General => General Discussion => Topic started by: fuji on May 19, 2015, 05:02:21 PM

Title: First Aid supplies?
Post by: fuji on May 19, 2015, 05:02:21 PM
Yes it has been discussed. I thought I would give GLC a hoy but it appears the phone has been disconnected. So I am looking for a supplier to supply me with the basics for our trip. Usual stuff, bandages, burns stuff, snake and insect bitey thingys etc. does anyone have a list already made up that they can post up? I am too lazy to do the search.  I have the bag and some basic stuff and want to add more. I believe we have a member of the medical profession who can offer some sound advice.

Thank ya
fuji
Title: Re: First Aid supplies?
Post by: chester ver2.0 on May 19, 2015, 05:08:39 PM
http://www.stjohnambulance.com.au/st-john/first-aid-kits-and-supplies/order-a-first-aid-kit (http://www.stjohnambulance.com.au/st-john/first-aid-kits-and-supplies/order-a-first-aid-kit)

I use the large leisure kit with a few extras thown in (Asprin, deep heat, immodium tablets etc etc)

This one goes in the car as the vehicle is with us most placed then we have a small one that goes in the hiking backpack
Post by: scarpsD40 on May 19, 2015, 06:11:28 PM
As good a kit as I've seen of late.
https://www.groceryrun.com.au/event/47126/product/210-piece-emergency-first-aid-kit-171722
Add to it a tube of Bentadine antiseptic oitment and some antihystemine tablets or pinch the kit from the local police station;D

There's over 5,000 Pharmacies located around Aus including in the Kimberley region, plus every major servo, 7/11 and supermarket sell basic supplies.  Top up on stuff as you need it.  Just make sure you check the use by dates on any liquids or tablets.
Post by: smartyingreen on May 19, 2015, 06:35:23 PM
https://www.groceryrun.com.au/event/47126/product/210-piece-emergency-first-aid-kit-171722
Add to it a tube of Bentadine antiseptic oitment and some antihystemine tablets or pinch the kit from the local police station;D

There's over 5,000 Pharmacies located around Aus including in the Kimberley region, plus every major servo, 7/11 and supermarket sell basic supplies.  Top up on stuff as you need it.  Just make sure you check the use by dates on any liquids or tablets.

Yep, anything like this will do what is meant with a first aid. Also include if you don't already some tweezers and splinter removers.
I like to include a hangover cure kit, but not everyone can or will canulate themselves!

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Post by: Patr80l on May 19, 2015, 06:57:04 PM
https://www.groceryrun.com.au/event/47126/product/210-piece-emergency-first-aid-kit-171722 (https://www.groceryrun.com.au/event/47126/product/210-piece-emergency-first-aid-kit-171722)

I've seen the kits in Police Stations.   I don't think they've been restocked since Ned Kelly was locked up.
Post by: Malcolm Tugless on May 19, 2015, 07:01:32 PM
http://www.stjohnambulance.com.au/st-john/first-aid-kits-and-supplies/order-a-first-aid-kit (http://www.stjohnambulance.com.au/st-john/first-aid-kits-and-supplies/order-a-first-aid-kit)

I use the large leisure kit with a few extras thown in (Asprin, deep heat, immodium tablets etc etc)

This one goes in the car as the vehicle is with us most placed then we have a small one that goes in the hiking backpack

wot e says.
Post by: edz on May 19, 2015, 07:30:15 PM
Big bottle of Bundy OP Rum and a roll of gaffa tape , plastic bag full of med swabs ;D
Post by: Homerj on May 19, 2015, 07:40:00 PM
I've seen the kits in Police Stations.   I don't think they've been restocked since Ned Kelly was locked up.

They've got a lot better the last few years.  Mine gets checked every month but because I'm the only one that uses it, it doesn't take much to keep it up to date.  If I get a paper cut in the office, I want to be sure the band aids aren't out of date.
Post by: Bird on May 19, 2015, 07:46:51 PM
Look at Safety Dave... I hve his outback kit.. pretty good, have that and a GLC one when he was around....
Post by: V8CRSA on May 19, 2015, 08:14:26 PM

Make sure you account for any "special needs" medication as well, also make sure you have gastro stop or something like that as well as some hydrolite.
We bought a kit many many years ago, we just do an annual clean out and restock from chemist warehouse or something of the like.

Post by: Patr80l on May 19, 2015, 09:49:02 PM
I believe we have a member of the medical profession who can offer some sound advice.
Hi Wayne,
If you already have a bag, you can make up quite a good kit for very little cost.   I assume you have done a first aid course or two between Vicpol and SES (if I recall).   A couple of points:
1.  DRSABCD comes first, and you haven't even opened your kit yet.
2. Your first aid kit is primarily for treating wounds, so most of the space will be taken up by bandages and dressings.   Minor wounds occur more often, so you will need plenty of bandaids/adhesive dressings.   More serious wounds occur less often.   Be prepared with some larger dressings but it is impossible to cater for all eventualities.
3. Knick knacks don't take up much room (eg splinter probe, scissors/shears, pen and note book)
4. To me, everyday things like panadol, medications and sunscreen etc belong in your toilet kit, not the first aid kit.
5. Alcohol swabs are to disinfect intact skin prior to giving an injection. They are not meant for cleaning a wound, but they are an easy addition to a commercial kit for minimal cost to the supplier.   Clean a dirty wound with saline or water.   A few 10ml plastic ampoules of saline are good for flushing wounds as well as irrigating eyes.
6. You can have a little kit in the glove box with band aids etc and maybe panadol, and the larger kit in the cargo area.
6. Improvise.    eg Glad wrap is a good burn dressing and it's sterile after you lose the first layer on the roll.    A rolled up towel makes a good neck brace or splint.

This is the list of contents of the StJohn Large Leisure Kit, which sounds like a good assortment.   However I've made some suggestions:-

1 Emergency First Aid Guide      Shouldn't need it if you've done a course and don't want to be fumbling with a book in a crisis
1 Crepe Bandage 5cm
2 Crepe Bandages 7.5cm
2 Heavy Duty Crepe Bandages 10cm
1 Zinc Oxide Tape 2.5cm x 5m I think this is cloth/strapping tape?
1 Hypo-Allergenic Tape 2.5cm x 9m
2 Triangular Bandages 110cm x 110cm
1 Disposable Instant Cold Pack
1 Universal Dressing Small
3 Pkts Gauze Swabs 7.5cm (Pkt of 3)
2 Combine Pads 10cm x 10cm
2 Combine Pads 10cm x 20cm
2 Non-Adherent Pads 7.5cm x 10cm
2 Non-Adherent Pads 5cm x 5cm
2 Sterile Eye Pads
1 Fabric dressing strip 6.3cm x 1m   Once you've opened it, it's no longer sterile.   The other dressings are better for large wounds
1 Pkt Alcohol Swabs (Pkt of 10)
1 Stainless Steel Sharp/Blunt Scissors 12.5cm
1 Sheers Trauma Scissors 14cm     Are they thin and translucent, or do they mean "shears"?
1 Stainless Steel Splinter Pointed Forceps   or maybe splinter probes instead
2 Emergency Shock Blankets
1 Pkt Safety Pins (Pkt of 12)
1 Notepad & Pencil
2 Plastic Specimen Bags
10 Eye Saline & Wound Irrigation 15mL
5 Primapore Dressings 8.3cm x 6cm
1 Pkt Plastic Adhesive Strips (Pkt of 50)
1 Pkt Fabric Adhesive Strips (Pkt of 50)
1 Pkt Disposable Splinter Probes (Pkt of 5)
1 Pkt Antiseptic Swabs (Pkt of 10)
2 Pkts Sting & Itch Relief Sachets 3ml (Pkt of 5)   Toiletries ??
5 Pairs Disposable Nitrile Gloves Large
4 Sunscreen Sachets 30+ 10ml Toiletries
1 Resuscitation Protection Shield   See point 1.

Maybe I'd add a little torch, but better off keeping that in the glove box.   A head lamp is useful at night.   Beyond this stuff, my own kit has diagnostic stuff (stethoscope, BP cuff, oxygen and glucose meters etc), more drugs and airways, splits and collars.   

If buying a lot of stock, Google medical suppliers like Warner Webster and RG Medical.   Much cheaper than your local pharmacy.

Hope this helps.  Greg.
Post by: ATC on May 19, 2015, 10:48:32 PM
I keep a led torch in the first aid kit, and spare batteries.

That torch is only for the kit.

Also stocked up on the saline, and universal dressings of various sizes.
Doesn't hurt to throw a few extra $ worth of stuff in there.

Post by: smartyingreen on May 19, 2015, 11:32:00 PM
1 Disposable Instant Cold Pack

1 Sheers Trauma Scissors 14cm     Are they thin and translucent, or do they mean "shears"?

If you are trying to save on room I would do away with cold pack - your fridge or esky contents should help you there.

This listing is certainly suggesting shears that are useful to cut away heavy denim, leather, seat belts or shoes/boots etc.

Have fun restocking!

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Post by: cruiser 91 on May 20, 2015, 08:50:19 AM
I purchased mine off fleebay, there are heaps. You can also buy from those workplace stores, the ones that sell fluro work clothing and boots.
Post by: Bird on May 20, 2015, 10:15:24 AM
Quote from: smartyingreen
If you are trying to save on room I would do away with cold pack - your fridge or esky contents should help you there.
Cold packs will stay colder longer than a bag of peas, and don't take up any room.

Great list there Doc!

Post by: Patr80l on May 20, 2015, 12:23:24 PM
Cold packs will stay colder longer than a bag of peas, and don't take up any room.

Great list there Doc!

Ice packs only need to be applied for 15 mins or so, so it may not matter if they lose their coldness after that.
The list comes from the StJohn's kit, so I cant take too much credit (just got rid of some of the unnecessaries.)
Post by: IanC on May 20, 2015, 12:49:40 PM
I also threw in a pair of 2 x magnifying glasses.  Helps with splinters etc.  Probably not as useful for those with 20/20.
Post by: BernieS on May 20, 2015, 01:49:13 PM
In case I missed it on the list... I'd also add some Saline Solution. Very good for flushing eyes in case of foreign bodies.  Needed some for the pup last week, lucky I had some in my kit.  BTW, he's all good now. :)
Post by: tracker on May 20, 2015, 04:21:09 PM

Will beer get cold as well Bird...... ;D ;D

Great list there Doc!
Post by: Patr80l on May 20, 2015, 10:22:22 PM
I also threw in a pair of 2 x magnifying glasses.  Helps with splinters etc.  Probably not as useful for those with 20/20.
I got the two-for-one deal from SpecSavers for my reading glasses.   When I really need to deal with the itsy bitsy, I wear them both together!
Post by: dales133 on May 20, 2015, 10:47:07 PM
I got the two-for-one deal from SpecSavers for my reading glasses.   When I really need to deal with the itsy bitsy, I wear them both together!
Magnaplasums good stuff especially for us blind bastards
Post by: jeeps on May 22, 2015, 09:48:29 PM
I'm selling a range of first aid gear on my site: http://www.aussiestormshop.com.au/collections/first-aid (http://www.aussiestormshop.com.au/collections/first-aid)

MySwag members get a discount with the code MYSWAG13

Post by: alnjan on May 22, 2015, 10:05:34 PM
Just had a look at your site Jeeps, not bad.  Will have to get Jan to have a look as she is chasing replacement gear for our first aid kits
Post by: alnjan on May 22, 2015, 10:30:23 PM
Hi, it's Jan - Al's other half.  I had a quick look at the Remote Area Kit you offer Jeeps and at this point in time I have to say I'm impressed.  It seems to have most of what I want/need to restock our existing first aid kit, without too many extraneous items.

I've just finished a 3-week stint of proofreading, so give me a couple of days to return from the 18th century and get my head around modern-day language again, and I may have some questions for you.

Jan
xxxx
Post by: jeeps on May 23, 2015, 09:57:22 PM
No worries, let me know if you need any more information. Most of the larger kits are workplace health and safety compliant. I can supply compliant kits for specific workplaces too.

Post by: alnjan on May 26, 2015, 11:40:21 PM
Basically, I want to re-stock our first aid kit as we've had the items in it for quite some time now.  We're planning a trip to the top-end in 2018, for about 6-8 months, and hope to stay in some of the remoter areas for a month or so at a time...and I'm accident-prone.

I don't do it on purpose; but take me out of my natural environment and I start to have accidents - I learnt fairly early on that a good knife is a sharp knife, as it does less damage...sort of! At least the cut heals more neatly.  Oh and hot things and I aren't good together.  I blame my eyes for not judging distances/depth for that problem; it couldn't possibly be because I'm clumsy.  ???

So really, what I need to know first, is would I be better to put the first aid kit together closer to the time we're leaving?  Taking into consideration use by dates and all that sort of stuff, as I don't know just how long "sterile until opened" actually is.

Jan
xxxx
Post by: Bird on May 27, 2015, 09:37:08 AM
Basically, I want to re-stock our first aid kit as we've had the items in it for quite some time now.  We're planning a trip to the top-end in 2018, for about 6-8 months, and hope to stay in some of the remoter areas for a month or so at a time...and I'm accident-prone.

I don't do it on purpose; but take me out of my natural environment and I start to have accidents - I learnt fairly early on that a good knife is a sharp knife, as it does less damage...sort of! At least the cut heals more neatly.  Oh and hot things and I aren't good together.  I blame my eyes for not judging distances/depth for that problem; it couldn't possibly be because I'm clumsy.  ???

So really, what I need to know first, is would I be better to put the first aid kit together closer to the time we're leaving?  Taking into consideration use by dates and all that sort of stuff, as I don't know just how long "sterile until opened" actually is.

Jan
xxxx
if its out of date now and you renew your stock now it will be out of date again by the trip... so do it now and do it again 2 weeks before you leave...
Post by: alnjan on May 27, 2015, 12:39:32 PM
When she says out of date, she really means by 10-20 yrs out of date.
Post by: Bird on May 27, 2015, 01:00:45 PM
When she says out of date, she really means by 10-20 yrs out of date.
LOL! mines about 2 yrs out, and Im concerned ;)
Post by: alnjan on May 27, 2015, 02:09:53 PM
most of the usual stuff has been used and needs restocking, the other stuff you really use and really don't want to be in the situation you have to use is still sealed up the same as when the kits were bought
Post by: alnjan on May 27, 2015, 10:16:34 PM
I've actually gone through and discarded the open packs. So I'm left with dressings that have "sterile until open" on them, and about half the world's supply of triangular bandages I reckon.

It may be overkill, but I plan to get a set of air splints to take with us.  I've had a broken leg and it wasn't pleasant for the time it took to get me to hospital.  It's not something I want to be spending time with again, if it arises.  I know you can use all sorts of things to use as splints, my dad was fanatical about keeping his first aid courses up-to-date and teaching us whatever he learnt, but sticks and lengths of rope or belts aren't all that comfy on not-broken limbs, let alone broken ones....

Now here's a question for the more medically-minded in relation to the air splints - can they be used with a Compound Fracture.  I only ask because when I broke my leg, there was only the skin keeping the bone inside the leg.  IF the bone is sticking out can I pad it?  I'd have to pad it, wouldn't I, because there'd be bleeding...and can an air splint still be used in that situation?

Possibly, I have too much time to think.   :-[

Jan
xxxx
Post by: plusnq on May 27, 2015, 10:26:27 PM
Anything compound you would need to dress. The problem with an air splint is the alignment has to reasonably good or you are manipulating the fracture and risk further injury.
Post by: alnjan on May 27, 2015, 11:11:47 PM
thank you for that.  might have to re-think things a bit I reckon.

jan
xxxx
Post by: Patr80l on May 28, 2015, 05:45:42 PM
I agree with plusnq.   Any open wound needs to be covered.   Infection is a nasty complication of a compound (ie open) fracture that is very difficult to clear once established.
Other than that, all cases are different.   Sometimes an air splint will be best, sometimes a SAM splint or improvised splint will be required.   Air splints are bulky and you tend to need a different one for each body part.   I reckon a leg and/or half leg would be handy but you can probably improvise or use a SAM splint for the upper limb.
Post by: alnjan on May 30, 2015, 10:09:52 PM
I've been doing more research into the Air Splints and talked to one of our local Ambo drivers, ex, admittedly, but he's only been out of the job for a couple of years.  He said the Ambulance Service removed all their Air Splints and he personally, doesn't recommend them.  What he did strongly recommend was Waxed Cardboard Splints.  He said they're easy to use, fold flat for storage, and don't cause complications - apparently the pressure in the Air Splints will vary depending on the temperature, that they can cause all kinds of problems, including Compartment Syndrome - which can lead to death.  So I'm going to get a couple of the Waxed Cardboard Splints and hope we don't have an occasion to ever use them.  But at under $10 each, they're a lot more affordable than the undesirable Air Splint.   This is a link in case anyone is interested in checking them out -

https://shop.parasol.com.au/search/node/?x=0&y=0&keys=splints

Oh, and he also suggested putting in a box of condoms.  No joking!  He said they're really useful for carrying things, including about 2 litres of water per condom.  Something to consider.

Jan
xxxx
Post by: DSzuke on May 31, 2015, 07:35:49 AM
Cardboard are definitely the way to go. Very versatile and can easily be cut down to accommodate different sizes and fractures.

If money is no object... google "CT-6". It is primarily for femur fractures (which are particularly painful!) but can be utilised for other fractures as well.

I try to only include things that have a dual purpose in my first aid kit.... now you've given me an excuse to pack condoms!
Post by: fuji on June 12, 2015, 09:43:06 PM
My new supplies have arrived.
Post by: scarpsD40 on June 12, 2015, 09:59:04 PM

My new supplies have arrived.
I can't see any snake oil?
Post by: fuji on June 13, 2015, 03:30:52 PM
Mate, you probably sell the stuff, where can I get some?
Post by: scarpsD40 on June 13, 2015, 03:42:31 PM
Mate, you probably sell the stuff, where can I get some?
http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&alt=web&id=310876745547&globalID=EBAY-AU
Post by: Bird on September 17, 2019, 10:49:04 AM
So its time to refresh the first aid kits again.

Anyone got good places for supplies these days ???
Post by: Swannie on September 17, 2019, 12:28:27 PM
So its time to refresh the first aid kits again.

Anyone got good places for supplies these days ???
Get a list of what you need and go into a chemist. Cheap as
Post by: Troopy_03 on September 17, 2019, 01:39:16 PM
Yep, get yourself a decent sized tackle box or sewing box, and go to Chemist Warehouse.
Post by: plusnq on September 17, 2019, 01:47:21 PM
I go to Chemist Warehouse for most restocking and use specialist suppliers for the more exotic stuff like splints etc.
Post by: Pete79 on September 17, 2019, 05:53:03 PM
I find it’s a good habit to grab a couple of things for the first aid kits whenever I’m in the chemist getting normal everyday things.

I just chuck all of these randomly collected bits and pieces into the emergency drawer that’s in our hallway at home.
Then when I’m packing for a decent trip I just bring the travel kit into the house and restock as required.

Now I just have to remember that I have more then enough various sized clear plastic patches.... ;)
There was a period when I must have grabbed a handful of them every time I went and bought a packet of panadol. The emergency drawer is overflowing with those things now... ;D
Post by: Brij on September 21, 2019, 07:26:44 AM
I have to maintain about 8 depot and workshop kits, and about 100 small kits that we carry in all ou trucks and vehicles. It's amazing what has a use by date on it.

I use this mob https://www.1staidkits.com.au/product-category/specials/ (https://www.1staidkits.com.au/product-category/specials/)

Prices are about as cheap as i can find and can do mail order, although I generally pre order and pick up on a trip past his little shop front.
Small family business and always helpful with practical advice as the owner is also a trainer and does first aid duties at events as well.
Post by: Bird on September 21, 2019, 12:44:36 PM
Quote from: Brij
It's amazing what has a use by date on it.
Couldnt agree more... how does a still sealed up bandage expire?
Post by: lloydus67 on September 21, 2019, 01:44:21 PM
I couldn’t agree more. However from a liability side of things, as a small business owner I remove all expired first aid items from the work and van kits, but they go straight into my personal kits for the home and 4by

Post by: plusnq on September 21, 2019, 02:21:48 PM

Not just bandages
http://www.usmedicine.com/agencies/department-of-defense-dod/dodfda-program-seeks-to-extend-lives-of-expired-medications/
Post by: Brij on September 21, 2019, 11:01:08 PM
I couldn’t agree more. However from a liability side of things, as a small business owner I remove all expired first aid items from the work and van kits, but they go straight into my personal kits for the home and 4by

I do the same  ;D