Author Topic: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?  (Read 1731078 times)

Offline Champin

Re: What did you do in your shed / man cave today?
« Reply #5650 on: June 20, 2020, 08:20:21 PM »
C'mon Rusty....spill it. Whats yer pressy?

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

« Reply #5651 on: June 21, 2020, 07:45:28 AM »
Cleaned it up and moved some stuff to the garden shed so I can fit in a new present I bought for my self

Rusty

I know what it is..... I know what it is..... I know what it is............

Those new sex dolls are so life like too, but I won't tell..... ooops.

You might want to give it a good hose out too, seeing ya bought the 'Demo model" friggin tight arse.... Rusty, not the doll. oh, maybe it does.  ???

« Reply #5652 on: June 21, 2020, 08:50:36 AM »
I know what it is..... I know what it is..... I know what it is............

Those new sex dolls are so life like too, but I won't tell..... ooops.

You might want to give it a good hose out too, seeing ya bought the 'Demo model" friggin tight arse.... Rusty, not the doll. oh, maybe it does.  ???
you know he has the demo model?
Were you her 1st?
 >:D

« Reply #5653 on: June 21, 2020, 08:57:01 AM »
Ripped out the old ARB air compressor as it's flogged out. Installed the twin compressor and mounted it higher up. Few mods to the wiring loom and she was filling the 9ltr air tank in to full pressure in 90 seconds.
Had some spare parts so added a gauge.
Quick test in filling the tyre from 16psi to 36psi, I'm at extremely happy.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #5654 on: June 21, 2020, 09:44:05 AM »
Can't see what line you're running to your tank, but I found my twin was bursting the nylon airline, so had to switch to braided for heat resistance...

The twins are an awesome compressor, as are the singles

2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

« Reply #5655 on: June 21, 2020, 09:55:35 AM »
Can't see what line you're running to your tank, but I found my twin was bursting the nylon airline, so had to switch to braided for heat resistance...

The twins are an awesome compressor, as are the singles

Braided to tank with a tee, then festo PUN hose out to 3 points on ute.  Never had an issue before when using the festo PUN hose direct to single compressor. I thought this time I should use the braided line.
Next ute I'll use the braided line all round. It just looks nicer

Offline DrewXT

« Reply #5656 on: June 21, 2020, 10:12:17 AM »
I've got a stainless 18L tank that I've been procrastinating about putting under my ute... Can run a coil gun all day with the engine idling with that in it...

« Last Edit: June 21, 2020, 10:14:55 AM by DrewXT »
2013 Amarok Highline
2015 Customline Adventure Walkup

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #5657 on: June 21, 2020, 10:21:14 AM »
Gave some of the 12v outlets on the CT a bit of a tidy up
Rainy and Shitty outside today, so a few shed jobs 😎
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

Offline Coolblue80

« Reply #5658 on: June 21, 2020, 10:41:04 AM »
Last Saturday put new DBA T2 slotted rotors and Bendix pads all round on the Paj. Factory stuff has been playing up since 40k and now at 75k it was due. Pretty Shit run out of the factory stuff. Never been abused either.
Also welded up a new fire pit that a mate laser cut for me out of 4mm checker plate.
And finally this morning serviced both the kids motorbikes. TTR50 and TTR110. Don't think I'll bother servicing my Ching Chong 250. Going for a day trip to a local(ish) farm that lets you ride and 4wd there next Saturday. I'm very seriously looking at a new Kwaka KLX300R for me. Hopefully get it before the weekend if I pull the pin on it. Was looking at used DRZ400's and WR250's but don't see value in buying someone elses bucket. Pretty limited for choice in the S/H market close to home as well.
I reckon the KLX will be just the right bike for me. Enough poke to have a bit of fun and not enough to scare the beejesus out of me. Electric start and fuel injection and a pretty simple service schedule (unlike the RMZ, YZF, KXF etc).
Cheers, Mike.
2015 Mitsi Pajero. Dobbo MRR Lift, ARB Bar, MM4X4 Lock Up Mate, Intervolt DC Pro DBS, 12,000lb Mako winch. Bla Bla Bla.

96 80 Series. Lots of mods, not enough wheeling. - Gone but not forgotten.
Gulf King Warrior soft floor camper & 19ft Jayco Van

« Reply #5659 on: June 22, 2020, 11:06:23 AM »
I made a start on the big anvil/vice this weekend.

I posted the threaded rod earlier so wont bother with that again but it uses a 1" acme thread for the main drive.

Scrap steel sorted.....

Before I got too excited I made the main drive mechanism. It uses thrust bearings either side of the shaft that gets welded to the moveable part of the vice.

Who needs a furnace when you have a pot belly stove made from truck drums ;)

Welded the huge nut (not me) to the base plate and made sure it will never want to pull forward!

Front plate to main channel

Now for some reason I forgot to take pics of the next process but it was a case of welding big chunky pieces of steel together to form an anvil and then shaping it to make it pretty.
Its far from finished but it is very solid and heavy. I have to weld the main anvil piece to the base and do some sanding to finish it.

I made a set of hardened steel clamp plates and I also made a set of soft alloy plates. I need to weld the alloy plates together yet as I want them to be 20mm thick. Ill leave the welds as welds and polish them for wank factor.

Ill get some better pics when I finish it, these are just the ones I had on my phone.

Oh and I made a stand for it.

The stand is also heavy duty....I filled it with concrete  ;D

« Last Edit: June 22, 2020, 11:09:16 AM by DannyG »

« Reply #5660 on: June 22, 2020, 11:41:33 AM »
Nice job, Danny :cup:

But what are you going to use a beast like that for ???

« Reply #5661 on: June 22, 2020, 11:54:16 AM »
Nice job, Danny :cup:

But what are you going to use a beast like that for ???

Why does everyone ask these silly questions........Its going be an awesome conversation piece in my man cave  ;D

« Reply #5662 on: June 22, 2020, 12:07:25 PM »
& here I am, thinking that it actually had a serious use intended :o ::)

Silly me! ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #5663 on: June 22, 2020, 12:19:20 PM »
& here I am, thinking that it actually had a serious use intended :o ::)

Silly me! ;D ;D ;D

LOL Nah itll get used for its intended purpose....an anvil and vice.

I must be hard on equipment because I break every vice I buy. I am sick of buying them. They are not cheap and they are not built like they used to be.
I have been waiting for an old good quality one to come up on gumtree at the right price but it hasn't been happening.

So for less than $120 this thing is definitely unbreakable and the boys have been told to keep it in the family ;D

« Reply #5664 on: June 22, 2020, 03:08:55 PM »
When I was cleaning up my Dad’s old farm shed, I came across an old trolley frame...

So, gave it a refresh with new paint, new wheels and split pins...

As good as new...

Not sure I should put some protection on the uprights and lifting plate...

« Reply #5665 on: June 22, 2020, 03:24:10 PM »
When I was cleaning up my Dad’s old farm shed, I came across an old trolley frame...

As good as new...

I've got a similar, but a 3-wheel stair-climbing, one, that had to be retired from the Uni & "thrown out" ;D as one of the solid rubber tyres had cracked! ::)

I wouldn't put anything on the foot plate, & protection on the uprights would really depend on whether you were planning on lifting anything delicate ???

« Reply #5666 on: June 22, 2020, 04:07:21 PM »
I've got a similar, but a 3-wheel stair-climbing, one, that had to be retired from the Uni & "thrown out" ;D as one of the solid rubber tyres had cracked! ::)

I wouldn't put anything on the foot plate, & protection on the uprights would really depend on whether you were planning on lifting anything delicate ???

not really planning on lifting anything specific, but was just thinking about if it was worth it...

would like a stair climb one, but this frame was free... :)

« Reply #5667 on: June 27, 2020, 12:24:32 PM »
Finished this morning, about 40 hours invested in this one. Husband and wife team wanted a model of their rig. Approx 2.3m long
The following users thanked this post: Titfish, GeoffA

« Reply #5668 on: June 27, 2020, 12:59:09 PM »

The following users thanked this post: Pottsy

Offline NZMarkb

« Reply #5669 on: June 27, 2020, 03:48:07 PM »
Very cool mate, well done indeed
If your not prepaired to stand behind our troops
Then feel free to stand in front of them

Offline tombie

« Reply #5670 on: June 27, 2020, 06:16:49 PM »

As good as new...

Use pool noodles when you need some protection.

The following users thanked this post: paceman

« Reply #5671 on: June 27, 2020, 06:23:59 PM »
Hey Pottsy,
That's friggen awesome.
Love your work.
Thanks for sharing.

« Reply #5672 on: June 27, 2020, 07:39:42 PM »
Very very nice Pottsy. The rig is cool, but those U beams and grader just take it to the next level. Im embarrassed to show the "Now Playing" stand Im making ATM.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

« Reply #5673 on: June 27, 2020, 07:49:47 PM »
Very very nice Pottsy. The rig is cool, but those U beams and grader just take it to the next level. Im embarrassed to show the "Now Playing" stand Im making ATM.

Sent from my SM-T810 using Tapatalk

Mate, I love your work, look forward to seeing it, you are lucky to have access to some great timbers in the west.

Offline bmwfreak

• DunWerkin
« Reply #5674 on: June 27, 2020, 08:41:06 PM »
Awesome Pottsy :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
We've waited 45 years to do this. Now our life will be complete!!
2019 LC78 (troopy)
2018 21’6” On The Move TRAXX Series 2