Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506922 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #675 on: January 27, 2018, 01:34:06 PM »
What do you make of this mystery.. L34 with "history" only worked V8 delivered by Holden $200,000 ....
Colin Bond car? ???

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/253381948384/
Hint: ???
« Last Edit: January 27, 2018, 01:45:14 PM by Bird »

« Reply #676 on: January 27, 2018, 01:43:38 PM »
Hey Jeepers, Do you know if this is one of Shanes??? I seem to remember it from his thread... stunning car!!!!!

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/202195636814

« Reply #677 on: January 27, 2018, 01:49:54 PM »
This might answer a bit [  Track pack option L34 Torana  ] maybe ..http://www.gmh-torana.com.au/forums/topic/58494-lh-l34-torana-production-volumes/
« Last Edit: January 27, 2018, 11:39:48 PM by edz »

« Reply #678 on: January 27, 2018, 02:01:24 PM »
This might answer a bit [  Track pack option L34 Torana  ] maybe ..http://www.gmh-torana.com.au/forums/topic/58494-lh-l34-torana-production-volumes/
for the price it would wanna be something off the planet special, like a Bond or Brock car with their wallet in the glovebox

« Reply #679 on: January 27, 2018, 02:53:36 PM »
Hey Jeepers, Do you know if this is one of Shanes??? I seem to remember it from his thread... stunning car!!!!!

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/202195636814

Mate, not sure, he has so many go through his workshop. It rings a bell though, so very likely.

« Reply #680 on: January 28, 2018, 03:59:00 PM »
If you remember the car cult movie, Running on Empty from waaaay back in 1882, then you might be interested in this.  8)

http://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwiL-rXr-vnYAhUOObwKHeJoCUwQFggnMAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.cobar.nsw.gov.au%2Fnews-info%2Fevents-calendar%2Fgeneral%2Frunning-on-empty-festival-2018&usg=AOvVaw2LPkI5kupRk4_vkG4r5cQv

Some of the best ever one liners came from this movie. Yeah, some of the continuity was dodgy at best, but who cared, it was an Aussie movie on Street racing in Australia.   yeeha.
I sure hope Max Cullen gets his backside there.

I'll move heaven and earth to attend this Festival.
As a 22 year old at the Capalaba Drive-in, I watched that nitrous bottle tap get opened on the XY, the way the car just punched the arse sideways as it hammered up the street, and I promised myself then there, I was gunna built a kick-arse nitrous car.

10 years later, in 1992, it was mission completed. 10:61 @ 130mph

The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #681 on: January 28, 2018, 04:27:50 PM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
If you remember the car cult movie, Running on Empty from waaaay back in 1882, then you might be interested in this.  8)

we watched some of it being made.. the servo was opposite the bottleshop and beer garden at Kurnell where we used to hang...  as were many of the burnout/drag scenes, and the servo scene filling up at the Caltex, you can hear Mouses old mans AP5 val diff whine going past LMAO!!!!!!!! The early part where they start pushing his car etc and the sand is out the nell too...

https://www.carsguide.com.au/oversteer/forget-the-fast-and-the-furious-this-82-cult-hit-is-so-much-better-66873

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JiFsTFaB8mY
the yellow monaro at the end of the clip, its only a 6cyl lookin at the chrome rocker cover :D

the full movie is on youtube -> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w4uE0UmxyPk

The following users thanked this post: edz

« Reply #682 on: January 29, 2018, 05:50:52 AM »
It'll be interesting to see who can front up for the festival.... star wise.

Richard Moir (Fox) has had Parkinson's for a while now, so I wouldn't expect him to front and a couple of 'em have fell off the perch.

Penne Hackford-Jones (female cop in leather) died about 5 years ago and some of the lesser known actors as well.

A lot of these actors are now late 50's and onwards and with Reb @ 77 years of age, he ain't getting any younger either.

Anne Semler, Reb's wife, is married to Dean Semler who is big in Hollywood with film making, so I reckon she's gunna be a long shot to attend.
It would be a hoot to see the Reb's garage crew back together though, all 5 of them speaking a few famous lines.

For true car guys/girls from that era, this really is, the last time this we're likely to see this happen I would think.

« Reply #683 on: January 29, 2018, 07:30:35 AM »
It'll be interesting to see who can front up for the festival.... star wise.

Richard Moir (Fox) has had Parkinson's for a while now, so I wouldn't expect him to front and a couple of 'em have fell off the perch.

Penne Hackford-Jones (female cop in leather) died about 5 years ago and some of the lesser known actors as well.

A lot of these actors are now late 50's and onwards and with Reb @ 77 years of age, he ain't getting any younger either.

Anne Semler, Reb's wife, is married to Dean Semler who is big in Hollywood with film making, so I reckon she's gunna be a long shot to attend.
It would be a hoot to see the Reb's garage crew back together though, all 5 of them speaking a few famous lines.

For true car guys/girls from that era, this really is, the last time this we're likely to see this happen I would think.
agree...

The genuine "FOX" car was on ebay few years ago for phone number prices.

https://www.streetmachine.com.au/features/1603/ripper-car-movies-running-on-empty-(1982)
Street machine
VERDICT: 5/5  8) 8) 8) 8)

it is a great movie, **** I'll have to watch it again tonight now....

Running on Empty 2 could be interesting.. plenty or banter about it several years ago... hope they dont modernize it and **** it

« Reply #684 on: January 29, 2018, 07:47:21 AM »
not sure what to make of it

« Reply #685 on: January 29, 2018, 11:01:23 AM »
That just looks a bit wrong.

Had a look at a very nice, 1948 chevy Fleetmaster "bomb" yesterday. 8)

Really nice car, all very period correct, with a swamp cooler.
I'll get some pics and post 'em later on.

Google Chevy Fleetmaster Bomb if anyone doesn't know what i'm talking about. ::)

« Reply #686 on: January 30, 2018, 01:35:03 PM »
I was wondering what I should spend my 1.2 million that I dont have on...

https://www.carsales.com.au/dealer/details/Lexus-LFA-2012/OAG-AD-15584285?Cr=1

its 5yrs old, thats an old car for some peoplez

« Reply #687 on: January 30, 2018, 04:40:28 PM »
If ya want a laugh, yesterday, Shane took a couple of pics of our car parked beside a Dodge Dart Swinger.

Shane just stood there, looked at me and said, Shit, ya car makes the Dodge look like a toy.
Now, a Dodge Dart is a fairly sizable car, just a 2 door Valiant hardtop really, but the ol 64 sure dwarfed it.

I'm not sure how to lift the pics over, so you'll have to go to his HPEngines facebook thingy. Nup, seems I can lift 'em over after all.

https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/27164496_1760441873967078_5699359169372432570_o.jpg?oh=181f22589c93be4ef281cc38108b3b6f&oe=5AEDDFC5

https://scontent-syd2-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/27624818_1760441783967087_2392413067189367717_o.jpg?oh=a7ee8ca9c0ce3f8780ea2511d4cbc30c&oe=5B18ADF4
« Last Edit: January 30, 2018, 05:00:26 PM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #688 on: January 30, 2018, 09:41:41 PM »
It comes with full service history, I would think that should be none. ??? It has only done 3200klms

« Reply #689 on: January 31, 2018, 08:31:36 AM »
Quote from: jclures
It comes with full service history, I would think that should be none. ??? It has only done 3200klms

Modern sports cars only driven once a blue moon probably need servicing/checking every 1000klms - less than once a year LOL!

« Reply #690 on: February 01, 2018, 04:13:10 AM »

« Reply #691 on: February 01, 2018, 08:26:39 AM »
I'll take it
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=18eZC9gfpUA&feature=share

one of the most awesome engine fits.. looks so clean and tidy

The last thing we expected to see under the hood was a 2JZ engine! Turns out - this was a father/son build that has been put together over the past 3 years, and boy did it come out NICE. 30lbs of boost is enough to get this tank into the low 10’s.. now that’s MOVING!
« Last Edit: February 01, 2018, 08:28:51 AM by Bird »

« Reply #692 on: February 01, 2018, 08:55:07 AM »
That's a 9 second car with a decent launch, and I mean, deep into the 9's too.

This thing is a surprise package too.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=snHQ9XEttL4

And then there's this...... funny as. nothing like revving the ring out of something to show off.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jj48a8_XmdA
« Last Edit: February 01, 2018, 09:02:39 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #693 on: February 01, 2018, 09:01:23 AM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
That's a 9 second car with a decent launch, and I mean, deep into the 9's too.
Hope he replaced the drums on it ;)
yea he even said it was a Shit launch, so in time with a few more runs, he'll be asked to fit a shute :D

« Reply #694 on: February 01, 2018, 02:32:50 PM »

« Reply #695 on: February 01, 2018, 02:49:57 PM »
That was for sale when we bought the Fleetwood. they must be ready for a savage offer soon.

« Reply #696 on: February 01, 2018, 02:51:39 PM »
That was for sale when we bought the Fleetwood. they must be ready for a savage offer soon.
they certainly like to put photos in their ads over there compared to the 1 or 2 if your lucky here.

must admit, it would have to have or get a chop top.. **** they look sweet

« Last Edit: February 01, 2018, 02:54:23 PM by Bird »

« Reply #697 on: February 01, 2018, 03:04:59 PM »
When we bought the Fleetwood, we were supplied 130 good quality pics.

Ya get the odd knob jockey who only whacks up a couple of pics, but they are the minority.

« Reply #698 on: February 05, 2018, 07:20:43 AM »
hey Jeepers, you weren't heading north on Sandgate rd around 4ish yesty arvo were ya?

Was turning off at Deagon and spotted a caddy in the mirrors

« Reply #699 on: February 05, 2018, 08:04:13 AM »
Oh my..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=on3yHAfXlCQ&feature=youtu.be
'we started it for teh first time since 1956 this morning....'  8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8) 8)