Author Topic: 100 Series on unleaded....  (Read 6469 times)

Offline Paul (SA)

100 Series on unleaded....
« on: April 27, 2013, 09:39:09 PM »
Hi folks,

I am looking into a new 4wd and have looked at a second hand 100 series. Would prefer diesel as I have have heard plenty about their reliability, but this looks like a tempting offer.  I will do the usual RAA report and get my trusted mechanic to look over it before handing over any money. I am also going to get a look at LCOOL as well, but know there are a few swaggers with some knowledge on these things.

My question is do the unleaded cruisers have the same reputation for reliability as their diesel cousins?

Cheers, Paul
2014 NW Pajero
2012 Jayco Swift OB

Re: 100 Series on unleaded....
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2013, 09:44:30 PM »
Absolutely, been running mine for 5 years and never put a spanner on it.

Offline Paul (SA)

« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2013, 09:49:04 PM »
Thanks cracka
2014 NW Pajero
2012 Jayco Swift OB

liney

« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2013, 12:21:33 AM »
Love our V8 petrol. No dramas and heaps of power.

Offline Proudy

« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2013, 04:40:17 AM »
I've got a 4.5 petrol had it for about 8 years and never missed a beat.
Landcruiser 76 with lots of fruit

« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2013, 07:05:31 AM »
Reliability is synonymous with Toyota, not just Land Cruiser.

I'm on my third petrol 100 Series, love 'em.

« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2013, 07:09:12 AM »

Got my 2000 model for a great buy , would love to have got a diesel model but for the price and being in immaculate condition I had to buy it.

Oh What A Feeling  ;D

« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2013, 07:11:58 AM »
Ditto...........we have the V8 petrol and also love the power, have owned it for exactly 1 year now and all you do is put the key in and go................love it   :cup:

Offline GeeTee

• GT Campers premium off-road trailers and Toyota Hilux Expedition conversions
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2013, 07:37:21 AM »
I'm not sure if you are using the word 'unleaded' to describe 'petrol' but yes there are plenty of high-kay petrol Toyotas out there.
USA - a big market for Toyota - adopted ULP in the early 1970s so Toyota has been working with ULP for a long while.
Petrol offers reduced servicing costs so for many people is a better decision from an overall $ point of view.

And an LPG conversion is a possibility too!

« Last Edit: April 30, 2013, 11:21:29 AM by GeeTee »

GT Campers: Off-road touring trailer or Toyota Hilux Expedition
Purpose-designed and built off-road touring vehicles. Innovation not imitation!
Find us on Facebook

Offline jetcrew

• "Lar's N Crew"
  • The more you spend the less you go ? make sense!
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2013, 08:30:29 AM »
I had a 4.5ltr petrol 100 series 1998 model ..sold with 300000k on clock was a great car.

Now have a v8 2006 100 series. 60,000k

As others have said the big petrol cruisers are equally as reliable as their diesel cousins .

You will hear lots about fuel usage , but as others have said the overall ownership costs are often in favour of the petrols. This is situationally dependant , however for me I love petrols, cheap to buy, lots of power and proven to be a good investment.

Jet.  ;D ;D
RV POWER SOLUTIONS
sales@rvpowersolutions.com.au
Solar and RV Power Specialists
https://www.facebook.com/pages/RV-Power-Solutions/1610471999204535

« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2013, 08:58:21 AM »
Yep as others have said....... i've also got a '98 Petrol 100 series, i bought it 6 yrs ago of the original owner, it had around 150,000 klms on it at the time, it's now got about 270,000klms on it, and still going strong. I've never owned a Diesel 4wd, though i have driven plenty of them (work in the mining industry), in my opinion, the auto /petrols are better all round, they are tops for low range 4wd work, due to instant throttle response, no stalling, clutch riding etc, just roll on through with a couple of right pedal stabs when u need it............. and as for the high range travelling, you have a big gutsy engine under the hood, that will sit on 100kph all day, and if sitting behind a slow mover out on the highway, the big petrols have plenty of acceleration even when already doing ~90kph or such....... Fuel consumption figures between the Petrol and Diesels are close enough it's not worth worrying about, service costs on the petrols are cheaper.... have u ever wondered why all the diesels are turbo'd? It's to try and keep up with the Petrol models.... :laugh: ..... oh and don't forget, if you love BIG POWER, you can get bolt on Superchargers for the 4.5ltrs.......... hehehe, but you'd have to upgrade the drawbar on your CT, cos i reckon a blown 4.5 ltr cruiser would stretch most drawbars. ;D

Go on buy it!!

Offline Paul (SA)

« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2013, 09:51:01 AM »
Thanks for your input everyone. I am going to pin my ears back and go for it. Look for some new vehicle pics soon!!

Cheers, Paul.
2014 NW Pajero
2012 Jayco Swift OB

Offline Moto Mech

« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2013, 10:58:11 AM »
I would say in most cases petrol Cruisers are more reliable than diesels. I sold my diesel cruiser to buy a petrol, love it.
ARB, the only gear for my Landcruiser 105
Red Earth Camper Trailer

« Reply #13 on: April 28, 2013, 07:06:43 PM »
I would say in most cases petrol Cruisers are more reliable than diesels. I sold my diesel cruiser to buy a petrol, love it.
I agree the petrol motors are reliable, no bulletproof, but I think the diesel from Toyota is another step above the petrol with reliability.  My last cruza I owned for ten years putting quite a few km,s on.  I serviced it with oil and filters and not a single thing else needed replacing in ten years.  After owning it for 8 years I had an opportunity to get a mates mate to time it for free.  He didn't need to adjust it, he said the timing was spot on.  Now this cruza I have has for 4 years, changed oil and filters regularly and just recently changed timing belt.  That's it for 14 years of owning a Toyota diesel, oil and filters.
BTW, my average fuel consumption is between 13-14 lts per 100.  I know that that is not good compared to other diesel 100s but mine carries a lot of weight around and has a roof rack, snorkel, mud tyres and quite a few other heavy goodies that affect fuel economy.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2013, 07:11:18 PM by muzza01 »

« Reply #14 on: April 28, 2013, 07:28:05 PM »
I'm a diesel fan myself, but have a few mates with 100's on petrol.

Use a bit more fuel but offset by less servicing costs.
We've talked numbers and figures before and unless your doing heaps and heaps of outback miles you're probably better off with the petrol.
(Its just my opinion - please don't shoot!!!!)

Heaps around and not too many bad stories, so it must be good.......

I also love the rumble of the big V8..........get a good exhaust, you'll love it.

« Reply #15 on: April 28, 2013, 09:44:36 PM »
I have a 4.5L petrol which has the LPG conversion and most of the time it runs on LPG with no problems at all.  It is a heavy fuel user but runs like a dream and pulls anything I put behind it with ease.  Servicing it is cheaper than my previous diesel and over a long treck the added cost of fuel is minimal.

Luv it

« Reply #16 on: April 28, 2013, 10:01:56 PM »
Reliability is synonymous with Toyota, not just Land Cruiser.

I'm on my third petrol 100 Series, love 'em.

These 2 statements appear to be somewhat contradictory.......... ;D ;D ;D

Offline grafy82

« Reply #17 on: April 28, 2013, 11:27:51 PM »

Sorry...did anybody else hear another Nissan dying? ;D
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=16864.0

You can't believe everything you read on the Internet. - Julius Caesar

« Reply #18 on: April 29, 2013, 09:48:52 AM »

Geoff, I simply traded up. Had an early straight 6, then a V8, and now have the very last of the V8 100s.

« Reply #19 on: April 29, 2013, 11:14:20 AM »
We are just back from a week at Warroora Station.
Driving back with the 4.7 V8 with the KK behind us is so easy.

Offline gypsymama

« Reply #20 on: April 29, 2013, 12:08:30 PM »
I'm not a "car" enthusiast by a long shot. We had a petrol 100 series, and it was a complete dog 6 cylinder version. Broke down all the time. When it was working, it cost an absolute fortune to run. Would never buy one ever again. Ever. Diesel all the way for us.

« Reply #21 on: April 29, 2013, 12:21:09 PM »
Geoff, I simply traded up. Had an early straight 6, then a V8, and now have the very last of the V8 100s.

Yeah, I know Jules......

They're a great thing. I just saw an opportunity to take the p...... ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #22 on: April 29, 2013, 01:06:15 PM »
Yeah, I know Jules......

They're a great thing. I just saw an opportunity to take the p...... ;D ;D ;D

Yes mate, I was simply being more mature, unlike you blokes driving GQ 17s :laugh:

« Reply #23 on: April 29, 2013, 05:40:46 PM »
Yes mate, I was simply being more mature, unlike you blokes driving GQ 17s :laugh:

Mine's probably more like a 9 or a 10........... ;D ;D.........