Author Topic: Another newby from Townsville  (Read 5991 times)

Offline LeeandLisa

Another newby from Townsville
« on: July 26, 2011, 01:22:08 PM »

Been on here for a while and thought I would say G'day. What a great site too! The wife (Lisa) and I bought our first camper about 8 months ago. Had a budget of 10k, and as usual when you are ready and want to buy something there is not much around. So I put an ad in the local paper for a week, and so had about 8 to choose from. Ended up with a Townsville manufactured Bartel Kamper. This is a very small company that  have been around for many years with a good reputation, basic but well built. I will post some pics and info in the 'my camper trailer'  section shortly, as I think I am the only member here with this brand. It is fonly five years old and has been used five times by a retired couple, so it is still like new, even the tyres. They bought it new for $12,500, added a stone guard and a basic 12v system, used it onve a year and kept it in a shed, and so offered it me for 7k. He even threw in a 75lt combo engel fridge/freezer so I couldn't have been happier. The wife loves it and even though we have only used it 3 or 4 times now due to work/renovating and the weather, she is turning into a great little camper wench. We are planning a camp to the 'valley of lagoons' for 6-7 days in September so that might sought her out. ;D

I tow it with my ever faithfull GQ Maverick wagon which I have had for 13 years and has been such a great truck. The 4.2 diesel is a bit slow so I have talked the Mrs into fitting a turbo so that is my next project.
We plan do do as many trips as our lifestyle allows, and looking forward to contributing here and meeting some of the members. It looks like there is a few NQ memebers so that should not be too hard.

Lee

Re: Another newby from Townsville
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2011, 02:40:38 PM »
Gday Lee and Lisa, welcome to Myswag  :cheers:

Sounds like a ripper CT and an Engel to go with it well done  :cup:

Just one thing, we love pictures on here and heaps of them  :worthles:

Enjoy your stay, look forward to them pics :cheers:

« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2011, 03:20:50 PM »
Welcome to the forum Lee, sounds a great set up, keep us up to date with your travels

« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2011, 06:12:37 PM »
Welcome to MySwag LeeandLisa

« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2011, 06:24:08 PM »
Hi Lee and Lisa, welcome to My Swag :cheers:

Sounds like a great set up :cup:

« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2011, 06:59:21 PM »
Welcome to Myswag.  Sounds like you picked up a great bargain with the camper.  Don't keep us in suspense too long waiting for some pics.

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2011, 07:36:19 PM »
Hi Lee & Lisa welcome to My Swag.  Having just returned from valley of Lagoons Trip I can highly recommend it as a destination for your camping.  We had a (as Teabag puts it) fat time and  have come home so relaxed.  Cheers Rellbell

« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2011, 08:20:09 PM »
Hi Lee & Lisa. Welcome to MySwag. Looking forward to the pics when you post them. Sounds like you've got a good rig

Offline LeeandLisa

« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2011, 06:45:30 AM »
Thanks everybody for your welcome. :D

I have put a few pics up in the 'my camper trailer' section.

Thanks again.
Lee

« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2011, 08:33:19 AM »
 G,day Lee and Lisa.
 Welcome to the forum, look forward to the pics and hearing about your travels.

Offline MrWilson

• Queensland Ambulance Servise
« Reply #10 on: July 28, 2011, 02:06:05 AM »
Hi Lee & Lisa

Welcome to the forum, very helpful & a great place to meet fellow off road campers.

Craig & Pamela & kids
2006 4.2 GU Patrol, BullBar, HID Lights, OME Suspension, Snorkel, Duel Batteries, Roof rack, Challenge Camper Trailer ... & a long wish list ...

Offline MattNQ

• The smartist formerly known as Skypig
    • My website
« Reply #11 on: July 28, 2011, 02:30:29 PM »
Hi Lee & Lisa,

Greetings & welcome.
You did well with the camper - I have only ever heard good things about Bartels trailers, so it should last you many years.

« Reply #12 on: July 28, 2011, 03:24:56 PM »
G'day & Welcome folks.

Offline TroyE

• you can't buy experience
« Reply #13 on: July 28, 2011, 04:48:13 PM »
hi good to see another townsvillian on here might see you round the traps give us a wave if you see me round town ;D

troy :cheers:

ps: look for a blue over silver duel cab GQ with an alloy tray 8)
you can't polish a turd, BUT you can roll it in glitter...

Offline Rod Camping

• 2009 Lifestyle Extenda-2011 Nissan Patrol ST Wagon
« Reply #14 on: July 28, 2011, 06:01:15 PM »
Welcome to the forum. We try to get away when we can.

Seems to be quite a few of us Townsvillians on here now. We should have a NQ Meet and Greet. during the school holidays maybe.

Cheers Rod.... 8) :cheers:

Offline LeeandLisa

« Reply #15 on: August 01, 2011, 10:23:51 AM »
Hi MrWilson, Skypig, Troy and Rod. Good to see a few Townsvillians on here. A NQ meet and greet would be great!!
I have a smick silver/black Maverick S/wagon with the new 'Myswag' spare wheel cover (which looks grouse by the way)
Lee

Offline TroyE

• you can't buy experience
« Reply #16 on: August 01, 2011, 11:34:29 AM »
 :cheers: troy
you can't polish a turd, BUT you can roll it in glitter...

Offline toddy

« Reply #17 on: August 01, 2011, 12:47:37 PM »
g'day lee and lisa, welcome to the forum.

Having only been in townsville bout 18months where is "valley of lagoons". Is it far to travel?

Toddy...
2006 GXL Prado :: Silver :: ARB Dual Battery System :: DIY rear sockets :: Tekonsha P3 :: Pradopoint Sticker ::
2010 Maddison Off Road Jimboomba CT :: DIY 12V system :: DIY Electric Water Pump ::

Offline rellbell

• 2000 gu II + MDC XT12
« Reply #18 on: August 01, 2011, 06:52:34 PM »
g'day lee and lisa, welcome to the forum.

Having only been in townsville bout 18months where is "valley of lagoons". Is it far to travel?

Toddy !  Valley of Laggons is on the lava plains road. Camping is on the next station west of there (Reedybrook Stn)  We just spent a week up there with Teabag and others. Our Daughter came up from Townsville for a visit and loved it also. Go to Ingham and follow the Mt Fox road and then onto lava plains. Three to Three and a half drive from Ingham.  Tony

Offline LeeandLisa

« Reply #19 on: August 02, 2011, 09:07:14 AM »
Toddy, as Rellbell said. Also check the trip report in -Trips, Tracks and touring (page 2)
Lee