Author Topic: Storm damage  (Read 32923 times)

Storm damage
« on: November 27, 2014, 08:17:44 PM »
So how did everyone in Brissy and surrounds fair this arvo? We got smashed here...literally actually. We have 4 smashed windows from the near golf all sized hail that hit us, neighbour has atleast 7 smashed windows also, and my brothers inlaws a few suburbs over have more then that again smashed, aswell as their skylight. Wildest storm I've seen in quite a while that one was

Re: Storm damage
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2014, 08:24:58 PM »
Wow. How did your cars fare?

« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2014, 08:28:22 PM »
I've just watched a video of my son's mate's workshop in the Gabba..................lots of broken windows in the units in the area and a few cars in their workshop lost windows and have hail damage, glad it never made it to Redlands !!

« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2014, 08:30:52 PM »
all our vehicles were under cover thankfully, ran out of daylight and need to get up on roof to see how the solar panels faired aswell as the roof itself also
Brisbane has been smashed big time this arvo , massive damage about town

« Reply #4 on: November 27, 2014, 08:34:00 PM »
I was in the CBD when it hit, lots of cars with smashed windows and panels all banged up.  Few trees down and sheet metal around the place.  One of the guys on my floor saw a table and chairs fly past which were blown off a nearby apartment balcony.  Green waste everywhere.

Took 3 hours to get home, luckily no damage out this way.  It looks like the worst areas were the south and north eastern suburbs.

Offline ldsparrow

• www.1yearoff.com.au
« Reply #5 on: November 27, 2014, 08:37:21 PM »
My wifes folks place had a tree come down on their roof in Chelmer, and there are trees down everywhere between our place and theirs.
Blog: www.1yearoff.com.au

« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2014, 08:38:59 PM »
......lots of cars with smashed windows and panels all banged up......

The glass and PDR blokes will be busy. Swannie's boys will be on OT.

Hope everyone gets their damage sorted quickly.

« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2014, 08:43:20 PM »
Posting on my phone as Optus Internet is currently out for the house. We have power but much of our suburb doesn't. Have seen pics of atleast one house missing it's roof at the Gabba, planes overturned at the local aerodrome, and heard of a B double truck blown over during the storm also. Will be interesting to see the carnage on tomorrow nights news I reckon
The glass and PDR blokes will be busy. Swannie's boys will be on OT.

Hope everyone gets their damage sorted quickly.

insurance company reckons Xmas day before they can fix our windows due to the amount of claims they already received, but will see how that pans out, matching the decorative patterned glass will be a big problem for them

« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2014, 08:44:23 PM »
Guys the damage is extensive. Get your claims lodged with your insurance companies asap. I currently have over 15,000 pieces of building glass to replace haven't even had the car glass replacement update

« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2014, 08:45:47 PM »
Didnt look good when it went past us down here this arvo, watched the BOM warnings of winds of 140kph and golf ball size + hail being reported ..
Looks like its going to be a wild and rough summer ..

« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2014, 08:51:59 PM »
Didnt look good when it went past us down here this arvo, watched the BOM warnings of winds of 140kph and golf ball size + hail being reported ..
Looks like its going to be a wild and rough summer ..
140kph winds were recorded at the aerodrome just down the road from us, at one stage I was worried our roof would get ripped off from the wind we were copping. I actually grabbed the kids and huddled them in the corner of our kitchen at one stage as the house started to shake...never done that ever before in a storm. The noise of the hail on our tin roof had my ears ringing, the kids were crying and had their fingers in their ears trying to block out the noise...scary Shit here for a while it was.

Offline Talawana5

« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2014, 08:52:36 PM »
Take care all you Brissy guys.Thinking of you all

Offline JohngQld447

« Reply #12 on: November 27, 2014, 09:11:48 PM »
Hi Guys,
           I left Bowen Hills at1615 and made it to Bracken Ridge on the Gateway before it caught up to us where it pelted us with golf ball size and some larger hail. The noise was something else. After a couple of minutes it moved on. Ran into it again just past the Pine bridge. One piece hit the front left of the bonnet, skidded up and hit the windscreen. Can't repeat what I yelled at the time. Just made it home to Caboolture before it struck there, but by now it didn't have the hail. Need to check tomorrow as to what damage we got.
John
2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo Diesel
2012 Jayco Hawk Kakadu Annexe

Offline crykies

« Reply #13 on: November 27, 2014, 09:24:29 PM »
Some footage from yeronga this arvo.

http://vimeo.com/m/112991029
www.beachloversleds.com.au

« Reply #14 on: November 27, 2014, 10:14:02 PM »
spoke to soon...just noticed the drivers side mirror on the Maverick has been smashed ...Grrr

« Reply #15 on: November 27, 2014, 10:14:36 PM »
Left melb hour late..  then in holding pattern for an hour due to delayed flights
Cars ever ywhere smashed screens n Shit...

Offline Garfish

• Mini Marlin
  • Have fun and enjoy
« Reply #16 on: November 27, 2014, 10:20:19 PM »
No damage at Deception bay or hail, but only just got home.   After many buses, trains and walking. Definitely a big storm

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #17 on: November 27, 2014, 10:54:43 PM »
Big hail in the CBD - some apple or tennis ball sized stuff outside our window in Post Office Square.
I rode home about 5:30 and streets were littered with debris.  Botanic gardens a complete mess.  Some big trees down at Greenslopes and one across the bikeway at the gabba.  Took about 45mins instead of 25 to get home but I reckon a bus trip would've taken 90mins judging by the people waiting in the city, and the traffic. 

Strangely enough we didn't get much damage at all at home at Tarragindi.  Lucky.  Landcruiser parked under shade cloth but somewhat exposed managed to survive - not so much hail here compared to the city.

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #18 on: November 27, 2014, 10:57:33 PM »
Some footage from yeronga this arvo.

http://vimeo.com/m/112991029

Great footage.  Shows how intense it was.  Unbelievable.

Offline Clouty

« Reply #19 on: November 28, 2014, 04:51:24 AM »
I saw the pics on stalkbook mal.. Glad everyone is ok..

I was driving East along Logan motorway heading home and the hail hit us about the gateway merge.. I was doing about 80k and when the hail start I slowed down to about walking pass.
There were cars pulled over on the side of the logan in both directions

Need to have a good look at the ute to see if any damage has happened :'(

« Reply #20 on: November 28, 2014, 08:34:30 AM »
I also work in the city and it was the strongest winds I’ve ever seen in a storm. Now I can imagine what a cyclone would be like (well 20 minutes of a cyclone)

I work in a fairly new high rise with thick glass, but we all stayed away from the windows due to the noise of the large hail hammering against them just in case one smashed. 

The road outside our building had knee deep water which was flowing like a river as I presume the drains clogged with all the hail. When I did leave work the city was littered in leaves with numerous fire alarms going off due to water damage. Then I saw multiple cars with windows and sun roofs smashed.   

Getting home was nightmare, but at the same time thankful our neighbourhood only got superficial damage.

Offline GUEY

« Reply #21 on: November 28, 2014, 09:20:29 AM »
Came through Coopers Plains, Rocklea, Fairfield and Salisbury on my way to work this morning.
Wow. Looks like a bomb has gone off in places. We faired pretty well in Runcorn. Few small hail dents on the work ute and that's about it.
2016 Colorado Trailblazer
2010 Swan Outback

Offline nickandbron

Storm damage
« Reply #22 on: November 28, 2014, 10:05:22 AM »
I was on Corro drive when the wind first hit. Ducked over the go between bridge to escape it but copped a hammering in West End. Hail was golf ball size and flying horizontally. Managed to park under a small tree but bonnet was exposed. There must be over 30 dents on it alone! I have dents down the driver side of my car from debris etc. as it was exposed to the street. Sitting in the car watching sparks fly past from a fallen power line was pretty hairy! Worst storm I've ever experienced and I've lived in Brizzy for 25yrs.

I've just been told that our office just off Montague Rd in West End was flooded. Doesn't surprise me, when left the area yesterday it looked like bomb had gone off.

Looks like I won't be heading in there today!

« Last Edit: November 28, 2014, 10:15:05 AM by nickandbron »

« Reply #23 on: November 28, 2014, 10:13:52 AM »
lot of wind, hail & rain at Greenbank, thankfully no structural damage.

Neighbours rain guage showed 47mm in 15 minutes, but some of that could be melted ice ?

Lost power about 5pm yesterday, no sign of it being restored untill maybee late tonight. Beer is getting hot as we speak  :'(
« Last Edit: November 28, 2014, 02:00:31 PM by Spada »

Offline mull dog

« Reply #24 on: November 28, 2014, 10:57:14 AM »
Anyone want to buy a cheap pajero. Low k's and with recent mods is now a bit more aerodynamic :)
Heading to the top baby, August 2014!