi sompin.  :-[ I'll update seein as it's a secret squirrel one. Didn't notice that because I'm on his FB and he's on my GOFAR site.

« Last Edit: February 10, 2019, 06:37:00 PM by Foo »

« Reply #1239 on: February 11, 2019, 08:51:55 AM »
A quick look on google earth tells a much better story. The 'path' which is still under construction, joins the road from a highway underpass about half way along swamp Rd, runs for less than 1 km then abruptly stops again, in the dirt, with no way of getting back onto the road. In a word - useless. If you've ever ridden a bike you'd understand how completely ineffectual most of the bike paths are. Brisbane city council boasts they've built thousands of kilometres of bike paths and networks - in actual fact (apart from a few crackers which I use all the time like the SE freeway/coro drive bike paths) most of the paths on the cycle network maps are just bicycle signs painted on the road with no other change. I cruise at just under 30 kph moving average. There is little to zero chance of me getting off my bike, carrying it across the ditch, riding 700m, getting off and carrying it back across the ditch, and carrying on. I will choose a PROPER bike path over a road every time, however, and ride extremely early to avoid traffic where I can. I am so glad the guys were off duty coppers, the bloke in the ute is an imbecile.
The following users thanked this post: wakychapmans

« Reply #1240 on: February 22, 2019, 11:55:15 AM »
It would appear that I may have accidentally bought a 27 plus hardtail yesterday.....

https://www.bicyclesonline.com.au/polygon-entiat-tr6-27.5-trail-mountain-bike?gclid=Cj0KCQiAtbnjBRDBARIsAO3zDl-U4hjIUdo4HLs09ZS0nGRD6EHhG-4A5lT5yZIfX2nTNf99RV70Vk4aAg0iEALw_wcB

Looking forward to it turning up.

I basically wore out my 29'er.

I am just a middle aged, heavy (100 k.g. plus) fitness rider so I think it should be about right for me. Going from 22 to 25 and now to 28mm on the roady has been a progression in plushness and comfort so I figure going for more volume on the MTB won't be too bad. I already had 2.4's on the 29'er.

Any other plus owners? Thoughts? I should have some to add by the end of next week.

« Reply #1241 on: February 22, 2019, 04:12:26 PM »
It would appear that I may have accidentally bought a 27 plus hardtail yesterday.....

https://www.bicyclesonline.com.au/polygon-entiat-tr6-27.5-trail-mountain-bike?gclid=Cj0KCQiAtbnjBRDBARIsAO3zDl-U4hjIUdo4HLs09ZS0nGRD6EHhG-4A5lT5yZIfX2nTNf99RV70Vk4aAg0iEALw_wcB

Looking forward to it turning up.

I basically wore out my 29'er.

I am just a middle aged, heavy (100 k.g. plus) fitness rider so I think it should be about right for me. Going from 22 to 25 and now to 28mm on the roady has been a progression in plushness and comfort so I figure going for more volume on the MTB won't be too bad. I already had 2.4's on the 29'er.

Any other plus owners? Thoughts? I should have some to add by the end of next week.

I'm a none conformist with wide tyres on roadies I prefer a max of 25mm tyres, because I like the sharpness of the narrow tyres for speed and twitchiness.  ;) On the Track I use 19mm and pressures that go to 290psi. My 29er, I prefer to run at 50psi, otherwise, I get slippage when cornering hard.  :o

The geometry of the 27 compared to the 29er is supposed to be very different.

Offline topcat

« Reply #1242 on: February 22, 2019, 10:23:21 PM »
G’day GBC - a mate has Schwalbe Nobby Nic tyres and reckons they’re brilliant (he has 29” x 2.6”).
The spec reads well so look forward to your ride report.
TC
Prado 150 GXL 6M + 2016 TVAN Murranji

2008 Trackabout 4x4 Deluxe Tourer - Sold (first love xox)

"If all ya got's a hammer, every problem is a nail"

« Reply #1243 on: February 24, 2019, 05:42:18 AM »
Last day of riding in Derby, trails are hard but awesome, only binned it a few times. Detonate was a highlight, seriously hardcore trail, riding that trail at race speed would be nuts.

« Reply #1244 on: February 24, 2019, 06:53:10 AM »
 8)  :cup:

« Reply #1245 on: February 24, 2019, 07:06:40 AM »
8)  :cup:

And some gopro footage

« Reply #1246 on: February 24, 2019, 04:27:00 PM »

« Reply #1247 on: February 25, 2019, 07:52:42 PM »
Looks like Troy is off to a flier.

I got that plus bike today. It is like a flying armchair. It’s actually lighter than the 29er but it is going to take some getting used to with sorting out tyre pressures etc. I think it will suit my purpose and should go well for a bit of bike packing on the rail trail.

« Reply #1248 on: February 25, 2019, 09:19:35 PM »
« Last Edit: February 25, 2019, 09:23:10 PM by gronk »

« Reply #1249 on: February 25, 2019, 09:21:28 PM »
There is little to zero chance of me getting off my bike, carrying it across the ditch, riding 700m, getting off and carrying it back across the ditch, and carrying on.

Why not ??
I thought the idea of riding a bike was exercise, and that looks like excellent exercise .. :cheers: