General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Cruiser 105Tvan on February 27, 2018, 09:27:40 PM

Title: Air Bags. The story is not over yet.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on February 27, 2018, 09:27:40 PM
https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/39339910/up-to-a-million-more-cars-could-be-recalled-over-faulty-airbags/ (https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/39339910/up-to-a-million-more-cars-could-be-recalled-over-faulty-airbags/)

More to come yet.

Motorists who may be concerned about their car can visit www.productsafety.gov.au (http://www.productsafety.gov.au), where a list of affected vehicles is displayed.
Also.
https://www.productsafety.gov.au/news/takata-airbag-recalls-affecting-australian-consumers (https://www.productsafety.gov.au/news/takata-airbag-recalls-affecting-australian-consumers)

Title: Re: Air Bags. The story is not over yet.
Post by: Glennp on February 27, 2018, 09:38:03 PM
Concerning that it’s taken so long for vehicle manufacturers to look at their supply chain to work out where takata airbags were used. Unless it’s a conspiracy to not swamp dealers / replacement airbag manufacturers with recalls etc.

Post by: Bird on February 28, 2018, 09:30:27 AM
https://www.theage.com.au/business/consumer-affairs/more-than-2-million-vehicles-with-faulty-takata-airbags-recalled-20180228-p4z229.html (https://www.theage.com.au/business/consumer-affairs/more-than-2-million-vehicles-with-faulty-takata-airbags-recalled-20180228-p4z229.html)
Post by: krisandkev on February 28, 2018, 09:47:31 AM
https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/39339910/up-to-a-million-more-cars-could-be-recalled-over-faulty-airbags/ (https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/39339910/up-to-a-million-more-cars-could-be-recalled-over-faulty-airbags/)

More to come yet.

Motorists who may be concerned about their car can visit www.productsafety.gov.au (http://www.productsafety.gov.au), where a list of affected vehicles is displayed.
Also.
https://www.productsafety.gov.au/news/takata-airbag-recalls-affecting-australian-consumers (https://www.productsafety.gov.au/news/takata-airbag-recalls-affecting-australian-consumers)

That is not the full list of cars, only the voluntary ones. To find out the full list you need to ring them or wait until the web site is updated in April.  Kevin
Post by: McTavish on February 28, 2018, 06:27:13 PM
Not really clear for cars that have already been recalled- and they are on the list- are they required to be recalled again?   Or is once enough?

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 01, 2018, 04:25:02 AM
So, if you were selling a car and getting your safety certificate, would a car pass or fail if the recall hasn't been rectified?

The next question of course, is....

Lets say, a car purchased a week ago, is involved in a prang and air bag injury or death occurs.
Is the person who checked off on the "Safety Cert" now in a situation where he can be sued, as the said car had faulty parts fitted.

The same would apply in NSW, you guys still have an annual check?

Unless the recall has been done with paperwork to prove it, i wouldn't be signing off on any roadworthy/safety certificates in a pink fit.
With the ambulance chasers always sniffing out a way to screw someone, its gunna happen.

Now its a national recall by the government, no-one can really plead ignorant in this situation anymore.

Post by: Bigfish on March 01, 2018, 05:26:12 AM
Had the drivers airbag changed a year ago and now have to book in for the passenger side. 2014 Pajero.
Post by: Fizzie on March 01, 2018, 07:44:18 AM
So, if you were selling a car and getting your safety certificate, would a car pass or fail if the recall hasn't been rectified?

Lets say, a car purchased a week ago, is involved in a prang and air bag injury or death occurs.
Is the person who checked off on the "Safety Cert" now in a situation where he can be sued, as the said car had faulty parts fitted.

&, is the brand-new car that you bought a little while ago, now no longer "fit for purpose", so you're entitled to return it to dealer / manufacturer for refund or replacement ???

Takata itself has since gone broke & been taken over, but I can see the same thing continuing to happen, possibly even to some actual car manufacturers :'(
Post by: 03GV on March 01, 2018, 06:44:58 PM
I'm glad we own 2 Suzuki's!
Post by: speewa158 on March 01, 2018, 07:01:03 PM
Solve the Air Bag problem ,,,,, Don't run into anything that will trigger them  .
Easy as            ,                     :cup:                           :cheers:
Post by: Pete79 on March 01, 2018, 09:43:14 PM
Only trouble is they use an explosive charge that is unstable. They can go off on their own in the right (or wrong) conditions.
Post by: speewa158 on March 02, 2018, 04:21:51 AM
1 really good thing is the steel wire  mesh crates the units come make really handy storage boxes .Strong , with lids  , chrome plated  , stackable & free . What more could you want  ???                :cheers:
Post by: Bigfish on March 02, 2018, 06:09:38 AM

The same would apply in NSW, you guys still have an annual check?

Unless the recall has been done with paperwork to prove it, i wouldn't be signing off on any roadworthy/safety certificates in a pink fit.
With the ambulance chasers always sniffing out a way to screw someone, its gunna happen.

Now its a national recall by the government, no-one can really plead ignorant in this situation anymore.

"These are the legal requirements for sellers, according to the ACCC

If a car has been recalled, dealerships and businesses are required to have had the airbags replaced before selling them second-hand (though consumers should still double-check themselves that this has taken place)
    If a private individual is selling a car that's been recalled, there are no such legal requirements — they don't need to have had the airbags replaced prior to selling, and nor do they need to disclose the fact that the car has been recalled

However, it's not just about legal obligations

Paul Turner, spokesperson for motorist organisation RACQ, said it's about ensuring "transparency between buyer and seller".

He says people trying to sell second-hand cars at the moment should be telling potential buyers whether they've received a recall notice and whether the airbags have been replaced.

And even if sellers haven't received a recall notice, they should still be telling potential buyers if the car is on the list of affected vehicles.

"If they've done that, they've probably fulfilled their obligation," Mr Turner said.

As a buyer, there are ways you can protect yourself

Mr Turner says this doesn't necessarily mean steering clear of potentially affected vehicles, especially since we're talking about millions of them.

"You would seriously limit your market at the moment," he said.

Instead, Mr Turner says you need to take the right steps to ensure you're informed.
Is your car on the list?

Find out if your car is part of the biggest recall in automotive history.

"The way to protect yourself is to get the Vehicle Identification Number — the VIN — of the vehicle you want to purchase, and check either directly with the manufacturer or the local dealership for that mark," Mr Turner said.

"That will tell you then whether that vehicle has already been in for the recall and had its airbag replaced."            :cheers:
Post by: Bird on September 24, 2019, 09:31:13 AM
Its still still not over

(https://static.ffx.io/images/$zoom_0.353%2C$multiply_1%2C$ratio_1.776846%2C$width_1059%2C$x_0%2C$y_11/t_crop_custom/w_800/q_86%2Cf_auto/2d0ff674fa3f2548ecfc74be88f21e69aa9fb8f1)

https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/comparable-to-gunshot-wound-man-killed-by-airbag-shrapnel-inquest-told-20190923-p52ty8.html (https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/comparable-to-gunshot-wound-man-killed-by-airbag-shrapnel-inquest-told-20190923-p52ty8.html)
Post by: MattNQ on September 24, 2019, 10:04:13 AM
Not really clear for cars that have already been recalled- and they are on the list- are they required to be recalled again?   Or is once enough?

When we had our Mazda 6 done, they actually installed the exact same airbag made by takata, but much newer of course. When I asked if they would need to be changed again when they get older, they admitted that it would be very likely.  Not particularly reassuring.....

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Post by: #jonesy on September 24, 2019, 11:49:35 AM
Bit more here.
https://www.productsafety.gov.au/recalls/compulsory-takata-airbag-recall/future-takata-airbag-recalls

Basically the massive size of the problem means some less than ideal fixes, with priority given to some cars.
Some cars here are on a "waiting list" to be added to the recall list.
Others have had replacement Takata bags, which in turn will again be recalled later.
Post by: Bird on October 04, 2019, 02:55:02 PM
The ****up that never ends.

Major car manufacturers have raised the warning level for some models fitted with Takata airbags to "critical" after new assessments showed them to be even more dangerous than first believed.

The new warning affects about 20,000 Australian cars already under recall and comes from leading manufacturers including BMW, Holden, Honda, Mitsubishi and Toyota.

Major car manufacturers have raised Takata airbag warnings to "critical" for 20,000 Australian cars

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission said none of the affected models should be driven.

The the urgent recall means drivers with affected models are entitled to have them towed to the dealership by the manufacturer and have the airbag replaced for free, said deputy ACCC chair Delia Rickard on Friday.

Affected models under the "critical" urgent recall include:

--   2010 Holden Cruze

--  Honda City MY2012, CR-V MY 2011, Insight MY2012-2013, Jazz MY2012-2014 & Jazz Hybrid MY2012-2013, Honda Civic MY2006-2011, Jazz Hybrid MY2012 and Legend MY2007-2012, Honda Accord MY2001-2007 and Honda MDX MY2003-2006.

--   2003 – 2005 Toyota Echo and Rav4

--    BMW 5 Series (E39) MY2002-2003, BMW 3 Series (E46) MY2001-2006 & BMW X5 (E53) MY2003

--    Mitsubishi 2014 ML & MN Triton.

Consumers can check whether their car is affected by visiting:

IsMyAirbagSafe.com.au (http://IsMyAirbagSafe.com.au) and entering their state or territory and registration plate number, or by texting 0487 AIRBAG (247224) and following the prompts.

The vehicle manufacturer’s website and entering their VIN number in their recall database or by contacting them direct for information.
ProductSafety.gov.au (http://ProductSafety.gov.au) and checking either the active or future recalls lists.

https://www.theage.com.au/national/should-not-be-driven-takata-airbag-danger-on-20-000-cars-critical-20191004-p52xou.html (https://www.theage.com.au/national/should-not-be-driven-takata-airbag-danger-on-20-000-cars-critical-20191004-p52xou.html)
Post by: Fizzie on October 05, 2019, 09:14:03 AM
If it's now become that critical, why aren't the various Transport Dept's simply going out to each registered owner & saying, "Show me that they've been changed - they haven't? Yellow tag & car is now off the road till they're done" ??? ::) >:D
Post by: Pottsy on October 05, 2019, 01:25:01 PM
If it's now become that critical, why aren't the various Transport Dept's simply going out to each registered owner & saying, "Show me that they've been changed - they haven't? Yellow tag & car is now off the road till they're done" ??? ::) >:D
maybe Takarta should be providing hire cars while people's cars are off the road awaiting repair!!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 06, 2019, 04:36:05 AM
They went belly up, so can't see that happening.

I see they are saying to have the car towed in for replacement.

I;m sort of guessing, have a certain built number or dates proven to be worse that others?

Got me stuffed.... but i'm not very bright though either.
Post by: trinityalyce on October 06, 2019, 07:29:42 AM

In QLD you're not required to replace the airbags if the sale is private, but you are if you're a dealer selling the vehicle. At least that was my understanding 6mths ago when I looked into this when I bought my Patrol ute as it was affected by the recall - I replaced the airbags pretty well immediately after purchasing it.

Also? For anyone reading this thread who might be putting it off saying "I can't be without my car"... For starters, this is potentially your life we're talking about. Secondly, they did mine in like 30mins while I waited then I drove to work. It was more painless than any other maintenance I've ever had done on a vehicle anywhere.
Post by: Bird on October 06, 2019, 04:44:57 PM
Quote from: trinityalyce
For starters, this is potentially your life we're talking about.
yea better ban all those 100,000's of cars built before airbags were invented... ::)
Post by: Fizzie on October 06, 2019, 04:48:18 PM
yea better ban all those 100,000's of cars built before airbags were invented... ::)

Ummm - how many of them are still on the road on a daily basis ???
Post by: Bird on October 06, 2019, 04:52:17 PM
Quote from: Fizzie
Ummm - how many of them are still on the road on a daily basis ???
What cars with no airbags - AU wide? 10's of thousands

edit:
rough figures 19 million cars on the road... fair chance Shit loads are in each camp

MEDIA RELEASE
29 July 2019   
Embargoed: 11.30 am (Canberra time)
https://www.abs.gov.au/ausstats/abs@.nsf/mediareleasesbytitle/28861A19CCDB9441CA25753D001B59DA?OpenDocument   

Motor vehicle registrations slow down

The national fleet of registered motor vehicles increased by 1.7 per cent from last year to 19.5 million registered vehicles in 2019, according to newly released ABS Motor Vehicle Census data.
Post by: Paddler Ed on October 06, 2019, 05:27:04 PM

The last fatality that was in the news wasn't actually the impact of the head into the steering wheel that caused the fatality, it was the piece of metal that was fired by the airbag mechanism that severed his caratoid artery and spinal cord... That was the fatal deployment of the airbag that led to death, and yes, not having an airbag would have been safer.in that collision.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-09-23/faulty-takata-airbag-coroner-inquiry-death-cabramatta-man/11538628 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-09-23/faulty-takata-airbag-coroner-inquiry-death-cabramatta-man/11538628)

https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/man-who-died-in-airbag-malfunction-would-have-been-quadriplegic-if-he-survived-inquest-told-20190924-p52ucy.html (https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/man-who-died-in-airbag-malfunction-would-have-been-quadriplegic-if-he-survived-inquest-told-20190924-p52ucy.html) (use private browsing to open)
Post by: Bird on October 06, 2019, 06:52:19 PM
The last fatality that was in the news wasn't actually the impact of the head into the steering wheel that caused the fatality, it was the piece of metal that was fired by the airbag mechanism that severed his caratoid artery and spinal cord... That was the fatal deployment of the airbag that led to death, and yes, not having an airbag would have been safer.in that collision.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-09-23/faulty-takata-airbag-coroner-inquiry-death-cabramatta-man/11538628 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2019-09-23/faulty-takata-airbag-coroner-inquiry-death-cabramatta-man/11538628)

https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/man-who-died-in-airbag-malfunction-would-have-been-quadriplegic-if-he-survived-inquest-told-20190924-p52ucy.html (https://www.smh.com.au/national/nsw/man-who-died-in-airbag-malfunction-would-have-been-quadriplegic-if-he-survived-inquest-told-20190924-p52ucy.html) (use private browsing to open)
Yep.. but some people seem to think that airbags will save the world, stop deaths all around... it may come as a shock to them - they wont.
I laugh when I see people saying 'oh i wouldnt buy that car it doesnt have 45 airbags and Shit.. ex bought a car the other week, couldnt tell you how many airbags it has, 100% DILLIGAF. If the car suits, buy it.
Post by: Paddler Ed on October 06, 2019, 08:16:38 PM
Yep.. but some people seem to think that airbags will save the world, stop deaths all around... it may come as a shock to them - they wont.
I laugh when I see people saying 'oh i wouldnt buy that car it doesnt have 45 airbags and Shit.. ex bought a car the other week, couldnt tell you how many airbags it has, 100% DILLIGAF. If the car suits, buy it.

Yep, none of my vehicles have air bags (1978 HJ45, 1994 FZJ80, 1992 XT600, 2007 WR250 and 3x pushys) - instead they rely on being defensive and planning ahead because for each one in turn:
1) The brakes are ordinary (drums all round - but will lock if stamped on)
2) It's a slow moving thing
3) It's a motorbike... you're vulnerable as
4) It's another motorbike... see 3)
5) They're 2 wheelers that some people don't think should be on the road, and see 3) again.

Having had an airbag go off on me, there's a few things people need to be aware of driving with them; the main one is that driving with your hands at quarter to 3 is a good plan - but expect burns on the inside of your arms after the bag deploys. It means your arms don't get you in the face.
Post by: Bird on November 07, 2019, 06:51:07 PM
BMW has taken the unprecedented step of asking owners of 12,663 of its 3 Series models made from 1997 to 2000 to stop driving immediately because their cars may have faulty airbags linked to a fatality and a serious injury in two separate crashes in Australia.

A safety bulletin issued by the Australian Competition and Consumer Commission on Thursday afternoon says: "Owners of affected vehicles should stop driving their vehicle immediately and urgently contact their local BMW dealership or call BMW Australia’s Takata hotline directly on 1800 243 675 to organise their free vehicle inspection.

"Vehicles will be either towed to the place of inspection or a mobile technician will come to inspect the vehicle at the [owner’s] home or the vehicle’s location," the notice says.

If the vehicle does contain a suspected faulty airbag, BMW will offer to arrange a loan or rental car or "reimbursement for alternative transport costs" until parts are available for an airbag replacement, or until other arrangements can be made.

https://www.theage.com.au/business/consumer-affairs/12-663-bmws-with-new-takata-airbags-recalled-immediately-after-fatality-20191107-p538h6.html (https://www.theage.com.au/business/consumer-affairs/12-663-bmws-with-new-takata-airbags-recalled-immediately-after-fatality-20191107-p538h6.html)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on November 09, 2019, 05:13:40 AM
Someone is Shitting themselves they're gunna get sued going by that.
Post by: Fizzie on November 09, 2019, 09:53:55 AM
I'd be counter-arguing that these warnings have been out for 3 (?) years now, you'd have to be living under a rock on Mars not to have heard about the problem, & if you're to damn stupid to do something, free of charge,  to protect yourself & your family, then it's your problem ::)
Post by: glenm64 on November 09, 2019, 10:19:41 AM
I'd be counter-arguing that these warnings have been out for 3 (?) years now, you'd have to be living under a rock on Mars not to have heard about the problem, & if you're to damn stupid to do something, free of charge,  to protect yourself & your family, then it's your problem ::)

The ACCC statement says: "Transport safety authorities in Australia, US and Japan have identified a different type of Takata airbag that poses a critical risk of death or serious injury to vehicle occupants, prompting an urgent recall of around 12 000 BMW vehicles which may still be in use on Australian roads."
Post by: Pete79 on November 09, 2019, 12:37:45 PM
BMW has taken the unprecedented step of asking owners of 12,663 of its 3 Series models made from 1997 to 2000 to stop driving immediately because their cars may have faulty airbags linked to a fatality and a serious injury in two separate crashes in Australia.
Pretty sure the faulty airbags only have an issue if you have an accident with the indicators are turned on.
So 12,658 of those BMW owners are perfectly safe to continue driving. :P
Post by: Hoyks on November 09, 2019, 01:17:51 PM

The ACCC statement says: "Transport safety authorities in Australia, US and Japan have identified a different type of Takata airbag that poses a critical risk of death or serious injury to vehicle occupants, prompting an urgent recall of around 12 000 BMW vehicles which may still be in use on Australian roads."

I'm sure that over time there are going to be a lot more.

At work we maintain cartridge actuated egress systems (ejection seats) that work off a collection of cartridges that look like 410, 12g and 40mm shotgun shell that produce a lot of gas to push a seat and 100kg of occupant through a canopy and clear of the tail.

Over time they adsorb moisture, break down and go from being a propellant that produces a lot of gas to an explosive, so they have a very strict installed life.

These are a primary emergency escape system and air bags are a only a supplementary restraint system, but I find it astounding that they think that that they can be installed for the life of the vehicle with no maintenance or scheduled component replacement. It goes against everything I understand about explosive ordnance management.
Post by: Paddler Ed on November 09, 2019, 05:01:51 PM
These are a primary emergency escape system and air bags are a only a supplementary restraint system, but I find it astounding that they think that that they can be installed for the life of the vehicle with no maintenance or scheduled component replacement. It goes against everything I understand about explosive ordnance management.

I'm pretty sure when they were first introduced, they were expected to have a life span of 10 years before they needed attention; in a lot of Europe that timeframe is pretty close to the end of the vehicle's life, but over here things last a bit longer (a combination of high depreciation in Europe, legislation changes (UK) and Rust keeps the fleet younger over there) so are going to be more of a problem.
Post by: Bird on November 09, 2019, 05:07:58 PM
Question: can you sell a car (EG: the bmw's they ar talkin about) legally with faulty airbags?
Post by: Fizzie on November 10, 2019, 01:57:06 PM
Question: can you sell a car (EG: the bmw's they ar talkin about) legally with faulty airbags?

Hmmm ???

https://www.productsafety.gov.au/recalls/compulsory-takata-airbag-recall/faq-for-takata-airbag-recalls#can-a-new-or-demonstration-vehicle-be-sold-with-a-defective-takata-airbag-installed- (https://www.productsafety.gov.au/recalls/compulsory-takata-airbag-recall/faq-for-takata-airbag-recalls#can-a-new-or-demonstration-vehicle-be-sold-with-a-defective-takata-airbag-installed-)

https://mtaofsa.com.au/news/selling-vehicles-takata-airbags (https://mtaofsa.com.au/news/selling-vehicles-takata-airbags)

New cars - no

Second hand from a dealer - no (at least in SA)

Second hand privately - ???
Post by: #jonesy on November 10, 2019, 05:09:54 PM
The airbags are being replaced in stages.  They simply don't have enough to do all at once, so they are selecting the most at risk ones first.

The fault with the airbags isn't the propellant, but the casing. They are rising and when the airbag goes off the case becomes shrapnel
Post by: Bird on November 10, 2019, 05:14:18 PM
Nutha questions: are airbags checked as part of Roadworthy inspections when selling cars?
Post by: Bird on November 19, 2019, 09:26:49 AM
Cancelling rego? I'd read that supply was not meeting demand.... ???

The Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries is urgently appealing to all car owners to check if their vehicle has a faulty Takata airbag. Failure to do so may result in more owners having their vehicle deregistered.

FCAI Chief Executive Tony Weber said state and territory government traffic authorities were considering the deregistration of more vehicles fitted with faulty Alpha and critical airbags where owners had ignored repeated requests to have their vehicle airbags replaced.

Car owners can avoid the potential deregistration of these vehicles by having the faulty airbags, which could result in the death or serious injury of vehicle drivers and passengers, replaced as soon as possible.

"Nobody wants to see car owners inconvenienced by having their vehicles deregistered, but it seems it is the only way we can convince some unresponsive owners to allow us to fix their cars," Mr Weber said.

"This is a last resort action to ensure we track down owners of vehicles with Alpha and critical airbags who have ignored multiple appeals from manufacturers and government agencies."

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission recently announced that nearly 20,000 additional vehicles already under recall for faulty Takata airbags have now been reclassified by manufacturers as "critical." The critical classification places the vehicles in a high-risk category alongside Alpha-equipped vehicles.

"The ACCC has warned vehicles fitted with airbags listed as critical should not be driven and the FCAI strongly agrees with that warning," Mr Weber said.
Post by: Champin on November 19, 2019, 10:12:37 AM
My airbag light came on a few months back. I have searched triton forum and figured it could cost in excess of $1500 to have it sorted. Quite a few people have expressed concerns about getting it repaired asap.
1, can't afford that right now
2, it ain't going to spit steel chunks at me
3, I've been driving cars without airbags for 40 odd years.
Not too concerned right now.
If you're not living life on the edge, you're taking up too much space.

Sent from my TA-1024 using Tapatalk

Post by: briann532 on November 19, 2019, 05:33:34 PM
My airbag light came on a few months back. I have searched triton forum and figured it could cost in excess of $1500 to have it sorted. Quite a few people have expressed concerns about getting it repaired asap.
1, can't afford that right now
2, it ain't going to spit steel chunks at me
3, I've been driving cars without airbags for 40 odd years.
Not too concerned right now.
If you're not living life on the edge, you're taking up too much space.

Simple fix.

Drive into a tree while ducking.
The airbag goes off and doesn't put shards of steel into you.
Sit back up, cut the airbag away and off you go.
Problem solved.

No worries, happy to help. ;D
Post by: Champin on November 19, 2019, 05:44:13 PM
Jeez Brian, you're a thinker.

Post by: Fizzie on November 20, 2019, 08:12:09 AM
Simple fix.

Nice thinking!

The only problem is that "triton" + "Drive into a tree" =/= "Sit back up, cut the airbag away and off you go" >:D :-*
Post by: Bird on December 17, 2019, 08:15:01 PM
So if theres no spare bags available, you get a free hire car?

The Takata airbag crisis has taken its most serious turn yet, with up to 78,000 cars to be pulled off the road and bought back by manufacturers at an estimated cost of up to $200 million.

Popular cars made by Audi, BMW, Ford, Honda, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Suzuki and Toyota – sold from 1996 to 2000 – are believed to be equipped with another type of Takata airbag inflator that can also become unstable over time and spray shrapnel when deployed in a crash.

The NADI 5-AT inflator is believed to be linked to at least one recent death and one recent serious injury in Australia. This is in addition to the previous death and known serious injury caused by the Beta type of Takata airbag in two separate crashes in Australia in 2018.

The recall of 78,000 cars equipped with NADI airbags is in addition to recall of 3.4 million Alpha and Beta Takata airbag inflators in 2.8 million cars in Australia. More than 400,000 cars with these airbags remain on our roads.

https://www.smh.com.au/national/takata-airbag-crisis-worsens-as-accc-warns-of-new-safety-risk-affecting-78-000-cars-20191217-p53kux.html (https://www.smh.com.au/national/takata-airbag-crisis-worsens-as-accc-warns-of-new-safety-risk-affecting-78-000-cars-20191217-p53kux.html)
Post by: rags on December 17, 2019, 08:30:58 PM
I heard BMW will just buy back the car rather than fixing. I wondering if you are attached to your old Beamer will they fix it.
Post by: Bird on December 17, 2019, 08:33:07 PM
I heard BMW will just buy back the car rather than fixing. I wondering if you are attached to your old Beamer will they fix it.
IM heading out to buy a dozen cheap BMWs if thats the case... retirement here I come :D
Post by: boobook on December 18, 2019, 06:04:14 AM
It's not just BMW now.

ACCC is recommending that anyone with the following STOPS DRIVING THE VEHICLE. Ouch.

Takata airbag issue affecting Audi, BMW, Ford, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Suzuki and Toyota

Drivers of a range of cars made in the 1990s have been warned their Takata air bags might be faulty.
Redlands, Scenic Rim and Logan drivers are being urged to check their cars for another type of potentially lethal Takata airbag, with about 78,000 vehicles believed to have them.

The airbags have NADI 5-AT inflators and are in cars manufactured between 1996 and 2000 by Audi, BMW, Ford, Honda, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Suzuki and Toyota.

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission has urged drivers to check productsafety.gov.au to see if their car has the faulty airbag, which may cause metal shards to propel out of it when deployed.

There is also a risk the airbags under-inflate.

ACCC chair Rod Sims says people with affected cars should stop driving them, and contact the manufacturer.

"We want everyone to have a happy and safe holiday period, and encourage people to consider alternative transport options if possible, rather than using vehicles fitted with these airbags," he said.

Safety authorities have been alerted to three incidents - resulting in one fatality and two people seriously injured - potentially linked to the airbags.

BMW and Audi have began a voluntary recall of their affected vehicles, while the other manufacturers remain in discussions with the ACCC to finalise their own recalls.

Audi, Ford, Honda, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Suzuki and Toyota will help support consumers dealing with financial hardship as a result of the airbags.
Post by: MadMarv on December 19, 2019, 10:09:38 PM
We recently bought a Pajero and the bags have been replaced ... maybee because it was from a dealer ... also heard that cars that have had them replaced have been recalled again to have those units that were replaced to be replaced again ....
Post by: IanS on December 19, 2019, 10:44:14 PM
We recently bought a Pajero and the bags have been replaced ... maybee because it was from a dealer ... also heard that cars that have had them replaced have been recalled again to have those units that were replaced to be replaced again ....
You are correct, my father had his 2009 Patrol airbags replaced last year, he now has another recall for the replacement bags.
Post by: #jonesy on December 20, 2019, 04:42:40 AM
The recall website explains that some cars will be recalled a couple of times.
There is a massive demand for airbags that they can't keep up production.  So in the interim they are replacing faulty ones with other (okay for now) Tekata airbags, knowing full well that they will slowly degrade and become faulty and will have to be replaced.
Post by: scrubber on December 20, 2019, 06:44:05 AM
Starting to sound like the only safe way to manage this issue is disable or remove the safety device that is compromising your safety ;)
An old cruiser pre airbags, ABS, DPF, engine computers, computer for this, computer for that  etc etc is starting to sound more and more appealing.
Post by: Bird on December 20, 2019, 08:26:37 AM
Quote from: scrubber
An old patrol pre airbags, ABS, DPF, engine computers, computer for this, computer for that  etc etc is starting to sound more and more appealing.

your right there :D :D :D
Post by: bkim on December 21, 2019, 12:24:56 AM
I think that every time I get into my trusty 1988 TD42 SWB maverick!
Post by: shakey55 on December 22, 2019, 06:44:35 AM
I’ve a 2005 Patrol wagon. I had the airbag replaced and some time later contacted to have the replacement also replaced.

It’s a potentially dangerous problem that does not appear to be managed very well.

Post by: Bird on December 23, 2019, 05:19:19 PM
Ford Courier's turn

Ford Australia has announced a voluntary recall of more than 200 Ford Courier vehicles it believes could be fitted with dangerous airbags.

The Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC) is urging Australians driving a Ford Courier vehicle manufactured between 1998 and 2000 to check if the car is included in a new airbag safety recall.

The ACCC is urging Australians driving a Ford Courier vehicle manufactured between 1998 and 2000 to check if the car is included in a new airbag safety recall.

Rod Sims, chair of the competition watchdog, said the affected airbags are fitted with a NADI 5-AT propellant and are the same as airbags recently recalled by Audi and BMW.

"These airbags may misdeploy in an accident, causing metal fragments to propel from the airbag and potentially injure or kill people in the car," Mr Sims said.

https://www.theage.com.au/business/consumer-affairs/ford-drivers-urged-to-check-cars-after-new-recall-of-faulty-airbags-20191223-p53mkn.html (https://www.theage.com.au/business/consumer-affairs/ford-drivers-urged-to-check-cars-after-new-recall-of-faulty-airbags-20191223-p53mkn.html)
Post by: Fizzie on January 10, 2020, 01:37:53 PM
But wait! There's more >:D

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-01-10/toyota-mazda-suzuki-cars-voluntary-recalls-takata-airbags/11858246 (https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-01-10/toyota-mazda-suzuki-cars-voluntary-recalls-takata-airbags/11858246)

Back to 1996 this time :o

https://www.accc.gov.au/media-release/toyota-mazda-and-suzuki-join-new-airbag-safety-recall-due-to-serious-safety-risk (https://www.accc.gov.au/media-release/toyota-mazda-and-suzuki-join-new-airbag-safety-recall-due-to-serious-safety-risk)

RAV4, Grand Vitara, NL Pajero, CR-V ...
Post by: sparksy on January 23, 2020, 09:52:13 PM
And theres more.
Honda and Mitsubishi wont carry the cost of fitting new airbags to older model and it works out cheaper for them to buy back all the cars at " market value".
Who deems what market value is and what if you dont want to sell your 1998/99 NL pajero with all its mods.
https://www.accc.gov.au/media-release/honda-and-mitsubishi-recall-42000-cars-due-to-serious-airbag-safety-risk (https://www.accc.gov.au/media-release/honda-and-mitsubishi-recall-42000-cars-due-to-serious-airbag-safety-risk)

https://www.unsealed4x4.com.au/1996-2000-mitsubishi-pajero-nl-in-new-takata-airbag-recall-mitsubishi-offers-to-buy-back-vehicles/?fbclid=IwAR0Ka2QzZJW1VicVMhJ7wjtRa8j5zZAFAaIE6FlgXeJG2hB1GBWI_Eo6Doo (https://www.unsealed4x4.com.au/1996-2000-mitsubishi-pajero-nl-in-new-takata-airbag-recall-mitsubishi-offers-to-buy-back-vehicles/?fbclid=IwAR0Ka2QzZJW1VicVMhJ7wjtRa8j5zZAFAaIE6FlgXeJG2hB1GBWI_Eo6Doo)
Post by: #jonesy on January 24, 2020, 05:56:37 AM
And another on the list of future recalls list dared Nov 2019

Nissan Navara D22 (Thai built)
Sold 2008-2012
Due for recall (last week)20 January 2020   
Passenger side airbag
https://www.productsafety.gov.au/recalls/compulsory-takata-airbag-recall/future-takata-airbag-recalls