General => General Discussion => Topic started by: achjimmy on June 07, 2016, 06:20:15 PM

Title: Getting an XR6 Turbo
Post by: achjimmy on June 07, 2016, 06:20:15 PM
So I am wifes getting a FG2 XR6 turbo.

Ex lease car with known history came up, sold the wifes pulsar and the rodeo as decided I wanted a bit of Aussie muscle before they all go! Iam not a big ford fan and I can't bring myself to say the word fal.... So I'll just call it the "turbo" or XR6  ;D

But jeez they haul arse?  And I have read up and explained to the wife how they need a few bits like exhaust and injectors and a "special tune" to make them more efficient  :cheers:

Haven't been this excited about a car in a while, hope it holds up.
Title: Re: Getting an XR6 Turbo
Post by: D4D on June 07, 2016, 06:25:56 PM
Cool, I was thinking the same thing and tried to get the missus to like the new SS Commondore Sportswagon Redline Z series blah blah blah, alas she wasn't having any of it.
Post by: Bird on June 07, 2016, 06:32:51 PM
Cool, I was thinking the same thing and tried to get the missus to like the new SS Commondore Sportswagon Redline Z series blah blah blah, alas she wasn't having any of it.
easier to ask for forgiveness than permission...

love my taxi
(http://www.gupatrol.com/myswag/pontiac.jpg)
Post by: Nick74 on June 07, 2016, 07:02:06 PM
hhhhmmmmm Brembos front and rear..............tasty!! What other 'safety' mods does the wagooon have?
Post by: Bird on June 07, 2016, 07:31:31 PM
Quote from: Nick74
hhhhmmmmm Brembos front and rear..............tasty!! What other 'safety' mods does the wagooon have?
not much yet.. I'd like to get a cam in it, but apparently the L76 doesn't play nice cause it has that cylinder cut out gig :( and exhaust system I got quoted on was 3000... so for now... not much
Post by: Jkblmm on June 07, 2016, 07:56:15 PM
Nice !!

During the life before children, I got my hands on a F6 Typhoon (BA)- woohoo the are really really fun to drive !  Never been into cars before so this was my first good car and boy it was a treat. 270kw ( not as much as the new ones ) with a Shit load of torque, right from low revs.. Scared a few people  ;D

Mind you I couldn't drive it in the wet with the traction control on , to unpredictable. I just turned it off, at least I knew when I was going to go sideways... :police:

Mind you , I have had more tickets in the Pajero than I got in the phoon....
Post by: GeoffA on June 07, 2016, 07:59:45 PM
Nice choice. Enjoy it Jim..... :cup: :cup:
Post by: mrdenn1s on June 07, 2016, 08:01:51 PM
How's it go in low range?
Post by: Bird on June 07, 2016, 08:04:16 PM
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/74/f1/5c/74f15ce980338978691d90ac8526c867.jpg)
Post by: GeoffA on June 07, 2016, 08:06:35 PM
What colour Jim? How many km's?
Post by: raider on June 07, 2016, 08:20:25 PM

My wife said yes   ;D
(http://i1350.photobucket.com/albums/p762/brelen4/P3124548_zpsbv1z0sbk.jpg) (http://s1350.photobucket.com/user/brelen4/media/P3124548_zpsbv1z0sbk.jpg.html)
Post by: Paddler Ed on June 07, 2016, 08:34:27 PM
We're hoping to pick up a friends low km BF MkII July build XR6 later in the year if all goes according to plan... depending of course on how much he's asking for it...

Ideal highway car; it tries to spin the cheap tyres in the dry (but then again, the 4Runner does the same with Duellers that are on it now if the wife is driving)

Another friend just put in his Maloo Ute and got a HSV Clubsport as the replacement company car... he's planning on buying it out at the end of the lease strangely enough...
Post by: achjimmy on June 07, 2016, 08:48:33 PM
What colour Jim? How many km's?

Blue , 90k yeah there a bit bland but geez there cheap for what they offer. And they drive well. It is going to be the wifes so I'll only do the exhaust and intake for now. It's got new Goodyears on it and never been in a prang or had an issue. I'd like to fix the brakes up a tad they really don't match the car. Maybe pick up a NSW highway patrol writeoff and break it? They have the F6 wheels and brembos in the police pack xr6  :cheers: wil see.

For low range I have the cruiser  :D
Post by: GeoffA on June 07, 2016, 08:57:09 PM
Blue , 90k yeah there a bit bland but geez there cheap for what they offer. And they drive well. It is going to be the wifes so I'll only do the exhaust and intake for now. It's got new Goodyears on it and never been in a prang or had an issue. I'd like to fix the brakes up a tad they really don't match the car. Maybe pick up a NSW highway patrol writeoff and break it? They have the F6 wheels and brembos in the police pack xr6  :cheers: wil see.

For low range I have the cruiser  :D

Nice. One for going fast, one for going anywhere.... :cup:

My Lovely has a GT-E... ;D
Post by: achjimmy on June 07, 2016, 09:17:55 PM

My Lovely has a GT-E... ;D

Very nice
Post by: BS61 on June 07, 2016, 09:47:10 PM
Got a G6E turbo. Unreal driveline with the Barra donk and 6 speed zf auto. super smooth.  Single pegga diff is pretty dangerous with traction control off though haha

Post by: GUEY on June 08, 2016, 01:15:37 PM

The NA motors go alright in low range, can only imagine the turbo would make it all the more fun  ;D
Post by: Big Damo on June 08, 2016, 10:05:15 PM
Ain't life great when the minister of finance says yes to a new play thing
Got an XR6 FG for sale to make room for an FGX XR8 Sprint
Wife actually said to get the 8 as she liked the look better  ;D
Post by: Jasjul on June 08, 2016, 10:24:19 PM
Big Damo I envy you.

We had this
(http://i654.photobucket.com/albums/uu263/jchamxr6/08052010074.jpg) (http://s654.photobucket.com/user/jchamxr6/media/08052010074.jpg.html)

now this
(http://i654.photobucket.com/albums/uu263/jchamxr6/20160129_194602_zpstffjwsad.jpg) (http://s654.photobucket.com/user/jchamxr6/media/20160129_194602_zpstffjwsad.jpg.html)

They were both the wife's cars.  We have an agreement, she uses the bottom half of the rev range, and I use the top!  >:D When she lets me drive it.  :-[

This is mine
(http://i654.photobucket.com/albums/uu263/jchamxr6/P7120053_zps5hqzqz68.jpg) (http://s654.photobucket.com/user/jchamxr6/media/P7120053_zps5hqzqz68.jpg.html)
Post by: Big Damo on June 16, 2016, 01:40:10 PM
Big Damo I envy you.

We had this
(http://i654.photobucket.com/albums/uu263/jchamxr6/08052010074.jpg) (http://s654.photobucket.com/user/jchamxr6/media/08052010074.jpg.html)

now this
(http://i654.photobucket.com/albums/uu263/jchamxr6/20160129_194602_zpstffjwsad.jpg) (http://s654.photobucket.com/user/jchamxr6/media/20160129_194602_zpstffjwsad.jpg.html)

They were both the wife's cars.  We have an agreement, she uses the bottom half of the rev range, and I use the top!  >:D When she lets me drive it.  :-[

This is mine
(http://i654.photobucket.com/albums/uu263/jchamxr6/P7120053_zps5hqzqz68.jpg) (http://s654.photobucket.com/user/jchamxr6/media/P7120053_zps5hqzqz68.jpg.html)

don't know if I could cross over to a Holden lol
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on June 16, 2016, 02:02:57 PM
A coupe would be cool  8)

Post by: Bird on June 16, 2016, 02:19:26 PM
Quote from: Footy Shorts Shane
Would sell well too...
Post by: Big Damo on June 16, 2016, 02:41:12 PM
Would sell well too...

Already is selling well but looks more like a Mustang  ;D
Post by: GeoffA on June 16, 2016, 02:45:20 PM
Would sell well too...

Doesn't matter now....
Post by: achjimmy on June 17, 2016, 08:15:01 AM

Would sell well too...

Do you think???  I don't think coupes have ever sold well here?  Not like the US the Monaro wasn't that successful for GMH.  The stang is sold out but that could just be because they aren't bringing many in? Also the stang I think is seen more as sports car than a coupe?

I've always admired coupes but would never own one certainly not with a family too?
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on June 17, 2016, 08:51:43 AM
It wouldn't have sold, that's why they didn't do it. They learnt that in the late 60's early 70's. Even the little import coupe/sports cars Ford sold over the years weren't successful, just a fad.

GMH milked it for a good while, but again, only a fad.
Post by: Steffo1 on June 17, 2016, 10:16:52 AM
A mate is getting his V8 'stang today. I'm looking forward to seeing it as there have been some so so reviews about the finish.
p.s. He has a 2012 Nissan Z car with 20000k on the clock for sale if anyones interested.
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on June 17, 2016, 10:27:50 AM
A mate is getting his V8 'stang today. I'm looking forward to seeing it as there have been some so so reviews about the finish.
p.s. He has a 2012 Nissan Z car with 20000k on the clock for sale if anyones interested.

He'll be an excited boy today  ;D
Post by: achjimmy on June 17, 2016, 04:06:55 PM

I fanged the Eco boost model in the us last year and it was a pleasure to drive. Found it hard to think it was only a 2.3 turbo?  I could only imagine the V8 will be awesome, assuming it's the newer lighter V8 not that heavy pos they fitted to the BA XR8s ?
Post by: Steffo1 on June 17, 2016, 07:26:17 PM
I fanged the Eco boost model in the us last year and it was a pleasure to drive. Found it hard to think it was only a 2.3 turbo?  I could only imagine the V8 will be awesome, assuming it's the newer lighter V8 not that heavy pos they fitted to the BA XR8s ?
[/quote
Mate reckons for around $12k he can get 500kw :o :o :o
Post by: Bird on June 17, 2016, 07:34:50 PM
Quote from: Steffo1
Mate reckons for around $12k he can get 500kw :o :o :o
You can probably get lots more than that if you really want... but how much stress you wanna put on a tiny motor?
Post by: nab on June 17, 2016, 10:14:57 PM
I drove a clients BA XR6 turbo a couple of weeks ago. Has been modded to ~430rwkW. Dangerous to say the least, 60-70kph in second gear, plant it and the rears just light up!!!! Brown pants guaranteed if you aren't ready for it. I wasn't ready for it :'(

You will hae some fun with your new beast!!!!
Post by: achjimmy on June 19, 2016, 10:32:22 AM
Needs a couple of bushes replaced and going to service the tranny and do a coolant flush. Oils and brake fulid had been changed during the Rego check (missed shock bushes though!!)

The overall condition is excellent and it Drives great. Those German Goodyear F1s are brilliant tyres?
Post by: GeoffA on June 19, 2016, 11:06:46 AM
.....and going to service the tranny.......

Get quotes first Jim, and make sure you're sitting down when they tell you the price.
Not all will service the ZF.

Post by: achjimmy on June 19, 2016, 12:53:20 PM
Thanks Geoff yeah Sussed out two $500 with genuine oil going to swap out the heat exchanger before hand too. Just use a new ford replacement . Tell you what though I'd like to take the wacker who designed the 200s Tranny for a ride in the ford and show what a tranny should change like!
Post by: GeoffA on June 19, 2016, 01:01:55 PM
That's a very good price Jim.  :cup:
Are they fitting a new pan as well? The filter is built into the pan, and isn't removable.
We had a new Ford heat exchanger fitted to ours as well.

They're a lovely transmission, but expensive when service and/or repairs are needed.

Post by: achjimmy on June 27, 2016, 03:47:04 PM
Had the tranny serviced today. All good so far. Filter and oil replaced and the mechatronic plug as it had a slight leak (I thought it might be the seal) $545 Including swapping out the heat exchanger that I supplied . 
Post by: petrolburner on June 28, 2016, 09:43:07 PM
Congrats.

I had an FG XR6 T manual in Octane orange BC (before children) loved it though it could get a bit exciting to drive in damp conditions :) :)
Mine used to flog out diff bushes every 10,000km, other than that it was a great car and towed a 1600kg ski boat like it wasn't there :)
Whatever you do do not go with cheap rubber!! 245 wide rubber is marginal on the Turbo IMO.

Following the XR Turbo I had an E series 2 Maloo in wildfire orange, bloody hell it could handle so well for a utility, handling between the Ford and the HSV was night and day :) Both evoke a childish grin when playing with the go go pedal but the Maloo allowed you to explore the depths of its performance with more confidence ....... tagged the limiter in it a few times :)

Its such a shame to see the big boofy Aussie V8's coming to the end of their life here in Australia :(

I would like to pick up one of the last SSV Wagons in a year or two for my wife to drive around in ...... fingers crossed she is agreeable :)