General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Garry H on February 28, 2011, 11:00:44 PM

Title: How do you secure (lock up) you camper while camping - Easter coming up
Post by: Garry H on February 28, 2011, 11:00:44 PM
how do you lock up your camper when you are camping, I realise that if you are free camping I guess the worst nightmare would be to come back and find a clean sight with not even the trailer left there,
I have insurance for the worst but would rather not go there, but I do hear that it happens from campsites and even from the driveway at home.
I am thinking that a heavy duty chain around the wheels and along the axle with a big padlock under is about as good as it gets, and most of your gear locked away to stop the casual low life from walking thru and picking up and walking of
I have both fridges mounted in the vehicle as thats where we need the food when we arn't at camp for the day,
even our good Katmandu sleeping bags are not cheap to replace (even on special),
if they really want it they will take it anyway, maybee someone will come up with something I havn't thought of
what do you do?
cheers all and happy camping
Garry
Title: Re: How do you secure (lock up) you camper while camping - Easter coming up
Post by: speewa158 on March 01, 2011, 06:10:32 AM
If your free camping put out 2 cups . chairs at a table , stick a note on the tent that saya . " Hi Dave  Back soon , poped out to chech the scope on the 222 , wont be long ". That should do it . :cheers:
Title: Re: How do you secure (lock up) you camper while camping - Easter coming up
Post by: Humbolt on March 01, 2011, 06:18:29 AM
Hahahahaha beautiful Speewa, great idea!!
I suppose be aware and plan for the worst and hope for the best. I always say a dog is very good for this sort of security.
Otherwise just make sure you are familiar with the small print of your insurance. Some companies only cover equipment in the tent and not under the annex etc
Post by: FZJ on March 01, 2011, 07:07:01 AM
A length of heavy stainless chain from the drawbar running into the annex with a large dried roo leg  bone from the pet shop outside the door  and a pair of thongs with chew marks punched in with a 6inch nail...... A pair of old size 14 blundstones on the ground.And the note about the 222 scope!
Post by: MC 031 on March 01, 2011, 07:14:03 AM
I have and use a Klamp It wheel lock: http://www.klampit.com.au/

It is a visual deterrent and would undoubtedly take some time and effort to remove without a key.
Post by: GU Rich on March 01, 2011, 07:14:26 AM
If your free camping put out 2 cups . chairs at a table , stick a note on the tent that saya . " Hi Dave  Back soon , poped out to chech the scope on the 222 , wont be long ". That should do it . :cheers:
Top idea,

I also run a lock through my trig Hitch

rich
Post by: DANBRI on March 01, 2011, 07:16:30 AM
If theives want it, it's gone no matter what you do.

Best to remove all valuable items. I leave the billy out, but I wouldn't leave a GPS on the kitchen bench if that makes sense.

Leave someone at camp, don't travel far etc. I don't think there is much you can do.

Post by: 2 Brutal on March 01, 2011, 08:30:29 AM
Camp on your own private property, no one for miles then. :cheers:
Post by: Redback on March 01, 2011, 09:44:56 AM
If theives want it, it's gone no matter what you do.

Best to remove all valuable items. I leave the billy out, but I wouldn't leave a GPS on the kitchen bench if that makes sense.

Leave someone at camp, don't travel far etc. I don't think there is much you can do.

We put all our valuables in the car, gps, laptop, cameras and so on, not much else you can do really.

Post by: Blinky Bill on March 01, 2011, 10:13:48 AM
I have and use a Klamp It wheel lock: http://www.klampit.com.au/

It is a visual deterrent and would undoubtedly take some time and effort to remove without a key.

I was thinking about one of these the other day & wondered if it wasn't thwarted by thieves by simply removing the entire wheel (what 5-6 nuts?) and replacing with the CT's own spare wheel before driving off. But perhaps the lock is more comprehensive than that?

As for me I'm actually so poor that sometimes when I return to camp I find donations waiting for me.  ;D

Cheers - Wayne

Regards - Wayne
Post by: Beachman on March 01, 2011, 10:14:09 AM
I went to my local motorbike shop and bought a lock similar to the link for around $60.00. Seeing it’s got a rubber coating I put it through the wheels, around the axel and then back around the wheel again.

Yes they can remove the springs/axel to get it off, but that takes time. Also even though my trailer is kept in a locked garage at home, I still keep it locked at all times. (Might be overkill, but seeing I have the lock may as well use it)

www.abus.de/us/main.asp?ScreenLang=us&sid=816417873010738010320115915450124&select=0105b03&artikel=4003318051302m
Post by: spargo on March 01, 2011, 10:23:30 AM

We put all our valuables in the car, gps, laptop, cameras and so on, not much else you can do really.

Exactly what we do. If they really want in, they're going to smash the car window glass, and there's ways to do this quietly even in busy carparks/campgrounds. One day soon we're going to get a Diamond-T style box for the ute tray, then it will carry our irreplaceables. Surely a bolted down steel box is as good as it gets.

On our Lifestyle Extenda, we we leave it somewhere we just chuck anything of value (i.e. is of some value and that could be easily taken, and then on-sold at a 'Cashies' for a quick buck) inside the trailer, then just swing the back door shut and lock one of the locks on it - meanwhile all other external doors container gas, battery's etc remain shut but unlocked. Even with the back tail door shut and locked, people could still come in through the bed deck hatches inside. If they want to take the food, bits & pieces box, or filthy stove from the site, then good luck to them. They obviously need it more than us, or they're desperates and karma will bite them in the arse soon enough..

We also have a set of small luggage type padlocks to put on the door zippers, but these are more of a deterrent to the smash and grabbers as anything canvas etc is of course easily cut through. We put a lock on the DO35 hitch (it has a locking point) which renders it inoperable, but so don't bother with chaining wheels etc.
Post by: Bill on March 01, 2011, 10:24:59 AM

Same here.
If I have to worry about my stuff getting stolen I will just stay home.
Not a very relaxing camping experiance if I worry about my gear being pinched everytime I walk away from camp...
Bill and Morag
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 01, 2011, 10:27:31 AM
We do as most others with a hitch pin lock and all valuables in the Patrol, the cooker is bolted to the kitchen and if they want the knifes and forks they can have them. We always go out adventuring and leave the camper for long periods of time, so far we have not had any problems. I also know a good place to get some cables to keep other things safe if needed 8)

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on March 01, 2011, 06:49:55 PM
KISS ... the simple answer is to go camping with no valuables at all.  Leave them at home or lock them in the car out of view.  You can do what I do, and that is take them with you when you go walking away from the camper.  Yep, usually it's just the camera I care about, as it has all my memories contained within ... everything else is replaceable ... it might be annoying, but they are all easily replaced.  Laptop passwords are easily bypassed, most camping equipment is easily removed and is hard to trace by cops.

Alternately, paint everything in a garish hippie pattern, forcing theives to look elsewhere for less easily identifyable goods.

At home, we use a "screamer" (otherwise known as a Cuda (http://www.campertrailers.org/cuda_alarms.htm) motion alarm), Klamps, heavy chains and highly rated locks, a hitch lock and a BCDKATS (Blue Cattle Dog Keyless Anti-Theft System), but these are really only deterents for the honest guy who will think it's too much hassle to get passed the dog first.  I have considered coating the CT in Dots, but you can paint over them with fantastic success alas, so not really worth the money unless you can get them somewhere inside the chassis, but then how does the nice police man see them?

P.S.  We do have lockable boxes all over the place as an alternative (on both car and camper).
Post by: crackacoldie on March 01, 2011, 08:13:51 PM
Like many others we do not leave any valuables in the camper, they are locked in the car or taken with us.  I also have a Treg locking pin to make sure the camper is still there when we get back.

Post by: Ray-C on March 01, 2011, 08:35:46 PM
This is where I like the adventure campers I lock everything up in the storage space and the Kitchen. Where it is out of sight .  then go to bed. If anyone wants to get in then there will be no stopping them.    :cheers:
Post by: wiseone on March 01, 2011, 09:22:29 PM
This is where I like the adventure campers I lock everything up in the storage space and the Kitchen. Where it is out of sight .  then go to bed. If anyone wants to get in then there will be no stopping them.    :cheers:

Ditto
Post by: MC 031 on March 01, 2011, 09:56:57 PM
wondered if it wasn't thwarted by thieves by simply removing the entire wheel (what 5-6 nuts?) and replacing with the CT's own spare wheel
Regards - Wayne

Access to the wheel nuts is next to impossible with the steel plate that covers them....

Whilst I don't believe that this or anything for that matter is 100% secure it sure makes it less attractive and hopefully the would be thieves move on.
Post by: Gunna Do on March 02, 2011, 04:57:21 AM
We also just use the out of site out of mind idea, with most valueables stored in the vehicle if they have to be left at a campsite.

One of these may be a good idea if your real keen on making a bit of a scene if your camper is entered.  I have friends who bought and use a similar one after having an experience with valueables being stolen from out of their camper.  It's not a positive lock like some of the chain and padlock ideas, but it is portable, can be set up to monitor doorways or the inside of campers, and will probably scare the Shit out of any wouldbe theives.

This is just one Google found for me:-

(http://nservices.com/imgB4.jpg)

The Mini Travel Alarm with PIR Motion Sensor  SALE
"Click Image for Larger View"

The MINI TRAVEL ALARM with PIR SENSOR is an effective low cost motion alarm that can be used to effectively to deter an assailant. It can be activated by just pulling the alarm cord located at the top of the unit or can detect motion up to 9 feet away. Emits a loud 15 second, 100 db blast making an impending criminal cower and run. Just slide the cover down exposing the infrared sensor and the off/auto switch. Turn the switch to auto, and the sensor will start detecting motion in 60 seconds. Contains an LED flashlight, and its convenient size makes it perfect for concealing and traveling. Uses replaceable AG13 batteries (included).

The Mini Travel Alarm with PIR Motion Sensor (http://the%20mini%20travel%20alarm%20with%20pir%20motion%20sensor%20%20sale%22click%20image%20for%20larger%20view%22the%20mini%20travel%20alarm%20with%20pir%20sensor%20is%20an%20effective%20low%20cost%20motion%20alarm%20that%20can%20be%20used%20to%20effectively%20to%20deter%20an%20assailant.%20it%20can%20be%20activated%20by%20just%20pulling%20the%20alarm%20cord%20located%20at%20the%20top%20of%20the%20unit%20or%20can%20detect%20motion%20up%20to%209%20feet%20away.%20emits%20a%20loud%2015%20second,%20100%20db%20blast%20making%20an%20impending%20criminal%20cower%20and%20run.%20just%20slide%20the%20cover%20down%20exposing%20the%20infrared%20sensor%20and%20the%20off/auto%20switch.%20Turn%20the%20switch%20to%20auto,%20and%20the%20sensor%20will%20start%20detecting%20motion%20in%2060%20seconds.%20Contains%20an%20LED%20flashlight,%20and%20its%20convenient%20size%20makes%20it%20perfect%20for%20concealing%20and%20traveling.%20Uses%20replaceable%20AG13%20batteries%20(included).)
Post by: darren on March 02, 2011, 05:41:29 AM
A few severed heads impaled on sticks  around the perimeter of you camp could also work as a deterant..
Post by: GU_Thomo on March 02, 2011, 06:30:08 AM
Access to the wheel nuts is next to impossible with the steel plate that covers them....

Whilst I don't believe that this or anything for that matter is 100% secure it sure makes it less attractive and hopefully the would be thieves move on.

If they just let the air out of the tire can they then easily remove these units?

Post by: areyonga on March 02, 2011, 06:35:00 AM
Exactly what we do. If they really want in, they're going to smash the car window glass, and there's ways to do this quietly even in busy carparks/campgrounds. One day soon we're going to get a Diamond-T style box for the ute tray, then it will carry our irreplaceables. Surely a bolted down steel box is as good as it gets.

On our Lifestyle Extenda, we we leave it somewhere we just chuck anything of value (i.e. is of some value and that could be easily taken, and then on-sold at a 'Cashies' for a quick buck) inside the trailer, then just swing the back door shut and lock one of the locks on it - meanwhile all other external doors container gas, battery's etc remain shut but unlocked. Even with the back tail door shut and locked, people could still come in through the bed deck hatches inside. If they want to take the food, bits & pieces box, or filthy stove from the site, then good luck to them. They obviously need it more than us, or they're desperates and karma will bite them in the arse soon enough..

We also have a set of small luggage type padlocks to put on the door zippers, but these are more of a deterrent to the smash and grabbers as anything canvas etc is of course easily cut through. We put a lock on the DO35 hitch (it has a locking point) which renders it inoperable, but so don't bother with chaining wheels etc.

Dont forget to padlock the chains around the drawbar as I have known trailers and vans to be towed away by the chains when there is a hitch lock on.
Post by: Mandrake on March 02, 2011, 08:07:12 AM
" THIS CAMPER IS GUARDED THREE DAYS A WEEK BY SHOTGUN ...

" YOU GUESS WHICH THREE DAYS !!"

Post by: Bill on March 02, 2011, 08:39:22 AM
KISS ... the simple answer is to go camping with no valuables at all.  Leave them at home or lock them in the car out of view.  You can do what I do, and that is take them with you when you go walking away from the camper.  Yep, usually it's just the camera I care about, as it has all my memories contained within ... everything else is replaceable ... it might be annoying, but they are all easily replaced.  Laptop passwords are easily bypassed, most camping equipment is easily removed and is hard to trace by cops.

Alternately, paint everything in a garish hippie pattern, forcing theives to look elsewhere for less easily identifyable goods.

At home, we use a "screamer" (otherwise known as a Cuda (http://www.campertrailers.org/cuda_alarms.htm) motion alarm), Klamps, heavy chains and highly rated locks, a hitch lock and a BCDKATS (Blue Cattle Dog Keyless Anti-Theft System), but these are really only deterents for the honest guy who will think it's too much hassle to get passed the dog first.  I have considered coating the CT in Dots, but you can paint over them with fantastic success alas, so not really worth the money unless you can get them somewhere inside the chassis, but then how does the nice police man see them?

P.S.  We do have lockable boxes all over the place as an alternative (on both car and camper).

I' m sorry but beg to differ. Last time I looked Honest people we not thieves.
But your system will keep the lazy thieves from stealing your stuff.
And we all know most thieves are lazy, if they werent lazy they would get jobs like the other 90% of the population...
Bill and Morag
Post by: Racer on March 02, 2011, 10:34:10 AM
I can offer advice on padlocks, not so long ago we needed to cut one of these padlocks below. Bolt Cutters - NO, Marlin Spike - NO, so next stop was Homaltro hyrdaulic sheers. They eventually made it through after the sheers could not cut through, instead twisted the steel until it snapped inside and took off like a bullet.

A lock is only as good as its chain, I recommend one of those stainless cables!

http://www.lockweb.com.au/en/site/lockweb/Products/?groupId=484&productId=844
Post by: sablesoft on March 02, 2011, 10:47:58 AM

From the local locksmith I purchased 2 x 1.25M lengths of special security chain, it is meant to be very hard to cut. It came with the black sleeving to protect the wheels from the chain, I also got 2 good quality ABUS padlocks both locks use the one key.

The chains wrap around the wheel and the coil suspension frame nicely.

It cost me approx $290 for the locks and chain, This should make it a bit harder for someone to nick my trailer. Sure I have insurance but I would prefer not to have to claim, to much work went into this Cub Escape.

http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=5195.15 (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=5195.15)

Ray
Post by: darren on March 02, 2011, 02:15:22 PM
I can offer advice on padlocks, not so long ago we needed to cut one of these padlocks below. Bolt Cutters - NO, Marlin Spike - NO, so next stop was Homaltro hyrdaulic sheers. They eventually made it through after the sheers could not cut through, instead twisted the steel until it snapped inside and took off like a bullet.

If you hit down onto the body from the top with a good drift or chisel and a 3lb hammer most will break easily.  I have even done it with a river rock
Post by: gronk on March 02, 2011, 03:38:28 PM
If my camper is setup with an awning and all the other crap that goes with it, then if they have the time to pack it all away and not be seen, then they deserve it  !!!

The most important stuff is in the 4WD.....beer......and the camera !! ;D

The missus sleeps for that long, so they may get unlucky and have to pack her up with it as well !! >:D >:D >:D
Post by: Racer on March 02, 2011, 05:13:17 PM
If you hit down onto the body from the top with a good drift or chisel and a 3lb hammer most will break easily.  I have even done it with a river rock

I understand what you are saying Darren however that is exactly what a marlin spike is. I am talking the "parrot beaks" carried on a rescue appliance that cut cars open for breakfast. These tools did not cut through the steel.
Post by: olddigger on March 02, 2011, 05:25:40 PM
May be worth trying the notice I have on the front window of the house:
"Warning: Armed response. There's nothing in here worth dying for."
Cheers, Tony
Post by: Wortho on March 02, 2011, 05:35:21 PM
Depending how far away from the camper you are you could fit a paging alarm that alerts you when activated. We mostly stick within a 5km radius of the camp if walking so one of these would probably suffice http://cars2.ebay.com.au/VOYAGER-5000M-2-Way-Pager-Remote-Start-Motorcycle-Alarm_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQitemZ180530518991
There are more expensive longer range car models available. You may not make it back to camp in time but at least you are aware and can perhaps notify a Ranger etc before they get to far, or activate your $90 tracking system as mentioned in a post on here yesterday.
Post by: Gonewalkabouts on March 02, 2011, 07:10:29 PM
Great question and one I can certainly answer so here goes:

If my last trip away to a remote farm property is anything to go by then I don't see security of camper as a problem, mind you if anybody is stupid enough to want to play bush ranger and rob me of my camper while on a hunting trip ( 12 guage shotgun, Win 243 etc) then all I can say is "Good Luck"

Gonewalkabout ( last of the great white hunters)
Post by: barneys on March 02, 2011, 07:43:57 PM
if i was to happen i do not want to be there
Post by: Manjimike on March 02, 2011, 08:09:52 PM
There is always the universal key for most locks and chains unfortunately
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sealey-Cordless-Lithium-ion-100mm-Grinder/dp/B002SVCDFO

>:D
Post by: outback jack on March 02, 2011, 08:12:23 PM
yep locks only keep honest people out  :cheers:

Post by: RichardW on March 03, 2011, 06:58:33 AM
I've got locks on the all the doors and windows on my hard top camper trailer but rarely use them.
As others do I put a lock through the treg pin and keep all the valuables in the vehicle.
Post by: Garry H on March 05, 2011, 09:56:13 PM
cheers for all the response's and it seems like we are all on the same page, its just a real shame that there is some scum out there and it doesn't matter what we do, we can only keep the honest theives away.......... guess we just have to make it a liitle harder for that low life that thinks my hard earned goods need to find a better home
we do appreciate the input
Garry
Post by: Camping Grant on March 06, 2011, 07:04:54 AM
When we go away (and when it's at home) the CT has one of these on it's wheel. It keeps the honest people out.  We also never leave valuables in the tent if we go "exploring" as my son likes to put it. 

The way I see it, if they want it that bad that they can afford the time to pack it up, and the risk of getting caught whilst doing it, then they are welcome to it.

(http://www.myswag.org/gallery/d/24389-1/Wheel+Lock.jpg)

Grant
Post by: tinkera on March 06, 2011, 08:00:15 AM
Reminds me of a mate camping on Straddy a few years back.His dog was keeping them awake this night wouldn,t settle growling draging the chain on the poles mate had look around nothing ended up putting dog in canopy in back 4by to get some sleep.In the morning found both his food and beer eskys gone from inside annex.Found food esky and contents speed out in bush not too far away never found beer esky.Stuffed his week up buying esky more food beer every thing costs twice as much in these places.These A** holes never think about the actions and effects on a guy trying to give his family a holiday on a tight budget.TINKERA.
Post by: crispy on March 06, 2011, 10:18:40 AM
Hi all i hae one of those couple mate things that help guide you on to your rig ,when fitted to the vehicle it doubles as a lock for the tow hitch as you cant get the handle up enough to lift the rig if the ball ,i know this is of no use if you are unhitched from the ct but if you are just wandering away and sight seeing it is a good idea
crispy ;D

ps : other than that set a mine feild around campsite with irregular outer edge ensure all personell are aware of minefeild start /finish use m14 only easier to set!
Post by: Blinky Bill on March 06, 2011, 11:14:16 AM
On a serious note (if I may). I take it that there are more examples of theft being experienced than perhaps once was the case.

I'm wondering if perhaps there's a trend towards more of it happening on the coast and perhaps less of it elsewhere?

Over at ExploreOZ (I believe it was) I read about fishing gear going missing with hoons walking by spotting the rods and helping themselves. Esky contents went missing and as did a Honda gennie.

I pretty much live on a nice section of the coast and so I prefer more inland camping than the beach version. My logic says that more people frequent the coast than away from the coast, so there's much more likelyhood of encountering 'undesireables' where it's salty than where it's fresh.

I'm wondering if anyone bush camping away from the coast has experienced similar issues with theft because I'm planning a 3 month trip (SW NSW to Kimberleys, up the centre to Alice, Darwin, Kakadu, Kunanurra, Bungle Bungles, Broome) and it would be good to get my stategies sorted for when it's reasonably okay to leave the camper unattended and when it's best to hang around camp playing 'security guard'.

Any and all advice greatly appreciated - Wayne

Post by: dno on March 06, 2011, 11:54:29 AM
I traveled NSW for 9 month's and had trouble 2 time's once in Moree and once Wilcannnia both time's cought before to much damage was done, and were right in the town while doing some some work related advertiseing. I offten wonder if the VIC plate's on the car made it a target..and it seemed to be an acknowledged problem in both town's. That's a long time back, thing's may have changed.. I found local people very help full , and after a while you learn to ask the right question's and can get a bit of an idear what's going on in and around a lot of the CP's and town's.   
Post by: MC 031 on March 06, 2011, 12:39:46 PM
I have done a fair bit of travel west of the ranges and the outback and have never experienced any issues of this nature. 

When free camping in these areas it is wise to employ the 40/60 principle....that is 40 to 60 klms from town which normally puts you out of range of any 'locals' who may want to get up to a bit of nonsense.
Post by: Joey21 on May 05, 2021, 03:38:04 AM

Hi! New here. This is what I guard against:

https://www.homedepot.com/p/Milwaukee-M18-FUEL-18-Volt-Lithium-Ion-Brushless-Cordless-4-1-2-in-5-in-Grinder-w-Paddle-Switch-Tool-Only-2880-20/315445886

Similar problems with my ebike locks. They fend off lock cutters but nothing survives against a cordless grinder.
Post by: austastar on May 05, 2021, 10:42:07 AM
    Bonus points for a camp where you leave everything unlocked and the keys stay in the ignition.

Sent from my SM-T380 using Tapatalk

Post by: manchu on May 05, 2021, 11:16:17 AM
nothing survives against a cordless grinder.

This does apparently,  but pretty useless for securing a camper.   

https://altorlocks.com/products/saf-lock
Post by: Fizzie on May 05, 2021, 04:25:19 PM
This does apparently,  but pretty useless for securing a camper.   

https://altorlocks.com/products/saf-lock

"6.2 kgs total weight"

Jeez, you wouldn't want to be carrying it too far ::)
Post by: manchu on May 06, 2021, 12:25:07 PM
"6.2 kgs total weight"

Jeez, you wouldn't want to be carrying it too far ::)

probably weighs more than some of the bikes its locking up. 

Most people would leave it where they usually lock the bike up I guess.