Author Topic: Storm damage  (Read 33109 times)

Re: Storm damage
« Reply #50 on: November 30, 2014, 08:26:26 AM »
Here's a few pics i've snapped of typical damage most people have copped about the place....

ANYBODY IN THE AREA WITH AN ASBETOS ROOF HAS BIG PROBLEMS AT THE MOMENT, HUNDREDS OF HOLES PEPPERED IN THEM AND I KNOW THE CEILINGS INSIDE THIS HOUSE ARE DESTROYED ALSO. 9 OUT THE 10 FRONT WINDOWS ARE GONE IN THIS HOUSE AND THE TENANTS RAN FOR THEIR LIVES TO SEEK COVER ALSEWHERE MID STORM AS THE HAIL CAME THROUGH THE CEILING.

MOST TIN ROOVES LOOK LIKE THIS (and this is minor damage compared to other ones i've seen but didn't photograph them)

MANY PEOPLE DON'T REALISE THIER PVC DOWNPIPES HAVE HOLES IN THEM OR THE VENT PIPES ON THEIR ROOVES HAVE BEEN BROKEN OFF ASWELL (it's a minor problem but it's another thing people need to get repaired)

PLENTY OF WHIRLEY BIRDS BEEN DESTROYED ASWELL

THIS IS WHAT OUR GUTTER GUARD NOW LOOKS LIKE ALL THE WAY AROUND THE HOUSE AND UP THE VALLEYS

« Last Edit: November 30, 2014, 08:35:50 AM by Rumpig »

« Reply #51 on: November 30, 2014, 11:34:34 AM »
A lot of money right there in those few photos mal

« Reply #52 on: November 30, 2014, 05:48:09 PM »
A lot of money right there in those few photos mal
the final insurance claim bill over Brisbane will be astronomical i reckon...our jobsite i'm on at the moment will need the 4 units we've almost finished building completely reroofed (including some new fascia and the gable rolls), a new double garage panel lift door, a couple of new 1100H X 1800W windows, new split air con system motor unit, new front door and front door frame on one unit, new aluminium panel infill fencing across front yard of unit site, plus minor repair work to things like down pipes and vent pipes and even timber ballustrading that was knocked loose by the hail, plus likely a few things i've forgotten about....and that's one address in one street of one suburb....now times that by how many places were damaged in that storm, as that's fairly standard damage from what i've seen (slightly worse then some places but nowhere near as bad as others i've seen)

Offline JD-120

« Reply #53 on: December 02, 2014, 05:16:04 PM »
I just got back from the assessors, I thought the prado got out of it pretty good. $3500 is the quote to fix the hail damage. 5 days without the car over the holiday period.  ???

« Reply #54 on: December 05, 2014, 12:53:13 PM »
Heads up Queenslanders more on the way, lets hope they fizzle out before any damage is done .

Offline Clouty

« Reply #55 on: December 05, 2014, 03:49:57 PM »
Here she comes..
Fingers crossed its not as intense as last weeks storm..

« Reply #56 on: December 05, 2014, 04:15:30 PM »
site managers Merc from the storm.

Was due to be traded in today, got estimated and is going to be repaired..
he has to hope the dealer will still go thru with the deal then just get the car repaired as its paid for in January...

Offline Homer_Jay

« Reply #57 on: December 05, 2014, 04:23:33 PM »
Looks like we are just about to get hit near Caboolture in the next 30 mins or so.

Better not loose power for the beer fridge tonight, or I will be firing up the Engel!  :cheers:

Landcruiser 76 wagon V8 T/D

Supreme Getaway pop top 12 ft

« Reply #58 on: December 05, 2014, 04:54:06 PM »
97mm in the hour at Mt. Glorious which we're within cooee of! We recorded 0.7mm as the rain went past us to the N.E. about 1k away so our tanks are still very low. I hope others who need got it!

Offline chisel

• Lifestyle Extenda 2012, Landcruiser 100 TD 2006
« Reply #59 on: December 05, 2014, 05:15:06 PM »

« Reply #60 on: December 05, 2014, 05:40:49 PM »
Yes, quite a lot of money ... staggering in fact
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-12-04/brisbanites-still-cleaning-up-after-last-weeks-mega-storm/5944768
i laughed when i heard the original $150 million figure being the damage bill...anyone that was in a suburb badly hit by that storm would know the damage sustained by many and realised it would be much more then that, but a billion $$ damage is  definately :o i think the previous biggest storm damage bill was about $500 million from memory (but i could be wrong on that figure, it rings a bell in my head for some reason)

Offline Mobi

« Reply #61 on: December 05, 2014, 07:17:43 PM »
i laughed when i heard the original $150 million figure being the damage bill...anyone that was in a suburb badly hit by that storm would know the damage sustained by many and realised it would be much more then that, but a billion $$ damage is  definately :o i think the previous biggest storm damage bill was about $500 million from memory (but i could be wrong on that figure, it rings a bell in my head for some reason)

I think the biggest storm damage was a hail storm which hit Sydney several years ago causing a couple of billion $$ damage (I'm sure I'll be corrected if necessary  ;D ;D). If I remember rightly 2 years later there were still some tiled roofs waiting to be repaired  8)

Cat slave

« Reply #62 on: December 05, 2014, 08:22:02 PM »
I think the biggest storm damage was a hail storm which hit Sydney several years ago causing a couple of billion $$ damage (I'm sure I'll be corrected if necessary  ;D ;D). If I remember rightly 2 years later there were still some tiled roofs waiting to be repaired  8)

I've been involved in 8 hailstorms around the country over the past 15 years, this current Brisbane is by far the largest from a glass damage point of view

« Reply #63 on: December 05, 2014, 08:27:19 PM »

sorry mate, i should have mentioned i was talking about in Brisbane when i wrote that  :cheers:

I've been involved in 8 hailstorms around the country over the past 15 years, this current Brisbane is by far the largest from a glass damage point of view

I'd believe that.... the amount of broken windows about just Moorooka and Annerley where i've worked the past week is amazing.

« Reply #64 on: December 06, 2014, 04:05:39 PM »
Guys the damage is extensive. Get your claims lodged with your insurance companies asap. I currently have over 15,000 pieces of building glass to replace haven't even had the car glass replacement update

Ka-Ching!

Offline Clouty

« Reply #65 on: December 08, 2014, 12:47:09 PM »
Batten down the hatch's lady's and gent's got a few more storms sweeping SEQ..

« Reply #66 on: December 08, 2014, 01:41:29 PM »
Quote from: swannie

I work for airfares, accommodation and cash.. :D

Offline hainess

« Reply #67 on: December 08, 2014, 05:41:01 PM »
A rollicking little storm thru the Redlands this arvo.
Not too bad...But..
2 teenage daughters.
"Dad,my stereo is fried"
"I unplugged it"
"Dad, wifi is not working"
"I unplugged it"
"Dad, tv is not working"
"I unplugged it"

Might get a t-shirt printed up just for storms.
"I unplugged it" across the front.
All working fine now.

On another note,I'm a mowerman.
Money falling from the sky. ;D

Rod.

« Reply #68 on: December 08, 2014, 09:15:08 PM »
A rollicking little storm thru the Redlands this arvo.

i think we got a few drops on a Tally-Ho paper out of today....some rumbles of thunder but not much else in my neck of the woods. It's supposed to bucket down at the end of this week though, so i'm not to concerned with a lack of rain from today.

« Reply #69 on: December 09, 2014, 05:48:04 AM »
i think we got a few drops on a Tally-Ho paper out of today....some rumbles of thunder but not much else in my neck of the woods. It's supposed to bucket down at the end of this week though, so i'm not to concerned with a lack of rain from today.

Absolutly Bucketed down at my joint. Which is unusual, it normally just misses us

Offline Clouty

« Reply #70 on: December 09, 2014, 07:36:32 AM »
It flogged down for an hour or more and got 55 mm out of it..

The pool has turned a nice shade of brown  >:(

« Reply #71 on: December 09, 2014, 04:42:30 PM »

On another note,I'm a mowerman.
Money falling from the sky. ;D

Rod.

Pity about the humidity though, mowing today and it never dropped under 80%.

« Reply #72 on: December 09, 2014, 04:43:52 PM »
It's about 200% at my joint right now

« Reply #73 on: December 10, 2014, 08:27:40 PM »
O'Briens glass rang me yesterday and booked us in to repair our smashed front windows of our house....Friday the 13th they can do it at the earliest...that's March 2015 by the way  :o

« Reply #74 on: December 10, 2014, 08:42:37 PM »
Quote from: Rumpig
O'Briens glass rang me yesterday and booked us in to repair our smashed front windows of our house....Friday the 13th they can do it at the earliest...that's March 2015 by the way  :o