Author Topic: 4x4 awning  (Read 4350 times)

Offline tikety

4x4 awning
« on: February 15, 2016, 02:07:04 PM »
Just fitted an adventure King 2.5 x2.5 awning from 4x4 supacentre $180 delivered seems good value for the $$$

Offline campingaroundoz

• When smoking a fish, never inhale
    • Our big lap
Re: 4x4 awning
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2016, 02:24:57 PM »
I got the adventure king 2x2.5 wish I got the 2.5x2.5 now, anyway had no issues with it seems get value to me.
Follow me camper pentacost
https://www.facebook.com/campingaroundoz

« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2016, 10:43:27 AM »
I got the 2.5 x 2.5 and I am happy with it.  The fly mesh was also a good buy and works well.

I did have a few dramas across the Simpson desert and the 1000's of km on dirt roads etc.  the bolts which act as the hinge for the side arms were a tad short.  The nylon nuts rattled loose (as did heaps of other bits in the car). I would replace them with slightly longer bolts and nylon nuts.

Also when I didn't peg it down (my fault) a gust of wind blew it over, with the same bolts tearing themselves partly out of the aluminium channel. I have since repaired it with 3mm aluminium bracing.

« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2016, 12:15:54 PM »
Just fitted 3M X 3M awning.
Heaps of room.

Offline needles

« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2016, 04:29:29 AM »
Tigers11 2.5x2.5m. I think it's basically the same as the adventure kings. Bought mine a couple of years ago but it hasn't had much use. I had to buy rhino bracket kit (about $18 from memory) to attach to my roofrack because the supplied brackets were rididuclously big and incompatible with my racks.

Offline me217

• datebest.net - visit website and win smartphone!
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2016, 12:45:49 PM »
i bought a roo systems 2m x 2.5m from 4wdsupacentre for $99 plus postage. used it a couple of times, and its still good.
https://t.me/pump_upp

Offline iggy3860

« Reply #6 on: February 18, 2016, 05:05:26 PM »
Just fitted 3M X 3M awning.
Heaps of room.
G'day Hairs

What brand is your 3 x 3 m awning & from where did you get it?

Ian
Iggy
[Ian McLaren]
Mazda BT50
VKS737 Mobile 0134

« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2016, 06:12:43 PM »
G'day Hairs

What brand is your 3 x 3 m awning & from where did you get it?

Ian

Hi Ian,
It took me awhile  to find a 3x3 awning, found one on eBay.
It doesn't have a name brand on it.
Seems put together well, used my own ropes and pegs tho. Used last Sunday, a very hot cloudless day, it was warm under, but I reckon it would of be warm under anything, even a silver ply tarp.
Thinking about getting another one for the drivers side. They are the same width as a 3x3 gazebo, this will make for a light easy two day camp instead of taking the camper.
We paid $186.00 delivered about 6 weeks ago.
Here is a link, looks like they have gone up in price to $220.00
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/171684915531?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Safe travels.
The following users thanked this post: iggy3860

Offline iggy3860

« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2016, 07:22:07 AM »
Hi Ian,
It took me awhile  to find a 3x3 awning, found one on eBay.
It doesn't have a name brand on it.
Seems put together well, used my own ropes and pegs tho. Used last Sunday, a very hot cloudless day, it was warm under, but I reckon it would of be warm under anything, even a silver ply tarp.
Thinking about getting another one for the drivers side. They are the same width as a 3x3 gazebo, this will make for a light easy two day camp instead of taking the camper.
We paid $186.00 delivered about 6 weeks ago.
Here is a link, looks like they have gone up in price to $220.00
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/171684915531?_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Safe travels.

Thanks for that Hairs.
I suspected that it might an Ebay item. The biggest I have found from a commercial provider is 2.5 x 2.5m.
Ian
Iggy
[Ian McLaren]
Mazda BT50
VKS737 Mobile 0134
The following users thanked this post: Hairs

Offline Mitch92

« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2016, 08:16:33 AM »
Thanks for that Hairs.
I suspected that it might an Ebay item. The biggest I have found from a commercial provider is 2.5 x 2.5m.
Ian

Tough toys do a 2.5x3
The following users thanked this post: iggy3860

Offline iggy3860

« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2016, 04:37:34 PM »
Tough toys do a 2.5x3

Will look into it.
Ian