Author Topic: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.  (Read 506562 times)

Re: SIMPLY, BECAUSE OLD CARS ARE VERY COOL.
« Reply #650 on: January 17, 2018, 03:52:25 PM »
Just wait until I post a pic of the wife's new wheels...... baaaaaargain and big thanks to my mate Doug for selling it me at the price he did.

Not what i'd deem as OLD or COOL really, but its funny, you think 2001 models are still near new, but far from it.

10/2001 Statesman, white with silver trim.
5.7 LS Gen 3,full leather interior, new brake rotors, pads and windscreen and road worthy for $1,650 (only 5 weeks of rego left)
19 inch alloys, good rubber, sports exhaust, sunroof.

Shannon's guy insured it for more than the sale price, which is pretty rare.

« Reply #651 on: January 17, 2018, 04:25:16 PM »
Gold plated Bowtie Chev badges are pretty cheap on Fleabay Kev .
Nice pick up by the way .. ;D ;D

« Reply #652 on: January 18, 2018, 04:50:10 PM »
Hmmmm..... NO

Picked it today, not a bad thing either. drives good and all that crap.
The wife likes it..... even the rumbly exhaust.

« Reply #653 on: January 18, 2018, 09:15:26 PM »
Just another bit of eye candy. This one is the real deal and at the time the only one in Australia and unless there's anymore that have been brought here since its sale, there's now none.
Sometimes I just love my job!

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy

« Reply #654 on: January 19, 2018, 07:33:46 AM »
Just another bit of eye candy. This one is the real deal and at the time the only one in Australia and unless there's anymore that have been brought here since its sale, there's now none.
Sometimes I just love my job!

Sent from your iPad using Mental telepathy

I meet a guy quite a few years ago now (midish '80s), that worked at KarKraft in the US (he was an Aussie). He had an original Auto tranny out of a prototype that was never used.
Built a replica from memory around the auto.
This bloke did a lot of work with Alan Moffat in the early days again with KarKraft............for the love of my failing memory, I cannot recall his name tho.

« Reply #655 on: January 20, 2018, 02:31:35 PM »
I had my own little shed find yesterday.

This 200B hidden in behind a bunch of busted old steam boilers.

And this Humber that was apparently on the road until just a few years ago.

'64 Super Snipe?
« Last Edit: January 20, 2018, 02:33:36 PM by Troopy_03 »
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #656 on: January 20, 2018, 02:39:35 PM »
That Humber will be full of hidden rust.
Great car in their day, real limmo, Great Granpa had one.
Built like a tank.

« Reply #657 on: January 20, 2018, 03:03:10 PM »
That Humber will be full of hidden rust.
Great car in their day, real limmo, Great Granpa had one.
Built like a tank.
My auntie drove one.

Edit: She traded it for a Pontiac Parisienne...
2nd Edit: '68 Parisienne, way cooler than a Caddy....  >:D
« Last Edit: January 20, 2018, 03:11:28 PM by Troopy_03 »
4.2L TD Toyota Troopy, (Clarke's Country Camper Trailer, softfloor.) sold it and bought a Avan Ray small poptop caravan. I miss being able to acces the little tracks off into the scrub.

« Reply #658 on: January 20, 2018, 03:27:42 PM »
It's funny looking back. In the late 60's, early 70's, my old man was a car salesman, as were his brother, and brother in law. Even though it was in Ipswich, there were some cool cars to be had. My old man had a few different ones. "61 Chrysler Royal, 69 Rambler Rebel, 69 Chevvy Impala. And we used to buy stuff like FJ, FC FE EK etc Holdens, for under $100 back in '69-'70. We used to buy them and strip them down and sell them as parts. Some we used to drive in the scrub, after removing guards, bumpers and sale-able, easily damaged parts, and do "time trials" FMD there was some carnage. The Chrysler Royal even ended it's days as a scrub basher.

With the Holdens, if I bought the car, I'd get family discount, my brother got spotters fee, my old man got commission, and I just bought a nice FJ Holden for about $75.00.  ;D

« Reply #659 on: January 20, 2018, 03:30:23 PM »
WHHHHHHHAAAAT.

Never, ever, in a trillion years..... Better than Caddy..... I knew my ears were burning earlier.
I just thought that when ya took 3 Viagra, maybe ya ears do burn..... but NOOOOOOO. it was you.... you... you.
Oh, You horrible man.

I did own a 63 Pontiac about 20years ago, cool old LeadSled.

Hmmmph, better than a friggin Caddy... and its Cadillac, you friggin hick  :cheers:

« Reply #660 on: January 20, 2018, 03:31:25 PM »
WHHHHHHHAAAAT.

Never, ever, in a trillion years..... Better than Caddy..... I knew my ears were burning earlier.
I just thought that when ya took 3 Viagra, maybe ya ears do burn..... but NOOOOOOO. it was you.... you... you.
Oh, You horrible man.

I did own a 63 Pontiac about 20years ago, cool old LeadSled.

Hmmmph, better than a friggin Caddy... and its Cadillac, you friggin hick  :cheers:

« Reply #662 on: January 21, 2018, 05:09:56 AM »
At least it works, mildly funny, but 4 m and 30 s of your life you can never get back.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c4g2bp_gZDE
« Last Edit: January 21, 2018, 05:12:16 AM by Jeepers Creepers »

« Reply #663 on: January 22, 2018, 11:32:35 AM »

« Reply #664 on: January 22, 2018, 01:16:41 PM »
I don't mind those old thunderbirds and their prices are climbing every week, but geez, they had some rust issues over the years.

$120,000 seems pretty keen though.  ???

« Reply #665 on: January 22, 2018, 02:22:44 PM »
This is the Holden Statesman I picked up last week for $1,650.
Now, i did buy it off a very good mate and I did ask about 4 or 5 times...."are you sure?
The price was his idea, I didn't even try to haggle and I was prepared to spend more and he knew that.

He reckoned i'd done him plenty of good turns over the last 35 odd years we've known each other. (Buggered if I remember them)

Offline gordo350

« Reply #666 on: January 22, 2018, 02:25:57 PM »
Geez nice. Did you check for blood stains in the boot ?😎
Gordo 350
2015 Ford Ranger Super Cab
Aussie Jays Big Red
everyone is entitled to my opinion

« Reply #667 on: January 22, 2018, 02:27:42 PM »
This thing came with 18 inch wheels, good rubber.....nice rumbly exhaust and drives well.
Even though the odometer says 227,300, it copped a new 5.7 lt under warranty at 50,000, as a lot of them did due to oil usage and piston rattle.
It got few scraps, a dent in the bonnet and a million chips in the paint and while its not OLD or COOL, we both love it.

« Reply #668 on: January 22, 2018, 03:29:51 PM »
I'm sure you'll have it looking like new in a very short time.

Good pick up Jeepers.

« Reply #669 on: January 22, 2018, 03:32:30 PM »
Quote from: Jeepers Creepers
I don't mind those old thunderbirds and their prices are climbing every week, but geez, they had some rust issues over the years.

$120,000 seems pretty keen though.  ???
agree with rust and dreamy price... Bloke down the end of the street has a beautiful Thunderbird.. only ever see it outsid his shed, never driven in all the years I've beenhere

« Reply #670 on: January 22, 2018, 07:08:04 PM »

« Reply #671 on: January 23, 2018, 08:50:21 AM »
Reckon  one as a 4x4 dual cab sitting a bit higher would do me nicely  8)

« Reply #672 on: January 23, 2018, 01:54:49 PM »
Blah.

« Reply #674 on: January 23, 2018, 08:52:27 PM »
Heres ya body for it ;)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yhaaWxHQGdk

or something like this?

The following users thanked this post: edz, Ragman