Author Topic: 4WD Touring Australia Readers Rigs Comp  (Read 6245 times)

Offline Pat Williams

4WD Touring Australia Readers Rigs Comp
« on: March 01, 2016, 05:10:26 PM »
G'day MySwaggers,
Just putting up a post to let you all know that we're looking for more entries for this month's 4WD Touring Australia magazine Readers Rigs competition.

We run this competition each month and some of the best entries we've received have come from MySwag members. All you've got to do is send in a photo of your 4WD to letters@4wdtouring.com.au and add a little bit of information including some details on any modifications or accessories you've added and where you've taken it.

We'll publish photos of our favourite two 4WDs in the magazine, and the winner will receive two hard copy touring maps of their choice from Hema Maps.

So if you've got a nice 4WD that you're proud of, send us a pic for your chance to see it printed in the mag and to get your hands on a great prize from Hema.

Please send all entries to letters@4wdtouring.com.au

Cheers!  :cheers:

Pat

Re: 4WD Touring Australia Readers Rigs Comp
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2016, 05:30:16 PM »
Can I enter again........been a coupla years since I won......... >:D >:D ;D

Offline tk421

• Out of the Office... Road trips round Australia
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2016, 07:07:27 PM »
So do we need 4" lifts, 3" exhausts and 35" tires to win? Or do the family tourers get a look in?
“It is good to have an end to journey toward; but it is the journey that matters, in the end.”  - Ernest Hemingway

Offline callmejoe

« Reply #3 on: March 01, 2016, 10:23:58 PM »
Either way.
Your got to be in it to win it.

Life's wasn't meant to be fair.
Well so I've been told. ..

« Reply #4 on: March 01, 2016, 10:38:15 PM »
I've only got a 2" and 33s and won. Yes, mine's very modified tho.
As Joe said, gotta be in it to win it.......

time

« Reply #5 on: March 02, 2016, 09:23:27 AM »
This was my winning description back in 2013,

The Patrol is a 2005 GU IV 4.2tdi with a bit fruit; 3" exhaust and dump pipe, "tuned" turbo, lifted, 285X75X16 Mickey Thompson FC IIs on 16X8 Kings steelies, Bullbar with Warn Tabor Winch, ARB side steps and brush bars,rear Kaymar bar with twin wheel carriers, ARB compressor under the bonnet, rear drawers from ORS carrying a 37 l Engel and a 50 l Waeco fridge.  HF and UHF radios, cargo barrier, built in sound system running GPS with IGO8 and Ozi CE, 3 batteries, a 760cca starter and two AGMs 100 ah and 105 ah to power the fridges and radios. The camper is a 2005 Kimberley Kamper Limited running the same wheel and tyre combo as the Patrol.

« Last Edit: March 03, 2016, 07:04:21 AM by time »

« Reply #6 on: March 02, 2016, 12:26:23 PM »
Do they harvest the entries to try and sell you or market stuff at you later??

One of my top 5 angst triggers. ..  and don't tell me about "opt out" buttons    total BS.....

You get out and in to the world -- you take more @#&$. …You climb a little higher, ..you take less @#&$.  …Till one day -- you're up in the rarefied atmosphere -- and you've forgotten what @#&$ even looks like….  Welcome to the layer cake son.

Offline Traveller

« Reply #7 on: March 02, 2016, 01:29:32 PM »
I was lucky enough to get chosen a while ago and had a very positive experience. Gratefully received my 2 maps, the company was great to deal with, and they certainly didn't pass on our email address so others could pester us.

Our fourby is a tourer and looks quite stock, so don't let the thought of them wanting a 'tough' tourer put you off either (ours still has the 265-75x16 on stock rims). Give it a go, you never know.

I am also wondering how long it has to be between entries.

« Reply #8 on: March 02, 2016, 02:21:58 PM »
Do they harvest the entries to try and sell you or market stuff at you later??

One of my top 5 angst triggers. ..  and don't tell me about "opt out" buttons    total BS.....

I recon it will be hard to sell someone fruit they already have fitted to the tug.
With that in mind, it would make sense that they award a prise to folk who don't quite have the gear, the rigs that aren't called a rig yet as its owner still hasn't fitted something else he or she wants.

« Reply #9 on: March 02, 2016, 07:26:14 PM »
With that in mind, it would make sense that they award a prise to folk who don't quite have the gear, the rigs that aren't called a rig yet as its owner still hasn't fitted something else he or she wants.
Sounds just like my vehicle, i got a heap of stuff i want to add to it...just can't afford it  :'( :'(

Offline Palmer

« Reply #10 on: March 02, 2016, 07:36:33 PM »
Either way.
Your got to be in it to win it.

Agree, I've just got to get off my butt and get an entry sorted.

Offline pinarelloman

« Reply #11 on: March 04, 2016, 04:28:06 AM »
I just entered, lets see how we go.
Here is my entry.
My vehicle is a 2006 HDJ100 Landcruiser with a few extras. It is fitted with the 4.2 factory turbo diesel with a Dtronic chip and Beaudesert exhaust. The driveline has a front and rear E locker, 2”lifted suspension with ARB rear springs and Bilstein shocks all round. It is fitted with an ARB bulbar and a Kaymar rear bar with twin wheel carriers. I run a Inawise tyre pressure monitor to keep track of tyre pressures on both the camper and vehicle. Inside we have Black Widow draws with a cargo barrier to keep the occupants safe, while travelling with the camper, the braking is taken care of by a Redarc Towpro which is excellent. An Icom 440 pro takes care of inter vehicle communication, while an Inmarsat Isatphone Pro takes care of any long distance calls when travelling outback.

Landcruiser HDJ100 5spd auto.
Australian Off Road camper 2009 Oddyssey export signature.

« Reply #12 on: March 04, 2016, 09:10:01 AM »

I have entered the cruiser twice and twice I have come second.  :'(

Offline Clouty

« Reply #13 on: March 04, 2016, 06:14:11 PM »
Sounds just like my vehicle, i got a heap of stuff i want to add to it...just can't afford it  :'( :'(
Maybe if you go to work you might be able to afford it ;D

« Reply #14 on: March 04, 2016, 06:15:31 PM »
Maybe if you go to work you might be able to afford it ;D
i worked harder today winding those fish in then I do at work, does that count?  ;D

« Reply #15 on: March 04, 2016, 06:17:02 PM »

At least your consistent mate  :cup:  :cheers:  :cup:  :cheers:

« Reply #16 on: March 04, 2016, 06:34:13 PM »

where all good toymotas belong........ ;D ;D

Patrol  :cup:

« Reply #17 on: March 04, 2016, 07:06:16 PM »

thats cause you own drive an $80,000 ute

« Reply #18 on: March 04, 2016, 10:03:00 PM »
thats cause you own drive an $80,000 ute
i wish that was all it had cost me  :'(